Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for European Gold European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

European Gold European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Achieve a beautiful indoor tan with the European Gold Dark Star Tanning Lotion. European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion uses European Gold's latest deepwave bronze tanning technology to attain striking tanning results. The Ultra Dark European Gold Tanning Lotion formula includes a super-soft silicone emulsion that provides long lasting golden color and touchable skin. The 13.5 oz. bottle of 40x Ultra Dark Tanning Lotion provides the dark tan you are looking for in a salon formula.
Average Customer Rating:
4.37 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation85%23 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 37 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great tanning lotion for outdoors

03/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I originally bought this tanning lotion for indoor tanning during March of 2013 but had a few nice days and used it outside in prep for a vacation. After 2 - 3 days of approx 2 hours each day outside I had a tan that people were asking me how I got such a nice tan in March. This stuff works fantastic outside! I have a fairly large place in the country and do alot of outside work....lawn mowing, firewood work, etc. and like to do it shirtless if it's nice out. By summer my tan was great using this lotion (all outside) and the smell is pretty cool, too...even for a guy. I just received two bottles for 2014 use, laid outside two afternoons for about 1 1/2 hours each, and already have people asking about where I got the great tan. I couldn't be happier with this lotion....and it's not at all greasy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

<3 it!

07/05/2012
By ,
Menomonee Falls, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this lotion SO much! I've tried just about every over priced salon tanning lotion out there, and honestly, this works the best! Walmart, you did it again! An excellent product for the price. It goes on skin very easily and silky. Don't be alarmed by the smell of the lotion. It smells like cologne when you first put it on, but after you get done tanning it smells sooooo good. Which is usually the opposite for lotions. This one leaves you smelling like pretty perfume all day :) I noticed wonderful dark results the first time I used it, and haven't encountered any problems so far. At my walmart they had three lotions by EG. The 25x bronzer is for people JUST starting out. It won't get you very dark. The 75x one works well, but it STINKS. You need to literally scrub yourself after tanning. So.... buy this! It gets you very tan (if you've been tanning for awhile or even if you just started!) It leaves you smelling wonderful and feeling soft, and it is verrrrrrrry cheap. Make sure to rub it in completely or else you *might* see some streaking. However the streaking is removed by wiping with a wet cloth, just a heads up. Don't be fooled by all the hype of salon lotions, THIS will become your new favorite.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
European Gold 25X Dark Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz
4.3 out of 5(13)
 
 
 
 
 
 
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Glens Falls, NY
Tanning Issue!
Posted 09/04/2012
Hi,
Im new to tanning so can i use this to get a good tan Without burning. My first time going was horrible. I stayed in for 15 minutes and didnt use lotion. HELLO BURN! Please Help!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Poor Quality

09/17/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This lotion although affordable is very poor quality for a tanning lotion. With water being the first ingredient & alcohol the second this product will only dry out a tanner's skin. A tanning lotion that is aloe based, such as Devoted Creations lotion are ten times better at giving you your optimum tan. Hydration is the key to a good tan, not skin dried out by water. Think about when you get out of the shower, you put on lotion to help from your skin drying out from the water. Walmart sells this lotion for $8, they have to mark up to turn a profit, think about how much the manufacturer spends to make this lotion, close to nothing; it can't have half the ingredients a good lotion should in order to keep your skin healthy and glowing. Do yourself a favor and purchase a lotion that has good, skin nourishing ingredients. && by the way, when it says 40X, this is the indication of how much silicone is in the lotion, not bronzer, you're not getting a ton of good additive color.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

The best you can buy for the price!!!!!!!!!!

07/22/2012
By ,
S0UTH T3XAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so thankful to Wal-Mart for having this fantastic bottle of tan lotion for such a fabulous price! I can't believe how quick the results showed! I just LOVE IT!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great Tanning Lotion

08/21/2012
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While I don't go to the tanning bed, we do have a swimming pool. I had used the 25X last summer and this summer I noticed the Dark Star and decided to give it a try. After one use my skin was quite visible more tanned. I use the lotion everyday in the summer as my body lotion and the results are amazing. The bronzers in this formula don't streak. And I never wipe or wash my hands after application and haven't had any problems. The smell is like many other tanning lotions and I love it. People often ask me what fragrance I'm wearing and it's the tanning lotion that they are smelling. This product does need a min to dry before you sit down or put on any clothes. I put a white tank on one day immediately after applying and stained the neck but it did wash out in the laundry. EG is the only lotion I will use.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

European Gold Dark Star 40X Ultra Dark is GREAT!

