Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.86 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(465 Reviews) 419
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
68
Customer Recommendation79%369 out of 465reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
519 Questions | 1,164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
68
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very good for the price

12/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased two of these devices in the past year . As other reviewers have mentioned, the revised pricing is no where near as good as the original offers and it does seem that Wal Mart is not promoting this so much as it is very hard to find in stores.
With that negative, come a positive- the pay as you go is much more cost effective than the typical monthly contract fees of $30, $40 or $50 from the main wireless carriers.
The signal is not as good on this device as the newest 4G devices from the wireless guys, so there are gaps in service and you should be careful to check the website for coverage first.
I would recommend this for lower cost service option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
11/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mobile hotspot because I have an iPad with wifi only, and I wanted to be able to use it in the field. I had been reviewing different hotspot options (for months), and happened upon this mobile hotspot at Walmart. I hadn't wanted to add my iPad to my Verizon plan because I wasn't sure how often I would use it in the field. This mobile hotspot is perfect for me. Set up was simple, it connects quickly every time, and I have the option of connecting on my laptop if I need to. I started out with the $10/500 MB card, and I've been very pleasantly surprised at how little memory I use considering I am now connecting with the hotspot on pretty much a daily basis...sometimes several times a day. In the three weeks I've had it, I have used only 22 MB. I am a Realtor, and now rather than having to print out support documents for myself for each showing, I have all the information on my iPad. I can have clients sign documents in the field on the iPad, and immediately e-mail them copies. This hotspot has proved itself to be dependable, and definitely cost-effective. My only gripe is that they dropped the price about $20 after I bought it. Bad timing on my part, I guess. But since my usage is going to cost me about $1 a month, I won't complain too much. This obviously wouldn't be a good option if you want to stream movies often, etc., but for me it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+599points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hutchinson, MN
May 15, 2013 changing there pay plans
Posted 05/08/2013
Consider the latest email I got from Internet on the Go dropping there $10 -1gb per month and increasing other plans, Virgin mobile unlimited is looking pretty good right now !!!!!
Thank you for being a loyal Internet on the Go customer. On May 15th, Internet on the Go will be changing some of its plans. This price change will affect some but not all of our customers, in fact many will be unaffected by the change. We wanted to give you a heads up, so that you are aware of this upcoming change.
With increasing costs from our network providers, we need to adjust the number of megabytes offered in some plans and will discontinue one of our 30-day plans. As of May 15th, the plans will be:
“Use Whenever” Plans (megabytes never expire)
$10 - 500MB
$25 - 1.5GB
$45 - 3GB
30-Day Plans (megabytes expire after 30 days)
$25 - 2GB
$45 - 4GB
Refills added to your account prior to May 15 will be honored at the previous prices, regardless of when the plan MB’s are used or the 30-day period expires.
We truly regret that we have to make these changes at this time and will continue to work hard to offer you the best plans in the marketplace. As we provide better pricing in the future, we will immediately make that available to you.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 43 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent mobile hotspot for any traveler

02/12/2014
By ,
Alachua, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've tried this hotspot and two others; the others were much more expensive when you consider the short time span the data is purchased for. With this hotspot the data bought stays there until its used, it doesn't time out like most others. I've found it costs me about $25 a month for internet usage every day, or about $10 to $25 if I just use it on trips for vacation for one year of use. As long as you use it once a year the data purchase is always there and available. I've never found a place where it didn't work, and it is easy to use and set up the account. Great value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for Cheap People like us!

08/29/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far we've had this for about one month and it works great! We haven't had any big issues with it except once it didn't want to charge but maybe cuz my charger was a bit broken. Other than that we have refilled 3 times in one month making it $30 spent. We use it for both our phones and surf the internet, text and use Whatsapp (we DON'T use youtube unless we are using wifi from our home, or that takes up all the MB). We prefer paying $30 a month for using BOTH our phones unlimited everything than having a contract or prepaid plan. I work from home so I have our homes wifi on for my phone and my husband takes the mifi to work to keep in touch. Whoever goes out takes the mifi :) This is a very clever way to save money and we are extremely pleased with the Mifi. The economy isn't the best and in case either of us gets laid off, at least we won't be oweing money to a cellfone company. You just pay as you go :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Horrible Customer Service

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device is ok. Slow, but ok. But Customer Service is just plain rude. Short terse rude answers and when pressed the guy just disconnected! No Sorry sir, No we will definitely look into that sir. Just a "No." Just very unprofessional. Will not reup after my megabytes run this time. As others mentioned service is iffy too... sometimes it's so slow it looks like it isn't working.. But those megabytes surely disappear from your account fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very Good Reception & Speed

