Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Samsung Galaxy Appeal will be AT&T's first eco-friendly, side-slider smartphone to enter the GoPhone portfolio. Featuring Android 2.3 (Gingerbread), appeal provides the style and functionality of a smartphone, without the commitment of an annual contract. The bright, 3.2" capacitive touchscreen allows you to view and take pictures and videos from your 3MP camera and QVGA video recorder. Appeal is packed with plenty of tools to help keep you organized and offers the flexibility to customize your home screens with downloaded apps and widgets from the Android Market. You can take customization one step further by using Appeal to download your favorite music, apps, games and books.
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation69%31 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
20
4 stars
7
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Great value in an Android smartphone

07/21/2012
By ,
Katy, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Bad:
You may have battery life problems with some of the i827 phones, so if you do, take it back within 15 days (Walmart's return policy) and exchange it for another i827. My first i827 went from 100% charged to 30% charged within 6 hours without any use - standby the entire time with all the power-saving features enabled. I assumed the problem was the battery, but you can't get a replacement battery yet since the phone is so new. I returned my first i827 and got another i827, which has great battery life - going from 100% charged to 60% charged over 3 days with light-medium use for calls, texts and internet use. The second i827 also had all power-saving features enabled.
The Good:
The i827 has all the feaures I wanted in a prepaid smartphone. It has great internet browsing capability with a full HTML browser that allows you to expand and minimize the web page displayed. Texting is versatile with vertical and horizontal touchscreen keypads and a slide-out physical keypad. For answering calls, you can configure the phone to allow answering by touching the Home touchkey at the bottom of the phone. Most Android phones require you to answer by swiping the Answer touchscreen symbol horizontally on the phone, which I consider to be unsafe to do when driving. I really like the extensive configuration options that this phone provides! One disappointment has to do with AT&T, which doesn't allow you to do Wi-Fi tethering with a prepaid plan, even though the phone has this function built into it. The phone does have the ability to function as a USB modem to connect your laptop/tablet to the internet, but I haven't tried that yet.
This phone is a great value for a prepaid Android smartphone - I recommend that you try it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+129points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Katy, Texas
To Sleepyat9PM
Posted 08/02/2012
You misunderstood what I said about WiFi:
* The phone automatically switches from 3G to WiFi in your house like you wanted
* The phone cannot act as a WiFi hotspot due to ATT locking this function out of a prepaid account
+2points
Customer Avatar
Annandale, VA
Wi Fi listed as option, but can't use?
Posted 08/01/2012
Hey KatyTechGuy, (one review submitted that I just read)
Thanks for letting me know that the WiFi, even though listed as an option on the phone, cannot be accessed with tethering (if no bars are available, you switch to WiFi in a home). I was going to purchase this phone for my daughter because of the WiFi, since there are no cell reception bars in her home. She has a prepaid phone that she adds to monthly, but now I know that I can't purchase this phone for her since she's not on a contract... ugh...
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Great for the price

