Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 121 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pretty Good

06/28/2013
By ,
Inglewood
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was uncomfortable signing up for a data plan with one of the phone companies so
decided to try the hotspot instead. The purchase was delivered in a fairly timely manner,
however, I neglected to purchase the refill card at the same time as I was unaware that
data also must be purchased along with the card. So far so good. I will have to do some
"field testing" before I am really sold on this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Review 122 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works Like A Charm

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are from Canada and bought this item to use while travelling in the U.S and Wintering in Florida. We used it on a daily basis while in Florida for 2 months and then in several states at hotels with no WiFi. Even tried it while travelling the major highways on the way back to Canada to get weather updates. No issues what-so-ever. Easy to set up, use and refill. Love it....met all our expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 123 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well for my limited use !

02/17/2013
By ,
CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I use it for a Nexus 7 (wifi only tablet). I am able to use it as a phone with VOIP service over the hotspot.
Recently used it traveling and was surprised to get good connections, up to 2.7m ! That's better than I expected honestly. Had service in Colorado, Detroit and New York.
Cons :
Takes a little while to boot and get a connection. Drains batteries briskly. Gets warm
Pros;
Works! Non-expiring plan great for light usage - no monthly time limit, use at your own pace. Ongoing cost for me less than $5 a month (about 300mb/month avg).
Great for a secondary (mobile) connection. My home and work wifi does the heavy lifting - I use the hotspot in between and when traveling..
Normally use it a few times a week, but daily when traveling.
I'm pleased with it performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 124 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

fabulous

11/22/2013
By ,
paso robles ,ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product is great coverage is anywhere you can get cell phone coverage and more .i had to order on the internet because they cant keep it stocked on the shelves. get on
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 125 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Extremely slow

12/17/2012
By ,
Akron, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it will eventually download web pages, don't buy this thinking that the experience will be pleasant. The inexpensive service price comes with a performance penalty. All but the most basic of web pages timeout and you can forget about watching a video. I use it sparingly, and only when I'm desperate for web e-mail or occasional viewing of a web page or two.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 126 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Seamless--easy set- up and it works great!

01/09/2013
By ,
Santa Cruz, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are moving from one state to another. We are spending 6 weeks with "mom" while we finish up here. She doesn't have Internet and has no interest in getting it. This was the perfect solution for us. You can run 5 devices-- including our wireless printer! Not for streaming movies but other than that--really quick and way better than satellite
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 127 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It was worth the investment!

09/22/2013
By ,
Spokane, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a mobile hotspot device for my infrequent trips. I did not want to invest in a phone system and monthly payments. This was ideal for my use and perfect for my budget. Thank you.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Review 128 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great product for occasional use

07/02/2013
By ,
Sherbrooke, Qc, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a trucker and I like to keep up to date with my e-mails and banking activities when I'm away from home. This device does what it says it does. I would not use it to watch videos. Would'nt watch much with 3 Gigs at 45$ a shot. Too bad it does'nt work in Canada.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 129 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Love it

07/06/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love it. I got two. One for me and one for the kids. It's perfect. Now I don't have to look for at Starbucks to find WiFi. Makes my work much easier. Plus it's portable. It's not big and easy to toss in my purse or backpack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 130 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good for light internet user.

12/25/2012
By ,
Woodbury, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was a gift for my parents, who previously were limited to dial-up, or ridiculously over-priced and slow DSL for their internet access options. Fortunately, they live in an area with good Sprint 3G coverage, so this works well for their use patterns of email and light web browsing.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+4points
Review 131 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

don't waste your money, this item does not work.

03/31/2014
By ,
Bellevue, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item 2 weeks ago, created an account on line and bought $45.00 of time. after i got an email confirmation that my account was ready to go, I tried to connect to the internet but failed several times. contacted customer support and after 20 minutes on hold got someone in India and after providing all the info for this product I was told it was a connectivity issue and not to return the item to Walmart and a ticket was open to resolve the problem, the customer service agent told me I would get a email reply or a phone call in 24 to 48 hours. Here I am 6 business days later still waiting for an email or a reply. Call customer service a 2nd time and took 27 minutes to get someone on the phone, he got the open ticket # and said he had to research it so I had to wait on hold about another 12 minutes, the CSR came back and said he had to create another ticket so I voiced my dissatisfaction about the issue and I asked if I should return the item he said if I wanted to go ahead, I asked what about the the $45.00 of time I bought , so he said I had to call back and open a refund request and that it would take at least 30 days to get my money refunded it. So today I am $120 dollars out of packet and seems like nobody from the Internet to go cares. So item does not work and customer service don't care!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Review 132 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far so good

