Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

better than a VCR

11/05/2012
By ,
Lancaster,PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love it has the digital tuner and the price was right.The directions drag on to long and could be made simpler but after while I figured most of it out after a few mistakes or misprints in the directions were figured out to be wrong.the 3 video cables were no good with one bad wire that would not work or did intermittently when you jiggled it.I will need to get another cable to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available
Posted 11/06/2012
Here's an indexed list of help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
05/19/2013
By ,
Central N.J.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what i want it to do. I can watch a show and record another , but you have to use a splitter ,I Have not tried to record to a DVD or to program a show yet. I just press the record button on the remote for the show i want to record, then switch to the other show i want to watch. When the recorded show is over, all i do is press the stop button. The reason i give 4 stars is because of the splitter and it is not HD just HQ . The HQ to me is a step up from a VCR. I have only had this for a very short time so opinion may change later. The FF/Pause and rewind work perfect for me. I will update my review at a later date when i get more familiar with the machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Don;t need splitter
Posted 05/21/2013
WITHOUT a cable box, you don't need a splitter. Run the coax to the MAG first then on to the TV and the Mag will pass the raw cable or antenna signal to your TV for tuning with its tuner, while being able to record different channels with the Mag's tuner (the Mag's coax circuit is an amplified splitter).
Connect the Mag separately to your TV to see internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs).
Even with most cable boxes you don't need a splitter. With the Mag on the coax in front of a cable box, the Mag will be able to tune any non-scrambled channels your cable service delivers, while the box will be able to tune all channels, whether scrambled or not.
With some cable boxes that require comm. back to the cableco for guide maintenance or ordering PPV/VOD thru the box, you can still record one channel while watching a different channel if you put a bidirectional 2-way splitter on the incoming cable coax, with one output to the box and one to the Mag.
Both the Mag and the box still need their separate connections to the TV
More info and help files here... copy link text and psate in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great unit with a few extras , better than most .

12/30/2012
By ,
Upper Darby PA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this unit to replace my Panasonic Recorder/Player - Digital Tuner. An Excelent unit in all catagories , no longer available in stores , but on line asking for $ 400.00 / 600.00 OUTRAGIOUSLY priced. Two great features about this unit is the Digital Tuner & 320GB HardDrive Storage.This is an Excellent value with these features without the OVERPRICE TAG. This unit did meet my Expectations . There are a few ussues about the hookup connections / settings / ease of use creating a customize labeling. The Overall rating for this uint very good . I've done some comparison with other units simular to this one , with some experience of ownership with these units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/12/2012
By ,
bay city, mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is fine. Was very disappointed with how item was shipped; however. It was not wrapped or put in an external box. It arrived with just a plastic sticker on it. I live near a scummy neighborhood and it could have easily been stolen. Luckily my brother drove by the house and saw the dvd recorder sitting out in plain view. He stopped and brought inside for me(I was at work).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

People who make these don't use them.

04/29/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My TV gets channels clearly. This thing does not. I have an older model of this DVR. I now use it for surveilance cameras. It has a substandard tuner too. I have a Channel Master DVR with problems of its own, but it at least has a real good tuner, so I'd rather put up with it than this thing.
I couldn't find a way to control the aspect ratio on playback. Stuff not in HD was stretched.
The DVD recorded one session, after I deleted it, it wouldn't accept the disc any more. I took it back to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
-1point
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent for those on antenna

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use an antenna to pick up our local stations. This unit records either on DVDs or a hard drive and it is great to have a choice. I had some problems figuring out the channels because it shows only single digit channels, so I called for help and found that when you actually program it, you can put in the digital channels. After that, it was smooth sailing. Setting programs are fast and you have a lot of choices when you are playing back from hard drive. Very, very pleased with this one. A little expensive, but worth it since it is not a monthly cable bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
06/03/2013
By ,
Blaine, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had the player for a few days, but have been able to figure out how to use it rather simply. Hopefully it'll continue to be as great a substitute for a DVR as I feel it will. THe picture quality when viewing through the player isnt' the best, but you don't have to watch your TV through it - just change your input and watch through the TV. You won't be able to pause and such, but that isn't an issue for us as we're using it more for recording.
One thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to change the way we view the recordings - I hate that window preview. Does anyone know how to change that to a list - or even is that's possible?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
That "preview" is just for I.D.
Posted 06/04/2013
The index pic in the title list, 6 per page, is just one more way to ID. the recording, in additon to time, day, date, channel, etc. PLUS the actual TITLE you can add when you set up the timer program (pre-titling).
You either press PLAY on a highlighted index pic, or click OK on one of the index pics and select Play from Start or Resume Playback from the menu that pops up.
Watching that index pic may be the reason you think the pic isn't so good... it should be outstanding since the Mag has an amplified coax circuit... many people think they're seeing high def (HD)!
Lots of playback and other details here...click link text and paste in your browser's address bar"
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Dead out of the box

11/13/2012
By ,
Cuyahoga falls
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
well it was able to pick up all the channels in my area, (antenna tv), the picture of the tv seemed much clearer than the converter box prev. used. it did record to the hard drive the one program i set up. and played dvd's with no problem. ( with sound) however I could not get any sound from live tv or recorded show. no matter how i hooked it up. sent it back and ordered another one. hopefully it was just a fluke.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great Expectations Decimated

