Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(817 Reviews) 758
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
448
4 stars
249
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation90%732 out of 817reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
361 Questions | 1,354 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
448
4 stars
249
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

does not record HD, so why did they design this

10/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dark ages product. they increase the HD size to 500GB for no usefull reason. It does not record HD only 480i.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
20747
It does record HD
Posted 10/23/2012
480i is a form of HD, 280 and below is standard!! Your system doesn't receive the higher format!!!
0points
Customer Avatar
Not a fair review
Posted 10/21/2012
This is not a fair review because the product description does not say that it records HD. It does however say that it has 1080p up-conversion. The 500 GB Hard Drive allows for more recording time than the 320 GB model. So yes, there is a useful reason for it.
I think Walmart.com should remove this review since it is not of any help for potential buyers.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not working right out of the box.

05/11/2013
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great features, to bad it did not work right. Had this unit for about a week. You set the time, then every day (24 hours) it would gain two (2) hours, making time record impossible to use. It also would not record to the internal hard drive (HDD). Called Magnavox Support two different days. Support said try this and that and call back after 24 hours. Called back, try this and that, still did not work. Support said I have two options, send it in to be repaired and it would take four (4) weeks or more to get it back or replace it with a new one. Of course the store did not have one and they would have to order one. So I chose my option, returned unit to Walmart and got my money back. Great DVD player if you just want to play DVD's on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Disappointed

12/10/2013
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor visual playback. My vhs records better.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Picture quality and picture size.

08/03/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Its picture format will not adjust to my 47 inch TV and leaves me with a much smaller picture. I even called the help line and they told me that it can't be changed to fill my whole screen. It also kills the quality of the HD picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
You CAN change picture size ...
Posted 08/06/2014
Use the Video > TV Aspect menu to change the aspect of recordings and the live TV pic. Set to "16:9 Wide" as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12371974
Other info and help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/106-dvd-recorders-standard-def/940657-magnavox-557-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575-a.html#post12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Instructions lack clarity. failed after 2nd disk.

02/28/2014
By ,
Tn
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could be fantastic unit if it had better instructions and continued to function. Locked up after making two short disks. called Funia they said return it to store. Idid.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not if you have Comcast

10/31/2012
By ,
chicago, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not work with my Comcast box. Every channel is copy protected. The digital tuner works fine and records a nice picture. Easy editing. Great if you have a camcorder and want to turn your videos into a dvd.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Would not work on our older TV

11/01/2012
By ,
Milltown, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the coax connection to work on any TV. I have a monitor TV my wife uses with her computer which I was able to hook up and get working using the composite connection (RWY). However, the TV I wanted to use it with only had coax, so no good. I don't know if this was just a defective recorder or something else. On the plus side, the recorder came quickly, and when I was having problems getting it working, customer support did their best to help. I was able to return it to a nearby WalMart for a refund, minus shipping costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
NOTHING internal goes thru the coax!
Posted 11/02/2012
The Mag's coax circuit is just a signal passthru so downstream components, like a cable box or TV, can tune channels independently while the Mag is recording a diff. channel.
ALL internal stuff (menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR RCA. So, your TV needs one of those line connections, or you can run the Mag's line out(s) thru a VCR or a "RF Modeulator" box (cheap at Walmart.com or others). Connection instructions for VCR or modulator are in manual, pg. 20, "Connecting to a TV without Audio / Video jacks." A VCR can serve as the RF Modulator in the sketch there.
More info on connections is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
02/18/2013
By ,
sandwich, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
An external tuner is required to record on DVD. If you do not have an external tuner good luck trying to locate one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA right out of the box

02/07/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cant say much about it because it came in DOA right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Stopped working after 4 months

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calling to get RGA to return unit; purchased 11/26/2012, dead 3/21/2013. I may follow up with customer service results. Needs better over the air channel info (channel guide for local stations, etc). First I noted no sound, but when I disconnected, my TV also didn't work. Tried connecting to two other TV sets and nothing on both.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Try SOFT RESET first!
Posted 03/23/2013
Before returning it, try a Soft Reset which should "wake ir up"... it's not dead, just sleeping caused by some electrical or signal event:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

No match for a Comcast DVR.

