Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
667 Questions | 2,242 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to opertate

10/29/2012
By ,
Rocherster NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little unit is fantastic, you can record for hours without a blank dvd, if recorder is on it automatically records the channel you are watching so if you miss something you can play back, I would highly recommend this it's great
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Product works well

10/15/2012
By ,
Brunswick ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this product partially to avoid monthly fees associated with similar systems. Easy to use and dependable. Records live TV, plays DVDs, can transfer a recorded TV program to DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/17/2012
By ,
Denver
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have used this unit for a while now and the only thing I would like is recording in 1080p. The desciption was clear that it was 720 which for me is quite fine since 99% of my recordings are TV to watch later and then delete but there are a couple I save like TWDead. the set up for me was easy but then I'm an avid instructions reader. These instructions are like many others and you spend more time than you like hunting down answers to questions but, the answers are in there. As for the ability to watch recorded titles at the same time as a current recording is in progress comes in very handy. Dubbing could be improved if you could dub just a part or section of a title instead of the whole thing. At least I haven't found a way to do this. I use both the
AV and HDMI hookups to the TV and have the ability to change view settings on my TV, so I can adjust for a view I don't like. Digital recordings do better with the HDMI and cable analogue with the AV. Was able to set up both the cable and antenna using a switchbox and a splitter for input. Most recordings are airwaves but cable is available if I want. Overall I really like this dunit for my purposes and have gotten used to the recording on a DVD+RW. I tend to record on one machine and watch on another. I used to have Panasonic DMRs of several models and the only model worth having was the DMR-ES30V and really enjoyed all of its features (before digital). All models after that just got progressively worse in featuresand especially quality and durability. All had to be returned for repair or replacement and just had the last one conk out 1 month after warranty. The best feature was the recording to a DVD-RAM. However, I can deal with the DVD+RW for the quality and durability issues. I like that there is no monthly service fee for the DVR and the recording and play back features are more in line with my watching habits. The skip to a time to watch feature is great if you have several shows in a row recorded and want to watch just the 3rd one. From display button while watching the title select search and jump to the time you want in stead of fast fowarding. Since i'm not a HD snob I can watch many recordings in the SLP mode but anything like sports (football) you ar best in at least SP. I will buy more of these as the Panasonics die out because they work great and Panasonics is now making unreliable poorly featured equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Everything I expected

12/06/2012
By ,
Minneapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was a Directv customer for over 11 years. I sucscribed to TIVO the first year it was avaoiable to consumers and had a DVR the entire time. I should have kicked the satalite to the curb long time ago. DOn't wait this DVR will set you free.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Last one lasted 7 yrs, hope this one does too.

12/17/2012
By ,
Long beach, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only reason for this purchase is the last one finally stopped working after 7 years. This one has more memory which means we can record HD in the best format instead of at a lower format.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/17/2012
By ,
Liverpool, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to Set up. Easy to use and a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Awesome DVD recorder

10/14/2012
By ,
Walland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one I ordered had to be taken back due to the DVD lazer inside not working, once I received the second one, it work perfect....very happy. The instructions are easy but their is so many options that it is taking me awhile to learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has met my expectations. Glad to not have to check tapes or discs for remaining space. This machine has all the space I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great find

01/07/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Buy, Target and Walmart don't have a recorder with a digital tuner of any sort in the store - unless you make monthly payments for the privilege of getting DVR recordings. This has the digital receiver so you don't have to have a box in front of your signal, whether cable or antenna. I was hoping for another DVD recorder, but found this DVR without being chained to a contract and paying additional hundreds of dollars a year. The 320 GB is the smallest memory (and smallest price) of three options, but is said to be able to save up to 300 hours which is more than enough for us. The bigger memories are reasonably more expensive. No fiddling with video tapes or discs unless we want to permanently record something. Got it on sale and the price point made it a no-brainer, around what I expected to pay to fix my old DVD recorder. Walmart gives a very reasonable price on a three year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it so far

12/07/2012
By ,
Plano, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a couple Phillips DVR with DVD recorders already but Phillips seems to have left the building. They also do not have tuners and require digital converter boxes. This machine is great as it provides its own tuner, has a larger HDD (1800 hours of LP recording), and can burn to most DVDs (not the RAM disks that Phillips can but that technology seems to be going away). I didn't realize it records what you watch for the previous 6 hours on an automatic loop so you can pause and rewind live TV in case you miss something or decide to store it afterwards (within 6 hours, so if it was on from 7-9PM and you get home at 9:15PM and realize you missed a movie you wanted to watch from 7-9PM, you can tell it to save that portion of automatically recorded TV). The book doesn't do all the functions justice so figuring out some of the symbols / headings and settings is difficult and I'm still working on. Setup was easy but there is no RF output from the unit (there is an output jack but it is only a pass through). So if you have an old TV with only an RF input you will need an RF modulator.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

