Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.58 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(226 Reviews) 201
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Recommendation68%152 out of 225reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
109
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
15
1 star
54
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

BAD BATCH OF PRODUCTS

07/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Long story short.. we had to return the first one, as we could not view even the setup wizard on our TV. 2nd one, we got the wild idea that the color codes on the AV wire were wrong - sure enough, red (not yellow) needed to be in the video slot.
Took 2-1/2 hours to figure out how to get it to connect to my router/internet.
Ended up calling tech support as we got only blank screens when trying to access any of the internet options. After an online firmware upgrade, still blanking out. Was given a case number, apologized profusely to for bad equipment, and told to return it to the store with that number and get me an exchange. (I'm sure they'd like if I got another one of these, but after 2 having problems, I am taking it to get my money back.)
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Posted 07/24/2012
You need to push the A/V plug all the way into the dlink device, otherwise you'll experience the issue you have described.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Don't Waste Your Hard Earned Dollars

03/30/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D-Link310-DSM MovieNite is a complete piece of garbage. Purchased on 3/19/13 @ Wal-Mart. Brought it home, followed ALL the directions…..nothing. Called the customer service # for the U.S.A. and was taken around and around in a circle…. press 3 for this, press 7 for that, then repeat. Never did get an actual person.
I returned it within 2 hours and purchased a RoKu which works like a dream. Save yourself the time, frustration and money with D-Link31-DSM. Just buy a Roku – it works the first time, it works every time with – ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Greatly regret this purchase.

04/11/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
For financial reasons, we cancelled our satellite service and decided to buy this D-Link player to stream Netflix instead. While it does work, it is extremely slow and freezes often. Our internet speed is not the problem as we also stream through a Wii and Roku box with no problems. If I could go back in time, I'd spend the extra $10 for a Roku streaming player instead. The Roku also has free movie services like Crackle that are unavailable on the D-Link player.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
 
 
 
 
 
-2points
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I was disappointed in this product.

06/28/2013
By ,
Chicago
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The picture quality was poor. I returned it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good for me.

02/21/2013
By ,
Roanoke, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From the reviews I've read here I bought the D-Link. That was a week ago. I went back to Walmart and exchanged it today and I got a Roku HD.
I have the highest speed Comcast puts out to the public, near $80 a month in broadband only. I have the tv I hooked up this D-link in the room. It is 10' by 10'. I have a Linksys router.
I found this device slow, and sometimes if I didn't unplug and replug it in to get a new IP it would not connect. No, I'm not a novice around computers. I've been rebuilding computers since 2002. I know a few things.
I don't know if this was a faulty device or that is just the way they are, but I do know I was not going to get another one.
I am very glad I upgraded to the Roku HD. Roku HD is epic and worth the extra $ for a whole lot more streaming choices.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Did Not Perform As Stated

04/08/2012
By ,
Siloam Springs, Ark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The 3 main functions we bought this device for were: Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora.
Netflix runs with acceptable video but there is something wrong with the audio signal as it is strewn with static and an annoying clicking scratchy sound. We tried multiple configurations and nothing fixed it. YouTube ran fine.
Pandora's setup was so cumbersome that we never were able to figure out and have since purchased a different device.
We are planning to return this device today.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Carlsbad
Download software update
Posted 04/16/2012
Download the update! What you described happened when i first connected, the download fixed it.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Fountain Valley, CA
Software Update Available for MovieNite
Posted 04/11/2012
Thanks for letting us know about your experience with the D-Link MovieNite - we appreciate the feedback. We have released a product software update that takes care of the issues you mentioned in your post. To update your MovieNite, after successfully connecting the MovieNite to the Internet, reboot it by powering it off and then back on, wait for the update message to appear, and select "OK". Once the update is complete, you should be good to go. Enjoy!
D-Link Product Marketing
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I would not recommend this product to anyone!!

