Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.242 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(732 Reviews) 674
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
402
4 stars
225
3 stars
37
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation90%656 out of 732reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
316 Questions | 1,243 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
402
4 stars
225
3 stars
37
2 stars
16
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

magnavox recorder

11/07/2013
By ,
meadville pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this junk never buy one again very poor tape is not working just got it in march of this year keeps getting erro dont buy save your money
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Bad product - dvd part quits working

02/26/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne,. IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 14 months ago. The DVD part no longer works but, so far, the hard drive still does. I called Magnavox. They wouldn't help at all because it's out of the 1 year warranty. They gave me 2 authorized dealers to take it to. One dealer was no longer in existence and the other dealer could not get the parts for it. I called Magnavox and explained to them the dealer they sent me to cannot get the parts to fix it and it cost me $25 for them to look at it. I asked them if they sell the parts for these products and I was told no. So I asked them why they would send me to an authorized dealer when they won't sell the parts to get them fixed and I got the "I'm very sorry for your trouble but if the product still had warranty then we would just replace it". That was all.
So watch out if you buy this product. One thing goes wrong after 12 months you are screwed. Magnavox is not a customer oriented company, replacement parts are not out there to fix them, and their products are cheap!! My dad bought this exact product 13 months ago and decided to wait until his basement was finished to put it down there and he had the same issue too - straight from the box , never used, the dvd part would not work and Magnavox would not do anything about it because it has been 13 months and they said there was no way for them to know whether the product had ever been used before.
Will never buy a Magnavox product again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Timer did not work right out of the box!

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simple to set up, good quality recording. BUT - the timer did not work1 I use for "time shifting" of programs for viewing later. The timer failed immediately after set-up and has not worked after repeated re-sets. Will be returning product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Old tech

01/01/2013
By ,
Desert hot springs, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No menu guide. Old technology.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA right out of the box

02/07/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cant say much about it because it came in DOA right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Didn't work properly

03/18/2013
By ,
Spanish Fork, Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit would not pick up any of my local digital stations even though my hdtv works perfectly from my rooftop antenna. After calling customer support several times to resolve the issue, I finally gave up when they couldn't help and returned the unit to Walmart for a refund. I am very disappointed because I had hoped this would allow me to record over-the-air broadcasts as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Stopped working after 4 months

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calling to get RGA to return unit; purchased 11/26/2012, dead 3/21/2013. I may follow up with customer service results. Needs better over the air channel info (channel guide for local stations, etc). First I noted no sound, but when I disconnected, my TV also didn't work. Tried connecting to two other TV sets and nothing on both.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Try SOFT RESET first!
Posted 03/23/2013
Before returning it, try a Soft Reset which should "wake ir up"... it's not dead, just sleeping caused by some electrical or signal event:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

difficult instructions..

04/16/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult instructions. Very confusing!! Page instructions constantly referring to other pages......Connections to tv fine.... but would not play program after recording.... No picture !! Contacted cust. svc. seeking help with set up. When explaining the only resolution was to send another remote. Completely unsatisfied we returned unit to Walmart....Only positive was quick delivery of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This was not a good product

06/22/2013
By ,
columbus ga
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First of all, I don't have cable and this would not pick up nothing but one of the over the air channels.. now the tv that I had this attached to is a Panasonic 60 in and it pick up about 30 channels over the air and digital.. but it wont work cause the channels have to be recorded thru this mag hd recorder.. anyway I took it back no problem guess I will have to wait til Panasonic comes out with a hd recorder..... too sad
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/07/2013
By ,
Tampa,FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I buy it on 11/3/2011 and today 07/07/2013 stopped working one year after expiration of the warranty, do not buy it, you will lose your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Just needs a simple Soft Reset ...
Posted 08/07/2013
Revive your unit with a Soft Reset, as described here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Others should not listen to people who advise not buying a new unit based on inexperience and not reading any of the MANY Reviews, Comments and Answers posted here!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
09/06/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Magnavox 535HHD DVR with digital tuner, 500 GB. I actually bought one took it back because of an issue with recording on the hard drive, when playing
back from the hard drive it hesitates just about every minute. Very annoying. Bought the second one same problem. I tried every thing. Switching HDMI cables, changing coaxial cables. Thinking that one of the wires could be bad. Still does it. I am going to take it back, too. I am considering buying another one with 1TB and see if this solves my problem.
I bought the 537HHD DVR last November with 1 TB. It works perfectly, so you can see why I am so frustrated with the 500GB.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Would not work on our older TV

11/01/2012
By ,
Milltown, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the coax connection to work on any TV. I have a monitor TV my wife uses with her computer which I was able to hook up and get working using the composite connection (RWY). However, the TV I wanted to use it with only had coax, so no good. I don't know if this was just a defective recorder or something else. On the plus side, the recorder came quickly, and when I was having problems getting it working, customer support did their best to help. I was able to return it to a nearby WalMart for a refund, minus shipping costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
NOTHING internal goes thru the coax!
Posted 11/02/2012
The Mag's coax circuit is just a signal passthru so downstream components, like a cable box or TV, can tune channels independently while the Mag is recording a diff. channel.
ALL internal stuff (menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR RCA. So, your TV needs one of those line connections, or you can run the Mag's line out(s) thru a VCR or a "RF Modeulator" box (cheap at Walmart.com or others). Connection instructions for VCR or modulator are in manual, pg. 20, "Connecting to a TV without Audio / Video jacks." A VCR can serve as the RF Modulator in the sketch there.
More info on connections is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not working right out of the box.

