Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

The refurbished Pavilion dv7 laptop moves fast with an AMD quad-core accelerated processor and 8GB of system memory. The HP laptop PC's Blu-ray disc player lets you watch HD movies on the large, HD BrightView display with LED backlighting for energy efficiency. Built-in Wi-Fi and an HD webcam keep you in touch on the 17.3" HP notebook computer, wherever you're heading. There's also a memory card reader and large 750GB hard drive built into this umber brown Windows laptop for all of your multimedia files.
Average Customer Rating:
4.812 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation98%47 out of 48reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Excelent product

12/17/2012
By ,
Elizabeth
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The refurbished HP resulted in the best computer purchase I made. It has all the features I need plus a beatifull design. Highly recomend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great laptop, runs fast!

05/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a nice, inexpensive laptop for a few games and movies/media. I was a little weary at first, but gave this HP a go. It turned out great; I had a problem at first with a blue screen, but it was because I hadn't fully updated the computer before I started installing some things. Now it works great. It runs super fast. I can play Sims 3 with all the expansions while the family watches movies through HDMI on the TV.
The only con I have is that it is rather heavy, but it's not really a con since it IS a 17.3" laptop. I like that the battery has a big lip, because it lifts the laptop up to air it out without needing to buy a fan or put anything under it, as it does get quite hot if it's on the bed without any ventilation while playing games. I've had problems finding a backpack case for it and I ended up settling for a "fits most 17" laptops" that just barely fits.
Just so everyone knows, the brown of this laptop is almost black. It's very dark and when I first got it I thought it was black until I put it to the outside light.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 3 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Exceptionally good for the price

08/14/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have owned this laptop for little over two weeks now and I have gotten to see what this laptop really goes for. The specs didn't lie when they said that this computer looked like it would fit in with the top dog competitors.
I would certainly recommend this laptop to anyone looking to have a near top of the line laptop for almost a steal price. When you receive the laptop, it comes in a fairly decent box with good protection, no complaints on the shipping there.
The laptop itself on "first boot" takes you though what I thought to be a long and boring setup with HP that takes roughly 30-45 minutes depending on what you provide in the fields being asked.
After that is simply a walk-in-the-park using the laptop, The speed is amazing and the keyboard feels comfortable and easy to adjust to.
When the spec for this computer say "Has 750GB of storage" expect to have roughly 650 to use and after all of the required windows updates would easily bring that down to 630 without any programs being installed, for example Microsoft Word/Office or Adobe Photoshop/After FX.
The battery life on this laptop may be my biggest concern after buying it, although I love how it fits into the laptop, almost propping it up a bit to vent the laptop easier. I normally have to plug the laptop into the charger 2 to 3 times a day with full use (Games, Work, Composing Music, ect.)
This laptop does come with Beats audio built in. This might be one of my favorite specs for this laptop, since I compose music with FL Studio 10 and I am constantly dealing with beats and melodies, this makes listening to music so much clearer and enjoyable through the speakers or my headphones (It almost boosts the quality of your headphones).
The native 1600x900 Resolution and Blu-ray player makes this laptop an amazing product for watching movies, the Beats audio also makes this more enjoyable too.
Browsing the web is breeze, the big screen makes it so you don't ever have to scroll to the side to see the whole page.
For those of you that are curious about the fingerprint scanner, I love it. It works perfectly and is very accurate when identifying a registered finger. I mainly use it to log onto the laptop and log onto my email or Dropbox.
This portion here is best for the concerned potential gamers that might buy this laptop. Don't expect to play something as massive as Skyrim on high graphics and render distance on far. The computer can do it although your frame rate will be drastically low. I can play games like Team Fortress 2 on high everything and experience no lag whatsoever. Games like Diablo 3 or Starcraft 2 will also run very well on Medium-High graphics which shouldn't really be a problem if you are going to be playing a lot.
All in all this laptop is a fine product and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great laptop for a steal price.
PROS:
-Beats Audio
-Keyboard
-Speed
-Graphics
-Blu-ray player
CONS:
-Battery life
-Windows updates taking up a lot of storage space
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 4 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

WOW!

08/25/2012
By ,
Rochester Hills, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay first off, I am a HUGE gamer and love to play Minecraft, Runescape, Warcraft, Sims, and all that. I have just recently bought this laptop and I am extremely pleased with how it runs. Second of all, I have seen some of the other comments and I just want to say this: this laptop has an AMD processor NOT an intel i7. AMD is basically the same kind of processor, except it has a little less frequency and is cheaper. Anyways, this computer is AMAZING because:
1. 17" screen. I LOVE big screens for gaming! One of the things I look for in computers.
2. 750GB Hard Drive. When I saw this, I thought, "This is too good to be true." I am still thinking it.
3. 6GB (or 8GB, can't remember). That is also a great thing about the computer. I need AT THE VERY LEAST 4GB, but this computer packs a punch.
4. Fingerprint scan. I had never heard of this until a few months ago, and I am just awed by it. No more need for remembering passwords :D
5. The Design. This thing is soooo sleek. It is an absolute work of art.
Finally, the last reason, is the........PRICETAG!!!!!! I have been searching all over the internet; Best Buy, Radio Shack, Staples, Micro PC, and let me say, this is the absolute best computer for its price IN THE WORLD. At $519.99, this computer HAS to be a dream come true for me. People, I am telling you. Go out and GET THIS LAPTOP!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 5 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Best computer for the money

07/21/2012
By ,
Phoenix
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this computer for my wife's birthday, she loves it. Fast fast fast. Absolutely the best value I've ever gotten out of a laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 6 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

