Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great alternative to cable companys or dish DVR

11/17/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is much like a VCR except you can record your shows on a hard drive or on a recordable DVD (i.e. DVD-RW). It has a built-in HD tuner allowing you to record your cable shows or you can use patch cords to record directly from the cable box. It takes some time to learn all the features and settings.
Pluses: much more time allowed recording to a hard drive. You can "dub" from HDD to DVD and vice versa.
Minuses: The initial settings are complex and required some experimentation to get right. Also, the automatic clock feature did not work (lack of good signal) and really messed up the date and time. I suggest using only the manual clock feature. If not, your programming could take a hit. It would be nice if the front display was bigger - it's hard to read from across the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does what it is supposed to do.

08/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am behind the curve when it comes to the newer electronics and this machine requires time to learn. It is capable of doing much more than I need. Even though the manual is 122 pages and is well written compared to many I've seen, I have discovered some things by trial and error.
As an example, the manual states if use the HDMI cable, CC or sub titles can not be seen. However this is true only if you use the 16.9 A/R, if you use the 4.3, CC/sub title does work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Remote was scratched on two different orders.

05/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have never had a chance to use the product. The remote was scratched and always looked as though it was a used remote. I had to return everything and could not just get a new remote. I hesitate in ordering another dvd recorder player for fear of the same thing occurring. It would be nice if you could just send a review and no rating since I had not been able to use the equiment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Complex menus

10/31/2014
By ,
Spgfld MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had my Magnavox HDD DVR recorders for over a year now and I am very happy with them and the quality of the recordings, both on hard drive and on DVD disc. Different DVD disc perform differently and for some reason the cheap ones work best for me.
The menu to record is not terribly user friendly and takes a while to get the hang of it. If you have something recorded on Hard Drive it is not simple to then record it to DVD. If you think you may want it on a DVD, it is best to do that when you first record it. When you record to a DVD and there is space left on the DVD, it will not play in someone else's DVD player until you finalize the disc. This is not simple to do either. I would tell you how but it was so difficult I don't remember how I accomplished it now.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great choice for DVD plus DVR type recording.

10/07/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I purchased an earlier version of the same unit a couple years ago and ordered this so I could have one in my RV as well. It allows you to view TV and to backup to replay items you missed as well as to record to an internal hard dist drive, or to record DVDs for viewing later. Programming is manual, but it works well. This model has a redesigned remote control but it is otherwise similar to my older unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are available!
Posted 10/08/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not Pleased

02/14/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the 500gb unit and returned it. I then purchased the 350gb unit and returned it. Following the directions (for both) to the letter and following the easy to understand diagrams I was able to get everything set up with the exception of the digital clock. I set it for Pacific time and it would overnight jump ahead 1 hr and a few minutes (this is the 500gb). So set it back one hour and it did not jump ahead. Only way to record was to be there and press record and then stop record. Did record and sound was acceptable. When I opened the box for the 350gb the 2 plastic sealed batteries were corroded, rusty and wet. Put two of my own batteries in the remote and then tried the same with the 350gb unit and was unable to even set the digital clock to show on the front panel. Upon closer inspection I noticed dirt smudges and scratches and stains on the remote: obviously it had been sold, used and returned and then re-shipped to me. Both units were Magnavox and that surprised me as I purchased a stand-alone DVD player for $29 a couple of years ago and it always works perfectly. I will probably try a different brand of HDD-DVR-DVD player or may just go back to a DV player/VCR combo. At least this older technology is cooperative. Of course it all could be user/operator error...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Sounds like you got a defective one
Posted 02/26/2014
Don't know about the 500g one, but the second one sounds like it was defective. When I bought my first DVD recorder years ago, I spent many hours trying to get it to work right, even calling customer service a couple of times. I finally figured it was defective. Took it back & made sure they knew it was defective, & exchanged for another one. I got the 2nd one to work right off the bat. It happens. Don't know about the time on the 1st one. Could be defective, but it could also be something in the settings. Did you call customer service and check "troubleshooting" in the manual? There are also forums where such things are discussed. I have this machine but haven't connected it yet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clock was broken, never held the correct time, no matter how many times I set it to the proper time. Which means all the pre-set recordings that were set to record at a specific time never recorded.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy hookup and programming

