Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/13/2012
By ,
Port Charlotte,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Connect speed way to slow 61.1k to 256.7k no good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Florida panhancle
Best
Posted 07/26/2012
FANTASTIC!!! SPEED IS SAME AS CELLULAR DATA WOW, HAD IT ONE MONTHE AND DATA LEFT OVER FOR FUTURE USE. NO BRAINER!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Missouri
WalMart Internet To Go
Posted 07/25/2012
I purchased this item 2 months ago. It works great if you just need a internet connection to receive and send emails and do minimal surfing. It is much faster than dial up. I like the fact it does't require a credit card or bank account info. You just buy a data card from WalMart. Speed varied but I measured as high as 700Mbs connection speed.
On NEGATIVE side, The webpage that keeps tract of usage was completely unreliable. You pay for your data and want to keep track of it. I returned mine because of this flaw. I had 100MB in the morning and only used 3Mb for the day but it showed me having 0 MB. Also my history of usage disappeared. They said they were working on the problem.
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 122 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
10/23/2013
By ,
Rescue, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. I use it for my desktop computer and this new wireless access replaced my dial up. I did encounter a problem in that for a desktop computer I had to purchase a wireless adapter. I was told they are built in to a laptop, but not a desktop. I called for support when the connection did not work and was told about the need for a wireless adapter. I had not read that in ANY of the previous reviews or in the product description. The other problem I encountered with start up is that my computer settings had to be changed. Support did not help me with that--they said they can advise only on their device. I was able to figure out the setting problem. The device has worked beautifully since full set up and I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 123 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pretty Good

06/28/2013
By ,
Inglewood
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was uncomfortable signing up for a data plan with one of the phone companies so
decided to try the hotspot instead. The purchase was delivered in a fairly timely manner,
however, I neglected to purchase the refill card at the same time as I was unaware that
data also must be purchased along with the card. So far so good. I will have to do some
"field testing" before I am really sold on this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 124 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

don't waste your money, this item does not work.

03/31/2014
By ,
Bellevue, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item 2 weeks ago, created an account on line and bought $45.00 of time. after i got an email confirmation that my account was ready to go, I tried to connect to the internet but failed several times. contacted customer support and after 20 minutes on hold got someone in India and after providing all the info for this product I was told it was a connectivity issue and not to return the item to Walmart and a ticket was open to resolve the problem, the customer service agent told me I would get a email reply or a phone call in 24 to 48 hours. Here I am 6 business days later still waiting for an email or a reply. Call customer service a 2nd time and took 27 minutes to get someone on the phone, he got the open ticket # and said he had to research it so I had to wait on hold about another 12 minutes, the CSR came back and said he had to create another ticket so I voiced my dissatisfaction about the issue and I asked if I should return the item he said if I wanted to go ahead, I asked what about the the $45.00 of time I bought , so he said I had to call back and open a refund request and that it would take at least 30 days to get my money refunded it. So today I am $120 dollars out of packet and seems like nobody from the Internet to go cares. So item does not work and customer service don't care!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 125 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

fabulous

11/22/2013
By ,
paso robles ,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great coverage is anywhere you can get cell phone coverage and more .i had to order on the internet because they cant keep it stocked on the shelves. get on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 126 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well for my limited use !

02/17/2013
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use it for a Nexus 7 (wifi only tablet). I am able to use it as a phone with VOIP service over the hotspot.
Recently used it traveling and was surprised to get good connections, up to 2.7m ! That's better than I expected honestly. Had service in Colorado, Detroit and New York.
Cons :
Takes a little while to boot and get a connection. Drains batteries briskly. Gets warm
Pros;
Works! Non-expiring plan great for light usage - no monthly time limit, use at your own pace. Ongoing cost for me less than $5 a month (about 300mb/month avg).
Great for a secondary (mobile) connection. My home and work wifi does the heavy lifting - I use the hotspot in between and when traveling..
Normally use it a few times a week, but daily when traveling.
I'm pleased with it performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 127 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It was worth the investment!

