Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for RCA RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

RCA RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

The RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz 42LB45RQ HDTV provides an amazing full HD entertainment experience. Its 42" screen with ultra-clear peripherals is ideal for viewing in larger rooms and will allow you take entertaining to a whole new level. The RCA 1080p 60Hz HDTV's display provides the highest quality progressive-scan picture possible from a high-definition source. Plus, 3D surround sound delivers an unparalleled audio experience. The ultra-slim profile won't take up space and looks sleek mounted on the wall or placed on a cabinet or in an entertainment center with the included TV stand. The 42" LCD HDTV features a generous offering of inputs for all of your audio and video sources, including four HDMI ports for a Blu-ray player and other HD devices. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the RCA 42" LCD 1080p HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.012 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation82%68 out of 83reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
24
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Happy with the tv

08/11/2012
By ,
Toledo, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this tv for my mother who's a senior citizen. Have only had it set up for her since yesterday, but she's happy with the picture, sound, and size. After getting it I worried she might think it was too large for her small living room, but she said it isn't. She's very happy with it, and it came with no damage whatsoever. I was concerned when it came with two decent sized holes in the back side of the box, but there were no scratches. Makes me wonder if warehouse workers are using 'claws' to help move tv's around, as others have complained about holes in the boxes as well. I need a tv also, and like this one enough I'll be either buying it or the 39" RCA model. I live in an apartment and the 42" might be too big, but it's tempting as I like the height and width of it. Bottomline, I haven't noticed a negative about it yet. I wanted at least 3 HDMI ports and there are 4. Was worried about the sound but it's fine. Honestly, I think people have raised their expectations of sound quality rather than tv's getting worse. If someone wants theatre like sound, there are products to buy for that. If there are any negatives that I notice in the future I'll post again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+17points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Toledo, OH
Posted 11/04/2012
Posting another update because I now have HD through my cable company. Obviously, HD service gives a much clearer picture. This RCA looks very acceptable now. The picture was average at best without HD service. One thing I like about this tv compared to other tv's I've seen in stores is the height of the screen. I bought the 42" because I wanted the screen to be as tall as possible and stay within my budget. I don't even have a problem with the sound. It's fine, I just had to adjust to my preference. The menu gives you options for the following screen sizes: Wide, Cinema, Zoom, Full, and Normal. At this point I'm happy with the purchase, although I still think they should package it better for shipping. I got lucky the two I purchased had no damage. With Christmas coming up I'm guessing there will be good sales coming up soon. I paid $368 plus tax #total $394.95#, with free shipping, back in August. It's about $10 higher now w/o free shipping.
0points
Customer Avatar
Toledo, OH
Update
Posted 08/23/2012
Purchased a 2nd RCA 42" tv. I still have not been over to see the one I bought for my mother set up, but last I heard she was happy with it. The one I bought for myself came two days ago, and I'd only give it three stars, due to the picture quality. Either mine's defective or as I suspect, it's normal for this model to look this way. It's kind of hard to explain, but the refresh rate is part of the problem I'm sure. There's a ghost or blur when watching movement, especially something like a football game. It's not real bad but it's noticeable. And even when someone is standing or sitting still it looks like 'heat' coming off them like when heat comes off a car's hood when it's hot - it doesn't extend far from the person but up close especially you can see it pretty clearly. Also, while watching a movie there was a grey wall, and the grey was moving in waves. When fairly close to the tv you can see what looks like a film between the screen and the picture. I hate giving bad product reviews, but after giving a glowing review initially, I wanted to give my firsthand account. I've tried all the different picture settings and can deal with this, but I did think about sending it back. My advice is if you can afford to, buy a higher quality product with a higher refresh rate. Sound is fine, and you can adjust treble and bass. Needs a better stand though.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

5th Replacement

06/05/2012
By ,
San Diego,CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been replacing this t.v for the 5th time walmart.com always sends me damaged or used t.v. not a good place to spend money. so disappointed
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+79points
Review 3 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

junk

05/29/2012
By ,
Remsen,ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Purchased TV 4-18-11, warranty expired 5-18-12, TV broke 5-24-12. Company said to bad, did not offer any help at all. They would send a tech out for $100. to replace main board at a cost of $200. Even though they said they are having a problem with them. If TV is made by ONCORP stay away.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+117points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indiana
THANK YOU
Posted 08/02/2012
I am a teenager. I have had my own place and own (dinosaur tv) TV for less than a year. I just moved up in the company at walmart and finaly felt like i can afford a nice flat screen HD TV. I had already added this tv to my cart when i decided to look at the reviews. I am glad i did. The only people who had positive reviews have not had the tv more than a few weeks. This review saved me alot of money. I am going to have to buy a more expensive TV now but atleast it won't be junk. Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Easy setup...

