Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(819 Reviews) 760
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation90%734 out of 819reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

difficult instructions..

04/16/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult instructions. Very confusing!! Page instructions constantly referring to other pages......Connections to tv fine.... but would not play program after recording.... No picture !! Contacted cust. svc. seeking help with set up. When explaining the only resolution was to send another remote. Completely unsatisfied we returned unit to Walmart....Only positive was quick delivery of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
08/29/2013
By ,
JASPER AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I KNOW THAT IT IS NOT WALMART'S FAULT, BUT I WOULD NOT EVER (I REPEAT) NOT EVER
PURCHASE ANY PRODUCT WITH THE NAME MAGNAVOX ON IT AGAIN. I HAVE HAD NOTHING BUT TROUBLE FROM THIS UNIT. I HAVE CALLED MAGNAVOX SEVERAL TIMES FOR HELP AND THEY EVEN TOLD ME TO SEND THE FIRST UNIT BACK TO THEM AND THEY WOULD SEND ME ANOTHER ONE. WELL I GOT THE OTHER UNIT BUT IT WAS A REFURBISHED ONE. IT SAYS RIGHT ON THE BOX (THIS PRODUCT HAS BEEN RECONDITIONED BY FUNAI CORPORTATION.
WHEN I FIRST CALLED MAGNAVOX THE PERSON I TALKED TO TOLD ME THAT THEY DID NOT SEND
OUT REFURBISHED UNITS. LIKE I SAID I KNOW ITS NOT WALMARTS FAULT BUT I JUST WANTED
YOU TO KNOW WHAT KIND OF SERVICE YOUR SUPPLIERS ARE GIVING YOU.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Returned Item

09/18/2013
By ,
Sterling Heights, Mi
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I returned this item because it did note meet my requirements.I purchased because it has built in tuner however in description of item on line it does not tell you that it only works with and over air tuner if you have cable you have to rent the cable company's cable box so the built in tuner does no good. If You have cable you can just get a much cheaper DVD recorder and the cable box to record your shows.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Could not connect with TV

12/12/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could have been my TV but this product would not work with my TV.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-3points
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

It does a find job. Very easy to operate

02/15/2014
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had one before and love it. would buy again great product. sent to site to store pick it up no problems
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

No HD tuner.

03/30/2014
By ,
Mpls, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already returned this item. Like all the DVR players the big name electronic companies have been trying to unload on us for the last 8+ years this DVR has a standard definition tuner not a high definition tuner. The clever marketing makes you think you're purchasing a high definition recorder and when I read some of the positive reviews on the unit some of the people who purchased this item somehow thought they were recording in high def. I realized almost immediately that the unit featured obsolete standard definition technology and I quickly found the small print indicating the unit has a standard definition tuner. When I went back and read more of the negative reviews I found many people like me that were not happy they wasted their time on a recorder that is not high def. So I returned mine and I am purchasing a true HD recorder from ePVision instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Dont waste your money

09/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this DVR on walmart.com, arrived today and did not work right out of the box. Called magnavox customer service and tried to explain the issue to someone that spoke very poor english and understood even less. After trying to communicate with this person for about an hour I asked to speak with a supervisor. I was told that the supervisor was unavailable.
I avoided buying this dvr because I have problems with Magnavox products before, but seeing that they are about the only company in north america that makes dvr with built in tuner I decided to risk it. Big mistake, obviously Magnavox does not have a quality control. I will NEVER buy anything from Magnavox again.
I read the reviews before I bought this DVR and seriously doubt the legitimacy of the reviews.
Another thing to be noted is that the remote control is very big but the words next to and on the buttons are very very small. I literally used a magnifying glass to see the words. If you decide to purchase this DVR you will see exactly what I mean.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not user friendly

07/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is very difficult to program. Called for help and the person helping did not know the product well enough to help me. She had to refer to the book and then gave poor advice. Still have unanswered questions. I still do not know how to take the recorded program off the RW Disc. The panasonic I had was more user friendly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Works as advertized. It fully meets my needs.

