Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Average Customer Rating:
3.386 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(44 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation66%29 out of 44reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

excellent

12/07/2012
By ,
albany, ny
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This was a gift to my son and his fiance and they absolutely love it. Use it all the time and happy with the suction. They use it on their hardwood floors and their area rugs.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Very strong suction for the price!

09/14/2014
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is much better than I expected. I got it early in August 2013, about a year ago. It took about 10 minutes to assemble, which it was quite easy to do! It was also shockingly quiet compared to my previous Dirt Devil upright! It has an upholstery brush along with a crevice tool. The power brush is motor driven and the pole can detach itself and can be used as an extension wand. It does NOT come with a bare floor attachment, but I use an attachment from a vacuum kit. The power brush can be turned on and off by the switch. A really good part is if the power brush gets caught on a lose string or a rug, it automatically turns itself off, and can easily be restarted! I have never broken a belt, so far! The power brush also has a headlight and 6-level adjustments. The power brush does a remarkable job on dog hair. The upholstery brush is stiff, which is excellent on stairs and furniture! The vacuum also has an unscrew-able cap underneath the canister so dirt can be unclogged, which never happened to me. I sometimes flip the cap upside down while the cleaner is on, to reduce suction, which is super strong! The handle fits most of my attachments I use. The suction is EXCELLENT! It’s stronger than my dad’s central vacuum system. I am very pleased with this product and highly recommend it. The only things I’m not pleased with is the fact that the power brush can’t get under the bed completely, and the area where the hose attaches to the canister is very delicate. It broke and I put it back on with duck tape and screws. The power brush accidentally got the cord caught in it and I had to take it apart. But then the headlight light bulb fell out. Though, the headlight isn’t really that important to me. After several repairs, it still works fine! Very strong suction for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Great vacuum and got it for a great price

10/02/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking for a cannister vacuum for several months in various stores. I was particularly interested in getting a power roller head and a vacuum with plenty of suction. Upon using the Dirt Devil for the first time, I was thoroughly surprised at its performance. Its light weight, moves easily around the room(s) and the combination of the power head and suction, I had no problem at all getting my pet friendly carpets and hardwood floors clean. Emptying was also a breeze - no dirty hands. I love this vacuum and would recommend it to anyone who wants to make their cleaning a little easier.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Above Average Dirt Devil

08/13/2012
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice product for the money.
Disadvantages: Electrical card could be longer, Dirt collector could be larger, Hose from canister to handle is way too firm - not easy to maneuver.
Unit moves across the floor effortlessly, Power head is great - gets up all the cat hair. (we have 4 cats), Empties very well, Controls are easily accessible & simple to use. Wand stays upright when in locked position. Adjustable power head works great.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Great Vacuum!

08/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spent a lot of time researching before I bought a vacuum and I'm very pleased that I went with this one. It's lightweight, it works great for stairs, and it has the beating brushes so it works great on carpet! This vacuum is a great value for the price!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Dirt Devil Vacuum Cleaner

05/31/2013
By ,
Manteca, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this to replace my Bristol cleaner. Very light and easy to move across. The power brush does a great job but beware not to use the power brush on a lower setting on rugs. It might pull some of the rug apart. that may cause some damage to the rug. Canister easy to remove and clean up a snap. Nice that the two filters and the foam filters are washable.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Good product so far

10/13/2012
By ,
Phoenix Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this a month ago. The suction is excellent. It is light and easy to handle. I use it on hard wood and tile floors and carpet. Does well on all three. It picks up dog hair and everything else you can imagine. One draw back, the cord is a bit short. Fine for the bedrooms but not so great for the rest of the house. I use a six foot extension while doing the rest of the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Great canister vacuum!

02/12/2013
By ,
Zephyrhills, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We wanted somthing with power, canister, bagless, washable filters, lighter. This is great so far. Tired of buying filters & bags. We are getting dirt out that our other upright was leaving behind.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Good Suction, nice design...

02/28/2014
By ,
richardson,tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Loved the size and ease of using this vacuum. Hose and wand were adequate in length and were well constructed. Size of wheels and canister was the small size I was looking for. Filtration system was definitely a plus. All seemed like a well designed vacuum until I turned it on and tried to vacuum low to medium size pile carpet. The motor floor attachment was not sturdy enough nor was it powerful enough for adequate suction. Very hard to push...not very motorized. After vacuuming a section, I took my Sharp cordless vacuum and went over the same section...the Sharp did a good job on picking up what the Dirt Devil left behind.
Was really looking for a good canister vacuum with a motorized attachment for carpets and thought this was such a good deal...it was too good too be true kind of deal...
Returned to Wal-Mart for refund...
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

So so machine

01/04/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Neat looking machine. I should start off with saying that I have not used a vacuum for hardwood floors since I was a child, so my expectations are probably off.
Didn't seem to have that much power just by the sound and how it does on rugs (not good for rugs at all). I also had a hard time maneuvering the head around and it is a canister, so that is even more complicated. I am sure I would get better with practice if I were going to keep it.
Hardwood- Does pretty good at sucking in the pet hair and loose stuff.
I find myself unwilling to rant in either direction, but I knew it would be returned within ten minutes
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Cheap Cheap Cheap

07/06/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This vacuum is completely made of plastic. It is the cheapest vacuum I have ever seen. Do not believe any of the other reviews. Broke within the fist 5 minutes of using it. RETURNED IT
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Dirt Devil Cyclonic Vacuum

