Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well but double check Sprint coverage.

10/14/2012
By ,
Cody, Wy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Walmart website says this should work in my zip code in Wyoming. Well it does not. This is connected through Sprint and I live in a roaming area for their service. This hot spot DOES NOT ROAM. I verified this with a call to Internet on the Go. I bought this for traveling and once I got to an area that Sprint services it worked fine. It won't work in Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota and a lot of other places. Do your homework. I would have given it a better rating if it worked in more places. I would not have bought it if Walmart had stated that it won't work in my home zip code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Review 42 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Yes! Finally the service that meets my needs!

11/03/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been exploring options for MiFi devices for a long time.
There have been choices, such as iPhone with ATT / Verizon, Virgin Mobile, maybe some others.
These are based on monthly, and I don't like paying for something I may not use.
I like having internet connection on my iPod touch when I visit cities or far-away locations. It is then nice having maps application or emails on the road.
So, for occasional use like that, Inter on the Go is the excellent choice. I just bought $10 package for 500 MB that never expires! I think I will use up that much data in 6 months?? Now that's the deal I am talking about!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Review 43 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

01/02/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased internet to go on 12.19.12. Worked great,set up easy.
While traveling on 1.2.13 my mb had shown to run out,though I had 3000 mb
left,it would not work.Kept returning to log on page to refill minutes.
Mistakenly purchased 8 and 4 mb for total $90.00.
After 1 hour of resetting my android and the mobile broadband no luck.
Called internet to go,waited 45 minutes after going through voice prompts.
hung up after not getting a representative. THEIR WEBSITE HAS NO EMAIL
AVAILABLE OR CHAT ???
Called again,waited 45 minutes "Cindy" answered, after a few minutes of checking,
"Cindy" told me internet to go had been suspended my account by ACCIDENT. It may take
up to 48 hours to restore service??? It has been ~ 12 hours and I am without service still.
Also asked Cindy about a refund for the 2 inadvertent purchases I made,initially said no.
After reviewing with "Cindy that I would contact FTC/FCC should relayed to me that they
would give me a one time courtesy refund,suspicious......
After asking "Cindy for a reference to reflect back upon our conversation,
ie: last name,reference idi # or employee #,her response was a generic,we have notes.
I also asked to receive an email confirmation,upon which she told me I would,ony becauseI asked.
Guess what,I have not received an email.
Called internet to go,AGAIN,no one available after 9pm eastern time???
POSITIVES:
internet to go worked great when working
NEGATIVES:
horrendus customer service
long wait times
no email or chat available
RECCOMENDATIONS:
get email/chat capabilities ASAP
Will not reccomend.
Will add to this post when update on service being restarted
and refund are completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+125points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Good customer service is very important.
Posted 10/15/2013
Thanks for the heads up on the customer service of this product. I was thinking of purchasing it, but customer service is very important to me. A great product is nothing without great customer service with sufficient knowledge of their product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 44 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device. This saves a lot compared to the AT&T monthly plan that I never used the full data amount. The fact that the minutes don't expire lets you only pay for what you use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Review 45 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Economical WiFi

12/11/2012
By ,
Glen Carbon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart's TruConnect is easy to set up and very economical to use. This is excellent for anyone who needs to check email or browse the internet; not as good for someone who wants to download movies, etc. or is constantly online. Works almost as fast as a wired connection. We have used it while riding in a car, etc. No problem with signal strength even when moving about.
The best thing is that one can choose from two data plans: e.g. 1GB that expires in one month for just $10 or 500MB that do not expire if the service is used one a year for $10. Higher amounts of data are also available and easy to add as needed on the internet. Other vendors sell different TruConnect devices/plans: e.g., I think amazon's version has only the data plan that expires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 46 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for Cheap People like us!

08/29/2013
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So far we've had this for about one month and it works great! We haven't had any big issues with it except once it didn't want to charge but maybe cuz my charger was a bit broken. Other than that we have refilled 3 times in one month making it $30 spent. We use it for both our phones and surf the internet, text and use Whatsapp (we DON'T use youtube unless we are using wifi from our home, or that takes up all the MB). We prefer paying $30 a month for using BOTH our phones unlimited everything than having a contract or prepaid plan. I work from home so I have our homes wifi on for my phone and my husband takes the mifi to work to keep in touch. Whoever goes out takes the mifi :) This is a very clever way to save money and we are extremely pleased with the Mifi. The economy isn't the best and in case either of us gets laid off, at least we won't be oweing money to a cellfone company. You just pay as you go :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 47 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Do not purchase this products!!!

