Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
536 Questions | 1,224 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

THROTTLED DATA @ IT'S FINEST! DON'T PURCHASE!

06/15/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life is 4 hours, easy to activate, it does work as a hotspot. However this thing is THROTTLED BEYOND BELIEF! I get an average download speeds of 0.15 download and 0.06 upload. Translation... it takes 20 seconds PLUS for pictures and web pages to load. Please hold your breath while waiting.... LOL. I downloaded a book that was 17MB that took 1 hour and 30 minutes! Unbelievable. I'm selling mine on ebay with 2.9 gigs of data left and going to get a hotspot from clear. FYI.. if you are reading this drop your cell phone provider and get a RELIABLE hotspot and use the PINGER APP... 100 min for $1.99 - 450 for $9.99 and 1000 for 18.99 free incoming calls YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT! This device does what it is supposed to do, however the spotty coverage and slow speeds makes it a pain and virtually useless. DO NOT PURCHASE and I DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great idea, if and when it works

03/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chose this one over the others because I didn't have to lose my bites. Unfortunately, this purchase has been less than useful.
It started with the charger not working... Instructions say to charge it for 3 hours before use. So I hooked up the charger, waited for 3 hours - and the battery had drained instead of charged. Also did not receive the "cloth bag". I was able to get the device charged by using my phone charger - but then I couldn't get on the internet.
Kept going to their "add more time or register your device" page. When I attempted to report this (had to use telephone support 'cause I couldn't get on the 'net) was on hold for 40 some minutes before my call was answered. When I finally got thorough to someone, they said they would replace the charger - but that they couldn't resolve my inability to get on line. Said they were having issues for the past week and didn't expect to have the problem solved for an additional 5 days.
Since I had purchased the device to use while visiting my Mother-in-law and their "downtime" covered my visiting period - I found the device useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This item sucked pretty bad.

10/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We contacted customer service to find out why our internet signal was so slow and intermittent. Their reply was 'there's probably a lot of people accessing the service right now, so you'll just have to wait and try back later.' Really? Who wants this kind of internet? C Ya...it went back to Walmart the same day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Cheap and works, but slow, VERY slow...

10/01/2012
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It connects to the Internet quickly and flawlessly. I am happy, because it serves my purposes. I use this device only for emails and basic web browsing only occasionally when I'm out on the road and don't have any free wifi. However, it's so slow (below 0.5 Mbps)!! I wish it was a bit faster, like 2 to 3 Mbps... For those who are looking for speed and frequent use, this may not be the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+124points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Ideal for limited internet access while traveling

10/13/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was prompt and registration and setup was simple. I had no problems getting online with my Kindle Fire or laptop. Speed was as to be expected with 3G, but is more than adequate for email and general web surfing. I had been told that you could not use the MiFi while you were charging it, but I discovered that this was not true if I turned the MiFi on BEFORE plugging in the charger.
Highly recommended for usage while on the road. The Sprint 3G network is quite extensive and you should have no problems connecting in most cities and on most major highways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Secure connection while traveling.

04/08/2014
By ,
Xenia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to be away from home for an extended period and did not want to do my banking/bills through the hotel wi-fi. I bought this device to have a secure alternative. The area of Florida I was to be in for 6 weeks, was in a good coverage area.
The store I picked it up at did not have any cards for the data. Not a problem! The device comes with approximately 36 MB, so you can connect with it to securely purchase more data online. I decided to purchase the $25 data plan with 1500 MBs. I was only going to use it for my banking.
I ended up using it several times for video calling on the road with my iPad. I even used it on the road through the Appalachian mountains! I Skyped with it, and caught up on Facebook in West Virginia. I was pleasantly surprised at the good coverage. I bought this in February and still have over 1300 MBs remaining on my account! I love knowing that the data does not expire. This device would not be economical to use throughout the day for surfing the web, but for occasional use when a secure connection is not available, this is the ticket.
It was super easy to set up, and I am no techno-geek. This device is so compact, it fits in my wallet. I carry it everywhere. I will never be without an internet connection again!
The speed is not as good as my home network, but when you need a private connection on the go, Internet on the Go is definitely the way to go! I would definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for Cheap People like us!

