Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Solid performer

01/01/2013
By ,
New Castle, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a couple of Magnavox HDD/DVD/VHS units from 2005 that are outstanding. Great editing features and easy to use. I was expecting the same machine this time, but with a digital tuner to be able to directly record the new channel frequencies. This unit is not the old semi-pro unit that I now have. Its still good, but I really hate the tuner that they have in the unit now. I found that I can't delete sub-channels from a main channel. i.e. If I want to delete cable channel 19.1, but want to keep other subchannels of 19 (i.e. 19.3 19.4 , etc.) I can't. Deletion of one channel takes all of channel 19 group out. I haven't tried editing anything recorded yet, but expect similar flexibility as the older units.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Half way there.

07/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No volume control. So still have to use both remotes.
Stuck on 1 channel watching/recording.
No watching something else while recording other channel.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
CHANGE TO TV IMPUT
Posted 07/16/2014
YOU HAVE TO CHANGE TO TV IMPUT SO THAT YOU CAN SURF OR WATCH OTHER CHANNELS ON TELEVISION WHILE YOU ARE RECORDING. IT WILL SWITCH FROM THE DVR TO THE TV JUST LIKE IT DID WITH VCR'S IN THE OLD DAYS. YOU CAN CHOOSE THE TV IMPUT ON YOUR TV REMOTE CONTROL OR ON YOUR DVR REMOTE CONTROL WHICH IS LOCATED AT THE TOP WHICH HAS A BUTTON DTV/TV OR SOURCE. YOU CAN ALSO WATCH YOUR RECORDED PROGRAMS ON THE HARD DRIVE OR A DVD ON THE DVD PLAYER WHILE YOU ARE RECORDING. THE KEY IS TO CHANGE THE SOURCE/IMPUT. IF YOU NEED HELP JUST LOOK IT UP IN THE MANUAL IN THE RECORDING SECTION. HOPE THIS HELPS.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Considering to buy another one!

01/18/2013
By ,
Moreno Valley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit offers a superb recording capability, its picture reproduction is outstanding and over all,
it does what it was intended to do. Its design with HDD and DVD sure makes it a must have re-
corder. DVD will give you up to 6 hours of recording time, and the HDD at slow speed will give
in excess of 300+ hours of recording time. The only one thing that I noticed was that once in a while it will freeze on commands, but it is not a problem at all for turning the unit off/on will correct it and it does not happen a lot. Over all, I am pleased with it, and I am considering to buy another one. Its manual is comprehensive and relatively easy to follow. I did not have any problems getting it to work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

better than nothing

03/28/2013
By ,
Lancaster,OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product regardless of HD size pretty much performs the same. I give it a 4 for availability, since I find this is the only HDD DVD recorder currently made for consumer use with a digital tuner. Which also allows for better picture quality than a unit used with a converter box. And a 1 for editing uses. Personally, I prefer my Panasonic E85 machine that finally died after 8 years, and a couple repairs known to cause problems. This Magnavox doesn't come close to the features that I had. But, since this machine is better than nothing at all for those of us that want this type of machine, it has to be. The machine is fine for recording movies to be later dubbed to DVD, or recording a show to be later watched. But, when it comes to editing an hour show or two hour show or movie you may want, it can be a nightmare and drive you to drink. The procedure for editing is simple enough, again, not as good as my E85, but satisfactory, but the final result is confusing. Normally when editing out a commercial, you mark a spot immediately after the last scene, or at the fade out, and immediately prior to the next scene, preferably again at the black, and delete the middle. Upon review, the edit looks fine, and many times like a scene change. Now comes the aggravating part. When the show is dubbed to disc, for some reason, the disc plays back with a short burst of deleted material from the very end of the commercial. It's like the laser reverts back to the last split second scene of the commercial instead of the blank portion. My 85 never did that. It was a precise cut. I have allowed what I could of blank area following the last scene and waited frame by frame into a couple of frames into the new scene and previewed the break, and it looks great. Many times on playback, that last split second of commercial is still there ruining the show you just worked so hard to save. In many cases, you cannot see it on the preview nor when viewing the material on the HD, but on the dubbed disc, it is there.
Unlike my 85, you cannot record while dubbing. But my 85 was a $500 machine compared to this $229 unit. You get what you pay for. Except digital was not around when I bought the 85. The 85 had an analog tuner. I record from OTA now. No more satellite. Why? I got tired of all those channels and nothing to watch, and 1/3 of my bill paying for commercials. I can get those for free.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Bought for my 90 year old mother

