Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(914 Reviews) 789
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
513
4 stars
262
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation89%810 out of 914reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
645 Questions | 2,160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
513
4 stars
262
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great choice for DVD plus DVR type recording.

10/07/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I purchased an earlier version of the same unit a couple years ago and ordered this so I could have one in my RV as well. It allows you to view TV and to backup to replay items you missed as well as to record to an internal hard dist drive, or to record DVDs for viewing later. Programming is manual, but it works well. This model has a redesigned remote control but it is otherwise similar to my older unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are available!
Posted 10/08/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/03/2012
By ,
Amherst, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. The ability to pause live TV is invaluable. I really like how it is constantly recording to the hard drive so you can go back and view something if you want to. In fact, it saves the last 6 hrs of programming. I also like the size of the hard drive. I no longer have to worry about trying to find a tape with space on it before a program starts.
Yes, it would be nice to be able to look at a cable/sat on screen guide and just push one button for recording, but the people that buy the Magnavox HDD/DVR (myself included) don't want to pay DVR monthly fees just to get that feature. Setting the timer for recording is actually very easy. It's even easier than setting the timer on a VCR. Once a program is recorded, it appears as a separate box on the screen that you highlight with the remote. Once you highlight a program it goes into preview mode which is a nice added feature.
I marked "Value" down one notch only because it isn't cheap. Please don't misunderstand me though. It is a good value, and it's worth the money. But it isn't exactly inexpensive either.
It has very stylish looks in my opinion, and the build quality seems to be good.
I like the ability to record to a DVD. That's a definite bonus.
I do not like the remote. There are too many buttons, and layout could have been designed much better. But it works, and it's not a deal breaker.
Setup and connection were very easy, BUT the manual honestly does make it look daunting. There are so many options for connecting this unit, that one thing is certain in my opinion:
If you don't know what you currently have and how it is setup, you will likely need some help. I am basically referring to those individuals that aren't particularly "technology inclined". For example, if you don't feel comfortable with setup or if you called a friend or family member over to connect your existing setup, then you could have a problem deciding how to connect this HDD/DVR. Believe me you don't want to mess it up because higher voltages from a sat receiver could possibly damage the unit if it isn't installed properly. I'm not saying it's difficult, but you should have some basic understanding and ability before plugging it in.
I think it was an excellent purchase, and I was happy to say goodbye to my VCR.
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT machine!

11/27/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I only use a rooftop antenna for my TV reception. I have had a recording device since the first VCRs came out, & when I was able to get a Hard Drive recorder, I was extremely happy. When I had to replace my old hdd/DVD recorder, I found this one. Could not believe how inexpensive it was compared to my other brand. I love it. Use it every day. Highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great choice if you do not want to pay for TVIO, i

01/01/2013
By ,
Silver Spring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to compliment one like this I bought several years ago, I like it so much I bought this one for my wife to copy her favorite shows on each day.
Since it has a hard drive as well as the DVD recorder it is much easier to set up to record and play back. I have had NO problems with my old one and assume this one will be just as reliable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great find

01/07/2013
By ,
St. Paul, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Buy, Target and Walmart don't have a recorder with a digital tuner of any sort in the store - unless you make monthly payments for the privilege of getting DVR recordings. This has the digital receiver so you don't have to have a box in front of your signal, whether cable or antenna. I was hoping for another DVD recorder, but found this DVR without being chained to a contract and paying additional hundreds of dollars a year. The 320 GB is the smallest memory (and smallest price) of three options, but is said to be able to save up to 300 hours which is more than enough for us. The bigger memories are reasonably more expensive. No fiddling with video tapes or discs unless we want to permanently record something. Got it on sale and the price point made it a no-brainer, around what I expected to pay to fix my old DVD recorder. Walmart gives a very reasonable price on a three year warranty.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works with my weak over air antenna signal

