Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(836 Reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation89%746 out of 836reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
574 Questions | 1,865 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 81 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only fee free recorder

03/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the only fee free recorder I found on the market. It will recorder tv and copy them to either its harddrive or dvd. My main issue is that it does not have an HDMI input for personal High def recordings, such as cameras. My other issue is the inability-restrictions on recording rented movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 82 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great with Antenna.

03/28/2014
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was somewhat easy to set up and works great with only an indoor antenna.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 83 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fast delivery, good quality at reasonable price.

03/28/2014
By ,
Belleville, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This arrived only 2 days after I ordered it. I really like it & would recommend it to all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 84 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

8th Generation of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorde

09/05/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
8th Generation of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders:
MDR533H/F7, MDR535H/F7, MDR537H/F7 (53x Series)
Primary source of info on these recorders is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
Manual is here:
http://www.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mdr535h_f7/mdr535h_f7_dfu_aen.pdf
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system.
They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with:
-NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable.
-Easily replaceable hard disk drive (HDD): 320/500/1000GB (1TB).
-Easily replaceable DVD burner.
-Widescreen (16:9) recording.
-Amplified coax and line input.
-DV input.
-Coax digital audio out.
-1080p HDMI upconvert.
-36 timer-rec programs.
-6-hour autorecord buffer.
-Pause & rewind live TV.
-Chase play.
-Skip/replay.
-Simultaneous play/record.
-Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru.
-Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link.
-1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on.
-Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR
The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from an antenna or cable TV. They can also record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from DVRs.
They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads.
Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs.
Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress.
The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit.
For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc!
It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer.
If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these.
Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten!
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS
If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!.
The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 900 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600.
One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A and 513. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL
Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads.
Three of the worst are:
1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19.
Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box… only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. The coax circuit on this DVDR passes the raw signal thru to the box, so this DVDR can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channel in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to… EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any).
2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94.
Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview!
3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45.
This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS!
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR DETAILS ON THE ABOVE, IT'S ALL HERE (same link as at top):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or Walmart in any capacity… and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+483points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (10)
Read Comments (10)
Coax in, coax out to TV
Posted 05/14/2013
Just connect indoor antenna coax on the top coax connector on back of the Mag (ANT IN) and coax out (ANT OUT) to TV. See Sketch 1 and text here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
More help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Customer Avatar
Baltimore,MD
Newbie at connecting electronics
Posted 05/14/2013
Greetings I read your comment, will this recorder work with a digital tv set that use an indoor antenna and how do I hook the antenna up? thanks for your help and a very need comment...
0points
Attach a rabbit ears or other antenna
Posted 05/01/2013
Steve, you can also attach an indoor or outdoor antenna and possibly get MANY local broadcast channels, dep. on where you live. Those OTA channels will all be digital/HD and outstanding quality, AND you'll be able to record them independently.
Many people have switched to OTA reception and eliminated cable bills altogether. Many of them use either a good rabbit ears or an attic antenna.
I record ONLY the major network channels, ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, and I can get ~24 local digital/HD channels.
Another way to "re-purpose" the Mag when circumstances demand!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Ft. lauderdale
Thinking Outside the Box
Posted 04/29/2013
I purchased the Magnavox 320 GB HDD/DVD Recorder for the purpose of time shifting my favorite daily programs. However, my cable co.-Comcast, went to all digital broadcasting
on 4/16. The only way to hookup the "Maggie" was after the cable box, therefore making me a "slave" to the cable box. I wound up having to rent a DVR from Comcast, one with a dual tuner. I was about to return the Magnavox when I thought outside the box, i.e. why
not install it alongside my old Samsung VCR And convert over 40 old VCR tapes to DVD?
Plus I can still record on HDD any program I am watching or preset on the cable box. I am glad I didn't get too anxious to return the Magnavox. Turns out to be a wise investment.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Austin, Texas
wajo2 Review of Phillips/Magnavox Recorder
Posted 04/06/2013
I have never in all my life, read such an intelligent, savvy, informative review in all my life. This reviewer states he does not work for anybody?? I'm sure he has his own business with this kind of expertise. Maybe Philips/Magnavox needs to hire him to write their manuals. It would be a very astute business move on their part.
Thank you so very much for the wonderful review, wajo2!
+1point
Works with FIOS
Posted 10/14/2012
Here's a "TIPS" section of a help file with info posted by FIOS users (#2 in list):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#user_RecHDD8a
A clickable index of other info and help files is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
The Mag 53X is Std Def (SD)
Posted 10/01/2012
The DVD Std requires the Mags to convert incoming signals to 480i. so they are NOT High Def (HD) machines.
They upconvert to 1080p via HDMI, but the original signal started as 480i inside the machines.
They do pass HD thru the coax circuit to downstream components , like a cable box or TV, so you can VIEW HD thru the coax if your signal is HD.
+3points
Customer Avatar
MAg 53x
Posted 09/29/2012
In your nice review, you mention that this is a Standard Def...I want to be sure that I am buying a HD. Can you please reiterate?
Thanks,
+3points
Thanks!
Posted 09/10/2012
Jack, thanks for taking the time to comment. I sincerely appreciate it! -:)
+1point
Customer Avatar
Minnesota
Jack
Posted 09/08/2012
I think it is wonderful that such an intelligent individual takes the time to explain technical information to the layman in such a manner that it is understandable to a reasonable degree!! Thank you so much!!
+5points
Read Comments (10)
Read Comments (10)
Review 85 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product for the price

