Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
667 Questions | 2,242 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great all in one recorder

09/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like having the option of using a hard drive or a DVD to record. This recorder was easy to install and easy to learn how to set up for recording..either instant or time programmed. I also like the fact you can erase your DVD on this machine and it does its own formatting. So far I am very pleased with this purchase. It does everything I want and hopefully it will last for several years.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The DVR Is Great

02/03/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few years ago, we cut the cord and went with just over the air tv. This dvr/dvd combo is meant to enhance the experience and record some tv shows to be watched later. The unit installed easily, works great. Super picture, nice sound. One thing I have to mention is the shipping to home by Wal Mart. The unit appeared at my door two days after ordering, with standard shippping, nothing special. That is super fast delivery. Not only did it arrive many days earlier than expected, it arrived intact, and worked great. I could not ask for more. Thanks Wall Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/04/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very powerful machine. I can easily record my home videos over to the Hard Disc Drive (HDD), perform some basic editing (start-finish breaks, divide into chapters, add titles, etc.) and then dub them onto a DVD. This is much easier than my old method of recording straight from VHS to DVD.
Some cool features: (1) The digital TV tuner is great. Whenever the unit is on it is recording the TV signal off the air so you never wish you had planned ahead to record something because you are already recording whatever you are watching. Always. (2) It will start recording using the timer even when you are watching TV. The unit does not have to be switched off to start timer recording. (3) If you set it up properly (using High Speed dubbing), you can watch TV while the unit is dubbing from HDD to DVD, an operation than can take several hours. (4) It is simple to edit out commercials and to divide the programs into separate titles on the HDD. (5) The remote control is nicely shaped and the buttons are logically laid out. This is important because everything is done on the remote. (6) All the recording features work well. The DVD's are compatible with other DVD players. It succeeds in all the recording basics.
In the minus column: (1) The manual tells you everything you want to know about operating the unit but teaches you the needed skills out of sequence. Therefore, you must read the entire manual to learn how to get your home videos from old VHS tapes, edit them, and then dub them onto new DVD's. (2) Capturing the automatic off-the-air TV recording onto "permanent" HDD requires careful execution of the proper commands. You will learn not to push the Stop button too many times until you have queued-up your program because pushing Stop once marks the end the recording and pushing Stop twice erases the old recording and starts a new recording. If you hadn't properly queued your program, the portion you want will be erased, gone in an instant. Practice this feature before trying it on a program you care about. (3) The huge HDD (1TB) is large enough to retain hundreds of hours of programs but the file structure does not allow you to organize these many recordings into a manageable folders. Each recording is a separate title and only six titles can be displayed at a time on the title menu screen. Getting to recording number 50 out of 100 requires you to step through the programs one at a time using the arrow buttons many times over the course of several minutes. (4) The remote is not a universal remote and cannot control your TV volume.
This is my fourth DVD Recorder (one Magnavox and two Panasonics). I like it better than all of the others. This is the machine you need if you have a large collection of old VHS tapes and need to transfer them to DVD's while doing some simple editing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The HDD recorder...my Tivo replacement

10/07/2012
By ,
Brea, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this recorder for a month and I love it. It seems everything has a monthly fee now days and I hate that, so I bought this HDD recorder. I record TV shows to the HDD recorder using a standard over-the-air antenna and it works great. No cable or satellite for me. Now I record all my favorite shows for free, and build my own archive on the 320GB hard disk, for free. I used to record to CD, but had to remove shows or change the CD after about 10 shows, and that got to be a hassle. Well, no more with the HDD. I think this is a great value since it also has a DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Unique product that does a great job

08/12/2014
By ,
Memphis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As far as I know this is the only digital recorder for over the air broadcasts. It works great! It is easy to use but the interface is a little dated. You do need to record at the highest quality rating if you have a large screen TV like mine. I have a 55 inch Samsung LED TV. If you do that the picture is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great HDD/DVD Recorder

10/11/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have 3 Magnavox HDD & DVD Recorders (a 160GB HD, a 500GB HD, and this 320GB HD) and I am totally pleased with every one of them. Setup and recording are a snap, and picture quality is fantastic on all speeds down to LP. Below that, the picture can get a little grainy. I have all three set up in the same location, which can be a problem since the each remote control will also control all 3 units. I found a good hint online that solves this problem. Use one of those old, black plastic VCR boxes; cut them so that you can place one end under the unit above and the rest of the box will hang down and cover the front of the one below it. Don't make them too wide or they'll prevent your DVD tray from opening. Several others have posted fantastic technical information reviews, so I won't duplicate their very detailed and accurate posts. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are here:
Posted 10/14/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR.