10/09/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off I just want to say that all those people who wrote reviews saying that the phone is great with the exception of the battery life might either have way to high expectations or are just unfamiliar with how smartphones work. It even states in the description that the talk time is about 7 hours. This is talk time not app time. When you have apps running your battery will not last as long also other things to take into consideration is "live" wallpapers. The wallpapers that move and have motion to them drain your battery as well. Remember to turn on the energy saver on your phone and it should last all day with average app time. (Also the charger is a USB cable so I just take my cord to work with me just in case so I can plug it into my computer if I need too. So PLEASE don't base your judgement of this phone strictly on the battery life as all smartphones will have this issue. Also please don't take to heart the the things about them freezing and shutting off on you. This is not my first smartphone and they all will do this if they are not shut off every once in awhile. Remember this phones are technically small computers and need to be shut down and updated. If you do not shut your phone off for at least a few minutes your phone will shut down on you and can even freeze. Sometimes it is actually errors and can be a defect but most smartphones will do this if not shut down.
Now onto my actual review (I just needed to get that off my chest). This phone is great it does everything that I need and want it too plus more. For a longtime I didn't want to touch certain things because I didn't know what they did and that phones could even do things like make and share PowerPoint presentations (it does!!!). I finally relaxed a little and played around with the phone and it has all kind of cool stuff. It comes preinstalled with all the "major" apps you would want like facebook and Google Play. Even the touch screen keyboard (if you don't want to use the pull down qwerty keyboard) is easy to use. Sometimes these keyboards can be touchy or the buttons to small so you hit buttons you don't want to... not this phone (though I do have fairly small fingers). My old touch screen didn't have the pull down keyboard and it was so hard to text (which is what I primarily do) but I find I don't use the pull down keyboard all the time with this phone which is nice to be able to do.
I really love this phone. I bought this phone to use on my Straight Talk service (you need to by the supporting SIM Card to use ST with this phone). I bought the SIM card slide it into the phone called ST and with in minutes I was all set. And the awesome thing about that is if you buy another AT&T phone all you need to do is slide the card out of this phone and place it into the new phone and you are all set to go without having to call and reactivate with a new card. Make sure to follow the instructions on the SIM Card package as to how to set up your internet if using this phone for ST as the phones Mobile Web will be set up for AT&T and not ST and will not work until you add a new APN.
The only downside to this phone is the lower left side is slightly shakey. It will wiggle when you apply pressure so slide your finger to hard along the bottom. If you shake the the phone back and fourth it doesn't slide so it's not that the phone is broken it's just not as tight on the bottom. I was not aware of this when I bought the phone and when I noticed it I returned the phone within the 15 days to exchange it for another one (of the same phone) and when I received that phone it was the same way. This is just the phone so please do not be alarmed. This will happen anyway with all Qwerty Keyboard phones as they loosen over time.
But honestly that is the only bummer to this phone... everything else works great one it and it does everything that I would want it to. The screen is large enough and clear and has lot of cool features. Other than the Wobble to the bottom I am VERY pleased with this purchase so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+152points
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Phone is fast,.,,,

07/20/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The touchscreen is incredibly responsive and it downloads Android apps very well. The tone quality is excellent and it is very fast on the internet and WiFi. It has a full package of features. The screen is a little stingy in size, but this is the best value for this price we could find.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Awesome phone and and even better plan.

10/13/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My first smartphone, and ATT has hit it out of the ballpark with this phone. I can surf the web via wi fi for free, unlimted text and 250 minutes per month, all for $25. Add data for another $25, or just add data for a month or two if you're going on a trip or something. If I need more minutes I can buy another $25 card and use them over 90 days before they expire. Tired of paying high monthly cell phone fees or being locked in for 2 years? ATT go phones might be your ticket. I looked at all the other carriers and ATT had the best deal by far. The only downside about any carriers prepaids is you may not have coverage in certain remote locations where they share towers with each other for monthly subscribers - no sharing for prepaid customers, only your carrier. On the off chance I go to tinytown Nebraska without ATT towers, I'll figure it out then, saving money like crazy until then. What I love about this phone is it's one of the few smartphones with a keyboard. My big paws don't do well with virutal keys, although sometimes I used them on this phone. Had it about 3 months and love it more every day. Battery life was poor the first day but Samsung had me do a reset and I now get what I should, 1-2 days on a charge. Burner phones used to be for "those people" but they're going mainstream now, as people realize they don't need unlimited minutes and don't need to pay $80 to look up a movie time on a date plan twice a month. Full facebook integration with this phone, remembers my wi fi spots so I don't need to pick everytime, Google Play - formerly android market, and all the bells and whistles if you need them. I was suprised how solid this phone is considering subsidized smartphones with 2 year plans seem to be $400 if you buy them outright. Bought this phone at Walmart because I could have returned it within two weeks if I didn't like it, whereas ATT wants a restock fee. Took it to ATT and they ported over my number, transferred contacts, and set everything up. Awesome customer service. Touchscreen works good, ringtones and settings great, just can't say enough!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Nice phone--steep learning curve

