Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Tetra Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

The Aqua Culture 20/55 Gallon Aquarium Hood will work on any compatible 20 or 55-gallon tanks. The LED lights inside the Aqua Culture Aquarium hood radiate a natural daylight glow to promote aquatic movement and activity for greater viewing pleasure. This LED aquarium hood contains cutouts for easy access to make feeding time and routine filter changes quick and easy, since they eliminate the need to remove the entire hood. The LED bulb is long lasting, so you can enjoy it longer without the need for frequent bulb changes. The Aqua Culture 20/55 Gallon Aquarium Hood is low-profile, so it won't be top heavy on the tank to promote greater stability. This Aqua Culture aquarium hood is designed to fit virtually any 24-inch by 12-inch tank, so it works well with a wide range of aquariums. If you have a larger 48-inch tank of up to 55 gallons deep, you only need to combine two hoods to enjoy the same quality function. This hood works well with both fresh and salt water tanks.
Average Customer Rating:
3.385 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation62%16 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Great for 3 months, but LED's are not waterproof

12/22/2013
By ,
El Cajon, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought the tank which came with the LED light hood. After 3 months 3 of the 5 lights went out, a few weeks later the fourth. As another reviewer said, I looked for a replacement string of lights, but all that is available is a whole new hood, which I don't need and is a waste. Plus the $40 price tag is a little high for having to replace every 3 months. I emailed the company a week ago about it to inquire where to get replacement lights and have still not heard back from them. When the lights work, they are really bright and beautiful, they just aren't waterproof... Which you would think they should be since they are designed for a fish tank which is full of water and the filter is splashing water on said hood.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

This thing is total garbage. Worth $5.00 max.

10/05/2012
By ,
Spokane, Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Got this today and returned today. I ended up paying almost $48.00 for it with tax and shipping.
First, it only weighs about 3/4 lbs. It is the cheapest plastic I've ever seen. There are no hinges, so it just lays on the top of your tank. There are 12 cheesy plastic LED lights that are not waterproof, and there is no glass to keep them from falling into your fish tank. There is a note in "troubleshooting" that says "if lights fall into the water, unplug them and allow them to dry thoroughly". It doesn't mention to flush all of your dead, now electrocuted fish, although it really should.
I have a 55-gallon saltwater tank and I figured the LEDS would be total junk, but I was hoping it would be at least a decent enough hood that I could use it to attach 300 high-powered LEDS to it, but no such luck. This thing is so flimsy and cheap that I am pretty sure my kitten would break it if he stood on it. Seriously horrible product - Why is Wal-mart even selling it?
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

THIS IS JUNK. IM SO ANGRY

04/13/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Im so upset with this product its ridiculous, I dont get a lot of money and I planned on this for my aquarium for at least 3 months. First its a light, thin piece of plastic, not a lid, its a cover at best. It has a hole for you to put fish food through, the lights and cord unit ARE NOT PROTECTED and its a bull face LIE that its water proof.
I noticed it off when I was walking into my room today and I swore I had turned it on already this morning, tried it and there was nothing. I proceeded to take it off, dry it completely off see if I could get it to work, which it finally did come back on after flickering, made a makeshift plastic wrap cover to protect it, and IT STILL BROKE AGAIN! In the same day!!! I took off the wrap and saw the cord to the lights (that I must not have noticed in my tiredness this morning) looked corroded! so I flaked off the green stuff, and it flickered and died. the cord had WIRES EXPOSED. Ive had this hood for a MONTH. and I kept the box for 3 weeks thinking something bad was going to happen, I finally get rid of the box and BAM it breaks.
I have a 20 gallon tank, everything is properly set up and hooked up, I have been a aquarium owner for at least 13 years. I had such I hopes and this just FAILED.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Excellent hood!!!

10/30/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I bought my hood in my local store before I read some of the bad reviews, and I’m really glad I did! I agree with the other reviews, that the lights don’t look expensive, but when the hood is down the light looks just as bright as my old hood-- maybe even better. I previously had a fluorescent hood and it didn’t match any of the décor in our living room, so when I saw these new hoods I figured I’d give it a try. It looks perfect and works great!
Here is my take on it for what it’s worth: the light is just as bright as the fluorescent, the hood is MUCH nicer looking (one review said it was cheap plastic, but to me it looks better than the tall hood I was replacing), and looking at the price of other LEDs, it’s a GREAT deal.
I'm really satisfied with this purchase and I would encourage others to check it out for themselves.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Great lighted hood

