Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.235 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(820 Reviews) 761
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation90%735 out of 820reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
21
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Failed product

11/06/2012
By ,
Gary IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product had a difficult time picking up local tv reception and after getting a $40 antennea failed within one month to perform. The product failed to relay over the air digital tv on to the tv.
The productuct worked only about a month before failure. I know the product failed because I changed where the antenea went, from the product where the tv had a blank screen to the tv in on the tv and the tv had a picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Coax is not enough
Posted 11/06/2012
Sounds like you expected the Mag to show internal channels, HDD titles, etc. via the coax. That's ONLY a passthru of the antenna signal so your TV can tune channels independently.
The Mag requires a "Line output" to the TV like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Compsoite YWR RCA... those are the only way you'll see internal Mag stuff on a TV.
An index of help files is here for others to discover how the Mag operates:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA & Poor Support

11/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received mine yesterday & attempted to set it up. I use DirectTV & was replacing a Sony DVR. Could not get the set-up screen nothing but a blue screen. Support initially was bizarre. The rep tried to troubleshoot using the wrong model. Eventually, I insisted on a supervisor who took me through a long troubleshooting session--swapping cables, & etc. At the end of an hour on the phone, the supervisor told me to have the TV manufacturer troubleshoot it's input jacks. So I did. Of course, these were fine--worked with the Satellite receiver & the Sony. Called Magnavox today & they wanted to go through the whole troubleshooting again! They try to wear you out. I demurred. Apparently they don't take any notes of previous calls. I was offered an exchange. I'll be returning this to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
San Jose, CA.
Same experiance with tech support in Funai
Posted 03/04/2013
Order from Walmart.com was good experience but not with tech support at Funai.
The tech support had heavy breathing thru microphone I hardly can hear him. My new will reset my time back to default 2/1/2012 once I power off to standby mode. This tech can't resolve my problem so he tell me the set was design to leave on and not to power off to standby mode. What a joke? and he also disconnect me while I was still talking to him. So, I returned to Walmart without problem.
0points
Help files available
Posted 11/08/2012
Here's a help file on CONNECTIONS, which is probably your problem... see Sketch 4 for satellite:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
Here's an index of other info and help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Stopped working after 4 months

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calling to get RGA to return unit; purchased 11/26/2012, dead 3/21/2013. I may follow up with customer service results. Needs better over the air channel info (channel guide for local stations, etc). First I noted no sound, but when I disconnected, my TV also didn't work. Tried connecting to two other TV sets and nothing on both.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Try SOFT RESET first!
Posted 03/23/2013
Before returning it, try a Soft Reset which should "wake ir up"... it's not dead, just sleeping caused by some electrical or signal event:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/07/2013
By ,
Tampa,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I buy it on 11/3/2011 and today 07/07/2013 stopped working one year after expiration of the warranty, do not buy it, you will lose your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Just needs a simple Soft Reset ...
Posted 08/07/2013
Revive your unit with a Soft Reset, as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Others should not listen to people who advise not buying a new unit based on inexperience and not reading any of the MANY Reviews, Comments and Answers posted here!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Could not connect with TV

12/12/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could have been my TV but this product would not work with my TV.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Old tech

01/01/2013
By ,
Desert hot springs, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No menu guide. Old technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

not user freindly

02/01/2014
By ,
sd
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
read and set up 3 times and still could not get it to record. sending it back
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

It does a find job. Very easy to operate

02/15/2014
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had one before and love it. would buy again great product. sent to site to store pick it up no problems
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA right out of the box

02/07/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cant say much about it because it came in DOA right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not user friendly

07/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very difficult to program. Called for help and the person helping did not know the product well enough to help me. She had to refer to the book and then gave poor advice. Still have unanswered questions. I still do not know how to take the recorded program off the RW Disc. The panasonic I had was more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Picture quality and picture size.

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its picture format will not adjust to my 47 inch TV and leaves me with a much smaller picture. I even called the help line and they told me that it can't be changed to fill my whole screen. It also kills the quality of the HD picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You CAN change picture size ...
Posted 08/06/2014
Use the Video > TV Aspect menu to change the aspect of recordings and the live TV pic. Set to "16:9 Wide" as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12371974
Other info and help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a.html#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Will not work with OTA antenna!

