Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great product, would purchase again.

07/22/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same hotspot hardware that Verizon uses. Only difference is you don't have to pay every month for service. Buy what you need and its good until you use it up. The service is on Sprints 3G network and is as fast as my Cincinnati bell DSL at my home. GREAT DEAL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 122 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
01/06/2013
By ,
Windsor, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product! This is a great pay as needed internet service for devices that are WiFi only & where it's hard to find a hotspot to connect to. This item is especially great for travel and on the go work where WiFi is necessary, but may not be readily accessible. Surprisingly, my iPad doesn't require much MB/GB, so a refill card will go a long way. The prices for refill cards are also quite reasonable, which great for people on a low budget. It was also quite easy to set up and connect devices, which is a great plus. This product is worth the initial $79.88 cost & I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 123 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good service, good coverage, very bad battery life

05/29/2014
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is the cheapest wireless internet in the US, the no expiration time is the best feature.
The only problem is the device, this little device gets very very hot and depletes the battery in 1-2 hours, I have to carry 2 external batteries.
Other major problem with the device: there is only 1 button, it is to turn the device on or off but there is no way to tell if it is on or off unless you see the list of available hotspots in other device.
Sometimes it does not turn off, no matter haw much you try. In this case, you need to take out the internal battery.
Other times it does not turn on, Only a blinking red LED, in this case I have not found a solution.
The bottom line is: The service is cheap and great, the device is no cheap nor great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
04401
Batteries?
Posted 07/10/2014
What kind of batteries does it use? How do you recharge it?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 124 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

fabulous

11/22/2013
By ,
paso robles ,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great coverage is anywhere you can get cell phone coverage and more .i had to order on the internet because they cant keep it stocked on the shelves. get on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 125 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Battery life

11/01/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compact, easy registration, good plans. I like the $10, $20 options that let you choose a monthly package vs volume. Haven't done much on it yet. But want to put in a note to encourage making a device that can last 8+ hours. Our family has another mifi device, for $10 more, from a service provider outside the US that is extremely fast and lasts 8-10 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 126 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great alternative for wi-fi only tablets

01/09/2013
By ,
Port Charlotte, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took it out of the box and it was up and running talking to my Nexus 7 tablet under 1/2 hour. Certainly slower than my home wi-fi, but great when traveling and wi-fi is not an option and best of all no contract and GBs don't expire like other hot spot devices. Directions do warn that you should disable Automatic Updates on your computing devise when using this product to avoid burning a lot of GBs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 127 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
10/23/2013
By ,
Rescue, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. I use it for my desktop computer and this new wireless access replaced my dial up. I did encounter a problem in that for a desktop computer I had to purchase a wireless adapter. I was told they are built in to a laptop, but not a desktop. I called for support when the connection did not work and was told about the need for a wireless adapter. I had not read that in ANY of the previous reviews or in the product description. The other problem I encountered with start up is that my computer settings had to be changed. Support did not help me with that--they said they can advise only on their device. I was able to figure out the setting problem. The device has worked beautifully since full set up and I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 128 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

As Advertised

12/26/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good deal. And this Internet on the Go is certainly one of those. I have an Asus tablet and my wife has a Kindle Fire. We want to be able to access the internet wherever we are, but especially while traveling. So we don't need a plan and won't use a ton of data.
How nice to only buy what we need and not worry about time limits expiring. Thanks Wal-Mart for a great item!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 129 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not bad for the price

01/17/2014
By ,
Detroit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It performed as expected. Great for checking e-mail or general browsing. It's not intended for streaming movies/videos or music so I wasn't expecting that. I use it to stay connected w/ friends and family online when I need to be and it's great for that. Set up was very quick easy and user friendly. The only issue was the SSID and password for setting up the hotspot listed on the set-up manual were wrong. I happened to notice that an SSID and password (completely different than the one listed on the manual) was listed on the back of the battery cover. I used that and I was all set. Everything else has been great. Also, my job does not supply WiFI nor do they allow us to use our PC's for any other reason than work. But they do allow us to have Tablets and E-Readers . . . So I use it at work quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 130 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

works but slow

03/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I drove from Dallas to Galveston. I used this on the road and in various parks and other attractions. The download speed and upload speed was always about between 0.5 and 0.8 mbps, if there is signal. It proved itself quite useful when mere information, but not speed, is in demand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 131 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Support is Non-existent. Product is worthless.

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sat "on-hold" for about 2 hours while a periodic recorded message informed me I would soon be served. Never connected to a human. Email request for assistance was electronically acknowledged and never answered. I presently have a device that is worthless.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 132 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Does not work 90% of the time or extremely slow

07/09/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes, I'll be truthful. The thing does not work. Once every ten time it will give you a very slow connection. But for the most part, it does not work. I fully regret this purchase and wish I could get my money back. Don't waste your time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 133 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Credit Card

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to change my credit card that they have on file for refills. I was told I could not change/delete my credit card until I had used up all my MBs, which I found difficult to understand. I just decided to un-activate my automatic refills.
I don't know if anyone else had the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 134 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Discontinued?

03/03/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unable to purchase the modem online or at any of the stores. Been told no longer to be carried. Does this mean they are going to stop loading the cards also? Does anyone have any info? I wanted to purchase, thought it would be a great product but can't find one. Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 135 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Awesome!!

01/16/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a pay-as-you-go plan with T-Mobile because I don't use my phone often, and when I needed Internet access away from home, I would use their Daily Pass. T-Mobile did away with the Daily Pass and removed GPS access as well. I had been thinking about getting this and finally did when the price came down.
It's completely awesome. Used a whopping $0.10 of access time today to get navigation instructions to an area I wasn't familiar with.
Setup isn't difficult, connection in good (I live in a rural area with notoriously bad cell service, but this gizmo connects) and the price is right.
I would recommend this to anyone who needs/wants to cut the cord and not pay for something you don't use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 136 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for visiting home!

