Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

I liked this so much I bought a second unit!

01/30/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get out from under the cable payments and I wanted to continue using my two large well-functioning analog TVs. I had been using a converter box and a few amplified antennas for a month or so, but wanted to be able to record shows to watch later. This unit with the tuner worked so well in the living room that I purchased another for use in the bedroom. I connected each sets with COMPONENT cables and was surprised at the improvement over the standard audio and video cables. It was well worth the small extra cost. As a result some stations come in better OTA than they did via the local cable company which also used component cables. Eventually I will upgrade to HD, and when I do I will wish that these recorded in HD, but for now I am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
01/10/2013
By ,
Haven, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Magnavox DVD recorder with HDD and digital tuner is a great idea if it works. The one I received would not tune all the stations I currently receive with another TV and two others with digital converter boxes. I returned it and ordered another, since the telephone help techies could not help me. The second one worked the same. After reading other reviews, it is obvious Magnavox cannot provide tuners that work.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/16/2012
By ,
Central IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I live in an area where I get several stations OTA, but I was working when my fav shows were on. I didn't want to have to pay for a DIRECTV or Dish plan when all I needed was an OTA DVR. Some of them out there are stupidly expensive, this fit my budget just fine. Easy to set up recordings, pretty much like programming the old VCR! I'm sure this unit does more than I will ever need. ONLY complaint I have about this unit is that it's output resolution is not compatible with my SONY TV, can't quite get the whole picture full(even though there are multiple output settings), but the manual does state that it is not compatible with ALL TVs. Another plus is that you can watch one show and record another simply by using an inexpensive splitter BEFORE the unit!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A Great Buy and A Great Machine!

05/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my Magnavox HDD/DVR/DVD Recorder w/digital tuner (320 GB) as a birthday gift to myself in October of 2012 and I can honestly say, after a year and a half of use, this machine has been a great buy. I really put my purchases to the test. With this machine, watching TV is great and the best thing is that if you miss something, you can always rewind a live TV broadcast and pick up where you left off. As soon as you turn on the machine, it starts recording automatically onto the Hard Disc drive, either in the HDD mode or DVD mode and in the speed you choose (SP, LP, EP). You'll have hours upon hours of HDD space that may record on and you'll never miss a thing. Another feature I recently stumbled across is if you want to save a program, then you just press 'record' on the remote and the live TV broadcast is recorded onto the HDD. You may edit the programming to save only the parts you want to record. Amazing!
This machine replaced a DVD/VHS machine w/ digital tuner I had and it is a lot slimmer and lighter. And speaking of digital tuners, it is getting harder and harder to find a DVD machine that even offers a digital tuner. You don't need to buy an additional digital tuner box because it already has one built in. I have mine hooked up to cable and the image is in HD and looks just beautiful.
To permanently save recorded programs on HDD, it is recommended to back up on a blank DVD. You may also program the machine to record using timer recording, which is great if you are going away on vacation or just out to dinner. Over-all, I have been very pleased with this machine and I am planning on buying a second one because it is one of the few that still offers a built in digital tuner. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a new way to enjoy TV programming. Cheers!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

channel scan problem

01/09/2013
By ,
WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My cable carrier has both analog and digital channels. I tried the auto channel scan and set it to (cable analog/digital). It would scan the analog channels and then scan the digital channels, but once it finished only the digital channels would show. If I scanned using (cable analog setting) then it would pick up all the analog but no digital channels. I don't know if there is something wrong with the tuner or if this is just how it made, but this would not work for me since there were shows that I would like to record in both analog and digital.
Returned to Walmart for a refund, very disappointed with the Magnavox 320gig HDD/DVD recorder with digital tuner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good

05/27/2014
By ,
Madison, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It works. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product. Just what I have been looking for!

01/19/2014
By ,
Alameda CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a DVR that had a tuner that would pick up OTA [Over the air] signals, as I cut cable years ago. I have been using a DVD recorder, but I knew that a DVR would be able to record longer and with better quality. This DVR is SO MUCH BETTER than a DVD recorder! The quality is much better, and when I erase the recordings, it only takes 1-2 seconds, instead of having to wait a minute or so, when erasing DVD recordings. It quickly picked up all my local channels [63!] when I did the initial channel search, and programming was easy. I like this so much that I am thinking of getting another one for another room in the house. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent porduct

08/30/2013
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD recorder does everything that I want except for one i.e. it cannot join two titles together. Many times, TV series are aired on a weekly basis, and I would have liked to link the episodes together to form one complete movie. With this recorder, I can't.
Also in the "remove scene" mode, the recorded movie seems to freeze for a fraction of a second during replay. This is quite noticeable, but it is a minor inconvenience.
Apart from the above 2 "negatives", this is an excellent product. The recorded picture quality is great, and the use of the remote control is quite intuitive. It also uses low power, which means that the cooling fan does not come ON all the time, and so less dirt is sucked in the DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
DVDs play episodes sequentially ...
Posted 08/30/2013
If you have episodes, you can put them on a DVD and press PLAY. All titles (episodes) will auto-play with just a slight pause between episodes.
I hope you're pre-titling shows in the timer programming menu, 3rd option after setting a program and re-entering that menu (Add Title).
info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best HDD Recorder Since Panasonic's Discontinued

12/17/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It appears that Magnavox has cornered the North American market on HDD video recorders since Panasonic's recorders were discontinued.
I like this recorder. It has an enormous hard drive capacity for considerably less than that previously offered by Panasonic. There are, however, a few disappointments.
(1) It is a little noisy
(2) During playback from the hard drive, only one title plays at a time. The user has to manually select the next title for it to play.
(3) While there is a "special playback" option, it appears to only be available for CDs and VCDs - not DVDs.
FYI, I did contact customer support concerning items 2 and 3 (above). Page 77 of the Operating Manual also seems to support item 3.
All that being said, I'm not sorry I bought it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

These recorders work very well.

