Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem unlocks the potential of offering innovative high-bandwidth data and multimedia services. Utilizing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem enables channel bonding of up to four downstream channels and four upstream channels, which allows an operator to offer their customers advanced multimedia services with data rates of well over 100Mbps in each direction. The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem provides an economic option for providing Ultra-Broadband services, with four times the current maximum user data throughput approximating 160Mbps in DOCSIS mode and 195Mbps in EuroDOCSIS mode, without the need for hybrid fiber coax (HFC) plant upgrade. Maximizing an operator's current infrastructure investment, the Motorola SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem can be deployed without service interruption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.622 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(498 Reviews) 426
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
371
4 stars
97
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation96%478 out of 498reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
90 Questions | 332 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
371
4 stars
97
3 stars
13
2 stars
3
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy to hook up

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.

02/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk.
Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line.
I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the job well, for a good price.

10/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying.
Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

bought this modem to own myself

05/09/2014
By ,
whiting ,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Delivered the improved speed expected

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent modem for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the Job Well

01/16/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc.
My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Setup was automatic with Comcast cable

10/15/2013
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically.
My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Wifi?
Posted 07/15/2014
So does this modem have wifi? Is it an all in one modem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem!

12/23/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product!
A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola SB6121 cable modem works great

05/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally switched over to Comcast for internet and I wasn't about to pay the monthly rental fee. Installed the modem myself, had to call Comcast to get it activated with no problems. Make sure you keep the box because it has information that Comcast needs. No problems after a few weeks now. I bought this because of all the positive reviews and glad I did. Comcast will NOT offer any kind of support because its not their product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

it works

07/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works fine no problems whatsoever
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Docsis 3.0 Cable Modem

07/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Internet Service Provider advised us by mail that we needed to change our existing Docsis 2.0 Cable Modem (which I owned). I was skeptical so I called and finally got to talk to a Comcast technician. The technician stated that because of the upgrading of their systems, all their customers would need to change out their cable modem to a Docsis 3.0 modem in order to attain the new faster speed and bandwidth of the upgraded system. Walmart had the best price online and I was able to order online and pick it up at my local store the same day!
Wonderful service...thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Works Great

06/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product, It works great. glad I made the investment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Best purchased I made

01/11/2014
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No problems yet. Easy to hook up and get running. Cheaper than renting a modem from Comcast. Also my speed increase from 15mbps download to 55mbps.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Georgetown, Kentucky
No support from Motorola
Posted 04/11/2014
I can connect one computer just fine, but when I plug in any kind of network I get an orange light and it doesn't work. I am trying to find the documentation online, and have made phone calls to Motorola Solutions and to Motorola Mobile, both of which say that the other one takes care of it. They don't even have the SB6121 Surfboard listed in their products! They handle only wireless systems, and the cable modem, not wireless, seems to fit nowhere into their support programs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

It doesn't get any easier, SB6121 Is A Great Modem

11/12/2012
By ,
Mebane, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It doesn't get any easier than this. Just hook it up in place of a leased modem from the cable company and call tech support to activate it. I was online in no time and a quick speed test proved this modem works even better than the leased one. For those with Time Warner, when they ask the make & model tell them it's a SB6141 because the SB6121 isn't on their official list. They won't hassle you. Give them the new SB6121 MAC number, power cycle the modem & your router and you are up and running. I was up in running in less that 5 minutes!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+61points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
augusta, Maine
Modem verified by TWC
Posted 09/05/2013
TWC has the Motorolla SB6121 listed on their website as one of the approved modems. You are saying it is not? I am hoping you see this for clarification.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem

11/27/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this modem because I was having connection proplems. My internet would either be fine, run slow as a snail, or randomly drop for no reason. The modem that I had was installed by the cable company and after doing some checking on their website, I found that it wasn't compatable with the speed rate package that I signed up for, and I couldnt change the channel on my wireless modem. Instead of paying monthly fdor one, I opted to buy my own. Setup was very simple. Once installed I was able to change my wireless channel to a stable one, and my problem went away.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Better than the provider's rental

07/20/2014
By ,
Cary, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy setup, reliable connection. The only difficulty was getting the provider to register the device on their system. Once registered, it worked well and has been great ever since. My download speeds are consistently 15 Mbps (max provider gives me) and the upload is about 1.2 Mbps (max allowed).
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Good Reliable Product

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem for my Comcast Xfinity Internet service. It made more sense to buy my own modem and be able to have it for 3 - 4 years instead of paying Comcast $7 month for a modem I wouldn't even own. The modem works perfectly, easy to set up and internet has been working fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Best deal on a new modem

07/10/2014
By ,
San Fernando, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get rid of that nagging modem lease fee and pay your self instead of your internet company! I searched all sorts of places and Walmart online had it the cheapest and Ship-to-Store within 24hrs. It was even cheaper than the Walmart in-store price.
If you have TWC, have plugged everything in, all the lights are on and you're still not getting a connection go to this address on your browser:
http://elb02.activatemymodem.com/landing
Otherwise, just call your provider and they can walk you through the process. Have your account number handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

good, had trouble connecting to my router

07/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had trouble getting new modem talking to existing router, I finally did a factory reset on router and that fixed the problem. Modem works great, faster speeds with Comcast.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 427 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next