08/29/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far we've had this for about one month and it works great! We haven't had any big issues with it except once it didn't want to charge but maybe cuz my charger was a bit broken. Other than that we have refilled 3 times in one month making it $30 spent. We use it for both our phones and surf the internet, text and use Whatsapp (we DON'T use youtube unless we are using wifi from our home, or that takes up all the MB). We prefer paying $30 a month for using BOTH our phones unlimited everything than having a contract or prepaid plan. I work from home so I have our homes wifi on for my phone and my husband takes the mifi to work to keep in touch. Whoever goes out takes the mifi :) This is a very clever way to save money and we are extremely pleased with the Mifi. The economy isn't the best and in case either of us gets laid off, at least we won't be oweing money to a cellfone company. You just pay as you go :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Perfect for my needs.

12/01/2012
By ,
Topeka
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I wanted something to connect my Ipod touch to when I was on the road. This thing works perfectly for that. I bought the 45 dollar refill card and got the go big plan because I didn't want a time limit on how fast to use the data I paid for. With my Ipod touch and Opera mini browser I used it to browse the web for about 20 minutes and used only two megabytes of data and I opened a lot of different pages. I figure I could use this every day and get what I need done and it will last a year. I couldn't be happier with it. I thought about getting the Tmobile or Verizon hotspots but why pay 35 to 90 bucks a month? I love that I can just pay for the data I use and their is no time limit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for occasional WiFi needs

10/17/2012
By ,
Allen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the mifi primarily to give me WiFi access at Craft Fairs and similar venues in order to take Square credit card payments on my WiFi only IPad, it has yet to let my down as long as it had sufficient battery charge. The claimed 4 hour battery life appears to be genuine so I will obtain a backup battery to give me all day access. The service has got even better this week since they have reduced the charges from $20 for 450mb to $10 for 500mb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Where do you get your service?
Posted 11/17/2012
How do you get a service plan? I only want this so that I can access my i-tune i-cloud account on my ipod touch while going back and forth to work. In other words, I probably won't need more than 4-5 hours of "access" a week. Thank you for your response in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 50 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Best pricing model available

11/01/2012
By ,
Omaha Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because you only pay for the actual usage, with zero monthly or other charges this is the best value for less than 2GB per month wireless internet usage.
The speeds that I am getting 0.4 mbps peak hours to 0.95 mbps for very early morning hours are plenty fast enough for web browsing and checking email. I even did several 100 to 700 MB downloads, the latter one taking 1.5 hours.
If you know that your wireless internet usage will be much less than 4GB per month, there is nothing that compares to the value of TruConnect "Internet on the Go".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far, so good.

09/26/2012
By ,
Franklin, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I seem to have decent coverage with this mifi in massachusetts. Internet speed is ok. I'd recommend this device for occasional usage on a phone or tablet. Its great that your balance does not expire as long you use it. In my opinion, this device should not be used to replace your regular home isp, for occasional mobile usage, its great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great Hotspot

12/19/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a tech guy, I'm a 69 year old grandpa and needed a way to get my email while visiting family that doesn't have internet. I took it out of the box and was able to connect in a matter of minutes. The only trouble I had was while registering.
For some reason the site didn't like the serial number. I called the toll free customer support number and got it fixed quickly. I have only used this hotspot in one location so far, but it works as well as if I were home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well but double check Sprint coverage.

10/14/2012
By ,
Cody, Wy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Walmart website says this should work in my zip code in Wyoming. Well it does not. This is connected through Sprint and I live in a roaming area for their service. This hot spot DOES NOT ROAM. I verified this with a call to Internet on the Go. I bought this for traveling and once I got to an area that Sprint services it worked fine. It won't work in Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota and a lot of other places. Do your homework. I would have given it a better rating if it worked in more places. I would not have bought it if Walmart had stated that it won't work in my home zip code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

