Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Simple to record on built in hard drive or DVD.

09/28/2012
By ,
msp, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It arrived 3-4days later and works just like the 1st reviewer says. Pretty simple and sweet with no tapes or disc needed for recording. Great tip about setting the video to wide screen. Nice to know I could switch to a bigger hard drive if needed. Thanks for that tip too. About the only thing I don't like is the 4 watt power consumption when turned off in standby. Not Energy Star compliant.
The recorded picture is not quite as sharp as the original but still very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 10/04/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use

03/08/2014
By ,
Greensboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked & Looked for one that would record our shows well this one does & More & my husband had it hooked up & going very Quickly & we started recording immediately. programming of the Unit is very straight forward .It allows you to record the digital Channels which is the main thing we were looking for & for the added feature is it allows you to pause the live TV & Record at the same time .The hard drive allows you to record many , many Hours . It will hold approximately 300 hours of recordings , We Love it & The price was a little steeper then we were looking for but we think in the long run it is worth it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Perfect machine to have with no or basic cable

01/05/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I have free, basic cable. I have no cable box and therefore no DVR provided by the cable company.) In order to record a program, I used to use a VHS, and later a Magnavox DVD recorder unit (it was a great unit for 4 years until it broke). You may not know that this is about the only device you can get that records onto both DVD and hard disk like a DVR without having to have a subscription, and all this is possible because it is also one of the only machines left that has a built in digital tuner! This is important because if you want to watch one channel and record another, you need the recorder to have its own tuner. This is the ONLY unit I could find of this nature without spending a fortune. You can also DVR something and if you want to take it somewhere to show someone, you can dub it onto a DVD. It makes your DVR'd program portable! This is awesome. I am a diehard Philips/Magnavox user and love their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/17/2012
By ,
Wilmington , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed and it was easy to set up and operate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good product at a good price

09/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Magnavox 320GB HDD/DVR with Digital Tuners Easy to set-up and operate. The picture and sound quality is excellent. Recording one show while watching another is convenient. Having a unit that automatically updates the time when the power goes out, then comes back on is a great feature for anyone that records TV shows on a regular basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great alternative to cable companys or dish DVR

11/17/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is much like a VCR except you can record your shows on a hard drive or on a recordable DVD (i.e. DVD-RW). It has a built-in HD tuner allowing you to record your cable shows or you can use patch cords to record directly from the cable box. It takes some time to learn all the features and settings.
Pluses: much more time allowed recording to a hard drive. You can "dub" from HDD to DVD and vice versa.
Minuses: The initial settings are complex and required some experimentation to get right. Also, the automatic clock feature did not work (lack of good signal) and really messed up the date and time. I suggest using only the manual clock feature. If not, your programming could take a hit. It would be nice if the front display was bigger - it's hard to read from across the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Very Satisfied

09/22/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not want to pay a montly subscription fee for a DVR so was interested in this model. I could not find this or an equivalent model at a retail location so had to purchase online. The setup/installation was easy and the operation very understandable. Everything has worked per expectation and am very happy with decision to purchase.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This HDD dvd recorder great for editing.

08/02/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason that I bought the Magnavox MDR533h recorder was because my Philips DVDR3576H/37 recorder no longer was able to transfer video from hard drive to disc after many years of service. I was hoping that the Magnavox would compare to the Philips since they both appear to be manufactured by the same company.To my delight the operation is the same and the end results are more than satisfactory. The only complaint I have is that when transferring video from disc to hard drive the titles don't get transferred and I have to enter those titles again.I am thankful,however,to have a working HDD dvd recorder back again.Once the manual is learned the operation of the recorder is elementary.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not Pleased

02/14/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the 500gb unit and returned it. I then purchased the 350gb unit and returned it. Following the directions (for both) to the letter and following the easy to understand diagrams I was able to get everything set up with the exception of the digital clock. I set it for Pacific time and it would overnight jump ahead 1 hr and a few minutes (this is the 500gb). So set it back one hour and it did not jump ahead. Only way to record was to be there and press record and then stop record. Did record and sound was acceptable. When I opened the box for the 350gb the 2 plastic sealed batteries were corroded, rusty and wet. Put two of my own batteries in the remote and then tried the same with the 350gb unit and was unable to even set the digital clock to show on the front panel. Upon closer inspection I noticed dirt smudges and scratches and stains on the remote: obviously it had been sold, used and returned and then re-shipped to me. Both units were Magnavox and that surprised me as I purchased a stand-alone DVD player for $29 a couple of years ago and it always works perfectly. I will probably try a different brand of HDD-DVR-DVD player or may just go back to a DV player/VCR combo. At least this older technology is cooperative. Of course it all could be user/operator error...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Sounds like you got a defective one
Posted 02/26/2014
Don't know about the 500g one, but the second one sounds like it was defective. When I bought my first DVD recorder years ago, I spent many hours trying to get it to work right, even calling customer service a couple of times. I finally figured it was defective. Took it back & made sure they knew it was defective, & exchanged for another one. I got the 2nd one to work right off the bat. It happens. Don't know about the time on the 1st one. Could be defective, but it could also be something in the settings. Did you call customer service and check "troubleshooting" in the manual? There are also forums where such things are discussed. I have this machine but haven't connected it yet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great to record your favorite shows

09/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What can I say? So far I love this recorder it does what it promises. Although I have only had it for two weeks or so I think it is just what I have been trying to find and need. I would definitely recommend this recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great choice for DVD plus DVR type recording.