09/07/2013
By ,
Utah
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I needed a DVR that would record from my ota antenna, and it has fully met my expectations. I split the signal from my antenna, and send one directly to my digital tv, and the other to the DVR, so I can watch one channel on my tv and record another on the DVR. Some have complained it is not simple to program for recording tv shows, as it is exactly like programming an old VCR, but that is what I am familiar with so I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Note to other antenna users: DO NOT SPLIT THE COAX
Posted 09/07/2013
Antenna, and most cable, users should NOT split the incoming coax!
The Mags have a built-in amplified splitter that, one one path, send the raw signal thru to downstream components (TV or cable box) via the Mag's coax out... nothing internal goes thru the coax.
All internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" to your TV, so you must select that input on the TV to see internal Mag stuff.
This means the cable box or TV can tune channels SEPARATELY from the Mag, while the Mag records a different channel.
Please don't split the incoming cable with an external splitter, since that reduces signal strength by ~50% or more (depending on how many outputs the splitter has).
You don't need to split the signal ahead of the Mag's splitter.
Even the manual shows coax straight thru the Mag with a separate line connection.
More info and help files here... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
09/06/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a Magnavox 535HHD DVR with digital tuner, 500 GB. I actually bought one took it back because of an issue with recording on the hard drive, when playing
back from the hard drive it hesitates just about every minute. Very annoying. Bought the second one same problem. I tried every thing. Switching HDMI cables, changing coaxial cables. Thinking that one of the wires could be bad. Still does it. I am going to take it back, too. I am considering buying another one with 1TB and see if this solves my problem.
I bought the 537HHD DVR last November with 1 TB. It works perfectly, so you can see why I am so frustrated with the 500GB.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

The recording feature does not work

02/27/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The recording feature doesn't work. It does not record to DVD or to the HDD. I can play a DVD on this machine, but the primary purpose of getting it was to record dads.
I am going to have to return it for a refund or a replacement.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product was defective

03/06/2014
By ,
Valley , AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had ordered this product previously [2]. The first out of the box hooked it up called customer Service @ Magnavox tried to make it work. They just said take it back. The second one the remote control worked but it would not turn the machine. Waited awhile decided to try again as the say sometimes is a charm. The third one tried to hook up and had to call service and spent almost an hour and it would not work. the next day I spent almost 4 hours and finally got it working. Set up to record and at the proper time it appeared it was working ok. After the hour tried to play the disk and lo & behold when I pressed the play button nothing happened. Called Magnavox and spent almost 45 min and they tried to get to play. They gave up and said it was defective and return it to the store. Doesn't Magnavox make any first quality merchandise or do the ship you all of the defective merchandise. I gave them three strikes and they were out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+18points
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

not as advertised

02/19/2014
By ,
KV. MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beware, you cannot record one show and watch another if you use a cable or satellite box. That should have been stated in the product overveiw.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albany, NY
It depends on what you mean exactly.
Posted 03/17/2014
Something you definitely can do, is watch cable tv while the recorder does it's thing.
I've been doing that quite a bit over the past 3 days or so.
It is similar to how a VCR records in the background, while you watch the shows you want to watch.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Does not work well with Cable Networks

12/24/2013
By ,
nevada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Setting the station for recording had to be done through the cable box. Therefore, the unit will not record if you are watching TV. Since the channel to be recorded had to be set through the cable box multiple channels can not be set if you are away from home.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Terrible product

11/23/2013
By ,
Fort Mill, SC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned several DVD players/recorders and if I could have found one of them, I never would have bought this piece of garbage,
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-10points
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not if you have Comcast

10/31/2012
By ,
chicago, il
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will not work with my Comcast box. Every channel is copy protected. The digital tuner works fine and records a nice picture. Easy editing. Great if you have a camcorder and want to turn your videos into a dvd.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Would not work on our older TV

11/01/2012
By ,
Milltown, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the coax connection to work on any TV. I have a monitor TV my wife uses with her computer which I was able to hook up and get working using the composite connection (RWY). However, the TV I wanted to use it with only had coax, so no good. I don't know if this was just a defective recorder or something else. On the plus side, the recorder came quickly, and when I was having problems getting it working, customer support did their best to help. I was able to return it to a nearby WalMart for a refund, minus shipping costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
NOTHING internal goes thru the coax!
Posted 11/02/2012
The Mag's coax circuit is just a signal passthru so downstream components, like a cable box or TV, can tune channels independently while the Mag is recording a diff. channel.
ALL internal stuff (menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR RCA. So, your TV needs one of those line connections, or you can run the Mag's line out(s) thru a VCR or a "RF Modeulator" box (cheap at Walmart.com or others). Connection instructions for VCR or modulator are in manual, pg. 20, "Connecting to a TV without Audio / Video jacks." A VCR can serve as the RF Modulator in the sketch there.
More info on connections is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Failed product

11/06/2012
By ,
Gary IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product had a difficult time picking up local tv reception and after getting a $40 antennea failed within one month to perform. The product failed to relay over the air digital tv on to the tv.
The productuct worked only about a month before failure. I know the product failed because I changed where the antenea went, from the product where the tv had a blank screen to the tv in on the tv and the tv had a picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Coax is not enough
Posted 11/06/2012
Sounds like you expected the Mag to show internal channels, HDD titles, etc. via the coax. That's ONLY a passthru of the antenna signal so your TV can tune channels independently.
The Mag requires a "Line output" to the TV like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Compsoite YWR RCA... those are the only way you'll see internal Mag stuff on a TV.
An index of help files is here for others to discover how the Mag operates:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 761 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next