07/23/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great expectations were decimated. This device never once taped correctly. The clock/timer would not stay on correct time and therefore never taped show programmed. Furthermore, upon merchandise return to Walmart they refunded all but shipping. Perhaps, they should conduct better quality assurance on products they carry.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You have to use the "Magic word"...
Posted 07/23/2013
"DEFECTIVE"
You have to tell them your unit was "defective."
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to use

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This recorder/player is very easy to use and set up. I purchased this item to replace the identical one that was broken during a thunder storm (note: get a surge protector). I was pleased that Walmart still sold the same model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Like a VCR but a DVR

12/21/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVR. I wish I understood more how it worked so I could set the timer to record all my favorite programs. This saves me a TON of money from having to buy a tivo or DVR from my cable provider and paying monthly fees FOREVER. If I leave my provider, I lose all my shows. Not with this DVR!!! I can even burn what I recorded stored on the hard drive to DVD. Saving to the hard drive is kinda like when some people use to record using a VCR. This is a great product. I have only had it a few weeks but I love it so far. Just a suggestion; go for the larger hard drive. It will be worth it in the long run unless you don't keep many shows on the DVR very long.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Could not get it to work

12/16/2012
By ,
Hampton VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tried several ways to hook it up, could not get it to work. Tried to contact the company by internet site and phone, several phone numbers, never reached anyone, spent about five hours trying to connect it to two TV's, two different kind of cable boxes, etc, nothing worked, nothing on the TV screen. Finally returned it to local Walmart. Tried several kinds of cables, those included and HDMI, nothing worked
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great!

11/20/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly and does what I wanted it to do without having to rent one from the cable companies. Good quality picture and easy to hook up. Pretty straight forward controls like a regular VCR. Now I can watch Sons of Anarchy and Black List any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just a Bad One?

01/17/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I thought this was a great recorder. Unfortunately, after a few weeks of using it I encountered several problems. First, like most recorders you can program it to record some shows every week. Although most did record, one recorded the wrong channel and one program disappeared completely. I thought it was strange and thought that maybe I had done something wrong. However, the next week two programs recorded the wrong channel and another disappeared from my list as before.
Another problem was with the "skip" feature. You can select to skip recording a weekly program if it happens to be a rerun which I thought was a great idea. After the program skips one week it resets to record the next week. At least that is what is supposed to happen. During the holidays, most shows are reruns so I put the skip on for each. The following week they all recorded except one program. For some reason the skip feature remained on that one program even though the others reset skip to off.
Since most of the reviews are positive I figured I would give it another chance. I returned the player and got an identical model in the hopes that I just happened to get a defective one and that it's not a defect with the product itself. I will write a positive review if I do not experience any of the problems with this one that I had with the last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

replacement

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our old DVR quit after several year of heavy use.
This was a replacement since we had such great service of the old one.
Will use the HDD of the old one for a servalance camera
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great change from a VCR

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Sony DVD/VCR combination unit which recently broke. Eventually, the VCR section breaks after a while. I decided to make the change to a DVD recorder which had a digital tuner so I could copy from the tV to the dvd. After much research, I selected the Magnavox DVD Recorder with the 320 GB hard drive. The set-up was fairly easy. I didn't realize my tv has the HDMI and video components slots on my tv which give a better picture quality. I am enjoying the unit and am happy I selected it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Nice unit but doesn't use cable channel numbers.

07/24/2014
By ,
Gig Harbor.WA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am using this recorder on a private digital cable network. It acquired all channels but uses the DTV main channel/sub channel numbers which are not available on our guide. This makes a translation required and is a bit of a chore. I haven't tried the DVD recorder but the hard drive is nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Digital Tuner Claim Misleading

11/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because the cable company switched to all digital channels and this product claimed to have a digital tuner. This is misleading. It does have a digital tuner, but will only tune OTA digital signals. This needs to be clarified in the item description.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
No clarification needed.
Posted 11/27/2012
The Mag does have a digital tuner for OTA antenna OR "CLEAR-QAM" channels, which are cable channels they send you UNscrambled.
However, the FCC recently enacted a Rule that allows cablecos to SCRAMBLE all their channels IF they go "all-digital."
So, its not the Mag that's at fault, it's the FCC-cableco business enterprise that's taking away your TV viewing opportunities, even those you pay a subscription fee for, like basic cable.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

GREAT LITTLE MACHINE!!!

06/16/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, Utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved my first one so much that I bought another two months later! You can easily "cut out" commercials, create your own chapter breaks, and dub back and forth from hard drive to disc. Once you have programed a recording it makes sure it gets recorded even if you forget and are watching something else! I just can't say enough good things about this unit! It is everything I hoped for and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works with my weak over air antenna signal

01/11/2013
By ,
Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I switched from satellite to a over air antenna I tried a Tivo with no luck.
I'm in a fringe area and get half strength signals at best from the antenna.
I have 3 TV's with digital tuners that get great pictures with the lower signal strength but the Tivo could not pull in any stations clearly.
This DVR gives me the same perfect picture I get from my tv's.
I hooked it up and made a recording to the hard drive and the recording was perfect.
The pausing of live TV also worked great.
I recorded a show and then burned a DVD from the hard drive and it also came out perfect.
So far I'm completely happy with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next