Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Philips Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Philips Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

With the Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, movies never looked better. Incredibly sharp images in full HD 1080p are delivered from Blu-ray discs, and DVD upscaling offers near-HD video quality. To speed up the process, and make it more user-friendly, there are Netflix and VUDU shortcut buttons on remote control that allow you to do the basic commands necessary both for watching your video and for controlling the general interface. DivX Plus HD offers the latest in DivX technology to let you enjoy HD videos and movies from the Internet direct to your Philips HDTV or PC. DivX Plus HD supports the playback of DivX Plus content (H.264 HD video with high-quality AAC audio in an MKV file container) while also supporting previous versions of DivX video up to 1080p. Dolby TrueHD delivers the finest sound from your Blu-ray Discs. Audio reproduced is virtually indistinguishable from the studio master, so you hear what the creators intended for you to hear.
Average Customer Rating:
2.642 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 107
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
16
1 star
56
Customer Recommendation42%50 out of 119reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
5
2 stars
16
1 star
56
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Very nice little Blu ray player.

06/28/2012
By ,
Cambridge, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I recently bought a 720p television for our room and it unfortunately only had one component and 2 HDMI slots. So I picked this blu ray player up to replace our DVD player and make use of the HDMI ports to free up the Component input for our Nintendo Wii.
I have to say for 68 dollars I'm very impressed with this player. The picture quality is outstanding. I love the usb port in the front. The player handles avi files flawlessly and even upconverts them. As far as the Netflix feature, while it's nice to have a ready to go version, I don't use it. I have Netflix on the Wii. Several reviewers have had negative experiences with this player. That's unfortunate because it's a nice and simple player. And honestly for 68 dollars it's not going to be super high end.
But overall a solid Blu ray player. I would probably go for something a little more high end if I were to replace my main family room player but it does what I bought it for: to watch movies in HD in our room. Especially since our downstairs TV and bluray player are dominated by our 3 yr old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+26points
Review 2 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

missing piece thats needed to play

07/27/2012
By ,
bloomfield
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am a huge fan of any Philips products and I bought this to go in my bedroom without reading the reviews. Essentially this player is made to go with a Philips brand tv but however if you try to connect it to another brand of television you will find it is missing a very important piece.
The outcome is the piece called the USB adaptor is what you need to purchase otherwise you will not even get a a home menu and be under the impression it is a defective piece which it is not.
Heartbreaking as it is ...it is going back because the piece sells for the price of the actual player.
A ethernet cable didnt help either. So its back to shopping for what I have learned now is a blu ray player that comes with the USB adaptor. They are all standard in price ...close to $60.
SO DONT BE FRUSTRATED WITH THE PRODUCT ....ITS IS HOWEVER AN ADDITIONAL INVESTMENT.
So instead of getting one for $68.....try to invest the few dollars more to avoid the dissapointment of not being able to watch your favorite blu ray 2nite.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 3 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

You get what you pay for.

04/29/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has proven to be complete trash. The price I paid for the player was very reasonable, but I should have known you get what you pay for. I've owned the player for less than a week and have had extreme difficulty getting it to play discs since day one. I am now sitting here writing this review after waiting 30+ minutes to try and play a disc. I've made several attempts to reload the disc, turn the player on and off, and still nothing. Trust me, if you're looking for a decent Blu-Ray player, take the $68 Walmart charges for this player and put it towards something better. I'll be returning this trash first thing tomorrow. Disgusted!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+48points
Review 4 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

not worth it

05/23/2012
By ,
Amarillo, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
requires usb drive to work, takes a really long time to load from disk, lags badly, got stuck with power on and no display half way through the first movie, had to unplug to reset , tried 2 other movies all of which were brand new with same issues happening
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+28points
Review 5 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Great Player nice price

