Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Dirt Devil Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

The Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum provides advanced cyclonic performance in a versatile compact cleaner. For those with hard floors, this vacuum packs a punch with lightweight design and bare floor nozzle with retractable brush. This lightweight vacuum cleaner also features 16' cord with automatic cord rewind; easily step on button to quickly snap back cord for fast convenient storage. Washable HEPA filter allows you to rinse filter to prolong the life of your filter. Tools stored on-board help get into nooks and crannies that are above floor. The foot petals make it simple to turn on and store quickly with automatic cord rewind.
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(242 Reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation87%208 out of 239reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
37 Questions | 161 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

BUY THIS ONE!!!! :)

02/13/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used to own a Rainbow Vacuum that had all the bells and whistles. I wanted something small and lightweight. I have a three story home which includes carpet, wood floors and tile. I checked the reviews for this vacuum and made the decision to purchase. I LOVE this vacuum!!!! I've had it for 6 mths now. It is extremely lightweight and the power that this little machine puts out is incredible!!
I like the one touch release of the canister and at the push of a button, I can empty it's contents into the waste pan. The suction of this machine is better than that of my Rainbow!!! It works really well on carpets ( low pile carpeting). My Dirt Devil works extremely well on my wood floors getting everything out of the space between each plank. The attachments come in extra handy. I would like it if the power cord was longer. I use an extension cord when cleaning of my larger rooms. Should you buy this vacuum??? YES!!! If you have hardwood flooring, tile, and low pile carpets this is your vacuum!! Thx!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Poor attachments

05/28/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum has a crevice tool with a brush to fold down. The tool is too wide to fit into the opening of a forced hot water radiator, all other crevice tools from previous brands that I have owned fit into the radiator. In a wider opening of the radiator, it fits but the brush pops down half way making it impossible to use in that way. The dust brush attached to the crevice tool is too small for practical use. The vacuum has a 1" hose hole opening. This is not a standard size and old attachments that I have (1+1/4") do not fit. I have tried to find a hose/attachment adapter without success. I will try using a little Velcro to make them fit snugly.
The upholstery brush and larger floor attachment work well.
The vacuum has excellent suction, I had to open the hose suction adjuster a little to vacuum hardwood floors. Even the "too big" old attachments stay in wobbly place, because the suction is strong.
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Not what I was hoping for...

06/30/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First, let me start by saying that we are a home of 3 kiddos so dirt is abundant and we live in the country so we probably have more dirt that most families. With that being said I can say that this vacuum was terrible! If you have a little dust here and there it may work ok for you but we have dirt and occasionally clumps of it comes out of shoes and bits of grass get brought in quiet a bit. Most of the time I sweep but occasionally I like to bring out the big guns and vacuum really good under the couches along the baseboards where dirt likes to hide from the broom. I found that this vacuum only pushed the grass and clumps around it wouldn't pick it up. The head is too weak and poorly designed for any deep cleaning especially with kids. I used it on both hardwood and carpet and found it to be poor in both areas. The small head that I thought would work well for furniture left light scratches on my leather and I didn't bother to use the other attachment because at this point I knew there was no point. I wouldn't recommend this vacuum to anyone.
Recommends this product? No
From DirtDevil07/01/2014
Hi mountainmomma357! The Featherlite is advertised and recommend for hard floor pick up. There's two settings on your floor tool that you can press to engage the brush for tougher debris to pick up, and disengage for basic pick up on hard floors. You'll see the pedal here: _http://imgur.com/k63zmh7. We'd recommend a vacuum with a spinning brush for use on carpeting. Have you see our Total Pet Cyclonic: _http://bit.ly/1xEmesg. I has a spinning brush, is lightweight, very affordable, and can be found right her on Walmart's site! Hope this helps.Dirtdevil
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Quality built, easy to empty, loves to clean

09/19/2013
By ,
Monticello
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this based on the great reviews and was still a bit concerned about the poor reviews. I made the right decision. I cannot comment on how well it would do on high pile carpet as we don't have any. We have wood floors, large and small carpet rugs. It's quality built and loves to be put to work. My house has never been so easy to clean and I mean spotless. No more broom sweeping that make the dust bunnies fly away everywhere and can't get into corners or under my dresser, or around the sofas, dining area which is difficult to do as sweeping does not pick up the dirt in these hard to reach areas, and then having to bring out the dust pan each time. This machine gets it all even under my sofa seats cushions. I like the 2 attachments as well I use both of them. I get my house clean with ease and so quickly and then I go over my floors with one of those hand held mops that use detachable washable cloths. Living out in the woods never looks so clean. I love our Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100. Also a big Thank you to Walmart for the unbeatable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great little vacuum for everyday cleaning.