02/11/2013
By ,
Pontotoc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased the internet on the go hotspot and love it until the company sent me a email stating that I was using to much data therefore they suspended me for seven days for using data that I purchased. I am telling this because I think it is unfair to punish someone for using the data that they have purchased.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+93points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Atlanta, GA
Details please
Posted 07/23/2013
Would it be possible for you to cut and paste the exact content of that email, including the email address that it came from? You can obviously omit your own email address for privacy reasons, but considering many of the reviews concerning problems like your own usually also include a problem seeking answers from a company contact (with a known, working email address); the information you have could prove to be extremely useful for those who are having problems with the service, as well as anyone else considering the service.
Thanks in advance for your help!
+5points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 48 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Overcharged by debit card $500 due to a glitch!!

01/27/2013
By ,
Long Island, NY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Be warned - Internet on the Go charged my debit card $500 worth of recharge fees within a few hour period due to a glitch in their system. The only reason it stopped at $500 is because my bank caught it and denied further charges. 5 phone calls to them and several more to my bank and TWO weeks later the funds were returned to my checking account. Customer service is lacking in english-speaking representatives and ridiculous hold times. Service overall works as advertised, providing you don't have any technical or billing issues that require you to call customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+46points
Review 49 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great hotspot for internet and email

07/27/2012
By ,
Hoover, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The hotspot was delivered six days after I ordered it. I went online registered the product which took about 5 minutes. I then went online to purchase the data package. This took about 15 minutes because the website kicked me off a couple of times before it finally went through. I went online using the hotspot. I pulled up several websites with a lot of data. It loaded quickly.
I need mobile internet maybe once a month. This device and the data plan are perfect for me!
Love it....
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+110points
Review 50 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This item sucked pretty bad.

10/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We contacted customer service to find out why our internet signal was so slow and intermittent. Their reply was 'there's probably a lot of people accessing the service right now, so you'll just have to wait and try back later.' Really? Who wants this kind of internet? C Ya...it went back to Walmart the same day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+16points
Review 51 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Absolutely, positively FANTASTIC!

11/12/2012
By ,
Valley Center, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my wife to use with her Visual Land 7 tablet so she could check market prices on antiques BEFORE she buys them.
IT WORKS GREAT!!! She uses it only to surf the web and check e-mail (not for streaming videos).
I love the fact that she has internet access just about anywhere and doesn't need a wifi hotspot to use her tablet.
I LOVE the fact that we have NO contract, NO monthly fee and don't simply LOSE our unused connection time at the end of the month (FLUSHING our money down the drain).
You can start with only a few bucks, we started with $25, and choose to have it automatically refilled (or not) with your credit card so you never run out of access time.
It's fast and easy to check your account on-line to see how much data you've used and how much you have left.
At this price, and the ability to be connected WITHOUT being committed to a high monthly fee, I can't understand why anyone would use any other service.
I also like that my wife has 24/7 internet access so that, in case of an emergency, so she can Skype or send an e-mail without needing a phone.
If you own a tablet that has wifi only this is a CHEAP way to have internet access when you're not within the vicinity of a free wifi hotspot.
I just do NOT understand why Walmart only offers this (and the Visual Land tablet) on line and NOT in their stores. They would sell a bazillion of them if they did.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Review 52 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Love it, Internet at your fingertips!

07/25/2012
By ,
Northeastern US
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits in your pocket and you have Internet access wherever you are! Great because ther are no monthly fees, just pay as you use. You are literally carrying around your own hot spot that no one else can use unless they have your password. You can connect up to 5 devices with it. Great for airports and places where Internet is not available.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+323points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
sonoma county
many problems
Posted 10/12/2013
Recently purchased "internet on the go" Live one hour north of San Francisco. This device works only sporadically, shown by the blinking light. It cuts off repeatedly. Wish there was a better device out there. any suggestions?
0points
Customer Avatar
ND
Posted 09/02/2012
I have been unable to register this divise in my area even tho it says it will work at my zip code. I really would like to hae something that works with Verizone
-4points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 53 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for laptop/tablet internet usage on the go!

07/12/2014
By ,
Chester, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought mine about a year ago in order to be able to connect my laptop to the internet on the go when free WiFi isn't available. This little device is a lifesaver! Sure, it's only 3G, but when you're operating on limited data, lightning fast speed is not really necessary. It's great for checking email, Facebook, viewing photos, browsing the web, occasional standard definition videos viewing (not recommended for viewing videos regularly or streaming), internet chat/telephony, etc.
What's most appealing about Internet To Go that sets it apart from all the wireless internet service provider is the fact that the data NEVER expires. I've had mine for a year to date, and have only had to purchase two $45/3 Gb's worth of service. And the last time I checked, I still have over 1 Gb of data remaining.
Not only has this thing served me well during my travels, it has also proved useful during the time when my home internet was out! It also works well with internet telephony such as Google Voice and I'm pretty sure Skype as well--just make sure you forgo the video.
I was a little worried when I discovered that these little hotspots are being pulled from the store and walmart.com. Come to find out, they were just clearing inventory of these older models and making room for the newer model, which are in sale in the stores now. Prices and the plans still remain the same though (which is a good thing), as well as the fact that it's 3G.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Brooklyn, NY
Thank you, any further info would be greatly appre
Posted 07/23/2014
SadDogItch,
Thank you for sharing about the new model. Is there any further information you can give? I am really interested in this product as it does not require a contract or monthly fee and it seems to be the only one of its kind out there.
Please advise
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 54 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Lost value completely

