Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Palmer's Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Palmer's Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight combines the best natural extracts for your hair to penetrate the hair shaft through a heat-activated, natural bonding process. Seal in the activator serum to keep hair straight, smooth, shiny and healthy looking for up to 14 days. Free from harsh chemicals, this keratin-based straightening system may be used as needed without damaging hair. It's perfect for all hair types including curly, wavy, relaxed, color treated, or frizzy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation83%10 out of 12reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Affordable Hair Care

07/28/2013
By ,
St. Louis, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a multiracial female with thin, wavy hair. I have bleached and dyed it many times so my hair is pretty dry and damaged. I tried this just today....I followed the directions well. I think I may have left the shampoo in longer than advised and I rinsed with warm warm then cold water to seal the cuticle. I then let my hair dry mostly, added a bit of the oil in small sections and comb through CAREFULLY with a small tooth comb. Of course I then used the blow dryer while still combing through with the same comb. Then flat ironed my hair while using the same comb got me great results. My hair feels great and my ends no longer look brittle. So far the complaints about this product are probably based on ineffective use of styling tools or the amount of product applied. I will update results and satisfaction when it is time to rinse the product out.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
St. Louis, MO
Posted 08/02/2013
*Update* I washed my hair and it went right back to its original texture. However, it is is still moisturized. I still like the effect on my hair overall. I will just have to leave my hair dry after the treatment to keep it straight and will have to do it more often.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

I LOVE THE RESULTS!!!

03/31/2014
By ,
PORTSMOUTH VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm African American and have natural hair. I wear wigs during the winter, leaving my hair braided underneath. Just 2 simple braids. I cut all my perm out of my hair about 2 years ago and had a tiny fro. Since then it has grown and I couldn't figure out what to do with my hair in the Spring/Summer(too hot to wear wigs in this season). I didn't want to reapply a straight perm. I was in Walmart and I noticed the Palmers Protein Treatment for a reasonable price and I heard it was an alternative to a perm. I purchased it, the same night applied it, and WOW....my hair texture really changed. It was soft and I flat ironed it and it became straight. The more you flat iron the hair the straighter it gets. I did not wash my hair until seven days later and it is still straight, just like a perm. I would recommend this product. I will only apply it once during the Spring/Summer season and then in the winter...back to my braids and wig. My hair is healthier when I alternate this way. Stay natural or as close to natural as possible. No more straightening perms. Your hair will straighten without it. Your hair will be extremely soft with this product and no puffy hair in the humidity. Just use your favorite hair oil on a daily basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Great Product

07/03/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product worked great for me. I am an African American female who is transitioning from using chemical relaxers and this product made my natural new growth blend with my relaxed ends. The coconut oil moisturized my hair beautifully and i love how soft the shampoo made my hair feel. I'd definitely recommend this product to anyone who is looking for a moisturized sleek, straight look, and an alternative to the classic relaxer. But be careful not to load too much product on your hair before the flat ironing process because it may weigh it down, especially if you have thin or very soft textured hair naturally. Also, be sure to use a sulfate free heat protectant spray in order to maintain your look. Organix has a great one
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight
08/04/2012
By ,
White PLains, ny
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Basically bought this system as a last resort because I could not find Nunaat or Smooth 'n' Shine systems ANYWHERE in my area (Both keratin treatments I HIGHLY recommend by the way). I was excited because it was cheaper than the other two and I thought it would work. I must say that I don' t usually write reviews but I had to for this product. I do feel that it made my hair smoother, but the product is EXTREMELY HEAVY. The activating treatments is like a oil goo and it may my hair so greasy and sticky. After I flat ironed it, the texture of my hair was SLIGHTLY better. Now I have relaxed hair, but I get it relaxed every 2.5-3 mos at this point (my natural texture is curly/kinky). I love my hair to have movment and flow and this was just a greasy, nearly straight mess after I was finished. I couldn't even put it in a ponytail afterwards as much as I wanted to. Smh i would not recommend.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight
07/19/2012
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hello,
I was shopping at WalMart and saw your product, brazilian keratin system Healthy Straight. I had been searching for your type product for the past 20 years, since I moved to the US from Germany. I was currious and purchased one . It is MARVELOUS, WONDERFUL!!!. I went back to WalMart and purchased 10! YES, 10 kits, two bottles of the conditioner, and two bottles of the shampoo! I recommend this product very highly to everyone. Thank you for creating a Divine product. IT IS HEAVEN FOR MY HAIR. Thelma
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

I love this product!!!

