Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for T-Mobile T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

T-Mobile T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

This affordable T-Mobile Prism Smartphone is perfect for first time Smartphone users who wants access to the web and apps. The Prepaid Smartphone allows for social networking and text messaging so you can always stay connected. Additional features of this T-Mobile Prism Phone include 3G capability, 3.5" touchscreen, Android 2.3 OS, and a microSD slot for expandable memory. A 3.2MP camera with video capture means you can snap photos and take video of friends and family on the go using your T-Mobile Prism Smartphone! Get the Prepaid Smartphone and enjoy all the benefits of today's Smartphone technologies.
Average Customer Rating:
3.494 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Recommendation67%56 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
27
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
16
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone

06/04/2012
By ,
Prince George County, Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this phone for three days now. I absolutely love this phone so far. Good quality for the money. The phone weight and size is perfect for me. The quality of the camera is good--camera takes vibrant pictures. I am still trying to get use to the virtual keyboard (I have fat fingers). The speaker is also clear--nice volume. This is my second droid phone and I like this one better than the Samsung I had. So far I have had no problems with apps stalling and no problems with phone shut offs. This phone comes loaded with the basic smartphone apps (along with a few extras....some I have not attempted yet). Nice phone case design as well as the screen layout. If I have GPS or WIFI turned on, the phone will stay up for about 5 hours on a full charge. If I turn those features off, I can get about 10 hours on a full charge. I would recommend this phone especially for a first time smartphone users because it's easy to navigate and easy to learn to maneuver.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+324points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 04/14/2013
Does this phone have gps?
0points
Customer Avatar
home
Good review but
Posted 11/11/2012
How's the video quality?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone
07/06/2012
By ,
USA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
When I first bought the Prism from amazon, I really liked it. It looked really nice, & was easy to use. After about a week, it would just start to shut down on me for no reason at any given time. I thought it may have been the area I was in bc it gets spotty service, but it wasn't. It happened everywhere. So, thinking and hoping it was just a glitch with the phone, I returned it and went to wal-mart and bought it again. Worked great, was so happy with it, wasn't giving me any problems at all. I bought a case and other acessories for it, thinking all was well. About a week ago it started shutting down on me, again. Annoyed I returned it to wal mart 4 days shy of my 30 day return limit, and got the samsung exhibit. So far so good with that phone. I wish I didn't have to give a bad review, bc all in all I think the Prism is a good, nice phone, just made badly I guess. If that wasn't happening, I'd have given the phone 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Review 3 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Great For Me

07/05/2012
By ,
Norfolk, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phone about three weeks ago to replace a relic in android phones, my old G1, and since owning it I haven't had one problem so far. It doesn't freeze, it has enough memory to store what I need, but I am not one to load a phone down with a bunch of unnecessary clutter. I suppose for the people who'd prefer the freedom to do that it doesn't have enough internal memory, but for me it's good. Before owning this phone I preferred a touch screen with a slide out keyboard, but now I can honestly say I really like the virtual keyboard with this phone it is very sensitive and rarely do I have an issue with typos because of it. The only complaint with the keyboard is the fact that it replaces my words for what it assumes I meant. There is probably a way to turn that off that I am not savvy enough to figure it out. But all in all I am 100% satisfied and would make the same purchase again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+98points
Review 4 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Save your $ and buy another phone!

05/25/2013
By ,
NE
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend this phone. It's too much money for the problems it has. Biggest problem: The phone turns off & back on by itself (even during calls & entering a new contact or an alarm, etc.). There are a few cool things about this phone but NOTHING is worth a phone that continues to turn off & on at random times. I read the reviews & some people didn't have problems so I gave the phone the benefit of the doubt. The phone didn't start turning off & on for me until months later, which is TOO LATE to return it! Save your money and buy another phone! Really. After a lot of frustration with this phone, I came across info about the Nokia Lumia 521 and I love it so far. They aren't easy to find because people love them already. I found it $20 cheaper at Wal-mart than at the T-Mobile store for $150. I would check your area Wal-marts online & perhaps in the store or call Electronics department to see if they have any in stock or if they are ordering more. Good luck whatever you decide.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Good Phone