09/18/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 of these. My wife prefers to watch tv without advertisement. She's is retired and is not an electronic buff but she has no problems operating these units. I only know of one other manufacture that has a built in tuner. Then again you would be amazed at what I don't know. They perform as advertised and my wife will not do without if she can help it.
Important. The majority of units manufactured will not record high definition television. There is not an input available for HDMI. I know of only one bootleg unit that will record high definition but is very expensive. $3,000.
I had 3 other recorders that were destroyed by a power surge in October 2013. I've owned the previous units for around 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Complicated

03/23/2014
By ,
Wise, co. Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have had it for nearly two weeks and still not able to record anything!! I have set it and the time/date everyday only to turn it on next day and it be back on 2010 with some off the wall date and time...the instructions are very complicated and way to much of them. I still have not found what button I'm suppose to hit after getting everything set or if there is even a button to finish with??? Anyway, still going to try and figure it out. Wouldn't recommend buying unless your very tech savvy..
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Value

12/10/2012
By ,
Somewhere
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This HDD and DVD recorder is very good value for the money. So far, it performed well.
The only drawback I could see so far, is the menus. Rather taking you out one step, when exiting a menu choice (e.g, play an HDD title) it takes you all the way back. So you need to go through the same sequence of key presses. Other than that - it's a nice device. Overall: Works well, good capacity (my 500 GB model can keep over 200 hours videos in SP quality). If you go away for 8 weeks, and need to record 3 hours per day, it has more than enough room. (But you need to get a life, if you watch so much TV anyway.)
Another minor comment: The quick set-up did not work for me as documented, but after 10 minutes or so, I was able to get it up and running.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product- I can finally record my shows on TV

04/18/2014
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent quality of the picture..easy to use and the software download was very easy. I would recommend this for sure for someone just wanting to record movies and soccer games. I gave the meets expectations a good because the battery life could be a little longer. But they have an optional battery charger so that makes it still a great buy for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
-1point
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Pasco, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This model is disappointing in that it was very complicated to operate and understand, to many busy features with the onscreen menu and remote. The manual itself was 1/2" thick and took a tech to understand it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital T

05/17/2014
By ,
Crockett, Tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Doesn't do near what it says it will do!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
-1point
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Glad that I didnt give up!

02/01/2013
By ,
Hamburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After my first few attempts to get the recorder programmed, I was so frustrated that I was ready to pack it up and return it. The manual was confusing and not much help. My wife said that I had put so much work into deciding upon this Magnavox and that the reviews were good, and she recommended that I call customer service. I was so annoyed that at first I didnt want anything more to do with it. Well, eventually I calmed down, and I am glad that I took her advice because the techs directed me to the right pages and told me what to do. I am now very happy with this product; it's much better than the undependable Panasonic it replaced. If only the manual was more understandable, I would have given it 5 stars for the overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/03/2012
By ,
Amherst, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. The ability to pause live TV is invaluable. I really like how it is constantly recording to the hard drive so you can go back and view something if you want to. In fact, it saves the last 6 hrs of programming. I also like the size of the hard drive. I no longer have to worry about trying to find a tape with space on it before a program starts.
Yes, it would be nice to be able to look at a cable/sat on screen guide and just push one button for recording, but the people that buy the Magnavox HDD/DVR (myself included) don't want to pay DVR monthly fees just to get that feature. Setting the timer for recording is actually very easy. It's even easier than setting the timer on a VCR. Once a program is recorded, it appears as a separate box on the screen that you highlight with the remote. Once you highlight a program it goes into preview mode which is a nice added feature.
I marked "Value" down one notch only because it isn't cheap. Please don't misunderstand me though. It is a good value, and it's worth the money. But it isn't exactly inexpensive either.
It has very stylish looks in my opinion, and the build quality seems to be good.
I like the ability to record to a DVD. That's a definite bonus.
I do not like the remote. There are too many buttons, and layout could have been designed much better. But it works, and it's not a deal breaker.
Setup and connection were very easy, BUT the manual honestly does make it look daunting. There are so many options for connecting this unit, that one thing is certain in my opinion:
If you don't know what you currently have and how it is setup, you will likely need some help. I am basically referring to those individuals that aren't particularly "technology inclined". For example, if you don't feel comfortable with setup or if you called a friend or family member over to connect your existing setup, then you could have a problem deciding how to connect this HDD/DVR. Believe me you don't want to mess it up because higher voltages from a sat receiver could possibly damage the unit if it isn't installed properly. I'm not saying it's difficult, but you should have some basic understanding and ability before plugging it in.
I think it was an excellent purchase, and I was happy to say goodbye to my VCR.
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised

12/10/2012
By ,
Austin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the 500g model of this unit for two weeks and it has met every word of the description on this site. It is easy to set up and gives excellent recordings; both with HDD and DVD. It does not have its own TV guide built-in, but that's no problem since I use my iPad for that.
The timed programming is easy. I just use an antenna (rabbit ears) for reception. I get 14 channels with most in HD.
As far as I could find, this is the best unit for this purpose out there. Walmart shipped fast to my home and even beat their own delivery date by five days.
You won't go wrong with this unit. I had a Panasonic DVD recorder before this one and constantly had to do a hard reset after timed recording. No such problem with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great!!!!!

03/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well i gotta say it works and does what its supposed to very welll... i truely have no issues with it... the only thing that could be better is if it had a guide and made it slightly easier to program recording.. it feels like i am using my vcr the way you have to program it but other then that i love it.. it works i find it easy enought to use i have it in my bedroom and it gets lots of use so far no issues i have had it for a few weeks now.. so i would recomend it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next