Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Internet on the Go Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Easily connect to the Internet anywhere you go with the Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot. Featuring the slim footprint of a credit card, this mobile hotspot allows you to connect up to five WiFi-enabled devices, such as tablets, laptops and e-Readers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.845 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(483 Reviews) 437
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Recommendation79%381 out of 483reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
232
4 stars
118
3 stars
31
2 stars
30
1 star
72
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Pleasantly surprised

11/12/2013
By ,
Miami
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I actually tinkered with the idea of purchasing this product - The Internet on the go - and after three months of debating I went ahead and bought it. No regrets here. It was EXTREMELY easy to set up and activate online -less than 5 minutes. I charged it and used it today with my iPad. At first it was really slow - I couldn't even load the page. THEN I turned the wifi off on my iPad and turned it back on. From there it worked flawlessly. I checked the public internet I was on and tested the speed against the Internet on the go. Needless to say, Internet on the go was quick and works flawlessly. I didn't want to eat up the data so after surfing a few pages and sending a few emails, I turned it off. Tonight when I came home, I decided to connect my macbook air and see how quick the pages loaded. It loaded quickly - no problems whatsoever. I checked a few internet pages, checked my data balance and downloaded some email messages (I didn't download attachments though). I think it's extremely efficient and doesn't feel like 3G at all - felt quicker than that when the pages are loading. I would imagine if you're in an area that shows a gap kind of coverage (based on the coverage map), I would think it would be slower (no different than when you're in a concrete building with no windows and your iPhone has only one or two bars - same concept. But if you're looking for a great value - no expiration of data (which is extremely important to me as I don'y like the monthly contracts for this type of service) then this little gadget is for you. It's the size of a credit card and as thin as a pencil. I'm a tech-e kind of girl and although I had minimal expectations for this little INTERNET ON THE GO, I am extremely happy and pleasantly surprised. I think you will be too.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+190points
Review 2 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Excellent value

08/06/2012
By ,
Waukesha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this using Site-To-Store (not sure why it isn't carried locally), and it arrived after only a few days. I had some trouble getting the unit to register (probably because of something I did wrong), but customer service was extremely friendly and helpful, and had me connected after about a 10 minute phone call.
I've used the service with both a laptop and smartphone. I find the speeds to be adequate for most internet tasks, but obviously I would not recommend trying to view videos or download files with this service.
The account management website is also very useful, as it measures usage in tenths of a megabyte (instead of rounding up) and instantly updates your remaining balance. The auto refill option is also great, giving you the best price per megabyte ($20 for 450 megabytes) and giving you peace of mind you won't be left without a connection when your balance gets low.
I highly recommend this service to anyone who needs mobile internet on a sporadic basis.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+148points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beautiful Schenectady NY
did it state that it would not work in your area?
Posted 08/18/2012
This is available at my local store, YET online it says that service not available in my zip code (same as the store!). I'm wondering if it stated the same for you too. Sems like a great deal especially for occasional users, sort of the Tracfone of Hotspots!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Why didn't I do this earlier???

10/07/2013
By ,
Ft Hood, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking at the Wal Mart Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot for a few months. Last month my cable provider bill jumped up AGAIN, now to $175/month. They have to be kidding themselves!! I'm 69 and not the most computer savvy guy, but that was way over the limit!!
I bought the WIFI gadget, still not knowing how long 3GB of data would last. I check my 3 email accounts and do shopping on Ebay and Amazon, so I'm on the internet for a few hours minimum each day. This is the middle of month #2, and it says I still have 1.6GB left!!!!!! I can get about THREE MONTHS out of 3GB ($35) (for what I WAS paying $69.99 PER MONTH????). I now have my 3 laptops, Kindle Fire, and my Ipad2 automatically connect to the hotspot, so it's really a breeze to get internet with any of them now. I really love the small size and I can literally carry my very own internet hotspot with me everywhere I go. Sprint has very good coverage everywhere I have taken the hotspot to in central Texas. It is truly an amazing alternative!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+147points
Review 4 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
06/04/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband said this device would not work when he received it as a gift. I set up the service for him several months later. Now, he LIKES this device! Once set up, it is easy to use. It works well at home and at a hotel. We used it to help us navigate a new city as my husband obtained directions from our tablet connected to this device and I drove. We like that the remaining MgBs can be long term. This device may not be outstanding for downloading large files, gaming, or surfing for long periods of time but it is just right for our current needs.
We did find some short-comings with this device & service: this device does not indicate how much battery life is available, this device does not indicate when the battery is fully charged, the service does not allow you to change the SSID name, the service does not indicate easily your remaining MgBs, the service does not work with the VPN services we have tried, and the service provides limited customer support.
All in all, we do like this device so far!
Recommends this product? Yes
+65points
Review 5 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good product and easy to set up.

