Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(937 Reviews) 812
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
528
4 stars
267
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%830 out of 937reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
663 Questions | 2,191 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
528
4 stars
267
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
Springfield, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great recorder. It has more features than I had imagined. My only regret is that I cannot transfer from the DVR hard drive to my computer hard drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Love it

11/01/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HDD and DVD Recorder is great. Better than my tunered DVD recorders. Cheaper and more versatile. I can see my DVD recorders being replaced soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
10/04/2012
By ,
NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I tried hooking this up so my Time Warner cable box ran thru it, but I could not get it to work only by itself.... Also, the clarity of the picture was not good at all. Returned it to store.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NY
Posted 11/12/2012
I did read your help files and it did not work for my situation. Thanks.
-1point
You missed the help file, eh!?
Posted 10/05/2012
Too bad you didn't copy and paste one of the links I gave in my Review, where you could find answers to questions and learn that you should NOT place the Mag behind a cable box.
Here's the link for others... I highly recommend you check it out before you flame out:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/08/2012
By ,
Campbell,Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great DVR/DVD player/recorder, works about 2 years on a daily basis then you will have to replace it. This is primarily due to hard drive failure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Absolutely false!
Posted 11/09/2012
These Funai HDD/DVD recorders use top-of-the-line HDDs and have PROVEN to be very reliable. Many people, including me, have the original 1st gen unit, the Philips 3575, and use them HARD and they're still going strong. All my extensive testing done to write the help files at avsforum.com were done on ONE of my 3575's and it's still solid as a rock.
With the 513 and 515, a few people started having "freezes" (unit appears dead) which was caused by tuner interference. There's a simple workaround, the Soft Reset, that revives those units, and Funai added a FW Update to take care oif the problem permanently (Ver02C).
I have personally never heard of a Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder having a verified HDD failure, and I keep track of EVERYTHING on these units.
Here's an index of info and help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
No such experience!
Posted 11/08/2012
Any HDD can fail at any time, but the HDDs in these Mag HDD/DVD recorders are top-of-the line!
They've been virtually fail-proof in the 1st 5 years of actual historical use. A few have "frozen" (appeared dead) from interfering TV signals, leading people who haven't yet gone to avsforum.com (which I've linked to many times) to believe their HDD might have crashed. However, their "freezes" are quickly remedied by a Soft Reset.
I have three original, 1st gen. Philips 2007 models in this series that are running strong after more than 5 years. Many others have the same experience.
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent DVR

11/26/2012
By ,
Fresno, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This machine has met my expectations. Glad to not have to check tapes or discs for remaining space. This machine has all the space I need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/25/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product. I now own 2. The only thing that would make this better would be to have the capability to tune and record in HD.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great DVR

04/08/2014
By ,
Seagoville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a friend and she is very happy with it. She has substituted this unit for the cable box she had, and is now saving a lot, with no monthly cable fee's!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Greatest invention since the TV

11/24/2012
By ,
Decatur, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth the money,,,Now I don`t have to pay the Cable company for renting one of theres...This meets all my expiations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Exceeded my expectations for the money

04/07/2014
By ,
Apalachin, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a difficult time finding a DVR recorder with a tuner. This unit cost a little bit more than a unit without a tuner and the HDD recording and dubbing feature was a bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Veery Useful

11/29/2012
By ,
Saint Augustine, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item, but it does lack having the capability of the remote being able to be progrmed to operate the television.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/24/2012
By ,
Clarksville, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If the system had a built in TV guide it would be 5 star. That's the only thing I have against it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only fee free recorder

03/24/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was the only fee free recorder I found on the market. It will recorder tv and copy them to either its harddrive or dvd. My main issue is that it does not have an HDMI input for personal High def recordings, such as cameras. My other issue is the inability-restrictions on recording rented movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent buy for the price

04/09/2014
By ,
Chattanooga, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have reviewed several of its capabilities and will try more specific features in the next several weeks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
12/03/2012
By ,
Placerville, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, I record off my antenna--no cable or satellite bill!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
11/26/2012
By ,
Tampa, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and easy to use. Great when you do not have a cable box.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox is a great DVR

04/14/2013
By ,
West Palm Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Two quibbles with the Magnavox:
1) Why they didn't make this a BlueRay player ?
2) The remote control stinks
Aside from that, this is a very good product and well worth the price. I was looking for a replacement of my Philips DVR since the player went south. I wanted a combo DVD player, hard disk recorder. I didn't want to pay TiVo a monthly fee for their recorder. I don't subscribe to cable since I get about 6 channels over the air in my area. We don't watch that much TV. We want to be able to time-shift shows if we want. This recorder fits the bill. Works like a charm. The recorder's firmware is almost identical to the Philips so it was a very easy transition. This is really the only choice if you want a DVR/DVD Player but it's a very good choice!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Excellent porduct

08/30/2013
By ,
Montreal, Quebec
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This DVD recorder does everything that I want except for one i.e. it cannot join two titles together. Many times, TV series are aired on a weekly basis, and I would have liked to link the episodes together to form one complete movie. With this recorder, I can't.
Also in the "remove scene" mode, the recorded movie seems to freeze for a fraction of a second during replay. This is quite noticeable, but it is a minor inconvenience.
Apart from the above 2 "negatives", this is an excellent product. The recorded picture quality is great, and the use of the remote control is quite intuitive. It also uses low power, which means that the cooling fan does not come ON all the time, and so less dirt is sucked in the DVD recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
DVDs play episodes sequentially ...
Posted 08/30/2013
If you have episodes, you can put them on a DVD and press PLAY. All titles (episodes) will auto-play with just a slight pause between episodes.
I hope you're pre-titling shows in the timer programming menu, 3rd option after setting a program and re-entering that menu (Add Title).
info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great dvr for the money

11/26/2012
By ,
Cleveland Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does take a lot of learning to use many features
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

I liked this so much I bought a second unit!

01/30/2013
By ,
Roseville, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to get out from under the cable payments and I wanted to continue using my two large well-functioning analog TVs. I had been using a converter box and a few amplified antennas for a month or so, but wanted to be able to record shows to watch later. This unit with the tuner worked so well in the living room that I purchased another for use in the bedroom. I connected each sets with COMPONENT cables and was surprised at the improvement over the standard audio and video cables. It was well worth the small extra cost. As a result some stations come in better OTA than they did via the local cable company which also used component cables. Eventually I will upgrade to HD, and when I do I will wish that these recorded in HD, but for now I am very happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
361-380 of 813 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next