Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Sony Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

You can enjoy your favorite movies on the go with the Sony 7" Portable DVD Player (DVP-FX780). The built-in rechargeable battery lasts up to four hours on one charge, and the included car power adapter lets you keep your 7" DVD player powered up even on long road trips. The Sony portable DVD Player features built-in speakers and a widescreen display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.471 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation91%31 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
24 Questions | 38 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Audio is full of static.

02/23/2014
By ,
Siler City, N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Audio was full of static. I tried Bose and Beats headphones as well as it's own audio and they were all full of static. I returned the item the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

disappointing

02/16/2014
By ,
southbury,ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very flimsy, no remote. i had an older one that was great, but this newer one is very poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

good buy for the money

04/01/2014
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the only reason I did not rate this higher is that the function controls are not as simple as they should be. The picture and sound are terrific and because the negatives are subjective I would recommend this dvd player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
01/13/2013
By ,
FREDERICK,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smaller then expected. Not too happy with the on/off button. Other then that it is a good prodect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
01/26/2013
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with the performance of this dvd player. It is the first I have had. I wanted something very easy to operate and light weight to use on the airplane. It fit in my purse, the picture was very clear and the sound was great with just a $20.00 pair of earbuds. Would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Easy to follow, light, very portable.

03/08/2014
By ,
Red Lion, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for trips, fits easily in suitcase or bag. Good value for dollar. Charge good for 4 hrs. playing time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
04/23/2013
By ,
lompoc, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very convinient. My son is enjoying it a lot.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great Little Portable DVD player

02/05/2014
By ,
E Hartford, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It allows me to watch and learn, not only that I can now watch my DVD discs movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
12/27/2012
By ,
Ocala, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought as gift for my grandson. He loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

This product is easy to use

02/02/2014
By ,
Newtown, Ct
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works well to work on an elliptical machine and watch a movie!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Excellent for the little ones on the go and more..

03/08/2013
By ,
Brooklyn, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great portable DVD player and works great. It's small and chunky design is perfect for little ones to prop up on their lap or a hardbound book(of larger size) and watch kids programs, cartoons or movies. Car charger works great as well. Recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great gift idea for children!

04/23/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was an 8th birthday gift for my boyfriend's son from the both of us, and he loved it! He has video game consoles, Nintendo DS, mp3 player already, so when it came to buying a gift for the "kid who has everything", I was at a loss at what to get! I realized, maybe instead of playing video games in the car on our long vacation drives, he could be watching movies instead! He watched a movie on it the night we gave it to him, and many more since. He's even requested to use it over his video games! We haven't used it in the car yet, but that'll come soon enough! Great idea for a kid who already seems to have everything!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Portable DVD player

03/07/2014
By ,
Worcester, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value for the price...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
12/27/2012
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this portable DVD player for Christmas. It works great. The battery seems to last about 4 hours. It does what it says it does. It also plays DVDs on big TVs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great Product

04/18/2013
By ,
Hesperia, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought me this product! It works great. I have watched two dvd so far and I have had no problems at all. Does everything it says and works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great DVD player

05/10/2013
By ,
Wyoming
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality player. I bought this for my son to watch videos on long trips. The sound is great with or without headphones. We use it for DVD's and Cd's. I had my brother record some of my sons VHS tapes to discs and they play great on this too. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great product and VERY fast shipping

04/07/2014
By ,
Clarks Summit, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 8 year old and it is a great product at a great price. I was also nearly shocked at how fast walmart.com got my order to me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great quality for the price!

04/17/2014
By ,
Forks,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets or exceeds my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

love this dvd player

03/13/2014
By ,
portland, oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i use this dvdplayer 3 times a week at kidney dyalisis. i can play music or movies
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great so far

03/17/2014
By ,
Hampton, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got the Sony DVP-FX780 for my daughter to use in the car or restaurants, etc.. before this one I purchased 3 or 4 others from Wal Mart and returned tham all. Most players in this price range are quite noisy when operating as the spinning sound of the DVD is loud. Low volume output was an issue on the 1st one we tried. The Sony is working great so far, with a low level of noise and easy operation. No remote or headphones which is fine for me, especially the remotes are usually poor anyway. Recharable batteries is nice feature which they all ssem to do these days. Picture quality is in-line with expectations for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next