Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not bad for the price

01/17/2014
By ,
Detroit
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It performed as expected. Great for checking e-mail or general browsing. It's not intended for streaming movies/videos or music so I wasn't expecting that. I use it to stay connected w/ friends and family online when I need to be and it's great for that. Set up was very quick easy and user friendly. The only issue was the SSID and password for setting up the hotspot listed on the set-up manual were wrong. I happened to notice that an SSID and password (completely different than the one listed on the manual) was listed on the back of the battery cover. I used that and I was all set. Everything else has been great. Also, my job does not supply WiFI nor do they allow us to use our PC's for any other reason than work. But they do allow us to have Tablets and E-Readers . . . So I use it at work quite a bit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 122 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

fabulous

11/22/2013
By ,
paso robles ,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great coverage is anywhere you can get cell phone coverage and more .i had to order on the internet because they cant keep it stocked on the shelves. get on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 123 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works as advertised.

12/12/2012
By ,
South Jordan, Utah
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I haven't used it very much but when I did it worked very well. It connects quickly to the internet and ready for use. I plan to mostly use if for email and making my ipod touch a smartphone. Its size is a plus because I can carry it in my shirt pocket along with the itouch. The data refill plans are very reasonable and hope they remain so. The only negative is that it was a chore to get the back off so I could insert the battery. Hopefully, I won't have to do that very often.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 124 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

too slow

12/11/2012
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Am I the only one thinks it's too slow? I meant, toooo slow.
It takes 10~15 seconds to open a website and Youtube is almost impossible :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 125 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
10/23/2013
By ,
Rescue, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this product. I use it for my desktop computer and this new wireless access replaced my dial up. I did encounter a problem in that for a desktop computer I had to purchase a wireless adapter. I was told they are built in to a laptop, but not a desktop. I called for support when the connection did not work and was told about the need for a wireless adapter. I had not read that in ANY of the previous reviews or in the product description. The other problem I encountered with start up is that my computer settings had to be changed. Support did not help me with that--they said they can advise only on their device. I was able to figure out the setting problem. The device has worked beautifully since full set up and I am very satisfied.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 126 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go, reliable, a little slow

01/10/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Internet on the Go is a reliable connection to the internet. I ordered a 3G card and recieved a bonus of 1G for a total of 4G of data availability. It works well and reliabily. It is somewhat slow in loading data. I've been using it in email applications where speed is not an issue. Loading Graphics takes some time. This is a great low cost option if you are not in a rush to get small tasks performed, or light web browsing. Watching YouTube videos and music would be a problem, and would result in pauses to recieve data. I'm very happy with the package. Perhaps one day it will be available in 4G networks with the same pay before usage options. It does allow internet connection, anywhere you can recieve the Sprint Cell Phone coverage signal.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 127 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Credit Card

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to change my credit card that they have on file for refills. I was told I could not change/delete my credit card until I had used up all my MBs, which I found difficult to understand. I just decided to un-activate my automatic refills.
I don't know if anyone else had the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 128 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very Good Reception & Speed

02/14/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Internet on the Go device based on reading tons of the reviews and determined this was the best device for my needs. I basically wanted a hotspot for use when I didn't have access to a free WiFi hotpot.
I received my device very quickly, but had a little trouble with the system registering my refill card (1.5 GB) and the carry pouch was not in the package. Apparently when I added the refill card during registration the card seemed to apply to the account but when I called Internet on the Go customer support I was told that the problem was on their end where the refill card did not apply properly. Customer support was very responsive and resolved the problem with the refill card within 36 hours and even gave me a data credit for the amount I used as a result of the system problem and once I provided proof of purchase (verifying date ordered) they mailed out a new carry pouch.
Overall the device gets very good reception in my area and I tested it about 40 miles outside of my area and it was still good. I have only used it for checking emails, Facebook, and some websites. I have not tried to watch any videos due to the fact that streaming uses a lot of data and I want my data to last awhile. One piece of advice I will give is to change your device name and password once you successfully get up and running and check you data usage often. Unfortunately they do not have an app for this any longer so you will have to log into your account each time.
Overall I recommend this device for casual internet usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 129 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pretty Good WiFi Hotspot

02/18/2013
By ,
Tacoma, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Should be used mostly for email and web browsing. Only complaint is battery life, but that depends on use more than time on. As my smartphone doesn't have a carrier, I make VOIP calls with it and it works just fine. I'd like to be able to monitor battery life closer, but my smartphone cannot utilize the battery monitor that's available.
I need to find a car charger for it as they don't recommend cell phone chargers for use with this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 130 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great product, would purchase again.

