Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sony Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Sony Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

You can enjoy your favorite movies on the go with the Sony 7" Portable DVD Player (DVP-FX780). The built-in rechargeable battery lasts up to four hours on one charge, and the included car power adapter lets you keep your 7" DVD player powered up even on long road trips. The Sony portable DVD Player features built-in speakers and a widescreen display.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(54 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%47 out of 51reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 52 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
34
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Audio is full of static.

02/23/2014
By ,
Siler City, N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Audio was full of static. I tried Bose and Beats headphones as well as it's own audio and they were all full of static. I returned the item the next day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

disappointing

02/16/2014
By ,
southbury,ct
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
very flimsy, no remote. i had an older one that was great, but this newer one is very poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Sony DVD Portable Player

06/11/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
everything is good except to joint at the monitor only sound no picture (vision)
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
From SonyListens07/08/2014
We appreciate you bringing this to our attention.  Let's see what we can do to assist you. Kindly drop us an email at SonySupportUSA@am.sony.com and please include all pertinent information (model number, issue, etc).. Thanks!Sonystyle
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

good buy for the money

04/01/2014
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
the only reason I did not rate this higher is that the function controls are not as simple as they should be. The picture and sound are terrific and because the negatives are subjective I would recommend this dvd player.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

speaker problems

05/31/2014
By ,
angels camp ca.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
nice unit except only one speaker works either with or without headphones. Will return and get one where both speakers work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Very good product -- come on it's a Sony.

06/08/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. We use a lot for children during travel and they love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
01/13/2013
By ,
FREDERICK,MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Smaller then expected. Not too happy with the on/off button. Other then that it is a good prodect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
01/26/2013
By ,
San Diego, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with the performance of this dvd player. It is the first I have had. I wanted something very easy to operate and light weight to use on the airplane. It fit in my purse, the picture was very clear and the sound was great with just a $20.00 pair of earbuds. Would definitely recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Cheap DVD player for the car

06/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this in my minivan for a trip to Disney World. I don't think it accepts batteries so I plugged it into the 9V outlet in the car. The picture is quite small but clear and colors are good. I added a two-way splitter for the headphone jack so two users could listen. Time will tell if it is built to last, but it worked great for my first use. This product works well if you want to play DVDs in the car on occasion but do not want any built-in or more expensive equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great to keep the kids happy

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have brought 5 of these in the last 6 years. Make sure you purchase the service plan as they do break with extended use. I love having this for docs appointments for my 3 year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

This works great for the money.

05/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm glade I purched this player. small compact and works great with good sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Easy to follow, light, very portable.

03/08/2014
By ,
Red Lion, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for trips, fits easily in suitcase or bag. Good value for dollar. Charge good for 4 hrs. playing time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great for the price

06/05/2014
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was wanting a good DVD for a good price just to use for my grand kids in the car. I read many reviews and was pleased with what I read so thought I would give it a try. It is really nice, works great and has a good sound & the kids love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Loud, looks nice

06/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For 68 dollars I was super happy when I opened this up! It is nice and thick....buttons don't feel cheap, and I use it outside to workout and it's super loud!the picture quality is good and colorful. It comes with a car charger which is nice for trips....will be using it this summer for road trips. So far so good I would say this is a good buy!!!!! No remote:/ it doesn't bother me, but it does bother some people. Also, I haven't tried it yet but I read that it can be plugged into the tv and used as a regular DVD player....so that is a plus!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Good value

06/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the perfect size for my grandson! Fast service to the door of my home, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
12/27/2012
By ,
Clinton, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this portable DVD player for Christmas. It works great. The battery seems to last about 4 hours. It does what it says it does. It also plays DVDs on big TVs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780
02/28/2013
By ,
Fort Bragg, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am getting ready to purchase our second Sony portable DVD player. The first was purchased nearly 2 years ago for our then 2-year-old son. Considering the abuse this device has sustained from our child, I am really impressed that it lasted as long as it did. It has been dropped, sat on, spilled on, etc. The poor thing finally conked out last week. I like that it has a hold button, which keeps our son from pressing buttons and disrupting his movie. It's been great for plane and car trips, and the battery held out pretty well - we could watch roughly 2 Disney movies from one charge :) The only drawback for me was that the car charger never worked well, and eventually, it didn't work at all. Overall, though, we loved it and look forward to getting another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Its exactly want I wanted!

03/13/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Sony 7' portable DVD arrived today and it was perfect timing. I first used it with a CD to listen to a lecture and it worked perfectly as I was writing a paper. Than I popped in a DVD and it worked perfectly. I like that you can change the sound to 4 different modes. I like its size and how portable it. It is a little bulky but I think that's fine as long it works well, and sounds good. The price was very good but I expect good quality from Sony. I haven't been disappointed yet. I just ordered the DVD portable case and so I'll be able to keep the accessories in it and keep everything together. Last Saturday I went into a WalMart store to buy this model and they were out of stock. At the store I saw a Sylvania portable DVD which sells for $59.99 and has a remote, but decided instead to wait and order this Sony DVD portable model online. This Sony model does NOT have a remote control but that's okay because I think its a superior product to the Sylvania unit. Overall rating is a 5 because it's simply a good product. I'll be using this to learn to play the piano, and also to work on my Total Gym exercise equipment which comes with DVD workouts, etc. Its a good buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Great Product

04/18/2013
By ,
Hesperia, CA.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought me this product! It works great. I have watched two dvd so far and I have had no problems at all. Does everything it says and works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sony 7" Portable DVD Player, DVP-FX780

Very light and easy to operate

05/27/2014
By ,
Memphis Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my Sony portable dvd player. I can watch it anywhere and it has a great picture. It has a long battery life when charged. I just watched 4 episodes of Psych and I still have battery left. I rate it 10 of 10.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 41 total reviews
1 2 3 Next