02/14/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the Internet on the Go device based on reading tons of the reviews and determined this was the best device for my needs. I basically wanted a hotspot for use when I didn't have access to a free WiFi hotpot.
I received my device very quickly, but had a little trouble with the system registering my refill card (1.5 GB) and the carry pouch was not in the package. Apparently when I added the refill card during registration the card seemed to apply to the account but when I called Internet on the Go customer support I was told that the problem was on their end where the refill card did not apply properly. Customer support was very responsive and resolved the problem with the refill card within 36 hours and even gave me a data credit for the amount I used as a result of the system problem and once I provided proof of purchase (verifying date ordered) they mailed out a new carry pouch.
Overall the device gets very good reception in my area and I tested it about 40 miles outside of my area and it was still good. I have only used it for checking emails, Facebook, and some websites. I have not tried to watch any videos due to the fact that streaming uses a lot of data and I want my data to last awhile. One piece of advice I will give is to change your device name and password once you successfully get up and running and check you data usage often. Unfortunately they do not have an app for this any longer so you will have to log into your account each time.
Overall I recommend this device for casual internet usage.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

THROTTLED DATA @ IT'S FINEST! DON'T PURCHASE!

06/15/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life is 4 hours, easy to activate, it does work as a hotspot. However this thing is THROTTLED BEYOND BELIEF! I get an average download speeds of 0.15 download and 0.06 upload. Translation... it takes 20 seconds PLUS for pictures and web pages to load. Please hold your breath while waiting.... LOL. I downloaded a book that was 17MB that took 1 hour and 30 minutes! Unbelievable. I'm selling mine on ebay with 2.9 gigs of data left and going to get a hotspot from clear. FYI.. if you are reading this drop your cell phone provider and get a RELIABLE hotspot and use the PINGER APP... 100 min for $1.99 - 450 for $9.99 and 1000 for 18.99 free incoming calls YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT! This device does what it is supposed to do, however the spotty coverage and slow speeds makes it a pain and virtually useless. DO NOT PURCHASE and I DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

don't waste your money, this item does not work.

03/31/2014
By ,
Bellevue, WA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this item 2 weeks ago, created an account on line and bought $45.00 of time. after i got an email confirmation that my account was ready to go, I tried to connect to the internet but failed several times. contacted customer support and after 20 minutes on hold got someone in India and after providing all the info for this product I was told it was a connectivity issue and not to return the item to Walmart and a ticket was open to resolve the problem, the customer service agent told me I would get a email reply or a phone call in 24 to 48 hours. Here I am 6 business days later still waiting for an email or a reply. Call customer service a 2nd time and took 27 minutes to get someone on the phone, he got the open ticket # and said he had to research it so I had to wait on hold about another 12 minutes, the CSR came back and said he had to create another ticket so I voiced my dissatisfaction about the issue and I asked if I should return the item he said if I wanted to go ahead, I asked what about the the $45.00 of time I bought , so he said I had to call back and open a refund request and that it would take at least 30 days to get my money refunded it. So today I am $120 dollars out of packet and seems like nobody from the Internet to go cares. So item does not work and customer service don't care!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

works but slow

03/16/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I drove from Dallas to Galveston. I used this on the road and in various parks and other attractions. The download speed and upload speed was always about between 0.5 and 0.8 mbps, if there is signal. It proved itself quite useful when mere information, but not speed, is in demand.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
08/20/2012
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, now I can use my smartphone anywhere I go without a minutes plan. I have cut the cord on monthly bills and use my smartphone on wi-fi exclusively (airplane mode) as if it were a mini-tablet. My phone calls go through an app I pay for separately named Skype. The MIFI works great when I'm away from my home wi-fi and the MB's don't expire. So far I'm only using about 70 MB's per month. I tell everyone I meet but they don't understand having a smartphone without a large monthly bill. They love telling me how they never use all of their minutes and data. I don't understand buyiing minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+302points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Wi-Fi / airplane mode
Posted 09/25/2013
Wi-Fi is disabled in airplane mode. So this would not work. Any cellphone would have to have service activated through a service provider to be able to connect to this mobile hotspot.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 51 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Slower Than Dial-up; Unusable

02/13/2014
By ,
Tampa, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I knew the connection speed would be slow, but not this slow. You'd be better off with dial-up. For the most part, I'd call it 'excruciatingly slow' and have had to abandon this device.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not easy to use