11/27/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unexpectedly when my current DVD recorder ceased working. I bought it, picked it up in-store, and had it connected a day before I went on vacation and it was easy. I love the HDD option to record because then I don't have to worry about the fuss with DVDs if I choose not to and both ways are easy to program and then watch and delete later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best DVR unit with built-in digital TV tuner

11/08/2014
By ,
Pacific Northwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit replaced my 6-year old Panasoniz DMR EZ28 DVD recorder that failed. I don't have cable so all my TV is over the air broadcasts and I needed a unit with a built-in digital TV tuner. I like the large hard drive for recording multiple shows without a concern for deleting others for lack of space like on a DVD-R. I use this unit daily and can now get 60 hours of high quality recording versus 4 hours on a DVD recorder. The setup and basic functions are easy to master but the more complex features are tricky and the manual is a bit lacking in clarity. I have not used the editing features but I will someday since I have old home movies I would like to assemble. One quirk is that often when unit is first powered on, the video will play without sound. All I do is turn it of for a few seconds and turn it back on and it works fine every time. It may be a reset issue but I haven't bothered to contact Magnavox. I was concerned at first that the recordings were being made without sound but that was never the case. I hope Magnavox continues making these units as it is the only DVR with built-in digital TV tuner available since Panasonic discontinued their DMR-EZ line in the U.S. market. Overall this unit works great! I would buy it again and I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Software cumbersome

03/27/2014
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boy does this unit need a software update. Like your want to look for a saved show ~ there is now way to sort in any order. Or your watching a recorded show and it get to the end and bingo your watching live TV. Doesn't ask if you want to save or delete, you have to go back in and delete it. The display come up and to take it off the screen you have to go through all the different displays to clear it. four I think. If you miss you go around again. The clicker has no volume on it so to change the sound level you always have to carry two clickers. Watching a DVD or recorded show and the recorder finishes recording another show and the record HDD come on the screen and you wait for it to drop off. Back up to record a show from the start like 5 mins back and you can't use the 30, 60, .... time set. All you can do is start the recorder and then stop it manually when it's done. well I could go on but enough said , if you don't mind always going the long way home it's a perfect machine. I just can't type anymore due to pushing all those buttons on the clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

BEST VIDEO UNIT SINCE VHS!

10/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My VHS/DVD recorder broke down & I have been searching for weeks frying to find one with a tuner but with no avail since video units with VHS decks are becoming obsolete & hard to find. I saw this recorder & after doing research on it & it was exactly what I needed. For me, it was very easy to set up with the right connections for the set up that I have. The DVD deck records extremely excellent & so does the HDD 320GB drive which pretty much functions like a DVR. If You have a Dish Network Duo Receiver {TV1 & TV2} & although this unit does have a tuner, you will still need a RF Modulator to make the proper connections for TV2. The following set up is for TV's & Rf Modulators that use RCA cables that are yellow, red & white.
Step 1
Connect the antenna to IN.
Step 2
Connect a RF coaxial cable to OUT & connect the other end of the cable to the back of the RF Modulator ANT IN.
Step 3
Connect another RF coaxial cable to the back of the RF Modulator TO TV & connect the other end of the cable to the TV ANT IN.
Step 4
Connect RCA cables {red, yellow & white} to back of the video unit VIDEO OUT & AUDIO OUT.
Step 5
Connect the other end of the RCA cables & connect them to the back of the RF Modulator VIDEO IN & AUDIO IN.
Now you can set up the video unit according to your needs & the kind of TV you have in the manual.
I hope this is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Unable to record

01/12/2014
By ,
SLC, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have made over a dozen phone calls to Magnavox Support and haven't got the problem of the unit not being able to record. I may return recorder tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not good if you have a cable/satellite box

