Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Motorola ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem unlocks the potential of offering innovative high-bandwidth data and multimedia services. Utilizing the power of DOCSIS 3.0, the SB6121 enables channel bonding of up to four downstream channels and four upstream channels, which allows an operator to offer their customers advanced multimedia services with data rates of well over 100Mbps in each direction. The Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem provides an economic option for providing Ultra-Broadband services, with four times the current maximum user data throughput approximating 160Mbps in DOCSIS mode and 195Mbps in EuroDOCSIS mode, without the need for hybrid fiber coax (HFC) plant upgrade. Maximizing an operator's current infrastructure investment, the SB6121 can be deployed without service interruption.
Average Customer Rating:
4.569 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(733 Reviews) 661
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
538
4 stars
140
3 stars
20
2 stars
4
1 star
31
Customer Recommendation95%695 out of 733reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
143 Questions | 424 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
538
4 stars
140
3 stars
20
2 stars
4
1 star
31
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Easy to hook up

04/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great with my Cox high speed internet connection.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
arizona
comcast
Posted 09/26/2014
will my comcast on my tv work with this ?
0points
Customer Avatar
Florida
SB6121
Posted 09/26/2014
I decide, I was going to stop renting a modem. I looked at several, I like the reviews on this one, I purchased it online.
The online experience was great. The modem powered up configured and I'm up and running.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Just right for home use. Stop paying rental fees.

02/20/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I learned I was paying Time Warner Cable $7 a month for a DOCSIS 2.0 modem (no longer in use) for many years and could purchase my own - I did. I followed the "where to plug in the three cables" instructions (cable company line, ethernet line to router and power line). With my computer and modem on, I called "TWC technical support" to give them the MAC ID number on the side of the unit. The TWC rep "set up" my new modem and removed the monthly charge. The entire process of hooking it up and finishing with TWC was less than ten minutes. I took longer to hide the new power cable behind my desk.
Ordering online is a few bucks cheaper than purchasing in the store (and cheaper than Best Buy, Office Depot and Frys). My Walmart is a few blocks away so I had mine shipped to the store. They emailed me when the modem arrived. Walmart has a special line for "ship to store" pickups - so no waiting in the "merchandise returns" line.
I will never pay a monthly modem fee again. So far, so good. Thank you Walmart.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+182points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the job well, for a good price.

10/19/2013
By ,
Salem, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model. First one 6 months ago is at home and this one at my son's college house. Both needed to be Comcast compatible and DOCSIS 3.0 to be future proof. They are fast, and easy to set up after the required call to Comcast support to allow them on their network. My only complaint with the modems is every once in a while they trip off and restart for no reason. I have not researched this issue yet, because it is very brief, albeit annoying.
Another complaint is with Walmart's stock reporting system. My second one's online purchase confirmed in stock status, but none was at the store when I arrived, the out of stock text came while I was leaving the parking lot. So, I cancelled that purchase and ordered it from a store near my son's house, which also showed it in stock, but a text came saying it was on back order a few days. There is definitely a problem with Walmart's stock inventory network and its communication with their online store.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

It works! It's cheap!

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little cable modem is obviously not the top of the line -- actually it's the "economy model" from Motorola. Mine has been in service for a little over a month now and it works very well. All it does is give you a 10/100/1000 interface to the DOCSIS 3.0 spec broadband cable standard and it does it really well. In my case it is used with ComCast and it worked flawlessly since the first connection. A call to register the serial number was required to get the line enabled but that was done by the cable installer for me. It immediately ran a throughput test of 60Mb/S down and 10Mb/s up on a service nominally rated at 50Mb/S. I call that quite acceptable. I prefer to use my existing wireless gear and firewall but if you don't have all that stuff you'd want to consider a more expensive Motorola unit with built-in WiFi access point and other goodies. This is a good building block that should take to 100Mb/S service if I ever want to spend that much.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Setup was automatic with Comcast cable

10/15/2013
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am not enough of a tech. to know or use all the features but for my 4 lan and 3 wifi house it works perfectly. The modem set itself up and got on line with Comcast automatically. I had to fill in a few questions about my account on line and then it was up and running. I did call Comcast tech support just to make sure all was well and the operator confirmed that the Motorola SB 6121 had setup automatically.
My old Zoom modem worked great for 4 years but then Comcast changed something in their system and it began to drop the connection. Comcast, of course, wanted me to pay $8/month to rent one of their modems. Buying my own from Walmart for less than $80 made more sense to me. The Morotola SB6121 is rated one of the top compatible modems at the Comcast tech site. In another 3-4 years some other change may out date this modem but by then it will have paid for itself 3-4 times over. I guess I need to put the Zoom on craig's list.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Utah
Wifi?
Posted 07/15/2014
So does this modem have wifi? Is it an all in one modem?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Excellent modem for the price!