01/02/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased internet to go on 12.19.12. Worked great,set up easy.
While traveling on 1.2.13 my mb had shown to run out,though I had 3000 mb
left,it would not work.Kept returning to log on page to refill minutes.
Mistakenly purchased 8 and 4 mb for total $90.00.
After 1 hour of resetting my android and the mobile broadband no luck.
Called internet to go,waited 45 minutes after going through voice prompts.
hung up after not getting a representative. THEIR WEBSITE HAS NO EMAIL
AVAILABLE OR CHAT ???
Called again,waited 45 minutes "Cindy" answered, after a few minutes of checking,
"Cindy" told me internet to go had been suspended my account by ACCIDENT. It may take
up to 48 hours to restore service??? It has been ~ 12 hours and I am without service still.
Also asked Cindy about a refund for the 2 inadvertent purchases I made,initially said no.
After reviewing with "Cindy that I would contact FTC/FCC should relayed to me that they
would give me a one time courtesy refund,suspicious......
After asking "Cindy for a reference to reflect back upon our conversation,
ie: last name,reference idi # or employee #,her response was a generic,we have notes.
I also asked to receive an email confirmation,upon which she told me I would,ony becauseI asked.
Guess what,I have not received an email.
Called internet to go,AGAIN,no one available after 9pm eastern time???
POSITIVES:
internet to go worked great when working
NEGATIVES:
horrendus customer service
long wait times
no email or chat available
RECCOMENDATIONS:
get email/chat capabilities ASAP
Will not reccomend.
Will add to this post when update on service being restarted
and refund are completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Good customer service is very important.
Posted 10/15/2013
Thanks for the heads up on the customer service of this product. I was thinking of purchasing it, but customer service is very important to me. A great product is nothing without great customer service with sufficient knowledge of their product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Yes! Finally the service that meets my needs!

11/03/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been exploring options for MiFi devices for a long time.
There have been choices, such as iPhone with ATT / Verizon, Virgin Mobile, maybe some others.
These are based on monthly, and I don't like paying for something I may not use.
I like having internet connection on my iPod touch when I visit cities or far-away locations. It is then nice having maps application or emails on the road.
So, for occasional use like that, Inter on the Go is the excellent choice. I just bought $10 package for 500 MB that never expires! I think I will use up that much data in 6 months?? Now that's the deal I am talking about!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Economical WiFi

12/11/2012
By ,
Glen Carbon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart's TruConnect is easy to set up and very economical to use. This is excellent for anyone who needs to check email or browse the internet; not as good for someone who wants to download movies, etc. or is constantly online. Works almost as fast as a wired connection. We have used it while riding in a car, etc. No problem with signal strength even when moving about.
The best thing is that one can choose from two data plans: e.g. 1GB that expires in one month for just $10 or 500MB that do not expire if the service is used one a year for $10. Higher amounts of data are also available and easy to add as needed on the internet. Other vendors sell different TruConnect devices/plans: e.g., I think amazon's version has only the data plan that expires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Do not purchase this products!!!

02/11/2013
By ,
Pontotoc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the internet on the go hotspot and love it until the company sent me a email stating that I was using to much data therefore they suspended me for seven days for using data that I purchased. I am telling this because I think it is unfair to punish someone for using the data that they have purchased.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Details please
Posted 07/23/2013
Would it be possible for you to cut and paste the exact content of that email, including the email address that it came from? You can obviously omit your own email address for privacy reasons, but considering many of the reviews concerning problems like your own usually also include a problem seeking answers from a company contact (with a known, working email address); the information you have could prove to be extremely useful for those who are having problems with the service, as well as anyone else considering the service.
Thanks in advance for your help!
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 58 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device. This saves a lot compared to the AT&T monthly plan that I never used the full data amount. The fact that the minutes don't expire lets you only pay for what you use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great hotspot for internet and email

07/27/2012
By ,
Hoover, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hotspot was delivered six days after I ordered it. I went online registered the product which took about 5 minutes. I then went online to purchase the data package. This took about 15 minutes because the website kicked me off a couple of times before it finally went through. I went online using the hotspot. I pulled up several websites with a lot of data. It loaded quickly.
I need mobile internet maybe once a month. This device and the data plan are perfect for me!
Love it....
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+111points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Overcharged by debit card $500 due to a glitch!!

01/27/2013
By ,
Long Island, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Be warned - Internet on the Go charged my debit card $500 worth of recharge fees within a few hour period due to a glitch in their system. The only reason it stopped at $500 is because my bank caught it and denied further charges. 5 phone calls to them and several more to my bank and TWO weeks later the funds were returned to my checking account. Customer service is lacking in english-speaking representatives and ridiculous hold times. Service overall works as advertised, providing you don't have any technical or billing issues that require you to call customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next