Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.851 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(482 Reviews) 436
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
71
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 482reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
536 Questions | 1,221 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
71
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Cannot register device

06/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Out of stock online so I found a store an hour away from me that had just received in a shipment of these hotspots. I followed the directions and the device would not connect to the website for registration. I went to register the device from a wired connection and the site would not take the serial number. I called the customer service number and they also could not get the unit to register. They put in a trouble ticket and said I should hear back within 48 hours. After 48 hours and no response from support I went back to the store and swapped out the hotspot. Same problem, would not register. I have sent two additional notes to support on the trouble ticket and they still have not said one word after a week. Maybe some batches work but don't buy any in Indiana, and don't buy if you expect decent support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Slow even for sprint

02/23/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This runs on sprint network. Also it is either has a lower priority or a worse roaming list then a sprint phone. So its slower than even a sprint phone. 50kb/s - 150kb/s is average. That being said I dropped my cell phone plan. I hardly use my phone for calls. Using Google voice (for texts) and text+ (for calls). Phone calls sometimes are temperamental using this wifi, so be aware. But I wanted it mostly for emergency type use, and for streaming internet radio. If you use pandora I suggest letting the first song stream while paused for a few minutes to prevent buffering on it. This mifi is so slow it will be hard to use even the 1 gig card up. Its worthless for any substantial web browsing as well. RSS feeds, facebook, reddit, is what you might be able to use it for. That said $10 for 1 or 2 months is so affordable I don't know that I can afford to take it back. One month without a phone plan and it has paid for itself. T mobile's mifi might be a better deal depending on how good t mobiles service is in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Horrible Customer Service

04/16/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Device is ok. Slow, but ok. But Customer Service is just plain rude. Short terse rude answers and when pressed the guy just disconnected! No Sorry sir, No we will definitely look into that sir. Just a "No." Just very unprofessional. Will not reup after my megabytes run this time. As others mentioned service is iffy too... sometimes it's so slow it looks like it isn't working.. But those megabytes surely disappear from your account fast!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good idea but defective hardware and bug-ridden.

02/15/2014
By ,
Boulder, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return the unit. Too many phone calls were needed to tech support. The unit not only had a defective charger and/or battery (tech support could not say which), but it also could not consistently connect even when plugged in to the wall. Tech support could diagnose this either. I was also getting false alarms about needing to refill - - that was the last straw. These alarms are so aggressive that Internet To Go disabled my access to WalMart.com - - I was automatically redirected away from WalMart.com - - this was not a popup; I was simply thrown off WalMart's website - - while other websites continued to work as usual. Consider the irony that WalMart's own device blocked me from using WalMart's website, but I could continue to shop at Target.com using the same device - - wouldn't you think it would be the reverse, to keep me from buying a replacement for this device?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for daily email or to look up something

11/23/2012
By ,
Wilmington, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you only use the Internet to check email and occasionally look up something? Do you NOT listen to music or watch videos online? Then this is perfect for you, assuming that you have Sprint 3G coverage where you want it. If you want to watch a video, listen to music, or Skype, then this is probably Not for you. The bandwidth (data pipe) is quite small. Hey, it has its purpose and was perfect for my dad in Bedford, PA! The best part is that you can buy Megabytes of data that never expire - truly a pay as you go (unlike Virgin Mobile that expires monthly). Not sure if you have coverage? Buy it and try it. You will go through an activation process that will either succeed (keep it) or fail (return it). Remember, just because it works where you are at the time of testing does not mean that it will work at your parent's, son's or sister's house (or out camping / down by the river).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent MiFi for Occassional Needs

12/09/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works and the 3G speed is sufficient for regular e-mailing and web surfing. I wouldn't recommend it for HD videos (a lot of buffering and uses up your funds quickly), but some regular videos are fine. When the signal is good, the speed is more than enough. Since it is only 3G, the speed is slower than cable internet but that is to be expected.
I got the product primarily because the Comcast cable internet at my home has started having sporadic problems. Every now and then the speed drops significantly to a point that non-graphics intensive pages don't even show up and this problem could last for a couple of days. As a backup device, this MiFi device does its job. I can send e-mails or log-on to our office system without any issues.
I also use this MiFi device while outside the house. One benefit (I think) of using your own wireless network is that it is more secured when buying stuff on-line or undertaking secure transactions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Overall very good product!