07/13/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, OH / Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read what was said on the bottle, and compared the ingredients to an indoor tanning lotion that charges 10 times what European Gold Dark Star 40X Ultra Dark does! My skin has never been smoother, even though I visit the tanning bed every day. I will recommend this product to anyone who asks, and will continue to use it from now on!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/08/2013
Do you apply this to your face or not? Do you put anything on your face?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

great product

03/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the best tanning lotions I've ever used. Don't pass this product up because it doesn't have an expensive price tag. It works better than the high $ lotions at the salons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Why Pay $30-50???

11/01/2012
By ,
Jax, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bottles of indoor tanning lotion at the Tanning Salon go for $30-$60. This is the same exact thing only for a fraction of the price. Works great.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great overall skin care product

03/06/2013
By ,
Rock Port, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Whether tanning indoors or out, or just hydrating your skin, this product is wonderful! It has a pleasant smell, as well as feel, and the bronzers seem to hide slight blemishes and even out skin tones beautifully.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

EG Ultra Dark

12/22/2012
By ,
Cedar Rapids, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this lotion for quite some time and was shocked when I went to my local Walmart and it was no longer on the shelf! I called EG companies 1-800 number and was instructed to go to Walmart.com - thank goodness it's still available! Great smelling lotion, super soft gel like texture that does take a few minutes to absorb. (I usually apply prior to going to the salon and then reapplying in small amounts before entry into the bed). The price is superior, the quality is superior and it's made in the U.S.A. YAY! I will continue to buy this product at Walmart and hope they continue to offer this product to their customers.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great for price.

01/10/2014
By ,
Mississippi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great. If you want something that gets results that don't cost a fortune... This is for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

It made me orange...

03/27/2013
By ,
Clinton, MI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love tanning, so I was all for saving money when I saw Walmart had indoor tanning lotion. I tried both of them, and they both made me orange. It really showed up on my hands REALLY bad. It was embarrassing. I wouldn't really recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Best product for the money

02/11/2013
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got dark after using this the first day. It's a great product for very little money, especially when compared to other indoor tanning products.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz
05/25/2013
By ,
Dothan, AL.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my first bottle of this tanning bed lotion about 2 weeks ago. I could tell the difference in just one use. I was a nice, bronze color. I have been using this, now, and love it !
I have been tanning for years, and, believe me, I have used many, many different lotions. And, I am ashamed to say, that I have spent some big bucks on some.
This lotion is as good as the high priced ones.
Try it !!! I guarantee that you will love it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Good price, but streaky orange!

04/05/2013
By ,
Claremore, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
There is no way I am going to pay even $30 for a lotion so this was a good alternative but the higher the formula gets the more orange it leaves your body after you are done tanning. If you immediately take a shower after every time you tan then i guess it will work for you. I dont like it because it makes me think I am darker than I actually am. Orange streaks everywhere! Get the 25x if you are going to buy one.. that one is not so dark orange and it still has the ingredients you want.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

better than high priced salon brands

04/20/2013
By ,
piney flats tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this in tanning needs & while on a cruise. I've a also purchased the top salon brands of 2012 & 2013.. This product gets you darker & last longer. Highly recommend!!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Made my skin sooooo soft!

02/16/2013
By ,
south bend, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tanning lotion! My skin has never been so soft!!! spreads well and even though you tan, it leaves your skin feeling amazing the next day! I have used a bunch of expensive tanning lotions and this is still my fav.. I still have those expensive ones on the shelf in my bathroom bc of this lotion.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Super Fair Skin, Saw no results.

06/24/2013
By ,
Everett, WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
After reading all the reviews and some Youtube ones I thought this one was a no brainer. It was my very first time tanning so I wanted something easy but good. I went tanning for 8 sessions (1 every day), half 5 minutes, half 10 minutes. And saw almost no results from this product, so I switched to another one. My skin was super soft and smelled great I'll give it that. I did get a little bit of a glow. But I barely saw any kind of difference. I had a base tan on my arms and chest from a waterpark trip, and those parts got very brown. But nowhere else did. So maybe if you have a base tan already this one would work. But for a starter, did nothing for me and I am super white.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great value !!!

11/18/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loved this product!!!! .. The bottle is big and we loved the smell..
Don't over pay for indoor tanning lotions ... Some can cost 50-60 dollars a bottle..
Is is a great DEAL!!! Love it !!!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for European Gold Dark Star 40x Ultra Dark Formula Tanning Lotion, 13.5 oz

Great Value.

11/25/2012
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lives up to it's claim. Great price and easy to spread on and smells yummy.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next