Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.863 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(466 Reviews) 420
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
226
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
68
Customer Recommendation79%370 out of 466reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
519 Questions | 1,175 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
226
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
68
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
11/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mobile hotspot because I have an iPad with wifi only, and I wanted to be able to use it in the field. I had been reviewing different hotspot options (for months), and happened upon this mobile hotspot at Walmart. I hadn't wanted to add my iPad to my Verizon plan because I wasn't sure how often I would use it in the field. This mobile hotspot is perfect for me. Set up was simple, it connects quickly every time, and I have the option of connecting on my laptop if I need to. I started out with the $10/500 MB card, and I've been very pleasantly surprised at how little memory I use considering I am now connecting with the hotspot on pretty much a daily basis...sometimes several times a day. In the three weeks I've had it, I have used only 22 MB. I am a Realtor, and now rather than having to print out support documents for myself for each showing, I have all the information on my iPad. I can have clients sign documents in the field on the iPad, and immediately e-mail them copies. This hotspot has proved itself to be dependable, and definitely cost-effective. My only gripe is that they dropped the price about $20 after I bought it. Bad timing on my part, I guess. But since my usage is going to cost me about $1 a month, I won't complain too much. This obviously wouldn't be a good option if you want to stream movies often, etc., but for me it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+599points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hutchinson, MN
May 15, 2013 changing there pay plans
Posted 05/08/2013
Consider the latest email I got from Internet on the Go dropping there $10 -1gb per month and increasing other plans, Virgin mobile unlimited is looking pretty good right now !!!!!
Thank you for being a loyal Internet on the Go customer. On May 15th, Internet on the Go will be changing some of its plans. This price change will affect some but not all of our customers, in fact many will be unaffected by the change. We wanted to give you a heads up, so that you are aware of this upcoming change.
With increasing costs from our network providers, we need to adjust the number of megabytes offered in some plans and will discontinue one of our 30-day plans. As of May 15th, the plans will be:
“Use Whenever” Plans (megabytes never expire)
$10 - 500MB
$25 - 1.5GB
$45 - 3GB
30-Day Plans (megabytes expire after 30 days)
$25 - 2GB
$45 - 4GB
Refills added to your account prior to May 15 will be honored at the previous prices, regardless of when the plan MB’s are used or the 30-day period expires.
We truly regret that we have to make these changes at this time and will continue to work hard to offer you the best plans in the marketplace. As we provide better pricing in the future, we will immediately make that available to you.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
08/20/2012
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, now I can use my smartphone anywhere I go without a minutes plan. I have cut the cord on monthly bills and use my smartphone on wi-fi exclusively (airplane mode) as if it were a mini-tablet. My phone calls go through an app I pay for separately named Skype. The MIFI works great when I'm away from my home wi-fi and the MB's don't expire. So far I'm only using about 70 MB's per month. I tell everyone I meet but they don't understand having a smartphone without a large monthly bill. They love telling me how they never use all of their minutes and data. I don't understand buyiing minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+302points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Wi-Fi / airplane mode
Posted 09/25/2013
Wi-Fi is disabled in airplane mode. So this would not work. Any cellphone would have to have service activated through a service provider to be able to connect to this mobile hotspot.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device. This saves a lot compared to the AT&T monthly plan that I never used the full data amount. The fact that the minutes don't expire lets you only pay for what you use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Drastic price increases in last year or so!