09/22/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a mobile hotspot device for my infrequent trips. I did not want to invest in a phone system and monthly payments. This was ideal for my use and perfect for my budget. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 128 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Extremely slow

12/17/2012
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it will eventually download web pages, don't buy this thinking that the experience will be pleasant. The inexpensive service price comes with a performance penalty. All but the most basic of web pages timeout and you can forget about watching a video. I use it sparingly, and only when I'm desperate for web e-mail or occasional viewing of a web page or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 129 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Seamless--easy set- up and it works great!

01/09/2013
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are moving from one state to another. We are spending 6 weeks with "mom" while we finish up here. She doesn't have Internet and has no interest in getting it. This was the perfect solution for us. You can run 5 devices-- including our wireless printer! Not for streaming movies but other than that--really quick and way better than satellite
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 130 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Really great!

03/02/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered with free-shipping, which said I'd receive in like 7-8 days. However, it arrived much sooner. I signed up for the $10/500mb auto-refill plan, just to see how much data my 83 y/o mom would use at first. I live in St Louis, but my mom lives in Oregon. So once I created an account for auto-refills? I sent the Internet-to-GO unit to my mother. She needed only a tiny bit of help to get her laptop in sync. My mom is elated! She loves that she can use it anywhere, and it's just like using wifi at her favorite cafe or McDonalds. Wish I would've done this sooner. And because my mother only emails (no movies, videos, Facebook, etc.)....she can use this as her sole internet connection at home at a fraction of the cost of DSL or cable. She's only had it a week now, but tells me it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 131 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great product for occasional use

07/02/2013
By ,
Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a trucker and I like to keep up to date with my e-mails and banking activities when I'm away from home. This device does what it says it does. I would not use it to watch videos. Would'nt watch much with 3 Gigs at 45$ a shot. Too bad it does'nt work in Canada.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 132 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Worst Customer Support award goes to.......

01/26/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service has got to be the worst I have ever dealt with. And when they have a glitch you will be told you CAN'T talk to a supervisor, and you CAN'T talk to tech support. the device overall works well enough but it doesn't make a difference when you buy a refill and within 5 hours of adding it to your account you lose the MB's. Horrible way to take care of the customers. I will be going to a different WiFi service in the next few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 133 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This does pretty close to what I expected it to do

05/05/2014
By ,
Elkhart
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I think I already reviewed this, but I got an invitation from WalMart to review it, so I am doing a short one.
This unit is just a little slower than I expected it to be. Don't expect to watch videos or stream much data with it. I was in the St. Louis dome using it and it was fine in the morning, but by afternoon I was getting almost no data thru-put. It lasted like 4 hours where just nothing was getting thru. The dome was only 1/4 full so I don't think it was mobile traffic causing the problem.
However on the road it worked fine. That's mainly what I was after. I took a few pics and uploaded them to Facebook and that worked. As long as you are along a major interstate or in a city you'll probably have service.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Review 134 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Love it

07/06/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. I got two. One for me and one for the kids. It's perfect. Now I don't have to look for at Starbucks to find WiFi. Makes my work much easier. Plus it's portable. It's not big and easy to toss in my purse or backpack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 135 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great connection

01/26/2014
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had any problem with using the internet on the go hotspot. You are connected to the internet in seconds and able to play games with no problem. The only problem I saw was with downloading something it takes too long. I brought this product for my tablet and I didn't want to pay a monthly fee for internet on the go because I would only use it when I was out because when I was home I had my home wifi that I could connect to. So far I had the product for a month and I brought the 3gb card for $45 dollars and I have not even used have of my card. The good thing about the time you buy with the card you have a year to use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 136 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good for light internet user.

