Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Record media in high resolution with the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder. This HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner lets you watch, forward, rewind or freeze live TV while recording. With a hard drive capacity of 320 GB, you can put an end to disorganized drawers of VHS tapes by selecting media to watch in-menu. Featuring 1080p up-conversion, the Magnavox HDD DVR DVD Recorder provides faithfully high definition recording of your favorite shows or movies. Unlike TiVo, there is no monthly subscription fee and it functions much like a VCR. With 4-way dubbing and Dolby Digital stream out, the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner will become an indispensible part of your TV-watching regimen. A DV-input allows you to connect the device to other electronics for storage so that you can keep recording your favorite shows. If you're looking for a smart digital recording solution, consider buying the Magnavox 320GB HDD DVR and DVD Recorder.
Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(939 Reviews) 814
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation89%832 out of 939reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
529
4 stars
268
3 stars
48
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 361 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DTV tuner gets Cable TV HD channels.

12/26/2013
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the only US DVR with 3 tuners available to buy according to reviews and product info. The DTV QAM Tuner scanned several choices of area HD channels, up to 4 for some. Makes my 20" flatscreen tube TV look alot better, just write down your fave DTV channel numbers. Easy to use and fun to find the best versions of area network TV with out a cable box. It even cleans up Basic Cable channels on a tube TV ! Oh, you can record from the best looking DTV channels on a DVD or built in HDD. Price is going up on this unit online, even used. Walmart online was the best NEW price and had fast delivery to the store for pick up. Way to go Magnavox !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 362 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

This is one great machine

12/19/2012
By ,
henderson nv
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
In 2003 I purchased a Toshiba DVD Player with Lifetime Basic TIVO Service built in. I loved it and used just about every day. UNfortunely it died on me 2 years ago. I have been looking for a replacement since then but I did not want to pay a monthly fee. This is the ideal replacement. First my former machint was 80gb versus th Magnavox 320 gb and of course the Magnavox also has a dvd recorder. I read most of the reviews and the negative ones seemed to me to be people who got a factory defective machine or people who did not read the manuel. I had the magnavox connected up and running with channesl programmed in about 15 min. One of the compaints was it didnot record HD as I have this connected to a 32 inch SD Toshiba tube tv it not a problem. I think some buyers might have not understood what the HDD stands for Hard Disc Drive. The picture on my 7 year old tv seems to be sligtly better when i have the Magnavox on. I have only had this for 2 weeks and have not had a chance yet to dub from HDD to DVD yet. Before I do I will read the manuel thoroughly. My technical assessment is this is one great piece of video equipment for recording tv. The only improvement I can think of at this time is to give it the ability to record more than one program at the same time. But as it is I LOVE IT
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 363 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Awesome recorder except for the remote

02/15/2013
By ,
Berkeley, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I usually do not write reviews. But i used to have model MDR513H and lasted about 3 years till i had a power surge and even when it was on a surge protector, it still would not show a picture. I loved this so much i used it all the time. I order the new model MDR533H and i would have gave it 5 stars. But do not like the remote, i was so used to the old style remote, the new style is harder to use. The older remote was so easy that i got used to using it without looking at it.
The only thing i like about the new model is that it show the signal strength of the antenna and that is a plus. I just hope I get used to the new remote but doubt it. i may use the old remote with the new model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 364 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Magnavox HDD DVR blury picture

02/03/2013
By ,
NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this Magnavox HDD DVR to have an inexpensive, no monthly payment way to record TV programs off the air, and pause TV and then fast forward through commercials.
Works fine but the picture quality was worse when antenna signal was routed through the DVR. Too bad, returned DR and purchased a TIVO Premiere currently on sale for $99.00. But you must add in the monthly cost of $14.99 to get programming guide. Oh well, TIVO works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 365 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Glad I bought it, but . . .

