Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Shakespeare Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Shakespeare Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

The Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel offers easy one-handed operation for use in boats where you need a free hand to paddle or pole. The Pflueger Automatic has a line trigger that winds in line with just a quick pull for a no-hassle way to reel in line. No more loose tangles!
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation92%11 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Great reel for every fresh water use.

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had one of these in the 70's. Unfortunately it got lost along the way. Just bought it again for $24.95, a bit more than in the 70's, but just as much fun to use. It doesn't look like it has changed at all in forty years. I bought the last one at the old Big 5 Sporting Goods store in Pomona, CA for $4.95.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Great Automatic Fly Reel

12/11/2013
By ,
Puget Sound Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice reel reminiscent of the automatic reels I had many years ago. Appears to be well made albeit a bit heavy. My only problem is that the reel was not supplied with all the features shown on the Walmart website namely the backing, line, leader and flies. Other than that it is a fine reel and I am happy with my purchase.
Below is from the website.
Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel:
Aluminum alloy frame and spool
Stainless steel main spring
Stainless steel foot and line guard
Pre-spooled with #20 Dacron backing, 6 weight level fly line, and 4x tapered leader (assorted flies included)
Model# 1195B
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Excellent Price for this fly reel

05/11/2014
By ,
Derry, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for beginner or experience user, good to keep in vehicle with a inexpensive fly rod, my choice, Eagle Claw two piece fly rod, and small box of flies. When traveling, not prepared to fly fish, and passing a river, stream, or lake. Don't forget, fishing rules and licence, for the State your in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Good for canoe fishing

07/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose an automatic to replace my single action reel because I kept getting my line tangled up around me in my small canoe. One of my favorite fishing writers recommended an automatic.
I have only had one opportunity to use it and I think it will do what I wanted. I gave it only four stars because the spring seems a little weak towards the end of the line. At that point, even the slightest pressure from my fingers on the line will keep it from reeling on in.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

broke in shipping

06/10/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Did not get the new one yet the first one was broke so there went fishing trip that was messed up
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

pflueger automatic fly reel

03/17/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
this item was great I ama sr citizen and this made my fishing enjoyable
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Automatic Fly Reel

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
100% better than the Martin Automatic fly reel. Martin reel is junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Does what it does

05/03/2014
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This reel does exactly what it says and does it well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Very cool reel!

09/24/2013
By ,
Loveland, Co.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This reel is so cool!. I read a review that said this guy in his 80's received one of these for his 13th birthday and it still works great. I tried mine out for the first time the other day and it worked great. I might have to get another one for my other fly rod.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Spool not big enough

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I decided to try an automatic on a new rod and generally like Pflueger stuff so I got this reel to try. The problem, however, is that the spool simply isn't big enough. I generally use some backing on the reel before the fly line, but the spool wasn't big enough to even hold the Cortland 444 line (dt6f line). The spool was completely full with with about 10 foot of the fly line not able to fit. I'll return it and just stick with my manual reels for now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Automatic Fly Reel.

01/17/2013
By ,
Gresham, Wi.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with my recent purchase of the subject Fly Reel. It was everything that I had hoped for and expected it to be. . .Thank you WalMart.
DCZ
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pflueger Automatic Fly Reel

Classic old automatic reel. But No Lines at all...

11/08/2013
By ,
East, Tx.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Funny to think I had this same fly-reel years ago. Back in 1968. I was nine years old. This is a great reel. But not
for beginners. The speed of the line return is really fast... You get use to it and you will find the right touch for
it's line returns easier with time.
I only ordered it because the above ad said that this reel cames pre-loaded with Daecon backing, fly-line and the
tippet line. Well No. None at all. To bad I was going to take it with me this monday fishing.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.