Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for TomTom TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

TomTom TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Travel throughout the US with ease and style. This refurbished TomTom VIA 1535 GPS boasts a contemporary slim design with brushed-aluminum finish, a new intuitive user interface on a 5.0" touchscreen and over one million more miles of mapped roads in the US than competing models. This refurbished 5" GPS with Bluetooth is also enhanced with a suite of features designed to help you drive more safely, including voice recognition and hands-free calling. Only TomTom offers exclusive technology that evaluates routes based on actual traffic speeds, rather than posted speed limits, and will recommend the fastest route for the time of the day. Step up to better driving with the TomTom VIA 1535 GPS today.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(262 Reviews) 202
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Recommendation77%202 out of 262reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
61 Questions | 228 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
63
3 stars
21
2 stars
14
1 star
36
Customer Reviews
Review 61 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished
07/16/2012
By ,
burke,va
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 62 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Excellent product @ a super price!

01/17/2013
By ,
Rohnert Park, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This GPS, TomTom VIA 1535 5" is an awesome product and at the price Walmart is selling it at...well not much I can say about that. Ease of set up and download was very seamless and simple. The screen is very easy to use and no problems locating features. There are great shortcuts in this as compared to my other GPS which make it easy to program an address in and straight forward directions the voice prompt provides are clear and make locating destinations easy. I am very pleased with this purchase and quality of the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 63 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

very good product!

01/11/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this refurbished Tom Tom because it was a great price. TomTom is also known to be a very good GPS
company. However, I did not realize that buying it refurbished I would not have the lifetime maps available to me. When I logged on to the my tomtom website I could not use the lifetime maps update activation code because it had expired. One of the reasons I purchased this item was because of the lifetime map updates.
Also, using the Bluetooth to make a call while driving didn't sound as good as I thought it would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 64 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

GREAT GPS

01/17/2013
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 9 years of using my original TomTom One, i thought it was time to upgrade. I wanted another TomTom since the one i had was so easy to use. Im glad i did. The TomTOm VIA is easy to use especially if you have already had another TomTom. Love the LARGE screen. Really makes typing in information easy. The colors are great and looks great in my car.
I still have not used all the features on it other then your basic going from point A to point B. But so far i LOVE this unit. It was a great choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 65 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Love it

06/10/2013
By ,
Mobile,Al.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I LOVE THE UNIT. I LOVE THAT IT HAS A HANDS FREE CALLING ON IT. I USE IT ALOT I BOUGHT IT TO GO ON A TRIP TO GO TO NORTH CAROLINA TO SEE MY SON THAT IS IN THE ARMY BUT HE COULD NOT GET OFF WORK, NOW WE HAVE TO WAIT TO GO A NETHER TIME . WOULD RECOMMEND TO ANYONE I HAD TO CALL TOMTOM TO GET HELP ON HOW TO USE THE HAND FREE CALLING THEY WAS VERY NICE AND HELPFUL
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 66 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished
08/28/2013
By ,
LI, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Clearer spoken directions than other brands, good value as refurbished + Walmart warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 67 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great Product for the price

01/11/2013
By ,
MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The shipping on site to store was fast.
I contacted first TomTom to see if they would support lifetime maps in a refurbished item, and they said yes.
Other people had problems of the lifetime update code was out of date but I had no issues.
Opened the box, the GPS was like new, connected to the internet and registered it. Activated lifetime maps with the given code and updated my GPS without troubles.
The unit is working fine, though I haven't tested all the functions.
Would reccomend it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 68 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

works better then I thought it would.

08/25/2013
By ,
sacramento, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd tomtom and this one is great, I use it every day for my job and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 69 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Dissapointed

02/09/2013
By ,
Palm Springs , CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I owned the XL prior so I thought this would be the same quality. It is not even close there are lots of mistakes with the maps and spelling. It also looks and feels very cheap. The colors on the banner are changed and the voice recognition is virtually unusable, I tryed 5-6 times and gave up. The bluetooth is very hard to hear or even make a call. I would not recommend this product at all. I am going to order the Garmin Nuvi instead. Very Dissapointed.....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 70 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Hold the power button in until you hear the drums.