12/13/2012
By ,
Indianapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this MIFI unit for about 2 years, and have recommended it to several friends. This is the lowest cost way to access the Internet with no obligations. How fast this unit works depends on your distance from a Sprint cell tower! While cell phones don't require close proximity to cell towers to function well, this MIFI unit with it's use of only data, needs to be as close as possible to a cell tower for fastest performance! At it's best, it's about the same speed you would experience at a typical Starbucks. It's also very useful as a BACKUP for my home/office Internet connection, and at places where your wifi doesn't work properly. I ALWAYS carry it, along with my iPod Touch 5, in a leather cigarette pouch attached to my belt. A cigarette case is thick enough for both the MIFI and an iPod Touch or typical cell phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Questionable Data Usage

12/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product in Sept 2013. Absolutely loved it. Great speeds. We used it on a trip to Ohio. It didn't eat alot of my Data. Then in November 2013, website changed and data usage skyrocketed. Now if I sneeze in the direction of this device it seems to burn up 50MB. I DEFINITELY would not recommend it. I'm very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
11/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mobile hotspot because I have an iPad with wifi only, and I wanted to be able to use it in the field. I had been reviewing different hotspot options (for months), and happened upon this mobile hotspot at Walmart. I hadn't wanted to add my iPad to my Verizon plan because I wasn't sure how often I would use it in the field. This mobile hotspot is perfect for me. Set up was simple, it connects quickly every time, and I have the option of connecting on my laptop if I need to. I started out with the $10/500 MB card, and I've been very pleasantly surprised at how little memory I use considering I am now connecting with the hotspot on pretty much a daily basis...sometimes several times a day. In the three weeks I've had it, I have used only 22 MB. I am a Realtor, and now rather than having to print out support documents for myself for each showing, I have all the information on my iPad. I can have clients sign documents in the field on the iPad, and immediately e-mail them copies. This hotspot has proved itself to be dependable, and definitely cost-effective. My only gripe is that they dropped the price about $20 after I bought it. Bad timing on my part, I guess. But since my usage is going to cost me about $1 a month, I won't complain too much. This obviously wouldn't be a good option if you want to stream movies often, etc., but for me it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+601points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hutchinson, MN
May 15, 2013 changing there pay plans
Posted 05/08/2013
Consider the latest email I got from Internet on the Go dropping there $10 -1gb per month and increasing other plans, Virgin mobile unlimited is looking pretty good right now !!!!!
Thank you for being a loyal Internet on the Go customer. On May 15th, Internet on the Go will be changing some of its plans. This price change will affect some but not all of our customers, in fact many will be unaffected by the change. We wanted to give you a heads up, so that you are aware of this upcoming change.
With increasing costs from our network providers, we need to adjust the number of megabytes offered in some plans and will discontinue one of our 30-day plans. As of May 15th, the plans will be:
“Use Whenever” Plans (megabytes never expire)
$10 - 500MB
$25 - 1.5GB
$45 - 3GB
30-Day Plans (megabytes expire after 30 days)
$25 - 2GB
$45 - 4GB
Refills added to your account prior to May 15 will be honored at the previous prices, regardless of when the plan MB’s are used or the 30-day period expires.
We truly regret that we have to make these changes at this time and will continue to work hard to offer you the best plans in the marketplace. As we provide better pricing in the future, we will immediately make that available to you.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 30 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Product Works, Customer Support Poor (really poor)

03/08/2014
By ,
Ohio
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Product worked as intended for 5 months then suddenly would not allow access to web sites other than "Internet on the Go". This site kept telling me I needed to add money to my account when in fact I still had a large balance. Took over a week to make connection with the company as support line was always busy - hours of being on hold several times a day with no luck. Emails (support tickets) never returned. When I did finally get a hold of a person, he had a strong accent making communication very difficult. Promises in this conversation not kept other than to get account unlocked. He indicated account was locked by mistake. As long as you don't need to reach out for support, you'll likely be pleased. However, I wish you GREAT patience and perseverance if you ever need to call their 800 number. Good Luck !!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

worked once, then nothing but issues.

