Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Tetra Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Tetra Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Create a stylish display with the Tetra LED aquarium. This cube aquarium has a striking 360-degree design that allows you to see fish and the underwater environment from almost any angle and from virtually anywhere in the room. The included LED light highlights the entire tank. Feeding time is also made easy with a feeding hole in the lid of this unique Tetra LED aquarium. Small tropical fish feel right at home in this 3-gallon aquarium, thanks to its Tetra 3i filter. Place the Tetra LED aquarium in any room for a calming and beautiful display piece.
Average Customer Rating:
3.632 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation74%28 out of 38reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 83 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Just Okay. Needs a better filter to make it good.

12/13/2012
By ,
Lawrenceville, Ga
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this tank to keep a Betta. The tank is attractive but is made from cheap plastic and scratches very easily. Mine already has a scratches just from aranging plants. It comes with an LED light fixture, a tiny air pump and a tiny internal filter that is powered by air bubbles from the air pump. The filter is so small and weak that I did not even bother using it. Instead I purchased a TOM Aquarium Mini Internal filter from Amazon that works great. The light fixture is dim and is only suitable for viewing fish. If you want to keep live plants, you will need something much brighter. If you don't want live plants, the light will be fine. Overall it's a decent Betta tank, but needs a better filter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Exactly what I expected... however...

08/04/2012
By ,
TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the look of this aquarium as it truly is an ideal size for a petite tank, and was relatively inexpensive. I just have two frustrations though:
1) I had this item 'shipped to store' since it was not carried in my local Walmart. I was about to set it up, and I noticed the corner of the tank was cracked. Lesson learned - Make sure you check it in the store before you leave! I'm about to take this back to the store to order a new one.
I've attached a photo of said crack.
2) The instructions for the actual filter and pump are not included, so you may have to Google around for that. It's pretty simple and instructions may not be needed, but would be an inconvenience if you're a aquarium novice as this could be considered a beginners aquarium.
I've attached a photo of the part from the the instruction where it mentions the filter and pump
I know at the end of the day, I anticipate being happy with this tank. I just haven't been able to officially try it out yet. It's eventually going to house a beta that was orphaned onto a friend of a friend's doorstep!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Nice size small tank!

07/07/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Prior to buying this tank, I had my betta in a 2 gallon 360 degree tank and it was all right, but I wanted a bit more space horizontally, not vertically, without having it take up too much space on my desk. I thought this 3 gallon was the perfect size.
It has a square feeding hole in the front of the lid that measures 1-1/2" x 1-1/2", and the back of the lid has plenty of space for electrical cords to hang out. There is a switch to turn the lights on and off near the base of the light, so I don't have to unplug it from the outlet.
The only drawback is that condensation does build up on the lid and around the sides of the tank that does not have water, but that's usually how it is with warm water tanks that have a lid that covers most parts of the tank.
For the price I paid, I thought it would come with all the decorations shown in the picture on the box, but it doesn't, which is fine, since I mainly chose this tank due to the size and appearance and did not find anything else like it. I am not using the filter that it came with, so I do not know whether it works well or not.
Height of the tank not including the base and light is about 9 inches. The top diameter of the tank measures 9-3/4" x 9-3/4" and the bottom diameter measures 9-1/4" x 9-1/4" (it tapers slightly).
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Stylish fish house

05/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had my betta in a plastic tank 1/6 the size of this aquarium. Although bigger than the bowl he came in, I still felt he needed more room. This aquarium fits the bill perfectly. He is much happier and has room to actually swim instead of just move around.
The aquarium is basically a cube, which provides good viewing from all angles, and the LED lamp is excellent, bright but not glary. I put in some gravel and two plastic plants, which adds to the décor but doesn't diminish the space. I am not using the filter or the heater, as there is a plastic lid to insulate the aquarium and I didn't use these items before. I just made sure to empty all the water and rinse out the gravel once per week, which I will continue to do.
I have already recommended this to a friend who immediately purchased it. I think you will like it if you are looking for a stylish tank that is not too big and not too small.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

This tank is worth having

09/11/2012
By ,
Boston MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank for my African Dwarf Frogs/Mystery Snail and Beta Fish. They are living happy and healthy in this tank. Thanks for the positve reviews.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Awesome betta tank

07/18/2013
By ,
boonton nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank for my male betta. It's small but beware because once you fill it up it can weigh about 30 pounds. Ideal for a sturdy side table or night stand. The LED light is decent though adding the blue background definitely helped make it look brighter. The filter has been keeping the water pretty clear but that might be because there's just one fish in there. Don't push the filter in too close to your gravel as it may suck up some of the pebbles and jam up. Overall, this is a great small tank. My betta seems very happy in it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Nice starter tank

