Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Genesis 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Genesis 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Take ride on the wild side with the GS-700 Genesis Flat Bar Road Bike. Lightweight, the Genesis Road Bike is handcrafted with a durable aluminum frame and strong steel fork. If you love to casually cruise on your bike, youll enjoy the flat handlebar's upright riding position of the 25" Road Bike. Since this 25 road bike is has linear-pull V brakes, you keep reliable stopping power. The racing seat is comfy, so you dont feel uncomfortable when you ride. Plus, the Genesis Flat Bar Road Bike features a reliable 21-speed Shimano drive train. With 700c tires and high-profile rims, the Genesis Flat Bar Road Bike is perfect when you want to cruise the beach, park or around the block in style.
Average Customer Rating:
3.294 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation62%21 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Very good starter bike (however)

08/17/2013
By ,
Burlington, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this is an very good deal. I say however as you or someone you know needs to be mechanically inclined in order to make adjustments to the brakes and derailleurs. After my adjustments I still have some brake squeal and the gears are not perfect but very usable. I really like the shifters on the handlebars. I bought a wider softer seat for personal comfort ($20). I have not ridden in 30 years so I needed a cheaper bike to see if I will get back into it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 2 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

i owned the bike 2 days, got to ride it 20 minutes

03/18/2013
By ,
creston, ia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
today is monday march 18, i bought the bike saturday the 16th, and got to ride it sunday the 17th, i got to ride it for about 20 minutes before the rear gear assembly failed, the bike guy at the store said "the clutch was shot" looked at the date on my reciept and said "its 2 days old, give him a refund" basically i can peddle either direction without causing the rear tire to spin, during my 1.5 mile ride the chain came off twice, once in front and once in the rear, in several gears the chain rubbed in front if i wasnt keeping constant pressure on the gear selector, when i had the rear gear in slot 6 and 7 every half peddle it would clunk like it was trying to change gears, this same problem is on my genesis 29 so im going to avoid all genesis products for the time being, this is a classic "you get what you pay for" theres a reason these bikes are 50% less than comperable entry level bikes. id consider trying this brand again in a few years if they can work out the issues that seem to be across thier whole product line.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 3 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Decent bike for my use

06/17/2012
By ,
Virgin Islands
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I should start off by saying that I didn't do my research properly before purchasing this bike. It's a 25" frame; which is 63cm...the bike is much too big for me.
I am just about 6 1/2 ft. tall with an inseam about 33 - 34". When standing over the bike I really don't have any room between me and the frame. Sitting on the seat (which is at it's lowest level) my feet are off the ground.
So yea, I should've got me a 58cm bike. That's my fault.
Now with that aside, I wanted a road bike just for causal/work out riding; nothing serious, and for that it's a good buy. The one I got seem to have some minor issues when shifting the gears. It seems at times I have to shift back and forth to the gear I want to actually get it locked into that gear properly without hearing the chain grinding, trying to get into the gear. (And it was taken to a bike shop)
The bike looks nice but in some areas of the frame/build quality I think it could've been made more robust. This is basically what I based my review on. Nevertheless as I stated above it's a good buy for the casual rider and/or for breaking a sweat. I would recommend it to anyone at least 6ft. 2" with an inseam of at least 36" and above.
See http://www.ebicycles.com/bicycle-tools/frame-sizer
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+22points
Review 4 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great overall bike; poor description

06/17/2012
By ,
British Columbia, Canada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was apprehensive to purchase this bike with no previous reviews. It turns out to be a great bike. It took about an hour(ish) to put it together and make basic adjustments. The seat is not hard but is relatively firm(good). It is a Shimmano shifter controlled by your thumbs and forefingers, very effective. The two aspects I appreciate less are that the handle bars height are adjusted by spacers and as thus are rather limited; if you want to raise the bars more you will need to get an adaptor. There is a sufficient description to fine tune the derailleurs in the manuals provided. The brakes I found to be too soft, they grip well but wear very quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ottumwa IA
JUNK
Posted 07/08/2012
The rims are not standard and caused the derailleur to break, the brakes to not work, and the bike to utterly fail as a useable road bike. I am returning for the yellow bike for 159.00 which lasted three long years last time I had one, why did I change, change always leads to disappointment.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Lot of bang for the buck