12/09/2012
By ,
Birmingham
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great DVR. Like mine so much I'm going to get one for my parents for Christmas. I like that functions range from simple to complex. On its most basic level, you can use it just like an old VCR. Enter some basic info (channel, start time, end time) and it will work like a VCR - except recording to the hard drive or a DVD instead of a VCR tape.
On the more complex side, this device can do a lot more than an ordinary VCR. I'm still learning all the functions. Just started to use editting functions to trim recordings and to remove commericals - a little tedious but not hard. Also, every time you turn the device on to watch a show, it automatically starts a temporary recording of what you are watching, this allows you to pause and rewind "live" tv. Then if you wish you can make a permanent recording from the temporary recording. Had to read the manual to figure this one out.
I've only had mine for three weeks so I can't comment on durability. But so far I'm loving recording TV without paying a TIVO subscription fee.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use

03/08/2014
By ,
Greensboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked & Looked for one that would record our shows well this one does & More & my husband had it hooked up & going very Quickly & we started recording immediately. programming of the Unit is very straight forward .It allows you to record the digital Channels which is the main thing we were looking for & for the added feature is it allows you to pause the live TV & Record at the same time .The hard drive allows you to record many , many Hours . It will hold approximately 300 hours of recordings , We Love it & The price was a little steeper then we were looking for but we think in the long run it is worth it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

well made; good features; simple operation

07/31/2013
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATSC (HD) tuner works as good or better than my TV's and basic operation is simple enough, although a quick read of the manual is worth the effort. Seems well made and attractive enough; about the only negative I can think of is the lack of a program guide feature. Setup was pretty easy too. In my case, my TV only has a single HDMI port which is needed for my ROKU box. I suppose I could've shopped for an HDMI switch but I hooked it up using component video and was pleasantly surprised that there was no discernable difference in picture quality compared to using an HDMI connection. Composite video is also supported but that should be a last resort.
I bought this to replace a DVD recorder. saved a few bucks by buying the 320Gb hard drive model, which I believe is good for 60+ hrs of HD recording. More than enough for my purposes though; if I want to archive something I'll just burn it to a DVD. Great alternative to Tivo for those of us who don't need or want cable. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Exactly what I've been looking for

10/25/2012
By ,
Sun City
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent the last few years looking for a DVR that doesn't require a subscription to any provider. Until I found this unit my 1996 VCR limped along while I held out for a new unit (with a built in tuner) I could use the same way. Finally Magnavox came through. So far I am thrilled with my purchase. It has features I may never use but it was easy to set up and learn to use for my simple purposes. So much better than the VCR ever was, because the hard drive can hold way more recordings and allows many many more recording settings. Important for me to make this purchase was a review for the unit by some guy who really understood the features and described them well. Otherwise, I might not have realized this unit was for me. I thought about getting the higher memory (I got the 320) but for my purposes this is just what I need. Thank you Walmart and Magnavox!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Awesome device!

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my mom who likes to record off the TV. She doesn't use the DVR, mind you. Only the DVD recorder. It was a bit confusing to hook it up and get started, but Magnavox has a fantastic tech support who's number you can find on the back of the manual. They were a big help. Once it was all connected, it was pretty easy to figure out. If you're not interested in all the fancy options (which my mom is not), then it's not much different than a VCR. I would consider buying one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT RECORDER FOR MONEY

10/03/2012
By ,
LAKE MILLS, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS UNIT IS AWESOME, VERY EASY TO SET UP AND USE. VERY PERFECT FOR THE MONEY. RECORDS ON DVD OR ON HARD DRIVE WITHIN UNIT RIGHT FROM YOUR TV CHANNELS. NO CABLE BOX NEEDED. DUBBING FROM HARD DRIVE TO DVD VERY EASY AND FAST. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 10/04/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent Product! NO MONTHLY FEES!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why anybody would buy and pay for TiVo when you can get this Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder and pay nothing, EVER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

We love this unit!