01/11/2013
By ,
Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I switched from satellite to a over air antenna I tried a Tivo with no luck.
I'm in a fringe area and get half strength signals at best from the antenna.
I have 3 TV's with digital tuners that get great pictures with the lower signal strength but the Tivo could not pull in any stations clearly.
This DVR gives me the same perfect picture I get from my tv's.
I hooked it up and made a recording to the hard drive and the recording was perfect.
The pausing of live TV also worked great.
I recorded a show and then burned a DVD from the hard drive and it also came out perfect.
So far I'm completely happy with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very good recorder

04/18/2013
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for cable TV or antenna hook up [analog or digital] a little expensive for the average user but worth the money since recorders with Tuners are getting hard to find
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works fine for me, with easy set-up.

05/26/2013
By ,
WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got what I ordered, on time, and it works like advertised. I have no negative comments.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Outstanding performance.

10/03/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got it and plugged it into my home theater system and bang, works like a dream.
Digital tuner amplified my signal from broadcast signal.
Easy to set timers record all our shows and we can watch them as it is recording other channels.
Good price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great recorder

02/20/2014
By ,
Denver, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have two of them and they are both great. It is easy to setup and record. I like the fact that if you miscalculate the recording time on a disk it will automatically record to the hard drive. You do not lose your recording. If there was one thing I would like it to have would be that it retrieves the program name without having to input it manually but this is a small thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Pre-title shows in the timer programming menu ...
Posted 02/22/2014
You can pre-title shows with the timer programming menu... set up a timer, go back in with the Add title name option, titles the timer, and all recorded instances of that show will appear in the title list with that name on top.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very Good unit with a Digital Tuner

10/16/2012
By ,
Chula Vista,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like the fact that it has a digital tuner,and a hard drive.Once you get the hang of the operation and it's features,it is simple to use.Recording is a breeze.I am already thinking of the model with the 1 tb hdd.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Neat product

10/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the DVD recorder sooner than expected and had a great site to store experience. Set up was intuitive and easy. The manual was a little difficult to wade threw though so I just put it aside and winged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love Love Love

11/21/2012
By ,
North Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have wanted to find this product ever since our old one got killed in a lightning strike. At last, we found a replacement and could not be happier.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very Satisified

12/10/2012
By ,
San Antonio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great: similar to a DRV that is programed like a VCR but the 1TB hard drive holds much more than my Time Warner DVR. Has many features like dubbing and editing that I have not had a chance to use.
Negatives so far are that the instructions are complicated and it looses it programming after an hour without power.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy enough for old folks.

12/15/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We don't know all the features yet, but are absolutely ecstatic. We were told these DVD Recorders no longer existed by 2 retail stores. They said we would have to upgrade our cable or stream to our PC. Thank you Walmart.com!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

so far, so good

01/03/2013
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this for a few days, but so far, so good. Picture quality is excellent. Recording works smoothly. I like the editing features. Overall it has been easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Quick Replacement for My Philips HDD Recorder

01/10/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I slid out my old Philips unit and moved the new Magnavox HDD Recorder. There were no problems and the DVR worked right away. I programed the Harmony remote and started recording. I do not have any measurement but the digital tuner seems to be crisper than the older Philips unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner

02/03/2013
By ,
Niles,Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this Magnavox HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB. Im satisfied.Its my first DVD Recorder coming from a VCR/DVD combo.Comes with good set up and instructions
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
02/14/2013
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned previous generations of these HDD recorders. The features on this unit surpasses those from before. The remote control design is user friendly and I get more onscreen information displayed than my older units. The best feature of these units is the auto record. It allows users the option of backing up live tv spontaneously, which is nice if you happen to be distracted and miss something you can simply back it up and check it out. Also, if you decide you want to permanently record a program, you can back up and record it permanently to the hard drive and dub it to a disc if you want. These units offer so many options, that you'll wonder why you didn't get one before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
04/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The recorder exceeds my expectations. We are very pleased with the ease of use and performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 790 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  40 Next