11/19/2012
By ,
Poway, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Read a lot of reviews before making purchase. Decided to purchase this item due to the price, $25 credit towards usage after purchase and the inexpensive plans with no contracts. Was super easy to set up and get connected. Purchased the $10 plan for the first month to determine what my usage level will be. Still in my first month so still in the testing stage. The range is decent. Says it will connect up to 33 ft away. I have not been more than 20 ft away which produced a medium-low signal. I don't see why I would have the device more than a few inches away from my laptop and tablet so range is not an issue. The connection speed is definitely NOT comparable to wireless high speed internet so you will be disappointed if that is what you are looking for. I'm happy with the product and the pay as you go (with no contract) plans. I've been wanting to get connected "on the go" for years but I was not willing to pay the ridiculous monthly rates. These plans are reasonably priced which makes it more affordable for everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Activate
Posted 06/27/2013
yes! how do you activate the card with your cell phone do you go under add wifi, or what and as always thank you! for your help.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Helps in a pinch but extremely slow...

10/22/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a possible replacement for my cable provided internet at home. I set it up quick and easy and was able to purchase data easily. Once I got it up and running I tried it on my ipad mini and it had trouble loading videos and would load and stop intermittently.
The speed felt like old school dial up. If you plan to stream videos like you do at home you'll be sorely disappointed. The speed results of this device in Los Angeles are 0.13 Download and 0.26 Upload. My Home internet speeds are 15.11 download and 1.99 upload so it can't compete with what I have at home.
Still debating if I should return it or not. On the plus side it's tiny, easy to use, the data doesn't expire as long as you use it once per year and refilling it seems to be a breeze. I could see using this for navigation in the car, or using it when wifi is not available as my ipad is wifi-only and of course I can share my internet connection with a friend but at these speed results just using it with one device at a time, I'm not sure I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+66points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Appleton, Wisconsin
Wait for updates!
Posted 03/11/2014
I'm a big Sprint fan and I follow updates from them, they are currently in their "Network Vision", which means they are taking every tower's equipment and replacing it with faster 3G and 4G LTE equipment. Those speedtests were more than likely before the new equipment, usually you should see around 1-2.5 mbps for download speeds. Enough for multiple devices to access the internet for light data usage.
0points
Customer Avatar
Huntley, Il
Wrong use...
Posted 11/13/2013
This mobile hot spot is not supposed to replace xfinity. It's only for on the road email and quick checking a Facebook response . Keep it short and pithy.
+6points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Drastic price increases in last year or so!

