Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

D-Link D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

The D-Link DSM310 MovieNite Streaming Player allows you to stream new movie releases the same day they come out on DVD. Watch movies in spectacular picture quality with this HD streaming media player. With built-in Wi-Fi and Ethernet, it provides entertainment content from VUDU, Netflix, YouTube, Pandora and Picasa. This wireless video streamer comes with a remote control.
Average Customer Rating:
3.604 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(222 Reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
52
Customer Recommendation68%151 out of 221reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
100 Questions | 316 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
108
4 stars
36
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 star
52
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

JUST PERFECT!!!

08/25/2012
By ,
MERCEDES, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I specifically got it for NETFLIX. I don't have cable/satellite only wireless internet, so for my budget this made sense to just stick to NETFLIX. This tiny box gives me exactly what I want, yes there are other options at walmart to view NETFLIX but I didn't want to spend a whole bunch more on something that I already knew what I wanted. The box where my D-link came in specifys what options you have and it's not like they were hiding anything from anyone. I came here only because ppl give it a bad rating, REALLY ppl! It was easy installation, only wires needed was only what it came with. I LOVE IT!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
 
My Product Recommendations
Virgin Mobile LG Optimus V Prepaid Android Cell Phone
3.8 out of 5(76)
 
 
 
 
 
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

only 6 options 1 of which is youtube AAAA+++++

05/25/2013
By ,
MOON
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my smart tv does not have youtube so this little box hooked via hdmi plays all the youtube i could dream of which works out perfect, it is kind of slow reaction times though
when pressing enter it takes 10 seconds to go
but it connects great wired or wireless....very simple and great
i would buy again and share
i would like more then 6 options
only 2 are really useful
1/youtube
2/netflix
the rest are useless
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310
10/16/2012
By ,
At the gates of delerium
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this today and fiddled around with it for about an hour - long enough to write this review.
Set up was simple and intuitive; I was up and running in about five minutes without even reading the instructions (including manually typing in the key.) The GUI appears to be handsome and uncomplicated for Netflix - the only reason I bought this - can't comment on the menu selection for browning titles as I intend to only access Instant Que that has already been set up on a separate computer. Audio was fine over HDMI to the home theater set up and video was as crisp as the source. The remote is logically laid out and accessed the box from a good distance away.
For the money spent (I bought this on a Price Rollback) this no brainer purchase works within the situation I intended to use this; I even bought a second one for my daughter's household.
Highly recommended for the price.
Pros:
Admirably performs as advertised
Easy set up
Inexpensive way to stream supported channels
Cons:
None so far
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Great product & price!!

05/15/2012
By ,
Wilmington,NC Store #1392
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product recently so I could watch Netflix in another room other than on my Xbox 360 and bring it with me when I travel. Not only does it have Netflix but it also has Pandora, Picasa, and YouTube. It comes with everything you need to get started right out the box. The RCA cable that is included is not that long and since the player has up to 1080p hdmi capability I would recommend using a hdmi cable which you can find a variety of in any Walmart store. The player has a wired/wireless connection. I use a Linksys WRT120n router and Road Runner Turbo for my internet service. The router I have is located in my living room and the streaming player is in the guest bedroom upstairs. Netflix takes about 5-20 seconds to buffer depending on what movie I select. Pandora loads fast and sounds great and everything else is pretty decent. Setting up takes about 5 minutes due to it checking for an update and typing in your account information for each service you decide to use. If you have any trouble there is a easy setup guide inside the packaging and support number.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Great product IF it meets your needs

02/04/2013
By ,
Brookwood, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this box at my local store while looking at a Roku XS and XD box. This unit went in my sons room ( 6 years old ) and I had it hooked up and running in about 3 minutes and he was watching netflix all by himself ( netflix for kids menu is amazing for the little ones ).
If you are wanting something that will stream Netflix, Vudu, YouTube, and Pandora, then this is what you want. Cheaper than a Roku box ( but has far less options / apps ) and does exactly what I wanted it to do in the room I put it in.
If you are like me and have a media server on your network that you want to access from a certain TV in the house, then this is NOT the box you want for that room. Go with a better one that can access and stream local content from your Media server / NAS Drive.
At the price of 1/2 the price of a Roku XS or XD this is a great option if you only want to do Netflix.
The ONLY downside to this box that I have seen is that there are no hardware buttons on the box so be VERY CAREFUL not to lose the remote or the box becomes useless to you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Price/Performance Can't Be Beat