08/14/2012
By ,
Honesdale, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After doing lot of comparison shopping for 17 inch laptop with decent memory I decided to get this one. Price could not be beat, the item arrived in two days with regular shipping and it has been great and fast to use. My son uses it to skype it with his friends and I do my facebook games. Sound is decent, picture quality ok on videos and loads fast. Very happy!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 7 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium
08/24/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WOW! I am super impressed!! ...received my "refurbished" laptop on Thurs. 8/9; completely unexpected as I was told that shipment would be on Fri. 8/10, no later than Tues. 8/14. Thus was sooo EXCITED when received waaay ahead of schedule! TEN STARS on delivery!!
This machine is beautiful, sleek, fast, large, exhilarating, fabulous, wonderful....oh yeah, the battery life MEGA PLUS PLUS!! I am loving this laptop, and the envy of everyone who has no idea that it's refurbished and the price is grrrrreat!!!!! I am so in love!
P.S. the finger scanner, not a bad idea either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 8 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

laptop is good so far .

06/17/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far so good for the short time I have had this laptop . Only thing i have found is not to good is lose usb port on left side .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Excellent laptop at a good price

09/08/2012
By ,
Huntsville, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This may not be the current state of the art laptop, but at this price point you shouldn't expect it to be. What you do get at this price is a solid laptop with a great HD screen that can handle most casual gaming and serve as a desktop replacement. Battery life is decent, wi-fi has good range, and there wasn't as much bloat-ware as I expected. It does not come with recovery media, so you will need either 4 single layer (4.7 GB) or 2 dual layer (8.5 GB) recordable DVDs for this. Even though it takes a while to do this, you need to go ahead and do it, as if something goes wrong, this is the only way you can reinstall everything. I suggest uninstalling all the bloat-ware / un-needed programs first though. Overall, this has been an excellent purchase that has done everything I need it to do, including handling some newer games at decent frame rates.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Laptop and a BETTER DEAL than Tiger Direct!!

08/13/2012
By ,
Helena, MT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This laptop looks brand new and appears to be an excellent product. I especially ike the brown finish gives unit a very professional look over the silver model. Would definitely recomend this product to anyone who wants a quality laptop from HP as a great deal from Wal Mart!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

fast,powerful,and loaded

08/22/2012
By ,
AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just got this and put all my updates and info in and love the performance. it outworks my old 7 year old by 200%.it only took 30 minutes to update 700mb from microsoft. the only thing wrong with it sofar is it said it came with a 750GB hard drive,but when i opened it, it only had 650GB.
this is a great laptop,my old vista needed a break. will see after a few months how it runs. would definitly by another one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+3points
Review 12 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

SUPER BUY!!!!

08/29/2012
By ,
OKLAHOMA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been wanting to purchase a laptop and have looked at the WalMart site as well as in the store. When I saw this one, I jumped at it. This laptop has all the features I need in a computer and more. It was ready to go from the box. In addition, I was pleasantly surprised to find it had a Blu-ray Disc player. The screen is large enough for me to be able to see everything. Being my age, I do need a larger screen. The ease in working with the features is wonderful.
It is heavier than most laptops, but not unmanageble. At this point, I do not have any complaints and would highly recommend this for anyone looking for a truly great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 13 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium
07/11/2012
By ,
taylor,mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it fingerprint scan its great very fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Highly recommended!

09/19/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this laptop about two weeks and I'm loving it so far. The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because when I first turned it on the blue screen came up this was after I installed Google Chrome and Avast Security. Once Windows updated the necessary updates to the computer I tried downloading Chrome and Avast again and there weren't any problems. And I haven't had the blue screen again. I am not a computer expert so I don't know if that's why I was getting the blue screen. But I love this computer. It comes with a blurry player and beats audio (which I'm told is one of the best brands out there). And so far it's meeting all my expectations.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/01/2012
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
-Shipped very quickly (Miami to Cleveland, OH in 1-2 days) I was surprised how fast I got it
-Looks brand new
-A little heavy but hey it's 17.3'' what do you expect
-The battery shape is cool, it props the computer up to help keep it cool
-Sound is good
-Able to play games (Minecraft, Diablo, Wow) well, not much lag. I've been having to wait a minute for Technic to load up (Minecraft mod) but I'm not sure if that's because of the computer or the mod.
-The fingerprint scanner is cool and works well. Keeps my younger siblings from getting onto it. Also you can set shortcuts to programs/websites depending on which finger you scan.
-Overall just very pleased with it. Meets my needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Notebook

10/29/2012
By ,
North Carolina
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good one. Processor not the best but all in all a good notebook for the money. One problem that I have is upgrade to Windows 8. It can not complete the process to upgrade. The HP site states that all HP can not be upgraded. Even with that I would recommend this to the average user. Not the IT professional but the guy who things he is one or the kid who wants a some what fast computer due to the memory. I want to upgrade the memory also. 16 would be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 17 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

Quality surpassed expectations

09/29/2012
By ,
Heath Springs, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Laptop! When I saw it was refurbished I had my doubts and expected a beat up piece of hardware. But when I unpacked it look brand new. Very happy with it. Great price for this as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium
09/27/2012
By ,
Morristown, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just wish I would have been offered a warranty at checkout like other companies do. But amazing laptop...worth every penny. And sent packaged really great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium

AWESOME!

10/19/2012
By ,
PORTSMOUTH, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeds expectations, we love this computer. I recommend it to anyone who needs a low cost computer. This is a winner!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for HP Refurbished Umber Brown 17.3" Pavilion dv7-6b56nr Laptop PC with AMD A6-3400M Processor, Blu-ray Disc Player and Windows 7 Home Premium
10/27/2012
By ,
st.charles missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great!! very good computer for the money ....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 22 total reviews
1 2 Next