06/18/2012
By ,
Largo, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first android phone and so far the phone is working pretty well. My daughter told me I had to give up my flip phone and keep up with technology. She bought this phone as a gift to me. The features on this phone are nice, the screen is simple and the phone is thin and light. Plenty of space for photos. With an SD card, it holds a lot of photos. I don't like the touch screen keyboard. I will have to practice using it in order to get better. Its fast and has a lot of nifty features. I am not a big texter neither do I frequent the internet often. Overall, good phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+119points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GALVESTON TEXAS
WHAT IS REALLY GOING ON
Posted 11/06/2012
I'm a first time smart phone owner,and i have had this T MOBILE PRISM for about a month.and last week is when it all started.when talking it turns off on its own,when I try to MAKE a call it turns off on it's own,all the bars are white,(NOT GREEN),when someone is calling me it goes straight to my voice mail,SOOOOOOOOOOO I have to turn it off or take the battery out for a few seconds.and this happens at least 4 times a day or more.ALL HAPPEN AFTER THE 15 day warranty.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

After a few hours, I knew something was very wrong

09/07/2012
By ,
Philadelphia, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone worked for me for less than 4 hours then got caught in a reboot loop where the phone would restart itself every 3-5 minutes. The phone would reboot no matter if I was using it or if it was just sitting on my desk doing nothing. A call to T-Mobile Customer service was an absolute waste of time, as was me ever purchasing this phone. A quick google search provided me with removing the SD Card and the rebooting stops, which it did. It stopped long enough for me to go to the store and buy another phone, and then was (hopefully permanently) placed back in the box and returned. This phone is really a testament to the kind of quality products and service that T-Mobile provides in todays competitive market. Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this piece of garbage!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 7 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

i love this phone

09/23/2012
By ,
west vally, ut
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love this phone. i have had it for about 2 months now. I have had know problems with it like every one else says the have. i think that you should get it for a teen for there first andriod phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 8 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

This is a great entry level smartphone.

07/28/2012
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone does everything that I expected and very well. The WiFi and WiFi calling is a great advantage. The screen is very bright and the size is perfect. This is my first smartphone and I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Review 9 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone - No Complaints

10/17/2012
By ,
Norcross, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The T-Mobile Prism may be a bit "old school", but it is still a great phone. I admit this is my first and only Smart phone, but it does everything I need it to do and more. The phone also gets great reception because it is wifi capable. You can make sure to make and receive calls on the T-Mobile network by making the sure that wifi is "on". The phone lets you know, and automatically signs on to local wifi like the newer phones, while also remembering previously entered authorization codes. The phone is on the smaller side, compared to the newer and more expensive phones, but it is still large enough to do everything I need it to do and more. The phone also has a port for a micro SD card, which enables as much memory as most people need. This is a great, affordable phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Great phone for the price!!!

01/03/2013
By ,
Sicklerville, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this phone at Walmart for $99. Great phone for a first time smartphone user. I use the pay as you go plan with no data. I have WiFi at home and at work. Just about everywhere where there is free WiFi so no need to pay $50 monthly for phone, texting and internet. My way is a lot cheaper. I am not a avid texting or internet phone user so this is great. I spent about $100 or so a year under the pay as you go so it's great deal. Unlike some people who pays over $1200K a year on iPhone service plan and others. They act like they are so rich with an iPhone, but for real they are wasting their hard earned money making Apple and others richer. Give my way a try. You have more cash in your pocket than your friends.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 11 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Don't waste your money

03/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I would not recommend buying this phone. I purchased brand new in August 2012, and have had the following problems:
1. Consistently shuts down and re-boots itself over and over
2. Can only use apps for 2 minutes until the message "Android server shut down unexpectedly" which forces the app to close
3. Android processor stops and automatically shuts phone down--not allowing the use of the phone for basic calling
4.Text messages are consistantly not received due to message data being too full---even after deleting all text message information
5. Cannot save contacts due to database being full;although I only had 15 contacts saved
6. Memory on the phone is low, therefore I could only download 3 apps before there was not enough room to download anymore
7. Phone makes strange noises that I can sometimes hear, but the other party hears consistently,before it drops the call
To my credit, the phone has been never been water damaged or dropped without the case being on it; therefore I dont know why this phone has had so many problems. I would not buy this phone--I wasted $129.00
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

THIS PHONE STINKS

08/12/2012
By ,
Fayetteville NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this phone and I did love it at first. Then I started having issues with not recieving TEXTS and couldn't get into my text messages. I would go to my messages and the screen would go BLACK!!! So I took it back with in the 15 days and exchanged it. I got another prism. THE SECOND ONE DID THE SAME THING and the speaker phone sound STINKS and the messaging menu did the same thing as the first. Took it back and got my money back. I thought that thjis would be a great phone but I found that $137 isn't worth it if the merchandise DOESNT WORK FOR MORE THAN 15 DAYS!!!
I advise going with a different phone all together because it isn't worth the time money or effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Review 13 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Prism, very good phone for the money.

