Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for NetTalk netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

NetTalk netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Cut the cord and make free calls to the U.S. and Canada and ultra-low cost international calls from anywhere in the world, using Wi-Fi or a standard internet connection. There are no contracts and no monthly bills. One year of service is included with the DUO WiFi purchase; each additional year is only $29.95. Enjoy the same features as the trusted and renowned netTALK DUO, but now, take your landline wherever you have wireless internet access. The netTALK DUO WiFi is supported by live U.S.-based technical support, seven days a week and flat-rate, low cost international call plans are available. Choose a phone number, or keep your own. All you need is high-speed internet and a telephone.
Average Customer Rating:
2.273 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
14
Customer Recommendation32%7 out of 22reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
14
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

A Great Product

07/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the Nettalk Duo WiFi originally for the WiFi only option. It worked flawlessly when connected to my computer using USB or Ethernet or when connected to my router. Using WiFi it worked great on my end, however the other end of the conversation was somewhat choppy but usable. The problem was that I had an older firmware version. I solved this problem by upgraded from v4.49 to v4.62.
Now, I'm happy to report that I am able to sit in the backyard by the swimming pool, via WiFi, without any computer or router cables in sight. I just plug my telephone into the Nettalk and I have crystal clear WiFi phone calls on both ends. It works great with my Linksys EA3500 wireless router using its default (out of the box) settings. The Nettalk has many of the features that AT&T, Verizon, etc. have, except Nettalk offers them for free.
If you're experiencing problems with yours Nettalk, do what I did and upgrade your firmware. I am 100% satisfied with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Review 2 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Kept disconnecting

06/12/2012
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I love giving good reviews, but it just wasn't possible this time. I probably got one of the first NetTalk Duo Wifi units, and it was defective -- but I have an older NetTalk unit I would rate 5 stars.
This unit is supposed to connect over wifi. It does. It also connects over Ethernet. It connects over USB. Regardless of the type of connection, this particular unit lost its internet connection within minutes, and did not reconnect easily.
I don't have any problem with other internet devices, and even bought a new cable modem and router to try to get this device to work. For the USB connection, I tried using it on different computers.
Also, when the unit did work, the call volume wasn't very loud (completely separate issue) -- but the call was clear and the other party could hear me very clearly.
Admittedly, NetTalk customer service hinted that I had an older firmware version. I'm sure if I waited for updated firmware, all of my problems would have been resolved. However, I returned the NetTalk Duo Wifi for a competitor's product, which works perfectly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Akron, OH
Net Talk Duo is Great
Posted 08/14/2012
I absolutely love this service! I get really good reception except during severe inclement weather and when my broadband connection has service interruptions. Otherwise, the phone service performs as advertised. It can't be beat for 30 bucks a year!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Don't waste your time!

05/30/2012
By ,
Hobe Sound, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wireless devices work flawlessly anywhere in my home. I bought the NetTALK Duo WiFi to save money by using their inexpensive VOIP service. I carefully installed the unit, which quickly connected via USB cable. When I tried to use the unit wirelessly, it would not connect. I tried every possible solution, including spending several hours on a cell phone with a NetTalk service rep, who
gave up after trying about 20 fixes. I have a good router, & internet sevice - so there's no reason for this product not working. I spent about 16 hours trying to connect this device, & finally decided that I was wasting my time. Don't make the same mistake that I did.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+48points
Review 4 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Please do not waste your time and money

09/06/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
* Worst call quality
* Very bad customer service
* Device not worth it
* International call quality is not good
I bought this device last week
- Volume was very low (Created ticket before 3 days and didn't resolve)
- Voice breaks while on the call (With Good internet connection 25 Mbps)
- International call quality is very bad, breaks after 30 mins
- Never ever expected this kind of worst customer service.
Immediate issue was the hearing volume was way too low(have to keep the handset very close to ear to understand the conversation). I created online ticket before 3 days and got the reply that "We are still working on getting this issue resolved" but the issue didn't resolve. I tried their tech support line and was on wait for 1 hr - 1 hr 15 mins and then an executive picked up and before even i tell him the issue he hung up. No followup.
Please do not even consider this device.
Walmart - Please remove this product, its brings a bad reputation
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 5 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

It's a Great Device But Heed My Advice

07/29/2012
By ,
Morehead, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The wireless of this model is not plug and play.
First, check the routers that work with this list and also the list of ones that don't. Make sure your router works.
Second, you must have your EXACT USPS street address for 911 to even do anything in the software.
Third, to select the wifi router through the software interface you must be using your computer on wifi. After setup, a computer is no longer needed.
Fourth, you must be broadcasting your SSID. If your SSID is hidden the device will not connect to it even after the correct information has been inputed.
Fifth, if you talk more than 3000 minutes a month (50 hours) netTALK is not for you. Using more than 50 hours a month is a violation of the terms of service and can result in you being placed on a per-minute basis.
If you are impatient or unexperienced, you should not buy this model but purchase the netTALK DUO instead.
I tried Magic Jack PLUS first and the receive audio was so low that I could hardly hear the other party. This device is loud and clear both ways. Everyone comments on how loud and clear it is. I would probably never approach 50 hours of use a month but I do like quality service and I've got it with this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 6 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