03/24/2014
By ,
Southern Mn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is our 2nd DVR (same one) and it works great. I also got it on sale so that makes it even better. We use it everyday, so it gets a lot of use! Bought the warrant for this one also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 86 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Nothing Fancy it just works as advertised

01/12/2014
By ,
Detroit
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this device because it is one of only very few OTA recording devices that has a built in ATSC tuner. I have used it several times and I really like it. In fact, I am considering a second unit for the bedroom. The unit has a strong receiver and with 320 gig of storage, there is plenty of room for my recordings. I considered the 1 TB unit but decided it was not necessary since I dont leave my shows permanently on the hard drive. If I really like a recorded show I will transfer it to a DVD and then erase it from the HD. I wish more electronics manufacturers produced devices like this, but as long as Magnavox continues to make this machine, it is an excellent option for recording OTA TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 87 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

love the hdd feature

03/25/2014
By ,
allentown, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought for my Mother - liked it so much I bought one for myself. A friend of Mothers saw it and is buying one for herself.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 88 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Does everything I wanted.

03/26/2014
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just wish the made DVD R's with more time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 89 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great!!!!!

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i gotta say it works and does what its supposed to very welll... i truely have no issues with it... the only thing that could be better is if it had a guide and made it slightly easier to program recording.. it feels like i am using my vcr the way you have to program it but other then that i love it.. it works i find it easy enought to use i have it in my bedroom and it gets lots of use so far no issues i have had it for a few weeks now.. so i would recomend it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 90 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DVR player

03/22/2014
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this item. I do lot have cable or satellite but wanted to record my soap opera to watch after work. This is great for that. It had its own digital converter. The only draw back is I have to use 2 remotes. the old one for volume and the new one for the rest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 91 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just like TiVo without the subscription costs.

01/08/2014
By ,
Newport News, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use an antenna for my TV service, so an internal Tuner is a must have. Because of that, TiVo is out of the question. This item allows me the same advantages as TiVo for recording/pausing/replaying live tv, as well as giving me the normal recording & timer options for the recording of programs. It also allows these recordings to be written to DVD for backup. Allowing recordings to be set up on weekly time schedules is my favorite part, because now I don't miss the few shows I really like when I forget or am out at that time. My only drawback was that the playback didn't seem quite as clear as the original on my tv, but that is probably because I am not using the HDMI hook-up between the two.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 92 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent Machines