12/25/2012
By ,
Woodbury, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my parents, who previously were limited to dial-up, or ridiculously over-priced and slow DSL for their internet access options. Fortunately, they live in an area with good Sprint 3G coverage, so this works well for their use patterns of email and light web browsing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 137 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far so good

09/23/2013
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After some configuration problems with my Android browser and my Hot Spot connection I do find it an acceptable connection. No it isn't really fast like my home DSL but I can at least take this hotspot to my parents house with my Android Tablet and go to Ebay or Amazon for them. If they are looking to buy something. Or maybe show them a website I am building it is good for that. I do want to go check my data usage now though. And I can't seem to log into my account online to find this out. Let me say never use this with a Netflix movie because you would have to be a rich man. Just a few movies on low quality will go fast. And don't even stream music that will add up. Unless you make big money just use this for emergencies and checking email and things like that. You can go to HuffingtonPost.com and read a few articles. Just refrain from watching any of the videos until you get home. What else shouldn't you do? How about anything that is fun? lol...kidding, go to basic sites where you read a few things. It is worth having. The other day the T-Mobile guy told me I was getting ripped off for the price of the bandwidth on this. He was mistaken. I told him it is 3gb for 45 dollars. He said I was getting ripped off. Sure he might be able to give me 5gb or something for 50 bucks who knows. I don't know the price but anyway something better than this deal though this expires in 1 year since the last time you use it. There plan is monthly. So you have to spend the 50 dollars a month. This hotspot can be used conservatively and it lasts all year. So who is the winner? You are by buying this. You can go to a few websites with some reading on it. Check your email. Skype a couple friends with text all for a few megabytes....and in a month you might have only used 500 mb....or less if you just have this for an emergency on the road. So yes you should buy this. In fact in a few months I might buy me another one so I can have a second one charged up all of the way. I can go on a small trip with a second one charged up full. Hey I might buy me a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready for a trip. How about camping and enjoying the luxury of the internet while everyone else goes fishing you will be having much more fun with your Android Tablet!! WOW...So yes buy it now. You can't beat the deal. Put it on your credit card if you have to! Though I just decided to give it 4 Stars that way Internet on the Go will consider 5 gb for 50 dollars possibly. If they read this they may consider it. I think they will still profit at that price and it sounds good also. That is 5 more dollars for us but 2 more Gigabytes.
PS: I wanted to tell you this tip. Let me tell you how you should connect this to your Android Tablet. Switch it from your home wifi to the hotspot at home. It should configure your the connection better. I was at my parent's house with my hotspot saying connected excellent but still my browswer wasn't connecting. Some DNS thing. Who knows there was error 106 one day on that...also I saw error 105....anyway just make the smooth transition from being online with your tablet at home from wifi ATT or whatever you have then click on your hotspot connection. I guess if you leave your home and take away the home dsl connection without switching over from it it just didn't like it. That is what happened to me anyway. I have no troubles with it now since I learned that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 138 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Outstanding Support

06/26/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this device, but it had problems shutting down. The company happily replaced the unit; however, it was not quite setup properly - the device did not have any airtime while I had 1400+ minutes of airtime on the card. So I called tech support and got a person right away. The tech support person fixed the problem in 15 minutes.
These days I believe customers expect the occasional problem, but simply want an effective solution/resolution. This company did that!
I will recommend this device to my friends
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 139 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Credit Card

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to change my credit card that they have on file for refills. I was told I could not change/delete my credit card until I had used up all my MBs, which I found difficult to understand. I just decided to un-activate my automatic refills.
I don't know if anyone else had the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 140 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not bad for the price

01/17/2014
By ,
Detroit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It performed as expected. Great for checking e-mail or general browsing. It's not intended for streaming movies/videos or music so I wasn't expecting that. I use it to stay connected w/ friends and family online when I need to be and it's great for that. Set up was very quick easy and user friendly. The only issue was the SSID and password for setting up the hotspot listed on the set-up manual were wrong. I happened to notice that an SSID and password (completely different than the one listed on the manual) was listed on the back of the battery cover. I used that and I was all set. Everything else has been great. Also, my job does not supply WiFI nor do they allow us to use our PC's for any other reason than work. But they do allow us to have Tablets and E-Readers . . . So I use it at work quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
121-140 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  22 Next