Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Defective unit. Hard to say whether others work.

11/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never actually got to see this work as clock did not work and recorded programs would not play back beyond a minute or two (then they would freeze). Appeared to be a hard drive problem and a timer clock problem. Returned to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

We love this unit!

02/23/2013
By ,
MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had DVD recorders before, but never an HDD recorder. We actually bought a cheaper model, only to discover that it didn't have a built-in tuner. So we returned that and switched to this and are so pleased we can hardly stand it. (BTW, we took advantage on both units of the ability to have it shipped to our local store and save shipping costs. That was great too!) We do a lot of recording and love the flexibility of being able to record while we're playing back a different recorded show. We also love the ability to leave unwatched shows on the HDD and not have to worry about using a slow recording speed for new ones, or that we'll run out of room on our DVD. At first we couldn't get it to play back full screen in a 16:9 ratio and were quite dismayed, especially because the manual says it can't record in that mode. Reading through the forum helped us figure out which settings to change and now that's fixed completely (on any show that was broadcast in that mode, of course). Anyway, we're thrilled with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

1TB hard drive DVR really great to have!

12/10/2012
By ,
Grafton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This MAGNAVOX HDD and DVD Recorder and Digital Tuner works well. I bought this to replace a Phillips HDD and DVD Recorder that had a much smaller hard drive. This unit has several times the capacity of the DVR my cable company had issued to me.
Overall the unit was as expected...But there are a few disadvantages if you're used to a cable company DVR. First, you have to set the times/dates of the recordings...there isn't any convenient "record series" function on this unit. This is the same as my Phillips HDD DVR, so no surprise to me--but might seem inconvenient to you...but keep in mind that there is no rental fee every month for this unit. The picture you get is good, but the recordings are not 1080P (480P I think), so not as sharp as the HD digital channels on my 1080P TV. The remote is also slightly worse than my previous unit (the Phillips HDD DVR remote), with high use keys at the bottom of the remote, not near the top or middle.
I was very happy with the Wal Mart delivery...I chose standard delivery, but still received the unit at my door in less than a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use

03/08/2014
By ,
Greensboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked & Looked for one that would record our shows well this one does & More & my husband had it hooked up & going very Quickly & we started recording immediately. programming of the Unit is very straight forward .It allows you to record the digital Channels which is the main thing we were looking for & for the added feature is it allows you to pause the live TV & Record at the same time .The hard drive allows you to record many , many Hours . It will hold approximately 300 hours of recordings , We Love it & The price was a little steeper then we were looking for but we think in the long run it is worth it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/17/2012
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions were very easy to follow. The setup was easy, and the unit works as advertised. Great product, price was right, very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Product

11/02/2013
By ,
Roland, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second Magnavox DVR, since my first one froze up after a short cucuit in the house. Since the previous DVR was out of warranty, I ordered a second one to replace it. This DVR is just right to time shift programming. It's easy to program and play back. The quality of the picture and sound is just as good as the original broadcast. I rarely make DVDs from the recording, when I did the directions were fairly intuitive. The cost is about $330, but there are no other fees or contracts to worry about. If this unit works in your system, I think it's a pretty good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your 1st unit is till A-OK....
Posted 11/04/2013
Revive your 1st unit with a Soft Reset, as described in this help file... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other info and help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A Find!

08/26/2014
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this little machine. It does so much so well. I upgraded from a VCR so there was a learning curve but Magnavox tech support is fast, free and helpful. No need to rent a DVR from the cable company. In fact I now watch and record OTA and can watch my favorite shows whenever it is convenient for me. I am very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Last of the Mohicans

10/22/2012
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the few DVD burners left on the market with a builit-in digital TV tuner. You don't need an external source for your video input. If you have basic cable, you just plug the coax cable into the back. It's nice to be able to record your favorite HD network shows in anamorphic widescreen onto DVD so you can save them on a stable medium and easily share them with friends. I didn't really think I needed the DVR (hard drive) part of the machine, though it's handy being able to quickly record stuff to disc and then later burn it to a DVD. The menus are a bit clunky, though I really am still just learning how to use all its functions. I've read that the individual components (DVD drive and hard drive) are easily replaceable, though I hope it doesn't ever come to that (at least not soon). It's a pretty cool little machine overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This is a great device if you want to get rid of..