No Customer Service or Tech Support as Advertised

06/18/2012
By ,
Victorville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very poor product, I hardly ever write reviews but this product was so bad I wanted to make sure no one wasted their hard earned money. After getting home you go online to register and you get an IP# to use-the one we were issued just kept reading invalid. I returned it after two weeks of e-mailing, calling and sending service tickets for this problem, I waited over 250 minutes on hold to be hung up on automatically. I bought this product based on the reviews over Magic Jack that they were suppose to have live people you could speak to- but that is just an advertising gimmick like I said after two weeks of, calling e-mailing and sending service ticket requests there was no live person in customer or tech support that ever answered.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+19points
Review 7 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

WORST product ever

06/08/2012
By ,
Shrewsbury, MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product and thought it would work fine since it was wifi. The wifi kept disconnecting every few mins. When I called net talk they told me I should power off and on everytime it happens (so basically 24 hours a day). I gave it couple of days and still the same. Called net talk again and was told we are aware of this problem as many customers have called us about it over past few months and that there is no solution available currently for this issue. Not sure why walmart or net talk would sell this product if there is an issue with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+22points
Review 8 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Will Never use any other phone service

09/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to contact the company because the device kept disconnecting but after they did a firmware update everything has worked great! I love the price and I love the service!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

A terrible experience

07/28/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This company has the WORST customer service ever. You can never get a hold of a customer support representative. They would keep you on hold for hours and hours, and not help you.
I stayed on hold for long times for five days, and when I finally got a hold of a representative, after being on hold for 2 1/2 hours, he simply says i need more info to be able to help you and hangs up.
No one needs to deal with this company
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 10 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Phone Numbers Not Available for Arkansas

06/21/2012
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the netTalk with expectations of using the wireless for an extra phone. I went thru the activation process up to the last process of finding a phone number. I kept getting a banner that number unavailable and try back later. Well I tried several times later with no luck. I then proceeded to call the customer service with netTalk... You get a recording and it then gives you a number for a wait sequence. I was number 18 and it was a long wait time of 1 hour and 45 minutes before a real person answered. I told the customer service person that I needed to activate my netTalk with a phone number that I can't retrieve.. He asked where I was located and area code in the area. He said then that no phone number was available.. I then asked if there were any numbers for the state of ARKANSAS and he explained they did not have any numbers nor will have any numbers for the state of Arkansas anytime soon. I asked what should I do then if I couldn't use the item in my state and he said to return to Wal Mart for my money back, which I did. Thanks for the WalMart return. I believe the company should advise WalMart that this product doesn't work in certian states.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 11 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Works great.

07/06/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The installation for my DUO Wifi was not as easy as my DUO but it was not that hard. After I got it to work I had no problems with it and I been making calls with no problems. I also bought one for my parents and they were having difficulties but it was that they had a very old router, I changed it and it worked great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 12 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Awesome product!

06/25/2012
By ,
Tampa , FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little device is great! The sound quality is awesome and you can't beat the price. I would definitely recommend this to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

few bugs but great product overall

07/09/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought the duo wifi a few weeks ago, i had some minor issues getting it to work, but after everything was setup, it works like a charm. Great product netTalk, just remember to fix those minor bugs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 14 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Do NOT buy if you live in Oklahoma

07/24/2012
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this device because I was told I could keep my existing number. While registering the device it wouldn't let me pick a phone number. I called their help line and was on hold for 2 hours before a representative "helped" me. She stated that they had NO numbers for Oklahoma and that I couldn't transfer my old phone number to their service. She then told me to just return it to wal-mart, which I did. The manager let me know that they couldn't pull this product off their shelves without upper management told them to. If you are looking for a product like this go with magic jack, it is cheaper but it works. You can also keep your old phone number.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 15 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Couldn't get it to work

06/29/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this nettalk duo for a good price. After spending anhour or two to get it to work by router and wi-fi, I got in contact this the nettalk tech support. Although they tried valiantly to get it to work, they could not. They siad it was due to my CenturyLink (Qwest) DSL modem and firewall settings, which was hard for them to decipher.
I'm taking it back to Walmart for my money back. I'll ty MagicJack next.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Unreliable - Call plans do not cover all numbers