10/29/2013
By ,
Brunswick, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I decided to purchase this modem after our previous Motorola SB5100 began having sync issue. After spending nearly an hour troubleshooting our connection issue with cable provider, I was offered a replacement through them at a monthly lease charge of $6.99 a month. For that amount I justified the cost of this replacement and avoiding the monthly charge. Setup of the Motorola SB6121 was easy and straight forward. A 10 minute phone call to cable tech support to switch out the equipment and we were back up and running. Our internet connection is a 30x5 we were averaging 19x1 with the old modem. We now are getting 30x4.3. The added feature of the multi-speed Ethernet port is nice. If your Router WAN Port is Gigabit capable, the lag when connecting and downloading is gone. The modem is great for those who stream video, music, and online game. It also resolved a lag issue when streaming content from our DirecTV dvr.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great modem!

12/23/2012
By ,
Highland, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this modem after Time Warner decided to start charging a lease fee for their modem. After using it for a full day, I no longer lose my wireless connection on my laptop and have been streaming Netflix all day with no streaming loss. Both of those were huge issues daily. I am more than satisfied with this product!
A word of caution to TWC internet and phone users. The first tech told me if I were to buy my own modem, I would have to return their modem to a TWC store for a phone-only modem. Thankfully, I decided to get the modem up and running before wasting time and gas going to a store with the old modem in tow. The second TWC CS I contacted to add this modem on my account told me I did NOT have to return the old modem; they would just give me the same one (Arris) anyway as it was a phone and internet modem. She hooked me up, removed the modem lease charge and made sure everything was fine with the old modem which is now only working for phone-only. Just make sure to get a 5-1000 splitter (Walmart only had a 5-2000 which works fine) and a 2 more coax cables to hook up both modems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Does the Job Well

01/16/2014
By ,
Denison, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Motorola SURFboard SB6121 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem as an upgrade from a DOCSIS 2 modem so I could take advantage of the higher 50 Mbps speed offered by my cable company. It was very easy to set up: I followed the directions in the startup guide, connected the ethernet cable, and contacted the cable company so they could complete the activation. (If one is setting up cable service for the first time, the steps may be a bit more involved, but the modem itself is not difficult). So far it is working just fine. It looks nice on the desk, doesn't take up a lot of room (it's "footprint" is about 1.5" x 5") and I like that the LED status lights on the front are little icons, so one can tell at a glance which is for power, connectivity, etc.
My previous modem was also a Motorola SURFboard product, and it was working fine after more than 18 months. As earlier mentioned, I only replaced it to be able to upgrade to higher internet speeds. With the cable company wanting $7.99 per month to rent a modem from them, it had already more than paid for itself. I fully expect this one will do the same.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

bought this modem to own myself

05/09/2014
By ,
whiting ,nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you have cable like Comcast----------MAKE SURE THAT YOU DISCONNECT THE COMCAST MODEM AND TAKE IT BACK TO COMCAST AND TELL THEM YOU OWN YOUR OWN MOODEM NOW00A SAVE-INGS OF 8.00 OFF YOUR BILL AS NO MORE RENT THEIRS-------BECAUSE THIS IS THE ONLY WAY THATA THEIR PHONE OFFICE WILL NE ABLE TO GET YOU UP AND RUNNING--THEY HAVE TO SEE ON THEIR COMPUTERS IN THE BILLING OFFICE THAT YOU RETURNED THEIR OLD MODEM TO YOU BEFORE THEY WILL CONNECT YOU-------SO MAKE SURE YOU FOLLOW THIS ADVICE--IT WILL MAKE YOUR NEW MODEM GET ON LINE RIGHT OFF-----OK THATS THE DEAL THIS MODEM DOES REAL FAST FAST AND I HAVE THE SLOWEST HI SPEED COMCST OFFERS(29.00-PER MONTH) AND IT WILL DO YOUTUBE-VIDEOS LIKE THE FASTEST HISPEED-----SO YOU CAN GET THE CHEAP HI SPEED LIKE I HAVE AND IT WILL WORK FAST WITH THIS MODEM
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+60points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Decent Modem - Arris SB6121

06/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good. We've had the modem installed for about a month. Initially we were not happy with the speed. However, we discovered that though a contact with COMCAST had activated the modem he had not registered it. After contacting COMCAST again Blanche was able to get us up and going at full speed by registering the modem. You will need the Model #, Mac address, and Serial number. My house mate worked on our end to complete the connectivity. Blanche was professional and really stuck with us through the process. She even volunteered to call us back to check to be sure things were going well. The speed seems to be the same as the rental modem we were paying $7.00 a month for! I would definitely suggest to others to at least think about purchasing their own modem. I can't believe I've spent hundreds of dollars all these years when I could have purchased an inexpensive modem to do the job!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Delivered the improved speed expected

07/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I followed the recommendation from my Internet Service Provider (ISP) to get a DOCSIS 3.0 modem to replace my older model. After carefully looking for reviews, this model was highly rated. It was delivered within the expected time. I was a able to install it right out of the box just following the Read Me First instructions. I noticed the power transformer gets very hot (will keep checking). I performed a speed test and yielded 18.51 Mbps downloading and 7.12 Mbps uploading from an old Sony VAIO (2011) model. My ISP claims it can deliver 25 Mbps. Verifying if the firmware was up to date was rather cumbersome. The firmware loaded 1.0.6.10 is not the latest from the manufacturer, there are other newer versions available 1.0.6.12. I have been using it for 3 days concurrently with 2 MacBooks, one Sony VAIO, and 2 iphone 4s, serviced by a Airave GPS antenna hooked up to the router. Very good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great choice!

