Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it.

08/17/2014
By ,
Elizabeth City, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what I want.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
02/14/2013
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned previous generations of these HDD recorders. The features on this unit surpasses those from before. The remote control design is user friendly and I get more onscreen information displayed than my older units. The best feature of these units is the auto record. It allows users the option of backing up live tv spontaneously, which is nice if you happen to be distracted and miss something you can simply back it up and check it out. Also, if you decide you want to permanently record a program, you can back up and record it permanently to the hard drive and dub it to a disc if you want. These units offer so many options, that you'll wonder why you didn't get one before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DVD recorder with digital TV tuner

01/05/2013
By ,
Central Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second unit because the timers in the Panasonic recorders have become unreliable after about two years. My two old Lite-on analog recorders are still doing great! Handy, but not necessary is the hard disk storage. I may get to the point of not transferring the TV shows to the DVD for playback in another room, but for now, I convert. Takes as long to transfer as it does to record the original program. Have not tried to watch something on the DVD while recording on the HD (manual does not discuss this). I love the HD capacity. I hate commercials. I sometimes record four channels simultaneously (four recorders). This second one was $20+ less than the one in November.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great change from a VCR

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Sony DVD/VCR combination unit which recently broke. Eventually, the VCR section breaks after a while. I decided to make the change to a DVD recorder which had a digital tuner so I could copy from the tV to the dvd. After much research, I selected the Magnavox DVD Recorder with the 320 GB hard drive. The set-up was fairly easy. I didn't realize my tv has the HDMI and video components slots on my tv which give a better picture quality. I am enjoying the unit and am happy I selected it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent Product

07/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my fourth unit. One was repaired under warranty. They all function as advertised. I record every day on all units mostly on DVD and if I forget to put a disc in the machine it will record the program on hard drive and then dub it on to a DVD. This is the best feature!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fits my needs so far.

02/03/2013
By ,
Canton, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comparing it to my previous Sony, it is a lot more complicated. I've had it less than 1 month at this point and still learning how to program and operate it. I think I will get used to it after a while. Considering that I could only find two manufacturers of DVD R's and the Toshiba not getting decent reviews, I guess I'm as happy as can be expected with this unit. My previous experience with Magnavox was not favorable, so I do not expect this unit to be as good as my previous Sony which operated flawlessly for 5 years until a weather storm caused it to lock up. I was in too much of a rush to send it out for repair. As I said earlier, I might get used to this one in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Impressive features for the money

01/04/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only recently hooked up the recorder, and it seems to work well. The owners manual is a bit intimidating as it is quite long, and somewhat confusing, but I think it will make more sense as I actually use it. I was especially pleased that the quality of reception from our antenna (we don't have cable) was not adversely affected by passing the signal through the recorder. It would seem that the recorder only records in 16:9 aspect ratio, so there are black bands at the top and bottom of our screen even though we have a wide screen TV. These bands are not there when watching the same program through the TV tuner. Small annoyance given the other impressive features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Maybe it's OK??

12/21/2012
By ,
San Antonio TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second Magnavox HDD recorder we bought from Walmart. The first one worked fine until the warranty expired. Then became intermittent and died completely just after the end of the warranty. This new one is working, so far. I was unwilling to buy another but my wife wanted the same kind so she wouldn't have to learn how to operate a different system. We'll see how long this one lasts
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The perfect solution for my needs

01/27/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm coming at this from the perspective of a person who's always used a VCR or DVD-RAM recorder and have never rented a recording device from the cable company. I do have basic cable, but that's just to get local channels. Those are all I need.
If you're used to the cable company's DVR then you might feel inconvenienced because there's no program guide. I'm sure those things are great, but I've never had it, so I don't miss it. I looked at what it would cost me to have expanded basic or standard service and a set-top box and a DVR from the cable company and realized that this unit would pay for itself within just a few months.
I get more channels on this recorder than on any other device I've owned with a qam tuner (three TVs, one of which is already dead, and 2 DVD-RAM recorders, one of which is also dead).
I do have trouble getting captions on the standard definition channels, for some reason. (They're fine on the HD channels.) Right now I am using RCA-style video cables, because the analog TV I have this hooked up to doesn't have an HDMI connector. Maybe that has something to do with it. I haven't looked into this much, so maybe there is a simple solution. It isn't a huge problem for me, in any case, but if you rely on captions and watch a lot of SD channels you will want to research this further.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

better than a VCR

11/05/2012
By ,
Lancaster,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it has the digital tuner and the price was right.The directions drag on to long and could be made simpler but after while I figured most of it out after a few mistakes or misprints in the directions were figured out to be wrong.the 3 video cables were no good with one bad wire that would not work or did intermittently when you jiggled it.I will need to get another cable to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 11/06/2012
Here's an indexed list of help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT LITTLE MACHINE!!!

06/16/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved my first one so much that I bought another two months later! You can easily "cut out" commercials, create your own chapter breaks, and dub back and forth from hard drive to disc. Once you have programed a recording it makes sure it gets recorded even if you forget and are watching something else! I just can't say enough good things about this unit! It is everything I hoped for and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR for Cutting Cable/Sat.