05/29/2012
By ,
Roscoe, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My primary use for this unit is Netflix, with a little YouTube tossed in. I would buy this unit again as a "meat and potatoes" player.
Pros: Small. Low power draw. Boots in about 15 seconds. Home Screen to Apps in about 10 seconds. Full 1080p HD on my set (my ISP gives me 100Mb/s down so I have the bandwidth). Goes full HD on Netflix in about 5 seconds after it buffers, also about 5 seconds. I like the dedicated App buttons on the remote. Gets the job done for those of us who want to watch a Netfilx video. Easy setup - got IP address immediately and proceeded to update itself. No hand-holding required. HDMI output was flawless.
Cons: Best used as a player. Searches involving thumbnails can lag. FF/RW/Pause can lag. You might want to go up the food chain a notch if you do a lot of text searching or in-show searching. If you are tossing on a video and pausing it every now and then you will not notice this much at all. But at this price, I can't complain.
Other: No wireless, which is fine with me. I don't think anything but N-wireless has the bandwidth, and even then, I don't care for quality-of-service issues. If you want an RF or Bluetooth remote, this is not for you. It's just old-fashioned IR, which is also fine with me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

UNRELIABLE

12/05/2013
By ,
Alabama
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
D-link will work great in the beginning. BUT, if it is like ours, will not work after a few months. We have had ours for less than 6 months and it has been so unreliable. Sometimes it will work great and other times, you will have to restart it, unplug it then restart it, etc. We are at the point now where we can't use it at all. We bought it for Netflix--we solely use Netflix over cable now--but it won't play any movies at all now. I just ordered the Chromecast so I'm hoping that is better. Please don't waste your money unless you just want to use it for a very short period of time--like while on vacation or something.
We have tried multiple trouble-shooting attempts but no success. We have multiple other devices that connect perfectly to the Internet. Personally, I think the components inside the d-link machine might be cheap and that is why so many people are having issues.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Avoid this product at all costs!

05/17/2012
By ,
Virginia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this today and are returning it first thing tomorrow morning. It has been a 3 hour nightmare of wires, moving TVs, firmware upgrades and English-as-a-second-language support techs (they are all very friendly & helpful, but difficult to understand most of the time, having to repeat or ask me to repeat things over and over), culminating in D-Link telling us to take it back because it's obviously defective.
The device connected from the start but continued to drop connection within seconds. D-link swore that a firmware upgrade would solve the problem so we lugged the device and TV to the den so it could be hardwired to the router for this. It upgraded, connected, streamed Netflix and then immediately stopped again. At this point, D-link said there's nothing else they can do and we should return it. We're taking that suggestion & going with the Roku we were looking at in the first place. Don't save yourself a few dollars at the expense of an entire evening's peace of mind!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Excellent online content streamer

05/05/2012
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My main reason for buying the D-Link Player was to see Netflix movies and shows on a large screen home TV. The price less than $50 at Walmart seemed right but I was skeptical. Since Walmart has a friendly product return policy, I went ahead and bought this unit. Well, what a pleasant surprise! This small thing works great. It streams VUDU, Netflix, YouTube and Pandora content. It comes with a simple one-click remote, and output jacks for HDMI as well as RCA for older TVs. Resolution is HDMI 1080p with 802.11n Wi-Fi and ethernet. Set up is very easy. I have connected it using ZyXel powerline adaptor for high speed Internet connection. Excellent reception. I am happy with it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+131points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Dlink MovieNite

04/19/2012
By ,
Dallas, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this at a local store the other day, and product is awesome..it was easy to set up and it was up and running and ready in 30 mins. I like the pandora feature as our tv is hooked up to a nice sound system. I highly recommend this product. Great value as well(the cheapest one out there) Don't let the price fool you. Great buy A+++++
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+105points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Awesome streaming player for your buck!

10/20/2012
By ,
Hilo, Hawaii
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this streaming media player about a month ago because my 50" flat screen LCD television doesn't have it built in like some of the newer LCD/LED Smart televisions and was very skeptical on buying it because of the low price compared to other brands like ROKU and Sony. I'm glad I did and I couldn't be happier with my purchase. It originally was priced at $48 but at the time when I purchased it the price had been cut to $38 which makes it a great buy. I use it for streaming Netflix, YouTube, and Pandora. The picture and sound quality is excellent. The set up is very simple with wireless or wired connection. The remote is very straight forward and has one touch access to everything you need right there. It even has a new service VUDU which has the latest movies that you can rent or buy and stream directly to your TV in HD. The only channel I would have loved on this player is VEVO. But still an awesome player. I would recommend to my friends and family if they were looking to purchase a product like this. I love it. Thanks Walmart for the great deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

D-Link MovieNite-Awesome

05/21/2012
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Steaming Player!! Our family has been using the ROKU player for awhile but I decided to buy another one for my room. While the roku player was good, I decided to spend about $30 less and found the Movienite at Wal-Mart. I was very impressed with the simple set up and it works as good as the roku player. Had this steaming player for about 2 weeks and no issues what so ever..great buy!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kentucky
fair
Posted 10/19/2013
I like the movie line ups, mine is hdmi compatible, but most all the time the receiver doesn't respond when i push the button on the remote. Very cheap quality, sometimes freezes up, but the picture and movie line up is good.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

After software update, this unit is GREAT!

