Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Magnavox Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(660 Reviews) 602
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
364
4 stars
203
3 stars
33
2 stars
10
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation90%593 out of 660reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
272 Questions | 1,086 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
364
4 stars
203
3 stars
33
2 stars
10
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

8th Gen. of Philips/Magnavox HDD/DVD Recorders

09/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The MDR535H/F7 is one of three in the 53x Series... 533 and 537 are the others. This 535 has a 500GB HDD while the others have 320GB and 1000GB (1TB) HDDs.
Primary source of info on these recorders is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
Manual is here:
http://www.m4c.magnavox.com/files/m/mdr535h_f7/mdr535h_f7_dfu_aen.pdf
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
The Mag 533/535/537 (53x) Series is the 8th, and possibly final, generation of simple, family-friendly, durable, std def (SD, 480i) analog/digital DVD recorders (DVDR) with hard disk drive (HDD) that are yearly improvements of the same basic design and operating system.
They're the ONLY recorders, SD or HD (720/1080), available for daily use in North America with:
-NTSC/ATSC/QAM tuners for antenna or cable.
-Easily replaceable hard disk drive (HDD): 320/500/1000GB (1TB).
-Easily replaceable DVD burner.
-Widescreen (16:9) recording.
-Amplified coax and line input.
-DV input.
-Coax digital audio out.
-1080p HDMI upconvert.
-36 timer-rec programs.
-6-hour autorecord buffer.
-Pause & rewind live TV.
-Chase play.
-Skip/replay.
-Simultaneous play/record.
-Record while watching diff. channel on TV via coax passthru.
-Integrated TV/DVDR control via HDMI CEC-link.
-1-2 hour power backup, dep. on whether Auto Clock is off or on.
-Simple editing for your archive copies or home movies.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR NEWCOMERS TO DVDRs OR THIS BRAND OF DVDR
The 53x Series are standalone units that can record from an antenna or cable TV. They can also record from cable boxes and satellite receivers or copy from DVRs.
They're so easy to use they can be operated by the entire family, from kids to timeshifters to gearheads.
Timeshifters can reliably record a bunch of named shows, unattended and with NO tapes or discs.
Gearheads can upgrade their HDD or create an "HDD farm" of multiple 2.5" and 3.5" external (E-SATA) HDDs with unlimited storage, <1-min. drive swapout, HDD portability, and external power for less internal heat and stress.
The DVD burner is also DIY replaceable with a ~$70 OEM unit.
For the past 5 years, this same HDD/DVD recorder design has proven to be a simple and reliable way to record your daily and weekly shows on analog or digital channels, completely unattended, so you can go on a long vacation or business trip and you'll never touch a disc!
It's the only device you'll need to copy your family's home movies or your DVR recordings to a stand-alone, no-monthly-fee HDD, where you can edit or not, then high-speed dub to DVDs for a perfect mirror-image of the original. You can also record/copy direct to DVD, if you prefer.
If you get your TV signal via OTA antenna, you won't need a digital converter box wherever you've got one of these.
Fair warning: The HDD will spoil you rotten!
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
FOR OWNERS OF PREVIOUS MODELS
If you looked at or have one of the previous models in the Philips or Mag HDD/DVD series, you might only need to know that, with the 53x Series, Funai is basically only satisfying a "Primary Wish": KEEP MAKING THE MDR515!.
The 53x Manual reads virtually the same as the 515 manual, except they now show 900 titles possible on the HDD instead of 600.
One major disappointment, other than the fact that the MDR53x Series doesn't add any new capabilities, is that the remote still operates the older Mag HDD/DVD recorders, the 2080, 2160, 2160A and 513. Users of multiple Mag machines will still have to use barriers to operate a single machine.
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
ERRORS, OMISSIONS AND MISLEADS STILL IN THE MANUAL
Be aware that the 53x manual STILL has several important errors, omissions, and misleads.
Three of the worst are:
1. WRONG - SETTING THIS DVDR UP BEHIND A CABLE BOX, pg 19.
Makes this DVDR a "slave" to the box! It should be 1st on the incoming cable coax unless you order PPV/VOD thru the box… only then do you need a 2-way splitter on the incoming coax. The coax circuit on this DVDR passes the raw signal thru to the box, so this DVDR can "pick off" (record) ANY unscrambled channel in the signal. It should NEVER be behind a cable box where it can only record the channel the box is tuned to… EVEN IF ALL YOUR CABLE CHANNELS ARE SCRAMBLED (makes no diff.). Of course, you must do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) to make sure your DVDR sees and memorizes the unscrambled channels (if any).
2. OMITTED - MAKING FRONT- AND END-CUTS IN EDIT, Pp 93-94.
Frustrates many new users! In the Scene Delete menu, only REW stops on 1st frame and only PLAY and FF stop on last frame. 2160, 2160A and 513 also had a totally confusing and unnecessary auto-Preview after an End Cut that should be IGNORED. At least the 53x Series doesn't have the confusing auto-preview!
3. MISLEADING - RECORDING 16:9 WIDESCREEN AS 4:3, pg 45.
This half-truth has caused more misunderstanding than almost anything else in the manual. It's a "deep" technical subject that didn't need to be there! It HAS TO record a 4:3 aspect pic FRAME because the DVD Std was built on the old 4:3 VHS Std, but the DVD std allows a combo of square/non-square pixels, variable horiz. rez, compression and decompression within that 4:3 frame. THAT'S what allows your HDTV to stretch the "non-square" (rectangular) pixels of a WS image inside that 4:3 frame to natural 16:9 WS aspect. You just need to set this DVDR's Video > TV Aspect to "16:9 Wide" and your HDTV on its "Wide" aspect setting. However, this DVDR's DEFAULT setting for aspect ratio is "4:3 Letter Box" so you have to change that to 16:9 Wide during setup or none of your recordings will be 16:9 WS!
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
IF YOU NEED MORE INFO OR DETAILS ON THE ABOVE, IT'S ALL HERE (same link as at top):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
Disclaimer: I have never represented or worked for Funai or Walmart in any capacity… and currently don't work for anyone else! -:)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+301points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Posted 04/26/2013
It records only one program at a time, however its coax circuit is an amplified splitter that send the raw signal thru to downstream components like TV or cable box, while also feeding the Mag's tuner.
So, if you can place the Mag is 1st on the coax, like in an antenna or cable system, you can record one channel with the Mag while watching a diff. channel thru your cable box or TV tuner... the Mag and the TV or cable box are getting the raw signal separately for tuning.
Also, while recording, you can play a prev. recorded HDD title or a DVD. You can also Chase Play the recording in progress from its beginning.
The Mag's built-in splitter is not bi-directional, so if you have a cable box and order PPV/VOD thru the box or you need 2-way comm. with the cableco for other reasons, you can install a 2-way bi-directional splitter and accomplish the same thing.
The Mag comes with a remote and short push-on caox for signal passthru to your cable box or TV and thin YWR RCA cables for seeing internal Mag stuff like menus, channels, recorded titles, DVDs.
Lots of info and help files are here... click link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Customer Avatar
Lakeside
recording tv programs
Posted 04/25/2013
How many programs can you record at same time? Can you record programs and watch tv at same time?
What kind of cable comes with this DVD?
0points
Belowzero:
Posted 10/09/2012
You can't "install" a BD recorder since the internal systems are built and programmed for operating with the HDD and DVD burner in it and, with a DVD, the system has to be designed to downconvert all incoming signals to 480i, IAW the DVD Standard.
You could play the Mag's recordings or DVD titles to a BD recorder as a separate device using the Mag's outputs: Composite YWR or S-Video, as long as the BDR has one of those inputs.
An index of info and help files is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read my Comment on your Review
Posted 10/09/2012
Apparently you haven't read the Comment I post to your Review here:
http://www.walmart.com/ip/Magnavox-500GB-HDD-and-DVD-Recorder-with-Digital-Tuner/20710258#Product+Reviews
0points
Customer Avatar
msp, MN
Blue ray recorder installed
Posted 10/07/2012
If I installed a blue ray recorder would it record in HD?
0points
Customer Avatar
Springfield, IL
Can you test something for me?
Posted 10/04/2012
You seem very tech savy so was wondering if you could test something out for me. I recently purchased this and have come across what I think is a flaw in the programming of the software in it (versus a defect with just my unit).
One thing does NOT work as the manual promised...I usually record to DVD so that I can put it on my computer and convert the TV shows to play on the iPad. The benefit of the HDD automatically taking over and recording to it if I forget to put in a DVD or ran out of room on the DVD was a WONDERFUL idea but it does not work completely. The recorder starts recording at the correct time BUT it does not do it to the channel you set (unless the channel you need is the last one it previously recorded on). For example, the night before it recorded on Channel 3. I took the DVD out but forgot to put a new one in. The next day at 1 p.m. it was supposed to record Channel 10. It did the recording at 1 p.m. but it did not record Channel 10 as programmed, it recorded Channel 3. I double checked my timer program (it is a daily program so I knew it was correct as it had been recording fine) and it was still set to Channel 10. The only thing I can figure out is that Channel 3 was the last channel it recorded the night before.
In order to have Magnavox inspect it, they wanted me to ship it to them and they would replace it (with no guarantee that it would not happen with the replacement too) but the worst part was I'd be without a recorder for 3-4 weeks just to see if it is a design flaw or a defect with just one unit.
Thanks,
Cindy
0points
It does play DVD movies
Posted 10/01/2012
The Mags can play home-made DVDs and commercial DVDs, as well as music on CDs.
0points
Customer Avatar
laguna Woods, Ca.
Will it play pre-recorded dvd movies?
Posted 09/29/2012
It sounds like a great product but will it playback pre-recorded dvd's? I want to be
able to watch movies that I buy fom Amazon.
0points
Customer Avatar
msp, MN
Thankyou for your well written and very helpful re
Posted 09/22/2012
I purchased the mdr533h due to your review. It arrived 3-4days later and works just like you said. Pretty simple and sweet with no tapes or disc needed for recording. Great tip about setting the video to wide screen. Nice to know I could switch to a bigger hard drive if needed. Thanks for that tip too. Great job!! About the only thing I don't like is the 4 watt power consumption when turned off in standby. Not Energy Star compliant.
+1point
Read Comments (9)
Read Comments (9)
Review 2 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Loved it so much, I bought two!

