Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.247 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(894 Reviews) 769
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
258
3 stars
46
2 stars
25
1 star
62
Customer Recommendation89%794 out of 894reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
631 Questions | 2,038 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
503
4 stars
258
3 stars
46
2 stars
25
1 star
62
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only type of DVD recorder designed and sold anymor

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May be complicated to novice user. This machine is the only way to record regular antennae television unless you use a standard VCR which is still sold. And yes, it has a built in tuner. Multiple recordings can be saved directly into machine and later dubbed {transferred to DVD which is then playable on any other DVD player) with the touch of a button.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Too bad there's no "exceeds expectations" . . .

11/19/2012
By ,
NW Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
. . . for this machine surely does that - best thing since sliced bread. Magnavox has outdone themselves.
I copy a lot of movies off the air and was constantly running out of tape or disc space. This machine has obsoleted all my other gear. Still playing - and learning with it.
Cutting out commercials is a snap. I no longer have to transfer a movie to a PC to edit them out. I'm now looking into a device to transfer the hard disk files to an external hard drive and use it as my library. The only upgrade I can envision for this machine is to have a USB output to simplify transfers. It readily makes DVD copies but I'm trying to avoid discs altogether.
As per above, I have a Samsung DVD player that will accept movies from a USB, so I wouldn't even need discs. Get a 16 gig stick (they're dirt cheap now), a RCA/HDMI to USB converter, and stack up four or five high-quality 2-hour long movies - instead of four or five discs - a timesaver - plus it is nice and compact. You recoup your costs in no time.
Between the two of 'em, I'm in Nirvana.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Dock-and-Play?
Posted 11/20/2012
Someday, you might want to make your Mags a dock-and-play system with multiple external HDDs in a docking station, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/30#user_HDDFarm
Load 100 movies on an external HDD and play them anywhere you have another Mag externalized with a docking station or with a SATA cable and single enclosure.
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/27/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Looked everywhere for a DVR with a tuner. My house has a cable box in the living room but I wanted something for my bedroom. Perfect for a renter without adding extra cost to my landlord. Though it is from 2002, I was able to get assistance with set up from Magnavox. It arrived quickly from Walmart.com. No freestanding store had DVR's with built in tuners. I am more interested in recording from television networks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A perfect gift

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No more missing shows and movies. If you are a TV lover this is your petfect gift. The set up process is very easy and works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Deal for a DVR

05/05/2014
By ,
Decatur, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had the DVR for 1 week but thus far I really like it. It was easy to set up. And I am very happy with the digital tuner feature. I am considering purchasing another.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

works as advertised

10/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty simple to program and use, if you're familiar with how to program a VCR. It works just like that. Perfect for time-shifting your favorite TV shows. I wish it had better fast forward capabilities but other than that it's a good replacement for your old VHS recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy. No issues to date. Beats paying extra for cable/satellite DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Cut the cable cord

03/24/2014
By ,
Lake Saint Louis MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After recently cutting the cable cord and reverting back to the old attic antenna for free TV, I found my schedule didn't match those of my favorite TV shows. This DVR recorder requires no subscription, works as a DVR recorder, works as a DVD player and a DVD recorder. What's not to like? Now I can watch TV on my time and for free.
The picture is clear, sound is great and very easy to install (I did it myself). Using a separately purchased HDMI cable rather than the video/audio connection included with the Magnavox is a plus. Better picture quality with the HDMI wire and less wires to attach. If you order the HDMI cable from Walmart at same time as Maganovox, the cost is 2/$10 for the cable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Unable to record

01/12/2014
By ,
SLC, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have made over a dozen phone calls to Magnavox Support and haven't got the problem of the unit not being able to record. I may return recorder tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

easy to use

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for a 10yr old Panasonic VCR/DVR. I miss being able to play my old VHS tapes but totally enjoy recording to HDD and not having to use Panasonic proprietary discs for removable storage. Easy setup, the timer programming menu is very intuitive and easy to use, as are editing titles and dubbing to DVDs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great unit

10/05/2012
By ,
Yuma,Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was going to buy the VHS/DVD but thought I`d try this. It works great. Beats having to put a tape in or a disc. The flaws are customer support. We kept getting disconnected and they never called back even though they had my number. The remote doesn`t have some keys with the name of their function like stop-play-pause which is a pain. That`s why i gave it four stars. Just symbols The 320 GB has plenty for one person but I would recommend the 500 for a family. It has a great picture. Easy to use. It is well worth it. Read the questions /answers on here for tips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Product

11/02/2013
By ,
Roland, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second Magnavox DVR, since my first one froze up after a short cucuit in the house. Since the previous DVR was out of warranty, I ordered a second one to replace it. This DVR is just right to time shift programming. It's easy to program and play back. The quality of the picture and sound is just as good as the original broadcast. I rarely make DVDs from the recording, when I did the directions were fairly intuitive. The cost is about $330, but there are no other fees or contracts to worry about. If this unit works in your system, I think it's a pretty good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your 1st unit is till A-OK....
Posted 11/04/2013
Revive your 1st unit with a Soft Reset, as described in this help file... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other info and help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Everything works as described