08/15/2012
By ,
Fort Wayne, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoy commercial free Pandora for music, and purchased this unit just for that reason.
Installation was quick and simple. The unit found my wireless network just fine, and the QWERTY style on-screen entry was a help over the ABCDE style some items use. I had just partial operation initially, but remembered the comments about a software upgrade. Sure enough - I was prompted to do that upgrade, and then all was well.
Overall performance is very good - can't complain a bit. I use the analog cable set as I have the unit connected to the stereo system and know the Pandora menus by heart.
I am pleased with my purchase, and definitely recommend it to someone who just wants the basic Internet access for entertainment and needs WiFi.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

works great

05/23/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This device has enabled me to stream my netflix to my TV without having ot replace it, or add a computer. Works great, and easy to use and set up...
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Vudu is really awesome!!

05/23/2012
By ,
College Station, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have friends who use Vudu who have been telling me I've been missing the boat. They were right. Vudu is awesome. The D-Link MovieNite is a great way to access Vudu, plus it has a ton more great content partners in the box (Pandora and YouTube are my faves#. MovieNite set up in less than 5 mins #and I am not a techie) and the user interface is very good. One pleasant surprise was that the remote has the colored buttons on it to "one click" to your favorite content sites. You see these buttons on connected DVDs and TVs. That was a good idea D-Linkers! MovieNite is kind of a limiting name for this product. It does a lot more than movies..... although I do like the Vudu the best. This is perfect for the 2nd and 3rd TV where I dont need a DirecTV box. I'm now down to 2 DirecTV boxes from 3 and when my 2nd MovieNite arrives from WM.com I'll be down to 1 DTV box. Woo hoo!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Great Device!

04/09/2012
By ,
Fayetteville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this device from my local wal-mart over the weekened and I am very satisfied with it. The set up was easy and I was able to watch youtube videos on my big screen. I also signed up for Netflix and plan on cancelling part of my direc tv services(cut down on bills)...Great device for the value and very sleek design as well. Strongly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+148points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Colorado
waist of money
Posted 08/16/2012
good luck on getting the wifi to connect, it freezes up and you have to reboot it constantly, then when the remote goes out (there are no buttons on the box) its just a little memento of how shoddy everything is made now. I regret buying it. I don't recommend it.
-3points
Customer Avatar
Wilkes Barre , PA
streaming a program
Posted 07/31/2012
do you know if you are able to stream Blockbuster online ?
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 17 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Good for kids room...

06/07/2012
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter doesn't have an X-Box, and we wanted to let her stream Netflix movies in her room. The store was out of Roku so we tried this instead. I've been happy with my D-Link router, so I figured we would give it a try. Set up is pretty easy. I just plugged it into the HDMI and connected to my wi-fi. I noticed on the D-Link website that there was a software update. It installed once I connected to the internet, and now everything works great! . I'm thinking of getting one for our bedroom, too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Absolutely Awesome!

07/24/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been waiting for an affordable netflix and vudu multimedia streamer to come out for a while now. My TVs are relatively new but don't have internet apps built-in. I have Xboxes and a PS3 on some of my TVs but I've been looking for something inexpensive for the other TVs.
D-Link read my mind and built exactly what I was looking for.
My son has been using it for NetFlix all week with 0 issues.
If you are using the A/V cable, make sure you PUSH IT IN FULLY to the d-link otherwise, the wrong signal will pass through the wrong cable. This is not an issue with the cable or the MovieNite but is instead, user error. Push the plug in all the way and all will be well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

great player

06/15/2012
By ,
jacksonville, fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this because it says it can be hooked up to an older tv it has the av component cables, but i was a little worried because other people said it had problems getting it to work on their tv with the cables, and at first it didn't work. i couldn't get the picture to come up and it made a buzzing noise. i had to push the plug into the unit all the way and it came right up and it works great. sometimes it freezes and i have to unplug it and plug it back in then it works right, but it works fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for D-Link MovieNite Streaming Player, DSM310

Lot of bang for the buck

04/23/2012
By ,
Sussex,WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked great for me. Was usining an attached PC to do streaming but this is much simpler. From the comments I have read I think that problems with connecting to the internet are due to lack of knowledge or the fact that they did not read the manual. I did encounter a problem with the sound quality but went to the tools menu and did a firmware upgrade (easy), and the unit performs perfect for the money.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 185 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next