05/11/2013
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great features, to bad it did not work right. Had this unit for about a week. You set the time, then every day (24 hours) it would gain two (2) hours, making time record impossible to use. It also would not record to the internal hard drive (HDD). Called Magnavox Support two different days. Support said try this and that and call back after 24 hours. Called back, try this and that, still did not work. Support said I have two options, send it in to be repaired and it would take four (4) weeks or more to get it back or replace it with a new one. Of course the store did not have one and they would have to order one. So I chose my option, returned unit to Walmart and got my money back. Great DVD player if you just want to play DVD's on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Letterboxed HD and stretched analog

02/28/2013
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first hooked up my brand new unit BEFORE my CISCO 4652 Explorer cable box. Of course, no HD channels scanned. After trying all three settings on the unit, and retrying them with each of the four HDMI settings, nothing changed - analog channels appeared widescreen BUT STRETCHED. My PANASONIC 50GT plasma TV settings did not fix the problem. Strangely, the few digital channels I received looked normal - but a bit fuzzy and soft. I reconnected the unit to act as a slave so I could receive HD channels. All HD channels were letterboxed and stretched. None of the adjustments in the unit's options made any difference. I searched the forums for answers. I found that if I disconnected the power from the unit while watching live TV, there was no change in the picture. Advice on AVS forum indicated the picture should have degraded, but it didn't; therefore the unit was most likely defective. My greatest concern is that changing the settings in the unit made no visible change whatsoever to the picture no matter how it was connected. I have requested a replacement. I would be very interested to know if anyone else has come across this.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
REVIEW UPDATES
Posted 03/18/2013
2nd UPDATE: 3/18/2013
I added a CMC2002H 2-Way Splitter and connected 2 RG6 coax; one to the cable box, the other to the MAG. Big difference. All of the channels through the MAG are clearer than they were even going directly into the MAG. The non-HD channels can be recorded while watching a different channel. The HD channels are found by switching the source to L1 (I use an S-Video and component audio connections). When recording HD channels through L1 the cable box must remain on and I cannot watch a different channel since the channel is tuned in using the cable remote. I have upped my rating from 1 star, to 3, and now 4 stars. You have to be Sherlock Holmes to figure out how to use this machine. Waaay too much trial and error, and extra parts to make it work. Is the hassle worth it? Seems to be, even though the PQ is not absolutely HD perfect.
UPDATE: 3/6/2013
I received a replacement. After consulting with wajo at AVS forums (Thanks, wajo), I set it up using an HDMI cable. In order to record HD channels, I ran red, white, and yellow cables from the cable box output to the MAG input. When recording those channels, I use the MAG remote and switch the Source to L1. The drawback, I can't watch a different TV channel when recording HD channels. The problem with the aspect ration persisted until I turned on HDMI control and used the lowest HDMI setting: 480p. Now I have the correct aspect ratio on all channels, but the picture quality suffers. As there is no alternative to this DVD recorder, I will use it for a few days and see how it goes. This setup is a definite improvement, but it's a pity the machine is so difficult to set up and use.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

this particular machine was defective

12/20/2013
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received a defective one and had to return it to the nearest store which is 100 miles away in Missoula, Mt. It would not work with the remote and had to be turned on manually and within about 30 seconds to a minute would shut itself off.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Problem with starting

11/23/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 of these over the past year. The first one stopped working when the electricity went off at my house. I purchased the other one because I didn't want to be without and could use it in the bedroom.I just came back from vacation and discovered the electricity was off for a while at some point while I was gone. I have surge protectors and should have had no problem. Now neither one of the machines will work at all. I don't understand why the TVs and all the other equipment works fine and they are plugged into the same outlet. will never buy another one of these. I am looking for another manufacturer now...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

not user freindly

02/01/2014
By ,
sd
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
read and set up 3 times and still could not get it to record. sending it back
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Returned Item

09/18/2013
By ,
Sterling Heights, Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this item because it did note meet my requirements.I purchased because it has built in tuner however in description of item on line it does not tell you that it only works with and over air tuner if you have cable you have to rent the cable company's cable box so the built in tuner does no good. If You have cable you can just get a much cheaper DVD recorder and the cable box to record your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 675 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  34 Next