Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for visiting home!

12/25/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it so I wouldn't be cut off from civilization when coming home for holidays. It's a fairly small town, not a lot of public wifi access, and I've previously had problems without being out of contact with work and school while away. This is the first hotspot device that is prepaid that actually said it would work in this area. I didn't want a monthly plan because I'll use it maybe 6 times a year. This works great. Even if I wind up needing to buy a 45 dollar card for a week long stay that's still cheaper than a monthly plan.
It's much faster than I expected it to be and it's small size and ion battery make it handy. I'll probably keep a small amount of data on it to use in those random moments that I need internet access and I'm not at home or school, on a regular basis.
Really great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 122 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Discontinued?

03/03/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unable to purchase the modem online or at any of the stores. Been told no longer to be carried. Does this mean they are going to stop loading the cards also? Does anyone have any info? I wanted to purchase, thought it would be a great product but can't find one. Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 123 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
10/23/2013
By ,
Rescue, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. I use it for my desktop computer and this new wireless access replaced my dial up. I did encounter a problem in that for a desktop computer I had to purchase a wireless adapter. I was told they are built in to a laptop, but not a desktop. I called for support when the connection did not work and was told about the need for a wireless adapter. I had not read that in ANY of the previous reviews or in the product description. The other problem I encountered with start up is that my computer settings had to be changed. Support did not help me with that--they said they can advise only on their device. I was able to figure out the setting problem. The device has worked beautifully since full set up and I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 124 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

fabulous

11/22/2013
By ,
paso robles ,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great coverage is anywhere you can get cell phone coverage and more .i had to order on the internet because they cant keep it stocked on the shelves. get on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 125 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for a plain vanilla user like me

01/20/2013
By ,
Desert Southwest
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw a lot of reviews and found all of them great. My cable provider just doubled my rates and I dropped down to a basic service level of about 6meg/sec. Still paying a 30% rate increase. So, I decided to hope for best and try the InTGo(my acronym). I've been connected for about 3 weeks.
Here's my observations, and hope they help and add to the reviews:
1. You have to know what you need from the internet. All I do is read emails, visit my autopay utility and other billing sites, shop walmart (and amazon), read the headlines on BBC, check my bank account, check the weather on NWS site, the almanacs from USNO, download a book or two from Gutenberg, and, every once in awhile,look up an article on wikiPedia. I'm on twice to three times a day. I bought 1.5G from ITG and I haven't even used half yet. It came with an add'l 3G when the first purchase is used. I expect that I can alternate 1.5G and 500 meg cards on monthly basis and still have a bit of a cushion. I find the speed quite competitive with the lowest speed available from my former cable company. Remember, I hardly ever download a video from YouTube, just news vids from BBC site.
2. I agree they need to work on customer service. I called for setup help and the rep was so loud I gave it up. What I found was that you need to check first to make sure your computer WiFi setup is activated. I have Win7 and my keyboard has a switch built into the F keys. There is an icon on task bar to access the wifi networks available (and the Win wifi setup). When s/w is activated, and the switch is ON, there is an entry called "On the Go MiFi..." on the popup menu. Click on that entry to connect/disconnect. Once "connected" shows, just click on the browser. Peesacake -as my grandsons like to say. (Once you know the hoops to jump thru). I strongly recommend NOT sending the device back till you've checked out all the possibilities.
3. I charge the hot spot every day with my cell phone as it seems to need a good many electrons (lol, it's an electronic gadget after all).
All that said. I don't ever plan to use a cable again.
Nice job Walmart (BTW wikiP has a nice article on the history of the company and the hotspot device itself). I hope this review along with all the previous ones from other purchasers will be enough for a noobie like me to get an idea how this might fit into somebody's needs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 126 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great value if you are in Sprint service area

02/20/2013
By ,
Hernando, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had the device now for 25 days.
At home I'm only getting between a 1 & 2 bar WAN signal as I'm on the very edge of a Sprint service area. I'm still managing a fairly solid 60-70K/S throughput...
For comparison I tried it from work where I get a full WAN signal and was managing to reach about 150K/S - that is Sprint 3G... and that's all you can expect to get. Can't blame the device on that.
Just for comparison sake, my 4G hotspot (Verizon) is far above and beyond (really not much to compare... think Turtle vs Cheeta... or maybe even Peregrine Falcon...)
For general browsing, email, etc - this works fine, just don't expect to stream video realtime or get fast downloads - it ain't happenin'.
As for the data refills - there is a gripe for me... but true with any of these devices...
I bought a 3GB monthly refill and have been watching the usage closely... even the device status page shows it's lifetime TOTAL usage is currently 1.51GB, but my Internet On The Go account shows that I only have just over 600MB remaining... not sure where their developers went to school, but that type of math just doesn't work here in the real world...
So - great device, great price, but expect ahead of time - it's SLOOOW. And if you have a good idea of how much data you need - add about 30% and that's what you'll be paying for.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 127 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Worst Customer Support award goes to.......