11/23/2013
By ,
Hamburg, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is really a great little machine.... couldn't believe it when I finally started using it. I needed a newer lighter one and the little Devil fit the bill nicely. Would recommend this item to any one to any perspective customer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

vaccum

11/22/2013
By ,
Jacksonville, fL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new dirt devil vaccum. It has great suction and it is so easy to handle. Im glad I got it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Sadly Disappointed, Hoping for More

06/04/2013
By ,
Midland, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this product after doing hours of research on vacuums best for combo floor surfaces, with an emphasis on tile floors and some area rugs. This was the only product in the market I found with a 4 star rating, everything else was less than 4. Hoping for a great cleaning solution to all the floor surfaces in our house, I excitedly began vacuuming away! Keep in mind, this product does say it will vacuum carpets and area rugs. I didn't have the expectation that it should vacuum as well as an upright, but it barely got the carpets clean. I had to vacuum all 3 of my area rugs multiple times to pick up all the debris. My Dust Buster removes more off rugs than this did. I even experimented with all the carpet height settings, etc. Another thing, when trying to vacuum small rugs in the bathrooms this vacuum had a death grip on my cushiony mats and I had to turn the vacuum off to un-attach them. Again, I tried cleaning these with different settings. Now, as for the floor cleaning, yes, it did remove all the dirt, dust, cat fur, etc. on our floors. However, the small wheels left scuff marks all over our brand new Travertine floors! Even my husband noticed the scuffs all over. I will be returning this product and will be returning to the tried and true method of cleaning hard floor surfaces, a wide microfiber push mop! In addition, trying to dodge island corners, tables, etc. is much more challenging with an upright than a basic push dust mop. Save your money, this didn't save me any time cleaning the floors, and I don't have any hope that any vacuum out there could be easier or more effective than the push broom method.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Broken!

05/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have returned this product.I bought it online.box was broken and the main vaacum pipe was damaged and had holes on it. I dont know how could walmart ship a damage product like this.I am very disappointed.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Too heavy

10/13/2012
By ,
Ny, Ny
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I've returned it the next day after receiving it. It looks like a canister vacuum but it's like an upright because the nozzle is way to heavy. Had good suction but it is difficult to move around, vacuum the couches, under the furniture, etc. If you vacuum often (I have 3 cats) this is not a good choice.
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Does an excellent job

04/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use. Lightweight. Love telescoping wand.Absolutely great suction-had to raise height of nozzle because suction was sticking it to the floor! Only improvement Dirt Devil could make would be to put the on/off switch on the handle w/ the on/off switch for power nozzle instead of on the back of the canister-I find that inconvenient since the canister is several feet behind me when I want to turn it off.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Extremely poor warranty service

05/23/2014
By ,
NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Some time there is nothing you can do but just send it back. Even if you want to give it second, third and fourth chance...
In the end of February we purchased this vacuum cleaner. Wife liked it and it was replacing another Dirt Devil vacuum that been with us for years and now going to be used to vacuum cars.
On second cleaning of the house, my wife pointed out that plastic collar on top of the wand developed cracked, but she did liked it nevertheless. So, stupid us, we send e-mail to DD asking how we can get replacement wand and if there is an improved wand, as the plastic part that cracked looked flimsy.
Promptly I got replay informing me that this product is covered by 2 year warranty and directions to local authorized repair shops where to go to process warranty.
Repair shop informed my wife it will take about 2 weeks to get replacement part. Kind of a long wait, I would think.
Thinking back it would have been less hustle to return this one back to Walmart and get brand new, shiny one instead.
5 weeks after first visit to repair shop I decided to stop by and ask about the status. Status was DD hasn't ship the wand as it is on back order. OK
Send e-mail to DD asking to reply back rather than leaving voice message on my land line phone. They called...
Well, I called them as I wanted to get this thing resolved, after all, wife did like this model. Customer representative after putting me on hold for extended period of time informed me that replacement part has been shipped to repair facility beginning of the week I was calling. I asked to provide me with a tracking number, got put on hold again and then informed, that they do not have tracking number as replacement part was shipped via USPS.
That seemed strange to me.
Now there are two weeks since the phone call. I still do not have replacement part.
Some time you just can't help other people to help themselves. This SD40030 goes back for full refund, thank you, Walmart, for 90 days return policy!
If you live along and have a need to talk to strangers demanding service for money you paid, go ahead and buy this model. Other wise stay away from this. I will be very cautious about buying anything of Dirt Devil brand in the future.
Recommends this product? No
From DirtDevil05/27/2014
Hi Traveler321, we pulled your email and call records saw what happened and would like to make this right. Can you please email Ian.McCormick@ttifloorcare.com?Dirtdevil
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

HORRIBLE PRODUCT

09/07/2012
By ,
Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is definately not worth the money spent on it. It is made of cheap plastic, the cord doesn't retract correctly, the suction on it is useless with any attachment part. HORRIBLE PRODUCT!
I GAVE IT ONE STAR BECAUSE YOU HAVE TO, BUT IT DOESN'T DESERVE THAT EITHER!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Power Reach Multi-Cyclonic Bagless Canister Vacuum, SD40030

Great suction

09/09/2012
By ,
FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picks up well on carpet and hard floors. Would be nice if seperate brush attachment for hard floors.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next