Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Winsome Wood Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Winsome Wood Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

This Townsend bench is perfect for an entry way or bedroom. It comes with a black fabric-covered cushion seat and six built-in storage cubes under the seating. Perfect to hold shoes and other frequently accessed items.
Average Customer Rating:
4.079 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation87%33 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 31 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Winsome Townsend Bench is Fantastic

12/05/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It more than met our expectations. It is the pefect size for our tiny house. Our grandchildren arre trained to remove their shoes when they enter and now we have a place for them to sit to remove their shoes and cubbies to keep them, where they won't be in the walkway/entry way. The cushion we expected to be vinyl was more of a canvas material. I will at some later date cover it with fabric to match the couch cushions, but it is useable just the way it came. Note: that it need two more holes drilled into the wood to make it snug. One of our best purchases by just seeing a picture on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great value for the price

07/21/2014
By ,
TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you want the sturdiest, spend a couple hundred more & get solid wood, but of all the pressed wood products I have assembled this is the sturdiest. It is rather a low seated bench (read dimensions) which I wanted for entryway shoe storage. Adjustable shelves let you fit different sizes from sandals to boots etc. Ease of assembly was average, if panels had identifying stickers on them to quickly differentiate between similar ones I would have rated higher. Note: be careful not to over tighten the retaining screw/bolts as it will split the pressed wood. If done properly it is no problem & makes a nice tight fit. A real plus was that all the pre-drilled holes actually matched up! A rare feat on furniture in this price range.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great for Entryway

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in a condo and wanted a bench next to my door to make it easy to take shoes off and on.
This was great since it holds the shoes and gets them out of the way. I am a senior and put this together myself which wasn't difficult but would have been easier if the pieces were marked.
I get lots of compliments on this piece and highly recommend it, especially if you don't need a really big bench.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great little bench

04/14/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am glad I paid attention to the measurements and got two of these. These benches are small, but very sturdy. The cubbies are not as deep as some other storage benches, but they work fine for our purposes. My husband can put his size 10 1/2 shoes on the shelves without them hanging over the edge, so all is well. This shelf is constructed with two uprights in the center to divide the storage space into three sections. You then have three adjustable shelves you can put it wherever you want. Rather than put one shelf in each section, I put one shelf in one section, two in another section, and left one section without the shelf. This allows for each bench to have 4 cubbies for sneakers or slip-on shoes, 1 for boots, and one for a backpack. With two benches set up this way, we now have storage for both of my kids' full-sized school backpacks, and all the shoes our family of four typically wears. It's awesome! These benches are sturdy too... despite being particle board, they support my 250+ pounds without any problems. Easy to assemble (each one took me about 25 minutes, by myself), good price, and works for us. I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

cracked board

11/19/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
One of the boards came completely cracked. We had to return the item before we got a chance to put it together.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

not quality i expected

11/07/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
much smaller then anticipated. should have double checked the measurements. Not worth the money
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Perfect fit!

02/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the bench with storage cubbies to use in the entry of my apartment. It is a perfect fit for the tight space I have there. It serves the purpose of a place to sit while putting on and taking off our shoes, as well as shoe storage just as I had hoped it would. We are now able to keep the floor space there clear of shoes, making it a much more tidy & attractive area as you first enter my apartment. All the parts & directions were in the box, and it was very easy to put together with nothing more than a screwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Nice sturdy little bench

06/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a little on the expensive side, but nice. Make sure you look at the size dimensions. I f you plan to store shoes in this, it won't comfortably hold anything bigger than size 11-12. (portion of the heel will hang out). The pad on top is more firm than soft so it is ok to sit on briefly, but not a spot to sit and read a book. Material is like a tough canvas so it is cat claw resistant. The photo is a bit deceptive. It looked to me like a dark brown, but when you get it, it's basically black. and the pad on top is jet black. I also bought a bookshelf that was "chocolate" colored but turned out to be black. so they matched nicely and it worked out.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Fits Perfectly!

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't normally write reviews for things unless they are awful, but this bench perfectly fits my needs. There was a cheaper option that I was going to buy, but at the last minute, I switched to this one based on another buyer's review.
I generally avoid mdf carboard furniture at all costs and will build my own instead. But for the price, this bench is sturdy and looks pretty nice for what it is!
The shelves are adjustable and have those plastic inserts to hide the unsightly unused holes from showing. It also has feet which you can't really see in the stock photo, but the kicker, and what pushed me over the edge in writing this review, is that the cover for the cushion on the top is removable - zips off just like a slipcover!
It took me about 45 min to put together and was on par with this sort of furniture - just needed a screwdriver.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great For Smaller Entry

01/14/2014
By ,
Morris County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my entrance hallway and didn't want anything too bulky. This is perfect. My husband who is 225 lbs can sit on it comfortably to put his shoes on. Each of the cubbies only holds one set of adult size shoes but I can fit 2 pairs of my young kid's shoes in each one. Great look for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Its just what I wanted

10/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's just what I wanted easy to put together and very durable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great bench for small entryway

09/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This bench is the perfect size for a small entryway. It is small, so note dimensions. It holds six pair of shoes but the bench is not that deep so no larger than size 10. Any larger than that and shoes will stick out too far. Overall a great little bench.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso
06/21/2012
By ,
West Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this a lot and it keeps all the shoes from my family tucked away instead of all over the floor, I just wish it was bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Perfect if you need a small entry organizer

11/16/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my mudroom entry. There wasn't enough room for a storage bench of "standard" size so I was thrilled to find this small version. Serves it's purpose! Make sure you check dimensions because it is small!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

To small

01/16/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I guess I didn't pay close enough attention to the measurements. It's way to small but appears to be sturdy and was very easy to put together. I put it together in 15 minutes or less. Yes that easy. Should be half the price though. This is very small. I would return it but I bought it stage a house so it will go with the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Townsend bench with cushion

03/15/2014
By ,
hendersonville,Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment and I needed something that would fit in my small entryway, This is just perfect!!!!! It doesn't take up alot of space and now I don't have shoes laying around :) I would recommend this, and the price is great. A++++
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Very Nice Piece

03/16/2013
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This expresso shoe bench is very nice. Originally, I found it on another website, but found the same exact unit at Wal Mart for 30% less. What a deal! The assembly wasn't too bad after you spend some time identifying the pieces. I wished that they would put little stickers on the panels to identify them, but hey, it worked out at the end. It looks posh in our little hallway and matches the color of the our furniture. The size was perfect in every sense, but only six slots for shoes. Can't have it all I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

great little bench

07/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bench is perfect for my small entry way. Seat cushion cloth like material but very sturdy. It is a perfect fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

easy to assemble - instructions thorough

03/21/2013
By ,
clearwater fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the right size for smaller spaces at the door. Took a couple of weeks from date of order to date of arrival at store for pick up HOWEVER, it was well worth the wait when assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Ordered it on Monday, and got it Thursday!

03/19/2014
By ,
stockton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, FAST delivery!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next