11/02/2012
By ,
Manchester Ct.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this phillips blu ray player 10/31 2012 and i love it i have in my bedroom the wifi connect very well easy to hook up operated very well and its 1080p with very shape images . im very sadisfied.
p.s tips
READ THE INSTRUCTIONS FIRST BEFORE CONNECTING THE PLAYER.
THIS PLAYER IS WI FI YOU MUST HAVE IT IN ORDER FOR PLAYER TO WORK PROPERLY
NETFLIX IS A PAID SUBSCIPTION IF YOU HAVE IT YOU CAN DOWNLOAD IN YOUR PLAYER FOLLOW THE INSTRUCTIONS.
HDMI CABLE DOES NOT COME WITH THE PLAYER AVERAGE LOWEST COST $6-10 WALMART .
GOOD LUCK.!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 6 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected
08/25/2012
By ,
Rhode Island
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I both this player to play all my file and BD movie, believe me this unit play them all , just plug your external hard drive or usb thumb drive and you all to go this unit will play all kinds of file format The other review who's complaining about the unit I don't know what they are looking for most of the HD tv now a day have hdmi connector & this have one at the back no component connector if you are watching BD you need the best connector anyway to have a better picture and HDMI will do that, and if you are looking for The wireless adapter this is the Philip web site link www.encompassparts.com and look for wub1110 usb adapter.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 7 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Not Worth the Cost

08/19/2012
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This machine is basically "just OK." It's compact and plays DVDs like it's supposed to do. Having said that, I made a mistake in buying it. It doesn't have audio/video plugs for connecting to external component stereo equipment. It doesn't have built in Wi-Fi which means two things. In order to stream video, you either you have to plug in an Ethernet cable to the front of it (that looks ugly) or spend $20-30 for a wireless adapter. If you do the latter, then for the added cost you can buy a player with built in Wi-Fi capability and other amenities; which is exactly what I am going to do when I return this one tomorrow. I really don't understand this in-between design concept. If one only wants to play DVD movies then they can get a nice player cheaper than this. If one wants to do streaming video then I would think that they would want the full packaged equipment which doesn't cost much more than this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 8 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

ZOOOOM! Yes, it has zoom. Finally a player with

07/13/2012
By ,
Rochester MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
zoom. Some blueray discs do not allow zoom, but all the dvd's i tried allow you to zoom and use the full size of your wide screen tv... NO more black bars at the top/bottom!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

ABSOLUTELY NOT WIFI READY

04/21/2012
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You have to buy a separate dongle for it to work!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Posted 09/01/2012
do you know where you can buy one that is compatable
0points
WiFi Ready....
Posted 08/20/2012
"You have to buy a separate dongle for it to work!!!!!" - this is the definition of "WiFi ready"....WiFi Ready players have a slot where you can insert a WiFi card while WiFi Built-in players (or WiFi Enabled) already have the WiFi card inside.
Read more: Difference Between WiFi Ready and WiFi Built-in Blu-ray Players | Difference Between | WiFi Ready vs WiFi Built-in Blu-ray Players http://www.differencebetween.net/technology/difference-between-wifi-ready-and-wifi-built-in-blu-ray-players/#ixzz245pnAfm8
+1point
Customer Avatar
Cottonwood Arizona
USB WiFi Adapter
Posted 07/10/2012
Did you watch the movie on the website prior to buying the unit? It says the usb wifi adapter is extra.
+3points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 10 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Worth the money.

12/02/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this player today and installed it without a problem. It's true the remote is kind of cheap but it worked fine. Many of the negative comments about this device are based on ignorance. Very few Bluray players come with an HDMI cable. All players sold as wifi ready require a seperate adapter(never worth the money). If you are looking for a no frills Bluray this one will fill the bill. Also, this player can be hacked to play other region dvds.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 11 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Worst... Purchase... EVER!!

06/30/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Power buttons only respond about half the time, the other half the machine stays locked-up! Even when powered off, it stays connected to the TV, had to unplug it for it to finally truly power off. Freezes if it's paused. Loses settings every time it's turned off - had to redo the network setup settings every time I turned it back on. (I have it directly plugged into my router) And yes, as the other reviewers have said, it IS NOT WIFI ready! Do yourself a favor and skip this "deal"! Wish I had!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 12 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

This is trash!