05/29/2012
By ,
La Crosse WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was looking for a media streamer for my son, since he loves watching cartoons on netflix. I was looking at the d link because of the price, and not only that, it was for my son, so I didn't need a fancy streamer for him. The set up was easy. The picture quality was good, but there was popping and cracking noises coming from the streamer on netflix, and it was really annoying! Also I had to connect to the internet everytime I turned on the unit. It didin't save any settings. So I returned the product back to wal-mart and added $30 to get a Sony media streamer. Do yourself a favor, spend a little more money to get a better streamer instead of this cheap piece of junk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-3points
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

No options and hard to set up!!

05/30/2012
By ,
Vickery, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We have a Roku and love it so we decided to go with the D-link with the other tv to see how it worked. It was VERY hard to set up and it has only the apps listed on the box. We expected to be able to download other apps like Hulu. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone considering it is only 10 dollars cheaper than the Roku with MANY MANY options. For another 30 dollars you can have a whole blu-ray player which also has many more options. It has been in my house for one hour and is going back to the store first thing in the morning.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310
10/21/2013
By ,
nj
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is real junk, save your money. Remote stopped working after a few months
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The worst product ever. A waste of money!

10/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, G
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked for less than 2 days. It was slow but I wanted to keep it to get access to YouTube. I couldn't even make that make sense, since it continuously cut out in the middle of shows and finally I stopped trying to excuse the sorry excuse for technology when it could not connect to my internet in the same room where my wireless is located. NO nothing is wrong with my wireless connection. I am using it to connect at this moment.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Boring

09/19/2012
By ,
Georgia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the device has very limited apps available basically about 4 altogether... You can't even download more like on Roku. I took this back and spent a few more bucks and got another Roku.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Spend $10 more and get a Roku HD

04/16/2012
By ,
Vancouver, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased an MovieNite for my mother to use with Netflix. I have used D-Link products in the past and figured this should be a decent product... Oh how wrong I was...
During the setup, I had to enter the MAC address of the wireless adapter for my wireless networks security. However to do this you have to plug it in and turn it on. The MAC address printed on the sticker on the box is only the wirednetwork MAC address. Annoying but livable.
My biggest issue was with the actual setup:
The composite cable included is fairly short, and feels really cheap.
To hook it up to your TV, you need to put the RED plug in the YELLOW jack and the YELLOW plug in the RED jack. The manual tells you to do yellow to yellow, white to white, red to red.
Also the 3.5mm minijack plug that the AV cables plugged into was loose, and I had to rotate and angle the jack for an image to appear on the screen, and keep the audio from crackling.
Very poor build quality.
Then you have the shoddy software. I have multiple issue with trying to get the wireless to connect, but finally was able to. It did not list all the wireless networks, and cut off the names.
I entered the wireless password, but the onscreen keyboard is really small and hard to read unless you are right infront of the TV a foot away.
I decided to check for a firmware update since the shipped firmware was version 1.00.00.29, and when you go to the check for update option under maintenance, it said not enough room to download update, and forced a reboot... So if it can't download an update, how can you ever add fixes and features?
After it rebooted, it wouldn't automatically conect to the wireless again. I had to manually reconnect and enter the password.
After several tries and several hours, we took the device back to the store and purchased a Roku HD for $10 more. In under 30 minutes, I had teh Roku setup, updated, and configure for my mother to use. Save yourself the hassle and go that route.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

DOES NOTHING...

06/02/2012
By ,
LOS ANGELES, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband and i decided to get a media streamer (without doing much research). So today we figured we'd get the MovieNite because it was cheap and it was a brand we recognized. Once we bought it home, first it didn't connect to our Vizio with our HDMI cord... after reading the specs, i saw that it states it works on "almost any tv"... so whatever, we swallowed the pill and figured we'd watch movies but just not in hd... well once it was connected via AV cord, it took FOREVER to connect to internet and finally when it connected, it wouldn't connect to the Netflix... bummer. We will be returning it tomorrow and going for the ROKU XD.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-5points
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Not good at all....

