Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(837 Reviews) 712
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
475
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation89%747 out of 837reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
577 Questions | 1,871 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
475
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Product

03/31/2014
By ,
Englewood Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
Like the hard drive over my old vcr.
Good priceat 199.00
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well. Still learning all the functionality

03/29/2014
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Basic functions easy to understand. Lots of other things I probably won't use. Just take it one step at a time
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent Machines

11/27/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third time I've bought Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders here at walmart.com: December 2009, September 2011, and most recently in October 2012. Slightly differing models with varying HD capacities, but they've all been good machines.
A bit trickier to use than say a TiVo, since they don't have built-in program guides. However, if you were capable of programming a VCR back in the day, you'll be able to manage one of these.
I also recommend the Ship-to-Store feature. My order got to my local store in 4 days. Since I'm by there at least once a week, it was no trouble to pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only fee free recorder

03/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the only fee free recorder I found on the market. It will recorder tv and copy them to either its harddrive or dvd. My main issue is that it does not have an HDMI input for personal High def recordings, such as cameras. My other issue is the inability-restrictions on recording rented movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Nothing Fancy it just works as advertised

01/12/2014
By ,
Detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this device because it is one of only very few OTA recording devices that has a built in ATSC tuner. I have used it several times and I really like it. In fact, I am considering a second unit for the bedroom. The unit has a strong receiver and with 320 gig of storage, there is plenty of room for my recordings. I considered the 1 TB unit but decided it was not necessary since I dont leave my shows permanently on the hard drive. If I really like a recorded show I will transfer it to a DVD and then erase it from the HD. I wish more electronics manufacturers produced devices like this, but as long as Magnavox continues to make this machine, it is an excellent option for recording OTA TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great with Antenna.

03/28/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was somewhat easy to set up and works great with only an indoor antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fast delivery, good quality at reasonable price.

03/28/2014
By ,
Belleville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This arrived only 2 days after I ordered it. I really like it & would recommend it to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Almost perfect

10/25/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit does what it is suppose to, and delivers excellent picture and sound quality. The DVD drive accepts all types of discs for both record and playback. Programming to record is straightforward. What's not perfect is the response and sensitivity of the remote. You must point the remote directly at the unit, and make slow and deliberate button pushes. It does not respond sometimes, and / or has a delayed response. Once you learn to be patient is okay. Also channel changing is slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lancaster,PA
replace cheap batteries that came with remote
Posted 08/29/2013
My was the same when I got it I replaced the battries and it works fine now.Make sure the sensor on tv is in plain view and not hidden by fire place mantel or other items.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Internal digital tuner adds options

11/14/2012
By ,
Bismarck ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product replaced a vcr/dvd recorder that wasn't working properly any more. We do have a dvr from our cable company which records most of what we need. However, being limited to 2 shows (either live or recording) at times was limiting to us. Since this has a digitial tuner we can plug in the cable directly and now have an option to watch or record a third channel. Also I can record from my dvr to the dvd recorder for shows I want to keep longer. I haven't tried to record a movie this way as that is usually copyright protected and wouldn't work on my old machine. The dubbing is a really nice feature as noted by others. For those wanting to replace their cable dvr though it doesn't have the nice features you are used to for organizing recorded content by title or date or setting up a series recording (at least that is true for my system). But as a second recording option and additional tuner it is outstanding! Easy to set up and use. Love that it works with all kinds of recordable dvd's. I have recommended this to all my friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product for the price

03/24/2014
By ,
Southern Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd DVR (same one) and it works great. I also got it on sale so that makes it even better. We use it everyday, so it gets a lot of use! Bought the warrant for this one also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great!!!!!

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i gotta say it works and does what its supposed to very welll... i truely have no issues with it... the only thing that could be better is if it had a guide and made it slightly easier to program recording.. it feels like i am using my vcr the way you have to program it but other then that i love it.. it works i find it easy enought to use i have it in my bedroom and it gets lots of use so far no issues i have had it for a few weeks now.. so i would recomend it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

love the hdd feature

03/25/2014
By ,
allentown, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my Mother - liked it so much I bought one for myself. A friend of Mothers saw it and is buying one for herself.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just like TiVo without the subscription costs.

01/08/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use an antenna for my TV service, so an internal Tuner is a must have. Because of that, TiVo is out of the question. This item allows me the same advantages as TiVo for recording/pausing/replaying live tv, as well as giving me the normal recording & timer options for the recording of programs. It also allows these recordings to be written to DVD for backup. Allowing recordings to be set up on weekly time schedules is my favorite part, because now I don't miss the few shows I really like when I forget or am out at that time. My only drawback was that the playback didn't seem quite as clear as the original on my tv, but that is probably because I am not using the HDMI hook-up between the two.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does everything I wanted.

03/26/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wish the made DVD R's with more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DVR player

03/22/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this item. I do lot have cable or satellite but wanted to record my soap opera to watch after work. This is great for that. It had its own digital converter. The only draw back is I have to use 2 remotes. the old one for volume and the new one for the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Magnavox DVD, DVR, HDD with digital tuner

12/02/2013
By ,
Tampa FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this DVD-HDD player/recorder and its great features. One feature I enjoy is it ability to record to the HDD if the disc is full or defective, so no programming is loss. The other good feature is the ability to treat this machine as a DVR, in that while recording the viewing can watch, rewind or go forward. The picture is good, as is the sound. Yea for this product! (P.S. I might mention I at first bought a refurbished identical unit from WalMart but from the start it kept dropping 3 major channels. Walmart was great about allowing me to return it and buy this one, which is not refurbished and it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Much better than VHS recorder, easier to use

10/26/2012
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This replaces my old VHS over the air TV show recorder. Much better than VHS, easier to use, can skip advertisements, it is all that I was hoping it would be. Excellent value
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

well made; good features; simple operation

07/31/2013
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATSC (HD) tuner works as good or better than my TV's and basic operation is simple enough, although a quick read of the manual is worth the effort. Seems well made and attractive enough; about the only negative I can think of is the lack of a program guide feature. Setup was pretty easy too. In my case, my TV only has a single HDMI port which is needed for my ROKU box. I suppose I could've shopped for an HDMI switch but I hooked it up using component video and was pleasantly surprised that there was no discernable difference in picture quality compared to using an HDMI connection. Composite video is also supported but that should be a last resort.
I bought this to replace a DVD recorder. saved a few bucks by buying the 320Gb hard drive model, which I believe is good for 60+ hrs of HD recording. More than enough for my purposes though; if I want to archive something I'll just burn it to a DVD. Great alternative to Tivo for those of us who don't need or want cable. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The only Redording device on the market with tuner

11/30/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked up with Antenna to coax for 36 free channels off the air including all side channels such as 25.2, 25.3 etc not available on cable. Also hooked up Cable box to line inputs to record from that source. Best replacement for heavy vcr recorder people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Needs a set top box

03/19/2014
By ,
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I could not use the Magnavox product, because I don't have a set top box. The walmart .com description didn't say that a set top box was needed to operate it. On the Magnavox box it stated that a set top box was needed to operate it. I returned the Magnavox product because I couldn't operate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong unit ...
Posted 03/21/2014
If the box said it needed a STB, you got the wrong unit. The models they sell in the stores all require a STB, but this model, sold only online, does not... unless you have cable and ALL your channels are scrambled.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
81-100 of 713 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  36 Next