Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(819 Reviews) 760
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Recommendation90%734 out of 819reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
449
4 stars
250
3 stars
43
2 stars
20
1 star
57
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Would not work on our older TV

11/01/2012
By ,
Milltown, NJ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not get the coax connection to work on any TV. I have a monitor TV my wife uses with her computer which I was able to hook up and get working using the composite connection (RWY). However, the TV I wanted to use it with only had coax, so no good. I don't know if this was just a defective recorder or something else. On the plus side, the recorder came quickly, and when I was having problems getting it working, customer support did their best to help. I was able to return it to a nearby WalMart for a refund, minus shipping costs.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
NOTHING internal goes thru the coax!
Posted 11/02/2012
The Mag's coax circuit is just a signal passthru so downstream components, like a cable box or TV, can tune channels independently while the Mag is recording a diff. channel.
ALL internal stuff (menus, channels, HDD titles, DVDs) go thru a separate "line connection" like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Composite YWR RCA. So, your TV needs one of those line connections, or you can run the Mag's line out(s) thru a VCR or a "RF Modeulator" box (cheap at Walmart.com or others). Connection instructions for VCR or modulator are in manual, pg. 20, "Connecting to a TV without Audio / Video jacks." A VCR can serve as the RF Modulator in the sketch there.
More info on connections is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
An index of info and help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Bad product - dvd part quits working

02/26/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne,. IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product 14 months ago. The DVD part no longer works but, so far, the hard drive still does. I called Magnavox. They wouldn't help at all because it's out of the 1 year warranty. They gave me 2 authorized dealers to take it to. One dealer was no longer in existence and the other dealer could not get the parts for it. I called Magnavox and explained to them the dealer they sent me to cannot get the parts to fix it and it cost me $25 for them to look at it. I asked them if they sell the parts for these products and I was told no. So I asked them why they would send me to an authorized dealer when they won't sell the parts to get them fixed and I got the "I'm very sorry for your trouble but if the product still had warranty then we would just replace it". That was all.
So watch out if you buy this product. One thing goes wrong after 12 months you are screwed. Magnavox is not a customer oriented company, replacement parts are not out there to fix them, and their products are cheap!! My dad bought this exact product 13 months ago and decided to wait until his basement was finished to put it down there and he had the same issue too - straight from the box , never used, the dvd part would not work and Magnavox would not do anything about it because it has been 13 months and they said there was no way for them to know whether the product had ever been used before.
Will never buy a Magnavox product again and would not recommend them to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
-2points
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA right out of the box

02/07/2013
By ,
Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cant say much about it because it came in DOA right out of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

difficult instructions..

04/16/2013
By ,
Boynton Beach
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Difficult instructions. Very confusing!! Page instructions constantly referring to other pages......Connections to tv fine.... but would not play program after recording.... No picture !! Contacted cust. svc. seeking help with set up. When explaining the only resolution was to send another remote. Completely unsatisfied we returned unit to Walmart....Only positive was quick delivery of product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Problem with starting

11/23/2013
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have purchased 2 of these over the past year. The first one stopped working when the electricity went off at my house. I purchased the other one because I didn't want to be without and could use it in the bedroom.I just came back from vacation and discovered the electricity was off for a while at some point while I was gone. I have surge protectors and should have had no problem. Now neither one of the machines will work at all. I don't understand why the TVs and all the other equipment works fine and they are plugged into the same outlet. will never buy another one of these. I am looking for another manufacturer now...
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

this particular machine was defective

12/20/2013
By ,
Montana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received a defective one and had to return it to the nearest store which is 100 miles away in Missoula, Mt. It would not work with the remote and had to be turned on manually and within about 30 seconds to a minute would shut itself off.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

It does a find job. Very easy to operate

02/15/2014
By ,
Little Rock, Ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had one before and love it. would buy again great product. sent to site to store pick it up no problems
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-5points
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

High Definition -NOT.