10/11/2012
By ,
Sierra Vista, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DO NOT BUY THIS! First you need an additional piece of equipment to connect to your Wi-Fi that you can ONLY get from the manufacturer and then the remote doesn't register half the time. Don't waste you time OR your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 13 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

No built in wifi

01/07/2013
By ,
Central New York
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wanted a Blu-Ray player for a kitchen TV for occasional use and selected the Philips 2900 as a low-cost option. I carefully read the features on the product box so I would know what to expect and the box clearly stated it is "Wi-Fi ready" and it displayed the logos for Netflix and vudu HD Movies. I learned only after opening the box at home that that that label does not mean Wi-Fi capable. To get the Wi-Fi features you must purchase an add-on USB Wi-Fi adapter, the Philips WUB1100. When I tried to order it on the Philips website, clicking on the "buy" button got me 10 minutes of a loading icon. I gave up and checked other websites advertising the adapter and the prices, with shipping, ranged from around $25 to $75 (the most common!). I complained to Philips that their labeling is deceptive, and they agreed to upgrade my BluRay to the 2985 model for a $10 fee. I'll post again when I receive it and try it out. I still can't believe it wouldn't be easier and less expensive for Philips to simply send me the adapter, or better yet, charge an extra $10 and include the adapter in the original packaging.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 14 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

At least the power LED functions correctly...

07/14/2012
By ,
Louisville, Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have had this player for one week now and have had nothing but trouble with it. The most annoying part is IT WILL NOT WORK regularly. Pop in a disc and watch a movie and the next movie wont work...just goes to a black screen after you hit play in the movie menu. Sometimes the player wont respond at all to any button pressing on the remote or the unit, I have to unplug it and start from scratch. The eject button takes a minimum of 1 minute to respond, so be prepared for that wait. Overall I wouldn't give this junk a single star, the only thing it has going for it would be the cost....but if it doesn't work what point is a good price? Going to return this afternoon and get something else....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 15 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Dissapointing

07/08/2012
By ,
Neversink, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was given this DVD player as a gift from my Husband. I was excited to set it up only to find out it can ONLY be attached via HDMI (NOT INCLUDED) and if not hard wired the wireless set up is via a Philips USB (NOT INCLUDED) and very hard to find. Once you purchase everything needed to use all the features it's definetly not worth the money. My gift wound up costing me money. Not happy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 16 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Requires a piece for wifi! Not built in! Don't buy

07/04/2012
By ,
NewYork
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't recommend this anyone unless you were only going to pay like 20 bucks for it, because the piece you need is 20 dollars extra anyways. Your better off getting a higher priced one that is going to automatically connect to wifi for you. I didn't even get it out of the box, read manual, found this out and returned it the next day...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 17 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Wi-Fi usb more than purchase price

11/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because ti said that I could use it with netflix, what it did not tell me is that I also had to purchase a $60 Phillips WUB1110 usb to use wireless. Will be taking it back to Walmarts today. By the way, If you can find the usb, you will not find it on the Philips.com web site or their store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 18 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected
04/24/2012
By ,
NH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little player for $68. Seems to work better than others costing half again as much. It doesn't have as many online apps as some but what it does have work well and quick. WiFi is not included but can be added via the USB port or you can plug an external hard disk into the USB port.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 19 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected
01/30/2013
By ,
So Cal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A strong motivating factor in getting this Player is that it will play many more file formats. My older Philips would only play some AVI files, whereas the BDP2900 will play the AVIs as well as MKVs, MP4s, WMA, and some other audio file types. The USB port works with common flash drives, and this will also work with external drives that are formatted in FAT32.
The description on the website was less clear that you can only get the wireless internet by using a proprietary add-on device. This caused me to down-grade my rating.
Physically it is quite a small compact unit and the remote is very lightweight. It connected up very easily as there are only the two main connections: power and HDMI that will be exploited by most users. There is a standard "RJ45" network port on the back as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for Philips BDP2900 Blu-ray Disc and DVD Player, Internet Connected

Don't waste your money

07/07/2012
By ,
Macon, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This player froze on the 3rd Blu Ray it ever played. It took me thirty minutes to get the disc out, and it has frozen every time I have tried to play a movie since. Spend a few extra dollars and get a player that works.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 70 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next