Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Genesis 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Genesis 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

The 22.5" Genesis GS-700 Men's Flat Bar Road Bike features a lightweight, handcrafted aluminum frame and strong steel fork for quick and efficient riding. This casual 22.5" men's road bike is built with a flat handlebar for an easy upright riding position. It's also constructed with a reliable 21-speed Shimano drive train. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your 22.5" Genesis GS-700 Men's Flat Bar Road Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%78 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Not bad for the price

08/07/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a bike put together with the lowest quality parts possible. Even shifter and derailleurs are the lowest line of Shimano. That said it holds together, for the price given one should not expect more.
First off bike came in the box, and I did the assembly work. Although there were no damage outside the box, one brake cable was pinched and scratched the frame, and somehow one spoke was slightly bent which I could fix with pliers and adjust again.
But I wasn't expecting those.
Quality is hidden behind its marketing, it does look nice, all those 'genesis, gs-700, thermodynamics(really, there is a sticker on front fork saying thermodynamic, I never want to go fast enough for thermodynamics laws to apply my ride), lightweight, etc. are hiding the low quality components underneath.
Let's start; Both front and rear v-brakes wiggle and they are already tightened. Both painted rims have some kind of welding point, I've never seen this in other rims on my other bikes, It feels like a weak spot waiting to break. Saddle, while looks very sporty and high quality, is the probably the lowest quality item on the whole bike, it even came twisted to right, and there is nothing to adjust it since apparently that happened during molding process. Yes, like other reviewers said, get new brake pads, originals squeak.
It was advertised 27.5lbs while it weighs 32lbs fully assembled.
On the other hand, it has everything I was expecting from this cheap bike, it has shimano setss, it has 700c road wheels, it's somewhat light, it's brand new, has v-brakes, has flat bar. These are the reasons I paid for it and I got them all, could have been constructed better with slightly better components but that's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 22 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great Bike for under $200

02/26/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 6'1, 200 lbs. and I'm lucky I didn't get the 25" version of this bike. It would have been too tall. This bike is perfect for 5'10" to 6'3" riders.
Pros: Lightweight, durable, rides smoothly, looks great.
Cons: Tuning out-of-the-box is horrible (needs to be taken to a bike shop, unless you know how to do it) and the seat needs to be upgraded, it is too stiff for my bottom.
I've looked at over 10 road bikes and this is by far the best in the sub $200 category.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 23 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
09/11/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price is great. The bike actually is pretty hard to assembly and the sound of the rear brake is super loud. I am 5'8 and the bike exactly fit my size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 24 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

700c Genesis road bike

08/08/2013
By ,
Eastern Shore, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great bike for the money. You need to remember that road bikes have no shocks, so you feel every little bump in the road. Choose a good seat. Mine came a week early and that was good. The seat post clamp on mine was stripped out when I got it but a drill and a bolt fixed that. You will have to fine tune the gear adjustments when you get it but it is a good , fast ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 25 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Brakes squeal

08/07/2013
By ,
chattanooga, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the bike but the brake squeal and make such a high pitch noise that all my neighbor came out of their house to see what all the noise was all about. The rims are painted but I don't know if that is the cause of the noise. Does anyone know how to fix the problem?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 26 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Stimulating

08/30/2013
By ,
Covington, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I think this is a very good bike for the price. So far I have not had any issues. I did not have walmart do the free assembly. I found a bike shop in town and had that gentleman (owner), take care of it for me. (yes I had to pay $50.00) I'm retired Army and I would like to do some bike riding with the wounded warriors and some other events, that's why I had the shop assemble and tweak it for me. LOL...I have not rode a bike since the 1960s The bike is just right for me as far as weight goes. It's very solid and strong. In my opinion, this is a good bike to start out with.
Just yesterday we had some new veterans go out on a five mile ride and they all assumed I paid over $300.00 for this bike. It looks good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Other reviews are inaccurate

09/13/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reviews say this bike will fit a person 5'8" to 6'. I'm 5'10". When I stand straddle of the bike, there is no clearance.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 28 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Sprocket on rear wheel breaks under stress.

06/23/2012
By ,
valparaiso, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bike! I rode it for about a week and one day I was pedaling up a hill and I was in 3rd gear and the rear sprocket broke under the stress of power applied while pedaling up a hill. I took it back and the Walmart associates kindly and quickly exchanged mine for another one just like it in the store. TWO DAYS LATER same thing happened again! I reluctantly returned it for the cash. Other than that this bike was the best. Hope the manufacturer's fix the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 29 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great for the price

01/10/2013
By ,
bought in Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike because I wanted an hybrid bike at a cheap price. I'm a 5'55 female, so it's too tall for me but it is still rideable. I can put my foot on the ground when stopped/seated at stoplights but when I get off my seat I can't even put my two feet on the ground. The middle bar is so high. One of the tallest bike I've seen, even too big for my father. But still, for the use and cheap price and the look, it's still good. The brakes make noises like some other reviews say. My brake pads are completely used and I just rode 100 miles. I bought new pads and I'll change them. The bike is pretty heavy, but it's normal considering it's not a real road bike. The tires/valves are schrader, not presta. I also went to my local bike shop to get the shifting ajusted. The guy tried for 30 minutes and it's still not perfect. He's a pro but still found it hard to adjust it because it's cheaply made.
With all those complaints, the bike is good enough for me!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 30 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Steal of a Deal