11/23/2013
By ,
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When I purchases this, it was $45 for 4gig of data. They have since raised the price dramatically by now charging $45 for only 3gig of data. A cut of 25% of data is pretty big!
Also, you used to get charged for what you used. They changed their accounting, and now every time that thing dings their servers, they charge you a full 1MB. So when you're email checks for email, and you don't have any (which uses very little data), you're getting dinged big time (1MB) over the actual usage.
I use to go a day using 3-5 MBs (checking/getting email and iMessages and maybe looking at a webpage), and now that same typical day is costing me upwards of 20+ MB's. That's 4-7 times the amount of data I was being charged for before they made their accounting change, which I guess their contract says they can do at will.
So between the refill cards giving you much less data for your money, and their "new accounting procedures", this is NOT the deal it once was. I'll be looking for other solutions with quicker speed and more coverage now that this is not the economic solution it once was.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+249points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
US
question
Posted 02/11/2014
how would you compare the price to Cable, which I think it ridiculous.
+1point
Customer Avatar
MI
Posted 12/06/2013
I agree with SFeNM's assessment ... "this is NOT the deal it once was." On top of the massive price increase, including the accounting change (MB/unit charging), there is also an inactivity fee of 25%/month of your balance should you not use the device at least once within 90 days. With all the WiFi hotspots available today, I only use this device as a backup/travel connection, hence I must now post a reminder on my calendar to prevent incurring the 90 day inactivity fee. It would appear that this company's business plan has shifted ... it is no longer focused on its MiFi customer service, but now offers Auto Road Service, Shoping Discounts, and Identity Protection Insurance. Read the Terms & Conditions fine print.
+12points
Customer Avatar
Madison, WI
Yes, the charges now are in 1MB blocks
Posted 11/30/2013
Thanks for pointing out the accounting change. It used to be based on actual usage, and since I used it mainly to check email, my charges were just for a few kb. When I checked my account usage today, I was surprised to see 7MB used where only a few kb used to show up. Also, it seems since the beginning of November, none of the previous past history is displayed when you log in, probably so we don't see the change in accounting. I received no notice of the accounting change from actual use to 1MB blocks. I am disappointed. But still am glad to not have to pay a monthly fee.
+11points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 8 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
12/02/2012
By ,
Portland, Oregon
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this thing!
I have internet at home so I wanted to get a true pay as you go plan for wireless internet.
Once in a while I want to sit in the lunch room at work or when I'm away from home and quickly surf the net.
I didn't want to pay a flat fee each month for internet when I might use it once or twice a month or maybe not at all for a month or two.
With this plan what I don't use just stays available for me to use later.
With the $25 card you can have 3gb of internet use that expires in 30 days.
Or the never ending plan that I use 1.5gb (1.5gb is about 1532mb)
When I tested my usage I worked on line reading and sending e-mails and managing my fantasy sports teams. In an hour I used less than 20mb (I know the usage is more if you listen to music or watch videos but I can do that from home)
I highly recommend this.
If you don't know what a hotspot is... this is about the size of a cell phone, it connects to the internet using a dedicated wireless line and then broadcasts the signal for your wireless devise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Review 9 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good, cheap internet access.

01/03/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This works exactly like it's supposed to and overall, I am very happy with the product. I needed a cheap option for some very light internet access. It's nice to be able to buy 3 gigs worth of data and know that I can spend a year or two working through it without having the data expire. There are a couple of things that kept it from getting a 5 star rating.
When I turn the device off with the power button, it comes back on after the first try. I have to press the power button again to get it to turn off for good.
The device is usable right out of the package. However, if you go to the administration menu, there is a lot of reconfiguration you can do, like changing the administrator password, the SSID, and the encryption key. But none of it is described in the included documentation. Some of it is at the manufacturer's website, but some of it you just have to research on the web to figure out what it does.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+53points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
What is Coveage like riding around in houston?
Posted 02/05/2014
did you have any issues with it? Thank you, Gloria
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

So Far It is a winner

12/17/2012
By ,
Milan ,Mich
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am using this in Milan, Michigan in a steel building. Just bought it today but I was pleasantly surprised at how well it works. I really just wanted it for email and browsing while in my shop. I moved it around the building to get the best reception... 3 bars which is better than my Verizon cell phone. The registration process was quirky and documentation is scarce but other than that no problems so far.
I am running on a Windows 7 laptop. Download speed as high as 1.5MB upload around 0.6MB using speedtest. These seem to vary during the day and those were the best results. Holding down the power button shuts the unit off. If the laptop is connected I have to do this twice. Battery life seems good so far. Websites load fine. No drops even when running CNC machines which are electrically noisy. No problems on ebay or using google chrome. Much faster than some of the free wifi sites like Mcdonalds. I wouldn't try streaming videos but for browsing and emails great so far. Looking forward to trying it with a tablet now.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 11 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Delay in activation, but works good.....

12/08/2012
By ,
Waterford, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Without a land line or cable, this sounded like a good option to try.
Charged battery, registered and added refill but no connection to internet. Customer Service said they were doing maintenance and to try again later. No luck later that same day. 1-2 days later, I called again. Was advised that 'new' registrations were delayed but should be fixed soon. Day later, I contacted agent again at TruConnect and was advised that problem was still being worked on but no clear fix date. By the 6th day, it was up and running like a champ.
Great for checking e-mails and doing research.
"I" had to contact TruConnect's Customer Service several times during the 6 days. TruConnect didn't call me back once during the time the device could not connect to internet, but did contact me the day it was working. Activation took a lot longer than expected and I feel TruConnect should have reached out to me, after my 1st call, with updates/activation date.
Other than that, I'm glad this device is working and does real well for my needs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 12 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Wrks great. Best value. No Contracts.