08/14/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Now to be honest the setup was fairly simple ...the annoying piece for me is the remote control.....I purchased this item brought it home and notice the remote not working at all....so I took it back to the store...brought the new one home to discover the same issue...the remote does not work on a consistent basis....this is a piece of junk ....
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Cheap price comes with cheap design and quality

05/17/2012
By ,
Irvine, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a cheap product. The IR reception with the remote control is horrible. It barely can read anything unless you are pointing directlyat it horizontally, and its range is super short. I constantly have to get up from my sofa to get the commands received. The user interface is also pretty laggy moving from icon to icon. The Netflix/Youtube/Pandora/Vudu buttons are nice idea but the device hard crashed a few times as I am trying to jump from service to service. I think I will return this product soon...
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
-5points
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Bad quality must travel in batches

10/09/2012
By ,
Nicholasville, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
From most of the other reviews, it looks like this is a pretty good deal. I bought the D-Link, brought it home, set it up and the remote crapped out. Took it back to the store, got another one, brought it home, started setting up and the remote crapped out again. From the looks of it, there are some good batches and some bad batches. If you have trouble with one, maybe try another buying one from another store. I won't buy another one though.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-1point
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Avoid this product at all costs!

05/17/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this today and are returning it first thing tomorrow morning. It has been a 3 hour nightmare of wires, moving TVs, firmware upgrades and English-as-a-second-language support techs (they are all very friendly & helpful, but difficult to understand most of the time, having to repeat or ask me to repeat things over and over), culminating in D-Link telling us to take it back because it's obviously defective.
The device connected from the start but continued to drop connection within seconds. D-link swore that a firmware upgrade would solve the problem so we lugged the device and TV to the den so it could be hardwired to the router for this. It upgraded, connected, streamed Netflix and then immediately stopped again. At this point, D-link said there's nothing else they can do and we should return it. We're taking that suggestion & going with the Roku we were looking at in the first place. Don't save yourself a few dollars at the expense of an entire evening's peace of mind!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-5points
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

I would NOT recommend this to anyone

06/01/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product because of the price and the fact that I did not need something with a lot of features. I had planned on using it for Netflix feature. After setup I began streaming Netflix and heard a clicking sound. I tried to change the audio/video to HDMI to see if that would help. After changing it, it continued to make a clicking noise. I then called the customer service number on the box and spent an hour on the phone with them asking me the same questions over and over. At the end of the conversation (with 2 people speaking broken English) I was told... "The product should not be making that noise. Maybe you should take it back and get another one". I will be taking this product back first thing in the morning and will spend the extra cash to get a better product. Please do not waste your time or money on this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-6points
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Slow and the Remote buttons stick

09/16/2012
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this because I wanted to watch Netflix and for 38.00 why not. Well there was a reason it was only 38.00. It is very slow to open an app and the down arrow on the remote didn't work right, I would have to hit the down arrow 4 times before the cursor would move. The interface is simple yet tedious at the same time. Very limited as to what you can do with this box. I returned and bought a Roku which is much easier to use and faster.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
 
My Product Recommendations
Roku XS Streaming Video Player
 
 
 
Roku LT Streaming Player
 
 
 
Roku XD Streaming Video Player
 
 
 
 
 
-1point
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

wireless

09/16/2012
By ,
kansas city
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This claims to be a wireless device. It would not work when I tried it as a wireless device. When I called their technical support line I was told that this version would only work if I plugged it into a LAN cable. I returned it at that point. A wireless device that only works if it is plugged in is not a wireless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fayetteville, AR
Wireless
Posted 09/20/2012
Hi Phillip1w...I own this device and it does have a wireless function. Not sure why you can't connect to a wireless network nor the technical support told you something that is not true of the device. Maybe it was a mistake on their part but it does work with my wireless router. Do you own a wireless router? Have you checked your wireless router functions?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next