07/22/2013
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Same hotspot hardware that Verizon uses. Only difference is you don't have to pay every month for service. Buy what you need and its good until you use it up. The service is on Sprints 3G network and is as fast as my Cincinnati bell DSL at my home. GREAT DEAL!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 131 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Terrible battery life. NO coutomer service!!!

12/05/2012
By ,
Atlanta, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It lasts about 1 hour (20 minutes active and 40 minutes standby) after fully charging the equipment. Good news is I could not spend more than $0.30 per full charge. I could not even transfer unused data 4G ($45) to a new equipment. That means I have to give up $45 in order to return the equipment.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Review 132 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
01/06/2013
By ,
Windsor, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an awesome product! This is a great pay as needed internet service for devices that are WiFi only & where it's hard to find a hotspot to connect to. This item is especially great for travel and on the go work where WiFi is necessary, but may not be readily accessible. Surprisingly, my iPad doesn't require much MB/GB, so a refill card will go a long way. The prices for refill cards are also quite reasonable, which great for people on a low budget. It was also quite easy to set up and connect devices, which is a great plus. This product is worth the initial $79.88 cost & I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 133 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great alternative for wi-fi only tablets

01/09/2013
By ,
Port Charlotte, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Took it out of the box and it was up and running talking to my Nexus 7 tablet under 1/2 hour. Certainly slower than my home wi-fi, but great when traveling and wi-fi is not an option and best of all no contract and GBs don't expire like other hot spot devices. Directions do warn that you should disable Automatic Updates on your computing devise when using this product to avoid burning a lot of GBs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 134 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Battery life

11/01/2012
By ,
Orange County, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Compact, easy registration, good plans. I like the $10, $20 options that let you choose a monthly package vs volume. Haven't done much on it yet. But want to put in a note to encourage making a device that can last 8+ hours. Our family has another mifi device, for $10 more, from a service provider outside the US that is extremely fast and lasts 8-10 hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 135 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Slower Than Dial-up; Unusable

02/13/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew the connection speed would be slow, but not this slow. You'd be better off with dial-up. For the most part, I'd call it 'excruciatingly slow' and have had to abandon this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Review 136 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

As Advertised

12/26/2012
By ,
Bentonville, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love a good deal. And this Internet on the Go is certainly one of those. I have an Asus tablet and my wife has a Kindle Fire. We want to be able to access the internet wherever we are, but especially while traveling. So we don't need a plan and won't use a ton of data.
How nice to only buy what we need and not worry about time limits expiring. Thanks Wal-Mart for a great item!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 137 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Discontinued?

03/03/2013
By ,
Pittsburgh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unable to purchase the modem online or at any of the stores. Been told no longer to be carried. Does this mean they are going to stop loading the cards also? Does anyone have any info? I wanted to purchase, thought it would be a great product but can't find one. Thanks
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Review 138 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Awesome!!

01/16/2013
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a pay-as-you-go plan with T-Mobile because I don't use my phone often, and when I needed Internet access away from home, I would use their Daily Pass. T-Mobile did away with the Daily Pass and removed GPS access as well. I had been thinking about getting this and finally did when the price came down.
It's completely awesome. Used a whopping $0.10 of access time today to get navigation instructions to an area I wasn't familiar with.
Setup isn't difficult, connection in good (I live in a rural area with notoriously bad cell service, but this gizmo connects) and the price is right.
I would recommend this to anyone who needs/wants to cut the cord and not pay for something you don't use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 139 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for visiting home!

12/25/2012
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought it so I wouldn't be cut off from civilization when coming home for holidays. It's a fairly small town, not a lot of public wifi access, and I've previously had problems without being out of contact with work and school while away. This is the first hotspot device that is prepaid that actually said it would work in this area. I didn't want a monthly plan because I'll use it maybe 6 times a year. This works great. Even if I wind up needing to buy a 45 dollar card for a week long stay that's still cheaper than a monthly plan.
It's much faster than I expected it to be and it's small size and ion battery make it handy. I'll probably keep a small amount of data on it to use in those random moments that I need internet access and I'm not at home or school, on a regular basis.
Really great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Review 140 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It was worth the investment!

09/22/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a mobile hotspot device for my infrequent trips. I did not want to invest in a phone system and monthly payments. This was ideal for my use and perfect for my budget. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
121-140 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  22 Next