06/10/2012
By ,
Detroit, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Genesis GS700 25” Road Bike
The Genesis GS700 came with lots of packaging that indicated Kent International was the supplier. The insert that came with the front wheel indicated it was a GMC branded bicycle. Doing a search revealed that Kent Bikes makes the GMC brand of bicycles, one of which was a 700CC road bike that looked exactly like the Genesis GS700 with a different handlebar and wheel paint.
The GS700 has a quick-release hub for the front wheel, the rear wheel is bolt-on. The linear pull V-brakes are easy to adjust and work well, except I still get a lot of squeal from the rear brakes. I opted to buy it disassembled, and think it was the better way to go since nothing came tuned properly. The Shimano SIS shifters were a mess, with the chain rubbing against the derailleur from the get-go. After reading Shimano’s horrible instructions along with the inaccurate Genesis owner’s manual, I managed to figure it out with the help of some Internet articles. My 2nd front gear (intermediate chain gear) has multiple cracks, but I think that is part of the manufacturing process. I also have some issues shifting into that gear while riding, although it works 98% of the time.
The Vitesse racing seat is hard as a rock, and after 1 mile of riding on the road, my sitting bones couldn’t stand the abuse. I’d highly recommend getting a better seat as the first modification, followed by doing a thorough check of the brakes and shifting mechanisms.
I am 6 foot 3 inches tall, about 150 pounds. The 25 inch frame is way too tall for me, and the 700CC-32 wheels/tires are very tall as well. Doing a tight u-turn, I have to be careful not to hit my feet on the front wheel. Hopping onto the bicycle and keeping a foot on the ground are also challenging, and it doesn’t help when the seat is both narrow and hard as a rock.
I noticed that many department store bicycles are 24” to 26” or taller, which huge wheels. These would be great bicycles if you are a NBA basketball player with a 40 inch inseam. The proper frame for me would be about 21 inches to 23 inches, which no stores seem to carry with the same equipment on the GS700. The 21-23 inch frames seem to be found mainly on boy’s bicycles at the department tstores. Other stores like REI and Bikes Direct have a limited selection at an affordable price range, but anything that has the same style of gear as the GS700 (V brakes, Shimano derailleurs, aluminum frame) runs almost a grand or more.
The bike weighs 30.6 pounds fully assembled, not the 27.5 pounds advertised on Wal-Mart’s web site. However, it is light enough that I can pick it up with one hand to load into a vehicle or to store it in my garage. It is very lightweight and agile on the road. I can countersteer very easily, and it flicks around in the slalom effortlessly. There is absolutely no suspension though, so it feels extremely rough just riding it on the street. The high pressure road tires don’t help much either, due to the thin sidewall and high pressure (50-75 psi according to the sidewall). I recorded a max speed of 21 miles per hour using my GPS.
The GS700 offers a LOT of bang for the buck: light-weight aluminum frame, Shimano front and rear derailleurs, linear pull V-brakes, and a flat-bar road bike. The handle bars are essentially mountain bike handlebars installed on a road bike, hence the “hybrid” design.
Overall: 3 out of 5 stars. Comes with some decent hardware at an affordable price. I couldn’t find a comparable deal at REI or Bikes Direct. It is lightweight, and easy to ride as long as you are very tall (34 inseam is the absolute minimum). I highly recommend getting a better seat, and to check/adjust your brakes and shifters. The build quality could be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+55points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Detroit, MI
Frame sizing is correct
Posted 07/03/2012
This is in response to the other comments. The 25" frame size is correct because there is a standard of measurement. Do an Internet search and you will find the frame sizing specification, and this 25" GS700 is sized properly - but it is probably designed for someone with an inseam of 36" or longer. I am 6'3" with a 34" inseam and this 25" bike is too big. My seat is at the lowest possible position to get a measurement of 37" from the top of the pedal to the top of the seat (as per the ebike calculator recommendation). I switched to the 22.5" version of the GS700 and it is perfect. Wal-Mart did not carry the 22.5" GS700 until recently, and I see 25" or larger frame bicycles being almost the standard inventory at Wal-mart and other stores. I guess their market demographic data shows everyone to be NBA basketball players. The rear brake also howls because the rear wheel is not true and seems to be a common problem with this model/brand. The front wheel is a bit better and the howl/squeeling under braking goes away.
+1point
Customer Avatar
Indiana
25" Frame not tires
Posted 06/30/2012
The 25" is regards to the frame. The bike has 700C tires that would be 28". I think people are getting the two confused. This bike is for people in the 6'5" range and taller. They make the bike in a large frame which would fit smaller guys. The 25" frame is the biggest frame you can get anywhere. It is often referred to as a XL frame. Hope this helps.
+3points
Customer Avatar
Central Mass
6' 3" and only 150 lbs. ?
Posted 06/17/2012
I have found your description of a 25 inch frame to be way different from my own experience. I currently ride a 27 inch frame and just slightly over 6 feet and love it. I have a 32 inch inseam...stand over height is actually 33, but I make do because I have a long torso. My mountain bike is a 25 inch Schwinn from Walmart and is just a tad on the small side since again because of my longer torso. Additionally...I doubt that if I made it to 90 with all the muscle mass loss that that entails I would ever be near 150 pounds. I consider myself very fit at 185 as it is.
-4points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 6 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
09/15/2013
By ,
West Virginia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Let's start with the bad.. thats what you want to know right?
After putting a 100 miles on this bike I have found its weak points. The pedals did not last the first 10 miles before the popping sounds began, the bottom bracket is loose, and the chain will rub the front derailleur no matter how much you adjust it. That is also contributed to the loose bottom bracket and index shifting for the front derailleur (which is always a bad idea). With that being said, all these issues are fixable with a bit of mechanical knowledge. 2 slightly bent spokes get a dishonorable mention here also.
Now for the good stuff..
The bike is still an excellent buy at $129. I knew it would have shortcomings and was prepared to make it a project bike when I ordered it. The components are low end in quality but function fine. The welds look strong and since it is NOT a lightweight frame it seems as though it will be sturdy enough to last. The tires are of low quality but have held up fine so far. They are 700x32C for those who have been asking. The brake pads do squeal at first but after proper adjustment and burn in they are fine. Overall you get quite a bit for your dollar if you can work on bikes yourself.
FAQ:
-I am 6'2"-232Lbs. with a 34 inch inseam and the bike fits me fine.
-The tires as mentioned are 700x32C.
-The handlebars are 25.4mm (1 INCH)
-The stem is only adjustable for height not length. Remove the top cap and stem, move the spacers above the stem as needed to lower the handlebars.
-The brakes will stop squealing with proper adjustment and burn in, although I doubt they will last very long.
-The pedals are plastic with a metal cage.
Summary: If you have basic working knowledge and some tools this is a good buy. If you do not have these necessities then paying a bike shop $60 to set this bike up for you is probably not worth it, as it will need tweaking and regular maintenance. I have fixed all the issues I mentioned above myself with a total cost of $15 for new pedals. I already had the needed tools.
So I have armed you with as much information as I can to help you decide on your purchase. Please leave comments if there is anything else I can add.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 7 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great bike, but a size problem

