Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation68%152 out of 225reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Slow and the Remote buttons stick

09/16/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted to watch Netflix and for 38.00 why not. Well there was a reason it was only 38.00. It is very slow to open an app and the down arrow on the remote didn't work right, I would have to hit the down arrow 4 times before the cursor would move. The interface is simple yet tedious at the same time. Very limited as to what you can do with this box. I returned and bought a Roku which is much easier to use and faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Roku XS Streaming Video Player
4.4 out of 5(142)
 
 
 
Roku LT Streaming Player
4.6 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
4.5 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

wireless

09/16/2012
By ,
kansas city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This claims to be a wireless device. It would not work when I tried it as a wireless device. When I called their technical support line I was told that this version would only work if I plugged it into a LAN cable. I returned it at that point. A wireless device that only works if it is plugged in is not a wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Wireless
Posted 09/20/2012
Hi Phillip1w...I own this device and it does have a wireless function. Not sure why you can't connect to a wireless network nor the technical support told you something that is not true of the device. Maybe it was a mistake on their part but it does work with my wireless router. Do you own a wireless router? Have you checked your wireless router functions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Disappointed

06/23/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about five days ago and at first it was spectacular. Now, it has problems connecting to Netflix (even though there's nothing wrong with my wi-fi) and it has started making a scratching noise. On top of that, my remote control is very unresponsive ( is it the batteries that came with it?) and it doesn't even turn off when I press the power button! Today I had to unplug it 2 times before I could get to Netflix because before that it would just be a blank black screen. Don't buy this unless you're a gambler I guess. I seriously wanna return it, that's $48 I think most of us could use!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Spend $10 more and get a Roku HD

04/16/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an MovieNite for my mother to use with Netflix. I have used D-Link products in the past and figured this should be a decent product... Oh how wrong I was...
During the setup, I had to enter the MAC address of the wireless adapter for my wireless networks security. However to do this you have to plug it in and turn it on. The MAC address printed on the sticker on the box is only the wirednetwork MAC address. Annoying but livable.
My biggest issue was with the actual setup:
The composite cable included is fairly short, and feels really cheap.
To hook it up to your TV, you need to put the RED plug in the YELLOW jack and the YELLOW plug in the RED jack. The manual tells you to do yellow to yellow, white to white, red to red.
Also the 3.5mm minijack plug that the AV cables plugged into was loose, and I had to rotate and angle the jack for an image to appear on the screen, and keep the audio from crackling.
Very poor build quality.
Then you have the shoddy software. I have multiple issue with trying to get the wireless to connect, but finally was able to. It did not list all the wireless networks, and cut off the names.
I entered the wireless password, but the onscreen keyboard is really small and hard to read unless you are right infront of the TV a foot away.
I decided to check for a firmware update since the shipped firmware was version 1.00.00.29, and when you go to the check for update option under maintenance, it said not enough room to download update, and forced a reboot... So if it can't download an update, how can you ever add fixes and features?
After it rebooted, it wouldn't automatically conect to the wireless again. I had to manually reconnect and enter the password.
After several tries and several hours, we took the device back to the store and purchased a Roku HD for $10 more. In under 30 minutes, I had teh Roku setup, updated, and configure for my mother to use. Save yourself the hassle and go that route.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

06/07/2012
By ,
Rio Grande City, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter so that she could watch Netflix in her room bad idea, it never connects via WiFi and when it would nothing good. It would freeze up and quickly disconnect really bad choice on our part.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Boring

09/19/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the device has very limited apps available basically about 4 altogether... You can't even download more like on Roku. I took this back and spent a few more bucks and got another Roku.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good, don't buy

12/31/2012
By ,
Orange, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a bad device. I use it for Netflix and had for a few months now. It will keep saying "cannot connect to Netflix" alot, you just never know what time of day it will do it. I will usually end up watching on PC instead. I have two other RCA and XBOX and no problem. I run all at same time to see if problem and yup it is just the D-Link! Other brands out there, RCA better choice.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

disappointed

04/24/2013
By ,
Brady, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't waste your money on this. Sometimes takes a dozen or more tries to sign on to Netflix. Goes through all the motions but will hang up and must be turned off to start again. We bought two of these and both of them do it. It also makes a VERY annoying beep sound. We bought the cheapest RCA brand streaming device in the store and it works just fine. We are still trying to use one of these until we can replace it but it really tries our patience
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Would have been great

04/20/2012
By ,
Toronto,OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would have been great but kept losing internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LaGrange, GA
Piece of Junk
Posted 04/27/2012
got it home and no operation manual in box with step by step instructions. There was a hook up manual that said there would be a connection wizard on screen at start up. I was able to get it started up and it discovered my wireless router. I could not get it to accept my wireless router ID or Password. Tried the manual setup also with no luck there also. I'm no expert but have hooked two laptops up to my wireless router with no problems. I think there is a software problem with this unit. Headed back to WalMart tomorrow to try another brand after reading other reviewers with similar problems.
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I was disappointed in this product.

