Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Pasco, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This model is disappointing in that it was very complicated to operate and understand, to many busy features with the onscreen menu and remote. The manual itself was 1/2" thick and took a tech to understand it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

These recorders work very well.

09/18/2013
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 3 of these. My wife prefers to watch tv without advertisement. She's is retired and is not an electronic buff but she has no problems operating these units. I only know of one other manufacture that has a built in tuner. Then again you would be amazed at what I don't know. They perform as advertised and my wife will not do without if she can help it.
Important. The majority of units manufactured will not record high definition television. There is not an input available for HDMI. I know of only one bootleg unit that will record high definition but is very expensive. $3,000.
I had 3 other recorders that were destroyed by a power surge in October 2013. I've owned the previous units for around 5 years.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Glad that I didnt give up!

02/01/2013
By ,
Hamburg
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After my first few attempts to get the recorder programmed, I was so frustrated that I was ready to pack it up and return it. The manual was confusing and not much help. My wife said that I had put so much work into deciding upon this Magnavox and that the reviews were good, and she recommended that I call customer service. I was so annoyed that at first I didnt want anything more to do with it. Well, eventually I calmed down, and I am glad that I took her advice because the techs directed me to the right pages and told me what to do. I am now very happy with this product; it's much better than the undependable Panasonic it replaced. If only the manual was more understandable, I would have given it 5 stars for the overall rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/03/2012
By ,
Amherst, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. The ability to pause live TV is invaluable. I really like how it is constantly recording to the hard drive so you can go back and view something if you want to. In fact, it saves the last 6 hrs of programming. I also like the size of the hard drive. I no longer have to worry about trying to find a tape with space on it before a program starts.
Yes, it would be nice to be able to look at a cable/sat on screen guide and just push one button for recording, but the people that buy the Magnavox HDD/DVR (myself included) don't want to pay DVR monthly fees just to get that feature. Setting the timer for recording is actually very easy. It's even easier than setting the timer on a VCR. Once a program is recorded, it appears as a separate box on the screen that you highlight with the remote. Once you highlight a program it goes into preview mode which is a nice added feature.
I marked "Value" down one notch only because it isn't cheap. Please don't misunderstand me though. It is a good value, and it's worth the money. But it isn't exactly inexpensive either.
It has very stylish looks in my opinion, and the build quality seems to be good.
I like the ability to record to a DVD. That's a definite bonus.
I do not like the remote. There are too many buttons, and layout could have been designed much better. But it works, and it's not a deal breaker.
Setup and connection were very easy, BUT the manual honestly does make it look daunting. There are so many options for connecting this unit, that one thing is certain in my opinion:
If you don't know what you currently have and how it is setup, you will likely need some help. I am basically referring to those individuals that aren't particularly "technology inclined". For example, if you don't feel comfortable with setup or if you called a friend or family member over to connect your existing setup, then you could have a problem deciding how to connect this HDD/DVR. Believe me you don't want to mess it up because higher voltages from a sat receiver could possibly damage the unit if it isn't installed properly. I'm not saying it's difficult, but you should have some basic understanding and ability before plugging it in.
I think it was an excellent purchase, and I was happy to say goodbye to my VCR.
Enjoy!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

good

06/06/2014
By ,
pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
its a good dvr. there aren't many out there to compare it to. it is slow deleting titles, but gets the job done. program menu is weird maybe thats why there are so many refurbished available. once you get used to it its not too bad. i would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A perfect gift

06/17/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No more missing shows and movies. If you are a TV lover this is your petfect gift. The set up process is very easy and works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised

12/10/2012
By ,
Austin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had the 500g model of this unit for two weeks and it has met every word of the description on this site. It is easy to set up and gives excellent recordings; both with HDD and DVD. It does not have its own TV guide built-in, but that's no problem since I use my iPad for that.
The timed programming is easy. I just use an antenna (rabbit ears) for reception. I get 14 channels with most in HD.
As far as I could find, this is the best unit for this purpose out there. Walmart shipped fast to my home and even beat their own delivery date by five days.
You won't go wrong with this unit. I had a Panasonic DVD recorder before this one and constantly had to do a hard reset after timed recording. No such problem with this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product. Just what I have been looking for!

