Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.24 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(914 Reviews) 789
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
513
4 stars
262
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
64
Customer Recommendation89%810 out of 914reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
645 Questions | 2,160 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
513
4 stars
262
3 stars
48
2 stars
27
1 star
64
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

loving it!

10/16/2012
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was tired of trying to find a vcr that has a tuner when I found this and started reading the peoples reviews on this product and decided to buy it. I am very happy that I did it. I am going to buy another one in a few weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/05/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this is the 3rd dvr ive owned and this is the best one yet. i love that i can name the timed recordings instead of editing after the fact. easy to use...affordable compared to cable. i absolutely love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Neat product

10/25/2012
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received the DVD recorder sooner than expected and had a great site to store experience. Set up was intuitive and easy. The manual was a little difficult to wade threw though so I just put it aside and winged it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Angola, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device will do an incredible number of things that I doubt I will ever use, however, as a basic DVD recorder it's very easy to use. I must say that the directions are replete and reasonably easy to follow.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

easy to use

12/04/2012
By ,
lafayette, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit is so easy to set up. Makes recording shows off the antenna great. I have now purchased two of these. Just like having a dish network without the cost, and it records in H.D.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great!

11/20/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly and does what I wanted it to do without having to rent one from the cable companies. Good quality picture and easy to hook up. Pretty straight forward controls like a regular VCR. Now I can watch Sons of Anarchy and Black List any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Simply The BEST!

01/17/2014
By ,
East Chicago, Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
'I am kicking my self' (LOL) ...Why did I not get this sooner? This Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder is in a 'Class' of it self, Just Simply The Best investment you will ever make. I have went through 3 VCR's..., this is my first HDD DVR, I wish I would have gotten it sooner. The set up is a breeze, connects to your TV set in a flash. What will they think of next?...Excellent technology...
Get this product...you will NOT regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Product works well

10/15/2012
By ,
Brunswick ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I chose this product partially to avoid monthly fees associated with similar systems. Easy to use and dependable. Records live TV, plays DVDs, can transfer a recorded TV program to DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/26/2012
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally found the right device to replace my old VCR. Wish I had found it some time ago. I don't use all the features that it has but for recording OTA television it can't be beat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent product

11/22/2012
By ,
fort lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makes HDD recording & editing simple. Very user friendly. HDD recording is very similar to having a DVR. Delete HDD recordings after watching them or copy to DVD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Compromise Between Cable DVR and VCR

12/15/2012
By ,
Overland Park, KS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace using a VCR to record shows and watch them back later. Not really interested in recording to the DVD player but it is nice to have that option, plus to be able to watch DVDs from the same unit. I hate having to pay the cable company for their DVR, so if this lasts half as long as my VCRs have lasted it will be well worth the money.
I have been using it for a week now and have not figured out all the how to's yet so as a minimum there is a learning curve involved. But I think it is the beginning of a beautiful friendship!
I got the 320 GB hard drive and I hope to never fill it up because it holds a LOT, particularly if you don't use the slowest recording speeds and I don't need them to watch things once and then delete them (soaps, movies, etc).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/09/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the Magnavox 160GB recorder and needed a second one to be able to record 2 TV shows that are opposite each other. It works great and would highly recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Perfect!

11/20/2012
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder is great. No problems whatsoever. Records plenty of shows to internal storage, and I can copy any I want to save to a DVD. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great recorder. It has more features than I had imagined. My only regret is that I cannot transfer from the DVR hard drive to my computer hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/31/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very simple to set up - just like a regular vcr
The only problem I have is I have to manually set up the clock as I live in a rural area far from a PBS station
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Don't need PBS (it's the worst)
Posted 11/01/2012
You can use ANY channel/network that broadcasts a time signal, like FOX, CBS or ABC... FOX seems to be the best in most areas.
Use "The 11:57 Procedure" to find and confirm a good time signal, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298425
An index of other info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it

11/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDD and DVD Recorder is great. Better than my tunered DVD recorders. Cheaper and more versatile. I can see my DVD recorders being replaced soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has met my expectations. Glad to not have to check tapes or discs for remaining space. This machine has all the space I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/08/2012
By ,
Campbell,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great DVR/DVD player/recorder, works about 2 years on a daily basis then you will have to replace it. This is primarily due to hard drive failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Absolutely false!
Posted 11/09/2012
These Funai HDD/DVD recorders use top-of-the-line HDDs and have PROVEN to be very reliable. Many people, including me, have the original 1st gen unit, the Philips 3575, and use them HARD and they're still going strong. All my extensive testing done to write the help files at avsforum.com were done on ONE of my 3575's and it's still solid as a rock.
With the 513 and 515, a few people started having "freezes" (unit appears dead) which was caused by tuner interference. There's a simple workaround, the Soft Reset, that revives those units, and Funai added a FW Update to take care oif the problem permanently (Ver02C).
I have personally never heard of a Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder having a verified HDD failure, and I keep track of EVERYTHING on these units.
Here's an index of info and help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
No such experience!
Posted 11/08/2012
Any HDD can fail at any time, but the HDDs in these Mag HDD/DVD recorders are top-of-the line!
They've been virtually fail-proof in the 1st 5 years of actual historical use. A few have "frozen" (appeared dead) from interfering TV signals, leading people who haven't yet gone to avsforum.com (which I've linked to many times) to believe their HDD might have crashed. However, their "freezes" are quickly remedied by a Soft Reset.
I have three original, 1st gen. Philips 2007 models in this series that are running strong after more than 5 years. Many others have the same experience.
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. I now own 2. The only thing that would make this better would be to have the capability to tune and record in HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/04/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried hooking this up so my Time Warner cable box ran thru it, but I could not get it to work only by itself.... Also, the clarity of the picture was not good at all. Returned it to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 11/12/2012
I did read your help files and it did not work for my situation. Thanks.
-1point
You missed the help file, eh!?
Posted 10/05/2012
Too bad you didn't copy and paste one of the links I gave in my Review, where you could find answers to questions and learn that you should NOT place the Mag behind a cable box.
Here's the link for others... I highly recommend you check it out before you flame out:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
361-380 of 790 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  40 Next