Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(937 Reviews) 812
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
528
4 stars
267
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%830 out of 937reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
661 Questions | 2,191 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
528
4 stars
267
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

not pleased with product yet

09/16/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
have not been able to get it to work properly. Directions are terrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

works as advertised

10/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pretty simple to program and use, if you're familiar with how to program a VCR. It works just like that. Perfect for time-shifting your favorite TV shows. I wish it had better fast forward capabilities but other than that it's a good replacement for your old VHS recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent Product! NO MONTHLY FEES!

06/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why anybody would buy and pay for TiVo when you can get this Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder and pay nothing, EVER!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great unit

10/05/2012
By ,
Yuma,Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Was going to buy the VHS/DVD but thought I`d try this. It works great. Beats having to put a tape in or a disc. The flaws are customer support. We kept getting disconnected and they never called back even though they had my number. The remote doesn`t have some keys with the name of their function like stop-play-pause which is a pain. That`s why i gave it four stars. Just symbols The 320 GB has plenty for one person but I would recommend the 500 for a family. It has a great picture. Easy to use. It is well worth it. Read the questions /answers on here for tips.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Unit

09/05/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second one we have had. We would still be using the first one, but lightning took it out. Does everything we need it too without a "monthly service fee" for the most popular units or a DVR from the cable company. Seems like the controls could be simplified and made a little more intuitive, but if I can figure it out, seems like just about anyone should be able to.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your 1st unit may not be "dead"...
Posted 09/05/2014
Try a Soft Reset, as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a-101.html#Replug
Other info and help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a.html#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The DVR Is Great

02/03/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A few years ago, we cut the cord and went with just over the air tv. This dvr/dvd combo is meant to enhance the experience and record some tv shows to be watched later. The unit installed easily, works great. Super picture, nice sound. One thing I have to mention is the shipping to home by Wal Mart. The unit appeared at my door two days after ordering, with standard shippping, nothing special. That is super fast delivery. Not only did it arrive many days earlier than expected, it arrived intact, and worked great. I could not ask for more. Thanks Wall Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Broke when I plugged it in, had to return it !

08/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I plugged it in it illuminated for a second and then went dark.
I called Magnavox field service group Funai ServiceCorp. They had me try several things but, the unit would not power up. They gave me a trouble report number INC 1351735. I gave your Store Refund people this number for whatever it could do.
I then took the Magnavox unit to your Rio Rancho, New Mexico Store and received a full refund.
I have ordered a second unit and it has not yet arrived send me another product review and I'll update you.
Needless to say I'm disappointed with the product but, your Store 90 day guarantee return policy for a full refund worked well.
I reordered the Magnavox unit only because of the value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Everything works as described

11/24/2012
By ,
Pharr, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My recorder was ordered Friday and arrived Tuesday (Free shipping) - Very happy. The recorder is performing very satisfactorily - everything works as described. Some reviews stated the manual has errors and is hard to understand. I found no errors so far, but it's good I am technical and have figured out everything so far by reading instructions and "playing" with the unit's controls. I have another DVD recorder & there are similarities, which helps. There are some features I would improve, but since this unit seems to be "the only game in town", I'm satisfied with the way it is. Dubbing from hard drive to DVD works great, also using the hard drive to "time shift TV viewing" and to pause live TV. I have been using this unit for a couple of weeks now, so cannot comment on long-term performance. Also, I never buy extended warranties, but since this is the only product of its kind, I DID buy the extended warranty for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use

03/08/2014
By ,
Greensboro NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We looked & Looked for one that would record our shows well this one does & More & my husband had it hooked up & going very Quickly & we started recording immediately. programming of the Unit is very straight forward .It allows you to record the digital Channels which is the main thing we were looking for & for the added feature is it allows you to pause the live TV & Record at the same time .The hard drive allows you to record many , many Hours . It will hold approximately 300 hours of recordings , We Love it & The price was a little steeper then we were looking for but we think in the long run it is worth it .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Overall good