03/02/2014
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It has an HDMI connection but as far as I can tell, and what I have been told by tech support, it is only an output for playback. The only usable connection for recording off TV is an audio video cable. Quality is not great. I bought only to record a show off TV. Once you figure out how to hook it up, it works easy enough. If you just want to tape a shot to watch later and dont care about quality too much it is fine. Don't look to it to record something in HD. No different than other units it wont record certain signal protected shows and movies. For me it doesn't do what I need it is going back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

This product was defective

03/06/2014
By ,
Valley , AL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We had ordered this product previously [2]. The first out of the box hooked it up called customer Service @ Magnavox tried to make it work. They just said take it back. The second one the remote control worked but it would not turn the machine. Waited awhile decided to try again as the say sometimes is a charm. The third one tried to hook up and had to call service and spent almost an hour and it would not work. the next day I spent almost 4 hours and finally got it working. Set up to record and at the proper time it appeared it was working ok. After the hour tried to play the disk and lo & behold when I pressed the play button nothing happened. Called Magnavox and spent almost 45 min and they tried to get to play. They gave up and said it was defective and return it to the store. Doesn't Magnavox make any first quality merchandise or do the ship you all of the defective merchandise. I gave them three strikes and they were out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+19points
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

No HD tuner.

03/30/2014
By ,
Mpls, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I already returned this item. Like all the DVR players the big name electronic companies have been trying to unload on us for the last 8+ years this DVR has a standard definition tuner not a high definition tuner. The clever marketing makes you think you're purchasing a high definition recorder and when I read some of the positive reviews on the unit some of the people who purchased this item somehow thought they were recording in high def. I realized almost immediately that the unit featured obsolete standard definition technology and I quickly found the small print indicating the unit has a standard definition tuner. When I went back and read more of the negative reviews I found many people like me that were not happy they wasted their time on a recorder that is not high def. So I returned mine and I am purchasing a true HD recorder from ePVision instead.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+50points
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Stopped working after 4 months

03/23/2013
By ,
Cincinnati
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Calling to get RGA to return unit; purchased 11/26/2012, dead 3/21/2013. I may follow up with customer service results. Needs better over the air channel info (channel guide for local stations, etc). First I noted no sound, but when I disconnected, my TV also didn't work. Tried connecting to two other TV sets and nothing on both.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Try SOFT RESET first!
Posted 03/23/2013
Before returning it, try a Soft Reset which should "wake ir up"... it's not dead, just sleeping caused by some electrical or signal event:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Other help files are here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

SD only, poor picture

01/27/2013
By ,
Kansas City, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I connected the recorder but didn't bother trying to record because of two issues:
1. The machine only records in standard definition, not high definition. Once connected, the signal must pass through the recorder, so picture quality on the Samsung 65" UN65EH6000F was poor.
2. The manual states it only records 4:3 aspect ratio, not 16:9. I called Panasonic to verify and was told that, yes, it doesn't record wide-screen. I was also told that it's an "old model."
I ordered online but returned it to a Walmart store without problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-3points
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not for HD

03/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
his product does not have an HD tuner, so is basically obsolete.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Failed product

11/06/2012
By ,
Gary IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product had a difficult time picking up local tv reception and after getting a $40 antennea failed within one month to perform. The product failed to relay over the air digital tv on to the tv.
The productuct worked only about a month before failure. I know the product failed because I changed where the antenea went, from the product where the tv had a blank screen to the tv in on the tv and the tv had a picture and sound.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Coax is not enough
Posted 11/06/2012
Sounds like you expected the Mag to show internal channels, HDD titles, etc. via the coax. That's ONLY a passthru of the antenna signal so your TV can tune channels independently.
The Mag requires a "Line output" to the TV like HDMI, Component RGB, S-Video or Compsoite YWR RCA... those are the only way you'll see internal Mag stuff on a TV.
An index of help files is here for others to discover how the Mag operates:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