07/01/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'm not one to write reviews, but you need to be aware of several things prior to purchase.
Reliability of the service is suspect.
The TOS does not define excessive - so beware if you think you'll have the kids stream a movie off of this device you may incur a 20% usage penalty.
***Also you will want to read the entire terms of service. ***
In it you will find the following tidbits of information:
#1.) Usage is measured and charged session by session in “Units” consisting of whole Megabytes.
#2.) If usage for any session is excessive, a data surcharge not to exceed 20% of the Units may be applied to the session.
#3.) Inactive Account is defined as no Unit activity over a period of 90 days.
#4.) Accounts that are inactive WILL BE CHARGED a maintenance fee every 30 days equal to 25% of the outstanding Unit balance on the account as of the 91st day.
#5.) As long as there is at least one data session within 90 days, Accounts are considered active.
I used this device for 2 days, for a total of 14 minutes of on time, as reported by the device itself from within its admin page. The device tells me that it received a total of 19.37Mb of data and uploaded a total of .37Mb of data. However, my plan has been docked 50MB of data. You tell me, how does 20Mb of data add up to 50Mb of data? I can see some rounding up, but this is almost stealing.
I just now tried to use the device again (6/30 & 7/1), in order to initiate a quick "session" prior to the 90 day window so I would not incur the 25% inactive account surcharge. However, the service is 100% down. My device works, but it will not connect to the cellular network. I called support twice over 2 days, and they are totally unable to help me. As stated by the support rep, their systems are 100% offline and nothing can be done to assist me at this time, all I can do is keep trying to connect, and call back in 24 hours to check on status.
Its a good thing my cell phone is able to also be a hotspot, because this service is not all that its cut out to be.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

customer service at truconnect is very poor

07/09/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
False advertisement!! The device is okay, it do heat up pretty fast. The only reason I choose this over other is because I thought it was a better deal. Beware of false advertising! On the box it was said $25 bonus after your refill (no expiration date listed) this was in May and in June I finished my first refill, call Truconnect and they told me to send all this pictures of prove of purchase which I did but have not heard from them till I call in July. This time they want to see the side of the box which I no longer have after 2 month. I have pictures of the device, the bonus ticket on front of the box, and the receipt from Walmart but they will not honor that! bad customer service!
Recommends this product? No
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Disgusted and Disappointed

04/19/2014
By ,
Ontario Canada
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i perchast this mobile hotspot on the 26th February for a trip in my camper to Texas for a 5 week vacation after several attempts to get up and running and spending about 2 hours trying to get some help i was finally told the uni was faulty so i drove 40 mills to the nearest Walmart and exchanged it . i had already set up an account and perchast $25 of data and registered my old on the go now trying to get my new unit registered without loosing my $25 up to now impossible i have been promise it was being taken care of a numerous occasions and i am still waiting DONT BY THIS PRODUCT THEIR CUSTOMER SERVIS IS NON EXISTANT I still haven't heard from anyone and it has now been (9 weeks) totally disgusted and disappointed
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works Like A Charm

06/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are from Canada and bought this item to use while travelling in the U.S and Wintering in Florida. We used it on a daily basis while in Florida for 2 months and then in several states at hotels with no WiFi. Even tried it while travelling the major highways on the way back to Canada to get weather updates. No issues what-so-ever. Easy to set up, use and refill. Love it....met all our expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent, economical solution for intener access

05/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent choice for people like me who do not use the internet away from home often enough to justify a monthly fee. I have had one for several months and I bought this one as a gift. I am a senior citizen (81) and I cannot afford a smart phone or ipad and the related fees. With the hot spot I feel safer and able to keep up with family and business issues when I am on the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Old fashoned "BAIT AND SWITCH"