09/13/2012
By ,
Ottawa/Ogdensbug
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have an older Toshiba DVR (how old? It has 60 gb hard drive!) So I decided to give the Magnavox a try with its 500 gb HDD. I love it! It's very easy to use and holds a ton of shows. I haven't used the DVD recorder yet, but that's only because I haven't needed to free up any HDD space.
One of my favorite features of this device is that it continually records whatever you are watching on TV, sort of like a Tivo, but without the monthly fee. It runs in the background so you don't even know that it's on, but from time to time I do want to rewind and have my very own "instant replay".
I highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
CF, Iowa
Recording question....
Posted 10/05/2013
Does this record more then one program/station at a time? And if not, can you recommend another product that will?
0points
Only one at a time
Posted 10/26/2012
The Mag has only one tuner so only one recording at a time. It will tune and record any UNscrambled Cablevision channels but not the scrambled ones (if any). Whatever channels your HDTV can tune w/o the box is what the Mag will tune.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Glen Cove, NY
Recording limits.
Posted 10/24/2012
how many shows can you record at simultaneously? Does it work with Cablevision? I have a Cablevision DVR and would love to get rid of it because it limits me to recording two shows at a time plus I cannot keep them.
+1point
Help files available
Posted 10/03/2012
Here's an index of help files available for everything from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+1point
Customer Avatar
Ivanhoe,Ca.
Magnavox 500GB HDD and DVD Recorder with Digital T
Posted 09/26/2012
I Have this unit too bought it in January and it has been the greatest. The hard drive does go on forever and is very easy to use I just put it on the daily mode Monday - Friday and like clockwork, which is just what it is, works beautifly. Never miss a thing. I'm buying another one for my other bedroom TV So I can record their too. And between the 2 of them I will be set up for the weekends viewing. Also the best thing about them "there's No monthly fee to pay It's free to use forever". I can live with Free, yep works for me.
+1point
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 3 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Cord-cutter's dream

