Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love this recorder!

10/08/2012
By ,
Cincinnati
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Since digital television came along, I've missed my VCR. When I finally found this digital recorder, I was excited to be able to record programs again. After reading the instructions, I found this easy to use, and even intuitive. It's a slick little toy that does what it says it will and is better than my old VCR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good for recording and replay

10/09/2012
By ,
Shirley,IN.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this everyday for recording tv shows and replay next day.
I only have regular tv and I can watch tv shows when I want.
I would recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/09/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the Magnavox 160GB recorder and needed a second one to be able to record 2 TV shows that are opposite each other. It works great and would highly recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT DVD RECORDER WITH BUILT IN HARD DRIVE!

10/09/2012
By ,
San Gabriel, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only remaining dvd recorder with a built in hard drive still available in North American. Better than a cable dvr any day of the week since you can burn your programs on to a blank dvd unlike the cable dvr's. The Magnavox was unavailable for the past several months with sellers online trying to rip people off by charging over $1000 each. I was so happy when I saw it was available again. This my 3rd Magnavox hdd recorder since 2008. For anyone who records a lot and wants to permanently save certain recordings I highly recommend this Magnavox dvd recorder. One great feature is as long as you have the recorder turned on; you can go back and record anything that’s been on up to the past six hours and you can easily edit out commercials. I've read that the motion picture industry wants to keep these types of recorders off the market and that may happen. The Magnavox comes in 320 GB, 500 GB and now a 1 TB. They start at only $228. I’ve been very happy with mine and I'll probably buy another one in the near future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+137points
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Much better than VHS recorder, easier to use

10/26/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaces my old VHS over the air TV show recorder. Much better than VHS, easier to use, can skip advertisements, it is all that I was hoping it would be. Excellent value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very easy to use

10/09/2012
By ,
Des Moines, Ia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have the Magnavox DVD Recorder/VHS recorder too. This unit has the tuner as well. Fantastic and easy to use & set up. Would highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are here:
Posted 10/14/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great HDD/DVD Recorder

10/11/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have 3 Magnavox HDD & DVD Recorders (a 160GB HD, a 500GB HD, and this 320GB HD) and I am totally pleased with every one of them. Setup and recording are a snap, and picture quality is fantastic on all speeds down to LP. Below that, the picture can get a little grainy. I have all three set up in the same location, which can be a problem since the each remote control will also control all 3 units. I found a good hint online that solves this problem. Use one of those old, black plastic VCR boxes; cut them so that you can place one end under the unit above and the rest of the box will hang down and cover the front of the one below it. Don't make them too wide or they'll prevent your DVD tray from opening. Several others have posted fantastic technical information reviews, so I won't duplicate their very detailed and accurate posts. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are here:
Posted 10/14/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/28/2012
By ,
Menomonee Falls, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is exactly what I've been looking for.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great for Recording TV from an antenna

01/31/2013
By ,
Salt Lake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I don't have cable and wanted to record local programs. You can use it with cable too and without the monthly fee that comes with TiVo. I like that you can choose between going direct to the internal hard drive or stick in a write-able DVD and record to that.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/27/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked everywhere for a DVR with a tuner. My house has a cable box in the living room but I wanted something for my bedroom. Perfect for a renter without adding extra cost to my landlord. Though it is from 2002, I was able to get assistance with set up from Magnavox. It arrived quickly from Walmart.com. No freestanding store had DVR's with built in tuners. I am more interested in recording from television networks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised

12/10/2012
By ,
Austin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the 500g model of this unit for two weeks and it has met every word of the description on this site. It is easy to set up and gives excellent recordings; both with HDD and DVD. It does not have its own TV guide built-in, but that's no problem since I use my iPad for that.
The timed programming is easy. I just use an antenna (rabbit ears) for reception. I get 14 channels with most in HD.
As far as I could find, this is the best unit for this purpose out there. Walmart shipped fast to my home and even beat their own delivery date by five days.
You won't go wrong with this unit. I had a Panasonic DVD recorder before this one and constantly had to do a hard reset after timed recording. No such problem with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Two years of use and no problems

09/24/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own a previous generation of this model (MDR 513H) that I purchased in Aug 2010 and I simply love this machine! I normally use mine about 3-5 hours a day (between recording and viewing) and haven't had a single problem with the device. The HDD drive is capable of recording in 1080p and reproduces an excellent image when viewed through an HDMI cable. If you purchase one, I would highly recommend utilizing the auto clock feature as the internal clock doesn't keep accurate time (at least mine don't#. I've found that Fox network's digital channel or PBS's analog channel keep very accurate time for your auto setting. I was so happy with the first device that I purchased a second one in Feb to keep up with all the shows I record.
I also recommend reading the review by Wajo2 for a more detailed account of this device and want to thank him for all the information he has posted concerning these devices. He has tons of info posted concerning how to operate these devices and problem solving #e.g. clock issues, soft resets, etc.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+89points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 10/03/2012
Here's an index of help files available for everything from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does its job well.

