Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Neat product

10/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the DVD recorder sooner than expected and had a great site to store experience. Set up was intuitive and easy. The manual was a little difficult to wade threw though so I just put it aside and winged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Working great so far

11/06/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY area
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased approx 2 wks ago & have had no significant problems. Do not have cable, use it with a small antenna & it picks up the same channels I got when I used a $45 tuner with my old VCR. REALLY like the ease of recording, watching and deleting on the HDD & not having to mess with VCR tapes. Have not bothered to read the instruction book, was able to get pretty much everything I wanted to work by hooking it up like a VCR. Others have expressed problems figuring out the remote control, but to me, it is pretty much like the ones I have used with VCRs. The one thing I have had problems with and haven't taken the time to figure out is playing back DVDs on this machine that were recorded on a Toshiba unit.
Because other users have expressed problems with long term use, I spent $28 for the 3 yr Walmart service program.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best device for TV since..the VCR

09/18/2012
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The previous review pretty much sums up this awesome device. I have owned a Philips DVD3575 (purchased at Walmart in-store) for about 5 years and wanted to get a second for those times when I want to record 2 shows, and in case my Philips ever fails. I was very happy to find that the Magnavox & Philips are essentially the same units, however I can tell there have been a few nice tweaks to the Magnavox.
It takes a little getting used to, to take advantage of all of its features, but once you do, you are in complete control of what you watch and when you watch it.
It does all analog/digital (unscrambled) channels via cable or over the air, I currently use it for OTA only, and it seems to have a very strong tuner, better than my OTA box.
Menus are fairly intuitive, and the response of the unit is quick- changing channels is average, but skip/replay or skipping tracks on the HDD is very quick, especially if you record in SLP (lowest quality) mode, which is fine for SD DTV. Also, if you want to burn a show/movie to DVD, it can burn at high speed, again an SLP-recorded show takes about 7-8 minutes to burn an hour of show. Not bad.
Based on the almost identical (and still in daily use) Philips unit, I am expecting many years of reliable use.
For each scheduled program you can choose from analog channels, DTV, Line1, or Line2 inputs. This comes into play if your local cable company no longer offers any unscrambled analog or digital TV. So you can use your cable box to receive the channel and set this DVR to record from the line input from your cable box. And you can also record another program later from local OTA broadcast if you can receive OTA. The fact that it does receive scrambled cable is not this unit's fault, but the cable company's.
And finally, if you're reading this review, do not hesitate to click "buy", after a week of use, you won't know how you lived without it! I never watch live TV anymore, it's always timeshifted to skip commercials.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+179points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Chapel Hill, NC
Question
Posted 06/10/2013
Can this VCR be used with Basic Cable? I don't have a cable box. I hook up directly from the cable coming out of the floor.
Also, can I watch another show while taping on this machine?
Thanks so much!
0points
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Exactly what I've been looking for

10/25/2012
By ,
Sun City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent the last few years looking for a DVR that doesn't require a subscription to any provider. Until I found this unit my 1996 VCR limped along while I held out for a new unit (with a built in tuner) I could use the same way. Finally Magnavox came through. So far I am thrilled with my purchase. It has features I may never use but it was easy to set up and learn to use for my simple purposes. So much better than the VCR ever was, because the hard drive can hold way more recordings and allows many many more recording settings. Important for me to make this purchase was a review for the unit by some guy who really understood the features and described them well. Otherwise, I might not have realized this unit was for me. I thought about getting the higher memory (I got the 320) but for my purposes this is just what I need. Thank you Walmart and Magnavox!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This recorder is so nice.

10/24/2012
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased a previous model over 2 years ago and it has been great, so, we bought this one for another TV. We don't use all the features, but, mostly record TV shows to the hard drive and play movies that we rent. We are very satisfied with both machines so far. It's great to watch one program, while recording another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/05/2012
By ,
Newnan, Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first HDD recorder and I love it. No more having to remember to change tapes so there's enough room to record my favorite shows. No paying $20/mo. for a cable DVR, either. I might have to buy a spare, just in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best DVR Deal Available

10/25/2012
By ,
Rochester, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got rid of my satellite subscription due to cost. I missed be able to watch shows on my own schedule. I was very happy to find this product. I use it to record off air HDTV broadcasts and play them back when I want to watch them. The unit works great and except for some minor quirks is easy to program. For the price and capabilities this unit can't be beat. And no monthly subscription!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great recorder. It has more features than I had imagined. My only regret is that I cannot transfer from the DVR hard drive to my computer hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT FOR TV WITHOUT CABLE OR SATELITE

02/08/2013
By ,
LAKELAND FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE BEING ABLE TO RECORD SHOWS RIGHT ON UNIT - NO DVDS NEEDED. EASY TO USE. I ONLY HAVE HD TV ANTENNA, BUT THIS IS JUST LIKE HAVING A DVR WITH CABLE ONLY HAD A MONTH OR SO BUT HOPE THE UNIT LAST LONG TIME!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Lot of options

11/18/2012
By ,
denton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked in some of the local electronic stores for an HDD to DVD recorder and was told to see my cable or satellite provider. All I can say is they were wrong. This is a wonderful little unit and does everything I need it to do and more. The operating manual is pretty lengthy but you can index what you want and go to it. If you want to record to HDD or DVD or DVD to DVD or go back and replay live tv , this 320 GB does just that. Upconverts to 1080 too. Its all you'll need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/05/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
baught this one to replace broken DVD recorder of same brand. so be able to play those unfinalized DVD from previous recorder. timer recording are excellent. dubbing functions are nice but too easy to trigger it by mistake of pressing wrong button.
CON: tunner is not as strong as TV tunner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it!