07/07/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I set it up for my Mom- 90 years old - great picture
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Closed caption not working on cable QAM digital

11/10/2012
By ,
Eureka, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mom bought a Magnavox to replace her old VCR that was not working good. I setup the Magnavox for my Mom because I have a background with computers.
Her cable company in northern CA still uses analog along with digital channels. The channels were recently changed around so now it seems the analog and digital channels match. So for example, digital 3.1 and analog 3 both have the same shows on them.
I bought a HDMI cable because I wanted the best picture so I setup all the recording to the HDD on digital channels. My Mom is hard of hearing and likes to use the closed caption. First thing she noticed is that the closed caption was not working on the recording and it use to work on her VCR.
I checked it out and found that it says you are suppose to turn DTV CC to Service 1 and Record CC to On and that is what I did. However, I still could not view the closed caption on either HDMI or RCA output. In addition, I tested recording and the closed captions still do not show on the recording of a digital channels.
So I changed everything to analog and the closed caption works fine. Note I can only view them over the RCA output and not over the HDMI but I assume that is normal for analog.
I called Magnavox tech support and he said I was doing everything correct as far as he can tell. He said it might be something wrong with the cable companies signal.
My Mom has two Samsung digital HDTVs and both get closed caption from analog and digital channels when hooked directly to the cable so this seems to indicate the cable company might not be the problem. I guess it could be something bad in the cable signal where the Samsung TV works but the Magnavox does not.
After the Magnavox tech support guy could not help I thought I would test an antenna which is all digital. I hooked up the antenna on the Magnavox and scanned the channels and the closed caption worked fine from the digital OTA channels. I did not test recording but I am pretty sure if I could see the closed caption that recording would work.
Since closed caption on the Magnavox works on digital OTA and not digital cable there must be some difference between the two.
So I can’t say for certain if it is a problem with the Magnavox or cable company or both but the fact remains I can’t get any closed captions to work from the Magnavox digital channels using my cable company as the source.
Also if the Magnavox is the problem and not working correctly I don't know if it is just my box malfunctioning or the way they are all designed.
Using analog channels on the Magnavox works fine for now but I am afraid that in the future the cable company could go all digital like some cable companies have already done.
Other than not being able to get closed caption to work on digital channels on the Magnavox I think the unit is almost perfect and I really like it so I gave it a 4 rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Read The Manual

01/30/2013
By ,
HENDERSON, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up is more complicated than the old VCR's. In addition to cable in/cable out, you have to make connections to your TV video ports. The manual doesn't know what kind of TV you have so much is left for you to figure out. i.e., The old way was the VCR took over when you turned it on and were on channel 3. On my TV using the "TV" remote control, you have to tell the TV to look for the DVD recorder in the proper video connection by using the TV remote Menu selections. Once selected you can then see the set up screens for the recorder and go from there.
Regardless, once you get past a little confusion and get comfortable, it works great!!! Lots of room to easily record and copying to disc is a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised and Reviewed

08/12/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I want to thank all of the earlier reviewers, whose comments and advice helped me a lot. As for my experience, I purchased this product for two reasons: to transfer VHS home videos to DVDs and, second, to replace our aging VCR to do time-shifting of over-cable broadcasts. I had no troubles setting up the machine to do either. I should note that we have a simple and somewhat out-of-date setup, with basic analog cable (no cable or satellite box) and an old-fashioned analog TV with component inputs. I am not a video connoisseur (obviously) so I can't comment on the quality of the recordings or picture. But overall I am pleased, and particularly so the value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

06/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DVR for the price. Have not tried all features yet, but the recording and pausing of movies is mostly what I wanted. What surprised most me was the fast delivery of the DVR by Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

good

07/09/2014
By ,
raleigh, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent product for my needs.