07/14/2012
By ,
MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is perfect for a desk or bedroom. Operates quiet.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

great betta tank

07/22/2013
By ,
jupiter, florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this tank. It's avery good size for a betta. Nothing else. It looks very modern and is quite spacious. My betta loves it! Also not so heavy just in case you decide to move it around.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Don't bother

08/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This tank was so cheap that while I was removing the thin, plastic cover from the plastic bag, it slipped out and fell about a foot onto a cushioned chair, cracking in the process. My husband and I decided to still examine the tank to see if we wanted to exchange it or forget it completely. Upon examining, we noticed that one side of the tank was bowed which made putting that lid on extremely tricky -- it didn't fit well at all. Maybe with water in the tank, the lid would fit on better, but even then, it only went on one way and held on by tiny little "edges" that didn't work well. I feared I'd be dropping it in on the fish every time I had to remove it in order to clean the tank. In addition, it really is a cheap looking tank (which I could have gotten over had it not been so poorly made). Needless to say, we returned it and I'm looking for a better made alternative.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Hi tech look at a low tech price

07/10/2014
By ,
Mem
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this tank to house a betta I imported from Thailand. I have several other small tanks and this is my favorite, It is equipped with an LED light and a properly sized in tank filter. I have had problems with finding filters for the small tanks. Most are too powerful for a 1-3 gallon tank and stress the fish. This is perfect.
Most Japanese lookalike nano tanks are two to three times the price of this tank. If you want a high tech look at a reasonable price, this is it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

So far, so good.

07/20/2012
By ,
NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a really cute little tank and it is an excellent upgrade for my adult betta. It's just the right size for him and he is active in it, and thriving. I have had it for a few months and so far so good.
Pros:
- The price is right. Many similar cube aquariums break the bank.
- It's nice looking for the size and material. Many small, acrylic tanks look a whole lot cheaper. I can see no scratches or blemishes and you wouldn't know it isn't glass unless you looked at it up close.
- The foot is sturdy.
- It comes with a lid that my cats have not removed.
- It doesn't come with gimmicky extras that inevitably stop working and render your tank useless. An LED light and an air pump should last quite a while, and are cheap to replace. You need not replace them with the same exact pieces, because the cut-outs give you some wiggle room.
- There is enough room for a small heater if you want one.
- The tank is light. I like that I can clean under it without it being a hassle.
- The LED is bright, but not crazy.
Other things that may sway your decision:
- The tank is acrylic, more on that below.
- The filter and light operate separately, and have separate plugs. This could be a con for someone, but this allows me to plug the light into a timer and still leave the filter running.
- There is no below-gravel filter, which I have noticed some smaller tanks come with. I can't stand those because they're a tremendous pain to keep clean. But if you want one, you'd have to get it separately, or more likely make one.
Cons:
- The filter is a bit cheap. However, for the price and size of the aquarium, it is not unreasonable and it would be easy to replace.
- The flow of the filter is not adjustable and it can be a little much for my fish. I position it up slightly higher so that the water drips down into the tank instead of flowing right in with the top half submersed, which reduces the current.
So, this is an acrylic tank. What does that mean?
- You have to take some care with cleaning it. It's not a lot of maintenance, and if you are gentle on your glass, it may not be any change from your usual routine. Use only soft materials and acrylic-safe cleaning products. For the outside of the tank, I use a little bit of watered down white vinegar on a soft cloth to remove any water spots or finger prints and that works beautifully. If you want to get a scraper of some kind, make sure it says you can use it on acrylic tanks, or at least feel it to make sure it isn't scratchy. If you get a piece of gravel stuck between the wall of the aquarium and whatever you use to clean it, this is the most likely way it will scratch.
- If you do scratch it, there are scratch removal kits for relatively inexpensive. Glass, on the other hand, can't be repaired if you scratch it.
- The tank is light.
- Seams in acrylic are, overall, stronger than those in glass. That means this is less likely to spring a leak, unless it is actually broken. Those strong seams are part of why you don't need to worry too much about moving your tank while there's water in it.
- Acrylic is a better regulator of temperature than glass. If you're not using a heater, this might be of some concern to you.
- Acrylic is clearer than glass. It lacks the green tinge that glass has.
Why four stars and not five? As I mentioned, the filter is a little cheap. The foot is sturdy enough to do the job, but it feels a little cheap as well. But overall, this is a very nice little tank with a small desk footprint. It gets the job done and looks classy doing it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