10/25/2012
By ,
Knoxville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's great. Better than paying monthly rental fees for a DVR. Had mine for 2+ years now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Buy but be aware of the FCC

10/25/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As most reviews on this site indicate this DVD/DVR is easy to use, quick to set up and works like a VCR from yesteryear (except that you can watch one program while recording another or "chase" a program that has already started recording by watching what has been recorded so far). The unit is everything it's advertised to be and more. I wish I had found it 10 years ago. If you're using it for OTA HD recordings there is a product out there for recording in HD but it's more complicated to use. The only drawback of this unit is the lack of a programming guide, but it's not hard to find the date, channel and time of programs on your own!
CAUTION: The FCC voted on October 18, 2012 to allow cable operators to scramble ALL channels (even basic cable). The days of using a TV tuner or a machine such as this without a cable box will be ending. Every TV or recorder will need a descrambler and you will lose the ability to change channels for recording without manually changing it on the set top box. If you are planning on using this to record basic cable channels know that your days of doing so are numbered.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+47points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
out there
direct tv
Posted 10/16/2013
Works on all my direct tv channels. I love being able to make copies for myself. If it ever comes down to no more live recording I will have what evers on the hdd, plenty there,, and I will still be able to record old VHS/ beta tapes and / or home movies from vid cam . no worries mate, think positive, I figured that out too late in life, but Im having fun in my retirement. These machines are a Blast !!! I so love the picture and sound clarity and being able to watch what I want when I want, where ever I am. And thank goodness I dont have to deal with tape degradation or all the space those clunky tapes took up.
0points
Customer Avatar
New Hampshire
Is this what your were talking about?
Posted 08/25/2013
I was using this for the past 3 yrs and all was well. Now, I tried to record from a local channel (HD or Std) and it reads, "This program cannot be recorded" ??? This never happened before. Is this the FCC thing you were talking about? It just started maybe last month. I am in NH and have Infinity/Comcast.... Thanks
+1point
Customer Avatar
Springfield
About those Set Top Boxes ...
Posted 11/22/2012
If you frequently program the recorder for shows when you're asleep or not at home, one way you can cope with having to set the channel with the cable box is to use an "ir blaster." An ir blaster is a small infrared transmitter on the end of a wire you connect to a pc. You just hang the transmitter in front of your cable box and send the required channel changing signals from your computer. This is easy if you have a windows 7 pc. You just schedule the same recording in two places, once on the recorder and once on the pc, using Windows Media Center. Then go to bed, or go on that five day vacation, and let the two machines do all the work for you while you're away. It just works.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Phoenix
FCC vote does not affect OTA broadcasts
Posted 11/04/2012
I too have an older version of this product and love it. I use it to record OTA broadcasts and the FCC vote to scramble basic cable does not affect OTA at all.
+2points
Not entirely true
Posted 10/26/2012
Too sweeping a statement on "all" cablecos going to ascramble "all" their signals. The FCC did vote to allow cablecos "that go all-digital" to do so, so if a bad-actor like Comcast goes all-digital, they prob. WILL force all its users to rent a cable box. However, there are many cablecos who will choose not to or can't afford to go all-digital, or don't want to risk losing subscribers, or .....?
It's way too soon to tell what the future holds in this regard but the sky isn't falling just yet. Reminds me of the early days of these recorders (2007) when we got people all the time asking if what their cableco said was true: "You won't be able to see or record ANYTHING without one of our rental boxes." It's in their DNA!
+7points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product

11/18/2012
By ,
United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are very pleased with this product, tt works well, was easy to hook up. We had it shipped directly to us and it arrived much quicker than expected.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has met my expectations. Glad to not have to check tapes or discs for remaining space. This machine has all the space I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love this product!!!

11/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was so thrilled to find this product! I don't have cable and wanted to be able to record shows with an antenna hookup only. Item was shipped very quickly and took only a short time to connect to my tv. First night I had it record two shows while I was out. Perfect job. I haven't tried to record or dub to DVD yet, but am not expecting any problems. Will be buying another unit for a family member. Great device!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great dvr for the money

11/26/2012
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does take a lot of learning to use many features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second one of these I have bought. I absolutely love these. I never use the DVD recording part of this. I love that I can essentially pause live TV and it will record it. I can hit the record button several times and it will record 30 miniutes for every time I press it, so if I need to leave I can quickly have it record what I was watching. It also lets you do timer recording. It is so easy to record shows on the hard drive without messing with DVD's. I record on the highest quality setting and have never run out of space on the hard drive. Great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR for Over the air antenna user!

12/20/2012
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd and 3rd DVR purchase (one for my father and a second one for myself). I purchased my first one in 2008 and it has worked flawlessly. I purchased one for my parents for the ease of use and a second one for myself in case my original one does eventually die and they are no longer available. I just love it (BEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next