01/13/2013
By ,
Sarasota, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For mobile 3g internet this is the best deal going. It's very inexpensive. Your megabytes never expire and you just add more as needed. There are no hidden fees or charges and no cancellation fee. If you don't want to use it any more just stop using it. If you change your mind, start using it again. No reactivation charge as long as you've used it at least once in a years time. You have to understand this is 3G internet speed. You get 500Mbp/s up to 1Gbp/s at best in most cases. Good for surfing the net and email. It's not ideal for online gaming and watching movies. But even 4G devices are'nt that great for those either. It's not as fast as Cable, DSL, or FiOS. But when you are on the go and need internet wherever you are this thing delivers. No Contracts! No other Fees! Just buy a refill when you need it. $10 for 500MB will get you quite a ways. Even 1.5Gb for $25 is a lot cheaper than others where you are in a 2 year contract at $60 / month.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 13 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Plan choices have dwindled and prices increased

07/21/2013
By ,
KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This was a fantastic product when it was first introduced by Walmart and TruConnect toward the end of last year. The plans could not be beaten and were the best on the market, as far as my research could tell.
However, it looks like the overall tactic was to get a large number of people to purchase these modems for mobile Internet at such great prices that the cost of the modem would be made up in no time by the savings on the data plans, as compared to other services--and then increase those data plan prices dramatically over the following year.
There are currently NO 30-day plans available. The only plans available are $10 for 500MB, $25 for 1.5GB, and $45 for 3GB. The data allotment does not expire; however, the prices per byte are now comparable to services like Virgin Mobile Broadband.
The issue with mobile broadband is that it is even harder to switch services because the modems are so expensive. You're vested a great deal in a prepaid mobile broadband service.
I'm not sure how much farther they're going to go with the price increase and limiting choices. So, buyer beware.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+45points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fairfax, VA
I agree
Posted 07/23/2013
I was happy when I signed up in Dec., accepted it when they raised rates in May, now, not refilling it all.
I feel like I was sold one product and then switched to something else entirely in the span of 6 months.
I also wonder if this device will still work next year when/if they upgrade to 4G as they claimed in their email:
"in conjunction with the above, online 30-Day Plans at www.internet-go.com, will be suspended. It is our intent to resume 30-Day Plans with the introduction of faster, next generation (4G) network coverage next year."
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

No longer working, no support - worked once

08/11/2014
By ,
California
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this about 9 months ago, and it worked quite nicely for a couple of business trips. I have not needed to use it for a bit, but when I did, no connections. I have tried calling their support line, and there is no answer. Their online chat has not been active during their posted hours, and an email to support only got an automated response. No real response after 10 days, although their web page says 24 hours.
I would try getting through their support line before even thinking about purchasing this item. If you cannot get through to them before buying it, you will do no better after they have your money!
Nice concept, nice pricing, just does not work anymore, and no support.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per month
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Tennessee
Internet on the go service
Posted 08/24/2014
I purchased almost 2 yrs ago - worked pretty good til about 2 wks ago - then service that worked on and off - then bout a week ago no service - I emailed them - they said they are working on the system - then I was able to connect and the screen came up saying my account was empty and needed refilling - ok, I paid $45 for 3 GB - now whenever I try to connect it shows the screen saying my account is empty. I can go into my account from a working wifi and my account shows I have 3 GB.
I'm starting to think they have had a major failure of some kind and they just don't know how to fix it. Think I'll have the credit card charge removed if it's not working by the time I get the bill and look for another service that works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Meh so far - nationwide outage for over a week!

03/12/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So far, not impressed. Bought it to use on a vacation, just found out after well over an hour trying to get it to work here (worked at home just after I bought it), that there has been a nationwide outage for OVER A WEEK and there is no indication of this problem on the website. I had to sit on hold with customer service for probably at least 15 minutes before I got to talk to someone who said the looping back around over and over to the Internet on the Go website was a Sprint network error that's been going on for over a week and they didn't know how long it would take to fix! Should have some notice on their website about this problem!!!! Everytime I tried something different to get online (before I finally called them), it burned data.. meaning it was at least able to connect to the system, just not let me be able to go beyond their website to other internet sites. I asked to have all those MB's refunded. Nope. Lousy customer service I'd say.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pembroke nc
internet on the go
Posted 04/27/2014
How do I go about order the internet on the go. they don't supply it in a store close to my home. can I order it and have it ship to a store or my home.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)
07/23/2013
By ,
Ontario, Canada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very pleased with this. We live in Ontario and bought it for a trip to Florida. Worked well in Florida and I was able to use it all the way from Florida through Georgia, SC, NC, Virginia, WV, PA and NY with very few dropped connections. Browsing speed was good - equivalent to the 3G speed I am used to. I bought a $10 card to go with it and it lasted for the 21 hour trip (yes I was browsing constantly) as well as an additional 3 days (casual use) which we were extremely impressed with. This is a great product for anyone who doesn't want to get gouged by Canadian roaming fees while traveling in the US. We came home to no additional fees on our reg cell phones. Also by using the mifi with FB Messenger and iPhone to iPhone free texting we were able to send and receive messages instantly for the whole trip.
The only downside is the battery life and lack of car charger. Battery life was very limited - about 4 hrs when in use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 17 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Far exceeds my low expectations

