Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.596 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(223 Reviews) 198
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation68%151 out of 222reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions | 316 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Would have been great

04/20/2012
By ,
Toronto,OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would have been great but kept losing internet.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LaGrange, GA
Piece of Junk
Posted 04/27/2012
got it home and no operation manual in box with step by step instructions. There was a hook up manual that said there would be a connection wizard on screen at start up. I was able to get it started up and it discovered my wireless router. I could not get it to accept my wireless router ID or Password. Tried the manual setup also with no luck there also. I'm no expert but have hooked two laptops up to my wireless router with no problems. I think there is a software problem with this unit. Headed back to WalMart tomorrow to try another brand after reading other reviewers with similar problems.
-3points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

No options and hard to set up!!

05/30/2012
By ,
Vickery, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have a Roku and love it so we decided to go with the D-link with the other tv to see how it worked. It was VERY hard to set up and it has only the apps listed on the box. We expected to be able to download other apps like Hulu. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone considering it is only 10 dollars cheaper than the Roku with MANY MANY options. For another 30 dollars you can have a whole blu-ray player which also has many more options. It has been in my house for one hour and is going back to the store first thing in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The worst product ever. A waste of money!

10/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, G
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for less than 2 days. It was slow but I wanted to keep it to get access to YouTube. I couldn't even make that make sense, since it continuously cut out in the middle of shows and finally I stopped trying to excuse the sorry excuse for technology when it could not connect to my internet in the same room where my wireless is located. NO nothing is wrong with my wireless connection. I am using it to connect at this moment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Slow and the Remote buttons stick

09/16/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted to watch Netflix and for 38.00 why not. Well there was a reason it was only 38.00. It is very slow to open an app and the down arrow on the remote didn't work right, I would have to hit the down arrow 4 times before the cursor would move. The interface is simple yet tedious at the same time. Very limited as to what you can do with this box. I returned and bought a Roku which is much easier to use and faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Roku LT Streaming Player
4.6 out of 5(12)
 
 
 
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
4.5 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

wireless

09/16/2012
By ,
kansas city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This claims to be a wireless device. It would not work when I tried it as a wireless device. When I called their technical support line I was told that this version would only work if I plugged it into a LAN cable. I returned it at that point. A wireless device that only works if it is plugged in is not a wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Wireless
Posted 09/20/2012
Hi Phillip1w...I own this device and it does have a wireless function. Not sure why you can't connect to a wireless network nor the technical support told you something that is not true of the device. Maybe it was a mistake on their part but it does work with my wireless router. Do you own a wireless router? Have you checked your wireless router functions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

SLOW-compared to ROKU

03/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this for a second bedroom and have be unpleased with this strem player, the player is SLOW. I own a ROKU and it a lot faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Was okay for 3 months....

12/01/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After updates it continued to freeze up. Now I can't access Netflix. Returning for another streaming device
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

works very poorly sometimes it works

12/14/2012
By ,
bristol va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
this brand of box is a very very cheap poor one i paid less for mine then this price and it was not worth one penny last night all it did was lag and it was 70-100 ft away from my router so i plug a ehternet cord in it guess what ? it still lagged then sometimes it avoids playing all together while not even picking up a connection when all my other devices does do not waste your time with this product it will give you nothing but grief pick up either a roku or another gaming device
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

worked ok for 30 days then couldn't connect

12/03/2012
By ,
pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked ok for about a month-remote kindof iffy then started to can't connect-hope walmart will take it back-having better luck with roku-thanks pa-cubby3
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

piece of garbage

11/26/2013
By ,
little rock, ar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Like most, I bought this for the Netflix app. It worked o.k. to start with, but then would disconnect all the time. I tried to reset by turning it off, by deactivating Netflix, etc. I can connect wirelessly to Netflix on my laptop, but D-link never works. All it says now is "can't connect to Netflix, go to Netflix.com/tvhelp" Very annoying. Wish I still had my receipt.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

POOR QUALITY ITEM! Get the Sony SMP-N200.