11/14/2012
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
OK, this DVR has a barbaric interface and no program guide. But also no monthly fees, and as a bonus, lets you preserve selected recordings to a DVD. Its tuner is also very good- better than the prior Philips versions of this DVR. So for serious cord-cutters, this is a great machine.
Its only real competition is the ChannelMaster 7400 DVR, which has more advanced program guide features and vudu internet integration, but no DVD player, let alone DVD recorder. But it is a huge electricity hog, which disqualifies it in my book. Of course the bottom-end Tivo, which works with an antenna, carries a hefty monthly fee.
Here is a question for the Magnavox/Philips/Funai engineers: Why, if you set the clock to auto-update, does the hard disk run all the time, even in standby mode? This was a problem in the prior Philips version as well. But if you use the manually set clock, the unit stays in real standby, with the hard drive off, saving wear and tear, as well as energy. Just a tip for advanced users!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+86points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Procedure for getting confirmed "good" time signal
Posted 11/15/2012
Here's a help file on "The 11:57 Procedure" which can find and confirm a SINGLE channel in your area that supplies a good time signal, not a "rogue" signal that keeps the machine running or does other bad things:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#user_Set2
Normally, the Mag searches for a time signal on initial setup, then only at noon and midnight if you set Auto Clock to ON. However, without using the MANUAL option and 11:57 Procedure, it searches ALL available channels, during which it CAN run across a BAD signal, like one of the ION troublemakers or a local access channel.
Here's an index of other info and help files (you only need to read and bookmark PAGE 1):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+4points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

My second one

07/28/2013
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this for two years now. I have made 100s of DVDs. My first appreciation of this product was the built in tuner. I did not have cable at the time and when I hooked up my mickey mouse antenna to it I was amazed that I got both digital and high definition channels. When I did get cable hooked up it got even better! From time to time you will get an error message when dubbing a DVD. This is because the disc itself is flawed. For whatever reason the manufacturer of the blank DVD is to blame. I bought a second one when I thought my first had died after two years of heavy use. My unit froze up while dubbing a DVD and would do nothing. I unplugged it and when I plugged it back in....dead. No power, nothing. I was sad at first because I had stored so many things on the hard drive. The next day after leaving it unplugged overnight, I decided to plug it in once more. It worked! No problems. It repaired itself. I am very happy and now I have a second one for my other TV!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Use a Soft Reset next time...
Posted 07/28/2013
Here's a help file on Soft Reset for units that "appear" to be dead... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/3000#user_Replug
Here are other info and help files:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Great DVR for Over the Air Users

09/28/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The review by wajo2 says it all but I wanted to write this one to add my name to the list of satisfied customers. I bought a 515 a few months ago and have been very pleased - and I just bought a 535 for another location. The picture quality is SD, not HD, but unless you sit close to the TV, the difference in quality is small – like watching a DVD vs. BluRay. The only "non-cable" DVRs in the market are this one, a Channel Master (did not like the specs) and TIVO which carries a monthly fee. My only wish is that Magnavox would make an HD DVR for their next version (unlikely) but otherwise I hope they continue to make this one. Like wajo2 said, the HDD will spoil you. Highly recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Customer Avatar
Albany, NY
Posted 03/11/2014
I would agree that it's great for those who are over-the-air users. Also those that just watch basic cable and don't desire more.
If you want the HD channels to get scanned in, this is not the one you want. What you want will cost more. At least $500.
0points
Customer Avatar
Houston, TX
To the Anonymous Customer question:
Posted 10/03/2012
For OTA users, you connect the antenna directly to the DVR and then the output of the DVR to your HD TV. In this configuration, when watching TV directly through its own tuner (not through the DVR tuner) you will see an HD picture if one is being transmitted by the station. In Houston all HD transmissions are at either 720p or 1080i. There are no stations in this area transmitting at 1080p. Basically your HD TV will show the same quality picture with or without the DVR when watching TV directly. If you watch a DVR recorded show or a live show using the DVR tuner (i.e., with the TV input set to the HDMI feed from the DVR) you will see an upconverted signal in either 480p, 720p, 1080i or 1080p depending on which mode you select on the DVR. The upconverted signal will not be as good as when watching directly through the TV tuner – it will be of DVD like quality, not BluRay like quality. Hope this helps.
+1point
The Mags are Std Def (SD) units
Posted 10/01/2012
The DVD Std requires these Mag recorders to downconvert all incoming signals to 480i for any possible recording on DVDs.
They can upconvert their internal stuff (channels and recorded titles) to 1080p via HDMI, but the original signal will have started as 480i.
The coax circuit does pass thru High Def (HD) signals if you receive those and you can watch cable box or TV channels in true HD since the Mags just pass that signal, slightly amplified, thru their coax output.
0points
Customer Avatar
HD
Posted 09/29/2012
Hi CMHOU,
I am confused about the SD vs. HD. I have a large tv and need HD. The specs call out a 1080p up-converter. You state that you 'wish' it had high def. Can you help me understand the difference?
Thanks,
0points
Read Comments (4)
Read Comments (4)
Review 6 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
09/27/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was glad to see Walmart bring this back. Only dvd recorder with a QAM tuner so I don't need the little converter the cable co. provides. I now can watch some shows and record some on hard drive or disc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+65points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files available!
Posted 10/06/2012
An index of help files and tips is here for everything, from setup to operation:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

