Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation68%152 out of 225reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Bad quality must travel in batches

10/09/2012
By ,
Nicholasville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From most of the other reviews, it looks like this is a pretty good deal. I bought the D-Link, brought it home, set it up and the remote crapped out. Took it back to the store, got another one, brought it home, started setting up and the remote crapped out again. From the looks of it, there are some good batches and some bad batches. If you have trouble with one, maybe try another buying one from another store. I won't buy another one though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good, don't buy

12/31/2012
By ,
Orange, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a bad device. I use it for Netflix and had for a few months now. It will keep saying "cannot connect to Netflix" alot, you just never know what time of day it will do it. I will usually end up watching on PC instead. I have two other RCA and XBOX and no problem. I run all at same time to see if problem and yup it is just the D-Link! Other brands out there, RCA better choice.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good at all....

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now to be honest the setup was fairly simple ...the annoying piece for me is the remote control.....I purchased this item brought it home and notice the remote not working at all....so I took it back to the store...brought the new one home to discover the same issue...the remote does not work on a consistent basis....this is a piece of junk ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

SLOW-compared to ROKU

03/05/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this for a second bedroom and have be unpleased with this strem player, the player is SLOW. I own a ROKU and it a lot faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I was disappointed in this product.

06/28/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality was poor. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DOES NOTHING...

06/02/2012
By ,
LOS ANGELES, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and i decided to get a media streamer (without doing much research). So today we figured we'd get the MovieNite because it was cheap and it was a brand we recognized. Once we bought it home, first it didn't connect to our Vizio with our HDMI cord... after reading the specs, i saw that it states it works on "almost any tv"... so whatever, we swallowed the pill and figured we'd watch movies but just not in hd... well once it was connected via AV cord, it took FOREVER to connect to internet and finally when it connected, it wouldn't connect to the Netflix... bummer. We will be returning it tomorrow and going for the ROKU XD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Spend $10 more and get a Roku HD

04/16/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an MovieNite for my mother to use with Netflix. I have used D-Link products in the past and figured this should be a decent product... Oh how wrong I was...
During the setup, I had to enter the MAC address of the wireless adapter for my wireless networks security. However to do this you have to plug it in and turn it on. The MAC address printed on the sticker on the box is only the wirednetwork MAC address. Annoying but livable.
My biggest issue was with the actual setup:
The composite cable included is fairly short, and feels really cheap.
To hook it up to your TV, you need to put the RED plug in the YELLOW jack and the YELLOW plug in the RED jack. The manual tells you to do yellow to yellow, white to white, red to red.
Also the 3.5mm minijack plug that the AV cables plugged into was loose, and I had to rotate and angle the jack for an image to appear on the screen, and keep the audio from crackling.
Very poor build quality.
Then you have the shoddy software. I have multiple issue with trying to get the wireless to connect, but finally was able to. It did not list all the wireless networks, and cut off the names.
I entered the wireless password, but the onscreen keyboard is really small and hard to read unless you are right infront of the TV a foot away.
I decided to check for a firmware update since the shipped firmware was version 1.00.00.29, and when you go to the check for update option under maintenance, it said not enough room to download update, and forced a reboot... So if it can't download an update, how can you ever add fixes and features?
After it rebooted, it wouldn't automatically conect to the wireless again. I had to manually reconnect and enter the password.
After several tries and several hours, we took the device back to the store and purchased a Roku HD for $10 more. In under 30 minutes, I had teh Roku setup, updated, and configure for my mother to use. Save yourself the hassle and go that route.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Didn't work for me.

07/16/2012
By ,
LaFayette, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The movie wasn't clear at all. Could hear the sound clearly, but movie wasn't coming in. The instructions lacked a lot for set-up so it could have been something we didn't do, but we called the "help line" and it still didn't work. We returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink. This is a very common mistake people are making.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

POOR QUALITY ITEM! Get the Sony SMP-N200.

07/01/2012
By ,
Spanaway, Wa.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310 is at the lower end of the price scale, and I got what I paid for. The AV cable was defective right out of the box. The audio and video jacks seem to be reversed inside the box, as nothing would work unless they were reversed. Once this was done there was a picture which was wavy, and had a green tint. The sound never did work, so I called D-Link and they said there have been problems with the DSM310 and it would be best to return it to Walmart for a refund. Walmart was very helpful, and exchanged this item for a Sony SMP-N200, which works just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I would NOT recommend this to anyone

06/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because of the price and the fact that I did not need something with a lot of features. I had planned on using it for Netflix feature. After setup I began streaming Netflix and heard a clicking sound. I tried to change the audio/video to HDMI to see if that would help. After changing it, it continued to make a clicking noise. I then called the customer service number on the box and spent an hour on the phone with them asking me the same questions over and over. At the end of the conversation (with 2 people speaking broken English) I was told... "The product should not be making that noise. Maybe you should take it back and get another one". I will be taking this product back first thing in the morning and will spend the extra cash to get a better product. Please do not waste your time or money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Avoid this product at all costs!

