Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Visual Land Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Visual Land Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

The Visual Land Connect Vl-879-8GB-Blk-Ics 7-inch Tablet is equipped with Google's Android Ice Cream Sandwich operating system. It features a 1.2GHz processor and 512MB of RAM. You can add an extra 32GB memory with the microSD card slot that is provided. It has built-in Wi-Fi, which gives you complete mobile connectivity. The capacitive multi touch Android tablet lets you download a wide variety of apps. Use it to keep track of the latest news, social network updates and local weather. It also lets you read eBooks. You can connect with friends and family while traveling with the built-in microphone and front-facing camera. The OTG cable lets you add a USB mouse or keyboard. You can control the device with the five-point touch system. The Wi-Fi Internet tablet has up to eight hours of run time when fully charged. It supports Adobe Flash 11.1 for optimal web access.
Average Customer Rating:
3.314 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(474 Reviews) 410
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
151
3 stars
49
2 stars
34
1 star
112
Customer Recommendation64%297 out of 464reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
128
4 stars
151
3 stars
49
2 stars
34
1 star
112
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

First tablet purchase

12/08/2012
By ,
Wilson,NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this tablet for my daughter and got it one day ago, opened it, and the first thing that i noticed was that, the usb port was different from the usb cable. The manual says that it has to be fully charged initially, but when i plugged it in, there was no progress bar, like on a cell phone. So, I called visual land and the rep said that it had to be charged for about 2-3 hours and she also told me that the usb cable still works in that port, So i plugged the usb cable into it but It wouldn't charge from the pc either.So after all this I let it charge while plugged into the wall charger, unplugged it, tried to turn it on, and a red battery symbol came up. Needless to say, it will be exchanged to see if maybe I had a dud. I will post another review if so.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 2 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

First Tablet and so far so good!

04/19/2012
By ,
Lees Summit, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife bought this tablet for me for my birthday. Originally I showed her the Visual Land Android 2.3 that was on Walmart.com, but when she went back to order it, they had the Android 4.0 for the same price. Either way, for $150 bucks, this was an amazing deal. It came loaded with everything I needed. I am new to the Android platform, and it took me a little while to get started, but after a few uses I have already downloaded the Amazon market and a ton of apps to fit my lifestyle. My primary uses are for business (checking email, searching the internet, etc.) and for personal use (games, netflix, ebooks) and so far I am overall satisfied with my new gift. My kids even had a blast using it while they were home for spring break last week. And who knows, with a price like this they might be receiving one of these for their birthdays.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+134points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
az
BROADBAND CONNECTION ????
Posted 11/01/2012
WHERE DO YOU CONNECT THE BROADBAND....???????
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Loving it

10/26/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got it a couple of days ago, and it's great. I watch Netflix and Youtube videos all the time.
I am going to buy one for my 20 year old daughter, I she would love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 4 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Shoddy unit - not even worth the reduced price

06/28/2012
By ,
Startford CT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchased this with some excitement for my 11 year old who loves her mom's Kindle Fire. Based on the reviews and recently lowered price I thought it would be an easy home run. Sadly, the unit arrived, and within minutes was having problems without installing any apps. The screen responsiveness was slow, keyboard laggy, and the readability of the screen was "fuzzy" and not crisp like you would expect. It locked up, and would not even power back on with a hard reset - despite having a full charge. I talked to tech suport - whose response was to RMA back the unit at my expense to them (I declined). Managed to get the unit restarted by connecting it to my laptop - and then realized that it must be a refurbished unit - as it had shipped with someone else's MicroSD card jammed in it so far I couldn't get it out. Needless to say, I was at WalMart in minutes and happily returned it. The return process as always at WalMart is simple, and was glad for the option to return to a store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Review 5 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Very nice tablet for the price

07/05/2012
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am VERY happy with my new tablet. It runs Netflix, YouTube, Pandora, Opera Mobile, Amazon Kindle, various games... Not just simple puzzles like Soduko or Word Search but more interactive games like Angry Birds.
Battery life is pretty good.
There were only a few things I've found so far that I didn't like.
1) The default app store isn't very good. I knew about this before hand though because of other reviewer's comments. (Thank you very much all) They also suggested hooking up with 1Mobile. That does the trick.
2) I installed an SD Card last night and I actually had to use something else to be able to push it in far enough to get it to click into place. I couldn't just use my finger.
3) Angry Birds was a little slow at times. This did not make the game unplayable, however. I just attributed this to a lower priced processor. I haven't tried anything more action oriented. I have a PC for that kind of gaming.
If you want to get your feet wet with a tablet but don't want to spend the big bucks, buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Not too bad

