Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(921 Reviews) 796
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
263
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
65
Customer Recommendation89%816 out of 921reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
652 Questions | 2,176 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
263
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
65
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/05/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baught this one to replace broken DVD recorder of same brand. so be able to play those unfinalized DVD from previous recorder. timer recording are excellent. dubbing functions are nice but too easy to trigger it by mistake of pressing wrong button.
CON: tunner is not as strong as TV tunner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Awesome DVD recorder

10/14/2012
By ,
Walland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first one I ordered had to be taken back due to the DVD lazer inside not working, once I received the second one, it work perfect....very happy. The instructions are easy but their is so many options that it is taking me awhile to learn.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

avsforum rates this player the best

10/14/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wajo the God of avsforum was my go to guy in 2009 when I bought my first Magnavox DVD recorder with hard drive. I know this newest player is a great thing to have. One day I will finally play my VHS tapes into it and record them to the hard drive and burn them to DVD. Its really easy to edit out the bad parts. The second great reason is not having to pay a cable company or TIVO to record tv shows for later viewing. With 2 machines I can tape 2 shows at once. Also I can watch my sports shows in the other room so the family can still use the main TV. It has pause live tv so I can watch parts of a show I miss if the phone rings or am interrupted while watching regular live tv. It has a very low height and fits in any tv cabinet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this recorder in Oct-2012 and this one works much better than the Toshiba DVR670KU I bought in Jan-2011. Once you program the shows you want to record, you can forget it; no need to remember to turn the recorder on and set the timer, then remember to turn the timer off and recorder back off after it is finished recording your show.
Would heartily recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

2nd one

10/28/2012
By ,
Grafton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one from the last genereation as well. This has some nice teaks, but I am keeping both of them so I can record shows competing for the same time slot. this is the only 'No Fee' DVR available so it is nice that they put out a really solid unit. Clear picture, easy to use the basic features although it takes a while to understand all the features because there are so many. I like being able to pause live TV, skip through commericals, or record it for watching later. And all of that is available just by turning the unit on. Or recording a weekly or daily show just by programing it once. But you can do a lot more than that, as i mentioned.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You might need a KLUGE!?
Posted 10/29/2012
Now that you've got a pair, you will most likely need a KLUGE (Kapturer of Latent User Guidance Energy) so you can operate one unit at a time, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=18758451
Also, there's a cheap Universal Remote that works nicely with these Mags AND your TV, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=21775101
Lots more help files here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

BEST VIDEO UNIT SINCE VHS!

10/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My VHS/DVD recorder broke down & I have been searching for weeks frying to find one with a tuner but with no avail since video units with VHS decks are becoming obsolete & hard to find. I saw this recorder & after doing research on it & it was exactly what I needed. For me, it was very easy to set up with the right connections for the set up that I have. The DVD deck records extremely excellent & so does the HDD 320GB drive which pretty much functions like a DVR. If You have a Dish Network Duo Receiver {TV1 & TV2} & although this unit does have a tuner, you will still need a RF Modulator to make the proper connections for TV2. The following set up is for TV's & Rf Modulators that use RCA cables that are yellow, red & white.
Step 1
Connect the antenna to IN.
Step 2
Connect a RF coaxial cable to OUT & connect the other end of the cable to the back of the RF Modulator ANT IN.
Step 3
Connect another RF coaxial cable to the back of the RF Modulator TO TV & connect the other end of the cable to the TV ANT IN.
Step 4
Connect RCA cables {red, yellow & white} to back of the video unit VIDEO OUT & AUDIO OUT.
Step 5
Connect the other end of the RCA cables & connect them to the back of the RF Modulator VIDEO IN & AUDIO IN.
Now you can set up the video unit according to your needs & the kind of TV you have in the manual.
I hope this is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great replacement for cable box/DVR.

12/12/2012
By ,
Falls Church, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a very capable device; does everything as advertised—and more. You won't be disappointed with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

For air antenna (no fee) DVR this works great

12/21/2012
By ,
Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVR does what I needed it to do, records/plays/converts digital over air antenna signal to my older analog TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very good recorder!!

01/17/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh,PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several dvd recorders in the past from different manufactures & generally have lasted about 2 to 3 years though it is my first time had purchased a magnavox brand recorder of any kind though this unit has a 320GB which none of the other brands I owned had a hard drive in them,after trying it out I am very pleased & impressed to say that this machine does one other thing that is not even mentioned or noted in the specifactions at all & what is very nice it is very user friendly,so therefore from a scale 1 to 10 I actually give this model & brand a 10+ verry happy with it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/22/2013
By ,
Wamego KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. So nice not having to watch commercials and worry about being at your TV for the start of your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best (Probably the only)DVR for us 'antenna' guys

04/06/2013
By ,
Peabody, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now three of these. We can watch all of our favorite shows commercial-free. They give a great picture and are very reliable. I only wish you didn't have to reload the show times after a power failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised and Reviewed

08/12/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I want to thank all of the earlier reviewers, whose comments and advice helped me a lot. As for my experience, I purchased this product for two reasons: to transfer VHS home videos to DVDs and, second, to replace our aging VCR to do time-shifting of over-cable broadcasts. I had no troubles setting up the machine to do either. I should note that we have a simple and somewhat out-of-date setup, with basic analog cable (no cable or satellite box) and an old-fashioned analog TV with component inputs. I am not a video connoisseur (obviously) so I can't comment on the quality of the recordings or picture. But overall I am pleased, and particularly so the value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great product

01/14/2014
By ,
san antonio, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome...does everything I wanted
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Bang for the Buck

01/21/2014
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This DVD recorder was easy to setup. It records efficiently and has great play back quality. Great Bang for the Buck!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product. Just what I have been looking for!

01/19/2014
By ,
Alameda CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a DVR that had a tuner that would pick up OTA [Over the air] signals, as I cut cable years ago. I have been using a DVD recorder, but I knew that a DVR would be able to record longer and with better quality. This DVR is SO MUCH BETTER than a DVD recorder! The quality is much better, and when I erase the recordings, it only takes 1-2 seconds, instead of having to wait a minute or so, when erasing DVD recordings. It quickly picked up all my local channels [63!] when I did the initial channel search, and programming was easy. I like this so much that I am thinking of getting another one for another room in the house. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DVR for the price. Have not tried all features yet, but the recording and pausing of movies is mostly what I wanted. What surprised most me was the fast delivery of the DVR by Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally found the right device to replace my old VCR. Wish I had found it some time ago. I don't use all the features that it has but for recording OTA television it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has met my expectations. Glad to not have to check tapes or discs for remaining space. This machine has all the space I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does what it's supposed to.

06/19/2013
By ,
Mpls, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The manual is more complicated than it needs to be but who reads them anyway. Simple setup, and very easy programming. Just what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 797 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  40 Next