06/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this unit to back up a high quality standard definition video camera used at a church. It has done what we wanted and allowed us to to edit the service to keep it within time limits for transmission.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works great

10/25/2012
By ,
Canton, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The picture quality is great. I got it to hook an antenna to it and make an older tv work. I got one of these for each TV set. Both work great!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Can't beat a simple subscription free DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Tucson AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've waited years for a subscription free DVR and this is awesome when compared to the alternatives.
It does, however have room for improvement. Cheap and tedious menu system and few if any shortcuts. For instance, want the Captions on? No cc button, open the menu and navigate with a number of button presses. Then it records with the captions embedded in the video.
Biggest complaint is that "live" tv using DVR features is in SP quality with no way of changing this to HQ. Not a big deal but still a pretty silly restriction.
Regardless of some of the shortcomings, this is at least 1000 times better than a DVD recorder or alone.
I am buying one for my brother for Christmas...maybe even my mom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good so far

12/21/2012
By ,
Chicago area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only have had the machine for a few weeks. So far it has worked fine for me. I Like being able to set my own skip forward & back time intervals. I Set it for 1 minute for normal programs to bounce through commercials. Set it for 30 seconds to be able to watch a football game in 1 hour (skip from play end to the beginning of the next play.)
The only complaint I have is that there are no volume buttons on the remote for some reason. This means that I must keep another remote handy to control the volume on the TV. Another minor issue to me is that the picture quality using the HDMI output is no better than using the composite component output. But, the picture quality is very good none the less.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works nicely with 'Free' Antenna

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With older VCR unit the Antenna wouldn't function due to analog to digital interface. This unit has a computer hard drive equivalent that makes the operation self contained (no need for DVR disk). Clear recording picture. Hint - get a HDMI and use with the color cables. The instruction seem to indicate one or the other, but found that misleading.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/23/2012
By ,
Northridge, CA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As advertised, the Magnavox HDD, DVR, records in SD mode and in Aspect Ratio 4:3.
Via HDMI, uploaded at 1080p, to a Sony Bravia LCD TV, and resolution was very good.
Receiving the HD signal was good, there is a signal tester, and receives weak signals good also.
Setup features and function was good and easy to use.
Manual was well-written and detailed.
I recorded a TV movie, edited the commercials out successfully, but when I burned it on DVD, and tested it, there was no sound 2/3 of the way on the DVD. I also finalized it and had the same result. I did a second DVD, and had the same result. I returned it for this reason. On playing it on a JVC DVD player, Panasonic DVD player, and my laptop, the sound was there.
Also, when playing on a different DVD player, the Aspect ratio is 4:3 because that is the default, and must change the TV to wide or zoom to fill a newer LCD TV with aspect ration 16:9. This is because it uses SD and older technology for an analog TV with aspect ratio 4:3.
If you don't mind the older technology and use it for time-shifting programs. This machine is fine. I don't think a 1 TB HDD is necessary. a 320TB and 500TB is more than adequate as you will be deleting the shows after you watch or if you edit them, burn them to DVD for archiving and future viewing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

needed

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was a gift for my wife. Her old one went away. This one is different, but she is learning.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This is one great machine

12/19/2012
By ,
henderson nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 2003 I purchased a Toshiba DVD Player with Lifetime Basic TIVO Service built in. I loved it and used just about every day. UNfortunely it died on me 2 years ago. I have been looking for a replacement since then but I did not want to pay a monthly fee. This is the ideal replacement. First my former machint was 80gb versus th Magnavox 320 gb and of course the Magnavox also has a dvd recorder. I read most of the reviews and the negative ones seemed to me to be people who got a factory defective machine or people who did not read the manuel. I had the magnavox connected up and running with channesl programmed in about 15 min. One of the compaints was it didnot record HD as I have this connected to a 32 inch SD Toshiba tube tv it not a problem. I think some buyers might have not understood what the HDD stands for Hard Disc Drive. The picture on my 7 year old tv seems to be sligtly better when i have the Magnavox on. I have only had this for 2 weeks and have not had a chance yet to dub from HDD to DVD yet. Before I do I will read the manuel thoroughly. My technical assessment is this is one great piece of video equipment for recording tv. The only improvement I can think of at this time is to give it the ability to record more than one program at the same time. But as it is I LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Awesome recorder except for the remote

02/15/2013
By ,
Berkeley, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually do not write reviews. But i used to have model MDR513H and lasted about 3 years till i had a power surge and even when it was on a surge protector, it still would not show a picture. I loved this so much i used it all the time. I order the new model MDR533H and i would have gave it 5 stars. But do not like the remote, i was so used to the old style remote, the new style is harder to use. The older remote was so easy that i got used to using it without looking at it.
The only thing i like about the new model is that it show the signal strength of the antenna and that is a plus. I just hope I get used to the new remote but doubt it. i may use the old remote with the new model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next