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
But you can't watch one channel and record another. The tuner has to be on the channel it is recording. You can watch a recording while recording a new show at the same time though. And pause and skip live TV. And it is absolutely FREE!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just what I expected

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plays DVDs I've bought and ones I've recorded on my old recorder. Also records all available cable channels. I haven't tried all the features yet. Will write more later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Deal

11/27/2012
By ,
Valley Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use as a VCR. I use mine with comcast cable (no cable box) record all my favorite shows. skips through ads. Lots of featuures and when I play DVD it plays 1080i sharp clear picture with suround sound I use a DMI cable (recomended) hooked to my home theater. Very pleased I don't pay a monthly fee to use this great recorder. I'm very happy and I purchased it with $100 discount and free shipping. It takes a little while to learn all the great features. I don't think you will be disapointed if you use the player/recorder the way I use it. I don't know how it works with a cable box or a reg. antenna, or satalite dish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Katy, TX
Great Deal
Posted 07/14/2013
Since Comcast scrambles all its channels now an a tuner adapter is required as a minimum to access cable how can you record the channels you want? With my old Panasonic SH2 HD/DVD recorder I have to set the tuner adapter in advance to the proper channel and set the Panasonic to come on at the proper time to receive the Comcast scrambled tuner information for that Channel. It was some headache and I would not recommend going through that for anyone.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Couldn't get it to work

04/26/2014
By ,
San Jose, California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried 3 different days to get it to work, used different cables and etc. but I could never get anything to come up on the TV screen. The unit would turn on, I could change the channels but nothing would show on the TV, no menu or anything. I returned it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong connection scheme ...
Posted 04/27/2014
You needed both coax and a line connection (HDMI, RGB, YWR RCA or S-video) between the Mag and the TV. You can only see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) thru the line connection, not the coax... and you have to switch your TV "Input" to the one you connected the Mag to. The TV's "ANT" input only shows the raw incoming signal, which the TV can tune independently while the Mag records a diff. channel.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Difficult to work with

09/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am still struggling to record on this piece of equipment. The instruction are difficult to follow and confusing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/04/2012
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a very powerful machine. I can easily record my home videos over to the Hard Disc Drive (HDD), perform some basic editing (start-finish breaks, divide into chapters, add titles, etc.) and then dub them onto a DVD. This is much easier than my old method of recording straight from VHS to DVD.
Some cool features: (1) The digital TV tuner is great. Whenever the unit is on it is recording the TV signal off the air so you never wish you had planned ahead to record something because you are already recording whatever you are watching. Always. (2) It will start recording using the timer even when you are watching TV. The unit does not have to be switched off to start timer recording. (3) If you set it up properly (using High Speed dubbing), you can watch TV while the unit is dubbing from HDD to DVD, an operation than can take several hours. (4) It is simple to edit out commercials and to divide the programs into separate titles on the HDD. (5) The remote control is nicely shaped and the buttons are logically laid out. This is important because everything is done on the remote. (6) All the recording features work well. The DVD's are compatible with other DVD players. It succeeds in all the recording basics.
In the minus column: (1) The manual tells you everything you want to know about operating the unit but teaches you the needed skills out of sequence. Therefore, you must read the entire manual to learn how to get your home videos from old VHS tapes, edit them, and then dub them onto new DVD's. (2) Capturing the automatic off-the-air TV recording onto "permanent" HDD requires careful execution of the proper commands. You will learn not to push the Stop button too many times until you have queued-up your program because pushing Stop once marks the end the recording and pushing Stop twice erases the old recording and starts a new recording. If you hadn't properly queued your program, the portion you want will be erased, gone in an instant. Practice this feature before trying it on a program you care about. (3) The huge HDD (1TB) is large enough to retain hundreds of hours of programs but the file structure does not allow you to organize these many recordings into a manageable folders. Each recording is a separate title and only six titles can be displayed at a time on the title menu screen. Getting to recording number 50 out of 100 requires you to step through the programs one at a time using the arrow buttons many times over the course of several minutes. (4) The remote is not a universal remote and cannot control your TV volume.
This is my fourth DVD Recorder (one Magnavox and two Panasonics). I like it better than all of the others. This is the machine you need if you have a large collection of old VHS tapes and need to transfer them to DVD's while doing some simple editing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The HDD recorder...my Tivo replacement

