Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/25/2012
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice replacement of my old and faithful VCR. 320 gb is more than enough for recording all you need. Easy to program for timed recording when you are away. Very helpful to be able to record on a DVD and take it with you if you travel to places where entertainment is limited. It also replaces your DVD player (although not blu-ray). Only con: I do think that the instructions could be much simpler for first-time users. Much easier when my wife and myself worked together, reading and fiddling with the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

I love this Recorder!

11/01/2012
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I own an earlier version of this product and it is wonderful. It has been an invaluable recording and playback workhorse in my home for many years, and I am glad to see that it is still available if I ever have to replace it.
The DVR market has been dominated by other devices which require a subscription service, but this will perform well as a DVR without costing an extra fee. If you research “service plans” on the leading DVR device, you can see how this product can save you hundreds of dollars.
I am writing a review on this retailer’s site because it is not available where I originally purchased it. So I feel it is necessary spread the word and support this product wherever it can be found.
If this product’s newer version performs as earlier versions, I cannot recommend it high enough.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+11points
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/25/2012
By ,
elk river mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very ezzy to setup, had it setup to use in one min.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Recorder

12/25/2012
By ,
Whitewater WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the Magnavox as a gift for x mas. This was my second machine from the manufacturer and I wanted another for my bedroom tv. Easy to set up and use and very high quality recording!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR

12/02/2012
By ,
New Bedford, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my first stand alone DVR. In the past I would use my computer Media Center to record tv and watch and rewind live tv. This is much better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Dying Breed

01/05/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is an excellent machine with a lot of convenient features. There is high-speed dubbing available in certain recording modes (which I have yet to figure out) and easy editing of recorded content. There are six recording quality modes and even an automatic quality selection that adjusts to the available disk space.
This technology will soon be replaced by higher definition formats and direct recording to memory sticks. This is one of the last DVD recorders that includes a hard drive. If you have a use for this technology then it is an good tome to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it

11/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDD and DVD Recorder is great. Better than my tunered DVD recorders. Cheaper and more versatile. I can see my DVD recorders being replaced soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great way to avoid DVR purchase and monthly bill

11/01/2012
By ,
Towanda, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievably fast shipping. It was scheduled for delivery in 10 - 14 days, and it arrived at the store in 3 days.
Up and running within an hour, with a few more hours of tinkering,testing and fine tuning. It took a while to learn how to navigate to and from the different functions, but I can't complain... perhaps because I am fairly adept with technical things, and am fairly patient.
I will be using it to record TV shows that are on when my wife and I are putting 3 grandchildren to bed.(The littlest one(3 years old) destroyed our VCR and I had a heck of a time finding a replacement one).
I believe this unit is very fairly priced.
One thing- I should have checked the home delivery fee--it would have been cheaper to ship it to my home(only $3.97!) instead if using a gallon and a half gas driving to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Product

01/13/2013
By ,
NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything works as expected. The only thing I can complain about is that the tuner is not 1080, it is 720.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Second purchase

12/25/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already own the 320GB model and got the 1TB model for my hubby for Christmas. It is easy to use and records beautifully!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use and set up

12/25/2012
By ,
Indianapolis IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had it for about a week and was able to set it up pretty quickly and start recording. Rewinding live TV is pretty cool. Does what I was looking for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This is one great unite

12/14/2012
By ,
Independence, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received it very quickly and after reviewing the instructions I was quickly making DVD's. This is the easiest DVD recorder I have ever used. I have also recorded quite a bit on the HDD. The only thing I have not done is dubbing. I record strictly using a DVD-RW and when I am satisfied with the recording I make a copy of it to a standard DVD and erase the original and keep recording. I am very satisfied with the 500GB Magnavox
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Perfect machine to have with no or basic cable

01/05/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I have free, basic cable. I have no cable box and therefore no DVR provided by the cable company.) In order to record a program, I used to use a VHS, and later a Magnavox DVD recorder unit (it was a great unit for 4 years until it broke). You may not know that this is about the only device you can get that records onto both DVD and hard disk like a DVR without having to have a subscription, and all this is possible because it is also one of the only machines left that has a built in digital tuner! This is important because if you want to watch one channel and record another, you need the recorder to have its own tuner. This is the ONLY unit I could find of this nature without spending a fortune. You can also DVR something and if you want to take it somewhere to show someone, you can dub it onto a DVD. It makes your DVR'd program portable! This is awesome. I am a diehard Philips/Magnavox user and love their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very nice hdd recorder.