09/13/2013
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I travel around our large metro area for work. I bought this for email, occasional web surfing, and a few work related tasks that require internet access. With the relatively low cost of data, I wasn't expecting much, but thought it was worth a try.
At first, I could not connect to the internet on my ipad, iphone or laptop. At that point, I was about to return the mifi and the data card, and call it a day. I'm glad I didn't.
I called customer service the next morning, and they had me connected in minutes. I'm not sure why I had to do this, but they answered right away at a normally busy time of day for customer service departments, and the woman was very courteous and helpful.
Meanwhile, I've tested it all over our metro area (Minneapolis/St.Paul). Even in my basement, where the Verizon signal is very dicey. It loads web pages at least as fast as my iphone 4 (Verizon 3G). Probably a little faster, actually. If it was as slow as some people have claimed in a few reviews, I would have already returned it. That may just be due to poor coverage of Sprint 3G in certain areas of the country. In large metropolitan areas, it should be fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+38points
Review 18 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Good option

01/17/2013
By ,
Tucson, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I read all of the previous reviews before I made the purchase of the Hotspot. The price is reasonable as many other reviews discussed; especially compared to Verizon (my other option).
Set up was fairly simple. The instruction guide can be confusing when it describes the many
different blinking light-modes & what they mean. The few times I have used Hotspot in other locations, (away from home), I have had difficulty downloading apps on our Kindles. The apps are ordered through Amazon but it can take up to 72 hours before the apps appear on our Kindles. Amazon has not been able to explain this problem. I am disappointed that we cannot access the Internet with the Hotspot (so far) while traveling in our cars. I wish the manufacturer would provide some type of indication for battery-life on the unit. We are never sure how much power we have left on the Hotspot. The unit is tiny, lightweight; the charger is almost larger than the unit itself. We like that we can connect up to 5 products to the Hotspot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Review 19 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Slow even for sprint

02/23/2013
By ,
Tulsa, OK
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This runs on sprint network. Also it is either has a lower priority or a worse roaming list then a sprint phone. So its slower than even a sprint phone. 50kb/s - 150kb/s is average. That being said I dropped my cell phone plan. I hardly use my phone for calls. Using Google voice (for texts) and text+ (for calls). Phone calls sometimes are temperamental using this wifi, so be aware. But I wanted it mostly for emergency type use, and for streaming internet radio. If you use pandora I suggest letting the first song stream while paused for a few minutes to prevent buffering on it. This mifi is so slow it will be hard to use even the 1 gig card up. Its worthless for any substantial web browsing as well. RSS feeds, facebook, reddit, is what you might be able to use it for. That said $10 for 1 or 2 months is so affordable I don't know that I can afford to take it back. One month without a phone plan and it has paid for itself. T mobile's mifi might be a better deal depending on how good t mobiles service is in your area.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 20 for Internet on the Go Mobile Hotspot (3G)

Great for daily email or to look up something

11/23/2012
By ,
Wilmington, DE
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do you only use the Internet to check email and occasionally look up something? Do you NOT listen to music or watch videos online? Then this is perfect for you, assuming that you have Sprint 3G coverage where you want it. If you want to watch a video, listen to music, or Skype, then this is probably Not for you. The bandwidth (data pipe) is quite small. Hey, it has its purpose and was perfect for my dad in Bedford, PA! The best part is that you can buy Megabytes of data that never expire - truly a pay as you go (unlike Virgin Mobile that expires monthly). Not sure if you have coverage? Buy it and try it. You will go through an activation process that will either succeed (keep it) or fail (return it). Remember, just because it works where you are at the time of testing does not mean that it will work at your parent's, son's or sister's house (or out camping / down by the river).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
1-20 of 438 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  22 Next