Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Samsung Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Playtime just got more fun with the Samsung Galaxy 5.0 Android MP3 Player. This Samsung Galaxy 8GB MP3 player features the Android market, providing you with access to over 250,000 apps and letting you perform multiple tasks with ease. You can access the Internet using its Wi-Fi connectivity, or share music, videos and other data wirelessly using this refurbished Samsung Galaxy player 5.0's Bluetooth technology. You can browse through the easy-to-use menu using the 5-inch LCD touchscreen with its resolution of 800 x 480. You can also listen to your favorite radio programs with this Android MP3 player, thanks to its built-in FM radio. It also includes a 3.2 megapixel camera and an 8GB flash memory that can be extended up to 32GB.
Average Customer Rating:
4.586 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(437 Reviews) 409
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
75
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation92%373 out of 405reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
75
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

perfect for travel, pictures, music, reader, etc.

09/22/2012
By ,
Virginia & Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The reason I bought this player was so many business men and students who live in a world of WiFi are using these types of players to reduce their data plan. The player is excellent for pictures, music, videos, reader, text, etc. This is great for carrying pictures or videos from your last cruise or a visit from your grandbaby. Skype can be added for free so you can video chat with your child or grandchild. The player arrived sooner than expected, the display is brillant, setup was a snap with my home network. No struggles with any free add on application. The player can be set to synch with an assigned folder for new pictures, videos or music. The player is large 3' x 5" and perfect for my hand but it maybe a little large for others. The picture is 2.5" X 3.5 " which is a lot better than most phones. Double Twist free application allows access and synch to your Itunes. Talking translator is a free app great for travel. Flashlight apps, kindle etc. This the uber swiss army knife. A wrist strap would make it perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Review 2 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Superb Media Player, Astonishing Value

06/06/2012
By ,
Georgetown, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0, at this price point, is a remarkable find. I have not put this player down since I purchased it. Endlessly customizable, my music library onboard effortlessly, movies galore, Netflix accessible, I cannot praise this player enough.
I am a big Apple iPad fan, use the iPod Touch and iPhone, but this Samsung product has rocked my media world. Never could I imagine it could be so easy and seamless to place thousands of photographs, many hundreds of songs, films and books on a player in such a brief time, with very little effort. And unlike Apple products, it plays flash and virtually all video and audio formats. The five inch screen is super good lookin, the live wallpapers and widgets jazz it up and make the Galaxy player into a media rich wonderland.
Grab one and enjoy the fun ride!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+85points
Review 3 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White
07/01/2012
By ,
Fort Myers, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought two of the refurbished Samsung Galaxy 5.0 Android Players, one for myself and one for my wife. They were both in excellent condition. Headphones and instructions were included in the box. If you want to use as a phone then download the Skype app or the GrooVe IP app and you do not have to pay a monthly phone charge. The only difference is that when you want to make a call or use the internet you must be in a wifi hot spot. I am enjoying the productivity apps, the movies, the music and the games. So far, everytime I have wanted to use the device for a specific purpose, I have been able to download an app for that purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+170points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Question
Posted 08/12/2012
Can i use this device on straight talk verizon prepaid or t-mobile prepaid
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Nice device

12/29/2012
By ,
Atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I do not have a smart phone because I do not want to pay for data charges. I stumbled across this player and was impressed with the screen size. Since many places I visit have free Wi Fi, i decided to buy this item. It is fantastic, especially for the refurnished price. It came out of the box looking brand new except for the plain white box. I can surf the internet, check my email, have my music with me as well as family photos. I purchased a separate 32gb memory card to expand the internal memory. You can download a million free android apps to customize to your liking. The player is really fun to use and the visual screen is great. While I cant talk on it, I think for the price, it give the 32gb iPod Touch 5th (new) generation a run for it's money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 5 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Great device but needs updates!