06/28/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality was poor. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good for me.

02/21/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the reviews I've read here I bought the D-Link. That was a week ago. I went back to Walmart and exchanged it today and I got a Roku HD.
I have the highest speed Comcast puts out to the public, near $80 a month in broadband only. I have the tv I hooked up this D-link in the room. It is 10' by 10'. I have a Linksys router.
I found this device slow, and sometimes if I didn't unplug and replug it in to get a new IP it would not connect. No, I'm not a novice around computers. I've been rebuilding computers since 2002. I know a few things.
I don't know if this was a faulty device or that is just the way they are, but I do know I was not going to get another one.
I am very glad I upgraded to the Roku HD. Roku HD is epic and worth the extra $ for a whole lot more streaming choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Just my luck!

03/23/2013
By ,
Fulton,Ms
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ive read a ton of great revciews for this product, however I have had nothing but problems with it, The device connected to my internet very quickly but wont play Netflix. I bought this for my sons room and half the time d link wont connect, then if it does it wont play the movie. It just sets there loading then goes to a blank screen and I have to turn the device off and then back on. I would love to return it, but my 2yr old lost the manual for it. Im gonna contact the technical people and see if its something im doing.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Bad quality must travel in batches

10/09/2012
By ,
Nicholasville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From most of the other reviews, it looks like this is a pretty good deal. I bought the D-Link, brought it home, set it up and the remote crapped out. Took it back to the store, got another one, brought it home, started setting up and the remote crapped out again. From the looks of it, there are some good batches and some bad batches. If you have trouble with one, maybe try another buying one from another store. I won't buy another one though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

BAD BATCH OF PRODUCTS

07/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Long story short.. we had to return the first one, as we could not view even the setup wizard on our TV. 2nd one, we got the wild idea that the color codes on the AV wire were wrong - sure enough, red (not yellow) needed to be in the video slot.
Took 2-1/2 hours to figure out how to get it to connect to my router/internet.
Ended up calling tech support as we got only blank screens when trying to access any of the internet options. After an online firmware upgrade, still blanking out. Was given a case number, apologized profusely to for bad equipment, and told to return it to the store with that number and get me an exchange. (I'm sure they'd like if I got another one of these, but after 2 having problems, I am taking it to get my money back.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

save your money this is worthless

03/12/2013
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has terrible reviews online. I spent hours attempting set-up and it would not connect to the internet....neither wireless or even with the ethernet plugged in. There is no customer support number in the instructions. Am returning the item for my money back and getting NeoTV or Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310
10/21/2013
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is real junk, save your money. Remote stopped working after a few months
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

piece of garbage

11/26/2013
By ,
little rock, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like most, I bought this for the Netflix app. It worked o.k. to start with, but then would disconnect all the time. I tried to reset by turning it off, by deactivating Netflix, etc. I can connect wirelessly to Netflix on my laptop, but D-link never works. All it says now is "can't connect to Netflix, go to Netflix.com/tvhelp" Very annoying. Wish I still had my receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The worst product ever. A waste of money!

10/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, G
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for less than 2 days. It was slow but I wanted to keep it to get access to YouTube. I couldn't even make that make sense, since it continuously cut out in the middle of shows and finally I stopped trying to excuse the sorry excuse for technology when it could not connect to my internet in the same room where my wireless is located. NO nothing is wrong with my wireless connection. I am using it to connect at this moment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Don't waste your money

01/06/2013
By ,
W.P.B, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not the best product out there. Got this for netflix streaming. I was originally going to get the Roku since its the same price, but the Roku doesn't have the ethernet connection. This little box gave me so many problems from day one. Hooked it up, went under the netflix app, signed in and it would freeze, causing me to restart the box. Finally after hours of doing that, I was able to get into nextflix. Some shows would come in great, others blurry and then some shows would come in half the screen size. I have a 32inch, felt like I was watching tv on a 19in. It wasn't netflix, it was the box. Shows would also freeze. Horrible little box. I ended up returning it and buying a xbox since we were going to do that sometime soon.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good at all....

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now to be honest the setup was fairly simple ...the annoying piece for me is the remote control.....I purchased this item brought it home and notice the remote not working at all....so I took it back to the store...brought the new one home to discover the same issue...the remote does not work on a consistent basis....this is a piece of junk ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next