Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good DVR

07/23/2014
By ,
Phillipsburg NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've always had good luck with magnavox and so far so good.Hooking it up was easy had to set clock a couple times read direction closely if auto time is unavailable in your cable or sat service.Works great as a daily record and watch device .I like that you can throw a DVD in it and watch .havent got into recording while channel surfing ,but presumably you would have to be channel surfing through the dvd to record from beginning.Pausing TV is cool Too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just a Bad One?

01/17/2013
By ,
PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
At first I thought this was a great recorder. Unfortunately, after a few weeks of using it I encountered several problems. First, like most recorders you can program it to record some shows every week. Although most did record, one recorded the wrong channel and one program disappeared completely. I thought it was strange and thought that maybe I had done something wrong. However, the next week two programs recorded the wrong channel and another disappeared from my list as before.
Another problem was with the "skip" feature. You can select to skip recording a weekly program if it happens to be a rerun which I thought was a great idea. After the program skips one week it resets to record the next week. At least that is what is supposed to happen. During the holidays, most shows are reruns so I put the skip on for each. The following week they all recorded except one program. For some reason the skip feature remained on that one program even though the others reset skip to off.
Since most of the reviews are positive I figured I would give it another chance. I returned the player and got an identical model in the hopes that I just happened to get a defective one and that it's not a defect with the product itself. I will write a positive review if I do not experience any of the problems with this one that I had with the last one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great!

11/20/2013
By ,
Columbus, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User friendly and does what I wanted it to do without having to rent one from the cable companies. Good quality picture and easy to hook up. Pretty straight forward controls like a regular VCR. Now I can watch Sons of Anarchy and Black List any time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent for those on antenna

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use an antenna to pick up our local stations. This unit records either on DVDs or a hard drive and it is great to have a choice. I had some problems figuring out the channels because it shows only single digit channels, so I called for help and found that when you actually program it, you can put in the digital channels. After that, it was smooth sailing. Setting programs are fast and you have a lot of choices when you are playing back from hard drive. Very, very pleased with this one. A little expensive, but worth it since it is not a monthly cable bill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Digital Tuner Claim Misleading

11/26/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this because the cable company switched to all digital channels and this product claimed to have a digital tuner. This is misleading. It does have a digital tuner, but will only tune OTA digital signals. This needs to be clarified in the item description.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
No clarification needed.
Posted 11/27/2012
The Mag does have a digital tuner for OTA antenna OR "CLEAR-QAM" channels, which are cable channels they send you UNscrambled.
However, the FCC recently enacted a Rule that allows cablecos to SCRAMBLE all their channels IF they go "all-digital."
So, its not the Mag that's at fault, it's the FCC-cableco business enterprise that's taking away your TV viewing opportunities, even those you pay a subscription fee for, like basic cable.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Overall good

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
But you can't watch one channel and record another. The tuner has to be on the channel it is recording. You can watch a recording while recording a new show at the same time though. And pause and skip live TV. And it is absolutely FREE!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works with my weak over air antenna signal

01/11/2013
By ,
Calif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I switched from satellite to a over air antenna I tried a Tivo with no luck.
I'm in a fringe area and get half strength signals at best from the antenna.
I have 3 TV's with digital tuners that get great pictures with the lower signal strength but the Tivo could not pull in any stations clearly.
This DVR gives me the same perfect picture I get from my tv's.
I hooked it up and made a recording to the hard drive and the recording was perfect.
The pausing of live TV also worked great.
I recorded a show and then burned a DVD from the hard drive and it also came out perfect.
So far I'm completely happy with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

EASY TO SET UP

05/17/2013
By ,
WASHINGTON, DC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The Magnavox HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320 GB is probably the easiest recorder to set up that I have ever owned. I have owned several. The Pros and Cons of this recorder compared to other recorders I have owned.
Recording programs is much easier without the hassle of recording on DVD-RW.
Deleting is a much faster process.
Picture quality is superior and recording capacity so much greater.
The manual is more user friendly than most manuals.
Dubbing from HDD to DVD is a long tedious process.
I found that the price was a little steep.
Hoping that the life expectancy of this recorder exceeds the others.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Hey, Its the only HDD/DVD Recorder In Town

