Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(897 Reviews) 772
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
260
3 stars
47
2 stars
25
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation89%797 out of 897reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
633 Questions | 2,042 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
260
3 stars
47
2 stars
25
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR for Cutting Cable/Sat.

06/18/2014
By ,
Elko,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am still learning all the functions of my new Magnavox HDD,DVR 320gb,DVD Recorder with digital tuner it is by far the best investment I have made in a very long time.I was able to connect it to my TV with the HDMI cord-bought separately-for one of the best pictures I have seen from over the air Tv.I will more than likely purchase another one by years end and highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox HDD DVR 320 GB

06/09/2014
By ,
Akron Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with this recorder. I got it mainly for a TV tuner source for a wireless TV transmitter (needed composite rca outputs) and it picks up all my analog cable channels and local digital channels - no problem. Havent hooked it to my TV antenna yet - I assume it will work the same. Ive only recorded a few things on the HD as well as on a DVD - worked great. You need to figure out the on-screen menus but then they make sense. Haven't had it long enough to judge reliability but with few options in a recorder of this type id say its worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Recorder did not work.

06/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Everything with setup and capturing TV signals was very good. The DVD recorder would not accept disks for playback or recording. I had to take it back to the store, get a refund and order it again. Wait till you read my review if this one does not work.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

works as advertised

10/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty simple to program and use, if you're familiar with how to program a VCR. It works just like that. Perfect for time-shifting your favorite TV shows. I wish it had better fast forward capabilities but other than that it's a good replacement for your old VHS recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT LITTLE MACHINE!!!

06/16/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved my first one so much that I bought another two months later! You can easily "cut out" commercials, create your own chapter breaks, and dub back and forth from hard drive to disc. Once you have programed a recording it makes sure it gets recorded even if you forget and are watching something else! I just can't say enough good things about this unit! It is everything I hoped for and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent product for my needs.

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to back up a high quality standard definition video camera used at a church. It has done what we wanted and allowed us to to edit the service to keep it within time limits for transmission.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great unit

10/05/2012
By ,
Yuma,Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was going to buy the VHS/DVD but thought I`d try this. It works great. Beats having to put a tape in or a disc. The flaws are customer support. We kept getting disconnected and they never called back even though they had my number. The remote doesn`t have some keys with the name of their function like stop-play-pause which is a pain. That`s why i gave it four stars. Just symbols The 320 GB has plenty for one person but I would recommend the 500 for a family. It has a great picture. Easy to use. It is well worth it. Read the questions /answers on here for tips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only type of DVD recorder designed and sold anymor

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May be complicated to novice user. This machine is the only way to record regular antennae television unless you use a standard VCR which is still sold. And yes, it has a built in tuner. Multiple recordings can be saved directly into machine and later dubbed {transferred to DVD which is then playable on any other DVD player) with the touch of a button.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Everything works as described

11/24/2012
By ,
Pharr, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My recorder was ordered Friday and arrived Tuesday (Free shipping) - Very happy. The recorder is performing very satisfactorily - everything works as described. Some reviews stated the manual has errors and is hard to understand. I found no errors so far, but it's good I am technical and have figured out everything so far by reading instructions and "playing" with the unit's controls. I have another DVD recorder & there are similarities, which helps. There are some features I would improve, but since this unit seems to be "the only game in town", I'm satisfied with the way it is. Dubbing from hard drive to DVD works great, also using the hard drive to "time shift TV viewing" and to pause live TV. I have been using this unit for a couple of weeks now, so cannot comment on long-term performance. Also, I never buy extended warranties, but since this is the only product of its kind, I DID buy the extended warranty for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Unable to record

01/12/2014
By ,
SLC, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have made over a dozen phone calls to Magnavox Support and haven't got the problem of the unit not being able to record. I may return recorder tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Product

11/02/2013
By ,
Roland, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second Magnavox DVR, since my first one froze up after a short cucuit in the house. Since the previous DVR was out of warranty, I ordered a second one to replace it. This DVR is just right to time shift programming. It's easy to program and play back. The quality of the picture and sound is just as good as the original broadcast. I rarely make DVDs from the recording, when I did the directions were fairly intuitive. The cost is about $330, but there are no other fees or contracts to worry about. If this unit works in your system, I think it's a pretty good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your 1st unit is till A-OK....
Posted 11/04/2013
Revive your 1st unit with a Soft Reset, as described in this help file... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other info and help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Cut the cable cord

03/24/2014
By ,
Lake Saint Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After recently cutting the cable cord and reverting back to the old attic antenna for free TV, I found my schedule didn't match those of my favorite TV shows. This DVR recorder requires no subscription, works as a DVR recorder, works as a DVD player and a DVD recorder. What's not to like? Now I can watch TV on my time and for free.
The picture is clear, sound is great and very easy to install (I did it myself). Using a separately purchased HDMI cable rather than the video/audio connection included with the Magnavox is a plus. Better picture quality with the HDMI wire and less wires to attach. If you order the HDMI cable from Walmart at same time as Maganovox, the cost is 2/$10 for the cable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Deal for a DVR