The alternative to cable

12/30/2013
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For years I paid $127 a month to my local cable TV company for what was essentially several hundred channels of nonsense. It was the same old garbage; "staged" reality shows, endless infomercials, and reruns. After being forced to deal with a particularly surly customer service rep during a two-day outage, I got mad and disconnected the cable. It was weird at first getting used to not having cable, but in our market we have 18 over the air broadcast stations.
The downside to over the air digital TV is that there are no VCR or DVD recorders that access DTV.
This is not the case anymore, as this Magnavox HDD recorder has a DVD burner. It receives digital TV quite well.
This unit is simple to use. I read other reviews online wherein users complain of this product not being easy to program. This is far from true. It is easy to program and record.
I do not miss cable. In the four years since I ditched the cable I realize I have saved over $6000!!!! That is six thousand dollars going into my pocket and not in the coffers of a certain cable company to pay for rude service people.
In review, this item is great, the price is great and you cannot go wrong with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Works well!

10/14/2013
By ,
Vermilion, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I cut my cable and got rid of my monthly cable bill, and I don't regret it, however I did miss being able to record on a HDD as I did with cable, this Magnavox DVR lets me do the same as if I had a cable DVR, being able to fast forward, replay, etc. Plus having the ability to do dubbing.
This DVR is not hard to hook up. Changing channels is a tad slow, not a big deal. However giving a title to the recorded shows or movies is awkward, and takes to much time. There should be a keyboard type pop up to use as in Netflix. The picture quality is excellence and the ability to fast forward though commercials is great as you can do if you had cable DVRS. You can't program as easily as you used to do with cable, but it's not hard to do. Look up the TV schedule on your computer, such as TV Guide and go from there. It's sure beats paying out to cable and if you decide to purchase a Tivo dvr your going to have to pay them $15. dollars a month for TV guide service, so your right back where you were with cable. Don't be worried getting rid of cable, you won't regret it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Great replacement for a VCR for recording OTA

10/21/2012
By ,
Broken Arrow, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need a VCR replacement for recording OTA (Over The Air) digital broadcasts then you need to look no further. My daughter bought me one of these at the start of the current broadcast season. If I record at SLP quality (same quality as VCR tape in SLP mode) then I can record 604 hours of programming on the HDD (Hard Drive). I can also set it up to record on the same channel and the same time every week. Since the entire television season lasts about 37 weeks I could set it up to record every episode of 16 different one hour shows for their entire season on the HDD, not give it another thought until the season is over and then watch each show sequentially if I wanted to. I can also choose to record the shows in HQ which is close to Hi-Def, but I would only be able to record less than 100 hours of programming. There are about eight different qualities to choose from so you should be able to find the balance between picture quality and recording time that meets your needs.
In my case I have it set up to record seven returning prime time one hour shows that I have been watching for a while and five new prime time shows that I might be interested in watching. Besides that I record a number of shows that come on at late night or other times when I cannot watch them and then watch them at a more convenient time. I also have these set up to record weekly. If one of my shows was not on one week and something else was recorded then I can either delete it or watch it.
One thing to know is that you can only watch the show that is being recorded when recording is happening. This is no problem for me. I simply dub all the episodes of a show that I have not watched to a DVD and watch them in my living room thru my DVD player. The input signal from an Antenna via the coax cable passes through without any loss of signal which allows you to watch a different show on your television using its tuner while the DVR is recording.
If you choose the HIGH option for the recording speed the DVD is the same quality as the show was recorded to the HDD in but it takes less than five minutes to dub a one hour show. Of course, you can also set it up to record directly to the DVD in the first place when you set up timed recording but then you have to keep changing DVDs and keeping track of them.
I delete shows from the HDD once I have watched them from DVD. If you use a DVD+RW for recording then you can also erase the DVD and reuse it when you have watched all of the shows on the DVD. You can also just record over another show like you can on a VCR tape but it is easier to just erase all of the shows after you have watched all of them and then reuse the entire DVD. You can write protect any DVD that you do not want to be recorded over but it might be better to record on a DVD+R or DVD-R instead.
One last thing that must be understand. This recorder only tunes in OTA signals (digital and analog). It will not tune in QAM or other cable/satellite signals. You can hook up any device (like a VCR or Cable Box) that outputs RCA (Red, White, Yellow plugs) to the DVR input and record from that device but the device must be tuned separately.
This DVR is so much better than a VCR and is perfect for recording OTA programming. I couldn't be happier with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
The Mag CAN tune cable-QAM signals.
Posted 10/22/2012
The Mags CAN tune both OTA antenna and cable QAM signals. This user has an antenna so had to scan for antenna signals, but one of the other options is Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital), which is what a cable user would use.
An index of info and help files explaining this is here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HAPPY TO FIND THIS