05/29/2014
By ,
Millcreek, Utah
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product arrived quickly and is what I wanted as a recorder/playback machine. It was easy to install. My only issue is that the screen aspect choices don't really fill the screen on my HD flat screen TV. No matter which aspect option I select, the result is virtually identical and the image is stretched side to side with black bars across the top and bottom. I wish there was an option to fill my screen with a natural picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
CHeck Aspect options on your TV ...
Posted 05/29/2014
Your TV has choices for aspect as well. You have to coordinate both to get the result you want.
Info and help files are here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 366 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Only type of DVD recorder designed and sold anymor

06/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May be complicated to novice user. This machine is the only way to record regular antennae television unless you use a standard VCR which is still sold. And yes, it has a built in tuner. Multiple recordings can be saved directly into machine and later dubbed {transferred to DVD which is then playable on any other DVD player) with the touch of a button.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 367 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Replacing obsolete VCR's

05/02/2013
By ,
Ft. lauderdale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
On 4/16 my cable company-Comcast-went to all digital broadcasting. All the old VCR's in the house were suddenly obsolete (for time shifting). I ordered the Magnavox thinking it would act as a DVR.
Turns out Comcast wont allow any DVR except their own for timed recording. But I thought outside
the box and decided to keep the "Maggie", since I have over 40 old VCR recordings of movies and musicals that are deteriorating. Now I can record them to DVD by simply feeding a VCR into a line input of the Magnavox. Of course I can still record off of TV even tho I am now a "slave" to the cable box, as
long as I preset the Channel on the Comcast box and keep The Magnavox set on channel 3.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Add an antenna
Posted 05/03/2013
Add a simple indoor antenna and get local channels the Mag can tune by itself. Many people get more than 20 local OTA channels, all digital/HD quality. I get 20+ channels and I live 40-50 miles between two large cities, and ALL my timer recordings are from the local network channels, ABC, CBS, FOX and NBC.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 368 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

A DVR for ordinary people

07/13/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I needed to replace my old VHS recorder that I had to use a converter to use. Recording from my DirecTV and streaming movies from my Roku works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 369 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

So far, so good

05/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to replace the old VCR/DVD, which now requires a special converter. So far, this has done that, and more. There are several features that I may never use. That's OK. The owner's manual is well written. The one slight drawback is that the channel numbers are different than those published by our cable company. I had to identify the channels by waiting for a station break, then writing them down.
No monthly fees !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 370 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

What a pile of junk.

11/22/2012
By ,
Wichita,ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
received the unit tonight,couldn't even get the TV signal to work right. Keeps fading in and out. Was supposed to display a setup screen on power up, it didn't. Didn't even display any setup icons for the hard drive. It's going back to walmart Friday. This is the second internet item from them that was defective. Think I've learned my lesson.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Don't forget to select the correct TV input
Posted 11/22/2012
I forgot to mention an obvious fact that might be needed here:
Once you make the "line connection" from the Mag to the TV, you have to SELECT that input to see internal Mag stuff.
If you have an OLD TV that doesn't have any line inputs (only coax), you'll need an RF modulator (cheap at Walmart) or run the line outs from the Mag thru a VCR, which can serve as a modulator. Set TV on ch.3 or 4, whichever your modulator or VCR is set to use for its output.
Modulator sketch is on pg 20 of the manual.
+5points
NOTHING internal displays thru the coax
Posted 11/22/2012
Internal Mag stuff like menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs displays on your TV ONLY via a "line connection" (HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR).
The coax circuit just passes thru the raw incoming signal so downstream components (cable box or TV) can tune channels separately).
An index of help files with all that info is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 371 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

great recorder, exactly what i am looking for

06/23/2014
By ,
Roseville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just bought it about 3 weeks ago so far it's working great. i bought this unit to record shows, it works similar to my old VCR recorder but this records on a hard drive. price is little bit high for a recorder but it works. Setup menu is easy to follow. connection is easy. I would recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 372 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB
02/14/2013
By ,
York, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned previous generations of these HDD recorders. The features on this unit surpasses those from before. The remote control design is user friendly and I get more onscreen information displayed than my older units. The best feature of these units is the auto record. It allows users the option of backing up live tv spontaneously, which is nice if you happen to be distracted and miss something you can simply back it up and check it out. Also, if you decide you want to permanently record a program, you can back up and record it permanently to the hard drive and dub it to a disc if you want. These units offer so many options, that you'll wonder why you didn't get one before.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 373 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fantastic!

