Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Winsome Wood Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Winsome Wood Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

This Townsend bench is perfect for an entry way or bedroom. It comes with a black fabric-covered cushion seat and six built-in storage cubes under the seating. Perfect to hold shoes and other frequently accessed items.
Average Customer Rating:
4.074 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%24 out of 27reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 24 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Winsome Townsend Bench is Fantastic

12/05/2012
By ,
Hamilton, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It more than met our expectations. It is the pefect size for our tiny house. Our grandchildren arre trained to remove their shoes when they enter and now we have a place for them to sit to remove their shoes and cubbies to keep them, where they won't be in the walkway/entry way. The cushion we expected to be vinyl was more of a canvas material. I will at some later date cover it with fabric to match the couch cushions, but it is useable just the way it came. Note: that it need two more holes drilled into the wood to make it snug. One of our best purchases by just seeing a picture on the internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great little bench

04/14/2014
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am glad I paid attention to the measurements and got two of these. These benches are small, but very sturdy. The cubbies are not as deep as some other storage benches, but they work fine for our purposes. My husband can put his size 10 1/2 shoes on the shelves without them hanging over the edge, so all is well. This shelf is constructed with two uprights in the center to divide the storage space into three sections. You then have three adjustable shelves you can put it wherever you want. Rather than put one shelf in each section, I put one shelf in one section, two in another section, and left one section without the shelf. This allows for each bench to have 4 cubbies for sneakers or slip-on shoes, 1 for boots, and one for a backpack. With two benches set up this way, we now have storage for both of my kids' full-sized school backpacks, and all the shoes our family of four typically wears. It's awesome! These benches are sturdy too... despite being particle board, they support my 250+ pounds without any problems. Easy to assemble (each one took me about 25 minutes, by myself), good price, and works for us. I am pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Perfect fit!

02/27/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the bench with storage cubbies to use in the entry of my apartment. It is a perfect fit for the tight space I have there. It serves the purpose of a place to sit while putting on and taking off our shoes, as well as shoe storage just as I had hoped it would. We are now able to keep the floor space there clear of shoes, making it a much more tidy & attractive area as you first enter my apartment. All the parts & directions were in the box, and it was very easy to put together with nothing more than a screwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Townsend bench with cushion

03/15/2014
By ,
hendersonville,Tn.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I live in an apartment and I needed something that would fit in my small entryway, This is just perfect!!!!! It doesn't take up alot of space and now I don't have shoes laying around :) I would recommend this, and the price is great. A++++
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great For Smaller Entry

01/14/2014
By ,
Morris County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my entrance hallway and didn't want anything too bulky. This is perfect. My husband who is 225 lbs can sit on it comfortably to put his shoes on. Each of the cubbies only holds one set of adult size shoes but I can fit 2 pairs of my young kid's shoes in each one. Great look for the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

To small

01/16/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I guess I didn't pay close enough attention to the measurements. It's way to small but appears to be sturdy and was very easy to put together. I put it together in 15 minutes or less. Yes that easy. Should be half the price though. This is very small. I would return it but I bought it stage a house so it will go with the house.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Ordered it on Monday, and got it Thursday!

03/19/2014
By ,
stockton
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, FAST delivery!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Perfect if you need a small entry organizer

11/16/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for my mudroom entry. There wasn't enough room for a storage bench of "standard" size so I was thrilled to find this small version. Serves it's purpose! Make sure you check dimensions because it is small!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso
06/21/2012
By ,
West Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this a lot and it keeps all the shoes from my family tucked away instead of all over the floor, I just wish it was bigger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Nice design with six separate storage nooks.

02/08/2014
By ,
Oswego IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very appropriate dimensions. Easy set-up except that bottom attached backwards due to insufficient directional clues. Nice seat. Multiple storage nooks a plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great Bench for Bathroom

02/07/2014
By ,
Birmingham, AL<
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bench was as expected. It was easily put together because directions were clear. It fits well with my bathroom decor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great piece of furniture

11/22/2013
By ,
Kansas City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful bench. Was a little hard to put together, one of the screws wouldn't work and I realized it didn't have any threads. I replace and everything worked out. Looks great, I use it by entry door to place shoes and be able to sit kids down on bench to put on shoes. Easier on the back!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Nice but ...

01/13/2014
By ,
Norfolk VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It is nice and the perfect size for my very small entryway, but pieces were shipped broken. I Hubs is handy and worked with the broken pieces. For the price I was disappointed that it was already broken when I got it. I wonder if it is going to stand the rest of time and military moves ?!?!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Padded bench

01/13/2014
By ,
Indiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Alot smaller than i was expecting, after putting it together it looks cheap. My sons size 11 shoes stuck out of the cubby holes..padding is very firm, not comfy at all. Wud send it back but dont want to pay to ship nor take it apart. Disappointing
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

great bench for entryway

01/12/2014
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Item was easy to put together,its durable and the perfect size for my hallway. Bench cushion is not very comfortable, but overall I am very satisfied with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Make sure you consider the size before ordering

08/29/2013
By ,
Arizona
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is way to small. my fault I should have paid attention to the measurement.
Thought we could fit fabric storage drawers but its impossible to find ones that fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great for storing your shoes neatly

01/10/2014
By ,
CEDAR RAPIDS, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have this right inside of door. We don't wear shoes in the house, so when guests come over they have some where to sit when putting their shoes on & off.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Very Nice Piece

03/16/2013
By ,
Corona, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This expresso shoe bench is very nice. Originally, I found it on another website, but found the same exact unit at Wal Mart for 30% less. What a deal! The assembly wasn't too bad after you spend some time identifying the pieces. I wished that they would put little stickers on the panels to identify them, but hey, it worked out at the end. It looks posh in our little hallway and matches the color of the our furniture. The size was perfect in every sense, but only six slots for shoes. Can't have it all I guess.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Perfect for a narrow walking area.

01/04/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed a bench to place in our mud room the was not very deep and could not be overly wide. This was a perfect fit! Assembly was easy and the finish is true to the picture given.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Townsend Bench with Black Cushion Seat, Expresso

Great product for utility/mud room

01/02/2014
By ,
Dallas, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product arrived on time. Easy to assemble. It was a perfect fit in our small utility/mud room. Can fit a couple of pairs of shoes in each of the cubbies. The bench cushion seat was dirty when it arrived with white streaks on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next