avsforum rates this player the best

10/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wajo the God of avsforum was my go to guy in 2009 when I bought my first Magnavox DVD recorder with hard drive. I know this newest player is a great thing to have. One day I will finally play my VHS tapes into it and record them to the hard drive and burn them to DVD. Its really easy to edit out the bad parts. The second great reason is not having to pay a cable company or TIVO to record tv shows for later viewing. With 2 machines I can tape 2 shows at once. Also I can watch my sports shows in the other room so the family can still use the main TV. It has pause live tv so I can watch parts of a show I miss if the phone rings or am interrupted while watching regular live tv. It has a very low height and fits in any tv cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Dependable, user-friendly, and a great value.

02/02/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a good way to upgrade from the VCR without overspending. I recently ditched the satellite dish and went OTA so I like the built-in HDTV tuner (it seems to be better than the one in my TV). I also like the amount of programming I can store on the HDD. Two thumbs up all the way.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

2nd one

10/28/2012
By ,
Grafton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one from the last genereation as well. This has some nice teaks, but I am keeping both of them so I can record shows competing for the same time slot. this is the only 'No Fee' DVR available so it is nice that they put out a really solid unit. Clear picture, easy to use the basic features although it takes a while to understand all the features because there are so many. I like being able to pause live TV, skip through commericals, or record it for watching later. And all of that is available just by turning the unit on. Or recording a weekly or daily show just by programing it once. But you can do a lot more than that, as i mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You might need a KLUGE!?
Posted 10/29/2012
Now that you've got a pair, you will most likely need a KLUGE (Kapturer of Latent User Guidance Energy) so you can operate one unit at a time, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=18758451
Also, there's a cheap Universal Remote that works nicely with these Mags AND your TV, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=21775101
Lots more help files here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

BEST VIDEO UNIT SINCE VHS!

10/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My VHS/DVD recorder broke down & I have been searching for weeks frying to find one with a tuner but with no avail since video units with VHS decks are becoming obsolete & hard to find. I saw this recorder & after doing research on it & it was exactly what I needed. For me, it was very easy to set up with the right connections for the set up that I have. The DVD deck records extremely excellent & so does the HDD 320GB drive which pretty much functions like a DVR. If You have a Dish Network Duo Receiver {TV1 & TV2} & although this unit does have a tuner, you will still need a RF Modulator to make the proper connections for TV2. The following set up is for TV's & Rf Modulators that use RCA cables that are yellow, red & white.
Step 1
Connect the antenna to IN.
Step 2
Connect a RF coaxial cable to OUT & connect the other end of the cable to the back of the RF Modulator ANT IN.
Step 3
Connect another RF coaxial cable to the back of the RF Modulator TO TV & connect the other end of the cable to the TV ANT IN.
Step 4
Connect RCA cables {red, yellow & white} to back of the video unit VIDEO OUT & AUDIO OUT.
Step 5
Connect the other end of the RCA cables & connect them to the back of the RF Modulator VIDEO IN & AUDIO IN.
Now you can set up the video unit according to your needs & the kind of TV you have in the manual.
I hope this is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it...almost!!

05/21/2013
By ,
Bishopville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are like me and HATE to have to PAY for commercialized TV,,, then this unit may be a blessing for you. Set the timer and record the program you want to watch to the hard drive. Next, you can edit out the commercials and then watch the program or burn it to a DVD and then watch it without commercials.
The only issues I've incurred so far isn't so much the unit, but with the remote control. In my opinion, it isn't laid out very well for editing which to me is the MAIN purpose for a DVD recorder with a HHD.
I also think it would be real nice if I could remove the stupid layering commercials that totally ruin some really good movies that are broadcast by telling me constantly what I already know!!!!!
Other than these ventings, I'm sure you will really like this unit...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/22/2013
By ,
Wamego KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. So nice not having to watch commercials and worry about being at your TV for the start of your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does what it's supposed to.

06/19/2013
By ,
Mpls, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The manual is more complicated than it needs to be but who reads them anyway. Simple setup, and very easy programming. Just what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

excellent replacement for my old vcr recorder

09/04/2013
By ,
Appleton,Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Is like having a TiVo system but don't have to pay someone a monthly fee. replaces my vcr which
is wore out . No more vcr tapes also which wear out too. Use it mostly to record a daily
program and watch it later in the day.Detailed setup and instruction manual.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Outstanding performance.

10/03/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it and plugged it into my home theater system and bang, works like a dream.
Digital tuner amplified my signal from broadcast signal.
Easy to set timers record all our shows and we can watch them as it is recording other channels.
Good price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next