02/10/2013
By ,
Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This hdd recorder is almost like having a pvr.
Only wish it could play blue ray.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DVR recorder

07/20/2013
By ,
mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Thank You Walmart this DVR works very good I love it I wish that I knew about this a long time ago this is the only way to go DVR recorder very very happy will buy another one later and real cheap to buy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A quality, functional HDD/DVD recorder

10/21/2012
By ,
Kansas City, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had this unit for a couple of months, so something could still go wrong with it, but so far, I'm quite happy with it. I'm actually a little giddy, and I'm an old computer tech!
The pros:
You can watch something you've recorded on the HD while recording something else. If an automatic recording starts while you are watching something you've previously recorded, you won't notice a thing. A little red dot will notify you that it's recording, but it won't affect the show you are watching. You can also edit any recording you have on the HD to remove scenes you don't want to keep, such as commercials. And I don't notice any glitches at all, where I've edited something. It's all digital and a pretty slick operation.
You don't need to have the unit in any certain mode to have your automatic recordings start. If you're already recording something when an automatic record time comes up, you will see a notice on the screen telling you it's about to change to start another recording. You'll have time to stop it, if you want. If not, it will just stop what you're recording, change channels and start recording the program you set to record automatically.
You can also watch a program that is recording from the start without affecting the recording of the rest of the show. So, if you get home a little late, you don't have to wait until the recording is finished before you can watch the beginning. While it's still recording the rest of the program, you can watch the beginning part that you missed. There's a time display you can bring up that shows you how far ahead the actual recording is, while you're watching the early parts.
I don't even use the DVD unless I want to copy something to it from the HD. This saves on DVDs. And recording on the HD, you aren't limited to space like you would be using just a DVD. Just that alone saves money on DVDs, if you do a lot of recording. I no longer need to purchase RW-DVDs if I don't want to.
The Cons (not many that I can see):
While the unit is recording, you can't watch another input. It does have a couple of inputs, but whatever it's recording is the only thing you can watch at the time (except for the previously recorded things I spoke of earlier). So, it's not good to make it your main controlling unit. I have an older DVD recorder that also has a tuner and I was using the Magnavox as my main unit, plugging the older DVD recorder into input 2. It worked, but if I wanted to record something on the older DVD recorder, I had to set it for automatic, or start the recording before a recording was started on the Magnavox.
I got smart and started using my TV as the main controlling unit, because it has two inputs. Now, I can watch a program on one unit while recording on the other. I can also record two different programs on the units at the same time, if I want. My TV isn't digital, so I have to use the tuners to receive the digital channels. But, I plan on getting a digital converter so I will be able to watch a channel on TV while recording two others, one on the older DVD and one on the Magnavox. This is great for me, because I work nights. Now I'm able to record any show I want and watch it later.
I was a little concerned about the smaller HD in this unit, but it has been no problem at all, and I record everything in High Depth mode. You can get a unit that has a larger drive, but I don't see the need unless you record everything under the sun and never delete anything. This 320 gig drive is more than sufficient for my needs.
Most DVD recorders I've purchased in the past (and I've purchased more than a few) had limitations that I had to deal with. But this HDD/DVD recorder is the first unit I've purchased in a long time that is quick, efficient and of good quality. Personally, I think this was a great purchase. I'm very picky and I'm quite satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
out there
Great Post
Posted 10/16/2013
Sums it up for me too, I really enjoy not having to worry about damage, or shut down with the record pause on. Only thing I worry about is if they stop making these, the resale prices will sky rocket, my plan, buy another unit, I gave up worrying.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Item works great!

08/19/2013
By ,
Hoschton, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The digital tuner works great and receives all my locals. The recording quality is excellent. So far it has exceeded my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does everything it's advertised to do

12/14/2012
By ,
Kaysville, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very satisfied with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The best purchase

10/31/2013
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The best purchase of a DVD and DVR player/recorder that I could have made. I am very satisfied with this purchase and I would recommend this product to anyone. Quality and price can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Meets our needs

01/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Able to do what we needed. Can record tv shows, play DVDs, and hook VHS player up to it to record old VHS tapes onto DVD. Love not having to pay a monthly fee to cable company in order to record tv shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 815 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  41 Next