06/14/2013
By ,
Decatur GA and Templeton, MA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a really good bike, beautiful to look at, and quality seems great for the price. I especially like the shifters, which are levers on the handlebars and are easier and more comfortable and positive than twist grips.
But there is a problem. There is insufficient information on Walmart.com website, and after I assembled it I found this bike is too big for me, as I am 5 foot 9 or 10, with a 30 inch inseam. A person would have to be over 6 feet with long legs for the height of this bike to work. It's a shame, because I love the bike but can't use it. I had to return it. But I will try to find the same bike in the smaller size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 8 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
07/14/2012
By ,
florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned this bike for 3 weeks now. Its a great bike for someone intrested in a large frame bike. I will agree with the brakes are loud sounds like a horn blowing. It would be nice to be able to raise the handle bars up to match the seat but isnt going to happen but i got the bike on sale for 112 bucks so i cant really complain at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NW Illinois
Posted 10/16/2012
Buy a riser stem, thats how you raise the bars. The ld way of doing it is outdated and not near as durable, but now instead it costs a little extra money to buy a different stem. You can also just buy riser handlebars for about $10-$15 off amazon, and will do the same thing for you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
06/06/2012
By ,
sanford fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i love this bike it have work out for me so far i have been riding this bike for a bout 2 mouths the only thing about walmart bikes is they just put it together so you will need to have some adjustment done but for the price you get your money worth
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Review 10 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

