Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.873 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(463 Reviews) 417
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Recommendation80%369 out of 463reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
519 Questions | 1,164 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
225
4 stars
114
3 stars
30
2 stars
28
1 star
66
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Wrks great. Best value. No Contracts.

01/13/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For mobile 3g internet this is the best deal going. It's very inexpensive. Your megabytes never expire and you just add more as needed. There are no hidden fees or charges and no cancellation fee. If you don't want to use it any more just stop using it. If you change your mind, start using it again. No reactivation charge as long as you've used it at least once in a years time. You have to understand this is 3G internet speed. You get 500Mbp/s up to 1Gbp/s at best in most cases. Good for surfing the net and email. It's not ideal for online gaming and watching movies. But even 4G devices are'nt that great for those either. It's not as fast as Cable, DSL, or FiOS. But when you are on the go and need internet wherever you are this thing delivers. No Contracts! No other Fees! Just buy a refill when you need it. $10 for 500MB will get you quite a ways. Even 1.5Gb for $25 is a lot cheaper than others where you are in a 2 year contract at $60 / month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good option

01/17/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read all of the previous reviews before I made the purchase of the Hotspot. The price is reasonable as many other reviews discussed; especially compared to Verizon (my other option).
Set up was fairly simple. The instruction guide can be confusing when it describes the many
different blinking light-modes & what they mean. The few times I have used Hotspot in other locations, (away from home), I have had difficulty downloading apps on our Kindles. The apps are ordered through Amazon but it can take up to 72 hours before the apps appear on our Kindles. Amazon has not been able to explain this problem. I am disappointed that we cannot access the Internet with the Hotspot (so far) while traveling in our cars. I wish the manufacturer would provide some type of indication for battery-life on the unit. We are never sure how much power we have left on the Hotspot. The unit is tiny, lightweight; the charger is almost larger than the unit itself. We like that we can connect up to 5 products to the Hotspot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Questionable Data Usage

12/18/2013
By ,
Dunnellon, Fl
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this product in Sept 2013. Absolutely loved it. Great speeds. We used it on a trip to Ohio. It didn't eat alot of my Data. Then in November 2013, website changed and data usage skyrocketed. Now if I sneeze in the direction of this device it seems to burn up 50MB. I DEFINITELY would not recommend it. I'm very disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Secure connection while traveling.

04/08/2014
By ,
Xenia, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to be away from home for an extended period and did not want to do my banking/bills through the hotel wi-fi. I bought this device to have a secure alternative. The area of Florida I was to be in for 6 weeks, was in a good coverage area.
The store I picked it up at did not have any cards for the data. Not a problem! The device comes with approximately 36 MB, so you can connect with it to securely purchase more data online. I decided to purchase the $25 data plan with 1500 MBs. I was only going to use it for my banking.
I ended up using it several times for video calling on the road with my iPad. I even used it on the road through the Appalachian mountains! I Skyped with it, and caught up on Facebook in West Virginia. I was pleasantly surprised at the good coverage. I bought this in February and still have over 1300 MBs remaining on my account! I love knowing that the data does not expire. This device would not be economical to use throughout the day for surfing the web, but for occasional use when a secure connection is not available, this is the ticket.
It was super easy to set up, and I am no techno-geek. This device is so compact, it fits in my wallet. I carry it everywhere. I will never be without an internet connection again!
The speed is not as good as my home network, but when you need a private connection on the go, Internet on the Go is definitely the way to go! I would definitely recommend this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great idea, if and when it works

03/17/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Chose this one over the others because I didn't have to lose my bites. Unfortunately, this purchase has been less than useful.
It started with the charger not working... Instructions say to charge it for 3 hours before use. So I hooked up the charger, waited for 3 hours - and the battery had drained instead of charged. Also did not receive the "cloth bag". I was able to get the device charged by using my phone charger - but then I couldn't get on the internet.
Kept going to their "add more time or register your device" page. When I attempted to report this (had to use telephone support 'cause I couldn't get on the 'net) was on hold for 40 some minutes before my call was answered. When I finally got thorough to someone, they said they would replace the charger - but that they couldn't resolve my inability to get on line. Said they were having issues for the past week and didn't expect to have the problem solved for an additional 5 days.
Since I had purchased the device to use while visiting my Mother-in-law and their "downtime" covered my visiting period - I found the device useless.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Slow even for sprint