07/01/2012
By ,
Spanaway, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310 is at the lower end of the price scale, and I got what I paid for. The AV cable was defective right out of the box. The audio and video jacks seem to be reversed inside the box, as nothing would work unless they were reversed. Once this was done there was a picture which was wavy, and had a green tint. The sound never did work, so I called D-Link and they said there have been problems with the DSM310 and it would be best to return it to Walmart for a refund. Walmart was very helpful, and exchanged this item for a Sony SMP-N200, which works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

save your money this is worthless

03/12/2013
By ,
Central Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product has terrible reviews online. I spent hours attempting set-up and it would not connect to the internet....neither wireless or even with the ethernet plugged in. There is no customer support number in the instructions. Am returning the item for my money back and getting NeoTV or Roku.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Disappointed

06/23/2012
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this about five days ago and at first it was spectacular. Now, it has problems connecting to Netflix (even though there's nothing wrong with my wi-fi) and it has started making a scratching noise. On top of that, my remote control is very unresponsive ( is it the batteries that came with it?) and it doesn't even turn off when I press the power button! Today I had to unplug it 2 times before I could get to Netflix because before that it would just be a blank black screen. Don't buy this unless you're a gambler I guess. I seriously wanna return it, that's $48 I think most of us could use!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DO NOT WASTE YOUR $$ or TIME

09/03/2012
By ,
Wisconsin
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the worse media player EVER...we bought 2, 1 for a gift & 1 for ourselves. HOW embarrassing to find out the sound is BAD ~ a constant buzzing! The picture is glitchy ~ that is after we had to plug it in WRONG....switched the red & yellow plugs! (told to by support)
I must say their support people were very kind & after getting my call drop't, the lady DID call me right back!
SAVE YOUR MONEY or buy ROKU
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Posted 09/23/2012
You have to push the plug in all the way people! If it's not in all the way, these are the exact syptoms!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good for me.

02/21/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the reviews I've read here I bought the D-Link. That was a week ago. I went back to Walmart and exchanged it today and I got a Roku HD.
I have the highest speed Comcast puts out to the public, near $80 a month in broadband only. I have the tv I hooked up this D-link in the room. It is 10' by 10'. I have a Linksys router.
I found this device slow, and sometimes if I didn't unplug and replug it in to get a new IP it would not connect. No, I'm not a novice around computers. I've been rebuilding computers since 2002. I know a few things.
I don't know if this was a faulty device or that is just the way they are, but I do know I was not going to get another one.
I am very glad I upgraded to the Roku HD. Roku HD is epic and worth the extra $ for a whole lot more streaming choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

FREEZES UP!

03/29/2013
By ,
Austin, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was too cheap to buy a ROKU, so I settled on this garbage. It would freeze up often and ended up getting returned. A few months later, I'm getting billed for unauthorized charges on my VUDU account. Apparently these devices save your information, and some leech that bought my returned DLINK watched a lot of free movies on my dime. Buyers beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

BAD BATCH OF PRODUCTS

07/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Long story short.. we had to return the first one, as we could not view even the setup wizard on our TV. 2nd one, we got the wild idea that the color codes on the AV wire were wrong - sure enough, red (not yellow) needed to be in the video slot.
Took 2-1/2 hours to figure out how to get it to connect to my router/internet.
Ended up calling tech support as we got only blank screens when trying to access any of the internet options. After an online firmware upgrade, still blanking out. Was given a case number, apologized profusely to for bad equipment, and told to return it to the store with that number and get me an exchange. (I'm sure they'd like if I got another one of these, but after 2 having problems, I am taking it to get my money back.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good at all....

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now to be honest the setup was fairly simple ...the annoying piece for me is the remote control.....I purchased this item brought it home and notice the remote not working at all....so I took it back to the store...brought the new one home to discover the same issue...the remote does not work on a consistent basis....this is a piece of junk ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

disappointed

04/24/2013
By ,
Brady, Tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Please don't waste your money on this. Sometimes takes a dozen or more tries to sign on to Netflix. Goes through all the motions but will hang up and must be turned off to start again. We bought two of these and both of them do it. It also makes a VERY annoying beep sound. We bought the cheapest RCA brand streaming device in the store and it works just fine. We are still trying to use one of these until we can replace it but it really tries our patience
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Cheap price comes with cheap design and quality

05/17/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cheap product. The IR reception with the remote control is horrible. It barely can read anything unless you are pointing directlyat it horizontally, and its range is super short. I constantly have to get up from my sofa to get the commands received. The user interface is also pretty laggy moving from icon to icon. The Netflix/Youtube/Pandora/Vudu buttons are nice idea but the device hard crashed a few times as I am trying to jump from service to service. I think I will return this product soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next