07/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product. Very pleased with almost everything, just a little trouble picking up the local cbs station, but had that b4 and hoped this unit could have helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 374 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

good buy

05/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't know why I didn't switch to one of these sooner. On HDD, it writes and deletes faster than disk recording. Cool. The program and menu options interface are identical to the Toshiba 670 which I was replacing it with. Cool. The tuner is a little touchier so it didn't find low-signal stations but I can wait for better atmospheric conditions to rescan. Not Cool. Overall a smart choice in tech purchase progression.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 375 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

DVD recorder with digital TV tuner

01/05/2013
By ,
Central Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second unit because the timers in the Panasonic recorders have become unreliable after about two years. My two old Lite-on analog recorders are still doing great! Handy, but not necessary is the hard disk storage. I may get to the point of not transferring the TV shows to the DVD for playback in another room, but for now, I convert. Takes as long to transfer as it does to record the original program. Have not tried to watch something on the DVD while recording on the HD (manual does not discuss this). I love the HD capacity. I hate commercials. I sometimes record four channels simultaneously (four recorders). This second one was $20+ less than the one in November.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 376 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Fits my needs so far.

02/03/2013
By ,
Canton, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Comparing it to my previous Sony, it is a lot more complicated. I've had it less than 1 month at this point and still learning how to program and operate it. I think I will get used to it after a while. Considering that I could only find two manufacturers of DVD R's and the Toshiba not getting decent reviews, I guess I'm as happy as can be expected with this unit. My previous experience with Magnavox was not favorable, so I do not expect this unit to be as good as my previous Sony which operated flawlessly for 5 years until a weather storm caused it to lock up. I was in too much of a rush to send it out for repair. As I said earlier, I might get used to this one in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 377 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Great product which fits intended function

07/02/2014
By ,
Evansville, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great functionality. Only wish I had some way to look up and schedule recording with in the functionality of the recorder rather than having to look up a programs timing and then program for that schedule.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Review 378 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Impressive features for the money

01/04/2013
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have only recently hooked up the recorder, and it seems to work well. The owners manual is a bit intimidating as it is quite long, and somewhat confusing, but I think it will make more sense as I actually use it. I was especially pleased that the quality of reception from our antenna (we don't have cable) was not adversely affected by passing the signal through the recorder. It would seem that the recorder only records in 16:9 aspect ratio, so there are black bands at the top and bottom of our screen even though we have a wide screen TV. These bands are not there when watching the same program through the TV tuner. Small annoyance given the other impressive features.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 379 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

The perfect solution for my needs

01/27/2013
By ,
MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm coming at this from the perspective of a person who's always used a VCR or DVD-RAM recorder and have never rented a recording device from the cable company. I do have basic cable, but that's just to get local channels. Those are all I need.
If you're used to the cable company's DVR then you might feel inconvenienced because there's no program guide. I'm sure those things are great, but I've never had it, so I don't miss it. I looked at what it would cost me to have expanded basic or standard service and a set-top box and a DVR from the cable company and realized that this unit would pay for itself within just a few months.
I get more channels on this recorder than on any other device I've owned with a qam tuner (three TVs, one of which is already dead, and 2 DVD-RAM recorders, one of which is also dead).
I do have trouble getting captions on the standard definition channels, for some reason. (They're fine on the HD channels.) Right now I am using RCA-style video cables, because the analog TV I have this hooked up to doesn't have an HDMI connector. Maybe that has something to do with it. I haven't looked into this much, so maybe there is a simple solution. It isn't a huge problem for me, in any case, but if you rely on captions and watch a lot of SD channels you will want to research this further.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 380 for Magnavox HDD, DVR, and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 320GB

Maybe it's OK??

12/21/2012
By ,
San Antonio TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the second Magnavox HDD recorder we bought from Walmart. The first one worked fine until the warranty expired. Then became intermittent and died completely just after the end of the warranty. This new one is working, so far. I was unwilling to buy another but my wife wanted the same kind so she wouldn't have to learn how to operate a different system. We'll see how long this one lasts
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
361-380 of 815 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  17 18 19 20 21  ...  41 Next