01/19/2014
By ,
Alameda CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a DVR that had a tuner that would pick up OTA [Over the air] signals, as I cut cable years ago. I have been using a DVD recorder, but I knew that a DVR would be able to record longer and with better quality. This DVR is SO MUCH BETTER than a DVD recorder! The quality is much better, and when I erase the recordings, it only takes 1-2 seconds, instead of having to wait a minute or so, when erasing DVD recordings. It quickly picked up all my local channels [63!] when I did the initial channel search, and programming was easy. I like this so much that I am thinking of getting another one for another room in the house. Great product!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Works well

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up was easy. No issues to date. Beats paying extra for cable/satellite DVR.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVD/HDD Recorder

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used the unit for about two weeks and it meets my expectations. I was looking for something with HDD recording, not just DVD recording cause that's why my Samsung DVD recorder died after 7 yrs. I'm really happy with my purchase so far. I'm able to record my TV shows in HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Good Deal!

04/27/2014
By ,
Greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent price for an excellent product. Plenty of space for recording. Easily programmable. Especially like being able to enter the name of the program ahead of time so I can easily identify after recording. Also like the ability to skip a week of recording when there is a rerun or special preempting regular programming without reprogramming for the next new episode. Program details shown when display channel command is used is also handy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Easy to learn how to use

12/10/2012
By ,
SAN DIEGO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I mainly use this product to record TV show that I would miss at night on prime time. This tool is much better than any VCR on the market. Given thumb nails to choose which TV shows or movies you record over a period time is great. Better than having to go through a VCR tape to fine the right show or moive. Having the option to label each show and to set up chapters is great. I have only had this product a week now and there so many things you can do with this product. Record/PLAY DVD, Record/PLAY HDD, Dubb recorded moives from HDD to DVD. If you hook up your old VCR to the Recorder you could dubb your old VCR tapes to DVD disks. So far I am very happy with the Magnavox HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great recorder but complicated to operate

10/02/2012
By ,
Glasgow, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great DVR for the price. The instructions are difficult to follow and a lot of the features I have not attempted to understand yet. It does what it needs to do and the shows look great that you record.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are available
Posted 10/03/2012
Here's an index of help files available for everything from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Solid performer

01/01/2013
By ,
New Castle, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a couple of Magnavox HDD/DVD/VHS units from 2005 that are outstanding. Great editing features and easy to use. I was expecting the same machine this time, but with a digital tuner to be able to directly record the new channel frequencies. This unit is not the old semi-pro unit that I now have. Its still good, but I really hate the tuner that they have in the unit now. I found that I can't delete sub-channels from a main channel. i.e. If I want to delete cable channel 19.1, but want to keep other subchannels of 19 (i.e. 19.3 19.4 , etc.) I can't. Deletion of one channel takes all of channel 19 group out. I haven't tried editing anything recorded yet, but expect similar flexibility as the older units.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-1point
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

As Advertised and Reviewed

08/12/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First of all, I want to thank all of the earlier reviewers, whose comments and advice helped me a lot. As for my experience, I purchased this product for two reasons: to transfer VHS home videos to DVDs and, second, to replace our aging VCR to do time-shifting of over-cable broadcasts. I had no troubles setting up the machine to do either. I should note that we have a simple and somewhat out-of-date setup, with basic analog cable (no cable or satellite box) and an old-fashioned analog TV with component inputs. I am not a video connoisseur (obviously) so I can't comment on the quality of the recordings or picture. But overall I am pleased, and particularly so the value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

better than nothing

03/28/2013
By ,
Lancaster,OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product regardless of HD size pretty much performs the same. I give it a 4 for availability, since I find this is the only HDD DVD recorder currently made for consumer use with a digital tuner. Which also allows for better picture quality than a unit used with a converter box. And a 1 for editing uses. Personally, I prefer my Panasonic E85 machine that finally died after 8 years, and a couple repairs known to cause problems. This Magnavox doesn't come close to the features that I had. But, since this machine is better than nothing at all for those of us that want this type of machine, it has to be. The machine is fine for recording movies to be later dubbed to DVD, or recording a show to be later watched. But, when it comes to editing an hour show or two hour show or movie you may want, it can be a nightmare and drive you to drink. The procedure for editing is simple enough, again, not as good as my E85, but satisfactory, but the final result is confusing. Normally when editing out a commercial, you mark a spot immediately after the last scene, or at the fade out, and immediately prior to the next scene, preferably again at the black, and delete the middle. Upon review, the edit looks fine, and many times like a scene change. Now comes the aggravating part. When the show is dubbed to disc, for some reason, the disc plays back with a short burst of deleted material from the very end of the commercial. It's like the laser reverts back to the last split second scene of the commercial instead of the blank portion. My 85 never did that. It was a precise cut. I have allowed what I could of blank area following the last scene and waited frame by frame into a couple of frames into the new scene and previewed the break, and it looks great. Many times on playback, that last split second of commercial is still there ruining the show you just worked so hard to save. In many cases, you cannot see it on the preview nor when viewing the material on the HD, but on the dubbed disc, it is there.
Unlike my 85, you cannot record while dubbing. But my 85 was a $500 machine compared to this $229 unit. You get what you pay for. Except digital was not around when I bought the 85. The 85 had an analog tuner. I record from OTA now. No more satellite. Why? I got tired of all those channels and nothing to watch, and 1/3 of my bill paying for commercials. I can get those for free.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Considering to buy another one!