11/23/2013
By ,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchases this, it was $45 for 4gig of data. They have since raised the price dramatically by now charging $45 for only 3gig of data. A cut of 25% of data is pretty big!
Also, you used to get charged for what you used. They changed their accounting, and now every time that thing dings their servers, they charge you a full 1MB. So when you're email checks for email, and you don't have any (which uses very little data), you're getting dinged big time (1MB) over the actual usage.
I use to go a day using 3-5 MBs (checking/getting email and iMessages and maybe looking at a webpage), and now that same typical day is costing me upwards of 20+ MB's. That's 4-7 times the amount of data I was being charged for before they made their accounting change, which I guess their contract says they can do at will.
So between the refill cards giving you much less data for your money, and their "new accounting procedures", this is NOT the deal it once was. I'll be looking for other solutions with quicker speed and more coverage now that this is not the economic solution it once was.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+204points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
US
question
Posted 02/11/2014
how would you compare the price to Cable, which I think it ridiculous.
+2points
Customer Avatar
MI
Posted 12/06/2013
I agree with SFeNM's assessment ... "this is NOT the deal it once was." On top of the massive price increase, including the accounting change (MB/unit charging), there is also an inactivity fee of 25%/month of your balance should you not use the device at least once within 90 days. With all the WiFi hotspots available today, I only use this device as a backup/travel connection, hence I must now post a reminder on my calendar to prevent incurring the 90 day inactivity fee. It would appear that this company's business plan has shifted ... it is no longer focused on its MiFi customer service, but now offers Auto Road Service, Shoping Discounts, and Identity Protection Insurance. Read the Terms & Conditions fine print.
+9points
Customer Avatar
Madison, WI
Yes, the charges now are in 1MB blocks
Posted 11/30/2013
Thanks for pointing out the accounting change. It used to be based on actual usage, and since I used it mainly to check email, my charges were just for a few kb. When I checked my account usage today, I was surprised to see 7MB used where only a few kb used to show up. Also, it seems since the beginning of November, none of the previous past history is displayed when you log in, probably so we don't see the change in accounting. I received no notice of the accounting change from actual use to 1MB blocks. I am disappointed. But still am glad to not have to pay a monthly fee.
+10points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pleasantly surprised

11/12/2013
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually tinkered with the idea of purchasing this product - The Internet on the go - and after three months of debating I went ahead and bought it. No regrets here. It was EXTREMELY easy to set up and activate online -less than 5 minutes. I charged it and used it today with my iPad. At first it was really slow - I couldn't even load the page. THEN I turned the wifi off on my iPad and turned it back on. From there it worked flawlessly. I checked the public internet I was on and tested the speed against the Internet on the go. Needless to say, Internet on the go was quick and works flawlessly. I didn't want to eat up the data so after surfing a few pages and sending a few emails, I turned it off. Tonight when I came home, I decided to connect my macbook air and see how quick the pages loaded. It loaded quickly - no problems whatsoever. I checked a few internet pages, checked my data balance and downloaded some email messages (I didn't download attachments though). I think it's extremely efficient and doesn't feel like 3G at all - felt quicker than that when the pages are loading. I would imagine if you're in an area that shows a gap kind of coverage (based on the coverage map), I would think it would be slower (no different than when you're in a concrete building with no windows and your iPhone has only one or two bars - same concept. But if you're looking for a great value - no expiration of data (which is extremely important to me as I don'y like the monthly contracts for this type of service) then this little gadget is for you. It's the size of a credit card and as thin as a pencil. I'm a tech-e kind of girl and although I had minimal expectations for this little INTERNET ON THE GO, I am extremely happy and pleasantly surprised. I think you will be too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+153points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Love it, Internet at your fingertips!

07/25/2012
By ,
Northeastern US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits in your pocket and you have Internet access wherever you are! Great because ther are no monthly fees, just pay as you use. You are literally carrying around your own hot spot that no one else can use unless they have your password. You can connect up to 5 devices with it. Great for airports and places where Internet is not available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+323points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sonoma county
many problems
Posted 10/12/2013
Recently purchased "internet on the go" Live one hour north of San Francisco. This device works only sporadically, shown by the blinking light. It cuts off repeatedly. Wish there was a better device out there. any suggestions?
0points
Customer Avatar
ND
Posted 09/02/2012
I have been unable to register this divise in my area even tho it says it will work at my zip code. I really would like to hae something that works with Verizone
-4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent value