10/07/2012
By ,
Hot Springs, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an excellent product. I purchased an earlier version of the same unit a couple years ago and ordered this so I could have one in my RV as well. It allows you to view TV and to backup to replay items you missed as well as to record to an internal hard dist drive, or to record DVDs for viewing later. Programming is manual, but it works well. This model has a redesigned remote control but it is otherwise similar to my older unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are available!
Posted 10/08/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy hookup and programming

11/27/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this unexpectedly when my current DVD recorder ceased working. I bought it, picked it up in-store, and had it connected a day before I went on vacation and it was easy. I love the HDD option to record because then I don't have to worry about the fuss with DVDs if I choose not to and both ways are easy to program and then watch and delete later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Software cumbersome

03/27/2014
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boy does this unit need a software update. Like your want to look for a saved show ~ there is now way to sort in any order. Or your watching a recorded show and it get to the end and bingo your watching live TV. Doesn't ask if you want to save or delete, you have to go back in and delete it. The display come up and to take it off the screen you have to go through all the different displays to clear it. four I think. If you miss you go around again. The clicker has no volume on it so to change the sound level you always have to carry two clickers. Watching a DVD or recorded show and the recorder finishes recording another show and the record HDD come on the screen and you wait for it to drop off. Back up to record a show from the start like 5 mins back and you can't use the 30, 60, .... time set. All you can do is start the recorder and then stop it manually when it's done. well I could go on but enough said , if you don't mind always going the long way home it's a perfect machine. I just can't type anymore due to pushing all those buttons on the clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/08/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Clock was broken, never held the correct time, no matter how many times I set it to the proper time. Which means all the pre-set recordings that were set to record at a specific time never recorded.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Couldn't get it to work

04/26/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different days to get it to work, used different cables and etc. but I could never get anything to come up on the TV screen. The unit would turn on, I could change the channels but nothing would show on the TV, no menu or anything. I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong connection scheme ...
Posted 04/27/2014
You needed both coax and a line connection (HDMI, RGB, YWR RCA or S-video) between the Mag and the TV. You can only see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) thru the line connection, not the coax... and you have to switch your TV "Input" to the one you connected the Mag to. The TV's "ANT" input only shows the raw incoming signal, which the TV can tune independently while the Mag records a diff. channel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Unable to record

01/12/2014
By ,
SLC, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Have made over a dozen phone calls to Magnavox Support and haven't got the problem of the unit not being able to record. I may return recorder tomorrow.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital T

09/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a good DVD recorder, & this Magnavox is a solid performer. I would have been happier if it did not have the 320GB of HDD space, because with my satellite system, it is completely superfluous, & added a good bit to the cost of the product, I am sure. I felt that it cost too much: that there was not a sufficient variety of recorders, & so I opted for the best choice available, given that I (nor anyone I know) has any need whatsoever for a recorder/VCR combination. I would have been happier with a simple, good quality, DVD recorder, but for some reason, they are few & far between.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

BEST VIDEO UNIT SINCE VHS!

10/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My VHS/DVD recorder broke down & I have been searching for weeks frying to find one with a tuner but with no avail since video units with VHS decks are becoming obsolete & hard to find. I saw this recorder & after doing research on it & it was exactly what I needed. For me, it was very easy to set up with the right connections for the set up that I have. The DVD deck records extremely excellent & so does the HDD 320GB drive which pretty much functions like a DVR. If You have a Dish Network Duo Receiver {TV1 & TV2} & although this unit does have a tuner, you will still need a RF Modulator to make the proper connections for TV2. The following set up is for TV's & Rf Modulators that use RCA cables that are yellow, red & white.
Step 1
Connect the antenna to IN.
Step 2
Connect a RF coaxial cable to OUT & connect the other end of the cable to the back of the RF Modulator ANT IN.
Step 3
Connect another RF coaxial cable to the back of the RF Modulator TO TV & connect the other end of the cable to the TV ANT IN.
Step 4
Connect RCA cables {red, yellow & white} to back of the video unit VIDEO OUT & AUDIO OUT.
Step 5
Connect the other end of the RCA cables & connect them to the back of the RF Modulator VIDEO IN & AUDIO IN.
Now you can set up the video unit according to your needs & the kind of TV you have in the manual.
I hope this is helpful.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Defective manufacturing

10/23/2013
By ,
Miami Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed to replace a previous model that has been a workhorse but was slowly dying. Finding a DVD recorder with tuner is nearly impossible. I was happy to find that this machine was still available. I bought it, had it shipped and installed it. It made an audible ticking sound when on. Called Magnavox who confirmed it was defective. Ordered another and the same problem occurred. Returned it. I'll wait a few months until another batch is made and then try again. Other than the ticking this is an excellent machine but poor quality control makes it a poor choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not good if you have a cable/satellite box

01/29/2013
By ,
Seattle, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because Comcast said they were going to be broadcasting only in digital and my VHS (used for years) was analog. Had a hard time getting this unit to work until a previous reviewer said the set-up instructions in the booklet were wrong, that one had to connect to the DVR first, then the Comcast box, then the TV. Well, that worked wonders, still in analog, and I was able to record much like my previous VHS experience (could have the tuner change channels to record any number of programs on different channels). That worked UNTIL Comcast actually scrambled their signal (1/21/2013). Obviously we had to reconnect things. Now cable goes into the cable descrambler, then into the DVD recorder, then to the TV, which is what the instruction booklet said. Worked fine EXCEPT that now the DVR is a "slave" to the box (descrambler). That means you can't watch a program different from what's being recorded DURING a recording. And you have to have the TV on the channel you want to record...no more having the tuner switch from channel to channel automatically. The instruction manual even says this one-horse function is all you get (p.43). "You will not be able to watch another program from the box as the recorder will be recording the channel the cable/satellite box is set to". This means that if I want to record something late in the evening, I turn the TV channel to the one I want to record before turning off the TV and going to bed. Too bad if I want to record two different channels during the night. Wouldn't recommend this unit for folks who have Comcast/Xfinity's scrambled signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
81-100 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  41 Next