03/16/2014
By ,
Middle River
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Although it said it would work in my area, I can register but I can't get connected to the internet and it has already subtracted data, just for registering. This thing seems like it's going to be expensive and aggrevating.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

great connection

01/26/2014
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have not had any problem with using the internet on the go hotspot. You are connected to the internet in seconds and able to play games with no problem. The only problem I saw was with downloading something it takes too long. I brought this product for my tablet and I didn't want to pay a monthly fee for internet on the go because I would only use it when I was out because when I was home I had my home wifi that I could connect to. So far I had the product for a month and I brought the 3gb card for $45 dollars and I have not even used have of my card. The good thing about the time you buy with the card you have a year to use it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Just what I was looking for.

10/19/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three weeks ago I purchased this item with the $10 (100mb) card. We use it mainly for map navigation, Skype and occasional web surfing on Android devices out of home. Connecting our 3 gadgets to this is cheapest by far than my previous monthly data plan.
Speed is not great, but we are able to make voice calls through Skype (to overseas friends) without any issues.
Coverage on rural areas is sparse (5 stars when they improve this). No problem at all in urban zones.
I paid $99 for the hotspot, I just saw it cheaper today. Also, I just purchased a $25 refill card on Walmart expecting to get 500mb. When I redeemed the card on the Internet on the Go webpage, they converted my $25 credit into 1.5Gigabytes... sweeet!
Will leave this one to my wife and buy another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Ideal for limited internet access while traveling

10/13/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was prompt and registration and setup was simple. I had no problems getting online with my Kindle Fire or laptop. Speed was as to be expected with 3G, but is more than adequate for email and general web surfing. I had been told that you could not use the MiFi while you were charging it, but I discovered that this was not true if I turned the MiFi on BEFORE plugging in the charger.
Highly recommended for usage while on the road. The Sprint 3G network is quite extensive and you should have no problems connecting in most cities and on most major highways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Cheap and works, but slow, VERY slow...

10/01/2012
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It connects to the Internet quickly and flawlessly. I am happy, because it serves my purposes. I use this device only for emails and basic web browsing only occasionally when I'm out on the road and don't have any free wifi. However, it's so slow (below 0.5 Mbps)!! I wish it was a bit faster, like 2 to 3 Mbps... For those who are looking for speed and frequent use, this may not be the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+123points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

this is the best thing that has ever been invented

12/15/2013
By ,
tarboro, nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this device. it is easy to connect to. fast loading and downloading. so convent when traveling. yes I would recommend to everyone. two thumbs up
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Perfect for my needs.

12/01/2012
By ,
Topeka
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I wanted something to connect my Ipod touch to when I was on the road. This thing works perfectly for that. I bought the 45 dollar refill card and got the go big plan because I didn't want a time limit on how fast to use the data I paid for. With my Ipod touch and Opera mini browser I used it to browse the web for about 20 minutes and used only two megabytes of data and I opened a lot of different pages. I figure I could use this every day and get what I need done and it will last a year. I couldn't be happier with it. I thought about getting the Tmobile or Verizon hotspots but why pay 35 to 90 bucks a month? I love that I can just pay for the data I use and their is no time limit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

DOESNT WORK WITHIN A 40 MILE RADIUS OF THIS STORE

09/20/2013
By ,
canadensis,pa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not have a reliable network in the 18325 or 18509 zip code. I took the time to research this product and even call the store and was assured that this product uses whichever major provider has the strongest signal. Obviously, this is not true because the only time I BARELY got connected was hanging out the window on the top floor of my house. In Scranton (which is a major city), I got no signal at all. I read on some website that this product uses Sprint only. SPRINT DOES NOT WORK AROUND HERE so DONT SELL THIS IN MOUNT POCONO. Complete waste of my time. I returned it 2 days later and I now have a Verizon Wireless card that works like a charm wherever I am.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easy to set up, but spotty reception

10/07/2013
By ,
Durham, NC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this with the intent of using it at conventions/trade shows. It was easy to set up and the price of the data service was very reasonable.
Outdoors and at home, the signal was strong and it was a useful service. When I went inside a large hotel to use it, the signal was almost non-existent. I was still in the city where the service was supposed to be covered (in the same zip code). I plan to return it. Had it worked even moderately well on the trade-show floor, I would keep it. The service would work for mere moments and then drop off entirely. I gave it a chance over 3 days, but the reception never improved.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 420 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next