Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.635 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(219 Reviews) 194
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
13
1 star
50
Customer Recommendation69%151 out of 218reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
99 Questions | 305 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
13
1 star
50
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Did Not Perform As Stated

04/08/2012
By ,
Siloam Springs, Ark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 3 main functions we bought this device for were: Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora.
Netflix runs with acceptable video but there is something wrong with the audio signal as it is strewn with static and an annoying clicking scratchy sound. We tried multiple configurations and nothing fixed it. YouTube ran fine.
Pandora's setup was so cumbersome that we never were able to figure out and have since purchased a different device.
We are planning to return this device today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Carlsbad
Download software update
Posted 04/16/2012
Download the update! What you described happened when i first connected, the download fixed it.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Fountain Valley, CA
Software Update Available for MovieNite
Posted 04/11/2012
Thanks for letting us know about your experience with the D-Link MovieNite - we appreciate the feedback. We have released a product software update that takes care of the issues you mentioned in your post. To update your MovieNite, after successfully connecting the MovieNite to the Internet, reboot it by powering it off and then back on, wait for the update message to appear, and select "OK". Once the update is complete, you should be good to go. Enjoy!
D-Link Product Marketing
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Disappointed

06/23/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about five days ago and at first it was spectacular. Now, it has problems connecting to Netflix (even though there's nothing wrong with my wi-fi) and it has started making a scratching noise. On top of that, my remote control is very unresponsive ( is it the batteries that came with it?) and it doesn't even turn off when I press the power button! Today I had to unplug it 2 times before I could get to Netflix because before that it would just be a blank black screen. Don't buy this unless you're a gambler I guess. I seriously wanna return it, that's $48 I think most of us could use!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Slow and the Remote buttons stick

09/16/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted to watch Netflix and for 38.00 why not. Well there was a reason it was only 38.00. It is very slow to open an app and the down arrow on the remote didn't work right, I would have to hit the down arrow 4 times before the cursor would move. The interface is simple yet tedious at the same time. Very limited as to what you can do with this box. I returned and bought a Roku which is much easier to use and faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Roku LT Streaming Player
4.6 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
4.5 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

wireless

09/16/2012
By ,
kansas city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This claims to be a wireless device. It would not work when I tried it as a wireless device. When I called their technical support line I was told that this version would only work if I plugged it into a LAN cable. I returned it at that point. A wireless device that only works if it is plugged in is not a wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Wireless
Posted 09/20/2012
Hi Phillip1w...I own this device and it does have a wireless function. Not sure why you can't connect to a wireless network nor the technical support told you something that is not true of the device. Maybe it was a mistake on their part but it does work with my wireless router. Do you own a wireless router? Have you checked your wireless router functions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Didn't work for me.

07/16/2012
By ,
LaFayette, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The movie wasn't clear at all. Could hear the sound clearly, but movie wasn't coming in. The instructions lacked a lot for set-up so it could have been something we didn't do, but we called the "help line" and it still didn't work. We returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink. This is a very common mistake people are making.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Avoid this product at all costs!

05/17/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this today and are returning it first thing tomorrow morning. It has been a 3 hour nightmare of wires, moving TVs, firmware upgrades and English-as-a-second-language support techs (they are all very friendly & helpful, but difficult to understand most of the time, having to repeat or ask me to repeat things over and over), culminating in D-Link telling us to take it back because it's obviously defective.
The device connected from the start but continued to drop connection within seconds. D-link swore that a firmware upgrade would solve the problem so we lugged the device and TV to the den so it could be hardwired to the router for this. It upgraded, connected, streamed Netflix and then immediately stopped again. At this point, D-link said there's nothing else they can do and we should return it. We're taking that suggestion & going with the Roku we were looking at in the first place. Don't save yourself a few dollars at the expense of an entire evening's peace of mind!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Forget this one.

03/01/2013
By ,
Houston,TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not thing fancy, it just don't work. I return this and bought WD for $89.00 at Walmart. I would do it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Just awful

03/01/2013
By ,
MA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased 3 of these. They lock up, need to reboot, don't connect well, just awful. Save your money and buy a roku box, they operate flawlessly.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

It does not work

08/02/2012
By ,
Munford, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I suggest not buying this product. There are not any good set-up directions. Very difficult to program. Doesn't recognize your WIFI right away. It didn't even work when I tried to connect manually. No wonder the price was reduced to $38.00. I have owned it for one day and I am taking it back!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Awesome and easy to use!!!
Posted 09/23/2012
I bring mine with me whenever I travel or I'm on vacation.
I've never had a problem with it working properly every time.
I've had it hard wired to LANs and connected to dozens of Wi-Fi connections and have never had any issues.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Cheap price comes with cheap design and quality