05/20/2012
By ,
Pompano Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already own a rooted coby mid7015 and an acer iconia a500. $129 is a great price for 8gb of storage. I wanted another 7"tablet with the same features as my coby but with more storage, capacitive screen and longer battery life and this was the only tablet that fit the bill. I've had it for a couple of weeks now and I take it everywhere as it is more portable than the 10" acer which I absolutely love and use for work, playing games and downloading movies and music. The VL I will be using primarily for internet browsing, emails, watching movies and reading books but I have created word docs and excel spreadsheets as I have the full Documents to go app. I've gotten almost 8hrs of battery life on one use. It's pretty fast, hdmi works , picture quality is good, skype and netflix works. Btw get skype 2.5 until skype finds a fix for the ics issue. I haven't downloaded too many apps as I don't want to use up too much internal memory and I don't expect it to be like my heavy duty acer a500. I am happy I got this and I'm writing this review on it.
Thank you Walmart for the great deals.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 7 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

BROKE AFTER ONLY 8 DAYS!

07/25/2012
By ,
Lynchburg, Va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I recently purchased this tablet for my daughter's birthday and she was so excited to get it. At first, it seemed like a great product and was easy to operate. Less than a week of having it, the screen starting getting little black dots on it, while i was installing an app. Two days later, the screen looked worse and it kept cutting off on us. The battery was fully charged. I called the number provided for customer service, and had the rudest man helping me. Before I could even finish telling him all the problems with the tablet, he told me that it was not covered under their warranty, and it did not matter that she only had it for 8 days! He would not let me speak to a supervisor and when I called back and pressed another option to speak with technical support, the same man answered the phone! Thankfully, Walmart gave me my money back due to the short amount of time I had the device. I would not recommend this product to anyone!!! Having a broken tablet is one thing, but the customer service was the worst I have ever dealt with!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Review 8 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great Tablet for Kids and readers

12/02/2012
By ,
mankato
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tablet for less that $100 for three kids, 10, 6 and 4 for christmas.
Pro's
Get Jar, Netflix, Amazon Kindle, youtube, Angry Birds are among some of the apps already on the VL connect.
It was easy to connect with our home internet and it is speedy fast. We watched youtube videos and the picture was nice but not as nice as a kindle HD. However, it was faster than our Kindle HD in my opinion.
The touch screen is sensitive and easy to use.
Fun little camera/video recorder on the front of the VL connect. My six year old loves to tape herself dancing and she should be able to point the camera at herself and see her live performance as she is recording. I wouldn't use it for much more than fun pictures/videos and video chat.
For less than $100 this is a steal!
Cons
- The pixels and resolution aren't as nice as the Kindle HD
-the screen is only 7" versus 9" but for less than $100 it is well worth the trade off.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 9 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Good Product!

06/06/2012
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tablet was bought as a gift for my 12 y/o neice. She was really excited to get it, but, unfortunately, Fedex lost the package and there was a big mess with the details. Wal-Mart, did, though, as soon as contacted, send out another tablet on rush delivery, so that was a good thing. However, this is a review of the product, not Wal-Mart.com or FedEx! This tablet was better than expected. The price was really low, so, to be honest, I didn't know what to expect. If you have an android phone, it works very similarly. It is easy to use, I like the look of it, and the battery seems to last very well. One small problem we've had with it is trying to download apps from its app store, Getjar, but I plan to research why but just haven't had time to. Video quality is good, along with the picture and sound. The touch screen part seems to work well, too. I am really happy with this product and would definitely recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 10 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Good tablet for the price

04/29/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this tablet for a couple of weeks now. Previously I had Maylong tablet which I gave to my grandson (he loves it). The Visual Land Tablet seems to work a lot smoother and is faster. It hasn't worked flawlessly, I have had some issues with not being able to download apps and it locked up once and I had to reset the tablet. It worked fine after that. The battery life seems to be pretty good and the wifi works good connecting well with various hotspots. Overall I would recommend this tablet for someone who is looking for a basic entry level tablet. I like the 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich operating system better than the older 2.3 operating system I had on the Maylong tablet. I see the tablet is now listed at $129.00 which is a pretty good price for it. You aren't buying an Ipad or other high end tablet so don't expect it to be one. It is quite functional and fun to use.
+23points
Review 11 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Awesome Tablet