08/06/2012
By ,
Waukesha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this using Site-To-Store (not sure why it isn't carried locally), and it arrived after only a few days. I had some trouble getting the unit to register (probably because of something I did wrong), but customer service was extremely friendly and helpful, and had me connected after about a 10 minute phone call.
I've used the service with both a laptop and smartphone. I find the speeds to be adequate for most internet tasks, but obviously I would not recommend trying to view videos or download files with this service.
The account management website is also very useful, as it measures usage in tenths of a megabyte (instead of rounding up) and instantly updates your remaining balance. The auto refill option is also great, giving you the best price per megabyte ($20 for 450 megabytes) and giving you peace of mind you won't be left without a connection when your balance gets low.
I highly recommend this service to anyone who needs mobile internet on a sporadic basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+140points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beautiful Schenectady NY
did it state that it would not work in your area?
Posted 08/18/2012
This is available at my local store, YET online it says that service not available in my zip code (same as the store!). I'm wondering if it stated the same for you too. Sems like a great deal especially for occasional users, sort of the Tracfone of Hotspots!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Cheap and works, but slow, VERY slow...

10/01/2012
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It connects to the Internet quickly and flawlessly. I am happy, because it serves my purposes. I use this device only for emails and basic web browsing only occasionally when I'm out on the road and don't have any free wifi. However, it's so slow (below 0.5 Mbps)!! I wish it was a bit faster, like 2 to 3 Mbps... For those who are looking for speed and frequent use, this may not be the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Why didn't I do this earlier???

10/07/2013
By ,
Ft Hood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking at the Wal Mart Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot for a few months. Last month my cable provider bill jumped up AGAIN, now to $175/month. They have to be kidding themselves!! I'm 69 and not the most computer savvy guy, but that was way over the limit!!
I bought the WIFI gadget, still not knowing how long 3GB of data would last. I check my 3 email accounts and do shopping on Ebay and Amazon, so I'm on the internet for a few hours minimum each day. This is the middle of month #2, and it says I still have 1.6GB left!!!!!! I can get about THREE MONTHS out of 3GB ($35) (for what I WAS paying $69.99 PER MONTH????). I now have my 3 laptops, Kindle Fire, and my Ipad2 automatically connect to the hotspot, so it's really a breeze to get internet with any of them now. I really love the small size and I can literally carry my very own internet hotspot with me everywhere I go. Sprint has very good coverage everywhere I have taken the hotspot to in central Texas. It is truly an amazing alternative!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

01/02/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased internet to go on 12.19.12. Worked great,set up easy.
While traveling on 1.2.13 my mb had shown to run out,though I had 3000 mb
left,it would not work.Kept returning to log on page to refill minutes.
Mistakenly purchased 8 and 4 mb for total $90.00.
After 1 hour of resetting my android and the mobile broadband no luck.
Called internet to go,waited 45 minutes after going through voice prompts.
hung up after not getting a representative. THEIR WEBSITE HAS NO EMAIL
AVAILABLE OR CHAT ???
Called again,waited 45 minutes "Cindy" answered, after a few minutes of checking,
"Cindy" told me internet to go had been suspended my account by ACCIDENT. It may take
up to 48 hours to restore service??? It has been ~ 12 hours and I am without service still.
Also asked Cindy about a refund for the 2 inadvertent purchases I made,initially said no.
After reviewing with "Cindy that I would contact FTC/FCC should relayed to me that they
would give me a one time courtesy refund,suspicious......
After asking "Cindy for a reference to reflect back upon our conversation,
ie: last name,reference idi # or employee #,her response was a generic,we have notes.
I also asked to receive an email confirmation,upon which she told me I would,ony becauseI asked.
Guess what,I have not received an email.
Called internet to go,AGAIN,no one available after 9pm eastern time???
POSITIVES:
internet to go worked great when working
NEGATIVES:
horrendus customer service
long wait times
no email or chat available
RECCOMENDATIONS:
get email/chat capabilities ASAP
Will not reccomend.
Will add to this post when update on service being restarted
and refund are completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Good customer service is very important.
Posted 10/15/2013
Thanks for the heads up on the customer service of this product. I was thinking of purchasing it, but customer service is very important to me. A great product is nothing without great customer service with sufficient knowledge of their product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great hotspot for internet and email