02/23/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This runs on sprint network. Also it is either has a lower priority or a worse roaming list then a sprint phone. So its slower than even a sprint phone. 50kb/s - 150kb/s is average. That being said I dropped my cell phone plan. I hardly use my phone for calls. Using Google voice (for texts) and text+ (for calls). Phone calls sometimes are temperamental using this wifi, so be aware. But I wanted it mostly for emergency type use, and for streaming internet radio. If you use pandora I suggest letting the first song stream while paused for a few minutes to prevent buffering on it. This mifi is so slow it will be hard to use even the 1 gig card up. Its worthless for any substantial web browsing as well. RSS feeds, facebook, reddit, is what you might be able to use it for. That said $10 for 1 or 2 months is so affordable I don't know that I can afford to take it back. One month without a phone plan and it has paid for itself. T mobile's mifi might be a better deal depending on how good t mobiles service is in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Really great!

03/02/2014
By ,
Saint Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered with free-shipping, which said I'd receive in like 7-8 days. However, it arrived much sooner. I signed up for the $10/500mb auto-refill plan, just to see how much data my 83 y/o mom would use at first. I live in St Louis, but my mom lives in Oregon. So once I created an account for auto-refills? I sent the Internet-to-GO unit to my mother. She needed only a tiny bit of help to get her laptop in sync. My mom is elated! She loves that she can use it anywhere, and it's just like using wifi at her favorite cafe or McDonalds. Wish I would've done this sooner. And because my mother only emails (no movies, videos, Facebook, etc.)....she can use this as her sole internet connection at home at a fraction of the cost of DSL or cable. She's only had it a week now, but tells me it works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

No need for smart phone

02/05/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you need internet on the go with in Sprint coverage area this hotspot has been working for me. Don't buy data online from Walmart! It takes them forever. Buy in store or with credit card from Internet on the go. $45 my seam like a lot for 3mb but if you are occasional user and don't download pic's or movies & shut off auto updates it will last a long time and the best part it doesn't expire. I love it for vacation while on the road.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great Hotspot

12/19/2013
By ,
Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am not a tech guy, I'm a 69 year old grandpa and needed a way to get my email while visiting family that doesn't have internet. I took it out of the box and was able to connect in a matter of minutes. The only trouble I had was while registering.
For some reason the site didn't like the serial number. I called the toll free customer support number and got it fixed quickly. I have only used this hotspot in one location so far, but it works as well as if I were home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good news for internet users

01/27/2014
By ,
Unkind TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The internet on the go mobile hotspot is great for traveling and for those that want and need to have the internet close to them at all times. It is easy to connect to your Wi-Fi connection on your laptop or tablet and there is no extra gadget connected to your laptop or tablet. This was a great buy for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Does exactly what it says it will.

03/05/2014
By ,
Mount Joy, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot was easily activated with my computer and it has a decent speed. I love the small size which fits conveniently in the computer bag when not in use. Connecting to the internet is easy when traveling and eliminates the need to find public wi-fi.
The down side is that for $25 only 1.5 gigabites is provided. This is used faster than I had anticipated. The hotspot is good value but there should be more time for the cost of the cards.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Old fashoned "BAIT AND SWITCH"

10/23/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this Internet On The Go 5 months ago, since then the cost of their data plans have literally DOUBLED! Plus they have eliminated their "Go Bigger" plans - so 5 months ago $25 would have bought 3GB now 1.5GB. $45 would have gotten you a whopping 8GB now 3GB.
I would have given this device 5 stars if not for this unacceptable price increase. It does provide good coverage and speed for moderate internet use. Now this is not the good deal it once was, so I will be searching for other options.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great wifi for minimal use

01/25/2014
By ,
Fountain Inn, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wish that we could stream more movies and music, but it is EXCELLENT for doing everything else...you can spend as much time as you want downloading stuff for school, emailing, social networking...
I was extremely impressed with this device because we live in the middle of the woods and it still provides fast surfing...name brand internet services and a lot of tv cable companies don't come this far, or either don't get good reception. Very pleased with Internet on the Go!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent MiFi for Occassional Needs

12/09/2012
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product works and the 3G speed is sufficient for regular e-mailing and web surfing. I wouldn't recommend it for HD videos (a lot of buffering and uses up your funds quickly), but some regular videos are fine. When the signal is good, the speed is more than enough. Since it is only 3G, the speed is slower than cable internet but that is to be expected.
I got the product primarily because the Comcast cable internet at my home has started having sporadic problems. Every now and then the speed drops significantly to a point that non-graphics intensive pages don't even show up and this problem could last for a couple of days. As a backup device, this MiFi device does its job. I can send e-mails or log-on to our office system without any issues.
I also use this MiFi device while outside the house. One benefit (I think) of using your own wireless network is that it is more secured when buying stuff on-line or undertaking secure transactions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This item sucked pretty bad.

