Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem unlocks the potential of offering innovative high-bandwidth data and multimedia services. Utilizing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the SB6121 enables channel bonding of up to four downstream channels and four upstream channels, which allows an operator to offer their customers advanced multimedia services with data rates of well over 100Mbps in each direction. The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem provides an economic option for providing Ultra-Broadband services, with four times the current maximum user data throughput approximating 160Mbps in DOCSIS mode and 195Mbps in EuroDOCSIS mode, without the need for hybrid fiber coax (HFC) plant upgrade. Maximizing an operator's current infrastructure investment, the SB6121 can be deployed without service interruption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.578 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(692 Reviews) 620
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
512
4 stars
130
3 stars
17
2 stars
4
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation95%658 out of 692reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
139 Questions | 417 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
512
4 stars
130
3 stars
17
2 stars
4
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy to hook up

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
arizona
comcast
Posted 09/26/2014
will my comcast on my tv work with this ?
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
SB6121
Posted 09/26/2014
I decide, I was going to stop renting a modem. I looked at several, I like the reviews on this one, I purchased it online.
The online experience was great. The modem powered up configured and I'm up and running.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.

02/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk.
Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line.
I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+158points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the job well, for a good price.

10/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying.
Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Setup was automatic with Comcast cable

10/15/2013
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically.
My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Wifi?
Posted 07/15/2014
So does this modem have wifi? Is it an all in one modem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent modem for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the Job Well

01/16/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc.
My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem!

12/23/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product!
A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

bought this modem to own myself

05/09/2014
By ,
whiting ,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+54points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Stop renting this off of Comcast!

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
One of the same boxes Comcast charges for on the monthly statement. Going back to Comcast after some time, I realized I could have owned 5 of these bad boys. Buying this product also allowed me to negotiate avoiding the install fee this time around. I had the cable wire in the wall already, so it was just a simple as screwing it into the box. Comcast made it sound like it was going to be rocket science. Don't let them fool you. Since I already had a wifi box to plug into this one, so I could have wifi in my house I went with this box. They now have boxes like this with wi-fi already built in but I didn't feel the need to waste the extra money since I had something that would work with this.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy set-up with Cox Internet and works great

05/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does as was advertised. I replaced a DOCIS 1.0 motorola I had that kept disconnecting / dropping me from the internet. Since I have had this one (6 months now) I haven't been dropped once. Set-up was easy with a call to Cox that took 2 or three minutes at the outside.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

It's okay, so far

05/04/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does at least, works as well as the one I rented from Comcast, for $10.00 per month. I recommend this item.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Delivered the improved speed expected

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent !!

05/01/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with comcast cable, all in one device, easy to instal, just plug and play.. Save money, donot rent from Comcast. It is faster compare to the comcast device.
Highly recommend !!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just as good as Comcast unit

04/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owning is better than renting!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Good modem

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine, easy to install. Had a tech out to work on something else and he mentioned it's the same modem he has, so I believe it was a good choice.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy

04/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem to use with my Xfinity internet account. The install was easy as 1,2, 3. Once it was connected and I plugged in the power, all you have to do is open a browser and follow the activation instructions of the Internet provider (Comcast/Xfinity). I followed any on screen command and behind the scene Comcast idenfied my modem device and in less than 10 minutes, I was up and running. No call to customer service, it automatically set itself up with little help from me.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Wireless works really well!

05/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this for wireless access for my iPad and TV streaming. It works really well for those purpose! I highly recommend it to anyone.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Fast, Odd Lights

03/18/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Internet speed improved by about 4-5mbps when I switched to this modem from the one Time-Warner supplied (which I replaced and returned), going from 9-10 to 13-15 mbps. Only thing I do like is the lights (hence 4 stars), with very dim green lights and very bright blue lights, and a constantly flashing orange light (vs flickering with activity level on prior unit)... but these are purely cosmetic.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

No more lease fees

05/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
6 months in and no problems.In my case there was no need to troubleshoot or have a tech come out to handle a transfer.I would recommend a decent wireless router for good receptoon/speed.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Works dependably, no problems.

05/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works dependably, no problems.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 621 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  32 Next