Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Genesis 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Genesis 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

The 22.5" Genesis GS-700 Men's Flat Bar Road Bike features a lightweight, handcrafted aluminum frame and strong steel fork for quick and efficient riding. This casual 22.5" men's road bike is built with a flat handlebar for an easy upright riding position. It's also constructed with a reliable 21-speed Shimano drive train. Please note: If you select Site to Store delivery, your 22.5" Genesis GS-700 Men's Flat Bar Road Bike will not be assembled upon pickup.
Average Customer Rating:
3.979 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(95 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation82%78 out of 95reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
31
3 stars
9
2 stars
4
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great Bike for under $200

02/26/2013
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm 6'1, 200 lbs. and I'm lucky I didn't get the 25" version of this bike. It would have been too tall. This bike is perfect for 5'10" to 6'3" riders.
Pros: Lightweight, durable, rides smoothly, looks great.
Cons: Tuning out-of-the-box is horrible (needs to be taken to a bike shop, unless you know how to do it) and the seat needs to be upgraded, it is too stiff for my bottom.
I've looked at over 10 road bikes and this is by far the best in the sub $200 category.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+14points
Review 22 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

For the good price, it`s very good. For my age, OK

09/25/2013
By ,
Iriving Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was waiting and saving during two years. Finally I got the money
and was ready to buy. I`m 80 Years old and the bike is easy to ride,
not heavy like Mountains and very comfortable. And the excellent service
in Walmart are sufficient to recommend this bicycle (Genesis 700 GS700 Men`s
flat bar road) Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 23 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Not bad for the price

08/07/2013
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a bike put together with the lowest quality parts possible. Even shifter and derailleurs are the lowest line of Shimano. That said it holds together, for the price given one should not expect more.
First off bike came in the box, and I did the assembly work. Although there were no damage outside the box, one brake cable was pinched and scratched the frame, and somehow one spoke was slightly bent which I could fix with pliers and adjust again.
But I wasn't expecting those.
Quality is hidden behind its marketing, it does look nice, all those 'genesis, gs-700, thermodynamics(really, there is a sticker on front fork saying thermodynamic, I never want to go fast enough for thermodynamics laws to apply my ride), lightweight, etc. are hiding the low quality components underneath.
Let's start; Both front and rear v-brakes wiggle and they are already tightened. Both painted rims have some kind of welding point, I've never seen this in other rims on my other bikes, It feels like a weak spot waiting to break. Saddle, while looks very sporty and high quality, is the probably the lowest quality item on the whole bike, it even came twisted to right, and there is nothing to adjust it since apparently that happened during molding process. Yes, like other reviewers said, get new brake pads, originals squeak.
It was advertised 27.5lbs while it weighs 32lbs fully assembled.
On the other hand, it has everything I was expecting from this cheap bike, it has shimano setss, it has 700c road wheels, it's somewhat light, it's brand new, has v-brakes, has flat bar. These are the reasons I paid for it and I got them all, could have been constructed better with slightly better components but that's fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 24 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good bike if you can put in a lot of maintenance .

08/15/2013
By ,
Sunrise, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used to own a Diamond Back Mountain back in college and loved riding. After I started working professionally I decided to give bike riding another try. I started off with this bike because it was everything I wanted, flat handle bars, thicker tires and best of all the price point.
Out of the box the instructions are OK. It took me a few hours to put it together. I have no clue about tuning so took me even longer to set-up the brakes and derailleurs.
There was one flaw because of which I ended up returning it. The treading which hold the foot pedal had a thick coat of pain on the inside. Due to this no matter how much force I applied I could not tighten it all the way. After 3-4 rides, one of the pedals came off and sheared the tread on the inside. I ended up returning it.
Thats the best thing about Walmart, a strong return policy. And I ended up buying the Geneisis Roadtech bike from Walmart. I am still awaiting to receive it. But I am glad I bought this bike because now I know how much I love riding bikes.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0points
Review 25 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Best value Mt Bikes

09/17/2013
By ,
Bay Area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Really like the look and ride. Brakes might need tune up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 26 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

light weight, solid frame

06/14/2013
By ,
CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
comparing with similar priced mountain bike, this is light and fast. putting it together is quite easy. but wheels and gears need tuning. the Shimano shift on this bike is so so. the seat is a little hard n definitely not good for long riding. the brake is loud as other reviewers pointed out but it stops the bike ok. btw this is a large size bike. I am 5'10"~11" and I do feel a little big for me.
overall this is a good bike especially for this price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 27 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

700c Genesis road bike

08/08/2013
By ,
Eastern Shore, Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great bike for the money. You need to remember that road bikes have no shocks, so you feel every little bump in the road. Choose a good seat. Mine came a week early and that was good. The seat post clamp on mine was stripped out when I got it but a drill and a bolt fixed that. You will have to fine tune the gear adjustments when you get it but it is a good , fast ride.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 28 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Braking system?