06/02/2013
By ,
USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone does everything that the other expensive phones do. It's even faster than my home computer with (DSL), sad to say. My friends show me their high priced contracted phones, and I tell myself, my phone does that too, and just as fast. I get youtube, facebook, google, internet radio, it's fast, it flicks and scrolls w/o any hesitation. I got my monies worth when I bought this phone for 129.00 at walmart. I have the $30.00 5GB plan with 100 mins., and unlimited text. I have another tmobile prepaid phone I use for backup with a 1000 mins. on it, just in case, and I have up to a year to use them. I'm not much of a talker when it comes to using my prepaid phone, but it's good for emergencies....and I love that I have up to 5GB to use over a month's time @ 4G speeds, even though my phone is just a 3G I watch you tube videos and listen to my internet radio music just fine. Pictures come out good, and the speaker is loud enough when I want it to be. I've had my phone for over 9 months and haven't even gone over 1G of data in one months time yet. Maybe one day I will buy a 4G fancy phone, but my Prism is doing everything that I need it to do, even better sometimes than my home computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 14 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

May be hardware problem.

07/02/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I like the outler design of this phone and the price is good. The problem is this phone can turn off and on itself. When you using the internet for blowsing is not convenience. I have called the Tmobile
customer service center but they can not help me to fix the problem. I have exchange to another new one but the problem still exist.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+21points
Review 15 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Nice smartphone for the money.

06/24/2012
By ,
SI, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed to replace a cell phone and my daughter wanted a touchscreen. I got this prepaid version and used her existing sim card in it. It is an excellent price as compared to the cost on the T-Mobile sight. My daughter loves the phone and I loved the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Review 16 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Horrible phone

10/02/2012
By ,
Middletown, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After getting out of my contract I bought this phone for the features, quality and pricing. This is by far the worse phone I have ever had. Within a few days it would restart itself anywhere from 5-10 times a day. Now it is unuseable because it restarted itself and now the screen is half scrambled and half blank. I can't use it at all. I have 5 days to return it and hopefully this time I won't get ripped off. I never dropped it, misplaced or misused it. Definately do not recommend to anyone!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 17 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

Great Phone, very pleasantly surprised

06/28/2013
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this cell phone out of frustration after my "sidekick" left me stranded without access to any services due to persistent freezing up and I just hated that phone. What a pain. Before that I had a "my slide" which was a good phone but I fell in a river and drowned it. I've also had a Blackberry and a Charm. I thought, :"I give up"... I'll just get a practical phone for a good price and just have it for the basic phone calls and texts. I am very pleasantly surprised by the performance of this little hard worker. It gives me access to my apps, is quick, and has everything on it my other fancy phones had, but with better performance. I do miss having a qwerty keyboard but I have found that the voice activation is far more efficient and accurate than any keyboard. I also like the swipe feature. There is not a thing wrong or lost on this little phone. I have a sturdy case on it to fit my hand better and protect it for my active lifestyle, and I couldn’t be more pleased. This is going to be the only phone I purchase from now on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

OK phone if you live in a good coverage area

09/25/2012
By ,
Gautier, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've been buying cheapo prepaid phones in the past and thought it was time to upgrade to something better. What I didn't realize is that this phone didn't support a lot of software I tried to run, was slower than I had expected, occasionally froze up and randomly rebooted for a month or two until T-mobile pushed out a patch. Some games just don't run well on this phone either. The battery life is OK at least. Trying to bring up Google maps on this phone was also most unpleasant. The camera quality isn't too bad and the screen looks pretty good though.
In all honesty my biggest complaint is more-so with T-mobile's service quality. Their network coverage is absolutely horrific where I live. I bought it knowing I was going to get only 2G speeds, but I didn't expect to wait 2+ minutes for a very simple page to load. You might as well forget about running speed tests or web browsing in the evening. Even with full signal strength download speeds are often below that of dial-up and broken up conversations are common. Service is great out of town though.
If you buy this phone make sure to check out coverage in your area and check with friends. T-mobile has seriously neglected some of their 2G networks.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 19 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

I hate this phone.

10/13/2012
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This phone has been the biggest waste of money. It cuts it self off and then back on; drops calls and freezes up when I'm trying to text. The touch screen is slow and it takes a while to load pictures in the gallery. I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 20 for T-Mobile Prism Prepaid Smartphone

DONT BUY THIS PHONE!!!!

10/02/2012
By ,
Horse Cave, Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a problem with this phone... It shuts off all the time, for no reason!! I will be taking this phone back asap!! DO NOT BUY THIS PHONE!! I have read several online posts, and everyone seems to have the same problem... Other than that one issue the phone works well... When it's not constantly shutting off..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next