DOA & Poor Support

11/07/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I received mine yesterday & attempted to set it up. I use DirectTV & was replacing a Sony DVR. Could not get the set-up screen nothing but a blue screen. Support initially was bizarre. The rep tried to troubleshoot using the wrong model. Eventually, I insisted on a supervisor who took me through a long troubleshooting session--swapping cables, & etc. At the end of an hour on the phone, the supervisor told me to have the TV manufacturer troubleshoot it's input jacks. So I did. Of course, these were fine--worked with the Satellite receiver & the Sony. Called Magnavox today & they wanted to go through the whole troubleshooting again! They try to wear you out. I demurred. Apparently they don't take any notes of previous calls. I was offered an exchange. I'll be returning this to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
San Jose, CA.
Same experiance with tech support in Funai
Posted 03/04/2013
Order from Walmart.com was good experience but not with tech support at Funai.
The tech support had heavy breathing thru microphone I hardly can hear him. My new will reset my time back to default 2/1/2012 once I power off to standby mode. This tech can't resolve my problem so he tell me the set was design to leave on and not to power off to standby mode. What a joke? and he also disconnect me while I was still talking to him. So, I returned to Walmart without problem.
0points
Help files available
Posted 11/08/2012
Here's a help file on CONNECTIONS, which is probably your problem... see Sketch 4 for satellite:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298409
Here's an index of other info and help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
02/07/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this unit because of the reviews but I could not view TV with this unit connected with an HDMI cable. I called Magnavox support and they said it was a faulty unit. I ordered another one hooked it up and it still wouldn't work. I called Magnavox and they said maybe my HDMI cable was incompatible. I went and bought another HDMI cable hooked it up and it still won't work. I called Magnavox again and they thought it was the unit and wanted me to wait 4 weeks for another one to be sent out. I thought I would just order another one online and now Wal-Mart has upped the price!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Not working right out of the box.

05/11/2013
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great features, to bad it did not work right. Had this unit for about a week. You set the time, then every day (24 hours) it would gain two (2) hours, making time record impossible to use. It also would not record to the internal hard drive (HDD). Called Magnavox Support two different days. Support said try this and that and call back after 24 hours. Called back, try this and that, still did not work. Support said I have two options, send it in to be repaired and it would take four (4) weeks or more to get it back or replace it with a new one. Of course the store did not have one and they would have to order one. So I chose my option, returned unit to Walmart and got my money back. Great DVD player if you just want to play DVD's on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HD recording is poor

11/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am very disappointed in this product I wish I had researched it a bit more and read more of the negative comments before I purchased this unit. I primarily wanted to record shows on TV in HD. The quality of the picture for viewing live TV or a recorded program is nothing close to the original program. Just for clarification I happen to use it with my cable box, I think the quality of the picture over the air (antennae) or a direct connection to cable without the box the picture is much improved. I didn't take the unit back because I will still use it to burn my VHS tapes to DVD. The reason I put down never use this product is because after I burn my VHS to DVD it will not be used
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-6points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dublin, Oh
RE: HD recording is poor
Posted 11/03/2013
Exactly my concern: HD quality is poor.
Can anyone confirm that the recording quality choice to HQ makes any difference?
If the original recording is HD, I don't see why it will not replay the same quality.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Timer did not work right out of the box!

11/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Simple to set up, good quality recording. BUT - the timer did not work1 I use for "time shifting" of programs for viewing later. The timer failed immediately after set-up and has not worked after repeated re-sets. Will be returning product!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Hard drive failed after two days use.

10/27/2012
By ,
Wolfeboro, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
During the playback of a recording made shortly after receiving the product the playback froze. I was unable to delete the recording. After repeated attempts to make another recording I was unable to get to the title page - list of recordings - nor was I able to make another recording. I think I would have liked the product, but really didn't get an opportunity to check it out before it failed. I was very impressed with how Walmart handled the purchase and the return. Shipping cost was minimal and return of product and receipt of credit at nearest store was also hassle free. I would definitely make another purchase from Walmart, but not this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
A Soft Reset would have fixed
Posted 10/29/2012
For freezing issues, a Soft Reset will fix, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
An index of other help files is here (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
There are pages there that describe reasons a unit can freeze and what to do about them.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 761 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  39 Next