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So the first time I used this product last year summer of 2013. Since then my hair has remained straight for over 6 months the only thing I really need to do toady is a touch up. I am a black female with all natural shoulder length hair. I must say I love this product. I honestly didn't know what to do with my natural hair and didn't want to wear a afro all the time. This was the answer for me. I didn't want to relax me hair with chemicals because of the damage it causes but I wanted the straight look. My hair is growing like crazy and very healthy and Palmer's was the answer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Effectiveness
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Good Product

10/22/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This product is very easy to use and does take some time to apply. The smell was amazing and my hair felt a lot healthier and manageable.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Wonderful

11/04/2012
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this on my daughter's hair. She is mixed black and white with very coarse, curly, and hard to manage hair. I purchased this knowing that it would not work like the keratin treatments in the salons. I was very impressed with how nice it left her hair feeling. She was long overdue for a relaxer touch up and I decided to give this a try before doing another relaxer. We are really wanting to get away from them. I was super impressed by how nice her hair came out. It looks nicer than when we do the relaxers and even though it will not last near as long, I know it is better for her hair so that is ok for me. It is a very time consuming process, but to us it was just some extra mother/daughter time. She liked that it didn't "smell like cat urine" like the relaxers do and that we didn't have to spend forever washing anything out. I give this one 5 stars.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Softens new growth really well

12/08/2012
By ,
Somerset, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 8 year old has a texturizer (mild relaxer) in her hair that caused some breakage and I wanted to move away from it. I have a Brazillian Blow-Out in my hair, but it is so expensive. I saw this on the shelf and decided to try it. I put it in her hair - all her hair, not just new growth - and it really softened her new growth to the point where I could easily comb through it. Her hair felt really healthy afterward but her roots were still a bit thick. I took her a few days later to our regular Dominican salon for a wash and blow-out and man did her hair get bone straight! I will keep using this to transition her and let all the permanent chemical grow out. A lot of bang for your buck with this product.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Doesn't work. Period.

06/23/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am biracial: black & white. My hair is fine, medium length, curly, frizzy, and it poofs up in humidity/heat. I usually flat iron it each day and I bought this product in hopes of not having to worry about that. IT DOES ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. I put the stuff in my hair and it leaves this greasy RESIDUE and gives me FLAKES. My hair is no straighter than it usually is when I flat iron it! And I'm expecting it to be a little better when I wash it after 24 hours like the directions say, but NO! My hair is as nappy, curly, and frizzy as it usually is and it's almost as if I've used nothing at all! I wouldn't recommend this. If you want a keratin treatment, I don't think you should use this one. You're better off paying $50+ for the real LASTING treatment. :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bay Area,CA
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Posted 09/03/2012
My daughter has LONG frizzy, curly (spiral), dry hair and this WORKS better than most the products I've tried and it's not expensive! She loves this more than I do of course LoL. I just hate the fact the it's hard to get it where I live.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight
11/24/2012
By ,
Aurora, Co
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love Palmer's coconut oil I love Palmer's coconut oil products so when I saw this I couldn't wait to use it. I am mixed Ethiopian & Trinidadian so my hair is thick and curly but yet very soft. When I straighten my hair it is very light and has flow to it but its ALWAYS frizzy the first day or two. The process of putting this product takes a long time, 2 day sad. You're supposed to put it in you hair let it sit, blow dry it, straighten it & then wash so when I saw this I couldn't wait to use it. I am mixed Ethiopian & Trinidadian so my hair is thick and curly but yet very soft. When I straighten my hair it's very light and has flow to it but its ALWAYS frizzy the first day or two.
The process of putting this product takes a long time, 2 days. You're supposed to put it in you hair, let it sit, blow dry it, straighten it & then wash it in 24 hours with the shampoo that comes with it (I recommend buying they're sulfate free conditioner for better results) then straighten it all over again. It takes me a long time to straighten my hair so that wasn't fun.
The product also weighs down your hair but it gets better when you wash your hair. It DID take away my frizz and I was very pleased with that. It Also left my hair very shiny and even softer. I also like that its all natural. I will definitely use this product but next time I'll probably just wear the keratin in my hair when its curly so when I wash it & straighten it it'll already be in my hair to save me time.
I don't think this product would work the same for someone with really fine hair or really course hair though.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Palmer's Coconut Oil Brazilian Keratin System Healthy Straight

Excellent Product!! FINALLY, something that works!

09/23/2012
By ,
Reston, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this product on my hair and couldn't believe the difference it makes. It is softer than it has ever been and literally glows. I went back to Walmart (a bit of a hike in terms of the drive# and was so frustrated that it was not on the shelves. I have a wedding to attend in a few weeks and wanted to get the process started. It is a long process in that you have to wash the hair, put a conditioner in it. Throughly dry and flat iron the hair with the conditioner in it #I just left it in for a week). Then, wash it out with a special step 2 shampoo/conditioner but then... oh my, your hair is so soft and shiney and healthy looking. I LOVE this product. Plus, the price is reasonable. When it is back in stock, I will buy several boxes.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.