01/17/2013
By ,
Denver
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish someone would have compared a dish / comcast DVR on here before I purchased. I am desperately trying to get away from the $15 per month cost Comcast charges for my DVR. Looks like I will still be stuck paying it..
Why it doesn't compare:
1) Comast's DVR lets you record and watch another channel while recording. This is major for me. A lot of times I record two shows at once. The Magnavox doesn't let me. You watch what you are recording.
2) There is no guide. For comcast you go to the guide and select your future show. Set it up on recordings for one or 8 or all. This system, you look it up on the guide. Set the channel and time manually. I remember this from the 90's.
3) It is not HD. Can't live without HD. It says the 1080.. Won't actually let you do it like you think. Or I just never figured it out.
If the above three weren't deal breakers, the positives to this box are:
1) Way more Storage space than any comcast box I can get.
2) Pay once and it is yours. These comcast boxes have cost me thousands over the years. $15 per month, no way out?
3) You can burn your stuff to a disc. Not the HD I want though.
Bottom line, if you are use to a DVR, you will hate this. I returned it in two days. If you never owned a DVR, and arn't use to HDTV, you might like this box? I can only assume that is why so many gave it 4 or 5 stars. As always, keep your receipt and expect to NOT get what you paid for shipping refunded.
If anyone knows of a DVR with no monthly fee, with all the features the modern HD Comcast box has, for $200ish, message me. Tivo is $200 for service and $$$$ for the box..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
California
Magnavox DVD/HDD recorders are NOT good DVRs
Posted 09/23/2013
Unfortunately this Magnavox HDD/DVD recorder has been heavily promoted as a DVR by certain reviewers, who may have influenced Walmart to also list it as such.
NO where on the Magnavox website, NOR in its instruction manual does it refer to these units as DVRs.
If you obtain/receive your programs by way of an antenna only, and don't want the expense of a pay program provider (cable or satellite) and you record a program only occasionally, the Magnavox will be fine (for older folks..remember the VCR?).
However, you will be sadly disappointed if you believe it's an equivalent replacement for the DVR offered by your program provider, especially if you've had a true DVR before or know someone who does.
Never the less, Magnavox HDD/DVD recorders are an excellent adjunct to a DVR from your program provider. It could possibly double or quadruple the number of programs you can 'save' by transferring them from the DVR to the Magnavox HDD (Hard Disc Drive), as many of the DVRs only have a 120 or 250GB HDD, although they can only be saved in std definition and NOT High Definition. Another benefit is that you can transfer recordings from the DVR, while simultaneously watching another live or recorded program, if you have the Magnavox connected to another 'receiver' (sometimes called Set Top Box, STB) and it's not in use.
-1point
Customer Avatar
Las Vegas, NV
About Item 1) Above
Posted 08/01/2013
According to the website:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#user_Con6
"With RF passthru. you can watch one channel thru the tuner in the downstream component (cable box or TV) while this DVDR records a different channel."
+2points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

difficult instructions..

04/16/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult instructions. Very confusing!! Page instructions constantly referring to other pages......Connections to tv fine.... but would not play program after recording.... No picture !! Contacted cust. svc. seeking help with set up. When explaining the only resolution was to send another remote. Completely unsatisfied we returned unit to Walmart....Only positive was quick delivery of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/29/2013
By ,
JASPER AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I KNOW THAT IT IS NOT WALMART'S FAULT, BUT I WOULD NOT EVER (I REPEAT) NOT EVER
PURCHASE ANY PRODUCT WITH THE NAME MAGNAVOX ON IT AGAIN. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE FROM THIS UNIT. I HAVE CALLED MAGNAVOX SEVERAL TIMES FOR HELP AND THEY EVEN TOLD ME TO SEND THE FIRST UNIT BACK TO THEM AND THEY WOULD SEND ME ANOTHER ONE. WELL I GOT THE OTHER UNIT BUT IT WAS A REFURBISHED ONE. IT SAYS RIGHT ON THE BOX (THIS PRODUCT HAS BEEN RECONDITIONED BY FUNAI CORPORTATION.
WHEN I FIRST CALLED MAGNAVOX THE PERSON I TALKED TO TOLD ME THAT THEY DID NOT SEND
OUT REFURBISHED UNITS. LIKE I SAID I KNOW ITS NOT WALMARTS FAULT BUT I JUST WANTED
YOU TO KNOW WHAT KIND OF SERVICE YOUR SUPPLIERS ARE GIVING YOU.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not for HD

03/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
his product does not have an HD tuner, so is basically obsolete.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

High Definition -NOT.

03/02/2014
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has an HDMI connection but as far as I can tell, and what I have been told by tech support, it is only an output for playback. The only usable connection for recording off TV is an audio video cable. Quality is not great. I bought only to record a show off TV. Once you figure out how to hook it up, it works easy enough. If you just want to tape a shot to watch later and dont care about quality too much it is fine. Don't look to it to record something in HD. No different than other units it wont record certain signal protected shows and movies. For me it doesn't do what I need it is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

magnavox recorder

11/07/2013
By ,
meadville pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this junk never buy one again very poor tape is not working just got it in march of this year keeps getting erro dont buy save your money
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Timer did not work right out of the box!

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simple to set up, good quality recording. BUT - the timer did not work1 I use for "time shifting" of programs for viewing later. The timer failed immediately after set-up and has not worked after repeated re-sets. Will be returning product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Returned Item

09/18/2013
By ,
Sterling Heights, Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this item because it did note meet my requirements.I purchased because it has built in tuner however in description of item on line it does not tell you that it only works with and over air tuner if you have cable you have to rent the cable company's cable box so the built in tuner does no good. If You have cable you can just get a much cheaper DVD recorder and the cable box to record your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Could not connect with TV

12/12/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could have been my TV but this product would not work with my TV.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 759 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  38 Next