09/23/2013
By ,
San Francisco
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After some configuration problems with my Android browser and my Hot Spot connection I do find it an acceptable connection. No it isn't really fast like my home DSL but I can at least take this hotspot to my parents house with my Android Tablet and go to Ebay or Amazon for them. If they are looking to buy something. Or maybe show them a website I am building it is good for that. I do want to go check my data usage now though. And I can't seem to log into my account online to find this out. Let me say never use this with a Netflix movie because you would have to be a rich man. Just a few movies on low quality will go fast. And don't even stream music that will add up. Unless you make big money just use this for emergencies and checking email and things like that. You can go to HuffingtonPost.com and read a few articles. Just refrain from watching any of the videos until you get home. What else shouldn't you do? How about anything that is fun? lol...kidding, go to basic sites where you read a few things. It is worth having. The other day the T-Mobile guy told me I was getting ripped off for the price of the bandwidth on this. He was mistaken. I told him it is 3gb for 45 dollars. He said I was getting ripped off. Sure he might be able to give me 5gb or something for 50 bucks who knows. I don't know the price but anyway something better than this deal though this expires in 1 year since the last time you use it. There plan is monthly. So you have to spend the 50 dollars a month. This hotspot can be used conservatively and it lasts all year. So who is the winner? You are by buying this. You can go to a few websites with some reading on it. Check your email. Skype a couple friends with text all for a few megabytes....and in a month you might have only used 500 mb....or less if you just have this for an emergency on the road. So yes you should buy this. In fact in a few months I might buy me another one so I can have a second one charged up all of the way. I can go on a small trip with a second one charged up full. Hey I might buy me a couple extra batteries and keep those charged and ready for a trip. How about camping and enjoying the luxury of the internet while everyone else goes fishing you will be having much more fun with your Android Tablet!! WOW...So yes buy it now. You can't beat the deal. Put it on your credit card if you have to! Though I just decided to give it 4 Stars that way Internet on the Go will consider 5 gb for 50 dollars possibly. If they read this they may consider it. I think they will still profit at that price and it sounds good also. That is 5 more dollars for us but 2 more Gigabytes.
PS: I wanted to tell you this tip. Let me tell you how you should connect this to your Android Tablet. Switch it from your home wifi to the hotspot at home. It should configure your the connection better. I was at my parent's house with my hotspot saying connected excellent but still my browswer wasn't connecting. Some DNS thing. Who knows there was error 106 one day on that...also I saw error 105....anyway just make the smooth transition from being online with your tablet at home from wifi ATT or whatever you have then click on your hotspot connection. I guess if you leave your home and take away the home dsl connection without switching over from it it just didn't like it. That is what happened to me anyway. I have no troubles with it now since I learned that.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Review 133 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

worked once, then nothing but issues.

07/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm not one to write reviews, but you need to be aware of several things prior to purchase.
Reliability of the service is suspect.
The TOS does not define excessive - so beware if you think you'll have the kids stream a movie off of this device you may incur a 20% usage penalty.
***Also you will want to read the entire terms of service. ***
In it you will find the following tidbits of information:
#1.) Usage is measured and charged session by session in “Units” consisting of whole Megabytes.
#2.) If usage for any session is excessive, a data surcharge not to exceed 20% of the Units may be applied to the session.
#3.) Inactive Account is defined as no Unit activity over a period of 90 days.
#4.) Accounts that are inactive WILL BE CHARGED a maintenance fee every 30 days equal to 25% of the outstanding Unit balance on the account as of the 91st day.
#5.) As long as there is at least one data session within 90 days, Accounts are considered active.
I used this device for 2 days, for a total of 14 minutes of on time, as reported by the device itself from within its admin page. The device tells me that it received a total of 19.37Mb of data and uploaded a total of .37Mb of data. However, my plan has been docked 50MB of data. You tell me, how does 20Mb of data add up to 50Mb of data? I can see some rounding up, but this is almost stealing.
I just now tried to use the device again (6/30 & 7/1), in order to initiate a quick "session" prior to the 90 day window so I would not incur the 25% inactive account surcharge. However, the service is 100% down. My device works, but it will not connect to the cellular network. I called support twice over 2 days, and they are totally unable to help me. As stated by the support rep, their systems are 100% offline and nothing can be done to assist me at this time, all I can do is keep trying to connect, and call back in 24 hours to check on status.
Its a good thing my cell phone is able to also be a hotspot, because this service is not all that its cut out to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 134 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

