Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dyson Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Dyson Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

The Dyson Bagless Upright Vacuum is designed for every floor type. Featuring Dyson Radial Root Cyclone technology with remodeled airflows to maximize suction power, the DC40 captures more dirt and microscopic dust than any other, with no loss of suction. Self-adjusting cleaner head maintains optimal contact, even on hard floors. With new Ball technology, more components are housed inside the ball, making it easy to steer right up to edges and tight spots. The instant release wand stretches up to five times in length for stairs and hard to reach places. Fingertip controls allow you to instantly turn the motorized brush bar off for hard floors, delicate floors and rugs. A washable lifetime filter captures allergens, mold and bacteria and expels cleaner air.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation80%39 out of 49reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 7 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
32
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Horrible vacuum

10/15/2012
By ,
MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Put vacuum together and had no suction. Husband tinkered with it until he got it to suck. Very poor performance picking up dirt and kitty litter. Vacuumed up a mess of box elder bugs and the canister was a complete mess, I had to wash the entire thing (it would have been quicker to simply have swept up the bugs instead). The third time I used it it had again completely lost suction. Will be attempting to return it. Went and bought a fabulous Simplicity vacuum from a reputable dealer for less money.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40
08/18/2013
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum! I swept my floor with my old Bissell and then went over the same area with the Dyson. It picked up as much as it had with the Bissell. Then I realized I hadn't even turned the brushes on. Love how i can manuever it around and under furniture i never could before.
Only con: Directions are pretty awful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

The BEST vacuum you can buy!

07/14/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
To the first reviewer of this vacuum: If you want a canister vacuum, go buy the Dyson Canister vacuum. Honestly, you complained about everything that has to do with an upright vacuum. I will admit, the vacuum does blow hot air from the vent on it. Have you ever owned a vacuum that does not blow hot air? I haven't. I have previously owned two Hoover vacuums and a Bissell Clean view I just purchased in February. The Hoover lasted just 4 year sweeping the floor once a week being a single male. I literally got this vacuum and swept the floor with my Bissell vacuum I purchased no more than 4 months ago, then I swept with the Dyson. I was SHOCKED!!! I couldn't believe how much dirt was left over in the carpet. I am being serious, you would not believe it unless you saw it. The ball technology design is a dream come true, talk about getting under everything. The coat rack, just glides right underneath and along the edges of furniture. It is amazing! I admit I thought Dyson vacuums were overpriced. My sister always says her 6 year old Dyson works like the day she got it. These vacuums are incredible. And no I don't work for Dyson, I wish I did!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

AWESOME!!

07/22/2012
By ,
Santa Rosa, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm loving this vacuum. First time I used it, we thought it made the carpets look like they'd been cleaned. It got a LOT of dirt & dust...yuck. So easy to maneuver (love the way it turns), very light. My favorite thing is it adjusts to different floors (we have carpet, rugs, wood floors, and linoleum). So easy to empty the canister. I'm happy there are no filters to replace (just have to periodically clean it). Easy hose for cleaning up high. I'm VERY happy. It was expensive, but worth it. I was tired to replacing cheaper vacuums every year! I feel like this one will last a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40
12/18/2012
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love my Dyson DC40. I have a dog and to vacuum is no longer a chore. I love the push buttom to empty the canister! I really like how easy it is to move around, and I love that the edges pick up real well. This is a great vacuum!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Not a fan of the Dyson