12/25/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it so I wouldn't be cut off from civilization when coming home for holidays. It's a fairly small town, not a lot of public wifi access, and I've previously had problems without being out of contact with work and school while away. This is the first hotspot device that is prepaid that actually said it would work in this area. I didn't want a monthly plan because I'll use it maybe 6 times a year. This works great. Even if I wind up needing to buy a 45 dollar card for a week long stay that's still cheaper than a monthly plan.
It's much faster than I expected it to be and it's small size and ion battery make it handy. I'll probably keep a small amount of data on it to use in those random moments that I need internet access and I'm not at home or school, on a regular basis.
Really great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 137 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very Good Reception & Speed

02/14/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Internet on the Go device based on reading tons of the reviews and determined this was the best device for my needs. I basically wanted a hotspot for use when I didn't have access to a free WiFi hotpot.
I received my device very quickly, but had a little trouble with the system registering my refill card (1.5 GB) and the carry pouch was not in the package. Apparently when I added the refill card during registration the card seemed to apply to the account but when I called Internet on the Go customer support I was told that the problem was on their end where the refill card did not apply properly. Customer support was very responsive and resolved the problem with the refill card within 36 hours and even gave me a data credit for the amount I used as a result of the system problem and once I provided proof of purchase (verifying date ordered) they mailed out a new carry pouch.
Overall the device gets very good reception in my area and I tested it about 40 miles outside of my area and it was still good. I have only used it for checking emails, Facebook, and some websites. I have not tried to watch any videos due to the fact that streaming uses a lot of data and I want my data to last awhile. One piece of advice I will give is to change your device name and password once you successfully get up and running and check you data usage often. Unfortunately they do not have an app for this any longer so you will have to log into your account each time.
Overall I recommend this device for casual internet usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 138 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for a plain vanilla user like me

01/20/2013
By ,
Desert Southwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a lot of reviews and found all of them great. My cable provider just doubled my rates and I dropped down to a basic service level of about 6meg/sec. Still paying a 30% rate increase. So, I decided to hope for best and try the InTGo(my acronym). I've been connected for about 3 weeks.
Here's my observations, and hope they help and add to the reviews:
1. You have to know what you need from the internet. All I do is read emails, visit my autopay utility and other billing sites, shop walmart (and amazon), read the headlines on BBC, check my bank account, check the weather on NWS site, the almanacs from USNO, download a book or two from Gutenberg, and, every once in awhile,look up an article on wikiPedia. I'm on twice to three times a day. I bought 1.5G from ITG and I haven't even used half yet. It came with an add'l 3G when the first purchase is used. I expect that I can alternate 1.5G and 500 meg cards on monthly basis and still have a bit of a cushion. I find the speed quite competitive with the lowest speed available from my former cable company. Remember, I hardly ever download a video from YouTube, just news vids from BBC site.
2. I agree they need to work on customer service. I called for setup help and the rep was so loud I gave it up. What I found was that you need to check first to make sure your computer WiFi setup is activated. I have Win7 and my keyboard has a switch built into the F keys. There is an icon on task bar to access the wifi networks available (and the Win wifi setup). When s/w is activated, and the switch is ON, there is an entry called "On the Go MiFi..." on the popup menu. Click on that entry to connect/disconnect. Once "connected" shows, just click on the browser. Peesacake -as my grandsons like to say. (Once you know the hoops to jump thru). I strongly recommend NOT sending the device back till you've checked out all the possibilities.
3. I charge the hot spot every day with my cell phone as it seems to need a good many electrons (lol, it's an electronic gadget after all).
All that said. I don't ever plan to use a cable again.
Nice job Walmart (BTW wikiP has a nice article on the history of the company and the hotspot device itself). I hope this review along with all the previous ones from other purchasers will be enough for a noobie like me to get an idea how this might fit into somebody's needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 139 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pretty Good

06/28/2013
By ,
Inglewood
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was uncomfortable signing up for a data plan with one of the phone companies so
decided to try the hotspot instead. The purchase was delivered in a fairly timely manner,
however, I neglected to purchase the refill card at the same time as I was unaware that
data also must be purchased along with the card. So far so good. I will have to do some
"field testing" before I am really sold on this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 140 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great value if you are in Sprint service area

02/20/2013
By ,
Hernando, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the device now for 25 days.
At home I'm only getting between a 1 & 2 bar WAN signal as I'm on the very edge of a Sprint service area. I'm still managing a fairly solid 60-70K/S throughput...
For comparison I tried it from work where I get a full WAN signal and was managing to reach about 150K/S - that is Sprint 3G... and that's all you can expect to get. Can't blame the device on that.
Just for comparison sake, my 4G hotspot (Verizon) is far above and beyond (really not much to compare... think Turtle vs Cheeta... or maybe even Peregrine Falcon...)
For general browsing, email, etc - this works fine, just don't expect to stream video realtime or get fast downloads - it ain't happenin'.
As for the data refills - there is a gripe for me... but true with any of these devices...
I bought a 3GB monthly refill and have been watching the usage closely... even the device status page shows it's lifetime TOTAL usage is currently 1.51GB, but my Internet On The Go account shows that I only have just over 600MB remaining... not sure where their developers went to school, but that type of math just doesn't work here in the real world...
So - great device, great price, but expect ahead of time - it's SLOOOW. And if you have a good idea of how much data you need - add about 30% and that's what you'll be paying for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
121-140 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  22 Next