Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(820 Reviews) 761
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation90%735 out of 820reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Didn't work properly

03/18/2013
By ,
Spanish Fork, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit would not pick up any of my local digital stations even though my hdtv works perfectly from my rooftop antenna. After calling customer support several times to resolve the issue, I finally gave up when they couldn't help and returned the unit to Walmart for a refund. I am very disappointed because I had hoped this would allow me to record over-the-air broadcasts as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Problem with starting

11/23/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 of these over the past year. The first one stopped working when the electricity went off at my house. I purchased the other one because I didn't want to be without and could use it in the bedroom.I just came back from vacation and discovered the electricity was off for a while at some point while I was gone. I have surge protectors and should have had no problem. Now neither one of the machines will work at all. I don't understand why the TVs and all the other equipment works fine and they are plugged into the same outlet. will never buy another one of these. I am looking for another manufacturer now...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/07/2013
By ,
Tampa,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I buy it on 11/3/2011 and today 07/07/2013 stopped working one year after expiration of the warranty, do not buy it, you will lose your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Just needs a simple Soft Reset ...
Posted 08/07/2013
Revive your unit with a Soft Reset, as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Others should not listen to people who advise not buying a new unit based on inexperience and not reading any of the MANY Reviews, Comments and Answers posted here!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
09/06/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Magnavox 535HHD DVR with digital tuner, 500 GB. I actually bought one took it back because of an issue with recording on the hard drive, when playing
back from the hard drive it hesitates just about every minute. Very annoying. Bought the second one same problem. I tried every thing. Switching HDMI cables, changing coaxial cables. Thinking that one of the wires could be bad. Still does it. I am going to take it back, too. I am considering buying another one with 1TB and see if this solves my problem.
I bought the 537HHD DVR last November with 1 TB. It works perfectly, so you can see why I am so frustrated with the 500GB.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Terrible product

11/23/2013
By ,
Fort Mill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned several DVD players/recorders and if I could have found one of them, I never would have bought this piece of garbage,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-10points
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
02/18/2013
By ,
sandwich, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
An external tuner is required to record on DVD. If you do not have an external tuner good luck trying to locate one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

no good

02/04/2014
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This machine could have been what I was looking for but it did not work. I hooked it up according to the instructions but the "loop through" antennae just clashed with the TV antennae signal. It could not be set up as the instructions said as the on screen prompts were non existent. Even if it had worked this machine did not have an HDMI input! All in all a poor product. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You made a mistake ...
Posted 02/05/2014
The coax circuit in the Mag is just a "passthough" of the antenna signal, that's why you said it "clashed" with the TV.
NOTHING internal on the Mag (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVD playback) goes through the coax.
You needed a "line connection" to the TV, in addition to the coax to see internal Mag stuff.
Info and help files here for others... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

dvr can not be set up

01/06/2014
By ,
glendale heights, il.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we can not set up the dvr because we can't find out what an a/v is on our tv. the 800 # in the book was no help. we may have to return the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Composite = a/v = yellow input
Posted 01/11/2014
Manufacturers use different designations for the same inputs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

does not record HD, so why did they design this

10/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dark ages product. they increase the HD size to 500GB for no usefull reason. It does not record HD only 480i.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
20747
It does record HD
Posted 10/23/2012
480i is a form of HD, 280 and below is standard!! Your system doesn't receive the higher format!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Not a fair review
Posted 10/21/2012
This is not a fair review because the product description does not say that it records HD. It does however say that it has 1080p up-conversion. The 500 GB Hard Drive allows for more recording time than the 320 GB model. So yes, there is a useful reason for it.
I think Walmart.com should remove this review since it is not of any help for potential buyers.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

04/11/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am using it with my cable and needless to say you must bypass your cable box for it to be of any use. The Tuner is not set to receive large number channels that are out there today. Sometimes you get two channels that are the same and the box does not know which one you chose even if you go to the channel to program it. If it has to change the channel or turn its self on then you may be in trouble. I will be returning it to Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Instructions lack clarity. failed after 2nd disk.

