Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

AT&T AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Samsung a157's compact design will be perfect for those who primarily use their device for voice calling, but also want the ability for SMS text messaging. The a157 is sleek and stylish and will be available at the opening price point of the AT&T GoPhone portfolio.
Average Customer Rating:
4.128 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(86 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation86%74 out of 86reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
49
4 stars
19
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

great phone and very reliable ,long battery life

09/20/2012
By ,
El Centro CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i purchased this product for myself and it was excellent. i didn't expect much from it because it was a cheap phone but it worked out great. i got this phone because i had three smartphones previous to this one but i broke them all so i figured i'd just buy this and then if i break it or anything i can just buy another similar one like this one. i have had this phone for a little over a month and it has worked great. it has a long battery life. i can use this phone for days by just texting and getting some calls once in a while.
i recommend this phone to anyone that wants something simple, affordable and reliable.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+38points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
seguin,texas
Posted 08/31/2013
does it use a sim card?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Excellent replacement phone.

08/14/2012
By ,
Topeka,KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a Pantech flip phone with display on the outer cover. The lens was cracked and was difficult to see the numbers that were calling. This Samsung unit is a great replacement. Just slip in my ATT sim card and replace a few numbers not already on the sim card and it works great. When the calls come in I flip it open and decide then if I take the call or not. My Pantech automatically answered when I opened it(didn't like that). The Samsung functions in much the same way as my old phone. I don't text or do internet so cannot report on those features. Have had no problems with calls dropping or poor reception except in areas already known as 'dead zones'. Great value for the $'s.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+35points
Review 3 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

good, basic inexpensive phone

06/27/2012
By ,
Cottonwood, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use my cell phone minimally (that's why I'm on the GoPhone plan), and have put two through the washing machine, so I do not need a phone with lots of features.
This was easy to start using--jut had to put my old SIM card in it and it was ready to go.
It was pretty easy to start using--but I just use it for calling and texting.
My wife has a similar model a couple of years old, and this one has a slightly larger screen and thus larger numbers--which we both like.
After a few weeks of use, I am pleased with this phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+279points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
73703
Posted 07/13/2012
i needed a sim card to put in my phone for inexpensive price
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Very easy to understand and operate.

12/05/2012
By ,
Southampton, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chose this phone for its simplicity, as will be used primarily for an emergency phone. It completely met our expectations, and we are very satisfied with it. I would highly recommend this model for seniors or anyone wanting just an easy to use basic phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+38points
Review 5 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black
07/21/2012
By ,
Lake Mary, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this phone to replace my old cell phone. I have as AT&T wireless plan and this phone is great. I just pulled out my SIM card and inserten into this phone and it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+157points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Great, simple phone. HAS SPEAKERPHONE
Posted 08/18/2013
This is a quality built, no frills phone, but it does have a speakerphone that works really well. Start the call, then press the "AT&T" button. Press it again to take it off speakerphone. It also has quite a few features -- speed dial, a stop watch, a timer, a calculator, a tip (percentage) calculator, alarms, calendar, a voice memo recorder, tasks, memos, a world clock, a metric converter and other useful things. I saw several reviews that said it didn't have a speakerphone. Just wanted people to realize it does.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Pleasantly Surprised

03/01/2013
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My smart phone broke about a month before my contract ended. I didn't want to get a new phone and have to re-new my contract, so I decided to go the inexpensive route. I just chose the cheapest ATT phone they had.
I was kind of bummed out at first. My smart phone was very advanced and helpful, and getting a flip phone felt like I was back in 2005.
It is not high tech or anything fancy. However, the battery life is long, for the kind of phone it is the functions are good, easy to talk on.
I recommend this for someone who doesn't need all the advancements of smart phones or something to use temporarily. I was quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 7 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Good phone for $20

07/20/2012
By ,
Somerville, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good phone for the price. Battery lasts for 2.5 days. I usually use around 1.5 hrs per day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+82points
Review 8 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

GOOD BASIC PHONE

05/31/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great basic phone, I took the sims card that came with it and went to the ATT gophone site on the internet gave them the code numbers off the card and had my phone turned on and it gave me my phone number. Next put the card in the phone, charged it which took about 4 hours maybe a little more. Then called the number in the instructions to buy some minutes and was set to go. I like the key pad on it which seems larger than some of them I've seen, also like when you fold it up it turns it self off, if you forget to hang up the phone. Can hear pretty good on it too. For older people like us it's an easy phone to use and the price is good too.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 9 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Great for the very basic phone.