07/11/2013
By ,
Tyler, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First got this it was 8 gigs for $45. They cut this in half to 4gigs for $45. I though oh well at least no contract. This time when I entered the code for the $45 card they cut it to 3gigs and said we were penalized for high usage. So good BY is all I got to say.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
+19points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fairfax, VA
I agree
Posted 07/20/2013
On the 30 day plan, it used to be $25 for 3gb (Dec 2012), then it was $25 for 2gb (May 2013); now this past week , they've completely eliminated the 30 day plan. It's as if they don't want to sell you any data at all.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 55 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Exceeded my expectations

11/17/2012
By ,
Port St. Lucie, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A smartphone makes and receives phone calls, sends and receives text messages and surfs the web. But they are expensive. Instead of having a smart phone, I use my Tracfone for calls and text messaging. My iPod Touch is an iphone without the phone. It can surf the web through WiFi. The mobile hotspot provides the WiFi so I can do everything a smartphone can do and save a lot of money. Plus, I have stayed at cheap motels that provide WiFi or so they say. It turns out that their WiFi may work on the top floor on one end in good weather if you are lucky. Now I will carry my own WiFi.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Review 56 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

I purchased this to use on our trip to Florida.

11/25/2012
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this to use on our trip to Florida. I was able to travel down I-10 surfing the internet. We had 2 laptops and a tablet connected at the same time and speed did not slow down. This is great to take with you on vacation or a business trip especially if you do not want to use the hotel's WI-FI. It is much more secure than the hotel's. You can have internet wherever you go now and no more worrying about Wi-Fi when traveling. I charged it before we left to Florida and I charged it before we headed back home and it never lost power. I would definitly recommend this to anyone who travels alot for business.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 57 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Not the fastest around but it does the job

01/10/2013
By ,
LaVergne, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I knew going in that the claimed speeds were theoretical under optimal conditions with downloading text only. You absolutely will NOT get the speeds loading graphics or streaming media as you will text. If you want a good browser for this use, I'd suggest Opera. IE and the others are way too hoggish as far as bandwidth and slow speeds go (in this application). I bought this device to use as a hot spot to check email and to post geocaching and munzee finds, and to check for new hides and deployments. I do not plan to stream music or videos or swap pictures. For me, it's on, do my business and get off. All of this for when I travel and don't feel like stopping at a common fast food joint for free WiFi, or when I'm out in the middle of noman's land.
Setup was a snap, although it took a few minutes for everything to sync up and for my airtime card to register. But it works, plain and simple. It's about twice as fast as the old 144 dial up, maybe a bit faster, from what I have seen. Cable and DSL it isn't, so do keep that in mind. It wasn't designed nor intended for that. So if you're looking for blistering speeds, this isn't for you. I like the idea of a pay as you go internet, like my Tracfone cellphone.
Read all the screens and options carefully - For $10, you get 1GB of data that's good for 30 days. Use it or lose it. For that same $10, you can select the option of 500MB and it'll never expire, that is if you log on atleast once a year. I chose the latter.
I would have given this an excellent rating all the way, but I've not tried it out everywhere. So my four stars are based on the limited use I've experienced. So far, I'm quite pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+16points
Review 58 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Product Works, Customer Support Poor (really poor)

03/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product worked as intended for 5 months then suddenly would not allow access to web sites other than "Internet on the Go". This site kept telling me I needed to add money to my account when in fact I still had a large balance. Took over a week to make connection with the company as support line was always busy - hours of being on hold several times a day with no luck. Emails (support tickets) never returned. When I did finally get a hold of a person, he had a strong accent making communication very difficult. Promises in this conversation not kept other than to get account unlocked. He indicated account was locked by mistake. As long as you don't need to reach out for support, you'll likely be pleased. However, I wish you GREAT patience and perseverance if you ever need to call their 800 number. Good Luck !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 59 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

good and no overage charges

12/14/2012
By ,
Richwood, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a competiors mifi it was time for a upgrade but after looking at reviews, it seems that everyones bill is going up on overage charges. So I decided to try this and i am glad i did, i have a better connection and I don't have to worry about a high bill. I would definetly say to try it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 60 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Best buy around for low bandwidth users

10/04/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you have WIFI at home and only ocassionally want to check your email or do light web surfing while on the road this device is great. After using this access point for about 6 weeks, I figure it is going to, on average, cost me about $2-$3 a month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+40points
41-60 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next