Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
667 Questions | 2,242 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Veery Useful

11/29/2012
By ,
Saint Augustine, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item, but it does lack having the capability of the remote being able to be progrmed to operate the television.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/24/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the system had a built in TV guide it would be 5 star. That's the only thing I have against it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/03/2012
By ,
Placerville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, I record off my antenna--no cable or satellite bill!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great product,saves money over the cable co,s dvr

05/04/2014
By ,
st.petersburg ,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
still learning but seems to do all that is described.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great dvr for the money

11/26/2012
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does take a lot of learning to use many features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox is a great DVR

04/14/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two quibbles with the Magnavox:
1) Why they didn't make this a BlueRay player ?
2) The remote control stinks
Aside from that, this is a very good product and well worth the price. I was looking for a replacement of my Philips DVR since the player went south. I wanted a combo DVD player, hard disk recorder. I didn't want to pay TiVo a monthly fee for their recorder. I don't subscribe to cable since I get about 6 channels over the air in my area. We don't watch that much TV. We want to be able to time-shift shows if we want. This recorder fits the bill. Works like a charm. The recorder's firmware is almost identical to the Philips so it was a very easy transition. This is really the only choice if you want a DVR/DVD Player but it's a very good choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Handy product

04/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cancelled dish, used this to transfer dvr'd movies from dish receiver. Worked well, now my receiver can go back! Great quality picture, haven't played sound through stereo, but is good on tv.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/30/2012
By ,
georgetown, s.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, easy to install and works well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/30/2012
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rating: as far as recommending to friend; I can't say. As far as an Overall Rating, its not fair for me to judge since I could not get it to connect to my tv system. But I guess I have to assign something. Too be really fair, it may be a great unit or, only because I do not have enough smarts to correctly connect to my Comcast/DTA system. Like I said, it could be me....sorry!! I would love to have someone decribe/instruct how to connect this unit to a COMCAST / DTA SYSTEM. I have for years connected the traditional VHS/DVD recorder/players on all four of my tvs with no outside help. I'm thinking, its the little DC50Xu (DTA box), in the loop on my TV, that I am having trouble with. Anyone??? I need something to replace the older traditional recorder/players.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

I liked this so much I bought a second unit!

01/30/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get out from under the cable payments and I wanted to continue using my two large well-functioning analog TVs. I had been using a converter box and a few amplified antennas for a month or so, but wanted to be able to record shows to watch later. This unit with the tuner worked so well in the living room that I purchased another for use in the bedroom. I connected each sets with COMPONENT cables and was surprised at the improvement over the standard audio and video cables. It was well worth the small extra cost. As a result some stations come in better OTA than they did via the local cable company which also used component cables. Eventually I will upgrade to HD, and when I do I will wish that these recorded in HD, but for now I am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great!!!!!

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i gotta say it works and does what its supposed to very welll... i truely have no issues with it... the only thing that could be better is if it had a guide and made it slightly easier to program recording.. it feels like i am using my vcr the way you have to program it but other then that i love it.. it works i find it easy enought to use i have it in my bedroom and it gets lots of use so far no issues i have had it for a few weeks now.. so i would recomend it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Lots of features for the price.

04/14/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Too early to rate it "EXCELLENT," since I've had it only a short while. It has all the "bells and whistles" I expected and some. My experience with DVD recorders is that they don't last very long. Sooner rather than later they fail to work properly. So, it remains to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/10/2013
By ,
Haven, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Magnavox DVD recorder with HDD and digital tuner is a great idea if it works. The one I received would not tune all the stations I currently receive with another TV and two others with digital converter boxes. I returned it and ordered another, since the telephone help techies could not help me. The second one worked the same. After reading other reviews, it is obvious Magnavox cannot provide tuners that work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent porduct

08/30/2013
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD recorder does everything that I want except for one i.e. it cannot join two titles together. Many times, TV series are aired on a weekly basis, and I would have liked to link the episodes together to form one complete movie. With this recorder, I can't.
Also in the "remove scene" mode, the recorded movie seems to freeze for a fraction of a second during replay. This is quite noticeable, but it is a minor inconvenience.
Apart from the above 2 "negatives", this is an excellent product. The recorded picture quality is great, and the use of the remote control is quite intuitive. It also uses low power, which means that the cooling fan does not come ON all the time, and so less dirt is sucked in the DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
DVDs play episodes sequentially ...
Posted 08/30/2013
If you have episodes, you can put them on a DVD and press PLAY. All titles (episodes) will auto-play with just a slight pause between episodes.
I hope you're pre-titling shows in the timer programming menu, 3rd option after setting a program and re-entering that menu (Add Title).
info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/16/2012
By ,
Central IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an area where I get several stations OTA, but I was working when my fav shows were on. I didn't want to have to pay for a DIRECTV or Dish plan when all I needed was an OTA DVR. Some of them out there are stupidly expensive, this fit my budget just fine. Easy to set up recordings, pretty much like programming the old VCR! I'm sure this unit does more than I will ever need. ONLY complaint I have about this unit is that it's output resolution is not compatible with my SONY TV, can't quite get the whole picture full(even though there are multiple output settings), but the manual does state that it is not compatible with ALL TVs. Another plus is that you can watch one show and record another simply by using an inexpensive splitter BEFORE the unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Gets our shows recorded.

04/17/2014
By ,
Wittenberg, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a DVR to record some TV shows from an outside antenna. This unit seems to be working well so far for this purpose. It wasn't to hard to set up. Just needed an HDMI cable that does not come with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

channel scan problem

01/09/2013
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My cable carrier has both analog and digital channels. I tried the auto channel scan and set it to (cable analog/digital). It would scan the analog channels and then scan the digital channels, but once it finished only the digital channels would show. If I scanned using (cable analog setting) then it would pick up all the analog but no digital channels. I don't know if there is something wrong with the tuner or if this is just how it made, but this would not work for me since there were shows that I would like to record in both analog and digital.
Returned to Walmart for a refund, very disappointed with the Magnavox 320gig HDD/DVD recorder with digital tuner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

These recorders work very well.

09/18/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 of these. My wife prefers to watch tv without advertisement. She's is retired and is not an electronic buff but she has no problems operating these units. I only know of one other manufacture that has a built in tuner. Then again you would be amazed at what I don't know. They perform as advertised and my wife will not do without if she can help it.
Important. The majority of units manufactured will not record high definition television. There is not an input available for HDMI. I know of only one bootleg unit that will record high definition but is very expensive. $3,000.
I had 3 other recorders that were destroyed by a power surge in October 2013. I've owned the previous units for around 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next