08/11/2012
By ,
Wentzville, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall the Samsung Galaxy Player 5 is a wonderful device, it has about the same kind of features as the iPod Touch, but it has WWWAAAYYY better camera 3x better (iPods rear camera is about 1 mega pixle while the players rear facing camera is 3.2 mega pixles). The player comes with more customizable features as well, for example you can change the texts font of the device it also has one of my favorites Live Wallpaper! The only set back is that Samsung has stopped updating the player at Gingerbread 2.3.5. The most up to date version is 2.3.6 so its not terribly out of date, but you cant get some Google Play Apps like Pocket Frogs and a few others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Review 6 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

I replaced iPod with this great little tablet

08/19/2012
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it does everything iPod Touch 4 did, with much larger screen. Now I can READ my emails and also TYPE answers, all while sitting in my car next to McDonald's or any other WiFi spot. I am now selling my iPod Touch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 7 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

best thing ever

11/04/2013
By ,
West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my oldest daughter (10yrs old) a Samsung player last year for Christmas and everyone in the family uses it. It is so easy to use and very handy for me to use when I compare prices when I shop. My oldest daughter use it to play games, listen to music and email her grandma. Her sister (5yrs old) loves to play games on it. So I have purchased another for my youngest daughter for Christmas this year, so there isn't anymore fighting between my girls over this thing. Hopefully If I hint around enough someone will get me one too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 8 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

a disappointment

09/24/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
My daughter used her birthday money to purchase this product for herself. We won't allow her to have a phone until she is 13, so this would have been perfect for her had it worked. We fully charged the battery when we got it. It worked perfectly until we entered our wi-fi information. Every time it logged itself on to our wi-fi, it would shut down. She could use it in the car or at school, anywhere outside of wi-fi range and it worked fine. It worked fine after we deleted the passcode to the wi-fi connection. When we re-entered the information, and it logged in to our wi-fi, it shut itself down again....repeatedly. It wasn't worth the hassle, or the heart-ache for her when we had to return it to the store for a refund.
The good news....With all of our receipts in order and with-in the 15 day window for returning electronics, we were able to return it to our local store with no hassles. And that's why I shop at Walmart and Walmart.com.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-10points
Review 9 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Samsung Galaxy 5.

12/04/2013
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the 3rd size Galaxy player I have ordered for my grandkids. The 5. is a little bigger than they would have liked, but they have quit making the 3.6, and 4.2. I don't like the fact that this 5.'s back doesn't come off, so you can't replace the battery if it goes bad. These galaxy players are great for kids, if you want them to have all the capabilities of a smart phone without having to pay a monthly fee. They have found apps to make calls, and they have e-mail, facebook, and can text with these as well as play games, and oh yes, they also play music!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

EXCELLENT!!! LOVE IT!

11/29/2012
By ,
Tri-Cities Washington.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love Samsung so it made sense to buy the Samsung Galaxy Player 5.0 Android! I put a 32 gb card and downloaded all of my music. I also was able to take photos with this. It's small enough to fit in my purse and has a very large screen. I can read books on it, download a movie, play games, use it as an alarm clock, take notes very easily when I am at work and the camera works so well I don't even use my regular camera anymore. I can do pretty much anything on this MP3 that you can do with a tablet. I have never been an Apple fan and I ALWAYS have great luck with Samsung. In this case I get more bang for my buck. Apple is expensive so this was kind to my wallet. I am buying a 2nd Galaxy for my son now! Despit being a refurbished player it works as if it' s brand new!!! THANK YOU SAMSUNG!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

awesome wanna be tablet

09/29/2012
By ,
jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This isn't a tablet but wow this thing works better than a NetBook. Because of this product I will be purchasing a Samsung Android phone. Now I understand why apple was so frustrated with Samsung. Samsung's products are actually better. Samsung makes products that consumers want. Micro SD upgrade is the best. The price of this is much better than apple's I-touch.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+11points
Review 12 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

A happy customer

10/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was thinking about buying an iPod touch but changed my mind when I discovered the Samsung Galaxy player 5 at such an affordable price. I was a bit nervous about buying a refurbished product, but boy, am I glad I did! It is an amazing value, and the player is all that I expected and much more! Great battery life too. My family and friends all want one now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Perfect for music, videos, and games!