it's not too bad. i know there will be better

01/08/2013
By ,
lincoln, ne
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's pretty awesome, 5 devices in a small little device. of course it's better to have a self contained iphone or ipod with it's own cellular, and then you dont have to be in range and stuff like that but it's a good solution for a family that needs to have wifi at all times.
i don't like it not having a battery meter, and it should have a way for when you are at home to turn off the internet while it's charging, that way you make sure you use your cheaper home connection instead of the internet to go. so far i've only used it in our city of 250k, sure there's interent here, but we do a lot of rural traveling and i expect it to not get signal sometimes. but hey, data doesn't burn that fast and it's cheap so what can you say. i'm sure verizon has better (for more), AND that there will be 4g just as cheap in the coming years. but i'm a believer so far. going to test a cell phone jammer case to charge in that sleeve and hope it cancels out the signal when at home so i make sure and use my home connection always. and last complaint, no car charger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-4points
Review 135 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent for backup system or occasional use

11/15/2012
By ,
Holly, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why pay $40 to $60 per month for hotspot usage you will never use? This works well with decent if not lightning speed. Remember it is 3G. The Sprint system coverage is good in most areas. I have not found anyplace it does not work. Normal internet usage draws very little. Watching movies or streaming downloads would not be practical. Another thought. You have a battery powered notebook or laptop but in a power failure you do not have internet service. By the way get extra batteries and you will have a true long term internet system backup.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 136 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Worst Customer Support award goes to.......

01/26/2014
By ,
WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service has got to be the worst I have ever dealt with. And when they have a glitch you will be told you CAN'T talk to a supervisor, and you CAN'T talk to tech support. the device overall works well enough but it doesn't make a difference when you buy a refill and within 5 hours of adding it to your account you lose the MB's. Horrible way to take care of the customers. I will be going to a different WiFi service in the next few days.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 137 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Really great!

03/02/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered with free-shipping, which said I'd receive in like 7-8 days. However, it arrived much sooner. I signed up for the $10/500mb auto-refill plan, just to see how much data my 83 y/o mom would use at first. I live in St Louis, but my mom lives in Oregon. So once I created an account for auto-refills? I sent the Internet-to-GO unit to my mother. She needed only a tiny bit of help to get her laptop in sync. My mom is elated! She loves that she can use it anywhere, and it's just like using wifi at her favorite cafe or McDonalds. Wish I would've done this sooner. And because my mother only emails (no movies, videos, Facebook, etc.)....she can use this as her sole internet connection at home at a fraction of the cost of DSL or cable. She's only had it a week now, but tells me it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 138 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good but has some manageable quirks

07/09/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We received this device for business use when Wifi is not available.
The device works well when plugged in, but the battery will not charge
even though we have tried several outlets (I've contacted support.)
Out of the box, the device dropped the signal within 10 min. Called support
and they walked me through the update needed and all is now working
great as long as it is plugged in.
Also, to turn on the device, we have to first remove the battery and place it back in the
battery compartment. Even then (and only after several tries pushing the on button)
will the device turn on. I have a ticket to the vendor about this as well.
For now it is a keeper. I hope there is a solution to the above problems though.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Review 139 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great connection

01/26/2014
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had any problem with using the internet on the go hotspot. You are connected to the internet in seconds and able to play games with no problem. The only problem I saw was with downloading something it takes too long. I brought this product for my tablet and I didn't want to pay a monthly fee for internet on the go because I would only use it when I was out because when I was home I had my home wifi that I could connect to. So far I had the product for a month and I brought the 3gb card for $45 dollars and I have not even used have of my card. The good thing about the time you buy with the card you have a year to use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 140 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Credit Card

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I wanted to change my credit card that they have on file for refills. I was told I could not change/delete my credit card until I had used up all my MBs, which I found difficult to understand. I just decided to un-activate my automatic refills.
I don't know if anyone else had the same problems.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
121-140 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1  ...  5 6 7 8 9  ...  22 Next