09/28/2012
By ,
Boonville, IN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had the phone for about two weeks--no problem with battery or calls, but it is not intuitive and does not come with complete instruction book. Retrieving messages can be problem; as a previous reviewer said, it can be overly touchy and take you away from task. I like the phone well enough to keep it and go back to ATT when I need help. The $50 unlimited plan can't be beat.
A larger keypad and instruction manual would solve all my issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tx
@ skylark43....
Posted 10/15/2012
Ok, where are you getting a $50.00 unlimited plan? I want that! :) Thanks for the review-it was helpful.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Great Phone for the Price

09/15/2012
By ,
Anna, OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone for what it could do and what it can give you, it it well equipped. With the price? its reasonable. I believe its a good phone BUT battery life is really the KILLER. BUT otherwise just a Perfect phone to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Love it...but got a bad one first...

01/26/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ordered online as is $30.00 cheaper than in the store (is $149. in store, $121. online). Phone came, I was SO excited as was my first smartphone. Chose this one as really wanted AT&T pay as you go, & a phone w/a physical keyboard. Same problem as others have discussed already, phone literally "ate" the battery, you could physically just see the battery "ticking down" as you'd look at the phone's status. I tried for a couple of days, charging/draining, charging draining, & I wasn't even using the phone for apps or calls or anything, it was just in standby mode. It would be down to 50% power in like 2 hours. Thus I returned to my local Wal-Mart, asked for the manager at service desk as the clerk there said I'd have to return phone & re-buy at store list price & I really didn't want to pay $30. more for really no reason. So manager agreed to do price match from my online purchase, I was able to exchange & not pay the price difference. Now phone is GREAT, I LOVE IT. I'm not a heavy user, send a few texts, occasionally make a call, & have used the internet on wi-fi & network. Everything works fine, no probs, & this one will stay charged a few days in stand-by w/o any problem whatsoever. I like the physical keyboard as I can "thumb type" fairly quickly, don't care for screen keyboard as it super-sensitive/touchy, being a new smartphone user this was the perfect purchase & perfect fit for me. So if you get a bad one, exchange it, I'm really glad I hung in there & didn't just return it & buy a different phone I probably wouldn't have been happy with. I would buy this phone again. :o)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black
06/04/2013
By ,
Daytona Beach FL area
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great service from Wal Mart. Phone is too touchy. Features turned on by accident? Cannot delete unwanted options. Prepaid balance disappeared quickly. 10 key pad not large enough for big fingers. Could not select certain small print items with touch screen.
Keyboard did not have good feel. Could not tell by feel whether what I was typing was input without looking at screen. No sound for keyboard input.
Good display. Battery life good, but one has to make sure that all options are closed and that is not easy to accomplish.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Good quality for the price.

07/07/2012
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the size, functionality & the pull down keyboard.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+44points
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Love it!

03/10/2013
By ,
Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ive had this phone for 3 months now and I love it! the battery life is great however I do not use the internet (dont have a data package yet) so this may be why it last. I just started using it for music and I love it! its great having and extra music player along side my ipod touch. The touch screen works excellent! I recomend having your cell off at some point because if you dont it slows down a litte (only if you never shut it off). The texting aso works exteremly well! Calling has great sound and the speaker phone works well also! You can add shortcuts to our home screen which is a nice touch and easy to set up. The camera works pretty well (not like apple products but still good quility for being a gophone). This summer ill be adding a data package so it will be intresting to see how the internet aspect works. Overall a great product and awesome smartphone!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

So happy with this purchase!

07/12/2012
By ,
Albany, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this phone. It is sturdy and works for exactly what I need it for!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

If only the battery was decent...