11/27/2012
By ,
PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the third time I've bought Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders here at walmart.com: December 2009, September 2011, and most recently in October 2012. Slightly differing models with varying HD capacities, but they've all been good machines.
A bit trickier to use than say a TiVo, since they don't have built-in program guides. However, if you were capable of programming a VCR back in the day, you'll be able to manage one of these.
I also recommend the Ship-to-Store feature. My order got to my local store in 4 days. Since I'm by there at least once a week, it was no trouble to pick up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 93 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Needs a set top box

03/19/2014
By ,
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I could not use the Magnavox product, because I don't have a set top box. The walmart .com description didn't say that a set top box was needed to operate it. On the Magnavox box it stated that a set top box was needed to operate it. I returned the Magnavox product because I couldn't operate it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Wrong unit ...
Posted 03/21/2014
If the box said it needed a STB, you got the wrong unit. The models they sell in the stores all require a STB, but this model, sold only online, does not... unless you have cable and ALL your channels are scrambled.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 94 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Terrible machine

03/23/2014
By ,
ellenton florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The L1 and L2 and front inputs won't let me connect any to them
The only good thing is the TV Tuner
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 95 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

I found it to be easy to use

03/18/2014
By ,
Sparks nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this because I needed to replace my VCR and wanted to be able to record TV shows when I am away. It was easy to set up, and recorded like a dream! I have not used the rewind and watch feature on purpose yet but it was neat when I set up the unit and played with it. I also have not recorded on dvd yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 96 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Almost perfect

10/25/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit does what it is suppose to, and delivers excellent picture and sound quality. The DVD drive accepts all types of discs for both record and playback. Programming to record is straightforward. What's not perfect is the response and sensitivity of the remote. You must point the remote directly at the unit, and make slow and deliberate button pushes. It does not respond sometimes, and / or has a delayed response. Once you learn to be patient is okay. Also channel changing is slow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lancaster,PA
replace cheap batteries that came with remote
Posted 08/29/2013
My was the same when I got it I replaced the battries and it works fine now.Make sure the sensor on tv is in plain view and not hidden by fire place mantel or other items.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 97 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Internal digital tuner adds options

11/14/2012
By ,
Bismarck ND
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product replaced a vcr/dvd recorder that wasn't working properly any more. We do have a dvr from our cable company which records most of what we need. However, being limited to 2 shows (either live or recording) at times was limiting to us. Since this has a digitial tuner we can plug in the cable directly and now have an option to watch or record a third channel. Also I can record from my dvr to the dvd recorder for shows I want to keep longer. I haven't tried to record a movie this way as that is usually copyright protected and wouldn't work on my old machine. The dubbing is a really nice feature as noted by others. For those wanting to replace their cable dvr though it doesn't have the nice features you are used to for organizing recorded content by title or date or setting up a series recording (at least that is true for my system). But as a second recording option and additional tuner it is outstanding! Easy to set up and use. Love that it works with all kinds of recordable dvd's. I have recommended this to all my friends!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 98 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Magnavox DVD, DVR, HDD with digital tuner

12/02/2013
By ,
Tampa FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love this DVD-HDD player/recorder and its great features. One feature I enjoy is it ability to record to the HDD if the disc is full or defective, so no programming is loss. The other good feature is the ability to treat this machine as a DVR, in that while recording the viewing can watch, rewind or go forward. The picture is good, as is the sound. Yea for this product! (P.S. I might mention I at first bought a refurbished identical unit from WalMart but from the start it kept dropping 3 major channels. Walmart was great about allowing me to return it and buy this one, which is not refurbished and it is perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 99 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The only Redording device on the market with tuner

11/30/2013
By ,
Cleveland, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hooked up with Antenna to coax for 36 free channels off the air including all side channels such as 25.2, 25.3 etc not available on cable. Also hooked up Cable box to line inputs to record from that source. Best replacement for heavy vcr recorder people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 100 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

affordable

03/21/2014
By ,
Canyon Lake TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
81-100 of 712 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  3 4 5 6 7  ...  36 Next