05/17/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this today and are returning it first thing tomorrow morning. It has been a 3 hour nightmare of wires, moving TVs, firmware upgrades and English-as-a-second-language support techs (they are all very friendly & helpful, but difficult to understand most of the time, having to repeat or ask me to repeat things over and over), culminating in D-Link telling us to take it back because it's obviously defective.
The device connected from the start but continued to drop connection within seconds. D-link swore that a firmware upgrade would solve the problem so we lugged the device and TV to the den so it could be hardwired to the router for this. It upgraded, connected, streamed Netflix and then immediately stopped again. At this point, D-link said there's nothing else they can do and we should return it. We're taking that suggestion & going with the Roku we were looking at in the first place. Don't save yourself a few dollars at the expense of an entire evening's peace of mind!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-5points
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Cheap price comes with cheap design and quality

05/17/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cheap product. The IR reception with the remote control is horrible. It barely can read anything unless you are pointing directlyat it horizontally, and its range is super short. I constantly have to get up from my sofa to get the commands received. The user interface is also pretty laggy moving from icon to icon. The Netflix/Youtube/Pandora/Vudu buttons are nice idea but the device hard crashed a few times as I am trying to jump from service to service. I think I will return this product soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-5points
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Greatly regret this purchase.

04/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For financial reasons, we cancelled our satellite service and decided to buy this D-Link player to stream Netflix instead. While it does work, it is extremely slow and freezes often. Our internet speed is not the problem as we also stream through a Wii and Roku box with no problems. If I could go back in time, I'd spend the extra $10 for a Roku streaming player instead. The Roku also has free movie services like Crackle that are unavailable on the D-Link player.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
4.5 out of 5(231)
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Don't Waste Your Hard Earned Dollars

03/30/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D-Link310-DSM MovieNite is a complete piece of garbage. Purchased on 3/19/13 @ Wal-Mart. Brought it home, followed ALL the directions…..nothing. Called the customer service # for the U.S.A. and was taken around and around in a circle…. press 3 for this, press 7 for that, then repeat. Never did get an actual person.
I returned it within 2 hours and purchased a RoKu which works like a dream. Save yourself the time, frustration and money with D-Link31-DSM. Just buy a Roku – it works the first time, it works every time with – ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Wow! This is junk and D-link support is miserable

12/09/2013
By ,
Arkansas, USA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you like freeze frames, get this junk. 23 minutes is the max mine has played a movie before freezing and having to be rebooted. I'm glad Walmart gives refunds, because they're getting this think back. Netgear here I come!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

06/07/2012
By ,
Rio Grande City, Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our daughter so that she could watch Netflix in her room bad idea, it never connects via WiFi and when it would nothing good. It would freeze up and quickly disconnect really bad choice on our part.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

It does not work

08/02/2012
By ,
Munford, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I suggest not buying this product. There are not any good set-up directions. Very difficult to program. Doesn't recognize your WIFI right away. It didn't even work when I tried to connect manually. No wonder the price was reduced to $38.00. I have owned it for one day and I am taking it back!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Charlotte, NC
Awesome and easy to use!!!
Posted 09/23/2012
I bring mine with me whenever I travel or I'm on vacation.
I've never had a problem with it working properly every time.
I've had it hard wired to LANs and connected to dozens of Wi-Fi connections and have never had any issues.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Was okay for 3 months....

12/01/2012
By ,
Waxhaw, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
After updates it continued to freeze up. Now I can't access Netflix. Returning for another streaming device
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Don't waste your money

01/06/2013
By ,
W.P.B, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not the best product out there. Got this for netflix streaming. I was originally going to get the Roku since its the same price, but the Roku doesn't have the ethernet connection. This little box gave me so many problems from day one. Hooked it up, went under the netflix app, signed in and it would freeze, causing me to restart the box. Finally after hours of doing that, I was able to get into nextflix. Some shows would come in great, others blurry and then some shows would come in half the screen size. I have a 32inch, felt like I was watching tv on a 19in. It wasn't netflix, it was the box. Shows would also freeze. Horrible little box. I ended up returning it and buying a xbox since we were going to do that sometime soon.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good for me.

02/21/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the reviews I've read here I bought the D-Link. That was a week ago. I went back to Walmart and exchanged it today and I got a Roku HD.
I have the highest speed Comcast puts out to the public, near $80 a month in broadband only. I have the tv I hooked up this D-link in the room. It is 10' by 10'. I have a Linksys router.
I found this device slow, and sometimes if I didn't unplug and replug it in to get a new IP it would not connect. No, I'm not a novice around computers. I've been rebuilding computers since 2002. I know a few things.
I don't know if this was a faulty device or that is just the way they are, but I do know I was not going to get another one.
I am very glad I upgraded to the Roku HD. Roku HD is epic and worth the extra $ for a whole lot more streaming choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next