05/04/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome Tablet
I had this tablet for a month & it totally is a great value. Who needs Google Play? With 1moble & Amazon, & Getjar, you are able to get more apps than you will use. The sound is superb, so is the build quality. You have to be patient & experiment with it. I am not tech savvy, but thru a lot of android forums, I got a wealthy source of information. I have Netflix, Crackle, Classic Movies, Pandora, CW, MSNBC, YOU TUBE, FOX45 NEWS, KINDLE, BARNES & NOBLE, FLIXTER, SKYPE , WBAL 11 NEWS, TV.COM, TUNE IN RADIO, & SO MUCH MORE. Battery life is great, many features to explore. The price dropped after my first purchase & I immediately ordered another one to keep in case it sells out. I was going to but it for my brother, but decided too KEEEEP IT!!!! AT THIS PRICE, MAYBE I WILL ORDER A THIRD ONE & GIVE THAT TO MY BROTHER FOR FATHER'S DAY. I absolutely love this tablet. PLEASE STICK WITH IT!!! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. Bad reviews are because some people don't have the full concept of how to manuever a table. I would buy this again & again. What a jewel!!! I will never need an I pad, this tablet stands up to the higher end more expensive tablets. Please Walmart keep this tablet available!!
Walmart Rocks!!!
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
+263points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
N.E. Georgia
visual land connect android
Posted 08/23/2012
do any games come on it like angry birds or can u download it also i have everything in my home wireless will i have to get a contract with someone
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great little machine!

07/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LOVE this tablet! I like the IPad but hate how big it is and the Ipad is expensive especially when you have kids that want to play with them. This is basically like an IPad but smaller so I can easily toss it in my purse or diaper bag. It really doesn't cost much so if it were to ever get broke by the kids it wouldn't be that big of a deal vs an Ipad is over $400. It's great to read ebooks on. You also aren't tied down to just one ebook service either like nook or kindle. You can use those or really any you want to choose to download. It also reads pdf and other office files. Netflix, Youtube, facebook... the possibilities are endless. This tablet meets my expectations and beyond. I also bought a 16gb sd card for it to it would have tons of memory on it. I think the card was around $10 or $11 and it's great to. Get this tablet and you won't be disappointed! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 13 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great tablet!!!

06/20/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We got this tablet for my daughter's 11th birthday. So far we have had absolutely no problems with it!!! My husband easily set up the wi-fi and amazon app market. My daughter has been able to download all the games she wanted and they have all played with no problems. I also synced it with my laptop and transferred over 1,000 song to it.
We received the tablet within 4 days of ordering it on-line and got it shipped to our home for free. It was also only $99 when we purchased it last week.
I researched all the reasonably priced tablets here at Walmart, read hundreds of reviews and bought this one based on the reviews and the fantastic price. I can honestly say it has not disappointed. It's a great tablet for the price and is perfect or an 11 year old. She LOVES it and it hasn't left her hand since Monday.
I would definitely recommend this tablet for kids!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 14 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Nice table. Better with Opera

11/13/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have really enjoyed my Visual Land Connect after using a Pandigital Novel which ran like molasses. I really wanted to upgrade, but could never afford a more expensive tablet. The picture is sharp and the screen is very responsive. Basically it blows my old tablet out of the water with both speed and features. I downloaded Opera Mini from GetJar. It runs much faster than the browser that came on my Connect. For some things the default browser is better. Aldiko (the ereader app) was also fussy until I downloaded an updated version of it.
I like having the back and settings buttons. Occasionally the part of the screen where they should be is unresponsive. (I have not figured out if it is the same corner of the screen or only happens in a particular app).
As for the battery life, it depends on how the tablet is used. The battery seems to go down much quicker when it less that 60%. If I could spend more on a tablet I would look for better battery life and a rear facing camera. I think I got a good deal and am pleased with my Visual Land Connect.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 15 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
06/29/2012
By ,
orange park FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picked this up because of the price and what the product offers with the price all in all im very happy with that
the connect dose not come with google play but a quick google search helped me find a video and a forum post on how to put it on and if you know what your doing its very easy
the battery life is very good get about 8 hours online and 5 or so with games
this tablet was very easy to understand and use the only small thing i wish was different is a back camera the connect is just like the prestige 7 at the time the prestige 7 was 150 and the connect was 100 there both the same when it comes to hardware the only real difference is the case and no hardware buttons
picked this because the connect seems easier to hold and it has hardware buttons
all in all for an entry level tablet this is GREAT and the best part is can hook it to the tv
in my opinion just take some time to read and understand how to use this tablet and everything will work nicely again look up how to put google play on this tablet
once its on there its a great tablet
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 16 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Great little tablet