01/26/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service has got to be the worst I have ever dealt with. And when they have a glitch you will be told you CAN'T talk to a supervisor, and you CAN'T talk to tech support. the device overall works well enough but it doesn't make a difference when you buy a refill and within 5 hours of adding it to your account you lose the MB's. Horrible way to take care of the customers. I will be going to a different WiFi service in the next few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 128 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pretty Good

06/28/2013
By ,
Inglewood
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was uncomfortable signing up for a data plan with one of the phone companies so
decided to try the hotspot instead. The purchase was delivered in a fairly timely manner,
however, I neglected to purchase the refill card at the same time as I was unaware that
data also must be purchased along with the card. So far so good. I will have to do some
"field testing" before I am really sold on this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 129 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great connection

01/26/2014
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had any problem with using the internet on the go hotspot. You are connected to the internet in seconds and able to play games with no problem. The only problem I saw was with downloading something it takes too long. I brought this product for my tablet and I didn't want to pay a monthly fee for internet on the go because I would only use it when I was out because when I was home I had my home wifi that I could connect to. So far I had the product for a month and I brought the 3gb card for $45 dollars and I have not even used have of my card. The good thing about the time you buy with the card you have a year to use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 130 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/13/2012
By ,
Port Charlotte,Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Connect speed way to slow 61.1k to 256.7k no good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+39points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Florida panhancle
Best
Posted 07/26/2012
FANTASTIC!!! SPEED IS SAME AS CELLULAR DATA WOW, HAD IT ONE MONTHE AND DATA LEFT OVER FOR FUTURE USE. NO BRAINER!
+2points
Customer Avatar
Missouri
WalMart Internet To Go
Posted 07/25/2012
I purchased this item 2 months ago. It works great if you just need a internet connection to receive and send emails and do minimal surfing. It is much faster than dial up. I like the fact it does't require a credit card or bank account info. You just buy a data card from WalMart. Speed varied but I measured as high as 700Mbs connection speed.
On NEGATIVE side, The webpage that keeps tract of usage was completely unreliable. You pay for your data and want to keep track of it. I returned mine because of this flaw. I had 100MB in the morning and only used 3Mb for the day but it showed me having 0 MB. Also my history of usage disappeared. They said they were working on the problem.
+10points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 131 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent mobile hotspot for any traveler

02/12/2014
By ,
Alachua, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried this hotspot and two others; the others were much more expensive when you consider the short time span the data is purchased for. With this hotspot the data bought stays there until its used, it doesn't time out like most others. I've found it costs me about $25 a month for internet usage every day, or about $10 to $25 if I just use it on trips for vacation for one year of use. As long as you use it once a year the data purchase is always there and available. I've never found a place where it didn't work, and it is easy to use and set up the account. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 132 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not bad for the price

01/17/2014
By ,
Detroit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It performed as expected. Great for checking e-mail or general browsing. It's not intended for streaming movies/videos or music so I wasn't expecting that. I use it to stay connected w/ friends and family online when I need to be and it's great for that. Set up was very quick easy and user friendly. The only issue was the SSID and password for setting up the hotspot listed on the set-up manual were wrong. I happened to notice that an SSID and password (completely different than the one listed on the manual) was listed on the back of the battery cover. I used that and I was all set. Everything else has been great. Also, my job does not supply WiFI nor do they allow us to use our PC's for any other reason than work. But they do allow us to have Tablets and E-Readers . . . So I use it at work quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 133 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It was worth the investment!

09/22/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a mobile hotspot device for my infrequent trips. I did not want to invest in a phone system and monthly payments. This was ideal for my use and perfect for my budget. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 134 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well for my limited use !

