Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(836 Reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation89%746 out of 836reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
574 Questions | 1,865 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
05/08/2013
By ,
Downingtown, Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a machine to replace my old Panasonic DVR that got damaged in a minor power surge. I have been using a digital TV convertor box to watch TV. This machine is a great replacement with a bigger hard drive (320 GB). Now I don't need the convertor box and can program a variety of digital TV channels. It was sold at a decent price and the shipping was outstanding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Surprisingly Good

08/18/2013
By ,
Toledo Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use an outside antenna to receive my TV (better quality). I have an LG 65" 3D smart TV, and a Panasonic 3D Blu Ray disc player with apps. The Magnavox is STANDARD DEFINITION, but the picture quality is VERY GOOD. So far I've only used it to record programs on the Hard Drive. This is easy to do, SO LONG AS YOU READ THE MANUAL, AND FOLLOW IT. I've only had the DVR for a few weeks , so I'm still learning to operate it. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This DVR is all that I hoped for.

02/05/2014
By ,
Manitowoc, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit comes with a 320GB or a 500GB or a 1TB hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does alot

11/27/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far very interesting product. Have alot to learn but yet very easy to use. Quick programming.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/08/2012
By ,
michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Didn't want to be married to cable company's DVR.

12/26/2012
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second one I ordered. The first one came and color did not work. Returned it to Walmart and they gave me full refund. I ordered another one and it works great! Thank you Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/22/2013
By ,
Wamego KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up. So nice not having to watch commercials and worry about being at your TV for the start of your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/26/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As one of the few remaining non-subscription DVR's, I hope they keep making this series.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
05/31/2013
By ,
Logan County, Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product, easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
06/15/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set up. Easy to program. Can set up for all my favorite shows and watch at my convenience. Love that I can store so much and do not have to fool with tapes or discs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/27/2012
By ,
Dunedin Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This equipment is exactly what we were looking for and more. I hope you keep offering. Great useful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Complex but gets the job done.

10/10/2013
By ,
New Bern, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a complex machine with a steep learning curve, but it works well. I had a difficult time with learning how to record to the hard drive and adding titles to recordings. Now that I have, it is an excellent replacement for my old and failing video tape recorders. I still haven't learned how to dub or record to dvd. I'll dive into that some cold winter weekend. The price seemed a little too much, but there is no monthly fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Lots of info and help here...
Posted 10/10/2013
Copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well for over the air recording

11/05/2012
By ,
Near Philly
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was truly looking for something exactly like this, so I can record over the air TV and this did the trick perfectly. i can record to Dvd or the hard drive for something like 300+ hours.
You can easily switch between DVD and HDD.
I barely had to read anything to set this up and use it. Walmart shipped it to the store super speedy, so it was a great experience all around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files
Posted 11/06/2012
Here's an indexed list of help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just what we wanted--no more, no less.

11/14/2013
By ,
KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted to record TV shows to watch later. This recorder does an excellent job. It requires no tapes or disks. Perfect for our needs. It records on a hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Simple to record on built in hard drive or DVD.

09/28/2012
By ,
msp, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It arrived 3-4days later and works just like the 1st reviewer says. Pretty simple and sweet with no tapes or disc needed for recording. Great tip about setting the video to wide screen. Nice to know I could switch to a bigger hard drive if needed. Thanks for that tip too. About the only thing I don't like is the 4 watt power consumption when turned off in standby. Not Energy Star compliant.
The recorded picture is not quite as sharp as the original but still very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 10/04/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great multipurpose player/recorder. 1TB HD great.

12/16/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the 1TB Hard Drive Model. Well worth the few dollars extra.
I connected my old VHS/CD player to the Magnavox and then connected the Magnavox to my new Samsung BluRay Player. I can now record my old VHS Tapes and old CDs to the Hard Drive of the Magnavox or to CD. By properly configuring the connections you can switch from direct pass through of the TV signal to the TV, record VHS or CD to the Hard Drive, or view BluRay (if you have a player that supports BluRay) with only a couple of button presses. I did a lot of research on the Internet on this Item and it is most likely the last and greatest of the player/recorders. Very pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Like having a DVR!

12/16/2012
By ,
Central Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We recently gave up Dish...tired of paying so much and most the stuff we watch in on local networks anyway. The one thing I was going to miss the most was the DVR. I really didn't want to go back to recording on VHS tapes or having to burn a bunch of DVD's. Then I found this little beauty! This unit has an internal hard drive. (You can select which capacity you want when ordering) It is easy to set up to record shows. Not only that, I can then go in and edit out all the commercials and then burn it from the hard drive to a DVD. Also, it allows you to pause and rewind live tv. It also has a meter that displays how strong an antenna channel is coming in, allowing me to rotate the antenna until it registers "good" so I dont have to worry about the channel freezing up on me during a show.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Magnavox DVD, DVR, HDD with digital tuner

12/02/2013
By ,
Tampa FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this DVD-HDD player/recorder and its great features. One feature I enjoy is it ability to record to the HDD if the disc is full or defective, so no programming is loss. The other good feature is the ability to treat this machine as a DVR, in that while recording the viewing can watch, rewind or go forward. The picture is good, as is the sound. Yea for this product! (P.S. I might mention I at first bought a refurbished identical unit from WalMart but from the start it kept dropping 3 major channels. Walmart was great about allowing me to return it and buy this one, which is not refurbished and it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Jax, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use this machine to video athletes (works for any coached sport)...a timed delay (simple) is programmed in, then the athlete can get the correction and still have time to go and see how the performance they just did actually looked.
Simple to hook up, and great to use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy Setup; Works Great

01/02/2013
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you don't want to pay a monthly subscription fee to one of the cable companies this device is the next best thing to record your favorite programs and watch at your leisure. Setup is easy, works great, very intuitive controls. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 712 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  36 Next