10/23/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this Internet On The Go 5 months ago, since then the cost of their data plans have literally DOUBLED! Plus they have eliminated their "Go Bigger" plans - so 5 months ago $25 would have bought 3GB now 1.5GB. $45 would have gotten you a whopping 8GB now 3GB.
I would have given this device 5 stars if not for this unacceptable price increase. It does provide good coverage and speed for moderate internet use. Now this is not the good deal it once was, so I will be searching for other options.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
08/20/2012
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, now I can use my smartphone anywhere I go without a minutes plan. I have cut the cord on monthly bills and use my smartphone on wi-fi exclusively (airplane mode) as if it were a mini-tablet. My phone calls go through an app I pay for separately named Skype. The MIFI works great when I'm away from my home wi-fi and the MB's don't expire. So far I'm only using about 70 MB's per month. I tell everyone I meet but they don't understand having a smartphone without a large monthly bill. They love telling me how they never use all of their minutes and data. I don't understand buyiing minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+302points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Wi-Fi / airplane mode
Posted 09/25/2013
Wi-Fi is disabled in airplane mode. So this would not work. Any cellphone would have to have service activated through a service provider to be able to connect to this mobile hotspot.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 38 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It's Walmart-Take it back if it don't work!!!

02/21/2014
By ,
Wichita, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have broadband internet at home, but wanted mobile internet for my wife's ocassional office use and traveling. I read review after review and decided to take a chance, AFTER ALL IT'S WALMART--you can take it back. Sceptically, I bought this mobile hotspot device and only $10 of "pre-paid internet" initially.
For us, we only wanted email and some web research; for that it has proved invaluable. We use VOIP through ooma at home and VOIP through Line 2 with an Ipod when traveling and frankly the speed on this device makes the VOIP experience doable. A 3g speed that does this is all we wanted; we tried Skype and video, so yes, not a good experience with that. Know what you want!!! We do the auto-renewal for $25, and again, for our use it seems to last forever (well going into 6 months presently). We bought a second unit for our son at Christmas, and about to buy a third unit for the mother-in-law. Recommended! But remember that if you are not happy with it, you've bought it at Walmart so you can take it back. IMO, if you rule out video usage, I think we probably use $10 (500 mb) over 4-6 months. Hard to argue with that. Did I mention that this device is incredibly easy to setup and use?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Just what I was looking for.

10/19/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three weeks ago I purchased this item with the $10 (100mb) card. We use it mainly for map navigation, Skype and occasional web surfing on Android devices out of home. Connecting our 3 gadgets to this is cheapest by far than my previous monthly data plan.
Speed is not great, but we are able to make voice calls through Skype (to overseas friends) without any issues.
Coverage on rural areas is sparse (5 stars when they improve this). No problem at all in urban zones.
I paid $99 for the hotspot, I just saw it cheaper today. Also, I just purchased a $25 refill card on Walmart expecting to get 500mb. When I redeemed the card on the Internet on the Go webpage, they converted my $25 credit into 1.5Gigabytes... sweeet!
Will leave this one to my wife and buy another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great idea, if and when it works

03/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chose this one over the others because I didn't have to lose my bites. Unfortunately, this purchase has been less than useful.
It started with the charger not working... Instructions say to charge it for 3 hours before use. So I hooked up the charger, waited for 3 hours - and the battery had drained instead of charged. Also did not receive the "cloth bag". I was able to get the device charged by using my phone charger - but then I couldn't get on the internet.
Kept going to their "add more time or register your device" page. When I attempted to report this (had to use telephone support 'cause I couldn't get on the 'net) was on hold for 40 some minutes before my call was answered. When I finally got thorough to someone, they said they would replace the charger - but that they couldn't resolve my inability to get on line. Said they were having issues for the past week and didn't expect to have the problem solved for an additional 5 days.
Since I had purchased the device to use while visiting my Mother-in-law and their "downtime" covered my visiting period - I found the device useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 437 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next