12/09/2012
By ,
San Francisco, California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
...cable or Satellite dishes. This device records in a Hard Disk drive your TV shows and then later you can either watch them, delete them, or transfer them to a DVD for posterity. It does NOT have a VCR option, but you can connect a VCR and also transfer your old taped shows into it. It is actually very useful and the quality of the images, specially coming from old VHS tapes, is very good. It took me less than an hour to figure out the basics . Pros: cheapest way to dub DVDs. Easy to use, saves money, high capacity even in the smallest Hard Drive available. If you don´t want to pay thousands a year for Cable or Satellite, and you have a good air antenna, this device is for you. Cons: The image of the DVD will always be widescreen, so far I haven´t figure out how to adjust the images to 4:3 (you can do it from the TV signal, but that´s irrelevant since all TV is digital anyway).
Please note: Digital tuners are mostly expensive, Cable companies are forcing people to rent their equipments. This equipment is yours to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Tricky

08/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Unit did not record in using the S-VHS connection as advertised in the manual. The unit only has one output that is connected with audio. Making it difficult to send to two video sources. Perhaps this review is not fair since I was used to using a Pioneer DVD recorder, which has many additional and user friendly features. It is a shame that the Magnavox unit is the only unit available in the United States. I took the unit back to Walmart for a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Menu setting for S-Video input ...
Posted 08/16/2014
You need to change the Video > Video Input setting from its default "Video in" (YWR RCA) to "S-Video in" for either of the line inputs (L1 or L2) that you connect S-Video to.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a.html#post12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Seems to be a good unit

10/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't used the DVD recording mode, as all I want to do is record and view off-the-air programs.
Connection, set-up and programming are easy to understand and the video quality is much better than video tape.
Hated to replace the DVR/VCR that I've used for years, but after 3 repairs and no other combos out there with a tuner...this type of unit is the only option [ Tivo or cable rental DVRs not an option in my service area] . Actually easier to use than I anticipated and no hassling with tapes.
Only in service for a week, so I can't speak to durability.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Simple to record on built in hard drive or DVD.

09/28/2012
By ,
msp, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It arrived 3-4days later and works just like the 1st reviewer says. Pretty simple and sweet with no tapes or disc needed for recording. Great tip about setting the video to wide screen. Nice to know I could switch to a bigger hard drive if needed. Thanks for that tip too. About the only thing I don't like is the 4 watt power consumption when turned off in standby. Not Energy Star compliant.
The recorded picture is not quite as sharp as the original but still very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 10/04/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not Pleased

02/14/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased the 500gb unit and returned it. I then purchased the 350gb unit and returned it. Following the directions (for both) to the letter and following the easy to understand diagrams I was able to get everything set up with the exception of the digital clock. I set it for Pacific time and it would overnight jump ahead 1 hr and a few minutes (this is the 500gb). So set it back one hour and it did not jump ahead. Only way to record was to be there and press record and then stop record. Did record and sound was acceptable. When I opened the box for the 350gb the 2 plastic sealed batteries were corroded, rusty and wet. Put two of my own batteries in the remote and then tried the same with the 350gb unit and was unable to even set the digital clock to show on the front panel. Upon closer inspection I noticed dirt smudges and scratches and stains on the remote: obviously it had been sold, used and returned and then re-shipped to me. Both units were Magnavox and that surprised me as I purchased a stand-alone DVD player for $29 a couple of years ago and it always works perfectly. I will probably try a different brand of HDD-DVR-DVD player or may just go back to a DV player/VCR combo. At least this older technology is cooperative. Of course it all could be user/operator error...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TX
Sounds like you got a defective one
Posted 02/26/2014
Don't know about the 500g one, but the second one sounds like it was defective. When I bought my first DVD recorder years ago, I spent many hours trying to get it to work right, even calling customer service a couple of times. I finally figured it was defective. Took it back & made sure they knew it was defective, & exchanged for another one. I got the 2nd one to work right off the bat. It happens. Don't know about the time on the 1st one. Could be defective, but it could also be something in the settings. Did you call customer service and check "troubleshooting" in the manual? There are also forums where such things are discussed. I have this machine but haven't connected it yet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just what I wanted

