Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Walmart Family Mobile Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Walmart Family Mobile Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

The HTC Wildfire S for T-Mobile is a 3G capable smartphone that adds style to a practical device. This sleek device runs on the Android 2.3 platform, so you can have the latest Android technology and access to thousands of apps. It also features a 3.2" capacitive touchscreen, a 5MP camera for capturing important moments and WiFi calling/hotspot capabilities! Weighing only 3.7 oz., the Wildfire S is extremely portable. If you are looking for a stylish and fun smartphone that is easy to use, the HTC Wildfire S could be the phone for you!
Average Customer Rating:
2.944 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation44%8 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Great phone

06/08/2012
By ,
Phoenix, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This phone is very easy to use, just transfer your current SIM card into the slot under the battery and you're good to go. The size of this phone is perfect and I love the versatility and ease of the Android operating system. I tried the TMobile Prizm first and for only about $40 more this phone blows the Prizm out of the water. This Wildfire S has a faster processor and handles Bluetooth MUCH better, it's very clear all the time and the Bluetooth function barely uses any of the battery. You can load music right onto the 2 Gig SD card and set any song as a ringtone, you can also customize ringtones for each caller. Has the ability to block callers, too. When at home, I've got it set so it automatically connects to my WiFi to make calls. Great battery life, too. So far on the current charge, I've got 16 hours, 14 minutes and still have 75% battery life with the WiFi and Bluetooth turned on.
This is the phone you want.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+180points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SLC, UT
Battery Life
Posted 03/16/2013
I don't know what phone your using, but my battery has to be charged 3 - 4 times a day and all night. I am not an internet phone user, I use my laptop and still I experience a low/short term battery life. Other than the battery, the phone is alright for the money.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Great value

07/25/2012
By ,
Riverdale, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So many great features...very fast...favorite feature: voice recognition no more texting while driving, I can just speak the text and send, plus so many other things. A lot of phone compared to paying $400-$600 for a comparable phone. I love this phone and u will too! It is smaller but worth the price and some!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+57points
Review 3 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Not all bad

08/31/2012
By ,
Roslyn, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Despite some of the negative reviews, this phone and the family plan is not all bad. I was looking for an upgrade from my flip phone (yes, flip phone). I only primarily wanted a small pocket size phone that would make calls and text, and this is really what I was looking for. I dont need apps on my phone (I have a BB and loptop) so I dont care as much about the storage capabilities. If you want that, get a Iphone. Despite being 3G, its still a good basic phone that fits easily into your pocket. T-Mobile was even able to xfer my contacts from the fliphone so all good. The familiy plan (although I only have one phone) is great knowing I wont have to be committed to a 2-year contract and phone if I want to upgrade. Get deal overall for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 4 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

LOW STORAGE

10/24/2012
By ,
Branson, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have deleted and cleared so much data but still says no storage. I have 7 apps I added(I constantly delete data from them) and 100 pics that is on my 4GB SD card. It won't even do the updates HTC recommends b/c it says no storage space. I have taken the phone back to walmart but they are no help. I have contacted HTC website but they are of no help. They keep telling me to delete cashes and history. Which I do. Right now, I can't get into my pics or messages b/c it says LOW STORAGE! I would not recommend this phone to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+37points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Pierce
about the wildfire
Posted 04/02/2013
I would have to rank this phone in the top five worst phones I've owned, the internal memory is far too insufficient, like others posted I spend a lot of time clearing data in order to use it. I also very much dislike the keyboard, sometimes I have to reenter passwords a dozen times before they take and the battery life is far too short. I plan on attempting to return it. I'm thriough with HTC products if this is an example of their work.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

No Storage Space! Can't download anything!

08/21/2012
By ,
Grovetown, Ga
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Activated this phone and immediately the phone started saying "Low Storage Space". I can't even have a couple of text messeges in my inbox because I have to keep deleting them and everything else to make space. Bought a 16GB MicroSD card for it in hopes of solving the problem, but it doesn't. The phone still won't let me save ANYTHING to the SD card! I can't even download any apps. I am not happy with this phone at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+58points
Review 6 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Please don't waste your money on this phone.

