Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(922 Reviews) 797
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
263
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
65
Customer Recommendation89%816 out of 922reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
652 Questions | 2,177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
518
4 stars
263
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
65
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

loving it!

10/16/2012
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of trying to find a vcr that has a tuner when I found this and started reading the peoples reviews on this product and decided to buy it. I am very happy that I did it. I am going to buy another one in a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/05/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the 3rd dvr ive owned and this is the best one yet. i love that i can name the timed recordings instead of editing after the fact. easy to use...affordable compared to cable. i absolutely love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
04/19/2013
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The recorder exceeds my expectations. We are very pleased with the ease of use and performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Neat product

10/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the DVD recorder sooner than expected and had a great site to store experience. Set up was intuitive and easy. The manual was a little difficult to wade threw though so I just put it aside and winged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Angola, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device will do an incredible number of things that I doubt I will ever use, however, as a basic DVD recorder it's very easy to use. I must say that the directions are replete and reasonably easy to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

So far I am very please with this recorder.

03/07/2014
By ,
Tucson
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Recorder has all the features that I wanted in a DVD Recorder with Tuner and HDD. I could not ask for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

easy to use

12/04/2012
By ,
lafayette, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is so easy to set up. Makes recording shows off the antenna great. I have now purchased two of these. Just like having a dish network without the cost, and it records in H.D.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

These recorders work very well.

09/18/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 of these. My wife prefers to watch tv without advertisement. She's is retired and is not an electronic buff but she has no problems operating these units. I only know of one other manufacture that has a built in tuner. Then again you would be amazed at what I don't know. They perform as advertised and my wife will not do without if she can help it.
Important. The majority of units manufactured will not record high definition television. There is not an input available for HDMI. I know of only one bootleg unit that will record high definition but is very expensive. $3,000.
I had 3 other recorders that were destroyed by a power surge in October 2013. I've owned the previous units for around 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Too many great things to mention a super buy

03/11/2014
By ,
wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this recorder
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent porduct

08/30/2013
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD recorder does everything that I want except for one i.e. it cannot join two titles together. Many times, TV series are aired on a weekly basis, and I would have liked to link the episodes together to form one complete movie. With this recorder, I can't.
Also in the "remove scene" mode, the recorded movie seems to freeze for a fraction of a second during replay. This is quite noticeable, but it is a minor inconvenience.
Apart from the above 2 "negatives", this is an excellent product. The recorded picture quality is great, and the use of the remote control is quite intuitive. It also uses low power, which means that the cooling fan does not come ON all the time, and so less dirt is sucked in the DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
DVDs play episodes sequentially ...
Posted 08/30/2013
If you have episodes, you can put them on a DVD and press PLAY. All titles (episodes) will auto-play with just a slight pause between episodes.
I hope you're pre-titling shows in the timer programming menu, 3rd option after setting a program and re-entering that menu (Add Title).
info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Product works well

10/15/2012
By ,
Brunswick ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this product partially to avoid monthly fees associated with similar systems. Easy to use and dependable. Records live TV, plays DVDs, can transfer a recorded TV program to DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally found the right device to replace my old VCR. Wish I had found it some time ago. I don't use all the features that it has but for recording OTA television it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great easy to use recorder

03/05/2014
By ,
green valley, az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Terrific recorder. Easy to set up and use. Records directly to a hard drive or you can use a DVD. No monthly fees.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent product

11/22/2012
By ,
fort lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes HDD recording & editing simple. Very user friendly. HDD recording is very similar to having a DVR. Delete HDD recordings after watching them or copy to DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/09/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the Magnavox 160GB recorder and needed a second one to be able to record 2 TV shows that are opposite each other. It works great and would highly recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR !!

03/06/2014
By ,
Limestone ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works as advertised. Super price. I would definitely recommend to all my friends
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Compromise Between Cable DVR and VCR

12/15/2012
By ,
Overland Park, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace using a VCR to record shows and watch them back later. Not really interested in recording to the DVD player but it is nice to have that option, plus to be able to watch DVDs from the same unit. I hate having to pay the cable company for their DVR, so if this lasts half as long as my VCRs have lasted it will be well worth the money.
I have been using it for a week now and have not figured out all the how to's yet so as a minimum there is a learning curve involved. But I think it is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!
I got the 320 GB hard drive and I hope to never fill it up because it holds a LOT, particularly if you don't use the slowest recording speeds and I don't need them to watch things once and then delete them (soaps, movies, etc).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Perfect!

11/20/2012
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is great. No problems whatsoever. Records plenty of shows to internal storage, and I can copy any I want to save to a DVD. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/31/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple to set up - just like a regular vcr
The only problem I have is I have to manually set up the clock as I live in a rural area far from a PBS station
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Don't need PBS (it's the worst)
Posted 11/01/2012
You can use ANY channel/network that broadcasts a time signal, like FOX, CBS or ABC... FOX seems to be the best in most areas.
Use "The 11:57 Procedure" to find and confirm a good time signal, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298425
An index of other info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great recorder. It has more features than I had imagined. My only regret is that I cannot transfer from the DVR hard drive to my computer hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 798 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  40 Next