10/10

05/20/2013
By ,
cheifland florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this bike in July of 2012. with it a lock light system and odometer(accuracy varified) Originally as a way to get to and from work. over time it became recreational. after 8 months it required new breaks and gear shift adjustment which was self explanatory. truthfully it is nothing to complain about. my odometer stopped working after about 2000 miles in january. for a set of bicycle breaks i didnt think they could last half that. the only break issue is the noise still working on a suppression method. although at 25mph i can understand my own issue. even still nothing les then what i would hope for as far as stopping ability. the initial ride height was to low, I adjusted the seat up about 5 inches and problem solved. I'm 6'2" but i suppose my legs are a little longer than most considering other reviews.. the tires still have more then half tread on the rear and almost full tread on the front. i purchased it from the store new pre-assembled but took most of it apart to inspect any issues and so far none. i still ride this bike daily but as im not working i dont put nearly as many miles on it. but with 3000+ miles and only paying 189.99(original price upon release) i cannot complain in a can foresee much more use out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 11 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White
10/16/2012
By ,
Kalamazoo, Mi
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have had this bike for 6 months. It looks sharp. Unfortunately I am not impressed. I have already had to replace the brake pads- the originals squealed constantly and wore out way too fast. The bike weights more than advertised in Walmarts ad. No matter how much adjustment I do on the shifter it does not work well.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Review 12 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Must have good bike knowledge to keep it working!

05/29/2013
By ,
Milwaukee, WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Works for getting you from point A to B, but I constantly bring allen wrenchs and tools along with me to loose parts or handlebars. I think the biggest draw-back to the bike is the horrid squeak from using the breaks. It doesn't help they welded two halves of an bike axle together and then painted it white where the breaks rub. Bike got the job done though and helped out with my knowledge. It is a decent bike and rode fine after I tuned it up myself, but the tires were a bit warped as well so I had to call in to get new ones from Kent Int'l. I might end up returning it and get a bike that isn't as cheap with the refurbishing of old bike parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Don't expect much for that price...

09/18/2013
By ,
Boston
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Obviously you are not getting anything high quality for that kind of price tag. In addition, the bike is from Walmart, so what do you expect? But for $130 this is an OK bike.
A few things to be aware of:
1. Nothing on this bike remains tightly screwed on no matter how much or how often you tighten the screws. Handle bar comes loose, bottom bracket (pedals) comes loose, etc...
2. The rims are painted (not bare metal), which causes the brakes to squeak embarrassingly loudly no matter what kind of brake pads are used.
3. The brake pads the bike comes with are very low quality. Mine wore of in only 3 days. All the way down to the screw.
But otherwise, like I mentioned before, if you approach this bike with low expectations, which any Walmart product deserve anyway, then you are getting a decent bike for this kind of price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