07/27/2012
By ,
Hoover, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hotspot was delivered six days after I ordered it. I went online registered the product which took about 5 minutes. I then went online to purchase the data package. This took about 15 minutes because the website kicked me off a couple of times before it finally went through. I went online using the hotspot. I pulled up several websites with a lot of data. It loaded quickly.
I need mobile internet maybe once a month. This device and the data plan are perfect for me!
Love it....
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Do not purchase this products!!!

02/11/2013
By ,
Pontotoc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the internet on the go hotspot and love it until the company sent me a email stating that I was using to much data therefore they suspended me for seven days for using data that I purchased. I am telling this because I think it is unfair to punish someone for using the data that they have purchased.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+89points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Details please
Posted 07/23/2013
Would it be possible for you to cut and paste the exact content of that email, including the email address that it came from? You can obviously omit your own email address for privacy reasons, but considering many of the reviews concerning problems like your own usually also include a problem seeking answers from a company contact (with a known, working email address); the information you have could prove to be extremely useful for those who are having problems with the service, as well as anyone else considering the service.
Thanks in advance for your help!
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well but double check Sprint coverage.

10/14/2012
By ,
Cody, Wy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Walmart website says this should work in my zip code in Wyoming. Well it does not. This is connected through Sprint and I live in a roaming area for their service. This hot spot DOES NOT ROAM. I verified this with a call to Internet on the Go. I bought this for traveling and once I got to an area that Sprint services it worked fine. It won't work in Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota and a lot of other places. Do your homework. I would have given it a better rating if it worked in more places. I would not have bought it if Walmart had stated that it won't work in my home zip code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Ideal for limited internet access while traveling

10/13/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was prompt and registration and setup was simple. I had no problems getting online with my Kindle Fire or laptop. Speed was as to be expected with 3G, but is more than adequate for email and general web surfing. I had been told that you could not use the MiFi while you were charging it, but I discovered that this was not true if I turned the MiFi on BEFORE plugging in the charger.
Highly recommended for usage while on the road. The Sprint 3G network is quite extensive and you should have no problems connecting in most cities and on most major highways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good product and easy to set up.

11/19/2012
By ,
Poway, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read a lot of reviews before making purchase. Decided to purchase this item due to the price, $25 credit towards usage after purchase and the inexpensive plans with no contracts. Was super easy to set up and get connected. Purchased the $10 plan for the first month to determine what my usage level will be. Still in my first month so still in the testing stage. The range is decent. Says it will connect up to 33 ft away. I have not been more than 20 ft away which produced a medium-low signal. I don't see why I would have the device more than a few inches away from my laptop and tablet so range is not an issue. The connection speed is definitely NOT comparable to wireless high speed internet so you will be disappointed if that is what you are looking for. I'm happy with the product and the pay as you go (with no contract) plans. I've been wanting to get connected "on the go" for years but I was not willing to pay the ridiculous monthly rates. These plans are reasonably priced which makes it more affordable for everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Activate
Posted 06/27/2013
yes! how do you activate the card with your cell phone do you go under add wifi, or what and as always thank you! for your help.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Started Good but Service Shrunk

11/13/2013
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first bought my Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot, I was delighted. I could purchase 8 gigs of data for $45 to be used within 30 days. However when I used the 8 gigs, I got warning emails telling me I was using too much data! I was paying for the data, why do they need to warn me? The first reduction in service was that they limited me to purchasing 4 gigs for $45. Then they reduced it to 3 gigs for $45. Now the only option they are giving me to purchase is 500 megs for $10. I am quite disappointed.
Btw, the speed was spotty. Sometimes it provided snappy, quick website-loading times. Sometimes it seemed like it would take forever to load pages. I think it depended upon the current traffic over the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for occasional WiFi needs