07/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just started benefiting from the use of my modem. It is an investment that I do not regret. FYI, once you purchase it, if it's for COMCAST, you will still need THEM to send a signal to activate it, as well as your router, if separate. THEY will make you a little upset playing the dumb roll, but be patient and persistent, and it will all work out in the long run, Trust Me! It took me two days of calling them, one for the modem and one for the router. Hey! it's worth the wait - saving $10 a month for modem rental fee!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

SB6121 SURFboard

07/26/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well I got to say first and foremost, I am getting 1Mbps faster downloads than I pay for. I am getting great reception from my office in the back of the house all the way to the front of the house. I love the 2.4 auto feature that selects via set up, the least used channel it sees and will use it. Also the 5g works the same way. Excellent! I put my wifi blu-ray player on 2.4 mghz., my phones on 5mghz., three tablets on the router, two on 5 mghz and one on 2.4 mghz. Also I put my Samsung Color Laser printer on the router via cat 5 cable and can use my printer now without the computer even being on. I just use Samsung Mobile print APP on all devices and print through the router. Awesome! Cox Rep was very friendly, knowledgeable and was ready to go far over and above her job. I just gave her my serial number and Mac ID and she set up the modem in a heartbeat and was ready to help me set up my new Netgear N600 too. I had to slow her down some, because she was too helpful. The Netgear Genie had the router up and running without me even doing much right away. The layout has a very simple layout and easy to set up screen. If you are Advanced, then all you have to do is click the Advanced Tab. You better be advanced and prepared to be inundated with a lot of choices. I am in love with the new speed and ease of how both of these devices are working. I was up and running in ten minutes or less. I still have a lot to learn and explore on this device, but I am happy I am getting what I pay for with Cox. Kudo's to their customer Rep! One Last Note: The Netgear N600 can not use a printer with the USB it has... Just Media Server... If your printer is wi-fi, you can set that up with the router, but mine only used channel 10. By using a cat 5 network cable to router, I can still have auto 2.4 channels. There are plenty of Youtube video's showing how to do this,
Highly recommend this combination. SB6121 SURFboard and Netgear N600
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Received returned/broken item

07/20/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this item on-line...good price, i thought....and picked it up at he store. When I opened the box, it had already been opened and I assume used, so I returned it the same day and ordered the same item item from AMAZON, at a lower price. I received the new item from Amazon in two days....
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Was expecting it to be more difficult

03/29/2013
By ,
South Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When ordering Comcast internet, I decided to buy a modem rather than pay $7.00 per month for the rental of thier router. I only want internet from Comcast, maybe more later. I was expecting a need to program the unit for it to work properly. I looked for an instruction book for programming and there is'nt one. You must go online for that. I would much prefer a physical manual. It was a surprise to me when I plugged it in and immediately had internet access! Everything worked after a two minute install (plug three cables in). There has not been one glitch! I am happy with the modem and my decision to buy it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Superior Modem

06/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have Cox internet and had an older version modem which worked OK, but did not give me the speed that I was paying for. This V3 modem, recommended by Cox, is working beautifully. It was so easy to install. There are only three connectors; power, cable, and ethernet. I also use a wireless router. I had to call Cox and give them the serial number and mac number which is both on the box and the unit itself. On the day that I installed, the speed did not change. However, on the next day, the speed was higher than I am actually paying for. Don't know how that happened. When I moved the computer away from the modem by approximately 15-20 feet, the speed dropped about 10. I am still extremely happy with this. overall, the speed has not only doubled, but I don't seem to have major fluctuations in the speed from day to day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Bought for dad...

07/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It appears to work well, He has not reported any difficulty with the product and is satisfied with how it is working in the home.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Great product

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is working great with my TWC internet
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

works but not great -

07/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I think I should have done the better one - since I live in an apartment I didn't think I would have a problem but the connection is not strong from front where the modem is to the back
Recommends this product? No
From Motorola Customer Care07/17/2015
Please go to http://www.surfboard.com/support/ MotorolaMobility
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for ARRIS/Motorola SB6121 SURFboard DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Lots better than you get from the Cable Company.

10/25/2012
By ,
Auburn, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it to replace the one from the cable company and right off I saw a greater CLEAR reception, computer loaded faster that I have ever seen it load. And buying it it saves me
$91.00 a year rent, and like I said, it is a better modem! Semper Fi.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+280points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 662 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  34 Next