06/12/2012
By ,
Tulsa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Let me start by saying I've always had a canister vacuum cleaner (Hoover to be exact). I have used uprights in the passed but don't like them because they can't get everywhere. I saw the Dyson DC40 on QVC and was impressed. The rep said it was only 14 lbs. and she kept holding it up above her head. I've heard about the great suction so I took the plunge and bought one. I am returning it.
If you are used to the weight of an upright vacuum, the 14 lb weight of the Dyson may not be an issue. I am used to a lightweight pole with a powerhead on the end so the Dyson seemed very heavy. Also, with a canister the cord is behind you between the canister and the wall. With an upright, the cord is right there and you have to hold it or trip over it. This is a pain.
This Dyson is great for carpet but has no crevice tool, which I used often with my canister. Even with the tools it does have, there's no place to attach them to the upright so mine are in a closet and I constantly have to keep track of them. This is a pain.
Also, this upright is difficult to use on stairs. You pull out a wand and a hose. The hose on my Dyson is sooooo tight, even after stretching, that I can not keep the upright from being right behind me. On the Dyson infomercial, it shows a rep cleaning 6 steps up while the upright is sitting at the bottom of the steps. I could not do this because the hose was so "tight" I had to bring the unit with me because there was so much tension, I could only go 2-3 steps from the unit. If I pulled too hard, it would fall over. The hose is so tight that it hurt my back after I used it.
Also, it's great on hardwood flooring but .... the hose has so much tension and pulls the upright behind you at such close range, that you trip over the unit. And the wand is too short, and I am only 5'6". When I do my hardwoods, I find I only get results if I CARRY the upright with one hand while I bend partway over and use the wand with the other hand .... and of course the cord is there all the time to trip over. That's 14 lbs of carrying. This is a pain.
My bathroom tiles are also a problem because, even with the hardwood attachment, the suction is so powerful that sometimes I have to PULL the head off of the floor. There's no place to adjust the suction. Again, dealing with the suction, the short wand and the fact that the hose has so much tension #oh and the cord# ....
Oh and this vacuum blows out very hot air from the back, all over your feet and legs. You will be in a sweat by the time you finish your chores. If you look on the Dyson webpage for reviews and questions from owners, you will see many people ask about that hot air because they don't like it.
I contacted Dyson and told them about these issues. First I was told to get another person and help me stretch out the hose. My sister-in-law has another Dyson and said in three years her hose hasn't stretched out. Then I sent them an e-mail - and was told to call the customer service number.
I have decided to return my Dyson DC40 to QVC for a $10.95 return fee. I don't know if I can match the suction of a Dyson, but I'm sure I can find something more user friendly and certainly more worth my money. I think this unit is way too high priced for what it lacks compared to a high quality canister-style vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Fantastic!!!

01/09/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in love with my new Dyson! I was amazed by how much dirt it picked up when I had just vacuumed 2 days prior. I was also impressed with the fast delivery and reduced price through WalMart!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40
05/15/2013
By ,
Brady Lake, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have been shopping around for a new vacuum cleaner.I have a Hoover Windtunnel that I have had for several years. I always felt that it did a good job,but it is very heavy which did'nt used to be a problem,but as I have gotten older it was just too heavy for me. I had always heard that Dyson made very good vacuums. I shopped several stores online and found that Wallmart had the best deal.I saw that the DC40 only weighs 12.5 Lbs and I read the reviews and decided to order it.I am totally amazed at the amount of dirt and dog hair that it pulled out of my carpet. It is much more powerful than my Windtunnel. It was simple to assemble. I still need to get used to using it,but I think that the hose might not be long and flexible enough. Cord could be a little longer also.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Love, love, love it.....

10/07/2013
By ,
Chino Hills, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
as far as vacuums go. Didn't think I could be this excited about a vacuum, but the ball really helps for getting around on the floor. It empties easy, pushes easy and handles up and down the steps easy. Oh, I cleaned hair out of the brushes and that was easy too. I've only had it a couple weeks and I plan to have it for many years.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Great vacuum

09/17/2013
By ,
Fenwick Island, DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the lightest, most powerful vacuum I've ever owned. Great suction power and not as heavy and bulky as my previous vacuums. Well worth the price. Quick delivery too.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Maneuvers great and has great suction.

08/16/2013
By ,
Hardy, Arkansas United States
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best vacuum I've ever owned. It's so easy to move through the house and has the most suction power so it does a great job.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Great Vaccum Cleaner

06/02/2013
By ,
Tucson,Az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Damage container open cut on box cause by shipping, however Vacuum was packed to properly secure unknown at this time how long this Dyson Vacuum might last. Used one time so far seems to be working okey.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40
07/01/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to assemble, extremely light, and performs well picking up lint/dust
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40

Expensive

02/21/2013
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Used my Dyson D40 only once and look forward to using it again. I hated vacuuming using my old vacuum because it was heavy and seems like vacuuming took forever due to poor suction. Hope it holds up for the price I paid for it. I'm thankful it came with a five year warranty.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Dyson DC40 Bagless Upright Vacuum, DC40
Based on the average of (35) ratings-only reviews
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5