10/28/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We contacted customer service to find out why our internet signal was so slow and intermittent. Their reply was 'there's probably a lot of people accessing the service right now, so you'll just have to wait and try back later.' Really? Who wants this kind of internet? C Ya...it went back to Walmart the same day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So far so good...

01/28/2014
By ,
Wintervillle, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only had it a couple of weeks and have not had much opportunity to use it as I purchased it for when we travel. One of the great advantages is being able to load it whenever I need to and that the minutes don't expire so we can be much more flexible on how we use it. The purchase was easy. I ordered it online and picked it up at the local store. The device is very lightweight and easy to carry. Came with a little cloth cover, which was nice, although if you want it to be protected from damage, you will need something more substantial. Setting it up proved a little problematic because it never allowed me to register as I thought it would give you some temporary access to do that, but I was finally able to use my phone to register the product and purchase some time. After that, no problems at all. The signal was strong where I was located and I am hoping that as we travel across the county later in the year, we will enjoy good coverage. From what I could tell during the time I was using it is that there may be some speed issues, but most of the information I read indicated you are not going to burn up the information highway with this device, but I think it will serve most general use purposes and that is what I wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for daily email or to look up something

11/23/2012
By ,
Wilmington, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you only use the Internet to check email and occasionally look up something? Do you NOT listen to music or watch videos online? Then this is perfect for you, assuming that you have Sprint 3G coverage where you want it. If you want to watch a video, listen to music, or Skype, then this is probably Not for you. The bandwidth (data pipe) is quite small. Hey, it has its purpose and was perfect for my dad in Bedford, PA! The best part is that you can buy Megabytes of data that never expire - truly a pay as you go (unlike Virgin Mobile that expires monthly). Not sure if you have coverage? Buy it and try it. You will go through an activation process that will either succeed (keep it) or fail (return it). Remember, just because it works where you are at the time of testing does not mean that it will work at your parent's, son's or sister's house (or out camping / down by the river).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Overall very good product!

12/13/2012
By ,
Indianapolis
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've used this MIFI unit for about 2 years, and have recommended it to several friends. This is the lowest cost way to access the Internet with no obligations. How fast this unit works depends on your distance from a Sprint cell tower! While cell phones don't require close proximity to cell towers to function well, this MIFI unit with it's use of only data, needs to be as close as possible to a cell tower for fastest performance! At it's best, it's about the same speed you would experience at a typical Starbucks. It's also very useful as a BACKUP for my home/office Internet connection, and at places where your wifi doesn't work properly. I ALWAYS carry it, along with my iPod Touch 5, in a leather cigarette pouch attached to my belt. A cigarette case is thick enough for both the MIFI and an iPod Touch or typical cell phone.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

customer service at truconnect is very poor

07/09/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
False advertisement!! The device is okay, it do heat up pretty fast. The only reason I choose this over other is because I thought it was a better deal. Beware of false advertising! On the box it was said $25 bonus after your refill (no expiration date listed) this was in May and in June I finished my first refill, call Truconnect and they told me to send all this pictures of prove of purchase which I did but have not heard from them till I call in July. This time they want to see the side of the box which I no longer have after 2 month. I have pictures of the device, the bonus ticket on front of the box, and the receipt from Walmart but they will not honor that! bad customer service!
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Very good for the price

12/06/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have purchased two of these devices in the past year . As other reviewers have mentioned, the revised pricing is no where near as good as the original offers and it does seem that Wal Mart is not promoting this so much as it is very hard to find in stores.
With that negative, come a positive- the pay as you go is much more cost effective than the typical monthly contract fees of $30, $40 or $50 from the main wireless carriers.
The signal is not as good on this device as the newest 4G devices from the wireless guys, so there are gaps in service and you should be careful to check the website for coverage first.
I would recommend this for lower cost service option.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 418 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next