02/17/2013
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use it for a Nexus 7 (wifi only tablet). I am able to use it as a phone with VOIP service over the hotspot.
Recently used it traveling and was surprised to get good connections, up to 2.7m ! That's better than I expected honestly. Had service in Colorado, Detroit and New York.
Cons :
Takes a little while to boot and get a connection. Drains batteries briskly. Gets warm
Pros;
Works! Non-expiring plan great for light usage - no monthly time limit, use at your own pace. Ongoing cost for me less than $5 a month (about 300mb/month avg).
Great for a secondary (mobile) connection. My home and work wifi does the heavy lifting - I use the hotspot in between and when traveling..
Normally use it a few times a week, but daily when traveling.
I'm pleased with it performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 135 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Credit Card

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to change my credit card that they have on file for refills. I was told I could not change/delete my credit card until I had used up all my MBs, which I found difficult to understand. I just decided to un-activate my automatic refills.
I don't know if anyone else had the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 136 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Does exactly what it says it will.

03/05/2014
By ,
Mount Joy, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot was easily activated with my computer and it has a decent speed. I love the small size which fits conveniently in the computer bag when not in use. Connecting to the internet is easy when traveling and eliminates the need to find public wi-fi.
The down side is that for $25 only 1.5 gigabites is provided. This is used faster than I had anticipated. The hotspot is good value but there should be more time for the cost of the cards.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Review 137 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great product for occasional use

07/02/2013
By ,
Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a trucker and I like to keep up to date with my e-mails and banking activities when I'm away from home. This device does what it says it does. I would not use it to watch videos. Would'nt watch much with 3 Gigs at 45$ a shot. Too bad it does'nt work in Canada.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 138 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Extremely slow

12/17/2012
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it will eventually download web pages, don't buy this thinking that the experience will be pleasant. The inexpensive service price comes with a performance penalty. All but the most basic of web pages timeout and you can forget about watching a video. I use it sparingly, and only when I'm desperate for web e-mail or occasional viewing of a web page or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 139 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far so good

09/23/2013
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After some configuration problems with my Android browser and my Hot Spot connection I do find it an acceptable connection. No it isn't really fast like my home DSL but I can at least take this hotspot to my parents house with my Android Tablet and go to Ebay or Amazon for them. If they are looking to buy something. Or maybe show them a website I am building it is good for that. I do want to go check my data usage now though. And I can't seem to log into my account online to find this out. Let me say never use this with a Netflix movie because you would have to be a rich man. Just a few movies on low quality will go fast. And don't even stream music that will add up. Unless you make big money just use this for emergencies and checking email and things like that. You can go to HuffingtonPost.com and read a few articles. Just refrain from watching any of the videos until you get home. What else shouldn't you do? How about anything that is fun? lol...kidding, go to basic sites where you read a few things. It is worth having. The other day the T-Mobile guy told me I was getting ripped off for the price of the bandwidth on this. He was mistaken. I told him it is 3gb for 45 dollars. He said I was getting ripped off. Sure he might be able to give me 5gb or something for 50 bucks who knows. I don't know the price but anyway something better than this deal though this expires in 1 year since the last time you use it. There plan is monthly. So you have to spend the 50 dollars a month. This hotspot can be used conservatively and it lasts all year. So who is the winner? You are by buying this. You can go to a few websites with some reading on it. Check your email. Skype a couple friends with text all for a few megabytes....and in a month you might have only used 500 mb....or less if you just have this for an emergency on the road. So yes you should buy this. In fact in a few months I might buy me another one so I can have a second one charged up all of the way. I can go on a small trip with a second one charged up full. Hey I might buy me a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready for a trip. How about camping and enjoying the luxury of the internet while everyone else goes fishing you will be having much more fun with your Android Tablet!! WOW...So yes buy it now. You can't beat the deal. Put it on your credit card if you have to! Though I just decided to give it 4 Stars that way Internet on the Go will consider 5 gb for 50 dollars possibly. If they read this they may consider it. I think they will still profit at that price and it sounds good also. That is 5 more dollars for us but 2 more Gigabytes.
PS: I wanted to tell you this tip. Let me tell you how you should connect this to your Android Tablet. Switch it from your home wifi to the hotspot at home. It should configure your the connection better. I was at my parent's house with my hotspot saying connected excellent but still my browswer wasn't connecting. Some DNS thing. Who knows there was error 106 one day on that...also I saw error 105....anyway just make the smooth transition from being online with your tablet at home from wifi ATT or whatever you have then click on your hotspot connection. I guess if you leave your home and take away the home dsl connection without switching over from it it just didn't like it. That is what happened to me anyway. I have no troubles with it now since I learned that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 140 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very nice

06/06/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Using this as an alternative to cable in a limited, low graphics application. Been working with this for about 3 weeks and has performed as expected. It does not seem to work when it is charging, but hasn't been a problem. Would do it all over again if I have a need!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
121-140 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  22 Next