11/13/2013
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this item because it does not record directly from a rooftop antenna. It would recognize analog channels - not the new digital channels. Would need to add a RF modulator to record from antenna. I do not have cable so this unit did me no good. No idea how it actually worked because I was never able to see a picture - only the menu.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Letterboxed HD and stretched analog

02/28/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first hooked up my brand new unit BEFORE my CISCO 4652 Explorer cable box. Of course, no HD channels scanned. After trying all three settings on the unit, and retrying them with each of the four HDMI settings, nothing changed - analog channels appeared widescreen BUT STRETCHED. My PANASONIC 50GT plasma TV settings did not fix the problem. Strangely, the few digital channels I received looked normal - but a bit fuzzy and soft. I reconnected the unit to act as a slave so I could receive HD channels. All HD channels were letterboxed and stretched. None of the adjustments in the unit's options made any difference. I searched the forums for answers. I found that if I disconnected the power from the unit while watching live TV, there was no change in the picture. Advice on AVS forum indicated the picture should have degraded, but it didn't; therefore the unit was most likely defective. My greatest concern is that changing the settings in the unit made no visible change whatsoever to the picture no matter how it was connected. I have requested a replacement. I would be very interested to know if anyone else has come across this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
REVIEW UPDATES
Posted 03/18/2013
2nd UPDATE: 3/18/2013
I added a CMC2002H 2-Way Splitter and connected 2 RG6 coax; one to the cable box, the other to the MAG. Big difference. All of the channels through the MAG are clearer than they were even going directly into the MAG. The non-HD channels can be recorded while watching a different channel. The HD channels are found by switching the source to L1 (I use an S-Video and component audio connections). When recording HD channels through L1 the cable box must remain on and I cannot watch a different channel since the channel is tuned in using the cable remote. I have upped my rating from 1 star, to 3, and now 4 stars. You have to be Sherlock Holmes to figure out how to use this machine. Waaay too much trial and error, and extra parts to make it work. Is the hassle worth it? Seems to be, even though the PQ is not absolutely HD perfect.
UPDATE: 3/6/2013
I received a replacement. After consulting with wajo at AVS forums (Thanks, wajo), I set it up using an HDMI cable. In order to record HD channels, I ran red, white, and yellow cables from the cable box output to the MAG input. When recording those channels, I use the MAG remote and switch the Source to L1. The drawback, I can't watch a different TV channel when recording HD channels. The problem with the aspect ration persisted until I turned on HDMI control and used the lowest HDMI setting: 480p. Now I have the correct aspect ratio on all channels, but the picture quality suffers. As there is no alternative to this DVD recorder, I will use it for a few days and see how it goes. This setup is a definite improvement, but it's a pity the machine is so difficult to set up and use.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

magnavox recorder

11/07/2013
By ,
meadville pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this junk never buy one again very poor tape is not working just got it in march of this year keeps getting erro dont buy save your money
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Poor Tunner

02/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Output video quality is unacceptable for this price. Without DVR hooked up the imagine is crystal clear. As soon you hook up this DVR the quality drops. The DVR doesn't have any possibilities of adjusting the brightens, and all others adjustments that a TV has.
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Problem with starting

11/23/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 of these over the past year. The first one stopped working when the electricity went off at my house. I purchased the other one because I didn't want to be without and could use it in the bedroom.I just came back from vacation and discovered the electricity was off for a while at some point while I was gone. I have surge protectors and should have had no problem. Now neither one of the machines will work at all. I don't understand why the TVs and all the other equipment works fine and they are plugged into the same outlet. will never buy another one of these. I am looking for another manufacturer now...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

The recording feature does not work

02/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The recording feature doesn't work. It does not record to DVD or to the HDD. I can play a DVD on this machine, but the primary purpose of getting it was to record dads.
I am going to have to return it for a refund or a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Quit working in one week

10/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product quit working in one week. It has been returned.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
1-20 of 762 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next