Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

The Toshiba 50" LED TV provides superior picture quality and ultra-thin depth. The Aero design adds a stylish silver Aero wing to create a Toshiba 50" television that looks impressive in any room of your home. Additional highlights of this Toshiba 50" LED TV include ClearFrame 120Hz refresh rate and Toshiba Smart Client Manager. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the Toshiba 50" LED TV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV service provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation74%14 out of 19reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

:o)

08/02/2012
By ,
South Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this TV online and it arrived via Site-to-Store free shipping 3 days later. Received an email informing me it was at my local store and the associate was prompt and courteous in assisting with the pick-up process. Just got it out of the box tonight and it is great! Set up was a breeze and has an outstanding picture and nice features. Some folks may find 3 HDMI ports lacking but it wasn't an issue on my part. Gave it an "average" for sound because that seems to be the norm with flat panels but it was an easy fix with some external speakers. There is another 50" Toshiba for a little less money that has a great picture but only 2 HDMI ports, is only 60Hz and didn't have some of the nice features this model had to offer. This model seems worth the additional cost, especially since Walmart's price was still about 20% lower than another chain that is supposed to have the best buys. So far so good and will certainly update if something goes awry. Thanks Walmart and Toshiba,
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 2 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

You get what you pay for

09/17/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We just upgraded or 55" rear projection HDTV bought in 2005 with this LED-LCD 50" from Toshiba. We were very excited to have a new tv with the latest tech, and for the most part we like it. The price is fantastic and it has all of the features we were looking for! The picture is Okay... it is very crisp and such an incredible difference compared to our old rear projection, BUT it has the very annoying "bleeding" that many complain about! When the screen is black there are eight "light spots" across the screen! The brightest are in the four corners. As long as the picture on the screen is bright and full of bright colors, you barely notice them, but when the scene changes to dark pictures, the bright spots are very noticeable.
We were going to just deal with it, but the more I watch at night in a dark room the more it annoys me!
I am considering paying the extra money and going for the LG 55" also on sale at WalMart. I can't find any other comparable TV with the same features and good reviews for a good price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 3 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U
08/01/2012
By ,
Ft. Madison, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok, for starters, I just bought this tv yesterday.
So far, everything is great. Easy set up, great picture and sound.
The only problem i have with reviews is, very few people post a review after owning the product for a year or more.
For ex. , I was looking at a 50 in. Sanyo ( I have a 32 in and love the picture.), But i read about 20+ reviews and only found 3 that had the tv for about 1 year. And they all said the same thing.
That after 1 year the Sanyo would quit working.
SO,,, if the Toshiba last's for 1 year, (and WalMart will let me repost,) I will be more than glad to write another review.
But so for, my wife and i are very pleased with the Toshiba.
I would recomend this tv , Good price, and great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington DC
about 1 year review
Posted 08/04/2012
perhaps a 1 year review would be good but Walmart is going remove the product page after the TV is sold out or no longer available. So you will never get a 1 year review on walmart.com. I see people reviewing a product after 1 year but it is not the same product or model # because the original page has been removed. This causes a 2012 review for a 2011 discontinued model.
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

well worth its money

07/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if your looking for an led tv this is a great buy . the picture quality is amazing and blu-ray movies look awsome and the sound is quality is good. the one nit-pick that i have is the remote control, its slugish and you have to point it right at a certain spot on the tv , dont let that stop you from buying . if you have satellite or cable it will have its own remote anyways. well worth its money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Review 5 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Better than I expected!

05/20/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tv on sale for $888.00 and couldn't be happier. The picture is great, no complaints!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 6 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Good Quality at a Fair Price

08/24/2012
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our six-year old 62" Toshiba dlp rear projection TV began to fail and we believe it would have cost around $1,000 to fix. So I hauled it to the dump. I checked online to learn of the lastest TV technology and what sales were in effect. I was very interested in a 55" Samsung LED, but it had only 2 HDMI ports and cost around $1,300. I was surprised that WalMart had the best price on this 50" Toshiba LED. I picked up the TV at WalMart and was surprised that it was relatively easy to handle, weighing only about 40 pounds. I thought the picture would be good and my expections were correct. It is much brighter with better contrast than our old DLP rear projection TV. My main concern based on reviews of ultra thin TV's of various brands was audio quality. Reviews of ultra thin TV's often mentioned weak and tinny sound because the physical dimensions of the speakers are limited by the unit's thickness. Actually, I was pleasantly surprised because the sound is clear and crisp and the volume is fine. The 3 HDMI ports are adequate for our accessories. And the digital optical output gives us another option when hooked to our sound amplifying unit. We've only had the TV for a few days, so I can't evaluate it's durability. As some have commented, the control unit is not of the highest quality. At times, I have had to press it more than once just to turn the TV on. It can also be too sensitive when scrolling through the sub menu selections, in which case I've had to back track to select what I want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 7 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Excellent TV at Excellent Price!

