Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for JVC JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

JVC JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

The JVC LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV features a brilliant Full HD 1080p picture for your viewing pleasure. Connect up to two HD devices via the provided HDMI ports. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the JVC 42" Class LCD. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.604 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(404 Reviews) 279
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
84
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation95%384 out of 404reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
296
4 stars
84
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Great LCD for the price!

12/17/2012
By ,
Quincy, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love my new JVC 42" TV! The sound is really amazing! Color/picture is wonderful; has the option for the special colors/Vivid built in etc. This is an excellent value, but I bought it on Cyber-week.
With a Blu-ray disc player, it's even more amazing! I would not recommend this TV for all non-HD channels however; although I will have to say that the non-HD is better than my previous 32" on this with some messing around with the video settings. But it won't cover the entire screen with HDMI hook-up. I am not sure about the regular video/audio plug-ins. Might be better for non-HD with those cables. The other lil' negative is that it does not have enough HDMI and other Audio/Video inputs to support all my other electronics, but I've got several. Probably more than most. Overall, I am very happy with this. I've switched all my channels to HD, and when people are over they are amazed at both the sound and picture! :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
08/07/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I set out looking for a tv with good sound. The flat screens these days aren't known for the sound quality. The selling factor for me was the front firing speakers which are excellent. As with all tvs you can adjust the settings to your liking. I wasn't interested in adding a sound bar. The picture is beautiful - again - set it the way you like it. It also adjusts to the lighting in the room which is easy on the eyes. All of these features can be turned off and set manually. The 60 hz over 120 hz does not make a difference to me. I don't play games or have a blue ray. If you do either one of those - I would go with the 120 hz. I also went with the LCD over LED because LCD have less glare - being less in price is a plus as well. Great purchase!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+223points
Review 3 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
12/08/2012
By ,
methuen, ma
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this tv on the basis of reviews I had read, including walmart, amazon, and others. It IS easy to set up. It is also easy to take it apart to bring back to Walmart. The remote did not work right out of the box so I turned the tv on manually figuring I'll use the cable remote to run the set anyway. The owners manual says when the tv is first turned on, a "set up wizard" appears on the screen so you can program the tv. I got thru the first two screens and the tv went south. No matter what I did, I couldn't get the set to do anything. All I got was a screen that said "no signal". I decided to call JVC customer service. BIG MISTAKE! The call center must be in Bangladesh. The agent made me repeat the same steps to attempt to re set the tv about 9 times to no avail.I asked to have a JVC tech come to my house and was informed the tech would call me sometime in the next two weeks to schedule an appointment. Needless to say I'm going to look at other brand now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 4 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Very pleasantly surprised!

11/18/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this on Wed. expecting to recieve 10 days later, to my surprise 3 days later I had my TV.
So easy to set up and use. Once it was set up and we turned it on we were stunned by the quality of the picture. Colors so vivid and almost felt like we were watchinv 3d. Everytime anyone walked out and back in they had to stop and look at the pic again!
The I told my son to get out the pop corn because it sounded like we were a theatre.
On a side note. When we set it up, in the upper right hand corner it kept showing that it was 720p. We looked through the book and found nothing so we called customer service. He explained to us that our box was set up for 720p. All we had to do was call our cable provider and we were in business!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Review 5 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Great quality for a great price.

11/13/2012
By ,
Southern Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This set has excellent picture and sound. It was very easy to set up with with no long complicated menus to sort through. There is only one set of AV inputs, but the two HDMI inputs are all that I need. I find the USB input very useful for running slide shows from my digital camera. By using an adapter, I am able to show pictures directly from a memory card. After having this set for only a week, I am very pleased with the overall quality. The icing on the cake was that I was able to pick up the set at my local store in less than twenty-four hours after I had ordered it online.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 6 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased online; picked up in store, minimal wait time, Walmart employee loaded in car.
At home, mounted on wall in master bedroom - no problems.
Really easy set up w/remote. You can customize various settings and save, for example, I have one for live action and one for movies.
Picture quality is excellent (using HDMI connections 1&2 for Directv and blue ray player). Spend the extra couple of bucks for the HDMI cables - you won't be disappointed.
Sound quality is surprisingly good.
No downside to this product and I've had it for two months.
Currently debating on purchasing extended warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+83points
Review 7 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for an inexpensive TV for my second residence, and for the money, this fit the bill nicely.
The picture quality, itself, in HDMI and Component Video, is great. Even for a 60hz unit, it keeps up with movie and sports action without displaying blurriness.
Speaker volume is amazing for just a TV
The number of video inputs is perfect, you can hook up pretty much anything and everything you can dream of
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+99points
Review 8 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/13/2012
By ,
houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this tv is awesome! the sound will blow you away, deep rich, vibrant picture and sound i had a soundbar with my previous set but totally not needed with this one, this tv is a bargain could not be happier.... oh, set up is a breeze took bout 20 minutes from box to watching a movie on tnt!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+96points
Review 9 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/21/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product for the money. I have had it for about 3 months and love watching sports on it. My favorite feature though, is that you can plug a USB drive directly into the TV and it will play most file types.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Florida
Play most file types via USB?
Posted 11/14/2012
What exactly are the types of files it can play? Can it play, say, MP4, DivX or flash?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this television for the master bedroom. It was easy to put together and probably took 20 minutes.
Overall I give this television 5 stars. The picture and sound are very good. I was worried about the sound quality as on my larger TV I needed a sound bar to increase the quality. I have a very large master bedroom and this television does just fine.
Great product, would buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+32points
Review 11 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Awesome TV

