Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem unlocks the potential of offering innovative high-bandwidth data and multimedia services. Utilizing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem enables channel bonding of up to four downstream channels and four upstream channels, which allows an operator to offer their customers advanced multimedia services with data rates of well over 100Mbps in each direction. The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem provides an economic option for providing Ultra-Broadband services, with four times the current maximum user data throughput approximating 160Mbps in DOCSIS mode and 195Mbps in EuroDOCSIS mode, without the need for hybrid fiber coax (HFC) plant upgrade. Maximizing an operator's current infrastructure investment, the Motorola SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem can be deployed without service interruption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(391 Reviews) 319
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
74
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation96%374 out of 391reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
76 Questions | 279 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
293
4 stars
74
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.

02/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk.
Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line.
I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the job well, for a good price.

10/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying.
Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent modem for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the Job Well

01/16/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc.
My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Setup was automatic with Comcast cable

10/15/2013
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically.
My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

does the job

04/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have TWC as my provider and this modem connected seamlessly. that said, the performance of my internet connection was basically the same as I experience with my old linksys, which is still hooked up at another location. I realize speed is controlled by the provider but I was expecting some kind of efficiency gain after 5 years of progress (that's how old the linksys is and yes, that was a jab at the pace of the U.S. Internet improvement). The modem has been stable with no drops thus far. Regarding the Walmart experience.. I bought from WM because they said they had it immediately available.. after I purchased it I got an email that they were now out and they would rush one to me.. then I got an email stating expected delivery was 5 days.. my cable guy was coming in 4. So I bought this modem on Amazon, got in 2 days, when the WM one finally came in I immediately returned it. WM fulfillment has a ways to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem!

12/23/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product!
A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Best purchased I made

01/11/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems yet. Easy to hook up and get running. Cheaper than renting a modem from Comcast. Also my speed increase from 15mbps download to 55mbps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgetown, Kentucky
No support from Motorola
Posted 04/11/2014
I can connect one computer just fine, but when I plug in any kind of network I get an orange light and it doesn't work. I am trying to find the documentation online, and have made phone calls to Motorola Solutions and to Motorola Mobile, both of which say that the other one takes care of it. They don't even have the SB6121 Surfboard listed in their products! They handle only wireless systems, and the cable modem, not wireless, seems to fit nowhere into their support programs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy to set up, works great

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to replace my previous Motorola modem because Comcast kept sending out signals that confused the modem so I had to update to the latest and greatest, even though there was nothing wrong with the old one. This one was easy to set up. I called the Motorola customer support when I could not get access to the internet and the tech pointed out that the Comcast instructions were incorrect. He gave me the right number to call at Comcast and after they flubbed the activation a few times, I got on line.
Be sure to keep the serial number and MAC address information on the box handy and in a safe place as you will likely need it every time you call Comcast.
The only negative is that the lights on the modem are very bright so, since it is in our guest bedroom, I need to put a shade in front of the modem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem

11/27/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this modem because I was having connection proplems. My internet would either be fine, run slow as a snail, or randomly drop for no reason. The modem that I had was installed by the cable company and after doing some checking on their website, I found that it wasn't compatable with the speed rate package that I signed up for, and I couldnt change the channel on my wireless modem. Instead of paying monthly fdor one, I opted to buy my own. Setup was very simple. Once installed I was able to change my wireless channel to a stable one, and my problem went away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great replacement for Time Warner modem

02/08/2014
By ,
Pinehurst, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The modem was extremely easy to setup. Only needed to contact Time Warner once to give them the MAC Address. Once that was accomplished no more monthly lease payments to Time Warner for the modem. I would highly recommend this modem. That saves you approximately $6.00 per month for the life of your Time Warner contract for cable internet service. Well worth getting one of these modems. Setting up of the WIFI portion was extremely easy also. Would also suggest getting NetGear WNR1000 in conjunction with this modem so that you could set up up to 4 hard wired devices or unlimited number of WIFI devices.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Its great

04/04/2014
By ,
Nashville Tn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Free sample received:No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Replaced Comcast Modem

03/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good internet speed and save money by purchasing this modem vs model lease fee from comcast
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Works like a champ!

04/01/2014
By ,
Atanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

03/18/2014
By ,
Wylie, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Modem works fine with TWC, however, it's just a cable modem, and it will not work with TWC phones. So if you order TWC's phone service, you will have to use their cable modem as theirs has a voip phone adapter built in and they don't offer use of third party voip phone adapters at the time of this writing. The modem has no wi-fi or ethernet ports in it, so if you need that you will need a router to go along with it or purchase a cable modem with the features you want built in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Simple and flexible

04/19/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple to set up. Flexible use for either DSL or cable. Handles almost all the potential internet speeds a home could possibly have. If I knew my router was going to go on me, I'd have preferred to purchase a combination modem/router to begin with rather than buying the individual components. Something to think about if you've had your router for many years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

It doesn't get any easier, SB6121 Is A Great Modem

11/12/2012
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It doesn't get any easier than this. Just hook it up in place of a leased modem from the cable company and call tech support to activate it. I was online in no time and a quick speed test proved this modem works even better than the leased one. For those with Time Warner, when they ask the make & model tell them it's a SB6141 because the SB6121 isn't on their official list. They won't hassle you. Give them the new SB6121 MAC number, power cycle the modem & your router and you are up and running. I was up in running in less that 5 minutes!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
augusta, Maine
Modem verified by TWC
Posted 09/05/2013
TWC has the Motorolla SB6121 listed on their website as one of the approved modems. You are saying it is not? I am hoping you see this for clarification.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great to remove LEASE FEEs!

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had purchased this item in order to save money on my monthly Time Warner Cable bill. All I had to do was plug it in and called up a customer service rep on their end and gave them the HFC MAC ID on the bottom of the packaging. This number allows them to register this device for use and it also lets them remove said lease fee, which is a pretty sweet deal.
It will pay for itself in approx 14 months. As an unexpected bonus, it slightly increased my upload and download speeds.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Plug and Play

02/05/2014
By ,
Carrollton, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plugged the modem in, registered it with my provider, and hopped on the internet. Easy, peeasy!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

GREAT MODEM... SO FAR SO GOOD...

04/08/2014
By ,
Vista, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MY MODEM WAS ADVISED BY COX CABLE, AND THE DOCSYS 3.0 IS THE ONE THEY RECOMMEND BECAUSE OF SPEED AND LONGEVITY ISSUES. OF COURSE I COULD HAVE PICKED UP ANOTHER BRAND, BUT MOTOROLA IS THE ONE RECOMMENDED. i CAN ALMOST SEE WHY, IT IS A SET AND FORGET.
AGAIN I DO NOT MEAN TO REVIEW AN ITEM LIKE THIS BASED ON A COUPLE OF WEEKS OF PERFORMANCE, BUT IT IS A FACT THAT I HAVE DISH NETWORK, ROKU (STREAMING MOVIES), 2 TELEPHONE LINES (VOIP), 2 COMPUTERS, ONE LAPTOP AND ONE SMART PHONE, ALL NEEDING INTERNET AND WIFI... AS I SAID, SO FAR SO GOOD...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 320 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  16 Next