10/29/2012
By ,
Northern Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has had this Magnavox DVD/HDD recorder/player for a couple of years. When my good ol' VCR died, I was dismayed to find that these units were priced over $1,000 and VCRs and DVD/VCRs with tuners were not available any longer. I have an antenna on the roof and do not want to pay for cable or a dish or TiVO. We just do not watch enough TV.
While I thought about what to do, the Magnavox became available on Walmart.com. The unit works very well and we sorted it out easily. Be sure to go to this web site:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
where some techies have listed lots of information. Whoever you are, you have my gratitude.
One note: If you have the HDMI fun-link (>Menu >HDMI >HDMI Control) ON, when you use the one-button record (the little red REC button), if you turn off the TV, the recording turns off, too. Change the fun-link to OFF before you use the one-button record and you can turn off the TV while recording.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
HDMI Control (CEC) should not turn recorder off ..
Posted 04/21/2014
When you turn the TV off, it should not turn any attached recorder off if its recording at that time, as described here:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#user_Set10
0points
Customer Avatar
Rhode Island
Very helpful hints
Posted 11/20/2013
Thank you for your review. It was very helpful for me to know about the tuner and how it will work with my digital TV.
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

GREAT DVR!

01/09/2014
By ,
Meadville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I received this DVR for Christmas. At first it seemed overwhelming to me with all the instructions. Set up was easy enough with a cable box from my local cable company. I am only able to record the channel that is on the TV because of my cable company so that was a bit disappointing. Recording from the DVR to a disc is very easy. Once you get the hang of how it works it is fairly easy to operate. Looks nice too. The remote control is good but the buttons are so hard to read that you have to memorize where the ones you use are. The picture is very nice. I did find out that when you record in HQ you use up a lot more space of the DVR and disc. I haven't used everything yet so I won't comment on anything other than what I am using. The DVD player is very good and the picture is great! The price was fantastic for what this unit does as the PVR from my cable company costs $30 per month for as long as you keep the cable. I would recommend it to my friends and family.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Albany, NY
Posted 03/10/2014
The DVR is good. The DVD player isn't that great.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB
10/17/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We needed a replacement for a VCR/DVD recorder for over the air (antenna) TV recording. We were looking for a recorder that has a digital tuner to make this possible and this one does. We've had this Magnavox for a couple weeks, but so far we are loving the ability to record to either the hard drive or a DVD. The manual is long, but easy to follow, the machine is easy to program and operate. You can record one station and watch another by just watching through the TV. We are considering getting another to replace a VCR/DVD recorder that is difficult to program, because it is such a breeze to use! We would highly recommend the Magnavox to anyone looking to replace a recorder.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Finally an affordable DVR with HD TV Tuner.

10/13/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO and Mesa, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Thanks Walmart for offering an affordable DVR for those of us who watch local broadcast HighDefinition Television. My family has opted out of the high cost of cable and dish television contracts and instead we use Internet television via Roku and our old roof top antennas on top of our homes in Colorado Springs and Mesa. We are not limited on content that is offered and can pay for only what we truly want to watch. However, there was no good solution to record the locally broadcasted major networks (CBS, ABC, NBC, Fox, PBS and others in Mesa) until now. This Magnavox DVR works well and has a great tuner, giving us great HD 1040p resolution with progressive scan. I just had to set the aspect ratio and the progressive scan option, and left all the other settings in their default settings. We now don't miss our favorite shows or games when we are not at home. For good antenna reception of local broadcast media I installed new highly shielded cable to our old roof top antenna and a $20.00 HDTV Booster from Home Depot to give a good signal to our Magnavox DVR Tuner. We have been watching free TV now for almost two years, and that saves us allot.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
4.5 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Great purchase for my needs after going to antenna

02/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To be honest, I have only had this for about a month so far and have still have not used all the functions but, from coming off a VCR and cable TV, this DVR/DVD recorder is so far pretty easy to use and set up (also take into consideration that I am over 50 and have not really kept up on the times). Programming regular shows with time and date is just like the old VCRs so that is no problem. My cable company was going totally digital and giving me only 8 watchable channels on my tier so I thought it was time to save some money and buy an antenna (put in attic). I bought a new TV, this new DVR/DVD, but kept my old tuner and CD player. I am so pleased with the capabilities of this device! Probably more than I will ever use! I always have something to watch since I record things during the week/month and I have tons of hours I could use to record if I wanted. I can finally say goodbye to paying those high prices for cable or satellite and still get to watch TV programs of my choice! It was a bit expensive and I am hoping it has a long life and is not something "disposable" like most things are these days! Greatly satisfied so far!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

We are loving this!

12/09/2013
By ,
Denver,CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally hooked up and using it aggressively, wow does it work great. No cable just digital antennae. We were able to watch a football game still recording up until the moment we caught up with the live show.You do have to make the effort to record the show you want, it does set weekly, daily, one time. Probably does a lot more I don't know about yet, still learning. Pros: Works and records like a champ Cons: The free HDMI cable the comes with this package isn't the best, my picture was better with a better cable. When you have the input straight to the TV vs from DVR to TV I noticed slightly lighter HDTV colors. This is a great product that is pretty easy to use if you aren't on the cable band wagon much like the old school VHS recorders. Yes I do know I can stream, which I do sometimes, but frankly I like the hands off approach of knowing I will have daily show I love just ready without many commands
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Very nice recorder!