03/14/2013
By ,
Washington, DC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am so frustrated with this phone. It is good if you ONLY make phone calls and don't care about apps and texts. The storage capacity is terrible. At first I was able to install apps but currently I can't install any. Always receiving a warning that the storage is full. I bought a 32MB memory card thinking that will solve the problem no way. I have to uninstall all previews apps that I wasn't using to install new one but presently I only have 3 apps that I personally install and I can't install anymore. Storage is full and I can'e unsintall the apps that came with the phone eventhough I don't use them. very very frustrated and I bought the phone at full price.... I regret it greatly...very bad experience for my first android phone. I really don't recommend it to anyone very very frustrated. Walmart please take it off the shelf.
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 7 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

NICE PHONE FOR THE PRICE

06/15/2012
By ,
HERNANDO, FLA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
THE PHONE WORKS GREAT. THE ONLY PROBLEM WITH IT IS THAT WHEN I TEXT, THE BOARD IS SO SENSITIVE THAT I SPEND TOO MUCH TIME TRYING TO SEND A MESSAGE. IT MAKES ALL KINDS OF TYPING ERRORS. I DON'T LIKE THE SLIDE TEXT FEATURE. ALSO, THE RADIO WILL NOT WORK WITHOUT HEADPHONES WHICH YOU HAVE TO BUY SEPARATE. THE RATINGS ON THIS PHONE WERE GOOD, BUT IT WAS A DISAPPOINTMENT COMPARED TO THE PHONE I HAD BEFORE...WHICH FELL IN MY COFFEE CUP AND WAS RUINED. IF YOU DON'T BUY A COVER, IT IS VERY SENSITIVE IN YOUR POCKET OR PURSE AND IT WILL CHANGE SCREENS. THE RING IS NEVER LOUD ENOUGH NO MATTER WHAT YOU CHOOSE. IT HAS ALOT OF FEATURES BUT I WISHED I HAD GOTTEN SOMETHING WITH MORE MEMORY BECAUSE YOU CAN ONLY HAVE A CERTAIN NUMBER OF APPS. I SAW THE OTHER HTC'S AND THEY SEEM BETTER THAN THIS ONE.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Review 8 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Worst Phone EVER

10/18/2012
By ,
Des Moines, Iowa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Heard so much hype on this phone , made the biggest Mistake ever and brought it . U have 500m of internal memory, Not all apps can be loaded to ur sd card . so bottom line if U have the facebook app . that is 60% of ur internal memory. Phone is very poor , blackberry's have more internal memory. Dont waste ur money on a Htc phone .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Review 9 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Would not suggest~

12/20/2012
By ,
Charlotte, nc
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this thinking I got a good deal and to use it for business what a total mistake I made. Flushed my money right down the toilet Don't bother getting a bigger SD card you cant move anything over to it. 2 apps and I still have to keep deleting something i cannot even hold pics on it... absolute piece of garbage... and this is my second one first one was defective. I should have returned this one when I had the chance, too! Getting the galaxy !!! like I should have in the first place.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

Low internal memory

06/18/2013
By ,
Maine
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
After loading just a couple of apps, I received low memory warnings. Added a larger SIM card and moved some apps to the card but this slowed down the app.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 11 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

ok phone but...

04/22/2013
By ,
ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The phone is not bad but is so full of t-mobile phone apps that can NOT be removed the phone is constantly has low memory errors. This wouldn't be too bad if the apps worked but most won't on family mobile, including web calling, my device, my account, 411, t-mobile mall and visual voicemail. Also the Sim card quit working and family mobile told me I would need to buy another starter pack to reactivate the phone, at a cost of $25.00. In conclusion I may recommend the phone ONLY on a service other than family mobile or t-mobile but the family mobile service is terrible.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 12 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

No Service.

07/16/2012
By ,
VT
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Service is horrible doesn't work near home. Returned phone and got Straight Talk, works Great !!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-27points
Review 13 for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone

We bought 2 phones...

05/02/2013
By ,
Texas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My husband and I both purchased this phone...he loves his, and I HATE mine. I usually use my cell phones heavily, but this one didn't even give me the option. We bought it then I came home and didn't mess with it while it charged. When it was fully charged I went through and personalized it (I changed the background/clock/and list to another already in the phone option as well as turned of the vibration whenever I pressed the soft keys-nothing major), then went through the phones facebook. As soon as I logged in it force closed. I then went and downloaded the facebook from google play and put it on the SD card (instead of phone's internal memory). I was able to sign in tinker for 30 min, and got another forced closed. I gave up on facebook. I tried to take a picture, and it froze. Tried to make a call and it froze. At this point I factory reset the entire phone (including the SD card). Tried to do all of these things and it kept either wanting me to force close or freezing. Also want to note that the screen (and the keys on the screen) are small; I really don't understand how my husband can stand to text on it. Maybe I was "spoiled" with my Galaxy S ( of which I usually had to clear the memory every 2 hours) with it's big screen/keys. I have small finger and this phone gave me heck when I tried to type.
I am taking it back to walmart today. Hopefully I can get an entirely different phone for the price range I need it in, but I may be stuck with this one type again.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Walmart Family Mobile HTC Wildfire S Cell Phone
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3.8 out of 5
3.8 out of 5