08/03/2012
By ,
Hicksville, Oh.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was skeptical about this product since I've never heard of Visual Land as a brand name. I took a chance because of the low price. When I started looking at them they were $149.98 and they worked their way down to $99.98 which was awesome. I used it for so many things, taking notes, keeping my calendar, showing videos. I'm very impressed with how much you can do with it beyond being just an e-reader. My sons have 10" androids and they think it's too small, but I like it's compact size. I found a case on Amazon for it that has a keyboard which connects via usb and props it up like a mini laptop. It's not too bad to type on, I've seen full size laptops with smaller keys. I was disappointed that it won't connect to my laptop for data transfer, but I got around it using dropbox and putting files on the micro SDcard. It also won't SKYPE, I can see them very well but they have a poor quality video on their end. The Visual Land web site says it's a problem with the OS and the camera, they hope to have a patch for it soon. Overall it is great and I've been telling and showing everyone how great it is.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 17 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Unbelievable product for $99

07/16/2012
By ,
Ft Lauderdale, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Before I purchased this tablet I read many reviews. There were alot more pros than cons. If you have any tech savvy you can really max out this tablet. It is not a computer, however I am able to hook up to my company's remote desk top and review all my microsoft programs, which include: excel, word and power point. I can attach an external mouse and keyboard via a mini hub that I purchased. I have several emails and am able to hook up and sync the ones I need most. If you read the reviews and blogs you can really expand what this machine can do. I popped in a 32GB memory card and am able to download and watch movies when I want. Just like many other users I installed 1 mobile and am able to get a ton a free apps (more than I need). I went to the Public Library and set up a connection so I can borrow free books. I read people were not able to get a wifi connection or a poor one. I took this with me this weekend and was able to get a reception at the airport, on the plane, in my office and at my son's house. If you have a droid smartphone the learning curve for this tablet is really easy. All in all this is alot of product for the price. I highly recommed it...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 18 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

Was basically what I expected

06/29/2012
By ,
Louisville
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my daughter as a reward for a good report card. She is 7 and always wants to use my android phone or my wife's Samsung Tab.
This device seems sturdy and is a little thicker than the Samsung Tab 2 7". Android ICS works fine but is a little laggy. The screen res is noticebly lower quality than high dollar tabs but is sufficient for my daughter.
Know going in that you do not get the Google Play Market with this Tab. It comes pre-installed with Getjar but the app downloads work only half the time. The Amazon app market worked flawlessly but is a little limited in selection
Overall, the tab was about what I expected. I reviewed several budget tabs and found that the Connect had the best combo of hardware and most up to date OS. I bought it on sale for 99.99 and feel pretty good about the use I expect my dau ghter to get out of it.
Probably the best analysis I can give comes from my daughter... "Daddy, you got me a tablet, it's awesome, you are the best". She really likes it and as far as she knows it is the best Tablet in the world.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 19 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory
05/14/2012
By ,
Holland MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This my second tablet my first was a coby Kyros 7012 then i seen this one online at wallmart.com
My visual Land Connect is great and was just what i was looking for and the price was right it works 100% better than the coby i had and it faster and i really like the touch screen and the color is right on I would say thats it's probably as good as my wifes Kindle fire..Now if they would just make a case for it that would be great....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 20 for Visual Land Connect 7" Tablet with 8GB Memory

For a beginner......

05/14/2012
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for my 11-yr old son. He loves to play games. The fact that it had additional storage is fantastic. He is doing great with it. It does have lots to offer. He can listen to music while doing his homework with/without headphones. He can read books while traveling and play some games. You can even down load a movie or two. The ony problem I have encountered is that the Skype is not working. But for my 11-yr-old....I'd prefer it didn't work. For the money, I'd buy it again.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
1-20 of 411 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  21 Next