Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(773 Reviews) 715
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
424
4 stars
239
3 stars
38
2 stars
19
1 star
53
Customer Recommendation90%693 out of 773reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
346 Questions | 1,320 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
424
4 stars
239
3 stars
38
2 stars
19
1 star
53
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not working right out of the box.

05/11/2013
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great features, to bad it did not work right. Had this unit for about a week. You set the time, then every day (24 hours) it would gain two (2) hours, making time record impossible to use. It also would not record to the internal hard drive (HDD). Called Magnavox Support two different days. Support said try this and that and call back after 24 hours. Called back, try this and that, still did not work. Support said I have two options, send it in to be repaired and it would take four (4) weeks or more to get it back or replace it with a new one. Of course the store did not have one and they would have to order one. So I chose my option, returned unit to Walmart and got my money back. Great DVD player if you just want to play DVD's on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This was not a good product

06/22/2013
By ,
columbus ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I don't have cable and this would not pick up nothing but one of the over the air channels.. now the tv that I had this attached to is a Panasonic 60 in and it pick up about 30 channels over the air and digital.. but it wont work cause the channels have to be recorded thru this mag hd recorder.. anyway I took it back no problem guess I will have to wait til Panasonic comes out with a hd recorder..... too sad
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

SD only, poor picture

01/27/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I connected the recorder but didn't bother trying to record because of two issues:
1. The machine only records in standard definition, not high definition. Once connected, the signal must pass through the recorder, so picture quality on the Samsung 65" UN65EH6000F was poor.
2. The manual states it only records 4:3 aspect ratio, not 16:9. I called Panasonic to verify and was told that, yes, it doesn't record wide-screen. I was also told that it's an "old model."
I ordered online but returned it to a Walmart store without problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Disappointed

12/10/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor visual playback. My vhs records better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Picture quality and picture size.

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its picture format will not adjust to my 47 inch TV and leaves me with a much smaller picture. I even called the help line and they told me that it can't be changed to fill my whole screen. It also kills the quality of the HD picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You CAN change picture size ...
Posted 08/06/2014
Use the Video > TV Aspect menu to change the aspect of recordings and the live TV pic. Set to "16:9 Wide" as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12371974
Other info and help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a.html#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
09/06/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Magnavox 535HHD DVR with digital tuner, 500 GB. I actually bought one took it back because of an issue with recording on the hard drive, when playing
back from the hard drive it hesitates just about every minute. Very annoying. Bought the second one same problem. I tried every thing. Switching HDMI cables, changing coaxial cables. Thinking that one of the wires could be bad. Still does it. I am going to take it back, too. I am considering buying another one with 1TB and see if this solves my problem.
I bought the 537HHD DVR last November with 1 TB. It works perfectly, so you can see why I am so frustrated with the 500GB.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

not as advertised

02/19/2014
By ,
KV. MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware, you cannot record one show and watch another if you use a cable or satellite box. That should have been stated in the product overveiw.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albany, NY
It depends on what you mean exactly.
Posted 03/17/2014
Something you definitely can do, is watch cable tv while the recorder does it's thing.
I've been doing that quite a bit over the past 3 days or so.
It is similar to how a VCR records in the background, while you watch the shows you want to watch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product was defective

03/06/2014
By ,
Valley , AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had ordered this product previously [2]. The first out of the box hooked it up called customer Service @ Magnavox tried to make it work. They just said take it back. The second one the remote control worked but it would not turn the machine. Waited awhile decided to try again as the say sometimes is a charm. The third one tried to hook up and had to call service and spent almost an hour and it would not work. the next day I spent almost 4 hours and finally got it working. Set up to record and at the proper time it appeared it was working ok. After the hour tried to play the disk and lo & behold when I pressed the play button nothing happened. Called Magnavox and spent almost 45 min and they tried to get to play. They gave up and said it was defective and return it to the store. Doesn't Magnavox make any first quality merchandise or do the ship you all of the defective merchandise. I gave them three strikes and they were out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not for HD

03/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
his product does not have an HD tuner, so is basically obsolete.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Does not work well with Cable Networks

12/24/2013
By ,
nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setting the station for recording had to be done through the cable box. Therefore, the unit will not record if you are watching TV. Since the channel to be recorded had to be set through the cable box multiple channels can not be set if you are away from home.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

It does a find job. Very easy to operate

02/15/2014
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had one before and love it. would buy again great product. sent to site to store pick it up no problems
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

dvr can not be set up

01/06/2014
By ,
glendale heights, il.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
we can not set up the dvr because we can't find out what an a/v is on our tv. the 800 # in the book was no help. we may have to return the unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NC
Composite = a/v = yellow input
Posted 01/11/2014
Manufacturers use different designations for the same inputs.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Old tech

01/01/2013
By ,
Desert hot springs, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No menu guide. Old technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Stopped working after 4 months

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calling to get RGA to return unit; purchased 11/26/2012, dead 3/21/2013. I may follow up with customer service results. Needs better over the air channel info (channel guide for local stations, etc). First I noted no sound, but when I disconnected, my TV also didn't work. Tried connecting to two other TV sets and nothing on both.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Try SOFT RESET first!
Posted 03/23/2013
Before returning it, try a Soft Reset which should "wake ir up"... it's not dead, just sleeping caused by some electrical or signal event:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

NOT WORTH THE MONEY

04/11/2014
By ,
Lexington, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am using it with my cable and needless to say you must bypass your cable box for it to be of any use. The Tuner is not set to receive large number channels that are out there today. Sometimes you get two channels that are the same and the box does not know which one you chose even if you go to the channel to program it. If it has to change the channel or turn its self on then you may be in trouble. I will be returning it to Walmart
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Returned Item

09/18/2013
By ,
Sterling Heights, Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this item because it did note meet my requirements.I purchased because it has built in tuner however in description of item on line it does not tell you that it only works with and over air tuner if you have cable you have to rent the cable company's cable box so the built in tuner does no good. If You have cable you can just get a much cheaper DVD recorder and the cable box to record your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Would not work on our older TV

11/01/2012
By ,
Milltown, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the coax connection to work on any TV. I have a monitor TV my wife uses with her computer which I was able to hook up and get working using the composite connection (RWY). However, the TV I wanted to use it with only had coax, so no good. I don't know if this was just a defective recorder or something else. On the plus side, the recorder came quickly, and when I was having problems getting it working, customer support did their best to help. I was able to return it to a nearby WalMart for a refund, minus shipping costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
NOTHING internal goes thru the coax!
Posted 11/02/2012
The Mag's coax circuit is just a signal passthru so downstream components, like a cable box or TV, can tune channels independently while the Mag is recording a diff. channel.
ALL internal stuff (menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR RCA. So, your TV needs one of those line connections, or you can run the Mag's line out(s) thru a VCR or a "RF Modeulator" box (cheap at Walmart.com or others). Connection instructions for VCR or modulator are in manual, pg. 20, "Connecting to a TV without Audio / Video jacks." A VCR can serve as the RF Modulator in the sketch there.
More info on connections is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA right out of the box

02/07/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cant say much about it because it came in DOA right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 716 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  36 Next