07/16/2013
By ,
Princeton, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Whenever I brake, it makes terrible noise.
A little bit difficult to set up the transmission gears (but it is made by shimano rather than xram anyway).
Others are perfect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 29 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Steal of a Deal

07/25/2013
By ,
St. Cloud, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shipping: Right to my door a day early. Was expecting more assembly but it was mostly taken care of.
The Bike: Lots of compliments on the overall look. People might think I spent much more. I took some stickers off which was no pain at all. The paint job does not include batteries.
Fit and Finish: Love the flat bar stance. Not as laid back as advertised even with the seat low, but still a very comfortable stance. Seat is comfy. Still a fairly light bike and with tires properly inflated coasts quite well. Has desirable amenities of both a smooth road bike and the durability of a mountain bike to jump curbs and take some gravel. The only sub par element was the derailleur setup. of course steel wires stretch, but don't expect to get perfectly indexed rigging. I will be bringing it to my LBS for some tweaking because i'm not familiar with that.
Overall Satisfaction: It is everything i expected and nothing I didn't. A great value for someone like me who wants a particular bike without running up to a bike shop and forking out 500 bucks on the bike they want you to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 30 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Brakes squeal

08/07/2013
By ,
chattanooga, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the bike but the brake squeal and make such a high pitch noise that all my neighbor came out of their house to see what all the noise was all about. The rims are painted but I don't know if that is the cause of the noise. Does anyone know how to fix the problem?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 31 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

good bike

07/10/2013
By ,
salem wi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just started biking but this was a good bike for me. Easy to learn the gears
I am a tall woman 5" 11" so the fit was perfect!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 32 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Sprocket on rear wheel breaks under stress.

06/23/2012
By ,
valparaiso, In
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this bike! I rode it for about a week and one day I was pedaling up a hill and I was in 3rd gear and the rear sprocket broke under the stress of power applied while pedaling up a hill. I took it back and the Walmart associates kindly and quickly exchanged mine for another one just like it in the store. TWO DAYS LATER same thing happened again! I reluctantly returned it for the cash. Other than that this bike was the best. Hope the manufacturer's fix the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+51points
Review 33 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
07/12/2013
By ,
morehead, ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brakes squeal like a howler monkey.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 34 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

great bike for the price

08/02/2013
By ,
newnan GA.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ive been looking for a bike for a cheap price. I finally got a good one it needed a few adjustments but real nice. and the triggers are so much better than the twist gears. But one thing I don't like about it is all the stickers. But on this bike I ride mile after mile. So if yall are looking for a nice cheap bike this one is perfect. Another good thing about is the 21 speeds all my friends have mongoose but I leave them badly. but I recommend this to all of yall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 35 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
09/11/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The price is great. The bike actually is pretty hard to assembly and the sound of the rear brake is super loud. I am 5'8 and the bike exactly fit my size.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 36 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good price for a good bicycle

09/12/2012
By ,
Houston, Tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very please with this product. I think is a good price for a quality bicycle but the PROBLEM WAS THAT IN THE FRONT WHEEL SEVERAL SPOKES WERE DAMAGES DURING THE DELIVERED.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 37 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great Bike For The Price

06/08/2013
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the bike. It was delivered by FedEx and I paid 117.99 total for the bike. I was slightly disappointed because the plastic chain guard in the back was cracked when I received the bike. The rear derailer rubs against the spokes when you put it into the lowest gear. I am going to have the rear derailer adjusted, professionally today. I am confident that will clear up the issue. The bike is solid and has a smooth ride. It took me about 90 minutes to assemble. Overall I am completely happy and excited about the bike. I definitely feel like I got a great deal and a great bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 38 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Good product at a low price.

08/11/2013
By ,
Cedarhurst, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product is in good condition except for one missing part, the quick release nut and bolt for the seat. I needed to buy a screw to tighten the seat post.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 39 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great bike for price

07/06/2013
By ,
Ohio
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bike was a great purchase for the price. Bike is heavy but most if the weight come from the rims. The frame is light but there is a lot of weight that can be revoved by up grading a few parts. As for the bike out of the box easy assembly with a little tuning to get the the bike ready to ride. The bike is a little taller the expected even for my frame at 6'2". My wife(5'10") rides the bike and loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 40 for 22.5" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Stimulating

08/30/2013
By ,
Covington, Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
All in all I think this is a very good bike for the price. So far I have not had any issues. I did not have walmart do the free assembly. I found a bike shop in town and had that gentleman (owner), take care of it for me. (yes I had to pay $50.00) I'm retired Army and I would like to do some bike riding with the wounded warriors and some other events, that's why I had the shop assemble and tweak it for me. LOL...I have not rode a bike since the 1960s The bike is just right for me as far as weight goes. It's very solid and strong. In my opinion, this is a good bike to start out with.
Just yesterday we had some new veterans go out on a five mile ride and they all assumed I paid over $300.00 for this bike. It looks good for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
21-40 of 81 total reviews