Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Generic Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Generic Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

This commercial-style Emerson 1.2-cu. ft. Microwave and Grill looks great in any kitchen, even gourmet. The refurbished microwave has the power to grill, brown and toast your food so you can heat up your food just the way you like it.
Average Customer Rating:
3.311 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(90 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
28
Customer Recommendation63%57 out of 90reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 35 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
36
4 stars
17
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
28
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
05/16/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Found this gem of a microwave at Walmart of all places, I was going to go with a more simple model but my boyfriend loves fancy gadgets with more buttons than you know what to do with. So I caved and we got this moderately priced microwave. It was under $80 and not even on sale! As for the more buttons than you know what to do with that's hardly the case with this guy. It is well labeled and the manual is thick but very clear and helpful. We popped a bag of popcorn right out of the box, we seriously only had 5 kernels that were unpopped. Which is far more than we could say for our old microwave! It actually runs pretty quietly as well, I didn't even know it was running and I was standing in the kitchen. As for the longevity of this microwave we've had it for 3 months and it's still going strong. It has the quickest cooking time of any microwave I have ever owned, it's just simply splendiferous!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Door latch broke and grill malfunctioned

09/19/2012
By ,
Winter Haven, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this microwave at my local Walmart store a couple of years ago. The microwave functioned for an entire year before the door latch stopped catching properly and it was problematic keeping the door from popping open when cooking. I lived with that issue till a month ago when, the catch gave way completely and the microwave door literally wouldn't stay closed at all, I had to hold the door closed in order to use the microwave. I don't cook in the microwave that often, so I decided to make due, until I could find a sale on a microwave. Well last night, while I was holding the door to heat a cup of water for tea, I smelled a nauseous odor coming from the microwave and I stopped it immediately and unplugged it. To my disbelief there was a hole burned completely through the bottom of the microwave, where the grill comes through the bottom. Now the microwave is out in my trash bin and I am shopping for another microwave, but, not an Emerson.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

GREAT FOR THE MONEY

06/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The great thing about this microwave is you can grill , how conventient is that? For 65 dollars! Also, it looks and operates as brand new. Definatly a winner!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Broken in 9 months

07/15/2012
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Loved the look. Loved the grill addition idea, but only used it twice. The grilled pizza cooked very unevenly. The handle busted off the door after 3 months. Then the grill started sparking after 9 and I had to throw it out.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

allright for price

07/16/2012
By ,
l.b. ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was suprised when I first got my new Emerson,I;d seen it months before for 119$, my store then had it on sale for 99$,but only had store tester.Went on line,had a refurbished one for 69$,bought it ship to store,been a month,have used grill on top,too.Seems to be allright for me,thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
07/16/2012
By ,
Inglewood, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this about 2 months ago. I am a little nervous as this is not a "new" product. So, everyday, I pay extra attention to see if the "keys" work properly or if the door opens as it should. I also purchased the extended warranty, in case of any problems. So far, it works pretty well. Hopefully, I won't have to use the extended warranty any time soon.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

No good

09/18/2012
By ,
TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought one of these brand new off the shelf and it was damaged. Had to take it back to be replaced. Not a big deal there.
Then the grill portion started sparking. My roommate took it back and Walmart replaced it again.
Then the replacement up and died. Third replacement with a Brand New Unit.
Now it lights, starts, fan blows, the tray turns, and nothing gets warm, let alone hot, and it smells of ozone.
Can you say Piece of garbage? I can.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
07/13/2012
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered my microwave on Friday morning and it was
Delivered on Saturday. My only problem is I have to actually slam
the door to close it. It's works perfect otherwise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

will never buy a refurbished item again

10/09/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this item refurbished and it was basically a piece of junk. When I opened the box the entire front panel was broken off and unattached. My hubby put it back together and once plugged in the interior light never went off. In addition, the start button would not work. In fact, the only buttons that did work were the fast cook buttons, but still would not function because the start button was malfunctioned. Very upset about the fact that it did not work, because I loved the model and its features. But I suppose you get what you pay for!! Too bad...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
09/28/2012
By ,
Dallas, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Thought the Microwave and Grill combo would be nice addtion to my kitchen but what a joke on me. I had my previous microwave for over several years, through 2 kids and 5 grandkids. This microwave was just purchase less than 6 months ago and it STOP working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

OUTSTANDING PRODUCT

09/04/2012
By ,
panama city beach, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had this now for a few weeks and so far it has exceeded our expectations and for the price it was a really good buy. We are still experimenting with the grilling functions but it has been fun learning. I would recommend this microwave w/grill for anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Microwave

06/12/2013
By ,
Smithfield, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchase this microwave and in less than a year it was sparking blue fire. I thought it was just a one time deal but it kept on. I pushed it back in a cart Wal-mart refuse to give me credit or even make things right. I left it right in the store in the cart. I told them it wasn't going back into my house. So no I haven't brought another Emerson product and probly will stay away from them from now on.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Received not working

08/29/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After a two week wait for site to store, I went to Walmart to pick it up. Got it home and plugged it in. Wanting a cup of tea, put a cup of water in. Three minutes later, cold water. I guess it really wasn't refurbished.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Exceptional Value!

09/21/2012
By ,
Sun City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
...It is hard to believe this microwave oven is a "refurbished" model! It works so well, no one thought about anything other than how we "lucked out" with the amazing price we paid for the performance received, since this model is half the price with ALL the performance one would expect from a new model..! 'Emerson' is a very good brand name anyway so I wouldn't have expected anything else..!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

BROKE IN 14 MONTHS !!!

08/12/2012
By ,
MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this Emerson microwave brand new for $88 (not refurbished) in May 2011 and it broke in July 2012. The only cooking we used on it was to set the minutes & seconds. The manufacters warranty was for one year, so if it breaks you will have to send it in back in to Emerson. It was a good thing I bought a 1 year Walmart extended warranty for $6 which starts after the 1 year manufacters warranty ends. In 1990 I bought a Emerson microwave which still works and I'm still using to this day. I don't think I will buy another Emerson.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

Doesn't Work

07/06/2013
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I took a chance on this after reading the reviews. It seems that the ones that work, are great and the ones that don't really don't. Well, I got one that does not work. Right out of the box, when you plug it in the fan comes on and will not turn off. It appears that they are just repackaging and shipping things out again. There is no reason for a truly refurbished appliance to do this.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
08/22/2012
By ,
Fort Worth, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only had this microwave for a little over 24 hrs when my 53 lbs. daughter pulled on the handle to open the door and the glass cover that goes over the metal door fell off.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

did not heat

09/02/2012
By ,
dallas, tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
waste of time more than anything else, you would think the refurbishers would make sure it worked
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished
08/27/2012
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I've had this microwave only a short time, but so far so good. However, the owner's manual does not provide specific information about how to use the "grill" so I've been afraid to use it. The fact that it was a combination microwave and grill (toaster?) is the main reason I purchased this model so I'm disappointed that the manual is not up to par.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
york pa
grilling info
Posted 06/16/2013
try going onto the website there should be more info. I have done the same for my computer, tv and anything else I need to know that is not in the booklet.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Emerson 1.2-cu ft Microwave and Grill, Refurbished

$99 at the store and $59 online

10/14/2012
By ,
egf, mn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 75 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next