Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Overall very good product!

12/13/2012
By ,
Indianapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this MIFI unit for about 2 years, and have recommended it to several friends. This is the lowest cost way to access the Internet with no obligations. How fast this unit works depends on your distance from a Sprint cell tower! While cell phones don't require close proximity to cell towers to function well, this MIFI unit with it's use of only data, needs to be as close as possible to a cell tower for fastest performance! At it's best, it's about the same speed you would experience at a typical Starbucks. It's also very useful as a BACKUP for my home/office Internet connection, and at places where your wifi doesn't work properly. I ALWAYS carry it, along with my iPod Touch 5, in a leather cigarette pouch attached to my belt. A cigarette case is thick enough for both the MIFI and an iPod Touch or typical cell phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+25points
Review 22 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
11/02/2012
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mobile hotspot because I have an iPad with wifi only, and I wanted to be able to use it in the field. I had been reviewing different hotspot options (for months), and happened upon this mobile hotspot at Walmart. I hadn't wanted to add my iPad to my Verizon plan because I wasn't sure how often I would use it in the field. This mobile hotspot is perfect for me. Set up was simple, it connects quickly every time, and I have the option of connecting on my laptop if I need to. I started out with the $10/500 MB card, and I've been very pleasantly surprised at how little memory I use considering I am now connecting with the hotspot on pretty much a daily basis...sometimes several times a day. In the three weeks I've had it, I have used only 22 MB. I am a Realtor, and now rather than having to print out support documents for myself for each showing, I have all the information on my iPad. I can have clients sign documents in the field on the iPad, and immediately e-mail them copies. This hotspot has proved itself to be dependable, and definitely cost-effective. My only gripe is that they dropped the price about $20 after I bought it. Bad timing on my part, I guess. But since my usage is going to cost me about $1 a month, I won't complain too much. This obviously wouldn't be a good option if you want to stream movies often, etc., but for me it's great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+599points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Hutchinson, MN
May 15, 2013 changing there pay plans
Posted 05/08/2013
Consider the latest email I got from Internet on the Go dropping there $10 -1gb per month and increasing other plans, Virgin mobile unlimited is looking pretty good right now !!!!!
Thank you for being a loyal Internet on the Go customer. On May 15th, Internet on the Go will be changing some of its plans. This price change will affect some but not all of our customers, in fact many will be unaffected by the change. We wanted to give you a heads up, so that you are aware of this upcoming change.
With increasing costs from our network providers, we need to adjust the number of megabytes offered in some plans and will discontinue one of our 30-day plans. As of May 15th, the plans will be:
“Use Whenever” Plans (megabytes never expire)
$10 - 500MB
$25 - 1.5GB
$45 - 3GB
30-Day Plans (megabytes expire after 30 days)
$25 - 2GB
$45 - 4GB
Refills added to your account prior to May 15 will be honored at the previous prices, regardless of when the plan MB’s are used or the 30-day period expires.
We truly regret that we have to make these changes at this time and will continue to work hard to offer you the best plans in the marketplace. As we provide better pricing in the future, we will immediately make that available to you.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 23 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

No longer working, no support - worked once

08/11/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this about 9 months ago, and it worked quite nicely for a couple of business trips. I have not needed to use it for a bit, but when I did, no connections. I have tried calling their support line, and there is no answer. Their online chat has not been active during their posted hours, and an email to support only got an automated response. No real response after 10 days, although their web page says 24 hours.
I would try getting through their support line before even thinking about purchasing this item. If you cannot get through to them before buying it, you will do no better after they have your money!
Nice concept, nice pricing, just does not work anymore, and no support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Internet on the go service
Posted 08/24/2014
I purchased almost 2 yrs ago - worked pretty good til about 2 wks ago - then service that worked on and off - then bout a week ago no service - I emailed them - they said they are working on the system - then I was able to connect and the screen came up saying my account was empty and needed refilling - ok, I paid $45 for 3 GB - now whenever I try to connect it shows the screen saying my account is empty. I can go into my account from a working wifi and my account shows I have 3 GB.
I'm starting to think they have had a major failure of some kind and they just don't know how to fix it. Think I'll have the credit card charge removed if it's not working by the time I get the bill and look for another service that works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 24 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Started Good but Service Shrunk