06/27/2012
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am quite happy so far with my purchase. The picture is clear and crisp and no lag time I can see. It does take a couple seconds to come on, and a second or two between channels, but that's my only complaint other than the sound.
Do not get this without a home theater system. The sound on the set alone is not sufficient. I got this in a bundle with the home theater and upconvert DVD and I'm quite happy with the sound I'm getting with that however.
So if you already have one or are getting surround sound with this, it's a great deal for an excellent picture, no glare & wide viewing angle.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 5 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Good Value

10/26/2012
By ,
Pinnacle, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good value in a 42" LCD 1080P set. Very easy to set up with a handbook that made good sense to a novice. I helped an elderly couple with this purchase and actually did the set up for them after there old tube set finally quit on them. They are very pleased with the picture size but the sound quality is lacking somewhat. An addition of a home theatre system would be nice. For the money it's a good deal. A Blue Ray palyer hooked up to the HDMI ports really shows up nicely for this older couple. They were amazed at the sharpness and understandably so after so many years viewing a 27 inch GE.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 6 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
06/06/2012
By ,
BUFFALO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PICTURE IS GREAT.SOUND IS JUST AWFUL!!!SOUNDS LIKE SOMEONE SPEAKING THRU TWO TIN CANS.ALSO SOUNDS FLUCTUATES ONE MINUTE IT GOES SUPER LOUD THEN DROPS DOWN TO WHERE YOU CAN BARELY HEAR IT. ITS GOING BACK.I HAVE A VIZIO AS A SEC. TV,
SHOULD HAVE SAVED THE HEADACHE AND BOUGHT ANOTHER VIZIO.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+50points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Bucyrus, Ohio
Sound fluctuation
Posted 03/25/2013
I have this tv and love it! There is a choice in the set up that allows the tv to adjust the volume to keep the sound even. I "unchecked" this feature and my tv does not have the fluctuation in sound anymore.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
09/21/2012
By ,
Shelbyville, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
So far, it's been a wonderful purchase. I have no complaints.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 8 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
11/13/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this tv in April 2011, it was more expensive then. I love the tv not at all disappointed, the picture is great nice and crisp. The sound to me is loud I have it in the living room, I'm constantly yelling at my son to turn it down and it would only be on 17 or 18.... I am now about to get the 50 inch for my bedroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 9 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Great buy for the money

12/13/2012
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
While some people have reported sound quality problems we found that with a few adjustments that were easy to make the sound quality is very good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Review 10 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
12/04/2012
By ,
Richwood, Oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this TV to replace a RCA which was stolen. This and the previous unit are basicly plug and play. We have had no problems with the RCA's and are very pleased. Also have a 26" RCA, purchased this summer, and am pleased with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 11 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

poor investment for money

07/02/2012
By ,
columbus,ga.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bought a 42in.in dec 2010 for my husband.did not have a full year and had line going down middle.they said it would cost more to fix than to purchase new tv.what has happened to rca? used to be the product to buy.now would not buy for a kids toy.so sad...
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Review 12 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
06/27/2012
By ,
piedmont, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the price was right it has and excellent picture
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 13 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
10/23/2012
By ,
New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price.Clear picture and sound. Was the best Anniversary present.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 14 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Beautiful in every way.

07/13/2012
By ,
Nassau, Bahamas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beautiful high def.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 15 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ
06/24/2012
By ,
La Porte IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
we love this Tv great price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 16 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Fantastic Value, beautiful picture.

12/06/2012
By ,
Cypress, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my second purchase of this model I have one in my bedroom that has been trouble free for about 4 years which is what prompted this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 17 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

GREAT TELEVISION

12/02/2012
By ,
ARKANSAS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
THIS TV HAS A GREAT HD PICTURE AND IT IS CLEAR.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Review 18 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Exactly what I wanted!

03/25/2013
By ,
Bucyrus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I looked at this flatscreen, was interested and then read the reviews. Some people gave it good reviews, others gave it bad reviews. Some poor reviews stated the set up was hard, the sound quality was bad, etc. I took a chance based on the good reviews and purchased this tv. I'm glad that I listened to the good reviews. This is a nice tv, my son has a 42" LG and was impressed with this product as well. He was impressed at the quality of the base of the tv as well as the picture, sound and ease of set up. There is a choice in the set up to allow the tv to adjust the volume based on the channel to keep the volume even, I found that I do not like this due to the volume will fluctuate up and down. I "un-selected" this feature and chose to adjust the volume manually based on digital channel vs standard channel. I love this tv and have absolutely no complaints!!! Great value for the price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

Great TV for the price

12/28/2012
By ,
Concord, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Purchased this TV for my mother for Christmas. I was worried about some of the other reviews indicating that the TV failed almost immediately after purchasing. However, I have had no problems and the TV has been used quite frequently in the past few days. The sound is very much average for a flat screen TV. Picture is great. No trouble with setup. Looks great in our living room.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 20 for RCA 42" Class LCD 1080p 60Hz HDTV, 42LB45RQ

good for value - second time around

06/05/2012
By ,
Easton, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
October 2012 - on the original order it had a dead cell in the upper corner and had to be returned which was a pain. After setting the TV up which was easy, it has worked perfectly without issues. To set up multiple components in the TV has not be easy as the direction indicate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next