10/13/2012
By ,
Greenbrier, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you understand that this is a standard definition recorder I wouldn't think anyone would be disappointed with this device. I recently decided.to rid myself of cable and satellite bills and go with over the air broadcast and a Roku player and an MK802 mini android based pc hooked up to my TV to supplement my antenna TV watching. The only thing I really missed having was the ability to pause, rewind and store programming on a dvr. I was used to having a 722VIP dvr with dish network which was great and I wanted something similar but with no monthly fees. This product fills that void but you have to understand that this is kind of somewhere in between a vcr and a subscription based dvr. The output is standard definition and you need to know that going in. That being said it is a very nice looking standard definition picture that this device puts out but it won't be as clean as your HD antenna based signal. There is no way to record by simply looking at a guide and picking a show to record and telling it.to.record all the new episodes. This device has to have a timer set up like a vcr would but it automatically records whatever you are watching to th hard drive so you do have the ability to pause and rewind live tv much like a dvr does. This recorder is packed with features and options and it doesn't generate nearly as much heat as my old dvr did so I am sure it uses a lot less electricity as well. As long as people understand this is standard definition and it has to be programmed more like a vcr to record shows then I don't see how anyone could be disappointed with it. Just one note, I have not used the dvd burner part yet so I can't comment on it. The hard drive holds so much on it I haven't had a need to burn anything to disk yet.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Help files are here:
Posted 10/15/2012
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
including info on pre-titling timer rec programs so each recorded instance has a show title, like "CSI."
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Thankful that Magnavox still makes DVD recorders