10/10/2012
By ,
Pine Bluff, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magnavox 320GB HDD and DVD Recorder (DVR) was easy to set up and use. The limited editing function works fairly easily. Only problem seems to be getting the unit to sync to the standard time channel. Not having much luck with that function, but still really like and enjoy using this DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files and clock tips are here:
Posted 10/14/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
See "11:57 Procedure" for syncing clock to local time signal.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great choice if you do not want to pay for TVIO, i

01/01/2013
By ,
Silver Spring
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to compliment one like this I bought several years ago, I like it so much I bought this one for my wife to copy her favorite shows on each day.
Since it has a hard drive as well as the DVD recorder it is much easier to set up to record and play back. I have had NO problems with my old one and assume this one will be just as reliable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Maybe last of it's kind but still the best

12/21/2012
By ,
Longmont, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third of these. I have 2 other 320 GB ones and this is the 1 TB HDD version. I have one for each TV in the house. Having a tuner is great because I can record on one channel while watching another. Also, the DVR capability is great because I often get interrupted while watching and so to be able to pause is fantastic. And, the ability to dub from the HDD to the DVD (recordable) is also a plus because I then I can take the DVD to another one in the house or even to a compatible DVD (player) outside the house and watch it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best recorder ever

12/21/2012
By ,
eastern michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does it all and I mean all. You can record all premium channels.This is exactly what I wanted.
DVD will not do copy rite material and this DVD will not do copy rite either but the HDD will. It is for my personal use so it is legal. Gives my wife and I a new dimension in entertainment. Incredible
up convert. It is as good as High Definition.(very close)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox MDR533H HDD/DVD Recorder DVDR

10/28/2012
By ,
Lexinton,Ky.USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hi! I have only owned this DVDR/DVD recorder for a few days and am still learning about all its features and capabilities....and I must say,I LOVE it more every day!! I am using it as an "Over-the-air" recorder as I no longer have satellite and haven`t had cable in decades.This is one of the VERY FEW DVD recorders that includes a built in tuner available these days..( most have NO tuner and MUST be connected to either a satellite receiver or a cable box).The tuner in this machine must be "top-of-the-line" since it picks up EVERY available channel in my area.I live in a city where there are 5 stations broadcasting 3 or 4 channels each and this machine "located" and tunes them all in flawlessly!The built in HARD DRIVE (or HDD) is amazing! This is like a TIVO..but with NO SUBSCRIPTION fees!Set it to record your TV shows...play them back...edit out commercials and record them to EITHER DVD+r,DVD+RW...DVD-R,or DVD-RW...AND dubbing from the hard drive to DVD is done at a high speed....Only takes a few minutes to dub a 2 hour recording!..I can`t say enough about this machine...There are 2 or 3 models that have larger hard drives as the main difference in this one.....This one(the 320Gb version can record 371 hours on the hard drive before it gets full...I doubt I will EVER need any more space...but if you do,there is a 500GB and a 1 TB version...As I said earlier,I am still learning about this machine...and I am LOVING it...I hope to be able to buy a second one soon,if that tells you anything!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/27/2012
By ,
Dunedin Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This equipment is exactly what we were looking for and more. I hope you keep offering. Great useful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great replacement for Tivo or Cable company DVR.

12/20/2012
By ,
Columbia, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only problem so far is the remote doesn't have a back button for the last channel, but other than that it's worth it to have. Beats having to lease a DVR from the cable company. IT's a good deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR for Over the air antenna user!

12/20/2012
By ,
Appleton, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 2nd and 3rd DVR purchase (one for my father and a second one for myself). I purchased my first one in 2008 and it has worked flawlessly. I purchased one for my parents for the ease of use and a second one for myself in case my original one does eventually die and they are no longer available. I just love it (BEST THING SINCE SLICED BREAD!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next