06/13/2013
By ,
Fort Collins, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a media player, so I first went with an iPod. I had to convert media files to a specific format, iTunes had to sync up with the iPod (very difficult for me to get used to), and I couldn't download any free apps unless my credit card information was submitted. Needless to say, I returned the iPod.
A friend recommended the Samsung Galaxy. I do NOT have to convert media files, I can drag and drop to folder locations (navigable much like a PC), and I can download free programs--including emulators--without submitting my credit card information. Furthermore, the photo quality is crisp and the interface is very user friendly.
Last key point: If I didn't know better, I would say this product was brand new when I purchased it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 14 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Ipod touch beater!

02/22/2013
By ,
sugar land, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This item is clearly an iPod beater according to my opinion:
advantages
. has better camera resolution with a powerful flash.
. comes with micro sd slot which gave me the freedom to upgrade the memory up to 32 gb
. the GPS chip made offline navigation a reality. This feature is not even possible in an itouch 5 :)
disadvantages
. has less resolution screen which sometimes make it difficult to read webpages.
All in all it is fairly excellent to get all this good features in less than $190
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Great little tablet for traveler.

10/13/2012
By ,
home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased for MP3 capabilities but it is so much more. I use it for GPS, internet, social media, calendar....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 16 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Re-furbished/Be Careful

07/18/2013
By ,
Medford, NY
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have purchased a great deal of items from Walmart.com and never had a problem before, HOWEVER, I just received the "Re-furbished" Samsung Galaxy 5.0 player. Opening the box the item looked mint and in brand new condition. Luckily I decided to go the system to see if all in good working condition. THANK GOODNESS I DID! bought this device for my 12 year old autistic child as she loves music and be able to play the games. What I found were tons of photos and videos from the original person who must have owned the device. Some of the pics were graphic of injuries and very scary to look at especially from a child's perspective. The point of this is, Shame on Samsung and Wallmart not restoring the device to factory settings which I actually had to do myself. Buyer beware of buying Refurbished. I personally will not do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

This is great android tablet, great value

04/24/2013
By ,
Flushing, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a full featured android tablet in an easy to pocket size. It does everything a 7 or 10in tablet will do but I carry it around in my purse or pocket as easy as a smartphone. I ordered the refurbished product. It looks and works just like it is new. It came with charger, usb cable and earbuds. I had it sent to the store for pickup with no shipping charges.
This thing is great for wifi internet connection. I use it as a reader, mp3 and gps. It has a very good fm receiver in it. As a birder, I now carry my bird id books with bird calls, my listing software and maps easily in my pocket. It has a decent little camera for snapshots of my friends and pets.
I have the advantages of an android smartphone without the huge monthly data charges. Of course I have to be near wifi.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

please read before buying (it will probably help)

05/24/2013
By ,
utah
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
so I bought this bundle of joy 3 days ago and it came right when it said it would booted it up only took like 15 seconds very fast!! setting up took only 2-3 min very user friendly for people that know there way around a android has 512mb ram and a 1ghz processor very fast have had no lagging downloaded tons of apps all the ones that I had on my old tab before it broke downloaded very fast faster that tab got a bout 30-50 maybe more and still not lagy very fast internet and very good connection I only have one complaint and that is that it had android 2.3 instead of the newest one but hopefully there will be a update over all very good great cam front and back flash huge screen still fits in pocket very well! grate speakers love it!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Loads of Fun

09/30/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Having a lot of fun with it. Bought it mostly to downloads games, and take pictures of my grandkids and to have something to pass the time with when we travel. Better value I believe over an Apple product because it is expandable and your not paying for the name. My only real complaint is that it did not come with any kind of instructions what so ever. And Samsung's website is hard to navigate to find any information. So it has been a learn as I go kind of thing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for Samsung Galaxy 8GB Android Player 5.0, MP3 Player Refurbished, White

Shame me twice, shame on me!

06/18/2013
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UPDATE. I bought two of these players for my granddaughter's birthday. The first on made it almost two weeks before is consistently started dropping Wi-Fi connection and then turning itself off. It the would not even charge. I returned it for an exact player which was worse than the first. It lasted 2 days and would not turn on half the time. I have purchased numerous Samsung products. All have be NEW and have been 100% satisfied. I would not buy another refurbished product. I would also like to note that it is a shame that Samsung no longer makes media players. I wound up purchasing an iPod 5 for my granddaughter from another on line company and have been completely satisfied. Also the extended warranty from that company was 1/2 the cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
1-20 of 99 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next