05/05/2014
By ,
Decatur, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the DVR for 1 week but thus far I really like it. It was easy to set up. And I am very happy with the digital tuner feature. I am considering purchasing another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

well made; good features; simple operation

07/31/2013
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATSC (HD) tuner works as good or better than my TV's and basic operation is simple enough, although a quick read of the manual is worth the effort. Seems well made and attractive enough; about the only negative I can think of is the lack of a program guide feature. Setup was pretty easy too. In my case, my TV only has a single HDMI port which is needed for my ROKU box. I suppose I could've shopped for an HDMI switch but I hooked it up using component video and was pleasantly surprised that there was no discernable difference in picture quality compared to using an HDMI connection. Composite video is also supported but that should be a last resort.
I bought this to replace a DVD recorder. saved a few bucks by buying the 320Gb hard drive model, which I believe is good for 60+ hrs of HD recording. More than enough for my purposes though; if I want to archive something I'll just burn it to a DVD. Great alternative to Tivo for those of us who don't need or want cable. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Deal

11/27/2012
By ,
Valley Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use as a VCR. I use mine with comcast cable (no cable box) record all my favorite shows. skips through ads. Lots of featuures and when I play DVD it plays 1080i sharp clear picture with suround sound I use a DMI cable (recomended) hooked to my home theater. Very pleased I don't pay a monthly fee to use this great recorder. I'm very happy and I purchased it with $100 discount and free shipping. It takes a little while to learn all the great features. I don't think you will be disapointed if you use the player/recorder the way I use it. I don't know how it works with a cable box or a reg. antenna, or satalite dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katy, TX
Great Deal
Posted 07/14/2013
Since Comcast scrambles all its channels now an a tuner adapter is required as a minimum to access cable how can you record the channels you want? With my old Panasonic SH2 HD/DVD recorder I have to set the tuner adapter in advance to the proper channel and set the Panasonic to come on at the proper time to receive the Comcast scrambled tuner information for that Channel. It was some headache and I would not recommend going through that for anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A perfect gift

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No more missing shows and movies. If you are a TV lover this is your petfect gift. The set up process is very easy and works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very easy to operate and specially when recording

03/23/2014
By ,
Las Vegas,NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like it. It's a good recorder and with a tuner that is easy to record either in a hard drive or disk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy. No issues to date. Beats paying extra for cable/satellite DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/04/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very powerful machine. I can easily record my home videos over to the Hard Disc Drive (HDD), perform some basic editing (start-finish breaks, divide into chapters, add titles, etc.) and then dub them onto a DVD. This is much easier than my old method of recording straight from VHS to DVD.
Some cool features: (1) The digital TV tuner is great. Whenever the unit is on it is recording the TV signal off the air so you never wish you had planned ahead to record something because you are already recording whatever you are watching. Always. (2) It will start recording using the timer even when you are watching TV. The unit does not have to be switched off to start timer recording. (3) If you set it up properly (using High Speed dubbing), you can watch TV while the unit is dubbing from HDD to DVD, an operation than can take several hours. (4) It is simple to edit out commercials and to divide the programs into separate titles on the HDD. (5) The remote control is nicely shaped and the buttons are logically laid out. This is important because everything is done on the remote. (6) All the recording features work well. The DVD's are compatible with other DVD players. It succeeds in all the recording basics.
In the minus column: (1) The manual tells you everything you want to know about operating the unit but teaches you the needed skills out of sequence. Therefore, you must read the entire manual to learn how to get your home videos from old VHS tapes, edit them, and then dub them onto new DVD's. (2) Capturing the automatic off-the-air TV recording onto "permanent" HDD requires careful execution of the proper commands. You will learn not to push the Stop button too many times until you have queued-up your program because pushing Stop once marks the end the recording and pushing Stop twice erases the old recording and starts a new recording. If you hadn't properly queued your program, the portion you want will be erased, gone in an instant. Practice this feature before trying it on a program you care about. (3) The huge HDD (1TB) is large enough to retain hundreds of hours of programs but the file structure does not allow you to organize these many recordings into a manageable folders. Each recording is a separate title and only six titles can be displayed at a time on the title menu screen. Getting to recording number 50 out of 100 requires you to step through the programs one at a time using the arrow buttons many times over the course of several minutes. (4) The remote is not a universal remote and cannot control your TV volume.
This is my fourth DVD Recorder (one Magnavox and two Panasonics). I like it better than all of the others. This is the machine you need if you have a large collection of old VHS tapes and need to transfer them to DVD's while doing some simple editing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

easy to use

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for a 10yr old Panasonic VCR/DVR. I miss being able to play my old VHS tapes but totally enjoy recording to HDD and not having to use Panasonic proprietary discs for removable storage. Easy setup, the timer programming menu is very intuitive and easy to use, as are editing titles and dubbing to DVDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 773 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  39 Next