10/17/2012
By ,
Allen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the mifi primarily to give me WiFi access at Craft Fairs and similar venues in order to take Square credit card payments on my WiFi only IPad, it has yet to let my down as long as it had sufficient battery charge. The claimed 4 hour battery life appears to be genuine so I will obtain a backup battery to give me all day access. The service has got even better this week since they have reduced the charges from $20 for 450mb to $10 for 500mb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Where do you get your service?
Posted 11/17/2012
How do you get a service plan? I only want this so that I can access my i-tune i-cloud account on my ipod touch while going back and forth to work. In other words, I probably won't need more than 4-5 hours of "access" a week. Thank you for your response in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
06/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband said this device would not work when he received it as a gift. I set up the service for him several months later. Now, he LIKES this device! Once set up, it is easy to use. It works well at home and at a hotel. We used it to help us navigate a new city as my husband obtained directions from our tablet connected to this device and I drove. We like that the remaining MgBs can be long term. This device may not be outstanding for downloading large files, gaming, or surfing for long periods of time but it is just right for our current needs.
We did find some short-comings with this device & service: this device does not indicate how much battery life is available, this device does not indicate when the battery is fully charged, the service does not allow you to change the SSID name, the service does not indicate easily your remaining MgBs, the service does not work with the VPN services we have tried, and the service provides limited customer support.
All in all, we do like this device so far!
Recommends this product? Yes
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Helps in a pinch but extremely slow...

10/22/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a possible replacement for my cable provided internet at home. I set it up quick and easy and was able to purchase data easily. Once I got it up and running I tried it on my ipad mini and it had trouble loading videos and would load and stop intermittently.
The speed felt like old school dial up. If you plan to stream videos like you do at home you'll be sorely disappointed. The speed results of this device in Los Angeles are 0.13 Download and 0.26 Upload. My Home internet speeds are 15.11 download and 1.99 upload so it can't compete with what I have at home.
Still debating if I should return it or not. On the plus side it's tiny, easy to use, the data doesn't expire as long as you use it once per year and refilling it seems to be a breeze. I could see using this for navigation in the car, or using it when wifi is not available as my ipad is wifi-only and of course I can share my internet connection with a friend but at these speed results just using it with one device at a time, I'm not sure I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+55points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Appleton, Wisconsin
Wait for updates!
Posted 03/11/2014
I'm a big Sprint fan and I follow updates from them, they are currently in their "Network Vision", which means they are taking every tower's equipment and replacing it with faster 3G and 4G LTE equipment. Those speedtests were more than likely before the new equipment, usually you should see around 1-2.5 mbps for download speeds. Enough for multiple devices to access the internet for light data usage.
0points
Customer Avatar
Huntley, Il
Wrong use...
Posted 11/13/2013
This mobile hot spot is not supposed to replace xfinity. It's only for on the road email and quick checking a Facebook response . Keep it short and pithy.
+5points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Far exceeds my low expectations

09/13/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I travel around our large metro area for work. I bought this for email, occasional web surfing, and a few work related tasks that require internet access. With the relatively low cost of data, I wasn't expecting much, but thought it was worth a try.
At first, I could not connect to the internet on my ipad, iphone or laptop. At that point, I was about to return the mifi and the data card, and call it a day. I'm glad I didn't.
I called customer service the next morning, and they had me connected in minutes. I'm not sure why I had to do this, but they answered right away at a normally busy time of day for customer service departments, and the woman was very courteous and helpful.
Meanwhile, I've tested it all over our metro area (Minneapolis/St.Paul). Even in my basement, where the Verizon signal is very dicey. It loads web pages at least as fast as my iphone 4 (Verizon 3G). Probably a little faster, actually. If it was as slow as some people have claimed in a few reviews, I would have already returned it. That may just be due to poor coverage of Sprint 3G in certain areas of the country. In large metropolitan areas, it should be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 421 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next