10/21/2012
By ,
Williamsport, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was apprehensive about buying refurbished. Was quite disappointed at first; when I plugged into PC it seemed everything was lost. Followed instructions, even had changed settings on my PC and left both plugged in and on all night to get the update. Searched internet for solution. When I was just about to return it, I remembered I had not heard anything - ended up I had to HOLD IN THE POWER BUTTON UNTIL YOU HEAR DRUMS. Seems to be ok now, took it on a short trip yesterday and it worked fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 71 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

TomTom Refurbished VIA 1535 5" GPS Unit

10/27/2012
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets all my expectations. The 3D map is easy to follow and understand. If I make a wrong turn it quickly comes up with another route. Updates are easy, by just plugging into my PC. I had priced it earlier, but delayed on getting it. When I actually got it, it was half the original price! I arrived at my destination once (home) and still had 10 feet to go. I didnt want to run into the building so I canceled the route. Keeping me apprised of the speed limit on interstates is a nice feature.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 72 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

It was not recondition as it stated

08/21/2013
By ,
delaware
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought it for Bluetooth and it did not work. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 73 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Great Product---Great Deal

03/08/2013
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have not tried the Bluetooth yet, so I can't comment on that.
The GPS came out of the box and I registered at Tomtom for an account, entered code for lifetime maps and downloaded all updates with NO PROBLEMS. Excellent GPS and easy to use. The voice control is great, but I did have to repeat several times to get the correct address. You even get lifetime traffic if you buy the reciever cord seperately, E-Bay has them for under $20.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 74 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

support failure

12/29/2012
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was really beginning to like this Tomtom VIA GPS, but when I went online to update the maps (free maps for life) as recommended by the maker, I was unable to do so. The server kept booting me off. I followed the instructions, including to disconnect and reconnect as prompted. I gave up in frustration, went back to it the next morning. After 2-3 more attempts the unit would not even boot and I gave up. Tomtom not recommended for lack of adequate web support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 75 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Works like a charm with no issues

10/11/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The GPS unit I'll admit was at first a little too good to be true. However, once I received and tested the unit which was a gift for my dad, I knew he would love it and he did. I am very impressed as a technologically advanced individual and will be buying more refurbished items in the future from Walmart as in this economy saving a buck or two for a rainy day is top priority.
I would recommend this to anyone. You really cannot tell the difference between it and a brand new unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 76 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished
07/22/2013
By ,
Gonzales,La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very pleased with my purchase! The Tom Tom that I purchased was a great buy for the price, and can't tell that it was a refurbished product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 77 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

superb GPS

06/26/2013
By ,
Alexandria, Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once again TomTom proves they are the best when it comes to GPS units. The compact size and light weight combined being able to talk to this device and tell it where you want to go makes this a must buy. Great condition as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 78 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Definitely a Grrrr8 buy for the price!!

11/25/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this Tom Tom for personal use while it is a refurbished product I have had no issues. Voice talk is great they have different voice options but careful only one of those voice options will give the street name. Bluetooth is a cool option, volume could be louder. I would recommend this product, it's user friendly and has a huge LCD display. It gave perfect directions and led me directly to my destination. Very useful handy toy!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 79 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

I'm happy with it, If it will turn back on!!!

12/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just got mine yesterday and used it just to see what all it did. the bluetooth was nice but it wouldn't completely connect with my phone (my phone is an older one so I'm thinking my phones the issue not the GPS) , also i made a call on it but it wasn't very loud. I cant get it registered which isn't good bc if not I wont get the updates. I haven't tried out the voice recognition yet but might not get to if it never turns on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 80 for TomTom VIA 1535M 5" GPS w/Lifetime Maps Updates, Refurbished

Works Well Except

11/22/2012
By ,
New Windsor, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got two of these for myself and my partner and his works well on bluetooth with his cell phone. Mine unfortunately syncs up but then drops the connection and when it does connect it doesn't come out through the gps's speakers. Although I didn't buy it specifically for the bluetooth option it would have been nice if it worked. Apparently TomTom only works with VERY specific cell phones. So far it has worked very well.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
61-80 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6  ...  8 Next