12/01/2012
By ,
murfreesboro,tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered my 42" JVC online as part of the walmart black fri promotion.Just got it today 12/1/2012 and its awesome. great picture and unbelieveable sound.never had experience with any jvc products prior to this purchase,but had a friend who had purchased one about 4yrs ago.he recommended this brand and it had good reliability ratings.the 42" jvc cost me less than what i had paid for another brand that was only 37" and the picture /sound are so much better.I would definetely recommend this tv to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 12 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002
10/26/2012
By ,
houston,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tv absoutely the best sounding tv i have seen without external speakers, iam very satisfied withb this set delivery for store pickup was much faster than promised and set up was really simple,once again, great sound!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 13 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Very nice TV for the price

11/28/2012
By ,
Chicagoland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros: Great picture (nice contrast with dark blacks) with good audio.
Cons: OTA TV Tuner is only adequate. Not as sensitive as converter box it replaced at same antenna connection. Does not display program summary or next program on channel (no "guide" screen either), and does not have channel signal strength meter if you need to adjust antenna. Remote is a little awkward for selecting OTA channels as you always have to key in the Dash and Enter keys to access channels directly. Seems design resources were more focused on that people would mostly use cable/satellite as live inputs.
Only has 2 HDMI inputs (one back and one side) but does have VGA for computer if that is something you might use.
Overall a great value if you can get it for <$400.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

exceeded my expectations

11/23/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this system to replace the sceptre system we had before, now in our bedroom. anyway, this pictures are crisp and colorful. the hookups are plenty and the whole thing is easy to setup.
This is truly a quality product. If you're like me looking for a great deal, great product at a good price being a family woman.. this is the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 15 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Did not like it at first ...

11/26/2012
By ,
eastern USA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Some of this might not apply to those with cable or satellite tuners. I have an antenna. Picture is as good as I hoped and the sound is even better than I expected. Here are it's faults:
(1) Channel number display is less than 1/2" high so when you change channels, you need good eyes or be close to the TV to read the channel numbers.
(2) To select a channel, you have to put in the channel number including a "dash" and sub-channel number- usually 4 keystrokes.Since you do this thousands of times a year, it should default to sub-channel 1 so you could put in "20" instead of "20-1", for instance.
(3) Since the keys are small on the remote, it is easy to hit the wrong key or two keys. Often it ignores a key press, I guess because I don't press the key down all the way.
(4) The round back on the remote makes it difficult to hold with one hand and press buttons with the thumb.
(5) I wish it had a video/sound output connection so I could record on the computer or other DVR. I use EZ Grabber but for now have to use it with another TV.
Here are some Pros in addition to the picture and sound:
(1) It has a VGA socket for computers. It makes the TV act as a second screen, not just a copy of what is on the computer screen (as with the HDMI.) I use it to check Powerpoint displays.
(2) I use the "music" mode to play my satellite radio and iPod through the TV -- this minimizes devices and remotes. It seems that most TVs have this feature.
That's all I can think of now. I recommend this TV because the Walmart "expert" says all the TV digital tuners work and display as this JVC does. That's a shame because it is not user friendly. Maybe after I've had it longer, I can give more positive info.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 16 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Great Value for a 42" TV!

11/26/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this tv as a replacement for my old DLP set. I'm impressed with the picture quality and and depth of sound that the xinema sound delivers. If you need a great TV for the gameroom or bedroom you won't be disappointed. An additional item that made it even better was I received it much sooner than promised in only 3 days.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+14points
Review 17 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Great TV for the price

11/26/2012
By ,
Franklin, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great TV for the sale price. Excellent picture and sound. Skin tones are natural and set up was
easy to accomplish. A quality product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 18 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

great value for the price

11/11/2012
By ,
Jacksonville,Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is my first experience with an LCD tv so far I like it better than my LG plasma Set which barely made it past the warranty before going belly up,so far I find this a far superior product in every way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 19 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Great TV Great Price Exceptional Sound-Very Happy!

02/25/2013
By ,
Glouscester Township, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had originally bought a 39" Insignia LCD tv from BB. Customer service is always a nightmare there but the clerk said this was a good tv for the price.
What a piece of junk. It went off and on randomly and constantly forgot channels(since this is straight off the cable..no box) which meant doing the 20 minute channel scan all the time. Back it goes!
We found this on Walmart.com and took a shot. We ordered it on a Sunday night and got a text it was in the store on Tuesday. What a great tv!
Picture is sharp and clear. Sound is unbelievable. (no sound bar needed for this one)
We have always used JVC products but they don't turn up to much in the big box stores. This model is a few years old but we have it in an office and use as a computer monitor too for our business and it serves our needs very well.
Do your homework, read reviews, and do not take the salesperson's word on what's good. This one is as good as our 42" Panny or the 60" LG with way better sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for JVC 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, JLC42BC3002

Don't judge a flatscreen by its price.

12/03/2012
By ,
waycross, ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Price
Great Picture
Great Sound
Tv is outstanding for the price. Really no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
1-20 of 280 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next