10/07/2012
By ,
Brea, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had this recorder for a month and I love it. It seems everything has a monthly fee now days and I hate that, so I bought this HDD recorder. I record TV shows to the HDD recorder using a standard over-the-air antenna and it works great. No cable or satellite for me. Now I record all my favorite shows for free, and build my own archive on the 320GB hard disk, for free. I used to record to CD, but had to remove shows or change the CD after about 10 shows, and that got to be a hassle. Well, no more with the HDD. I think this is a great value since it also has a DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great HDD/DVD Recorder

10/11/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I now have 3 Magnavox HDD & DVD Recorders (a 160GB HD, a 500GB HD, and this 320GB HD) and I am totally pleased with every one of them. Setup and recording are a snap, and picture quality is fantastic on all speeds down to LP. Below that, the picture can get a little grainy. I have all three set up in the same location, which can be a problem since the each remote control will also control all 3 units. I found a good hint online that solves this problem. Use one of those old, black plastic VCR boxes; cut them so that you can place one end under the unit above and the rest of the box will hang down and cover the front of the one below it. Don't make them too wide or they'll prevent your DVD tray from opening. Several others have posted fantastic technical information reviews, so I won't duplicate their very detailed and accurate posts. I highly recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are here:
Posted 10/14/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

well made; good features; simple operation

07/31/2013
By ,
chicago
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ATSC (HD) tuner works as good or better than my TV's and basic operation is simple enough, although a quick read of the manual is worth the effort. Seems well made and attractive enough; about the only negative I can think of is the lack of a program guide feature. Setup was pretty easy too. In my case, my TV only has a single HDMI port which is needed for my ROKU box. I suppose I could've shopped for an HDMI switch but I hooked it up using component video and was pleasantly surprised that there was no discernable difference in picture quality compared to using an HDMI connection. Composite video is also supported but that should be a last resort.
I bought this to replace a DVD recorder. saved a few bucks by buying the 320Gb hard drive model, which I believe is good for 60+ hrs of HD recording. More than enough for my purposes though; if I want to archive something I'll just burn it to a DVD. Great alternative to Tivo for those of us who don't need or want cable. All in all, I couldn't be happier with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Software cumbersome

03/27/2014
By ,
VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Boy does this unit need a software update. Like your want to look for a saved show ~ there is now way to sort in any order. Or your watching a recorded show and it get to the end and bingo your watching live TV. Doesn't ask if you want to save or delete, you have to go back in and delete it. The display come up and to take it off the screen you have to go through all the different displays to clear it. four I think. If you miss you go around again. The clicker has no volume on it so to change the sound level you always have to carry two clickers. Watching a DVD or recorded show and the recorder finishes recording another show and the record HDD come on the screen and you wait for it to drop off. Back up to record a show from the start like 5 mins back and you can't use the 30, 60, .... time set. All you can do is start the recorder and then stop it manually when it's done. well I could go on but enough said , if you don't mind always going the long way home it's a perfect machine. I just can't type anymore due to pushing all those buttons on the clicker.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good for simply recording TV & playing DVD's

07/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Actually, Walmart's ease of ordering, low cost of shipping, and fast speed of delivery were terrific. Thank you. However, I was surprised to find this Magnavox operates identically to a Phillips DVD/DVR I bought many years ago, without any improvements. For the past 7 years, an over-the-air DTV Pal DVR spoiled me. It has dual tuners, automatically places program name & info with recorded files, creates an excellent program guide from info derived from station transmissions, gives you TV control with the remote and a button to quickly turn on/off closed caption. None of these features are on this Magnavox. Even so, it does a good job so I'm content (at least until something like the DTV Pal DVR reappears on the market).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 813 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  41 Next