Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

The Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum provides advanced cyclonic performance in a versatile compact cleaner. For those with hard floors, this vacuum packs a punch with lightweight design and bare floor nozzle with retractable brush. This lightweight vacuum cleaner also features 16' cord with automatic cord rewind; easily step on button to quickly snap back cord for fast convenient storage. Washable HEPA filter allows you to rinse filter to prolong the life of your filter. Tools stored on-board help get into nooks and crannies that are above floor. The foot petals make it simple to turn on and store quickly with automatic cord rewind.
Average Customer Rating:
4.337 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(163 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation88%144 out of 163reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
102
4 stars
36
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

BUY THIS ONE!!!! :)

02/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to own a Rainbow Vacuum that had all the bells and whistles. I wanted something small and lightweight. I have a three story home which includes carpet, wood floors and tile. I checked the reviews for this vacuum and made the decision to purchase. I LOVE this vacuum!!!! I've had it for 6 mths now. It is extremely lightweight and the power that this little machine puts out is incredible!!
I like the one touch release of the canister and at the push of a button, I can empty it's contents into the waste pan. The suction of this machine is better than that of my Rainbow!!! It works really well on carpets ( low pile carpeting). My Dirt Devil works extremely well on my wood floors getting everything out of the space between each plank. The attachments come in extra handy. I would like it if the power cord was longer. I use an extension cord when cleaning of my larger rooms. Should you buy this vacuum??? YES!!! If you have hardwood flooring, tile, and low pile carpets this is your vacuum!! Thx!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+47points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Quality built, easy to empty, loves to clean

09/19/2013
By ,
Monticello
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this based on the great reviews and was still a bit concerned about the poor reviews. I made the right decision. I cannot comment on how well it would do on high pile carpet as we don't have any. We have wood floors, large and small carpet rugs. It's quality built and loves to be put to work. My house has never been so easy to clean and I mean spotless. No more broom sweeping that make the dust bunnies fly away everywhere and can't get into corners or under my dresser, or around the sofas, dining area which is difficult to do as sweeping does not pick up the dirt in these hard to reach areas, and then having to bring out the dust pan each time. This machine gets it all even under my sofa seats cushions. I like the 2 attachments as well I use both of them. I get my house clean with ease and so quickly and then I go over my floors with one of those hand held mops that use detachable washable cloths. Living out in the woods never looks so clean. I love our Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100. Also a big Thank you to Walmart for the unbeatable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great little vacuum for everyday cleaning.

11/19/2013
By ,
Ogden, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this vacuum for a week now, and just love it. It's light, easy to pick up by the handle and move around or just pull behind you. It's not noisy (less noisy than my Bissell upright), and easier to vacuum rugs than with upright. I have hard/wood flooring and rugs, so the upright I was using was giving me a sore shoulder. I'm glad I got this little vacuum. No pain in the shoulder anymore! Easy to roll around. The canister comes off, press a button for easy dumping, no mess. No bags to deal with. Love the design of it, buttons are easy to press with foot. The wand is telescopic, sturdy metal, I don't have to bend over (I'm 5'6"), it's long enough for me. The transition from rug to hard flooring is easy, press the retractable brush with foot. Picks up all the mess. Gets under furniture too. Only thing I wish was different would be the length of the cord, but I just unplug and plug-in where I need to go. But the retractable cord makes up for that; I guess for the size of it you can't have more cord retracting, or the unit would have to be bigger. I haven't used the other attachments, haven't needed them yet but probably will soon. Great all around and a great price! Can't beat that!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Made for a family

12/17/2013
By ,
Port Allen, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum. It is lightweight, will suck up anything (including toys and clogs of mud), and never clogs . I am a mother of four, with a dog, and a husband who loves to hunt. They are always tracking in everything. We have a pool and it even sucks up the sand that the kids track in from the cabana area. I vacuum my wood floors, brick floors, around the firelplace, and area rug with this handy machine. The only negative thing...The cord isn't long enough.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Just what I wanted !

11/11/2013
By ,
Baldwin,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in an apartment now,my big clunky upright could not get in the smaller spaces. I saw this and figured why not. It is perfect, good suction, has tools to get into tight spaces and takes up very little space in the closet. So glad I found it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

My wife wanted it...