11/24/2012
By ,
Pharr, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My recorder was ordered Friday and arrived Tuesday (Free shipping) - Very happy. The recorder is performing very satisfactorily - everything works as described. Some reviews stated the manual has errors and is hard to understand. I found no errors so far, but it's good I am technical and have figured out everything so far by reading instructions and "playing" with the unit's controls. I have another DVD recorder & there are similarities, which helps. There are some features I would improve, but since this unit seems to be "the only game in town", I'm satisfied with the way it is. Dubbing from hard drive to DVD works great, also using the hard drive to "time shift TV viewing" and to pause live TV. I have been using this unit for a couple of weeks now, so cannot comment on long-term performance. Also, I never buy extended warranties, but since this is the only product of its kind, I DID buy the extended warranty for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very easy to operate and specially when recording

03/23/2014
By ,
Las Vegas,NV
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I really like it. It's a good recorder and with a tuner that is easy to record either in a hard drive or disk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well but......

04/15/2014
By ,
Bullhead City, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit was a replacement for my 2006 DVR that died. Does what it's suppose to do but the included instructions leave a lot to be desired. The User Manual is written for 3 different DVRs and you have to pick out the pertinent sections for the one you have, I'm pretty tech savvy but I still trying to get the DVR to do what I want it to after 2 weeks. Overall the DVR is a 5 but the user manual is a 2. Thank goodness it has an 800 number for help.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Lots of help here ...
Posted 04/15/2014
Instructions in manual apply to all units, only difference between them is HDD capacity, ops are all the same.
All the info you'll ever need is here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

well made; good features; simple operation

07/31/2013
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATSC (HD) tuner works as good or better than my TV's and basic operation is simple enough, although a quick read of the manual is worth the effort. Seems well made and attractive enough; about the only negative I can think of is the lack of a program guide feature. Setup was pretty easy too. In my case, my TV only has a single HDMI port which is needed for my ROKU box. I suppose I could've shopped for an HDMI switch but I hooked it up using component video and was pleasantly surprised that there was no discernable difference in picture quality compared to using an HDMI connection. Composite video is also supported but that should be a last resort.
I bought this to replace a DVD recorder. saved a few bucks by buying the 320Gb hard drive model, which I believe is good for 60+ hrs of HD recording. More than enough for my purposes though; if I want to archive something I'll just burn it to a DVD. Great alternative to Tivo for those of us who don't need or want cable. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Deal

11/27/2012
By ,
Valley Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use as a VCR. I use mine with comcast cable (no cable box) record all my favorite shows. skips through ads. Lots of featuures and when I play DVD it plays 1080i sharp clear picture with suround sound I use a DMI cable (recomended) hooked to my home theater. Very pleased I don't pay a monthly fee to use this great recorder. I'm very happy and I purchased it with $100 discount and free shipping. It takes a little while to learn all the great features. I don't think you will be disapointed if you use the player/recorder the way I use it. I don't know how it works with a cable box or a reg. antenna, or satalite dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katy, TX
Great Deal
Posted 07/14/2013
Since Comcast scrambles all its channels now an a tuner adapter is required as a minimum to access cable how can you record the channels you want? With my old Panasonic SH2 HD/DVD recorder I have to set the tuner adapter in advance to the proper channel and set the Panasonic to come on at the proper time to receive the Comcast scrambled tuner information for that Channel. It was some headache and I would not recommend going through that for anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great for recording broadcast TV

02/27/2014
By ,
Mountain View, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
There aren't many recorders available to record off the airwaves. Fortunately, this is a good one. It responds almost instantaneously to all commands, unlike a DVD based recorder. You can watch a program from the beginning that's in the progress of being recorded, and it will start recording whether it's turned on or off. Plenty of capacity with 60 hours at the highest quality setting. You can even dub from the hard disk back to a DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good product.

05/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took me a few difficult hours to set up the machine. I particularly had a problem with getting video on the S-VHS connection. I found that you first have to input with a wire that has an RCA plug, then change the setting in the menu to the SVHS input.
Now that it is up and running, it works pretty well. I would make a few improvements, such as a means of entering a time to go forward instead of having to fast forward to get to a spot a long way from the beginning. I also would require fewer clicks to do do things, mainly editing and viewing recorded material.
Nertheless it is a good machine and I recommend it, especially since there are so few alternatives.
Bear
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

good

06/06/2014
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a good dvr. there aren't many out there to compare it to. it is slow deleting titles, but gets the job done. program menu is weird maybe thats why there are so many refurbished available. once you get used to it its not too bad. i would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 770 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  39 Next