Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem unlocks the potential of offering innovative high-bandwidth data and multimedia services. Utilizing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the SB6121 enables channel bonding of up to four downstream channels and four upstream channels, which allows an operator to offer their customers advanced multimedia services with data rates of well over 100Mbps in each direction. The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem provides an economic option for providing Ultra-Broadband services, with four times the current maximum user data throughput approximating 160Mbps in DOCSIS mode and 195Mbps in EuroDOCSIS mode, without the need for hybrid fiber coax (HFC) plant upgrade. Maximizing an operator's current infrastructure investment, the SB6121 can be deployed without service interruption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(630 Reviews) 558
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
467
4 stars
120
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation95%601 out of 630reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
116 Questions | 400 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
467
4 stars
120
3 stars
16
2 stars
4
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy to hook up

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
arizona
comcast
Posted 09/26/2014
will my comcast on my tv work with this ?
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
SB6121
Posted 09/26/2014
I decide, I was going to stop renting a modem. I looked at several, I like the reviews on this one, I purchased it online.
The online experience was great. The modem powered up configured and I'm up and running.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.

02/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk.
Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line.
I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+117points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the job well, for a good price.

10/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying.
Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Tired of modem fees, this is the way to go.

01/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As the title suggested, we got this modem to cut our cable bill. Found out after I order this modem on the local news the price will be increasing in this year(from 8 to 10). For under 75(with tax) this is a much better deal especially since most modem should last at least 3-5 years.
Most people know that most cable companies have a list of approved modems. In terms of my cable company that is Comcast; If one look though the list, the Surfboard SB6121 is one of the only retail modems that passed all three certifications, Also if one were to compare prices with certifications, this is usually cheapest.
As for speed, it is a little bit faster than the Arris CM820A(renting). From my testing(Speedtest.net) this new modem is around 2ms faster in terms of pings, around 5mbps faster in terms of downloads and around 1mbps faster in terms of uploads.
The only thing that might take you time in setting up the new modem is the call to your cable company to give them the Mac and Customer SN. Though for the money you will be saving it is worth the time on the phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent modem for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Setup was automatic with Comcast cable

10/15/2013
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically.
My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Wifi?
Posted 07/15/2014
So does this modem have wifi? Is it an all in one modem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the Job Well

01/16/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc.
My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem!

12/23/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product!
A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

bought this modem to own myself

05/09/2014
By ,
whiting ,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Delivered the improved speed expected

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does exactly what it should. Very stable.

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What's there to say? Cable modems are very simple; they either work or they don't. This one works just fine, and is the same model I've used in other houses with zero problems. It's the latest specification supported by Cox, and supports bandwidths up to 300-some-odd Mbps, so it's quite future proof for 99% of use case scenarios. Walmart's price and store pickup were great, too. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great savings over the cost of renting.

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this unit to avoid paying monthly rental charges to Comcast for internet service.
It works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

sketchy - Wrong model inside the box -

11/01/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this modem on walmart online store because my old modem was acting weird and walmart is offering a competitive price.
I made the purchase online, picked it up in store, the box was taped up with scotch-tape. something didn't feel right.
3 weeks later, my old modem was acting up again and i thought i can finally use the newly purchased modem, i opened the box and found an brand new, older-model modem sitting inside the box, sealed.
It was a good thing that i didn't open the sealed bags so i was able to make the return, can you imaging if i have opened the plastic bags (remove the seal stickers and etc)
always check your product on the inside and keep the receipt
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Solid performer!

01/27/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very reliable unit with consistent speeds and comprehensive setup.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

good

01/26/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
atht's what i paid for
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

great buy. faster internet speed immediately

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this because the old modem can't adapt to our internet speed. Once the equipment was installed , the speed doubled immediately. Just bought. Hopefully it can last long.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great Product

01/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very please with this product. It works just as well as the Arris modem/wifi device from Time Warner Cable, if not better.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Perfect for Me

01/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Fast speed. Even the Comcast rep said it was better then what Comcast provided at $10.00 a month rent. I am hitting 70 Mbps
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Modem feature

01/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This modem series does not have WiFi... hence the return/exchange.
nice compact unit...easy set-up.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Save money. Stop renting a modem.

01/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This modem worked seamlessly with my Comcast high speed internet and router. It will pay for itself in less than a year. I just plugged it in and re-booted it a couple times before everything worked beautifully. I did not need to call Comcast.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 559 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  28 Next