07/21/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The phone seems to be pretty nice. The touch screen is overly touchy and is often clicking on things that I didn't want, which is annoying. But the worst part is the battery. The listing says 7 hours of talk time and 12 hours of standby time- so untrue. I'm wondering if I just got a bad battery. Anyway, I charged the phone for 24 hours when I got it, used it off and on with only text for a few hours before the battery died, I wasn't even talking on the phone. I charged it for 3 hours to get the battery back up to full, used it here and there for text for another 3 hours and the battery died again. I'm going to be finding a new battery for it, because this is ridiculous.
Besides that, I like having a regular keyboard, nice selection of apps, great features. If only the battery was decent...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black
09/01/2012
By ,
tulare,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the phone very reliable smartphone... i sooo recommend
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Nice phone, horrible battery life

07/04/2012
By ,
Maryland
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery dies within hours whether the phone is on or off. If in use, the battery is only good for 30 minutes.
A nice phone, but practically unusable due to the battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TN
Must have gotten a dud of a battery
Posted 07/07/2012
I have to charge daily, but have had no real issues with the battery
+10points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

poor battery

12/22/2012
By ,
San Jose, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I fully charged battery in the morning. I used it power save mode however, it required battery charge in the evening.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Great Phone - Battery won't hold a charge

03/05/2013
By ,
Citrus Heights, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love the phone, especially the slide-out keyboard. The battery is useless. Charge it overnight and in the morning it has a full charge. After 3 hours of being unplugged, without using it and with no applications running, the battery is DEAD! This seems to be a common issue. I received a credit from Wal-mart.com to purchase a new battery. All is good now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Great Phone

06/21/2013
By ,
Fort Myers, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seems to be the latest in smart phones. It has an Android OS which I've heard is at the top of the chart. Because it's an unlocked phone you don't have to commit yourself to a contract and monthly payments. Of course you're limited to hot spots but for me that's fine. I don't go out much and it will work at home if you have a wireless Internet connection for your computer. There are probably some other options. You can always sign up for a paid plan at a later date.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

poor battery life

02/21/2013
By ,
statecollege pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
great phone but battery is terable only get 6 to 7 hours out of it when not useing every thing turned off no wifi or web and get alot less if useing phone poor camra would not buy this again works good but cant make it through day with out chargeing 2 or 3 times why have it if you are not buy the charger all day kept it to long to take back very poor battery life had other phone that did not have this problem DO NOT BUY DONT WAST YOUR MONEY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
statecollege pa
update
Posted 03/17/2013
sent phone back via warranty got new phone was better. great for first 3 day lasted 2 day no charge well now back to chargeing phone 3 times day with hardly any use 10 15 texed and maybe 10 min talk time day no data battery saver in place did facktory reset no luck very poor battery life great phone i think i will cut my lose junk phone in trash and buy the simler one from straight talk cheeper phan and that on dose not seem to have the poor battery complains that this one dose it is a great phone if you keep it on charger but if you want to use phone away from charger all day forget it will not happen kinda defeats perpos of haveing cell phone this is not my first phone understand that i need to charge every day but 3 times with hardly any us wow this should be on the do not buy list some where good luck if you buy it like i said great phone other than battery never again
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black

Run away - best used as a paper weight

05/19/2013
By ,
Greensburg, PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't say it loud enough - the text alert stays at half volume - turn it up it turns itself back down. Battery does 10 hours max less if you make a call or get or send a text. The phone is locked down so badly that you can't download a ringtone even over wify without buying a monthly data plan - which defeats the pay as you go concept - My Razor flip phone could access the web to download ring tones - AT&T locked every one of their smart phones down so you can't do that without buying their monthly plan - non smart phones can still access the web and download by the minute - the software in the phone is junk - every contact on my sim card is now listed as a cell phone instead of home, cell or buisness so it's impossible to dial a home number unless you know the number - you have to guess which is which - defeats the purpose of having a phone book - and you cannot edit them manually to designate home, cell or work either. I'm currently seeing if the battery in my Razor will revive so I can shove this $100.00 + mistake into a drawer and forget about it. It was a gift which really makes me feel bad for not using it but junk is junk and this is JUNK.
Software - JUNK
Ability to use features the phone has - JUNK
Battery life - JUNK
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung I827 Galaxy Appeal, Black
02/01/2013
By ,
Monticello arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great phone I love everything about it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1 2 Next