12/04/2012
By ,
Seattle, Wa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have two machines the 500gb and now the 1Tb machine. It does a great job , but I have two thing I want to say about it.
1) My Panasonic DVD Recorder records a more colorful and brighter picture.
2) DVDs made on this machine respond very slowly. Press the 30 second skip. It seems to take 5-6 seconds to show that next frame. My old Toshiba analog HDD/DVD recorder responds in 2 seconds.
But as the only Digital Tunner Hard drive and dvd recorder around. Its a very good machine. Just wish you could jump from title 125 to 415 right away. My Toshiba allowed me to jump to any title page. And change the thumbnail photo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great

08/28/2013
By ,
Torrance, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this DVR because we needed a way to record via antenna and our older DVRs tuner couldn't handle digital TV signals. The setup was very easy and it works great. There's lots of storage for TV shows and scheduling shows to be recorded is easy and intuitive.
The quality of the recordings is great. The manual is actually well written with lots of pictures and easy to understand steps.
When Time Warner & CBS settle and we get CBS back I'll probably switch over to record via cable but then again it will be hard to beat the picture quality we get off the air (just using a cheap set of rabbit ears!)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

perfect replacement

08/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this to replace and old VCR. I needede something that could record both HD digital and
analog signals from my local cable company. Does that with ease and appears to be the only one that does. Tried a Phillips but it wouldn't record analog signals. Looks like I'll also be able to use my old VCR to transfer the tapes to disks for better storage.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Not a great DVR

08/23/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Order & delivery was very good, but the dvr could only scan and memorize 24 channels from my Times Warner account. There are many basic channels that I miss seeing on the dvr.
There was one special channel that I needed and it showed up for setting up the "Timer".
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great change from a VCR

05/19/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Sony DVD/VCR combination unit which recently broke. Eventually, the VCR section breaks after a while. I decided to make the change to a DVD recorder which had a digital tuner so I could copy from the tV to the dvd. After much research, I selected the Magnavox DVD Recorder with the 320 GB hard drive. The set-up was fairly easy. I didn't realize my tv has the HDMI and video components slots on my tv which give a better picture quality. I am enjoying the unit and am happy I selected it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fantastic

12/10/2012
By ,
new york
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was real upset my vcr broke and could not be replaced or fixed. The new ones have no tuners and are so expensive. This is so great. You can record with the dvr part and also the dvd recorder. It has a tuner. It was easy to install. It works great. Support when I had a few questions was wonderful. I got a big manual with it. Most places dont give you manuals any more. I might buy another one for another room. I am in the process of recording my vcr tapes to dvd's. I think that is what you have to do now.
Walmart had a great price for this. I did notice the price went up now. I got this on the holiday sales.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR!

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great DVR, don't know what else to say, no complaints whatsoever. highly recommended!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Just what I expected

09/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plays DVDs I've bought and ones I've recorded on my old recorder. Also records all available cable channels. I haven't tried all the features yet. Will write more later.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Best DVD recorder I've owned

12/23/2012
By ,
Ga.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my third DVD recorder. The first two cost about $100 each and had no hard drive, each lasted about a year and a half. While I have only owned this machine for a month, I could tell immediately it was a quality machine. First of all I was leery of spending the extra money for the hard drive since I have a DVR, but it has been a blessing. The editing features on this machine are FAR above those on my previous machines, and the hard drive makes for EASY editing out of commercials. I have been VERY happy with this product and highly recommend it. It may cost more than others, but I feel it is WORTH IT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Built-in tuner matters to me.

02/04/2013
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVR works well for what I needed (if your tv has multiple inputs):
a) recording unscrambled QAM cable channels via coax while watching other channels from the cable box
b) recording premium cable channels via rear composite connections
I tried connecting my cable service coax from the wall through the DVR to the cable box, but the RF signal loss was too much and the picture would break up several times an hour. Now I use a spitter to feed the DVR and cable box separately. The price was still much cheaper than the analog tuner Panasonic DVR I bought many years ago. I don't use OTA antenna reception.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works fine

08/22/2014
By ,
Hutchinson, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't sure about how it might work with an antenna, but it does great. I bought a Pioneer on e-bay but it doesn't have a digital tuner like this Magnavox does. I really love it, great purchase. I liked the fact that they dropped the price a little.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Do Not Buy !!!!!

12/20/2012
By ,
Levelland TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not play in the HDMI mode due to some copy protection so it is worthless to Buy.
Will only work in the 480i mode with RCA plugs so there is no reason to buy it.
This is only mentioned in the notes not in the General Instructions.
No one would buy it if they knew about the copy protection -- will not even play movies you make in the HDMI mode
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-9points
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next