10/04/2012
By ,
Springfield, IL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've learned several things with this that the manual didn't really cover (and a call to their help line didn't know the correct answer either).
1. It will record at the scheduled time whether you put it in standby or leave it on. The manual did not address this and all the other DVD recorders and VCR's I've owned always said you had to shut the power off or put it in standby to do the timer recording. (The help desk told me I HAD to leave it on for it to record via the timer-not true). It uses a ton more power if you leave it on but I was willing to do that to make the timer work if need be. However I found out it puts itself in standby after a while and it records just fine in standby.
2. Even if you receive both digital and analog cable channels but usually just watch the analog...chose analog only. Choosing both during the setup worked for some of the channels but gave me totally wrong stations to match the channel number of others. Once I put it to just analog, things worked fine.
3. One thing does NOT work as the manual promised...I usually record to DVD so that I can put it on my computer and convert the TV shows to play on the iPad. The benefit of the HDD automatically taking over and recording to it if I forget to put in a DVD or ran out of room on the DVD was a WONDERFUL idea but it does not work completely. The recorder starts recording at the correct time BUT it does not do it to the channel you set (unless the channel you need is the last one it previously recorded on). For example, the night before it recorded on Channel 3. I took the DVD out but forgot to put a new one in. The next day at 1 p.m. it was supposed to record Channel 10. It did the recording at 1 p.m. but it did not record Channel 10 as programmed, it recorded Channel 3. I double checked my timer program (it is a daily program so I knew it was correct as it had been recording fine) and it was still set to Channel 10. The only thing I can figure out is that Channel 3 was the last channel it recorded the night before.
4. Tried reporting item 3 problem to their help desk but got terrible customer service. Was told I'd have to box it up and mail it to them and they could ship me a different one but my recorder would be gone 3 to 4 weeks and there was no guarantee that the replacement would handle things any differently!!! I didn't pay close to $300 to not have a recorder for the next month with all the new TV shows on and me not being able to record them while I was gone. It would have been nice if they would have shipped a new one and then let me return this one when the new one arrived. I wouldn't even have minded giving them my credit card number to ensure the prompt return of this one but that was not an option. I either live with it or go a month without a recorder. This has to be a simple programming coding error on their part and I think could be addressed with an update but at this point in time there are no firmware updates available.
I've only owned this a couple of weeks so it is too early to know how long it will be reliable for. I had a previous Magnavox recorder about 3 years ago and it was a piece of junk. Went through two of them during the warranty period and finally got rid of it for another maker. But now hardly anyone makes DVD recorders anymore so I was forced to order this one if I wanted one at all. I'd love to come back next year and give an update to let you know it is still working.
Also, if anyone else out there has this unit, could you test the problem I had in #3 and see if the HDD will record the proper channel the next day if you don't put a DVD in. Just make sure to have it record a different channel than the last one it recorded the evening before to see if it changes channels for you.
Thank you,
Cindy
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
Springfield, IL
Customer service names
Posted 10/30/2012
correction to previous post where I put another name behind Magnavox for the custmer service. It is actually Funai (not Jarden). They don't go by Magnavox customer service but Funai and I just forgot the different name. But the rest of the complaint and story is completely correct. Can't wait for a replacement to get here and have it working 100 % of the time like it is supposed to. Like I said, when it works it is fantastic, but when it randomly screws up it is very aggravating. But even more aggravating is the lousy customer service from Magnavox (Funai).
0points
Customer Avatar
Springfield, IL
Still randomly "forgets" to switch to channels
Posted 10/27/2012
I am still having problems with it randomly forgetting to switch to the correct channel in the programmed timer recording. And these are weekly timer programs that will correctly record for a couple of weeks in a row and then suddenly it messes up. (see full description of problem in the previous post)
At first I thought it had to do with setting it to record to DVD and then forgetting to put in a new DVD when I removed the full disk. (a nice function of this model is that it is supposed to recognize this and automatically record to the hard drive if this happens)
But the next time it did it, I had a disk in and it was not anywhere near full.
So I then switched to recording to the hard drive only and just resorted to burning to DVD to use the DVD on my computer. But it still messed up every couple of weeks.
And these are weekly timer programmings that recorded appropriately the previous two weeks, and since it is set for weekly, the timer settings are still there to verify that everything was set correctly.
Tried twice to report this to customer service (spending about 1 1/2 hours on the phone each time being transferred around to different people) and their ONLY solution was for me to send the unit in to them and wait for them to send a replacement--translation I would be out a recorder for 3 or 4 weeks until I actually got a unit back in my hands.
I tried asking them to ship me the replacement first, offering of course for them to take my credit card number and either bill me and then refund me when it came back, or just to place a hold on it for the value until I sent back this one but they refused to allow this. I use my recorder every day so this was unacceptable to me, especially after spending about $300 for this unit.
Thank heavens Walmart is much better to work with. Talked to customer service there and explained the horrible service at Magnavox (Jarden) and they told me to just order a new one, along with the extended warranty again. Then when the new one comes in, just bring in my receipts and they will credit me for the first one and credit me for my original extended warranty purchase. I should have just called them in the first place and saved myself HOURS of telephone time with Magnavox customer service.
BTW, one of the Magnavox (Jarden customer service) service reps that I talked to had actually told me to take it to the local authorized service center who had a guarantee that it would be repaired in 24 hours, plus that they would have my model in the store to loan me a unit while they repaired mine. I was extremely skeptical of this. He told me he had to give me a repair number so that I could get this done for free. I said that was fine, but that I wanted him to do a 3 way and get the repair place on the line so that they could verify what he said so that I would not have any problems when I took it in.
Guess what--the service rep somehow disconnected our call suddenly! So I called the authorized service center next-- everything that guy told me was a lie!!! They don't even repair DVD recorders because it is not cost effective. If I had a Magnavox TV they would take something like that for a repair but they said no one repairs DVD recorders because it is cheaper to replace them to repair them.
Bottom line, when it works it is fantastic. But be prepared to not get all of the shows you expect because it will not function correctly all the time, and you never can expect when it will decide to mess up. And forget about good customer service--they have the worst customer service in the world!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Springfield, IL
Posted 10/12/2012
Dear Wajo2
In regards to:****Only plausible scenario for not switching from one channel to another, even with alternate recording, might be a unit behind a cable box where the channel is determined by the box???
I am not behind a cable box. Our cable is directly from a co-ax cable coming into the house that is connected directly to the unit.
I have also had 2 more instances of it not recording the correct channel but it had nothing to do with the DVD being available...
It has happened twice now where I am recording one channel (say for example Channel 10 from 7 to 8) then it needs to switch to another channel at 8 to record from 8 to 9 on Channel 11 for example. (the other time it was to go from channel 9 to channel 3). In both instances, it recognized that it was doing a new recording at the time change I expected, BUT it forgot to switch to the new channel.
Both of these were set as a reoccuring timer recording so it was easy to go in and look afterwards to see if I had made a mistake in the timer settings (I had not). The correct channels were set at the correct times.
The channel numbers display the correct channel (in otherwords the tuner is going to the channel and the program I expect in NORMAL viewing situations) but when it was doing the TIMER recording, it stopped and finished off the first recording as a separate show, and then started the second recording as a separate show but it didn't switch to the correct channel, it just stayed on the previous program's channel.
And this is a random occurence. Other times it switches timer programming just fine, getting the correct channel when the time changes. There is no rhyme or reason that I can come up with other than a defect with the unit. I thought maybe it was related to the DVD not being available when it was set to record to DVD but the last two repeat problems have shown that is not necessarily the case. I might try switching to the HDD for all recording and then dubbing as you suggested to see if the random occurence keeps happening. Other than that, I don't know what else to try.
+1point
Error on my #3
Posted 10/09/2012
I erred on my #3 answer: I set for DTV 21.1 and it recorded DTV 21.1, not 21.2 as stated there.
+1point
Some clarifications
Posted 10/05/2012
Some clarifications:
1. It will record at the scheduled time whether you put it in standby or leave it on.
True.
2. Even if you receive both digital and analog cable channels but usually just watch the analog...chose analog only. Choosing both during the setup worked for some of the channels but gave me totally wrong stations to match the channel number of others. Once I put it to just analog, things worked fine.
Not true. Everyone else on cable please put Mag 1st on coax, do an Auto Channel Preset > Cable (Analog/Digital) or you won't see the digital advantages of this unit.
DO NOT PUT THE MAG ON COAX BEHIND A CABLE BOX... IT'LL BE A "SLAVE" TO THE BOX ONLY ABLE TO RECORD WHATEVER SINGLE CHANNEL THE BOX IS SET TO.
Some cablecos might remap their QAM channels to "odd" numbers, since they want you to rent a cable box and they map many channels to HIGH QAM numbers, beyond the 135 digital channels in the Mag's tuner. The Mag will remap those to a channel within its 135-channel range. This might be "confusing" at first, but you'll get used to it and the benefits outweigh the "pain."
Cable subs without a cable box will usually see the same channels as their digital-tunered HDTV (if they have one). People with analog-only TVs will see the digital channels thru the Mag's QAM tuner and they'll be "startled" by the higher quality compared to their ond analog-only world.
But those benefits will be lost if you follow the #2 suggestion... do not scan only for Cable (Analog) channels!
3. One thing does NOT work as the manual promised... [alternate recording to HDD when DVD out of space or not in place records wrong channel set in timer rec menu].
I tested with a 513 (predecessor unit) by setting a timer for recording to DVD on ch DTV 21.1, did not load DVD, left unit on, message popped up: "Please insert the recordable disc,". timer fired up and recorded ch. 21.2 to HDD as expected ("alternate recording feature worked).
2nd test was to a diff. channel, DTV 96.1 with machine off. It recorded ch. 96.1 to the HDD as expected.
Only plausible scenario for not switching from one channel to another, even with alternate recording, might be a unit behind a cable box where the channel is determined by the box???
RECOMMENDATION FOR OTHERS: Always record to HDD first, it's MUCH more reliable in assuring that you'll actually get the program recorded as you intended. DVDs can be less reliable. With the title safely on the HDD, you can high-speed dub (HSD) that title to DVD in ~16 minutes (2-hr SP title) and the original will STILL be available in case you have problems with the DVD, esp. when using it to go to a PC.
4. Tried reporting item 3 problem to their help desk but got terrible customer service.
Rather than calling CS, check this index of info/help files for possible tips or solutions to most any problem (and lists the "Top 12 Things WRONG, MISLEADING or OMITTED in the Manual"):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
5. I've only owned this a couple of weeks so it is too early to know how long it will be reliable for.
I have had three of the very first gen. in this series, the Philips 3575, for over 5 years, one a refurb. with a "bad" HDD that I bought from another user, and by continually filling up the HDD, it repaired itself and is running strong... it's my main test unit and it's been thru HECK!
Anyone having "problems" needing discussion/solutions, please go to the main web site for help (Walmart.com will probably thank you!):
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575#post_12244086
+2points
Read Comments (5)
Read Comments (5)
Review 18 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Good value for a versatile DVD +R HD recorder