It's a cheap bike

06/06/2013
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's fine if you want a cheap bike, but it's a cheap bike. It was originally $180 marked down to $130, but doesn't even compare to the Schwinn they had for $200 (which may now be $250). This is heavier, crudely made, and I couldn't get wheels and gears adjusted right. It's big and bright, so you'll stand out. And if that doesn't draw people's attention, the embarrassing and deafening squeal from the brakes will. I found myself wanting to just run into things to avoid using them. It is comfortable though, particularly if you need a large bike.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Review 15 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Nice Size for tall person, but components are junk

05/28/2013
By ,
lebanon, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am 6'5" and needed a tall bike, the bike arrived on time and I assembled everything correctly. Once assembled I took it for a ride and knew I should have listened to the previous reviews: The brake pads are junk and are noisy, and the rear sprocket was not in alignment (this part came pre assembled) and would not shift properly. Also the rear hub made a grinding noise like it was missing bearings. I immediately returned the bike to wal mart. Do not buy this bike unless you plan on spending money to replace junk parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 16 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Great Bike

02/15/2013
By ,
Los Angeles
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this in my second semester of college. Now can I get to class super fast. I wanted a bike that had the speed and efficiency of a road bike but the utility of a mountain bike; this was a good choice. At first I was somewhat off put by the size of the bike. I am almost 6'5'' and it is nearly too tall for me. I didn't think that was possible. Although, I have been using it for a few weeks now and I am very comfortable with the height now. Great bike if you are at least above 6'3".
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 17 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Cheap bike, but good starting point.