02/23/2013
By ,
MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had DVD recorders before, but never an HDD recorder. We actually bought a cheaper model, only to discover that it didn't have a built-in tuner. So we returned that and switched to this and are so pleased we can hardly stand it. (BTW, we took advantage on both units of the ability to have it shipped to our local store and save shipping costs. That was great too!) We do a lot of recording and love the flexibility of being able to record while we're playing back a different recorded show. We also love the ability to leave unwatched shows on the HDD and not have to worry about using a slow recording speed for new ones, or that we'll run out of room on our DVD. At first we couldn't get it to play back full screen in a 16:9 ratio and were quite dismayed, especially because the manual says it can't record in that mode. Reading through the forum helped us figure out which settings to change and now that's fixed completely (on any show that was broadcast in that mode, of course). Anyway, we're thrilled with this machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Couldn't get it to work

04/26/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different days to get it to work, used different cables and etc. but I could never get anything to come up on the TV screen. The unit would turn on, I could change the channels but nothing would show on the TV, no menu or anything. I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong connection scheme ...
Posted 04/27/2014
You needed both coax and a line connection (HDMI, RGB, YWR RCA or S-video) between the Mag and the TV. You can only see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) thru the line connection, not the coax... and you have to switch your TV "Input" to the one you connected the Mag to. The TV's "ANT" input only shows the raw incoming signal, which the TV can tune independently while the Mag records a diff. channel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Defective unit. Hard to say whether others work.

11/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Never actually got to see this work as clock did not work and recorded programs would not play back beyond a minute or two (then they would freeze). Appeared to be a hard drive problem and a timer clock problem. Returned to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

1TB hard drive DVR really great to have!

12/10/2012
By ,
Grafton, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This MAGNAVOX HDD and DVD Recorder and Digital Tuner works well. I bought this to replace a Phillips HDD and DVD Recorder that had a much smaller hard drive. This unit has several times the capacity of the DVR my cable company had issued to me.
Overall the unit was as expected...But there are a few disadvantages if you're used to a cable company DVR. First, you have to set the times/dates of the recordings...there isn't any convenient "record series" function on this unit. This is the same as my Phillips HDD DVR, so no surprise to me--but might seem inconvenient to you...but keep in mind that there is no rental fee every month for this unit. The picture you get is good, but the recordings are not 1080P (480P I think), so not as sharp as the HD digital channels on my 1080P TV. The remote is also slightly worse than my previous unit (the Phillips HDD DVR remote), with high use keys at the bottom of the remote, not near the top or middle.
I was very happy with the Wal Mart delivery...I chose standard delivery, but still received the unit at my door in less than a day.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Product

11/02/2013
By ,
Roland, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second Magnavox DVR, since my first one froze up after a short cucuit in the house. Since the previous DVR was out of warranty, I ordered a second one to replace it. This DVR is just right to time shift programming. It's easy to program and play back. The quality of the picture and sound is just as good as the original broadcast. I rarely make DVDs from the recording, when I did the directions were fairly intuitive. The cost is about $330, but there are no other fees or contracts to worry about. If this unit works in your system, I think it's a pretty good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your 1st unit is till A-OK....
Posted 11/04/2013
Revive your 1st unit with a Soft Reset, as described in this help file... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other info and help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/17/2012
By ,
Lawrenceburg, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions were very easy to follow. The setup was easy, and the unit works as advertised. Great product, price was right, very satisfied with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Software cumbersome

03/27/2014
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boy does this unit need a software update. Like your want to look for a saved show ~ there is now way to sort in any order. Or your watching a recorded show and it get to the end and bingo your watching live TV. Doesn't ask if you want to save or delete, you have to go back in and delete it. The display come up and to take it off the screen you have to go through all the different displays to clear it. four I think. If you miss you go around again. The clicker has no volume on it so to change the sound level you always have to carry two clickers. Watching a DVD or recorded show and the recorder finishes recording another show and the record HDD come on the screen and you wait for it to drop off. Back up to record a show from the start like 5 mins back and you can't use the 30, 60, .... time set. All you can do is start the recorder and then stop it manually when it's done. well I could go on but enough said , if you don't mind always going the long way home it's a perfect machine. I just can't type anymore due to pushing all those buttons on the clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  41 Next