05/17/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cheap product. The IR reception with the remote control is horrible. It barely can read anything unless you are pointing directlyat it horizontally, and its range is super short. I constantly have to get up from my sofa to get the commands received. The user interface is also pretty laggy moving from icon to icon. The Netflix/Youtube/Pandora/Vudu buttons are nice idea but the device hard crashed a few times as I am trying to jump from service to service. I think I will return this product soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

save your money this is worthless

03/12/2013
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has terrible reviews online. I spent hours attempting set-up and it would not connect to the internet....neither wireless or even with the ethernet plugged in. There is no customer support number in the instructions. Am returning the item for my money back and getting NeoTV or Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Boring

09/19/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the device has very limited apps available basically about 4 altogether... You can't even download more like on Roku. I took this back and spent a few more bucks and got another Roku.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I would NOT recommend this to anyone

06/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because of the price and the fact that I did not need something with a lot of features. I had planned on using it for Netflix feature. After setup I began streaming Netflix and heard a clicking sound. I tried to change the audio/video to HDMI to see if that would help. After changing it, it continued to make a clicking noise. I then called the customer service number on the box and spent an hour on the phone with them asking me the same questions over and over. At the end of the conversation (with 2 people speaking broken English) I was told... "The product should not be making that noise. Maybe you should take it back and get another one". I will be taking this product back first thing in the morning and will spend the extra cash to get a better product. Please do not waste your time or money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DOES NOTHING...

06/02/2012
By ,
LOS ANGELES, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and i decided to get a media streamer (without doing much research). So today we figured we'd get the MovieNite because it was cheap and it was a brand we recognized. Once we bought it home, first it didn't connect to our Vizio with our HDMI cord... after reading the specs, i saw that it states it works on "almost any tv"... so whatever, we swallowed the pill and figured we'd watch movies but just not in hd... well once it was connected via AV cord, it took FOREVER to connect to internet and finally when it connected, it wouldn't connect to the Netflix... bummer. We will be returning it tomorrow and going for the ROKU XD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good for me.

02/21/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the reviews I've read here I bought the D-Link. That was a week ago. I went back to Walmart and exchanged it today and I got a Roku HD.
I have the highest speed Comcast puts out to the public, near $80 a month in broadband only. I have the tv I hooked up this D-link in the room. It is 10' by 10'. I have a Linksys router.
I found this device slow, and sometimes if I didn't unplug and replug it in to get a new IP it would not connect. No, I'm not a novice around computers. I've been rebuilding computers since 2002. I know a few things.
I don't know if this was a faulty device or that is just the way they are, but I do know I was not going to get another one.
I am very glad I upgraded to the Roku HD. Roku HD is epic and worth the extra $ for a whole lot more streaming choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Don't waste your money

01/06/2013
By ,
W.P.B, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not the best product out there. Got this for netflix streaming. I was originally going to get the Roku since its the same price, but the Roku doesn't have the ethernet connection. This little box gave me so many problems from day one. Hooked it up, went under the netflix app, signed in and it would freeze, causing me to restart the box. Finally after hours of doing that, I was able to get into nextflix. Some shows would come in great, others blurry and then some shows would come in half the screen size. I have a 32inch, felt like I was watching tv on a 19in. It wasn't netflix, it was the box. Shows would also freeze. Horrible little box. I ended up returning it and buying a xbox since we were going to do that sometime soon.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

disappointed

04/24/2013
By ,
Brady, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't waste your money on this. Sometimes takes a dozen or more tries to sign on to Netflix. Goes through all the motions but will hang up and must be turned off to start again. We bought two of these and both of them do it. It also makes a VERY annoying beep sound. We bought the cheapest RCA brand streaming device in the store and it works just fine. We are still trying to use one of these until we can replace it but it really tries our patience
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

BAD BATCH OF PRODUCTS

07/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Long story short.. we had to return the first one, as we could not view even the setup wizard on our TV. 2nd one, we got the wild idea that the color codes on the AV wire were wrong - sure enough, red (not yellow) needed to be in the video slot.
Took 2-1/2 hours to figure out how to get it to connect to my router/internet.
Ended up calling tech support as we got only blank screens when trying to access any of the internet options. After an online firmware upgrade, still blanking out. Was given a case number, apologized profusely to for bad equipment, and told to return it to the store with that number and get me an exchange. (I'm sure they'd like if I got another one of these, but after 2 having problems, I am taking it to get my money back.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The worst product ever. A waste of money!

10/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, G
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for less than 2 days. It was slow but I wanted to keep it to get access to YouTube. I couldn't even make that make sense, since it continuously cut out in the middle of shows and finally I stopped trying to excuse the sorry excuse for technology when it could not connect to my internet in the same room where my wireless is located. NO nothing is wrong with my wireless connection. I am using it to connect at this moment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

06/07/2012
By ,
Rio Grande City, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter so that she could watch Netflix in her room bad idea, it never connects via WiFi and when it would nothing good. It would freeze up and quickly disconnect really bad choice on our part.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next