08/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... so we got it. The price was awesome compared to other online sites, the shipping fast (and free) and the product is great. She wanted something small and as a bagless canister to use several times a week to keep up with Sheltie hair that magically appears. Does the trick all around.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+84points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great

11/10/2013
By ,
Glendale,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this vacuum. Has great sucking power. Easy to maneuver.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great little vac

11/26/2013
By ,
Tennessee
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great suction for a small vac. Cord could be a little longer but no big deal. Love the bag less feature. Have mostly wood floors in my house and it dose a great job. Wouldn't recommend for a house with mainly carpets. Great product for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Returned the next day

02/18/2014
By ,
ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this vacuum because it got good reviews and the price was certainly right... well, you get what you pay for. Everything about it seemed cheap but it did seem to pick up dirt and dog hair.. Within 15 minutes of vacuuming I saw something black scurry across the kitchen floor and run behind the plants. Thinking it was perhaps a mouse, i turned off the vacuum cleaner to see what it was. It was not a mouse at all, but a wheel that came off of the brand new vacuum! I couldn't figure out how to get the wheel back on. My husband couldn't figure it out either... so I picked the vacuum up and put it back in the box to return it. When I did so, i accidently pushed the lever that removes the dirt cup and the vacuum dropped on the floor. poor design... when the vacuum fell, the back wheel broke and so did one of my plant containers... :(
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great product for the price!

10/12/2012
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum works great for the purpose for which I bought it. I mainly purchased it to clean up pet hair from our hardwood floors and it does a great job! Has very good suction for the most part with lighter objects and dirt. Only area I've seen it not do so good is with picking up small rocks/larger peices of dirt. I dont think it has anything to do with the suction, but rather how the floor attachment lays on the floor when in use.
Doesnt work so well on Carpet if you have lots of carpeted areas. This is more of a hard floor vac.
It is easy to empty, easy to pull around behind you. Wish the cord was longer but I just attach an extension cord so that I can go further.
All in all its a great little vacuum for a very reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Cute, compact, cheap, and works like a charm.

10/09/2012
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this for a few reasons.
1. It is compact enough to fit in a cabinet as storage is an issue in my home.
2. It does not require bags - I hate shopping for bags - I have frequently bought the wrong bags, and have several of assorted sizes and shapes and weird letters in my cleaning cabinet.
3. It is light weight, and I'm not getting any younger, anything that makes life easier is good for me!
Performance - great! I have mainly hard floors, it tackles them easily - I was shocked by just how much dirt was in the canister (I live on a dirt road, have 2 kids and 1 dog).
It's not great on rugs. I have just two short pile rugs, and it doesn't do the best job on those. If you have carpet, choose an upright model, but if you like to vacuum your furniture, drapes, lampshades, etc. and you have hard floors, then this is a great machine.
I particularly like the feature on the handle that lets you open a vent to lessen the amount of suction so that it doesn't eat the drapes. Having the tools right there on the long shaft at your finger tips means that you are more likely to change nozzles and actually use them - another great feature.
Like other reviewers before me, I wish the cord was longer. I love to plug into a central location and get everything done in one shot. An extension cord easily fixes that, and the cord retraction button is a refreshing change from having to hand wind the cord on my old machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

exceeds my expectations!

09/15/2012
By ,
los angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i haven't had the best experiences with vacuum's in the past. but, this model is pretty outstanding. i have a small apartment with hardwood floors and area rugs. the first time i used it, i couldn't stop. it works amazing on both surfaces.
it's super powerful!! especially, for as small as it is. the size is convenient. and there are just enough features to meet my needs.
this vacuum is an outstanding value for the money! get one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100
08/02/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well for our new tiled & laminated floors. Easy & light to drag around. Cord is short so I'm using an extension cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Apple Valley, CA
The cord is not THAT short
Posted 09/14/2012
The cord is 16 feet long. Are you aware that it retracts into the body?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great for bare floors!

02/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This excellent priced vacuum has great suction power! Works great to pick up all the dog hair from my Siberian Husky! It works ok on thin carpet but probably not a good choice for carpets in general. Also works to clean the carpets in our vehicles. It has a couple smaller attachments, one I used to clean the car & it worked good, I haven't used the other one yet but It's for edging jobs. I like the auto wind up cord feature. Handling is ok for this particular style of vacuum however it would be nice if the cord was longer! Overall a great vacuum for bare floors at a good value! Shipped to me in just a few days also.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great Vacuum

07/21/2012
By ,
East Wenatchee WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum SD40100. It's Fabulous it is small and powerful and no bags.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great for tile floors.

02/14/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this vacuum for cleaning my tile floors before I mop them and also for in between moppings. It seems to have good suction and does a good job picking up everything. Works good on small throw rugs I have in the kitchen.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

good

12/19/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
and does not make a lot of noise
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

perffect for an old guy like me

03/23/2014
By ,
Ocala,fl
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
light weight, easy to carry around' easy access to all areas that need a vacuum' strong sucking power
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Dirt devil featherlite

03/24/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good so far. I love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great for someone who is physically limited!

03/13/2014
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to maneuver, has everything you need right there and great suction on floors as well as carpets. The floor mode can also be used on very tight carpet (like indoor/outdoor) and the dirt container comes off very easily and cleans up in no time. I swore by uprights for years until now. This is so much easier on my back and I seem to get more done in less time including drapes and dusting baseboards, doorways and my built-ins. I love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next