11/19/2013
By ,
Ogden, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this vacuum for a week now, and just love it. It's light, easy to pick up by the handle and move around or just pull behind you. It's not noisy (less noisy than my Bissell upright), and easier to vacuum rugs than with upright. I have hard/wood flooring and rugs, so the upright I was using was giving me a sore shoulder. I'm glad I got this little vacuum. No pain in the shoulder anymore! Easy to roll around. The canister comes off, press a button for easy dumping, no mess. No bags to deal with. Love the design of it, buttons are easy to press with foot. The wand is telescopic, sturdy metal, I don't have to bend over (I'm 5'6"), it's long enough for me. The transition from rug to hard flooring is easy, press the retractable brush with foot. Picks up all the mess. Gets under furniture too. Only thing I wish was different would be the length of the cord, but I just unplug and plug-in where I need to go. But the retractable cord makes up for that; I guess for the size of it you can't have more cord retracting, or the unit would have to be bigger. I haven't used the other attachments, haven't needed them yet but probably will soon. Great all around and a great price! Can't beat that!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

dirt devil canister

05/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
only had it a few days but i will tell you one thing it is way ahead of any up right i have ever owned..so easy to get under beds and around furniture. very quiet and plenty of suction..don't like way attachments are put on shaft so just take every thing off and just keep attachments handy..no big deal....buy it , i did and i am not sorry...
Recommends this product? Yes
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great Value for Money

05/13/2014
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just moved to the USA from Australia and needed a good value vacuum cleaner for our new home. Our previous Vacuum cleaner was a Dyson, and while this certainly isn't that, I couldn't be happier for the $60 I spent. It's bagless (which offers convenience) and I haven't had any issues so far, using it on hardwood floors throughout our house.
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great little sweeper for the money

10/20/2014
By ,
ELMIRA, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pleasantly surprised by the power of this little unit. Use it often because it is easy to set up and use.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Made for a family

12/17/2013
By ,
Port Allen, La
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this vacuum. It is lightweight, will suck up anything (including toys and clogs of mud), and never clogs . I am a mother of four, with a dog, and a husband who loves to hunt. They are always tracking in everything. We have a pool and it even sucks up the sand that the kids track in from the cabana area. I vacuum my wood floors, brick floors, around the firelplace, and area rug with this handy machine. The only negative thing...The cord isn't long enough.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

My wife wanted it...

08/13/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
... so we got it. The price was awesome compared to other online sites, the shipping fast (and free) and the product is great. She wanted something small and as a bagless canister to use several times a week to keep up with Sheltie hair that magically appears. Does the trick all around.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great vacuum

10/16/2014
By ,
brooklyn
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small, powerfull, practical, love it
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great product for the price!

10/12/2012
By ,
Washington State
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This vacuum works great for the purpose for which I bought it. I mainly purchased it to clean up pet hair from our hardwood floors and it does a great job! Has very good suction for the most part with lighter objects and dirt. Only area I've seen it not do so good is with picking up small rocks/larger peices of dirt. I dont think it has anything to do with the suction, but rather how the floor attachment lays on the floor when in use.
Doesnt work so well on Carpet if you have lots of carpeted areas. This is more of a hard floor vac.
It is easy to empty, easy to pull around behind you. Wish the cord was longer but I just attach an extension cord so that I can go further.
All in all its a great little vacuum for a very reasonable price.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Cute, compact, cheap, and works like a charm.

10/09/2012
By ,
Vermont
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this for a few reasons.
1. It is compact enough to fit in a cabinet as storage is an issue in my home.
2. It does not require bags - I hate shopping for bags - I have frequently bought the wrong bags, and have several of assorted sizes and shapes and weird letters in my cleaning cabinet.
3. It is light weight, and I'm not getting any younger, anything that makes life easier is good for me!
Performance - great! I have mainly hard floors, it tackles them easily - I was shocked by just how much dirt was in the canister (I live on a dirt road, have 2 kids and 1 dog).
It's not great on rugs. I have just two short pile rugs, and it doesn't do the best job on those. If you have carpet, choose an upright model, but if you like to vacuum your furniture, drapes, lampshades, etc. and you have hard floors, then this is a great machine.
I particularly like the feature on the handle that lets you open a vent to lessen the amount of suction so that it doesn't eat the drapes. Having the tools right there on the long shaft at your finger tips means that you are more likely to change nozzles and actually use them - another great feature.
Like other reviewers before me, I wish the cord was longer. I love to plug into a central location and get everything done in one shot. An extension cord easily fixes that, and the cord retraction button is a refreshing change from having to hand wind the cord on my old machine.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

The best vacuum for clean floor

04/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am housecleaning and I recommend this vacuum for you, it is a strong, in special if you have a dog! Thank you walmart for delivery me so fast this item!
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Love this vacuum!

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this vacuum specifically for bare floors and it works even better than I expected! For around $60, I feel like I definitely got my money's worth.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100
08/02/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well for our new tiled & laminated floors. Easy & light to drag around. Cord is short so I'm using an extension cord.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Apple Valley, CA
The cord is not THAT short
Posted 09/14/2012
The cord is 16 feet long. Are you aware that it retracts into the body?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

exceeds my expectations!

09/15/2012
By ,
los angeles, ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i haven't had the best experiences with vacuum's in the past. but, this model is pretty outstanding. i have a small apartment with hardwood floors and area rugs. the first time i used it, i couldn't stop. it works amazing on both surfaces.
it's super powerful!! especially, for as small as it is. the size is convenient. and there are just enough features to meet my needs.
this vacuum is an outstanding value for the money! get one!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Just what I wanted !

11/11/2013
By ,
Baldwin,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Living in an apartment now,my big clunky upright could not get in the smaller spaces. I saw this and figured why not. It is perfect, good suction, has tools to get into tight spaces and takes up very little space in the closet. So glad I found it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great Vacuum

07/21/2012
By ,
East Wenatchee WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my new Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum SD40100. It's Fabulous it is small and powerful and no bags.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Dirt Devil Featherlite Cyclonic Canister Vacuum, SD40100

Great

11/10/2013
By ,
Glendale,az
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this vacuum. Has great sucking power. Easy to maneuver.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 207 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  11 Next