07/25/2013
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipping: Right to my door a day early. Was expecting more assembly but it was mostly taken care of.
The Bike: Lots of compliments on the overall look. People might think I spent much more. I took some stickers off which was no pain at all. The paint job does not include batteries.
Fit and Finish: Love the flat bar stance. Not as laid back as advertised even with the seat low, but still a very comfortable stance. Seat is comfy. Still a fairly light bike and with tires properly inflated coasts quite well. Has desirable amenities of both a smooth road bike and the durability of a mountain bike to jump curbs and take some gravel. The only sub par element was the derailleur setup. of course steel wires stretch, but don't expect to get perfectly indexed rigging. I will be bringing it to my LBS for some tweaking because i'm not familiar with that.
Overall Satisfaction: It is everything i expected and nothing I didn't. A great value for someone like me who wants a particular bike without running up to a bike shop and forking out 500 bucks on the bike they want you to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 31 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good price for a good bicycle

09/12/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very please with this product. I think is a good price for a quality bicycle but the PROBLEM WAS THAT IN THE FRONT WHEEL SEVERAL SPOKES WERE DAMAGES DURING THE DELIVERED.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 32 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Value exceeds price paid.

08/24/2013
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At $129.00 plus tax nothing else comes close in price/quality. Only issue is one spoke is bent and loose on the front rim out of the box. I ordered Site to Store. Please don't be discouraged by the one off negative reviews by others as any brand of bicycle could be damaged OotB. The brake pads to appear to be below average quality and will be replaced before riding. The spoke as well. As for noisy brakes I am going make some stone or emery cloth "brake pads" and dress the braking surfaces. This is not a terribly light bike, it is aluminum but a substantial amount. I am 5'10" with a 31-32" inseam. This bike provides me with no extra standover clearance but does allow me to stand forward of the seat with my feet flat on the ground.
If I didn't have an ambition to adjust/tune myself I would take to a LBS. I myself will use literature provided as well as Youtube. Included in addition to the owners manual were spec/manual fold outs for each of the derailleurs.
I will review ride once I have a few more miles on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 33 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Braking system?

07/16/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whenever I brake, it makes terrible noise.
A little bit difficult to set up the transmission gears (but it is made by shimano rather than xram anyway).
Others are perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 34 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

light weight, solid frame

06/14/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comparing with similar priced mountain bike, this is light and fast. putting it together is quite easy. but wheels and gears need tuning. the Shimano shift on this bike is so so. the seat is a little hard n definitely not good for long riding. the brake is loud as other reviewers pointed out but it stops the bike ok. btw this is a large size bike. I am 5'10"~11" and I do feel a little big for me.
overall this is a good bike especially for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 35 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

good bike

07/10/2013
By ,
salem wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just started biking but this was a good bike for me. Easy to learn the gears
I am a tall woman 5" 11" so the fit was perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good product at a low price.

08/11/2013
By ,
Cedarhurst, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is in good condition except for one missing part, the quick release nut and bolt for the seat. I needed to buy a screw to tighten the seat post.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 37 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good value for money

09/08/2013
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the other reviews and they had this bike on sale so I pulled the trigger. The bike was delivered quickly and was in good shape. I am fairly handy and it took me about two hours to assemble and tune properly. I took another reviewer's advice and peeled off most of the stickers while they were still new and not very stuck. It made the bike look much cleaner IMO. One note there is slight paint over-spray on middle and down ward where blue paint meets white. This is hidden by those wrap around stickers. Again for me I preferred the slight paint spray effect to the large stickers but just letting folks know about it before they peel theirs. The shifters are very basic grade and will require adjustment. Even with that these aren't ever going to be as smooth as $500 bike but considering price difference I think if it bugs me I can always buy upgraded shimano shifters at later date and still have a really good bike for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 38 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

For the good price, it`s very good. For my age, OK

09/25/2013
By ,
Iriving Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was waiting and saving during two years. Finally I got the money
and was ready to buy. I`m 80 Years old and the bike is easy to ride,
not heavy like Mountains and very comfortable. And the excellent service
in Walmart are sufficient to recommend this bicycle (Genesis 700 GS700 Men`s
flat bar road) Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 39 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

great bike for the price

08/02/2013
By ,
newnan GA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive been looking for a bike for a cheap price. I finally got a good one it needed a few adjustments but real nice. and the triggers are so much better than the twist gears. But one thing I don't like about it is all the stickers. But on this bike I ride mile after mile. So if yall are looking for a nice cheap bike this one is perfect. Another good thing about is the 21 speeds all my friends have mongoose but I leave them badly. but I recommend this to all of yall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 40 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
07/12/2013
By ,
morehead, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brakes squeal like a howler monkey.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
21-40 of 81 total reviews