11/13/2013
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I first bought my Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot, I was delighted. I could purchase 8 gigs of data for $45 to be used within 30 days. However when I used the 8 gigs, I got warning emails telling me I was using too much data! I was paying for the data, why do they need to warn me? The first reduction in service was that they limited me to purchasing 4 gigs for $45. Then they reduced it to 3 gigs for $45. Now the only option they are giving me to purchase is 500 megs for $10. I am quite disappointed.
Btw, the speed was spotty. Sometimes it provided snappy, quick website-loading times. Sometimes it seemed like it would take forever to load pages. I think it depended upon the current traffic over the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Review 25 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

It works well and is durable.

01/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this with two 3gb cards expecting to use allot of data for a skype video call project. I have used this for nearly 7 months and have only used 2.7gb. Oviously not allot of skype after the project was complete but that did not use much either. Less than 0.25gb per hour.
It works in the car when traveling the interstates, in small towns, in tin sheds they call convention centers and at home where 3g is sketchy at best.
With two phones, one tablet and two computers it worked well in the car, Ok it did slow a bit with all five connected but it still worked better than nothing on a long trip and cheaper than the phones 3g plan.
I would buy again.
I bought this one because my usage is sporadic and I never loose my data I purchased.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 26 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
08/20/2012
By ,
oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic, now I can use my smartphone anywhere I go without a minutes plan. I have cut the cord on monthly bills and use my smartphone on wi-fi exclusively (airplane mode) as if it were a mini-tablet. My phone calls go through an app I pay for separately named Skype. The MIFI works great when I'm away from my home wi-fi and the MB's don't expire. So far I'm only using about 70 MB's per month. I tell everyone I meet but they don't understand having a smartphone without a large monthly bill. They love telling me how they never use all of their minutes and data. I don't understand buyiing minutes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+301points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vancouver, WA
Wi-Fi / airplane mode
Posted 09/25/2013
Wi-Fi is disabled in airplane mode. So this would not work. Any cellphone would have to have service activated through a service provider to be able to connect to this mobile hotspot.
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 27 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Just what I was looking for.

10/19/2012
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Three weeks ago I purchased this item with the $10 (100mb) card. We use it mainly for map navigation, Skype and occasional web surfing on Android devices out of home. Connecting our 3 gadgets to this is cheapest by far than my previous monthly data plan.
Speed is not great, but we are able to make voice calls through Skype (to overseas friends) without any issues.
Coverage on rural areas is sparse (5 stars when they improve this). No problem at all in urban zones.
I paid $99 for the hotspot, I just saw it cheaper today. Also, I just purchased a $25 refill card on Walmart expecting to get 500mb. When I redeemed the card on the Internet on the Go webpage, they converted my $25 credit into 1.5Gigabytes... sweeet!
Will leave this one to my wife and buy another one for myself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 28 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Cheap and works, but slow, VERY slow...

10/01/2012
By ,
Eugene, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It connects to the Internet quickly and flawlessly. I am happy, because it serves my purposes. I use this device only for emails and basic web browsing only occasionally when I'm out on the road and don't have any free wifi. However, it's so slow (below 0.5 Mbps)!! I wish it was a bit faster, like 2 to 3 Mbps... For those who are looking for speed and frequent use, this may not be the best choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+124points
Review 29 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Ideal for limited internet access while traveling

10/13/2012
By ,
Houston TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Delivery was prompt and registration and setup was simple. I had no problems getting online with my Kindle Fire or laptop. Speed was as to be expected with 3G, but is more than adequate for email and general web surfing. I had been told that you could not use the MiFi while you were charging it, but I discovered that this was not true if I turned the MiFi on BEFORE plugging in the charger.
Highly recommended for usage while on the road. The Sprint 3G network is quite extensive and you should have no problems connecting in most cities and on most major highways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+57points
Review 30 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Perfect for my needs.