10/10/2014
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine tapes on a hard drive or a DVD. I was previously using a VCR to tape off my TV, and this is much better.
Unlike most DVR's you do not have to pay for a monthly subscription fee. You do have to set it up to record at certain times, just like a VCR.
I wish it could tape more than one program at a time but that option is not available without spending a lot more money. Good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Couldn't get it to work

04/26/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different days to get it to work, used different cables and etc. but I could never get anything to come up on the TV screen. The unit would turn on, I could change the channels but nothing would show on the TV, no menu or anything. I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong connection scheme ...
Posted 04/27/2014
You needed both coax and a line connection (HDMI, RGB, YWR RCA or S-video) between the Mag and the TV. You can only see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) thru the line connection, not the coax... and you have to switch your TV "Input" to the one you connected the Mag to. The TV's "ANT" input only shows the raw incoming signal, which the TV can tune independently while the Mag records a diff. channel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Software cumbersome

03/27/2014
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boy does this unit need a software update. Like your want to look for a saved show ~ there is now way to sort in any order. Or your watching a recorded show and it get to the end and bingo your watching live TV. Doesn't ask if you want to save or delete, you have to go back in and delete it. The display come up and to take it off the screen you have to go through all the different displays to clear it. four I think. If you miss you go around again. The clicker has no volume on it so to change the sound level you always have to carry two clickers. Watching a DVD or recorded show and the recorder finishes recording another show and the record HDD come on the screen and you wait for it to drop off. Back up to record a show from the start like 5 mins back and you can't use the 30, 60, .... time set. All you can do is start the recorder and then stop it manually when it's done. well I could go on but enough said , if you don't mind always going the long way home it's a perfect machine. I just can't type anymore due to pushing all those buttons on the clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Perfect machine to have with no or basic cable

01/05/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this machine because I have free, basic cable. I have no cable box and therefore no DVR provided by the cable company.) In order to record a program, I used to use a VHS, and later a Magnavox DVD recorder unit (it was a great unit for 4 years until it broke). You may not know that this is about the only device you can get that records onto both DVD and hard disk like a DVR without having to have a subscription, and all this is possible because it is also one of the only machines left that has a built in digital tuner! This is important because if you want to watch one channel and record another, you need the recorder to have its own tuner. This is the ONLY unit I could find of this nature without spending a fortune. You can also DVR something and if you want to take it somewhere to show someone, you can dub it onto a DVD. It makes your DVR'd program portable! This is awesome. I am a diehard Philips/Magnavox user and love their products.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent tuner, easy to use recorder

10/13/2014
By ,
Jenison,Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have one that is over two years old and just purchased a second. Both operate the same and have
Excellent TV tuner, I record over air HDTV, and easy to use. Family member purchased same unit from Walmart and all were picked up site to store, quick delivery and no prolems with Recorders.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/17/2012
By ,
Wilmington , NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I needed and it was easy to set up and operate
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great alternative to cable companys or dish DVR

11/17/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit is much like a VCR except you can record your shows on a hard drive or on a recordable DVD (i.e. DVD-RW). It has a built-in HD tuner allowing you to record your cable shows or you can use patch cords to record directly from the cable box. It takes some time to learn all the features and settings.
Pluses: much more time allowed recording to a hard drive. You can "dub" from HDD to DVD and vice versa.
Minuses: The initial settings are complex and required some experimentation to get right. Also, the automatic clock feature did not work (lack of good signal) and really messed up the date and time. I suggest using only the manual clock feature. If not, your programming could take a hit. It would be nice if the front display was bigger - it's hard to read from across the room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
81-100 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  41 Next