01/18/2013
By ,
Moreno Valley, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit offers a superb recording capability, its picture reproduction is outstanding and over all,
it does what it was intended to do. Its design with HDD and DVD sure makes it a must have re-
corder. DVD will give you up to 6 hours of recording time, and the HDD at slow speed will give
in excess of 300+ hours of recording time. The only one thing that I noticed was that once in a while it will freeze on commands, but it is not a problem at all for turning the unit off/on will correct it and it does not happen a lot. Over all, I am pleased with it, and I am considering to buy another one. Its manual is comprehensive and relatively easy to follow. I did not have any problems getting it to work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Closed caption not working on cable QAM digital

11/10/2012
By ,
Eureka, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My mom bought a Magnavox to replace her old VCR that was not working good. I setup the Magnavox for my Mom because I have a background with computers.
Her cable company in northern CA still uses analog along with digital channels. The channels were recently changed around so now it seems the analog and digital channels match. So for example, digital 3.1 and analog 3 both have the same shows on them.
I bought a HDMI cable because I wanted the best picture so I setup all the recording to the HDD on digital channels. My Mom is hard of hearing and likes to use the closed caption. First thing she noticed is that the closed caption was not working on the recording and it use to work on her VCR.
I checked it out and found that it says you are suppose to turn DTV CC to Service 1 and Record CC to On and that is what I did. However, I still could not view the closed caption on either HDMI or RCA output. In addition, I tested recording and the closed captions still do not show on the recording of a digital channels.
So I changed everything to analog and the closed caption works fine. Note I can only view them over the RCA output and not over the HDMI but I assume that is normal for analog.
I called Magnavox tech support and he said I was doing everything correct as far as he can tell. He said it might be something wrong with the cable companies signal.
My Mom has two Samsung digital HDTVs and both get closed caption from analog and digital channels when hooked directly to the cable so this seems to indicate the cable company might not be the problem. I guess it could be something bad in the cable signal where the Samsung TV works but the Magnavox does not.
After the Magnavox tech support guy could not help I thought I would test an antenna which is all digital. I hooked up the antenna on the Magnavox and scanned the channels and the closed caption worked fine from the digital OTA channels. I did not test recording but I am pretty sure if I could see the closed caption that recording would work.
Since closed caption on the Magnavox works on digital OTA and not digital cable there must be some difference between the two.
So I can’t say for certain if it is a problem with the Magnavox or cable company or both but the fact remains I can’t get any closed captions to work from the Magnavox digital channels using my cable company as the source.
Also if the Magnavox is the problem and not working correctly I don't know if it is just my box malfunctioning or the way they are all designed.
Using analog channels on the Magnavox works fine for now but I am afraid that in the future the cable company could go all digital like some cable companies have already done.
Other than not being able to get closed caption to work on digital channels on the Magnavox I think the unit is almost perfect and I really like it so I gave it a 4 rating.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Read The Manual

01/30/2013
By ,
HENDERSON, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up is more complicated than the old VCR's. In addition to cable in/cable out, you have to make connections to your TV video ports. The manual doesn't know what kind of TV you have so much is left for you to figure out. i.e., The old way was the VCR took over when you turned it on and were on channel 3. On my TV using the "TV" remote control, you have to tell the TV to look for the DVD recorder in the proper video connection by using the TV remote Menu selections. Once selected you can then see the set up screens for the recorder and go from there.
Regardless, once you get past a little confusion and get comfortable, it works great!!! Lots of room to easily record and copying to disc is a breeze.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next