12/01/2012
By ,
Topeka
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this because I wanted something to connect my Ipod touch to when I was on the road. This thing works perfectly for that. I bought the 45 dollar refill card and got the go big plan because I didn't want a time limit on how fast to use the data I paid for. With my Ipod touch and Opera mini browser I used it to browse the web for about 20 minutes and used only two megabytes of data and I opened a lot of different pages. I figure I could use this every day and get what I need done and it will last a year. I couldn't be happier with it. I thought about getting the Tmobile or Verizon hotspots but why pay 35 to 90 bucks a month? I love that I can just pay for the data I use and their is no time limit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Review 31 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for occasional WiFi needs

10/17/2012
By ,
Allen, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the mifi primarily to give me WiFi access at Craft Fairs and similar venues in order to take Square credit card payments on my WiFi only IPad, it has yet to let my down as long as it had sufficient battery charge. The claimed 4 hour battery life appears to be genuine so I will obtain a backup battery to give me all day access. The service has got even better this week since they have reduced the charges from $20 for 450mb to $10 for 500mb.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+49points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SC
Where do you get your service?
Posted 11/17/2012
How do you get a service plan? I only want this so that I can access my i-tune i-cloud account on my ipod touch while going back and forth to work. In other words, I probably won't need more than 4-5 hours of "access" a week. Thank you for your response in advance.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Best pricing model available

11/01/2012
By ,
Omaha Nebraska
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Because you only pay for the actual usage, with zero monthly or other charges this is the best value for less than 2GB per month wireless internet usage.
The speeds that I am getting 0.4 mbps peak hours to 0.95 mbps for very early morning hours are plenty fast enough for web browsing and checking email. I even did several 100 to 700 MB downloads, the latter one taking 1.5 hours.
If you know that your wireless internet usage will be much less than 4GB per month, there is nothing that compares to the value of TruConnect "Internet on the Go".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+30points
Review 33 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

THROTTLED DATA @ IT'S FINEST! DON'T PURCHASE!

06/15/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery life is 4 hours, easy to activate, it does work as a hotspot. However this thing is THROTTLED BEYOND BELIEF! I get an average download speeds of 0.15 download and 0.06 upload. Translation... it takes 20 seconds PLUS for pictures and web pages to load. Please hold your breath while waiting.... LOL. I downloaded a book that was 17MB that took 1 hour and 30 minutes! Unbelievable. I'm selling mine on ebay with 2.9 gigs of data left and going to get a hotspot from clear. FYI.. if you are reading this drop your cell phone provider and get a RELIABLE hotspot and use the PINGER APP... 100 min for $1.99 - 450 for $9.99 and 1000 for 18.99 free incoming calls YOU CAN'T BEAT THAT! This device does what it is supposed to do, however the spotty coverage and slow speeds makes it a pain and virtually useless. DO NOT PURCHASE and I DO NOT RECOMMEND.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 34 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far, so good.

09/26/2012
By ,
Franklin, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I seem to have decent coverage with this mifi in massachusetts. Internet speed is ok. I'd recommend this device for occasional usage on a phone or tablet. Its great that your balance does not expire as long you use it. In my opinion, this device should not be used to replace your regular home isp, for occasional mobile usage, its great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Review 35 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good idea but defective hardware and bug-ridden.

02/15/2014
By ,
Boulder, NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had to return the unit. Too many phone calls were needed to tech support. The unit not only had a defective charger and/or battery (tech support could not say which), but it also could not consistently connect even when plugged in to the wall. Tech support could diagnose this either. I was also getting false alarms about needing to refill - - that was the last straw. These alarms are so aggressive that Internet To Go disabled my access to WalMart.com - - I was automatically redirected away from WalMart.com - - this was not a popup; I was simply thrown off WalMart's website - - while other websites continued to work as usual. Consider the irony that WalMart's own device blocked me from using WalMart's website, but I could continue to shop at Target.com using the same device - - wouldn't you think it would be the reverse, to keep me from buying a replacement for this device?
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 36 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Works well but double check Sprint coverage.