It was perfect

02/01/2014
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tank was perfect for me.. Before I bought the tank I read some other reviews on it, and saw that a couple people's tank came in cracked but they had also shipped it to a store near by. Anyway I ordered the tank (I had it shipped to my house), and I was worried that mine would come in cracked as well. So I emailed Walmart and said that I had read some reviews on it, and it came in cracked. They emailed me back in less than 24 hours saying they changed the manufacturer who was shipping it, and that it should not come in cracked. 2 Days later my tank arrived to my house, I opened it up I there we NO cracks nor scratches, I was so relived and very happy. It was also very easy to set up, I have not ran the filter/ air pump yet as I have not purchased my fish. I did test out the light which worked perfect, and set up the filter/air pump. If you have never bought I fish before you should fill the tank up with water and let everything run for a day or two before you get the fish. The only problem with the tank was that is did not come with instructions, although it had a "set-up guide" it did not explain how to set up the filter/air pump. It said to follow the installation ans safety instructions packed with the individual units, which there was no instructions for the individual units.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

OK product but warped cover

02/25/2014
By ,
Windsor, CT
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Other reviews talked about a warped cover but this one was really bad. Tried everything to straighten it out. Now I just have paperweights and clear duct tape to hold down. I also had to purchase a better filter than what came with the box. It was a good price thru Walmart but not worth the $50 they wanted for this on Amazon.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Ordered online - arrived cracked.

12/30/2013
By ,
Cleveland, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this online for a Christmas gift, and it arrived with a crack in it. I managed to deal with the returns center, and had another shipped out, for free (returning the damaged item was free, too).
I got another one in the mail within a week. This one was packaged better, but it was also cracked!
I retuned it to the store (which was also easy, except for the long line!!) and did not try to purchase another.
It was very lightweight and plastic, therefore fragile I guess. I would recommend buying this in the store but opening the box first to avoid headaches.
I went with a more expensive, glass tank, somewhere else.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Great tank for a betta fish!

11/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this tank. I feel it is the perfect size for a male betta fish. I also like the fact the cover is clear, not solid. Because it's make of acrylic, when full of water, I can still move it around. Makes cleaning in and around it much easier than glass tanks.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Definitely not the size stated in ad.

04/28/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Was really disappointed with this when I got it. Size stated 17" in height and it was only 11" . Where did the additional 6 inches go? Was not happy.
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Great little tank

09/26/2012
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this tank on a whim at my local store so my betta could have light and heat (note: heater sold separately). I set him up with a tropical oasis and he loves it as He has been swimming around a lot more. I'm still not sure how the filter is working though as the betta food sits next to it. Overall, I like this tank and recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

interesting experience

06/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First off I was very unhappy that it took so long to be shipped to the Walmart store. Then i opened it up and it had a warped tank lid... I have a betta that jumps! I can't have a warped lid! Clearly this product had been opened before and not repackaged properly. Considering this would be my second 3 gallon tetra led cube, i know what i'm talking about. Good thing the tetra company was willing to please! I called them and they righted my problem in a matter of minutes! My only product complaint is that there are no instructions on assembling the filter. I went to YouTube and found a video and winged it from there. Hence 3 stars.
Not a bad starter though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Not As Expected

08/03/2012
By ,
California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This tank, while sleek and stylish, is rather flawed.
1. 3 gallons isn't enough for little fish, like the mollies in the picture. The only thing that could comfortably live in this (with a heater too!) would be a betta, which is what I have.
2. The filter is nowhere near "whisper" quiet. It has a loud, vibrating motor, and the unit will often bubble over causing the water to splash and shake. It's surprising, as I had another Whisper filtration system in the past and that one was barely noticeable.
3. The lid constantly has condensation droplets on it, reducing the "ooh" factor significantly.
I really wish it came with a true electric motor, not a dinky little air pump that sucks dirty water up only to be spit out around a filter cartridge, not through it. If you're looking for a small tank, you're better off with the Marineland 5-gallon hex, which is larger and also cheaper (available at Amazon) or the Fluval 4-gallon tank if you're looking to spend a little more for quality.
The good things about it? It shipped in less than 3 days, is very modern, and the l.e.d's make it really pretty, especially at night. Just don't leave the light on too long or else your betta's coloring could begin to fade slightly.
At least Vinnie, my betta fish, seems to be content in the tank. It's fair, but not any more than that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tetra LED Cube 3-Gallon Aquarium

Broken at shipment

01/21/2014
By ,
Nh
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is hard for me to say how the fish tank worked
because when we opened the box it was broken.
The tank seems poorly made and we worried wether or
Not it would hold water anyway. Needless to say we returned
It and went to petco.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next