Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

TomTom TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Travel throughout the US with ease and style. This refurbished TomTom VIA 1535 GPS boasts a contemporary slim design with brushed-aluminum finish, a new intuitive user interface on a 5.0" touchscreen and over one million more miles of mapped roads in the US than competing models. This refurbished 5" GPS with Bluetooth is also enhanced with a suite of features designed to help you drive more safely, including voice recognition and hands-free calling. Only TomTom offers exclusive technology that evaluates routes based on actual traffic speeds, rather than posted speed limits, and will recommend the fastest route for the time of the day. Step up to better driving with the TomTom VIA 1535 GPS today.
Average Customer Rating:
3.894 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(263 Reviews) 203
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation77%203 out of 263reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 228 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
129
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great Product for the price

01/11/2013
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipping on site to store was fast.
I contacted first TomTom to see if they would support lifetime maps in a refurbished item, and they said yes.
Other people had problems of the lifetime update code was out of date but I had no issues.
Opened the box, the GPS was like new, connected to the internet and registered it. Activated lifetime maps with the given code and updated my GPS without troubles.
The unit is working fine, though I haven't tested all the functions.
Would reccomend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Hold the power button in until you hear the drums.

10/21/2012
By ,
Williamsport, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was apprehensive about buying refurbished. Was quite disappointed at first; when I plugged into PC it seemed everything was lost. Followed instructions, even had changed settings on my PC and left both plugged in and on all night to get the update. Searched internet for solution. When I was just about to return it, I remembered I had not heard anything - ended up I had to HOLD IN THE POWER BUTTON UNTIL YOU HEAR DRUMS. Seems to be ok now, took it on a short trip yesterday and it worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

TomTom Refurbished VIA 1535 5" GPS Unit

10/27/2012
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets all my expectations. The 3D map is easy to follow and understand. If I make a wrong turn it quickly comes up with another route. Updates are easy, by just plugging into my PC. I had priced it earlier, but delayed on getting it. When I actually got it, it was half the original price! I arrived at my destination once (home) and still had 10 feet to go. I didnt want to run into the building so I canceled the route. Keeping me apprised of the speed limit on interstates is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Good allaround GPS.

11/03/2013
By ,
Melbourne,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far this TomTom GPS perform well,I'm taking it with me on vacation and will test it in unfamilure
Areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Works like a charm with no issues

10/11/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GPS unit I'll admit was at first a little too good to be true. However, once I received and tested the unit which was a gift for my dad, I knew he would love it and he did. I am very impressed as a technologically advanced individual and will be buying more refurbished items in the future from Walmart as in this economy saving a buck or two for a rainy day is top priority.
I would recommend this to anyone. You really cannot tell the difference between it and a brand new unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Dissapointed

02/09/2013
By ,
Palm Springs , CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned the XL prior so I thought this would be the same quality. It is not even close there are lots of mistakes with the maps and spelling. It also looks and feels very cheap. The colors on the banner are changed and the voice recognition is virtually unusable, I tryed 5-6 times and gave up. The bluetooth is very hard to hear or even make a call. I would not recommend this product at all. I am going to order the Garmin Nuvi instead. Very Dissapointed.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Very good condition, quick delivery

11/09/2013
By ,
Reisterstown, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good condition, quick delivery
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

support failure

12/29/2012
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really beginning to like this Tomtom VIA GPS, but when I went online to update the maps (free maps for life) as recommended by the maker, I was unable to do so. The server kept booting me off. I followed the instructions, including to disconnect and reconnect as prompted. I gave up in frustration, went back to it the next morning. After 2-3 more attempts the unit would not even boot and I gave up. Tomtom not recommended for lack of adequate web support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great Product---Great Deal

03/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not tried the Bluetooth yet, so I can't comment on that.
The GPS came out of the box and I registered at Tomtom for an account, entered code for lifetime maps and downloaded all updates with NO PROBLEMS. Excellent GPS and easy to use. The voice control is great, but I did have to repeat several times to get the correct address. You even get lifetime traffic if you buy the reciever cord seperately, E-Bay has them for under $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great Price

11/02/2013
By ,
Georgetown, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Refurbished but works as good as a new one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Love it

06/10/2013
By ,
Mobile,Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THE UNIT. I LOVE THAT IT HAS A HANDS FREE CALLING ON IT. I USE IT ALOT I BOUGHT IT TO GO ON A TRIP TO GO TO NORTH CAROLINA TO SEE MY SON THAT IS IN THE ARMY BUT HE COULD NOT GET OFF WORK, NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT TO GO A NETHER TIME . WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE I HAD TO CALL TOMTOM TO GET HELP ON HOW TO USE THE HAND FREE CALLING THEY WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFUL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Does what it should as a gps

08/30/2013
By ,
Aurora, IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I was thinking that hands free really meant hands free. But I still need to scroll down my phone book to make a call. That's not hands free. I thought I would be able to use voice activation to make calls but not the case. Very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Definitely a Grrrr8 buy for the price!!

11/25/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Tom Tom for personal use while it is a refurbished product I have had no issues. Voice talk is great they have different voice options but careful only one of those voice options will give the street name. Bluetooth is a cool option, volume could be louder. I would recommend this product, it's user friendly and has a huge LCD display. It gave perfect directions and led me directly to my destination. Very useful handy toy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

I'm happy with it, If it will turn back on!!!

12/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got mine yesterday and used it just to see what all it did. the bluetooth was nice but it wouldn't completely connect with my phone (my phone is an older one so I'm thinking my phones the issue not the GPS) , also i made a call on it but it wasn't very loud. I cant get it registered which isn't good bc if not I wont get the updates. I haven't tried out the voice recognition yet but might not get to if it never turns on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

No Tomtom Repain

09/11/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit worked for four months until broken. Called Tomtom. They have no repair facilities! Nothing can be fixed at any price! Run away from Tomtom, they are a disposable unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Works Well Except

11/22/2012
By ,
New Windsor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got two of these for myself and my partner and his works well on bluetooth with his cell phone. Mine unfortunately syncs up but then drops the connection and when it does connect it doesn't come out through the gps's speakers. Although I didn't buy it specifically for the bluetooth option it would have been nice if it worked. Apparently TomTom only works with VERY specific cell phones. So far it has worked very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished
11/11/2012
By ,
GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
All the features are really good. The options which they have given is worth the buy.
THe major flaw in the device.......
The GPS takes very long time to find the location. Even after taking it outside home.
The finding screen keeps finding and you cannot decide on the route as GPS is still not
located.
The mount also doesnt stick to the screen for long. It just falls off and u cannot use for multiple cars.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

superb GPS

06/26/2013
By ,
Alexandria, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again TomTom proves they are the best when it comes to GPS units. The compact size and light weight combined being able to talk to this device and tell it where you want to go makes this a must buy. Great condition as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great GPS

05/09/2013
By ,
Syracuse NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a beginner but so I do not know if this is good for someone who needs an "easy to use" gps but the size is great. the directions are clear and concise. I am very happy with the map as well. The high way signs do not show up as large as in the picture but the GPS is great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished
08/28/2013
By ,
LI, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clearer spoken directions than other brands, good value as refurbished + Walmart warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 148 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  8 Next