10/14/2012
By ,
Cody, Wy
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The Walmart website says this should work in my zip code in Wyoming. Well it does not. This is connected through Sprint and I live in a roaming area for their service. This hot spot DOES NOT ROAM. I verified this with a call to Internet on the Go. I bought this for traveling and once I got to an area that Sprint services it worked fine. It won't work in Wyoming, Montana, North and South Dakota and a lot of other places. Do your homework. I would have given it a better rating if it worked in more places. I would not have bought it if Walmart had stated that it won't work in my home zip code.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+68points
Review 37 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Yes! Finally the service that meets my needs!

11/03/2012
By ,
Harrisonburg, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been exploring options for MiFi devices for a long time.
There have been choices, such as iPhone with ATT / Verizon, Virgin Mobile, maybe some others.
These are based on monthly, and I don't like paying for something I may not use.
I like having internet connection on my iPod touch when I visit cities or far-away locations. It is then nice having maps application or emails on the road.
So, for occasional use like that, Inter on the Go is the excellent choice. I just bought $10 package for 500 MB that never expires! I think I will use up that much data in 6 months?? Now that's the deal I am talking about!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Review 38 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/31/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great device. This saves a lot compared to the AT&T monthly plan that I never used the full data amount. The fact that the minutes don't expire lets you only pay for what you use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+222points
Review 39 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

01/02/2013
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased internet to go on 12.19.12. Worked great,set up easy.
While traveling on 1.2.13 my mb had shown to run out,though I had 3000 mb
left,it would not work.Kept returning to log on page to refill minutes.
Mistakenly purchased 8 and 4 mb for total $90.00.
After 1 hour of resetting my android and the mobile broadband no luck.
Called internet to go,waited 45 minutes after going through voice prompts.
hung up after not getting a representative. THEIR WEBSITE HAS NO EMAIL
AVAILABLE OR CHAT ???
Called again,waited 45 minutes "Cindy" answered, after a few minutes of checking,
"Cindy" told me internet to go had been suspended my account by ACCIDENT. It may take
up to 48 hours to restore service??? It has been ~ 12 hours and I am without service still.
Also asked Cindy about a refund for the 2 inadvertent purchases I made,initially said no.
After reviewing with "Cindy that I would contact FTC/FCC should relayed to me that they
would give me a one time courtesy refund,suspicious......
After asking "Cindy for a reference to reflect back upon our conversation,
ie: last name,reference idi # or employee #,her response was a generic,we have notes.
I also asked to receive an email confirmation,upon which she told me I would,ony becauseI asked.
Guess what,I have not received an email.
Called internet to go,AGAIN,no one available after 9pm eastern time???
POSITIVES:
internet to go worked great when working
NEGATIVES:
horrendus customer service
long wait times
no email or chat available
RECCOMENDATIONS:
get email/chat capabilities ASAP
Will not reccomend.
Will add to this post when update on service being restarted
and refund are completed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+125points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Chicago, IL
Good customer service is very important.
Posted 10/15/2013
Thanks for the heads up on the customer service of this product. I was thinking of purchasing it, but customer service is very important to me. A great product is nothing without great customer service with sufficient knowledge of their product.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 40 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Economical WiFi

12/11/2012
By ,
Glen Carbon, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart's TruConnect is easy to set up and very economical to use. This is excellent for anyone who needs to check email or browse the internet; not as good for someone who wants to download movies, etc. or is constantly online. Works almost as fast as a wired connection. We have used it while riding in a car, etc. No problem with signal strength even when moving about.
The best thing is that one can choose from two data plans: e.g. 1GB that expires in one month for just $10 or 500MB that do not expire if the service is used one a year for $10. Higher amounts of data are also available and easy to add as needed on the internet. Other vendors sell different TruConnect devices/plans: e.g., I think amazon's version has only the data plan that expires.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
21-40 of 438 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next