01/29/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because Comcast said they were going to be broadcasting only in digital and my VHS (used for years) was analog. Had a hard time getting this unit to work until a previous reviewer said the set-up instructions in the booklet were wrong, that one had to connect to the DVR first, then the Comcast box, then the TV. Well, that worked wonders, still in analog, and I was able to record much like my previous VHS experience (could have the tuner change channels to record any number of programs on different channels). That worked UNTIL Comcast actually scrambled their signal (1/21/2013). Obviously we had to reconnect things. Now cable goes into the cable descrambler, then into the DVD recorder, then to the TV, which is what the instruction booklet said. Worked fine EXCEPT that now the DVR is a "slave" to the box (descrambler). That means you can't watch a program different from what's being recorded DURING a recording. And you have to have the TV on the channel you want to record...no more having the tuner switch from channel to channel automatically. The instruction manual even says this one-horse function is all you get (p.43). "You will not be able to watch another program from the box as the recorder will be recording the channel the cable/satellite box is set to". This means that if I want to record something late in the evening, I turn the TV channel to the one I want to record before turning off the TV and going to bed. Too bad if I want to record two different channels during the night. Wouldn't recommend this unit for folks who have Comcast/Xfinity's scrambled signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Couldn't get it to work

04/26/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different days to get it to work, used different cables and etc. but I could never get anything to come up on the TV screen. The unit would turn on, I could change the channels but nothing would show on the TV, no menu or anything. I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong connection scheme ...
Posted 04/27/2014
You needed both coax and a line connection (HDMI, RGB, YWR RCA or S-video) between the Mag and the TV. You can only see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) thru the line connection, not the coax... and you have to switch your TV "Input" to the one you connected the Mag to. The TV's "ANT" input only shows the raw incoming signal, which the TV can tune independently while the Mag records a diff. channel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Defective manufacturing

10/23/2013
By ,
Miami Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed to replace a previous model that has been a workhorse but was slowly dying. Finding a DVD recorder with tuner is nearly impossible. I was happy to find that this machine was still available. I bought it, had it shipped and installed it. It made an audible ticking sound when on. Called Magnavox who confirmed it was defective. Ordered another and the same problem occurred. Returned it. I'll wait a few months until another batch is made and then try again. Other than the ticking this is an excellent machine but poor quality control makes it a poor choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Wow; I am amazed at this new tech stuff.

10/26/2012
By ,
Aitkin , MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been buying a VCR recorder for 25 yrs or better and they last a yr at best 2 yrs. When they break it's usually cheaper to buy a new one then to fix the old one. It doesn't matter the brand, I've tried them all and even some their more expensive models. this new technology blows my mine. Had it for only 3 weeks, so time will tell. It is easy to set up and picture is great, even when paused. I rec. 5-7 hours a day and watch at night. Don't worry about running out of time, the Hd drive will handle 300 + hours of rec. You can also use the DVD and save it. So far it has been very user friendly. Grizzly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This HDD dvd recorder great for editing.

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason that I bought the Magnavox MDR533h recorder was because my Philips DVDR3576H/37 recorder no longer was able to transfer video from hard drive to disc after many years of service. I was hoping that the Magnavox would compare to the Philips since they both appear to be manufactured by the same company.To my delight the operation is the same and the end results are more than satisfactory. The only complaint I have is that when transferring video from disc to hard drive the titles don't get transferred and I have to enter those titles again.I am thankful,however,to have a working HDD dvd recorder back again.Once the manual is learned the operation of the recorder is elementary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/25/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Have had this Magnavox a few weeks and really like it. It does operate like a VCR for setting the recording but operates like a TiVo with pause, fast foward & rewind in HDD with no monthly fee! I have not recorded on a DVD but the DVD player is easy to operate.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good product at a good price

09/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Magnavox 320GB HDD/DVR with Digital Tuners Easy to set-up and operate. The picture and sound quality is excellent. Recording one show while watching another is convenient. Having a unit that automatically updates the time when the power goes out, then comes back on is a great feature for anyone that records TV shows on a regular basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easyto use but it is the last of its kind in US

11/15/2012
By ,
Napa Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well, easy to use, but may be the last of its kind. It is the last HDD/DVD recorder available in the US. If you want one don't hesitate as these tpes of machine will not be available much longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
+4points
81-100 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  41 Next