09/18/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this a few weeks back and struggled to get it installed and working. When I finally was able to it would only work for a few hours then the light would turn red again. At which point I would have to unplug it and plug it back in so it could restart and begin to work again. This was an endless cycle. I contacted technical support via their support center online and it wasn't until the next day they asked me for my fimware version. After I gave it to them I had to wait a week for a response and this was only after I had sent an upset email about another issue I had submitted where as I mentioned their inadequecies of getting my issues resolved. They pushed a firmware upgrade to my device and it is now somewhat reliable. I've had to reset it once since then. So I'm guessing I need to reset it once per week.
The second issue I had was when I was dailing a landline number in Mexico after having purchased the North America call plan where Mexico is listed as covered except for mobile phones. After a week I got a response to my trouble ticket saying that the number I was dialing was a high cost number and I had to buy credit to pay per minute of use. I though that was what the call plan was for, so I wouldn't have to pay per use. The North America call plan I got is now useless and there are no refunds. If I want to call the number I need to buy credit and pay $0.04 per minute. That is the same rate I would have paid without the call plan. Keep in mind that wen you buy credit you have to pay a 2.9% charge plus a $0.30 USD fee. There are also taxes associated with the call plans.
Third issue and is the least of them, I'm supposed to have a solid green light when it is working. I notice I have to force push in the phone cord connector for the green light to stay on. When I do it eventually ends up slipping out so that the light turns of. However this doesn't affect the functionality as I can still make calls when the green light is off.
So there you have it. Installation is difficult, support takes a week, not very reliable to consistently recieve calls and the device is defective.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Poor Sound Quality

06/30/2012
By ,
Endicott, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been a long time Vonage user, but I purchased this device to save money over Vonage's service. It operates essentially the same way as the Vonage device; I just plugged it into my router, and it started working. The sound quality was very poor, though. Unacceptable, in my opinion. There was high latency, also, so after I said something, there was a long pause before the other end of the line heard it. This makes it difficult to have a conversation.
I tried plugging the device directly into my cable modem, and for unknown reasons, it would not pull an IP address. I put the device in the DMZ zone on my router, and played with whatever else I could think of, to no avail.
I contacted NetTalk customer service via email/web. After a day or two, a tech support associate asked for the firmware version on the device's web page. I gave him a bunch of info (copies of the web page, and even set it up so he could access it himself), because it appears to me that there is no firmware version on the web page. I never heard back.
So, I returned the device and cancelled the service.
One last thing: I had this device on a wired connection. It is supposed to be WiFi, but if I understand correctly, it only operates as WiFi if it is connected to a computer via USB. That's NOT WiFi!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Morehead, KY
You Misunderstood About The Wifi
Posted 07/29/2012
The Wifi only has to be setup using a computer via USB. Then no USB nor computer is needed.
Sorry you were unsucessful with setup.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Too much noise/static thru Wifi

06/21/2012
By ,
Simi, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The software is primative in that the unit has to be plugged in to a wifi pc/laptop to acquire/transfer the code over. If it's plugged in to a PC that has no wifi capability, then you need to know the router's ID, enscription style and password to manually coded.
The activation website is also not user friendly. If you're not fast enough (reading their lengthly agreement) and got timed out or it could not process your request for some reason, you need to come up with another user name/ID to complete since the previous user names/IDs are now in their system and are no longer available to use. Even then, Nettalk sent an e-mail stating the former user name/ID should be used instead of the latest and you'll won't be able to log-in. Customer service is another problem. Access via phone only works during week days and during a specified time period. e-mail took a while to respond and return phone call is an endless phone tag game.
After 3 hrs or so, got the wifi to connect but there's so much noise at the receiving end that's it's unbearable. Installed a filter in the line made no improvement. Direct plugin to the router works fine. This might be the marketing ploy that makes the customer to pay for the wifi feature but ended up using it as the direct plug-in Nettalk Duo model. The price difference is $13 and many might conclude that it's a hassle to return. Anyway, the wifi unit is going back just for the principle.
Stick with the Nettalk Duo basic model and plug it directly into the router if you want to use Nettalk.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

agree with others terrible experience

09/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have a strong computer background and have had no luck getting this thing to connect with either a computer, router or WIFI. I've tried three different routers netgear, belkin, and cisco none of them would work even after following all of the online router setup guides. I ordered two of these things and neither one of them would work. I never could get the phone to even make the initial ring when connected to the computer. I called customer service the rep told me to press the reset button on my router nothing would happen to my settings, guess what, I lost all of my configurations. The router reset to factory settings.
I tried to call tech support waited for over an hour on hold left the phone for a second to use the bathroom and lost the connection.
I spent a whole week off and on trying everything I could think of to make this unit work.
I went out and bought a magicjack plus and was able to make calls within 5 minutes. The magicJack has everything that the nettalk has except the WIFI.
There are some really serious issues with this WIFI unit. I'm returning it. I'm also going to order the unit that doesn't have the wifi I lot of reviews from people recommending that unit and then return the worst one between the magicJack and the nettalk. I really could have used the WIFI but it has to work. I hope nettalk gets the issues fixed with their WIFI price and advertised features are great but actual use stinks right now avoid this think until they make it easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 20 for netTALK Duo Wifi with 12 Months Service

Great landline replacement

09/29/2012
By ,
Alexandria, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had trouble with unit disconnecting at random. Customer service was easy to contact and they took care of the issue. At times, the connection is perfect and the sound is like a quality landline. At other times, there is static and audio is poor. Great value for the yearly cost. Would recommend even though calls are not always best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next