Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.258 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(836 Reviews) 711
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Recommendation89%746 out of 836reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
574 Questions | 1,865 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
474
4 stars
241
3 stars
42
2 stars
21
1 star
58
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/09/2012
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the Magnavox 160GB recorder and needed a second one to be able to record 2 TV shows that are opposite each other. It works great and would highly recommend it .
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Greatest invention since the TV

11/24/2012
By ,
Decatur, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,,,Now I don`t have to pay the Cable company for renting one of theres...This meets all my expiations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it

11/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDD and DVD Recorder is great. Better than my tunered DVD recorders. Cheaper and more versatile. I can see my DVD recorders being replaced soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/24/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the system had a built in TV guide it would be 5 star. That's the only thing I have against it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/04/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried hooking this up so my Time Warner cable box ran thru it, but I could not get it to work only by itself.... Also, the clarity of the picture was not good at all. Returned it to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 11/12/2012
I did read your help files and it did not work for my situation. Thanks.
-1point
You missed the help file, eh!?
Posted 10/05/2012
Too bad you didn't copy and paste one of the links I gave in my Review, where you could find answers to questions and learn that you should NOT place the Mag behind a cable box.
Here's the link for others... I highly recommend you check it out before you flame out:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good bang for the bucks

09/30/2013
By ,
Bluffton, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Set up was quick and painless. I only had 15 minutes to spare before leaving for work for the day and had it set up and programmed to record within that time. The larger hard drives would be nice but this is excellent for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/03/2012
By ,
Placerville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, I record off my antenna--no cable or satellite bill!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great dvr for the money

11/26/2012
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does take a lot of learning to use many features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/30/2012
By ,
Maryland
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rating: as far as recommending to friend; I can't say. As far as an Overall Rating, its not fair for me to judge since I could not get it to connect to my tv system. But I guess I have to assign something. Too be really fair, it may be a great unit or, only because I do not have enough smarts to correctly connect to my Comcast/DTA system. Like I said, it could be me....sorry!! I would love to have someone decribe/instruct how to connect this unit to a COMCAST / DTA SYSTEM. I have for years connected the traditional VHS/DVD recorder/players on all four of my tvs with no outside help. I'm thinking, its the little DC50Xu (DTA box), in the loop on my TV, that I am having trouble with. Anyone??? I need something to replace the older traditional recorder/players.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

just what we wanted

10/06/2013
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple to hook up and to operate ~ only negative is lots of small buttons on remote
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/16/2012
By ,
Central IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an area where I get several stations OTA, but I was working when my fav shows were on. I didn't want to have to pay for a DIRECTV or Dish plan when all I needed was an OTA DVR. Some of them out there are stupidly expensive, this fit my budget just fine. Easy to set up recordings, pretty much like programming the old VCR! I'm sure this unit does more than I will ever need. ONLY complaint I have about this unit is that it's output resolution is not compatible with my SONY TV, can't quite get the whole picture full(even though there are multiple output settings), but the manual does state that it is not compatible with ALL TVs. Another plus is that you can watch one show and record another simply by using an inexpensive splitter BEFORE the unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/30/2012
By ,
georgetown, s.c.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product, easy to install and works well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good value for the money but first unit failed

09/03/2013
By ,
St. Charles, Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVR had all the features I wanted at a reasonable price. When I first attempted to set the clock it would not keep the set time. Contacting customer service resulted in a recommendation to return the unit for a replacement under warranty. The replacement functioned properly and after eight months I have had no problems with it. I feel that for products like this an extended warranty is a prudent option.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Amazing recording capabilities

10/03/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The more I use it, the more I like it. So far it does everything I expected - and more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Happy camper

07/19/2013
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG! SWEET! I love, love, love this system. The recording works great for both DVD and HDD…I have OTA HDTV - via antenna. A pleasant bonus is that the Mag tuner is so much better than my TV tuner. By playing the TV through this unit I am now getting ‘ALL’ my local channels in HD and no more freezing up, etc., ALL my channels come in strong and solid. This is exactly what I was looking for. The manual could have been written better, though; I found some of the content hard to follow.
Wal-Mart shipping was excellent! Received well before expected date of delivery. Thanks Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best HDD Recorder Since Panasonic's Discontinued

12/17/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It appears that Magnavox has cornered the North American market on HDD video recorders since Panasonic's recorders were discontinued.
I like this recorder. It has an enormous hard drive capacity for considerably less than that previously offered by Panasonic. There are, however, a few disappointments.
(1) It is a little noisy
(2) During playback from the hard drive, only one title plays at a time. The user has to manually select the next title for it to play.
(3) While there is a "special playback" option, it appears to only be available for CDs and VCDs - not DVDs.
FYI, I did contact customer support concerning items 2 and 3 (above). Page 77 of the Operating Manual also seems to support item 3.
All that being said, I'm not sorry I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
06/03/2013
By ,
Blaine, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have only had the player for a few days, but have been able to figure out how to use it rather simply. Hopefully it'll continue to be as great a substitute for a DVR as I feel it will. THe picture quality when viewing through the player isnt' the best, but you don't have to watch your TV through it - just change your input and watch through the TV. You won't be able to pause and such, but that isn't an issue for us as we're using it more for recording.
One thing I haven't been able to figure out is how to change the way we view the recordings - I hate that window preview. Does anyone know how to change that to a list - or even is that's possible?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
That "preview" is just for I.D.
Posted 06/04/2013
The index pic in the title list, 6 per page, is just one more way to ID. the recording, in additon to time, day, date, channel, etc. PLUS the actual TITLE you can add when you set up the timer program (pre-titling).
You either press PLAY on a highlighted index pic, or click OK on one of the index pics and select Play from Start or Resume Playback from the menu that pops up.
Watching that index pic may be the reason you think the pic isn't so good... it should be outstanding since the Mag has an amplified coax circuit... many people think they're seeing high def (HD)!
Lots of playback and other details here...click link text and paste in your browser's address bar"
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Glad that I didnt give up!

02/01/2013
By ,
Hamburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After my first few attempts to get the recorder programmed, I was so frustrated that I was ready to pack it up and return it. The manual was confusing and not much help. My wife said that I had put so much work into deciding upon this Magnavox and that the reviews were good, and she recommended that I call customer service. I was so annoyed that at first I didnt want anything more to do with it. Well, eventually I calmed down, and I am glad that I took her advice because the techs directed me to the right pages and told me what to do. I am now very happy with this product; it's much better than the undependable Panasonic it replaced. If only the manual was more understandable, I would have given it 5 stars for the overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great value

09/04/2013
By ,
Atl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second unit. The first got zapped in an electrical storm. Easy to use, easy set up, great picture quality and the tuner even accepts rabbit ears ! Only bummer is you can not record one channel and watch another channel/show at the same time. Other than that I would have given all excellent. Plenty of features on the rear panel as well HDMI, vid, sound ect...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Your old unit may not be dead ...
Posted 09/04/2013
Your old unit may "wake up" with a Soft Reset as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Also, you CAN record one channel while watching a different channel if the incoming coax is connected to the Mag 1st then on to your TV (or cable box for those subscribers). The Mag's coax circuit is an smplified splitter thatr feeds the tuner while ALSO passing the raw signal to downstream components, like box or TV, so they can tune channels independently.
While the Mag is recording, you can also watch a prev. recorded title on the HDD or a DVD. You can ALSO Chase Play the recording in progress.
Info and help files here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
361-380 of 712 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  36 Next