08/08/2012
By ,
Southern Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did quite a bit of research before purchasing this TV, so I was fairly confident it would be a good set. However, it was even better than I expected. First, let me say that I was looking for a tv, not a machine that does it all. I did not want 3d, picture-in-picture, or internet connectivity, though I get internet via both Direct TV and my TIVO. The TV itself has a fantastic picture right out of the box. The basic setting for home is so good that I have not yet found a need to tweak it. The sound is loud and clear, and the leveling feature keeps the loud, obnoxious commercials from being too irritating. I have been pleased with the motion reproduction. Other reviewers have commented on the remote, so let me say that it really works fine, though it is a bit light weight. Personally, we use the Direct TV remote, so it is not much of an issue, anyway. If you are like me and want a great TV that does what it should without all of the bells and whistles, then you can get this at a reasonable price. I shopped around and found the best price at Walmart. Also, i don't normally get extended warranties, but I did this time. Not really sure why, but I did. I ordered it online on Thursday,a nd it arrived at my home on Friday! Finally, let me add that I feel good knowing that I paid half of what my friends with different models did, and I got a TV that I think is better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Southern Illinois
Update
Posted 08/13/2012
OK...I have had the TV for about a week. I watched some olympics, some regular tv and some preseason football. This contiues to be a great tv. Motion flow is not a problem. I was a little concerned about the so called soap opera effect, but for some reason that is minimal on this tv, even at 1080. It might have something to do with the settings, but that is not something I know much about. My wife and I are very happy with this purchase.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U
09/09/2012
By ,
Milton, nh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought the t.v. and i turned it on and in all four corner, and the middle there was color bleeding, so i returned the t.v. thinking that it was just this one, well i was wrong. i bought the second one and the same problems were wrong with this one. I would not recommend this t.v. to anyone, this t.v. is awful
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 9 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U
08/27/2012
By ,
JUPITER FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I RETURNED THIS T.V BECAUSE OF THE LED BACK LIGHTING PROBLEMS. LED BLEED AND CLOUDING WAS SO BAD TO THE POINT THAT BLACKS LOOKED LIKE FLASHLIGHTS SHINNING THRU IT..... I DID A LOT OF RESEARCH ON THIS SET AND WAS VERY DISAPOINTED THAT IT DID NOT MEET THE REVIEWS I READ ON CNET AND ON EVERY WEB SITE THAT SOLD THIS T.V . WOULD NOT BUY THIS T.V STAY AWAY. I ALSO DID EVERY POSSIBLE SETTING TO THIS T.V AND IT DID NOT CHANGE THE PROBLEM WITH THE LED BACK LIGHTING. TOSHIBA NEEDS WORK ON THERE LED TEC.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ND
Posted 09/09/2012
That's exactly what it looks like - flashlights shinning through. I like how you described it.
Your review is right on, I agree with you.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Horrible light bleeding!

09/01/2012
By ,
ND
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This TVs picture is very good except during dark scenes. There is very bad backlight bleeding extending from all four corners which makes about half of the TV screen unwatchable (the center part of the screen looks very good though, LOL). I thought I could get used to it, but after about a month I just could not stand it anymore and returned it. I exchanged it for a direct lit/full array which is much thicker than the new edge lit TVs but is at least watchable with zero backlight bleed. I don't care how thin a TV can get, if the picture's bad during dark scenes then what's the point? If you watch TV in a dark room, then this TV is not for you, trust me...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

A so-so review

10/26/2012
By ,
Missouri
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This tv replaced our 52" DLP Toshiba that went kaput after the bulb blew. We returned this tv after 10 days or so. The picture was not awfrul but then again we were not totally satisfied. As other reviews stated, there was some bleeding of color around the edges of objects, such as a person's arm, etc. This is the first LED tv we have purchased, maybe that is how they look and we are just not used to it. In any event, for $800 we expected more. Not sure what we will purchase now but looks like we will have to go to a higher priced tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

great picture.

09/06/2012
By ,
Glenville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Toshiba 50" LED, purchased 8/15/12. Great picture, easy to install. The audio is unremarkable, like most TV's, so buying surrond sound. Price, service, fast delivery & good product all combined for a good experience. Would reccommend. GW
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

GREAT VALUE !!!!

08/04/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FOR THOSE WHO JUST LOVE JUST WATCHING TV BIG THUMBS UP. IF YOU MAIN THING IS SPORTS THIS IS NOT THE TV FOR YOU. TO MUCH BLURRING!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Bright, Clear Picture

10/18/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had purchased the 40" model of the same TV for one room and loved it. Bought this 50" to replace an almost new 50" plasma, because we experienced and read that plasma sets are hard to see in a sunny room. Plasma sets are less bright and have glossy screens, so the picture is overcome by light and reflections. We read that LCD-LED sets are the brightest, and this one is among the brightest LCD-LED sets. Very happy with the difference. Walmart's price was 25% below the second best price on the market. Had it delivered to my local WM store. Smooth process.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

great tv

08/15/2012
By ,
Brandon, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought in Jan 2012 a Toshiba 42" TV and decided this one would go into bedroom and 50" would go into TV Room. I still have a Toshiba 27" CRT from 1994 it is working fine in my office. My son has a 47" LG LED TV the color & motion while watching football is much better on 50" Toshiba. I'm very well satisfied with my 42" and my 50" Toshiba TV's. Oh yeah I ordered my 50" on Sunday I picked it up on Tues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U

Poor Handleing in Transit

10/23/2012
By ,
marble falls, texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this TV on line and when it came in, the screen on this TV was shattered in 30 pieces. I had to return the TV and order another one. When the second TV came in, the box looked worse than the first one. The guys in shipping need to pay a little more attention to the boxes that say " TELEVISION".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Ratings-Only Reviews for Toshiba 50" Class LED 1080p 120Hz HDTV, (1.8" ultra-slim) 50L5200U
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Sound Quality
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Features
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5