02/28/2014
By ,
Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could be fantastic unit if it had better instructions and continued to function. Locked up after making two short disks. called Funia they said return it to store. Idid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Old tech

01/01/2013
By ,
Desert hot springs, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No menu guide. Old technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not if you have Comcast

10/31/2012
By ,
chicago, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not work with my Comcast box. Every channel is copy protected. The digital tuner works fine and records a nice picture. Easy editing. Great if you have a camcorder and want to turn your videos into a dvd.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Timer did not work right out of the box!

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simple to set up, good quality recording. BUT - the timer did not work1 I use for "time shifting" of programs for viewing later. The timer failed immediately after set-up and has not worked after repeated re-sets. Will be returning product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Bad product - dvd part quits working

02/26/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne,. IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 14 months ago. The DVD part no longer works but, so far, the hard drive still does. I called Magnavox. They wouldn't help at all because it's out of the 1 year warranty. They gave me 2 authorized dealers to take it to. One dealer was no longer in existence and the other dealer could not get the parts for it. I called Magnavox and explained to them the dealer they sent me to cannot get the parts to fix it and it cost me $25 for them to look at it. I asked them if they sell the parts for these products and I was told no. So I asked them why they would send me to an authorized dealer when they won't sell the parts to get them fixed and I got the "I'm very sorry for your trouble but if the product still had warranty then we would just replace it". That was all.
So watch out if you buy this product. One thing goes wrong after 12 months you are screwed. Magnavox is not a customer oriented company, replacement parts are not out there to fix them, and their products are cheap!! My dad bought this exact product 13 months ago and decided to wait until his basement was finished to put it down there and he had the same issue too - straight from the box , never used, the dvd part would not work and Magnavox would not do anything about it because it has been 13 months and they said there was no way for them to know whether the product had ever been used before.
Will never buy a Magnavox product again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

difficult instructions..

04/16/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult instructions. Very confusing!! Page instructions constantly referring to other pages......Connections to tv fine.... but would not play program after recording.... No picture !! Contacted cust. svc. seeking help with set up. When explaining the only resolution was to send another remote. Completely unsatisfied we returned unit to Walmart....Only positive was quick delivery of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Dead on arrival

09/03/2013
By ,
Shreveport la
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product did not work at all and I had to return it. Total waste of time and effort.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not user friendly

07/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very difficult to program. Called for help and the person helping did not know the product well enough to help me. She had to refer to the book and then gave poor advice. Still have unanswered questions. I still do not know how to take the recorded program off the RW Disc. The panasonic I had was more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/29/2013
By ,
JASPER AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I KNOW THAT IT IS NOT WALMART'S FAULT, BUT I WOULD NOT EVER (I REPEAT) NOT EVER
PURCHASE ANY PRODUCT WITH THE NAME MAGNAVOX ON IT AGAIN. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE FROM THIS UNIT. I HAVE CALLED MAGNAVOX SEVERAL TIMES FOR HELP AND THEY EVEN TOLD ME TO SEND THE FIRST UNIT BACK TO THEM AND THEY WOULD SEND ME ANOTHER ONE. WELL I GOT THE OTHER UNIT BUT IT WAS A REFURBISHED ONE. IT SAYS RIGHT ON THE BOX (THIS PRODUCT HAS BEEN RECONDITIONED BY FUNAI CORPORTATION.
WHEN I FIRST CALLED MAGNAVOX THE PERSON I TALKED TO TOLD ME THAT THEY DID NOT SEND
OUT REFURBISHED UNITS. LIKE I SAID I KNOW ITS NOT WALMARTS FAULT BUT I JUST WANTED
YOU TO KNOW WHAT KIND OF SERVICE YOUR SUPPLIERS ARE GIVING YOU.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 762 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next