10/28/2012
By ,
Bradford, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought 2 of these for my 55 gal tank and they fit perfectly. They fit flat on top of the tank and do give a nice sleek design to it. The lights ane nice and very bright making the colors of my tank "stuff" and fish bright and colorful... I was disappointed with the pricing. The store shelf had a price of $24.99 which I did not "price check" and gave to my husband to pay for. After coming on here I found out the real price...I don't know if I would of bought these for $39.00 but after putting them on my tank I am glad I did...The only draw back I can see is if you have a "jumper" fish you will have to tape the lid down..... But I LOVE the Lighting
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood 20/55 gal

10/23/2013
By ,
Florida
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I am very happy with how it looks and it works wonderfully, however its sooo light it keeps tipping into the tank water every time you move it. It Fits fine, its just so lite when you pick it up, it is very easy to touch the water. You must pick it up evenly from back to front, or holding it steady from the sides! It also sits extremely low, so if you have a powerful filter, as i do, water spurts back up to the lid, ....and i don't like to keep the water line below the black tank line. I haven't had any problems with shorts because each LED light is encased in a hard plastic that seems to be waterproof?! But it looks and functions GREAT!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

outstanding hood

12/04/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was afraid if my cat got up there the hood would fall into the tank...my cat can sit up there with no problems, the hood supports her weight and protects my fish from her furry little paws. I like the fact that the hood is flat and has a small area cut out to feed the fish through. Could not be happier with this hood?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Not for a 55 gallon aquarium

09/28/2012
By ,
Gulfport, ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not good for a 55 gallon, maybe a smaller tank. Very flimsy and not bright at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Perfect for our 55 gallon tank!

11/29/2013
By ,
riverview, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This LED lid is lightweight and is very bright. For a 55 gallon tank you have to buy two. They fit perfectly inside the top of the tank. The assembly takes less than 2 minutes. Seems like they could be a little less expensive, but free shipping helped.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Easy set up

05/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great price, easy to assemble
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Beautiful, completely transforms my tank

10/18/2012
By ,
Albuqueque, NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted to update the look of my tank and get rid of my old light and hood. This lids is so beautiful. I love how it makes my tank look. The LEDs show off my fish and the water has a nice shimmer effect.
Since my tank is in the living room, the look of the lid is so much prettier than the ugly hood I had on my tank before. Even my non-fish loving friends noticed how much nicer my tank looks.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums
09/08/2013
By ,
Hannibal, MO
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the 20 gallon set and the lights did not even last 2 months. I've been searching for replacement light, but can not seem to find one. I don't like the idea of spending another $25 or more for the entire hood.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Great Hood

03/07/2013
By ,
home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great hood..better then the tall ones..great lighting and easy feed holes in them..plus it has preforated lines to punch out for your filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums
10/04/2012
By ,
hazard, ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
its fine as far as the brightness is concerned on my set up but 40 bucks for a piece of plastic and 5 Christmas lights is a little much i think... but it works
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

i wish i wouldve had the money for a better one

03/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this top I was told fit a 55 gallon tank [ well at least half of it so I need 2 ] but I got it , I was happy then I put it on , it barley fit , very cheaply made , I wouldn't buy this thing ever again , of course if someone doesn't have a lot of money I understand that , but don't buy this unless you just want a cover and you really don't care .
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

PRICEY BUT WORKS FINE

02/26/2013
By ,
Newalla, Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
THIS Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood FOR THE FISH TANK IS WHAT IT IS. LOOKS @ WORKS NICE. ONLY THING, IT'S PRICED WAY TOO HIGH.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

only lasted 3 months DO NOT BUY

02/20/2014
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So much for life, the LED lights did not last long only 3 months, the plastic hood does feel very cheap and you cannot buy just the lights to replace them, you will have to buy the entire hood. I'm going back to regular bulbs at least to replace them it's only 5$ verses $40.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

led lights

07/20/2013
By ,
louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought a 29 gallon tank with led lighting, it only lasted 3 days before one of the string of led lights blew out, one side of my new tank now stays dark, and that's not the worse of it, you cant buy them anywhere, if walmart is going to sell this bad product, they should carry a replacement
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

It works well. Gives enough light bu without glare

02/07/2014
By ,
Watertown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works well. Gives enough light bu without glare or heat of other types of lighting. It is also so much less expensive than other led products. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Aqua Culture LED Aquarium Hood for 20/55 Gallon Aquariums

Aqua Culture hood LED

01/12/2014
By ,
Clarksville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product takes up less space and lights up the aquarium quite nicely. I am looking at one for the smaller aquarium.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1 2 Next