06/18/2014
By ,
Elko,Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Although I am still learning all the functions of my new Magnavox HDD,DVR 320gb,DVD Recorder with digital tuner it is by far the best investment I have made in a very long time.I was able to connect it to my TV with the HDMI cord-bought separately-for one of the best pictures I have seen from over the air Tv.I will more than likely purchase another one by years end and highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
05/19/2013
By ,
Central N.J.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what i want it to do. I can watch a show and record another , but you have to use a splitter ,I Have not tried to record to a DVD or to program a show yet. I just press the record button on the remote for the show i want to record, then switch to the other show i want to watch. When the recorded show is over, all i do is press the stop button. The reason i give 4 stars is because of the splitter and it is not HD just HQ . The HQ to me is a step up from a VCR. I have only had this for a very short time so opinion may change later. The FF/Pause and rewind work perfect for me. I will update my review at a later date when i get more familiar with the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Don;t need splitter
Posted 05/21/2013
WITHOUT a cable box, you don't need a splitter. Run the coax to the MAG first then on to the TV and the Mag will pass the raw cable or antenna signal to your TV for tuning with its tuner, while being able to record different channels with the Mag's tuner (the Mag's coax circuit is an amplified splitter).
Connect the Mag separately to your TV to see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs).
Even with most cable boxes you don't need a splitter. With the Mag on the coax in front of a cable box, the Mag will be able to tune any non-scrambled channels your cable service delivers, while the box will be able to tune all channels, whether scrambled or not.
With some cable boxes that require comm. back to the cableco for guide maintenance or ordering PPV/VOD thru the box, you can still record one channel while watching a different channel if you put a bidirectional 2-way splitter on the incoming cable coax, with one output to the box and one to the Mag.
Both the Mag and the box still need their separate connections to the TV
More info and help files here... copy link text and psate in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great unit with a few extras , better than most .

12/30/2012
By ,
Upper Darby PA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace my Panasonic Recorder/Player - Digital Tuner. An Excelent unit in all catagories , no longer available in stores , but on line asking for $ 400.00 / 600.00 OUTRAGIOUSLY priced. Two great features about this unit is the Digital Tuner & 320GB HardDrive Storage.This is an Excellent value with these features without the OVERPRICE TAG. This unit did meet my Expectations . There are a few ussues about the hookup connections / settings / ease of use creating a customize labeling. The Overall rating for this uint very good . I've done some comparison with other units simular to this one , with some experience of ownership with these units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/12/2012
By ,
bay city, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is fine. Was very disappointed with how item was shipped; however. It was not wrapped or put in an external box. It arrived with just a plastic sticker on it. I live near a scummy neighborhood and it could have easily been stolen. Luckily my brother drove by the house and saw the dvd recorder sitting out in plain view. He stopped and brought inside for me(I was at work).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

People who make these don't use them.

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My TV gets channels clearly. This thing does not. I have an older model of this DVR. I now use it for surveilance cameras. It has a substandard tuner too. I have a Channel Master DVR with problems of its own, but it at least has a real good tuner, so I'd rather put up with it than this thing.
I couldn't find a way to control the aspect ratio on playback. Stuff not in HD was stretched.
The DVD recorded one session, after I deleted it, it wouldn't accept the disc any more. I took it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Glad I bought it, but . . .

05/29/2014
By ,
Millcreek, Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product arrived quickly and is what I wanted as a recorder/playback machine. It was easy to install. My only issue is that the screen aspect choices don't really fill the screen on my HD flat screen TV. No matter which aspect option I select, the result is virtually identical and the image is stretched side to side with black bars across the top and bottom. I wish there was an option to fill my screen with a natural picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
CHeck Aspect options on your TV ...
Posted 05/29/2014
Your TV has choices for aspect as well. You have to coordinate both to get the result you want.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
06/03/2013
By ,
Blaine, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had the player for a few days, but have been able to figure out how to use it rather simply. Hopefully it'll continue to be as great a substitute for a DVR as I feel it will. THe picture quality when viewing through the player isnt' the best, but you don't have to watch your TV through it - just change your input and watch through the TV. You won't be able to pause and such, but that isn't an issue for us as we're using it more for recording.
One thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to change the way we view the recordings - I hate that window preview. Does anyone know how to change that to a list - or even is that's possible?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
That "preview" is just for I.D.
Posted 06/04/2013
The index pic in the title list, 6 per page, is just one more way to ID. the recording, in additon to time, day, date, channel, etc. PLUS the actual TITLE you can add when you set up the timer program (pre-titling).
You either press PLAY on a highlighted index pic, or click OK on one of the index pics and select Play from Start or Resume Playback from the menu that pops up.
Watching that index pic may be the reason you think the pic isn't so good... it should be outstanding since the Mag has an amplified coax circuit... many people think they're seeing high def (HD)!
Lots of playback and other details here...click link text and paste in your browser's address bar"
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great!

11/20/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly and does what I wanted it to do without having to rent one from the cable companies. Good quality picture and easy to hook up. Pretty straight forward controls like a regular VCR. Now I can watch Sons of Anarchy and Black List any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Expectations Decimated

07/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great expectations were decimated. This device never once taped correctly. The clock/timer would not stay on correct time and therefore never taped show programmed. Furthermore, upon merchandise return to Walmart they refunded all but shipping. Perhaps, they should conduct better quality assurance on products they carry.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You have to use the "Magic word"...
Posted 07/23/2013
"DEFECTIVE"
You have to tell them your unit was "defective."
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next