09/14/2012
By ,
Crestview, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for someone who only uses a cell phone when out by himself and only wanted the bare necessities. It's a great little phone for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Review 10 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Good basic cellphone

08/06/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good basic cellphone for work: no camera, speaker, light weight, clear sound, voice & text only.
It's standby time just about 1 week, compare to Nokia basic cellphone standby time about 2 weeks.
But, the voice quality is better than Nokia.
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 11 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Best phone I've ever used

12/17/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I need a cellphone for emergency purpose, so the battery life is the main attribute. I shut off the phone most of the time, then turn it on whenever I need to use it. In the past all the cell phone I used won't last more than 5 days, including iPhone. This phone lasts "forever". It has been one month since I purchased it and it is still going. Whenever I turn it on, there is still battery. How is this possible? It is a MIRACLE! My hats off to the manufacturer. (The turn-on time of 3 seconds is also at least five times faster than all the phones I used before.) IMHO it is the best kept secret in cell phone business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 12 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

It is was it is

10/09/2012
By ,
Kistler, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple no frills phone that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 13 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Great phone for the price.

10/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone has good reception and call quality. It lacks the features of a more expensive phone like a speakerphone, keyboard and camera, but you get a good phone for voice calls at a low price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 14 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Good phone for the price

06/17/2012
By ,
montville,ct.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this phone to replace an old go phone that died I took out the sim card put it in the new one and away I went on vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+126points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
arizona
question?
Posted 07/05/2012
does this phone already come with minutes when you buy it?
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black
02/03/2013
By ,
East Bay, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is not a bad phone for the money, bought for a person who does not care for smartphones. After having used it for a little, here are pros and cons:
pros:
- good battery life
- very light
- inexpensive
cons:
- no bluetooth
- no external display (to see time, caller id, etc)
- ringtones and wallpapers need to be purchased from ATT (!)
The great thing about this phone is that ATT wants $95 ($60 for the phone at $35 for activation) AND a two year agreement. Wallmart just gives you a phone which just works with ATT SIM card.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 16 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Great basic phone

04/02/2013
By ,
Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First off, I am one of those who only uses a phone to make calls. I know that is a shocker to many of you. I got the SAMSUNG A157 to replace my old Nokia Fold. I prefer the flip phone style since I keep it in my pocket when I am away from home. I read about short battery life, but I haven't experienced this myself. I got my phone and the battery was about 75% charged. that lasted about 4 days with one short call. I then fully charged the battery and turned the phone on. It sat on my desk for the next 7 days. I made no calls during that time, although the phone did receive 3 wrong numbers. It had a useable amount of battery life until the 8th day when it finally turned itself off due to low battery. Call quality is excellent and there is plenty of volume. I have lost a lot of my hearing and I have no trouble hearing the conversation with this phone. It's small and lightweight and fits in my pocket easily. The only drawback to this phone is no external display. It was so easy to just open my old phone slightly to get a peek at the time. I can't do that with this SAMSUNG A157. It's a small thing and I knew it when I bought this phone. For the price I can live without an external display. It only comes with a wall charger, but I ordered a car charger from E-BAY ($3.42 with free shipping) Bottom line to me is the SAMSUNG A157 is exactly what my title says A Great Basic Phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 17 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

A good basic cel phone

02/07/2013
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use this phone to replace my current broken AT&T Nokia flip phone. Just swapped my old SIM card in after charging the battery. A simple phone for people who just needs to make phone calls. It's easy to operate and light in weight. Phone ring tone, earpiece and speaker phone work well and are fairly loud. Battery life seems to be very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 18 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

simple phone easy to use and good price

02/24/2013
By ,
vt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I particularly like the reject list option as the do-not-call list is a joke. If you get a trash call you can add it to the reject list and not have to worry about it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 19 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Where i go it goes.

04/14/2013
By ,
KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Obviously the price was execptional,and the phone is very staright forward and holds a charge very well, i bought the phone because at&t owns the towers and the H20 wireless service and i simply bought a sim card off the net at the E place for a buck and whalla , i had a H20 wireless at a nickel a minute, or i could get unlimited. For 30 dollars a month and thats no tax or anything else,simple and straight forward,and i get a signal everywhere i go, u should read their coverage areas it is astounding.It has super p sounds to choose from and, i don't feel i wasted anything , did buy two of these and switched my wife as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 20 for AT&T GoPhone Samsung A157, Black

Easy to Use

01/27/2013
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought this phone over a month ago and has had no problems at all. He is very happy with it. We bought this one because all he wants is a cheap and basic flip phone. He mostly talks on the phone and does very little texting. His old phone quit working so we just swapped the sim card from the old phone and it works just fine. We have a contract phone but it was not time for a new phone yet so this was the cheapest route to go.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Calexico CA
It also have a SIM card or not??
Posted 02/02/2013
It also have a SIM card or not??
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 60 total reviews
1 2 3 Next