08/11/2013
By ,
Highland Village, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Every bike should be custom, and for me, this bike is a good starting point. I like hybrid/urban/cross style, and that's what this is. It's a hybrid frame with road cranks.
If you go to a store with this in-stock, you can get this bike for a third less than the price listed on walmart.com. The online price includes the cost to pack and ship this to another store or your house, even if you say you'll pick it up from the same store
Understand that, being a big-box-bike, this is made with the cheapest possible components. Any moving part will be good for less than 500 miles. The frame will have a decent warranty, and the store will offer you a 2-year replacement warranty for 10%. This suits the market, and may be perfect for you if you plan to loop around the block with the kids on weekends.
The other option is to replace the cheap parts as they fail, upgrading it to a better bike without having to pay up front for a better bike.
The bearings in the bottom bracket will be the first to go, especially if they get any dirt in them. They're not sealed well. A replacement 68mm bottom bracket (I think this is 113mm wide, JIS square taper) should be around $15. You'll need 3-4x that in tools to remove the old and install the new. You could pay a bike shop to do it, but it would cost the same as buying the tools. You need a crank puller, a 3-notch wrench for removing the lock-rings on these loose-ball axles, and you'll need a bottom bracket tool (socket) to match what you buy as a replacement.
The brake levers are plastic, and will not work well for hard stops. Since they're part of the shifters, the shifters AND the brake levers have to be replaced. Decent, all-aluminum levers can be had from $17 to $30 for a set. Shifters can be had for $30-$55 for a set. This gets you into the 9-speed sets, which will work fine with the 7-speed rear until you upgrade that.
There's always something more expensive, and always something cheaper. Go with the cheapest you can get that's all metal. Deore and Alivio are both decent. Acera is plastic, not much better than the Tourney stuff already on the bike.
The threadless handlebar clamp is okay, but it's not super strong or lightweight. Still, save that for another time, though you might want shorter handlebars. You could hacksaw these, or spend $20 on a set of lightweight aluminum ones.
The rear derailleur is cheap, and okay for low stress, but will stretch and flex. Plus, it's only good for up to 7 gears. The next model up is good for 8-9 gears, but will still work on the 7-speed freewheel. Again, Alivio or Deore 9-speed is the way to go. Installing is easy. Adjusting is easy once you read the directions. Sheldon Brown's website has the best, easy to follow instructions on this and it will take 5 minutes. If you don't read this, expect shifting problems for hours of riding.
The wheels are single walled, and have poor welds. They will crack if you take a curb here or there. If you stay on flat road, you'll be fine for around 400 miles. You'll need to clean and repack the bearings at half that if you ride in dusty or dirty areas. The bearings are not sealed well. Also, if you're big, and you power up a hill, expect to bend the rear axle. Replacement axles are about $10, and are just a threaded 10mm steel rod. Gear mounting is for a 7-speed freewheel, though DNP makes a nice 9-speed freewheel. If you put alot of power into this, you'll work the freewheel into the hub body.
A better option would be to pick up some Sun CR18 wheels, which cost about as much as the bike. They're double-walled, 36 spoke, with shimano mountain M430 hubs. Heavy duty, sealed bearings, and they come with a freehub rather than a freewheel hub. This lets you buy a "cassette". Many more options available there for up to 9-speed.
The seatpost clamp needs a 4mm allen nut. I recommend replacing the clamp with a quick release.
Tires are 32mm and rated for up to 75psi. That should be okay for a while, just keep the pressure up. The frame will accept tires up to 45mm without any risk of rubbing. You might go a little higher if you replace the brake arms.
The booklet says how to keep things lubricated and maintained. Follow those directions, and the bike will last twice as long. If you just ride and garage it, then you'll find it doesn't last.
Also, the bike has a lifetime supply of decals all over it. They peel off, and the bike looks okay, but the real purpose of the stickers is to hide the 2-tone paint problems. Again, it's a $90 bike, and the frame is aluminum, so it's not a big deal.
You'll find most of the 700c (27.5" and larger) bikes use pretty much the same parts, even if they are different makers (Pacific Cycle for mongoose, and those brands - Kent for GMC, Genesis, and similar brands, etc). Basically, make sure the frame fits you, and the welds are clean. Follow the maintenance guide, or do better if you know how. When you go to ride the bike, make sure your spokes have about the same pitch when you pluck them, and that you can spin the tire without it rubbing the brakes. Make sure you can stop before you get going really fast. Don't ride in both small gears, or both large gears, as that stretches the chain sideways. Fix autoshifting (cable tension) or chain shipping (popped link). Tighten any squeaks, and grease (not WD-40) lubricate any moving parts. Wear a helmet, and drink plenty of water (a pint to a quart per hour for adults). Do all of that, and you'll enjoy this bike for as long as you care to. Yes, parts will wear out if you put a lot of miles on it, but that's just how the universe works.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 18 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

Poor Customer Service

10/11/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This comes as someone doing research.
I really liked the look of the bike in the store and wanted more information considering the price is so low. I called Kent Bikes (the manufacturer) and the rep was new and couldn't even tell me if it was the same Kent Co. that built bikes years ago. I told her I was looking for backround info on the company and the quality of their parts. She put me on hold.
Rep came back and said supervisor said I should go to Genbikes.com and research co. info there. If Walmart wants to know why some of us won't buy from them, this is one example. Otherwise I like Walmart and shop there regularly.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
-8points
Review 19 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

missing or damaged parts

08/23/2012
By ,
Elizabethtown, KY
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first bike never left the warehouse for over a week even though it was ready for pick up by Fedex, I think it was misplaced by Walmart warehouse employees.
When I got my replacement the box was damaged and inside the rim was scratched and parts were missing.
Overall my impression the way I was treated was deplorable.
I sent the damaged bike back by Fedex and still not gotton a refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-3points
Review 20 for 25" Genesis GS-700 700c Men's Flat Bar Road Bike, Blue/White

bought and returned it the following day!!!

08/12/2013
By ,
fresno, ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Used it for a day and gears were making so much noise especially the brakes, it felt like it was falling apart, so I returned it and got a second one and same problem! I ended up getting the 22.5 frame hopefully that one works out for me , if not just going to get my money back and not deal with kent bicycles or walmart ever again
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1 2 Next