11/12/2013
By ,
Cayey, PR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My only reasons for not giving this unit a 5 star rating are that I prefer -R format, but nobody seems to be making that in HD DVD recorders, and the fact that the coaxial output is only for throughput of the antenna signal (you can't send playback of HD or DVD recordings to a TV via the coaxial cable, a disadvantage if the TV is located a distance, as in my case, where I have one close and one at 50', too far for reasonably priced RCA or HDMI cables). I had to put an old unused VCR recorder as an intermediary. Any serious recording should be done with an HD-DVD recorder to permit editing before burning to the final version. This unit has a very ample HD capacity. I own two other Magnavox units, one an HD-DVD and the other a simple (refurbished) plain DVD bought from Walmart.com at an incredibly low price and have never had a problem with either of them. I look forward to many years of happy use with this one. I heartily recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
-R/RW or +R/RW no problem
Posted 11/12/2013
You can use -R/RW discs or +R/RW discs. Make sure to get the best brands/types, not store bought crud (landfill material), as described in this help file... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showpost.php?p=12298494
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

Just what i was looking for

11/18/2013
By ,
Iron mountain, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't believe these aren't more popular and sold in the store of my local walmart. I had to order this online and had this about a week now and it works great. My local walmart does carry Tivo units for sale, but there is no way I'm going to pay $14 a month for a subscription or the one time fee of $500 for a Tivo subscription. I just have an antenna and get 8 channels of which 4 have a fairly weak signal. Last year I tried the winegaurd version of a DVR but it would only pick up the 3 strongest signal channels (public TV# and ignored the rest so I sent it back. I figured this Magnavox might work, because when the TV stations went digital a few years back I bought the Magnavox converter box and a couple other brands, and the Magnavox was by far the best at handling the weak signals I get being in a fringe area of reception.
Others have complained that the unit does not record in HD, but on the highest quality recording setting #100 hours available) the picture is still excellent on my 50" Vizio and that should not be a consideration for not buying it if you need to record some shows or pause live TV and skim over the large number of commercials later.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magnavox HDD DVR and DVD Recorder with Digital Tuner, 500GB

HAPPY MAGNAVOX PUT OUT A DVR THAT WORKS ON ANTENNA

02/03/2014
By ,
MATTAWAN, MICHIGAN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I HAVE SEARCHED FOR MONTHS FOR A DVR "DIGITAL VIDEO RECORDER" THAT DOESN'T REQUIRE A SATELLITE DISH OR CABLE IN ORDER TO BE ABLE TO SAVE MY FAVORITE PROGRAMS AND MOVIES TO A HARD DRIVE AND BE ABLE TO TRANSFER THEM TO DVD IF I DECIDE TO VIEW THEM AGAIN, AND MAGNAVOX HAS DONE JUST THAT, YUP, IT RECORDS RIGHT OFF YOUR ANTENNA IN HIGH DEF, NO CONTRACT REQUIRED. IT WORKS FLAWLESSLY, THE ONLY NEGATIVE I CAN SEE, IS THAT I CAN NOT RECORD ONE CHANNEL AND WATCH ANOTHER AT THE SAME TIME, BUT WE HAVE ANOTHER TV THAT WE CAN WATCH SOMETHING ELSE WHILE RECORDING ON THIS ONE. AFTER MUCH LOOKING ON EBAY, I BOUGHT MINE THROUGH WALMART, FOR MORE THAN $100.00 LESS THAN VENDORS WERE CHARGING ON EBAY WALMART DOESN'T KEEP THEM IN STORE INVENTORY, BUT AFTER ORDERING ONLINE FROM THEM I HAD IT IN 2 DAYS. WAY TO GO MAGNAVOX. AND WALMART.
DUANE
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Yes you can ...
Posted 02/05/2014
You can watch one channel on your TV while the Mag records another channel, just switch TV inputs to the TV.
The coax circuit in the Mag is just a "passthough" of the antenna signal. NOTHING internal on the Mag (menus, channels, recorded titles, DVD playback) goes through the coax. The "line connection" from Mag to TV shows internal Mag stuff (menus, channels, recorded HDD titles, DVD playback). You switch to the TV input you connected that line connection to to see stuff from the Mag.
Info and help files here for others... copy link text and paste in your browser's address bar:
http://www.avsforum.com/t/940657/magnavox-537-535-533-515-513-2160a-2160-2080-philips-3576-3575/0_10#post_12244086
+3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 603 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  31 Next