Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Panasonic Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

This Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223, is engineered with a powerful 12-amp motor system in a lightweight design. Automatic edge cleaning and carpet height adjustment mean you can adapt it for different cleaning needs. The Panasonic Upright Vacuum Cleaner features a 14" cleaning path and an electrostatic filter. With a 25' cord that has a quick cord release, you can reach farther while you are cleaning and move from room to room without having to unplug the vacuum. This lightweight upright vacuum comes with on-board tools at your fingertips for custom cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.064 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation77%24 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
17
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Light and Powerful

12/24/2012
By ,
Ransom Kansas USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With a Black Lab and light colored carpet,I am always looking for Good Vacuums. This Panasonic upright works great. Walmart shipping had it to me in Three days.Wow. THANKS, KSLady
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Vacuum cleaner

02/26/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's hard to find a "bagged" vacuum these days. I will not own a bag-less vacuum they are so dirty and stinky. I have a cleaning business. I use to use Eureka brand vacuum, which I think are still a very good choice in vacuums. But I was having to buy one every year in my business they get used a lot. Then I found the Panasonic. They are a great value and I need something that's going to last day after day sometimes twice a day. The bags and belts are not expensive and I can get them online or at my local vacuum store. This is my 5th Panasonic vacuum in 25 years of cleaning. So they are lasting me on average 5 years. They last longer then any other vacuum I've owned. I had one that the body actually fell apart before the motor went out. I'm really hard on vacuums and this one can keep up pretty good and you can't beat the price. Panasonic has several different models and I own three of them now but this one, for me, is my go to everyday work horse for now.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Just like the "good old days"!

07/12/2012
By ,
Pensacola, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just purchased this vacuum, after about six years of misery trying to find a reliable vacuum cleaner. I tried the top three most popular brands on the market, but they just did not LAST. Before those machines, I had a Panasonic vacuum cleaner that was light-weight, had an edge clearner and light, good power level, and was reliable for years. We only had to replace a belt once. This new Panasonic feels and operates just like the old machine and even has the SAME, great features, including a safety feature to keep from burning up the motor, should you get a clog in the line, but this machine is a beautiful green color. I am absolutely delighted with the MC-UG223 so far and hope Panasonic proves to have the same reliability it had years ago. I am so tired of wasting money on vacuum cleaners that do not last and which are relatively heavy and at times awkward to use because of short hoses and cords. I truly look forward to using the Panasonic vacuum for years to come! Thank you, Walmart, for carrying this brand!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Amazing vacuum for the price

12/10/2012
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only had Oreck vacuums in the past but when my old one died and I bought a new one, I wanted a second, less expensive vacuum to clean areas where my dogs spend a lot of time. (Bag vacuums tend to get a little smelly after a while from doggie odor. I tried a bagless but hated it and gave it away). I was very pleasantly surprised with how well the Panasonic cleaned. I could have saved myself a bunch of money if I had known how good they were. They compare VERY favorably to the Oreck. My one and only area of dissatisfaction is that the hose that the tools connect to is short and that makes it difficult to clean areas above your head. It's still a 5-star product in my opinion.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Very powerful and reliable vacuum cleaner

10/25/2012
By ,
Rancho Cordova
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had Sanitare for many years, and when it broke, we wanted to try another brand. With two young children cleaning up and vacuuming is almost a daily chore. I wanted 3 things:
1) Powerful suction
2) Reliable
3) Reasonable price
I've researched multiple different brands and types and finally decided with Panasonic Upright MC-UG223. I was very surprised with the power it had and the suction it produced. I like the stainless steel handle with sturdy plastic parts. Don't let the price fool you. This is NOT a cheap vacuum by all means. This is in the same category as the Sanitares and Hoover.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Pretty good vacuum easy to assemble and use.

01/29/2013
By ,
Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It took 5 days to receive this and I only live 90 miles from where it was shipped but that's not Walmart's problem,it was shipped Fedx. There is no problem to assemble this. You only have to unscrew one screw(standard head) and screw it back into a hole in the handle and snap the front cover on. The bag is already attached. No extra bags. I have only used this in my apartment and all the carpeting is the same throughout so I don't know how it would perform on different piles. It has automatic height adjustment. It was a little difficult for me to push. It certainly doesn't GLIDE across my carpet. I live alone so I mostly just have a dust problem and this vacuum did suck up quite a bit of dust. It does a good job cleaning the edges. It has a 12 amp motor same as vacuums that cost a lot more. I just wish it came with more attachments and longer extensions. You can't even reach a 7 ft. ceiling to clean. The one brush attachment did a good job on the room and furnace vents and my computer keyboard. I like the way the handle angle adjusts,you just put your left foot on the unit and move the handle height where you want it. This is a great vacuum for the price and I would recommend it to a friend. I hope my review was helpful to you.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Great vacuum

01/03/2013
By ,
Roswell
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is quiet, powerful with great performance and atachments ready to use. Plus low price.
I do cleaning services for living so I use this every day.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Good price. Works great.

02/14/2013
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My old vacuum was a Panasonic and it lasted 10+ years. I considered spending $200-300 on a better vacuum with a HEPA filter and other special features..ultimately I decided to try go with this model because I just couldn't bring myself to spend that kind of money on something that may or may not be any better than the less expensive vacuums. Maybe I'm missing out. But, I'm happy with this model. I have 2 cats and a dog and my house looks and feels free of pet hair after each cleaning. What more do I need? Also, the long hose is nice for cob webs...no more holding the vacuum in one hand and the hose in another to get that extra reach!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Excellent vacuum

02/11/2013
By ,
Delaware
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a new vacuum (bagged). I have owned so many vacuums over the years. Have had very expensive to dirt cheap. The price was good on this Panasonic vac, and it was bagged and no bending to adjust for carpet / floor heights. I am going on 3 weeks owning this vacuum and I really like it. It cleans my carpeting wonderfuly (whole house carpeting). I do use it on my kitchen flooring and I find no problem picking up crumbs.
This vacuum has excellent suction power, hose suction is excellent. You do not have to bend down to unhook the hose from the base of the vacuum. Everything is located at waist level, which I love!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223
03/15/2013
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum this week and could not be more happy with it. The last two vacuums I had were bagless and wouldn't pick up anything. This one has great suction and even the upholstery wand works great. Its light and easy to maneuver, and the cord is long enough to reach 2 or 3 rooms. Haven't found anything that I don't like about this vacuum. I highly recomend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Okay

12/02/2012
By ,
chicago, il
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I recently bought this vacuum and had to return it. It was fine on my rugs that are the same pile height all around, but I have one rug that has a design it, and the design is of lower pile and the automatic height adjustment kept getting confused and the vacuum was either going self-propelled or not moving at all, and I would have to kick it, and it is heavy to push around. But if you have a carpet of all the same pile height around, I think it would work just fine. It is kinda heavy though
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223
11/21/2012
By ,
Bowling Green, Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for a great price !!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Not satisfied with performance

05/02/2013
By ,
greenville, sc
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace a very similar model Panasonic I bought approx. ten years ago.
Both units are very basic, both equipped with 12 amp motors.
The older unit had more attachments than the new one. The DUST BRUSH attachment on the new unit is ineffective in picking up furniture dust. The old unit was much better at furniture dust pick up.
If you have a suggestion on how to remedy this deficiency please pass it on to me. Otherwise I may be returning the unit for credit refund.
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Not the best vacuum

01/05/2014
By ,
Boulder, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've tried using this vacuum twice and will have to return it. I really dislike the automatic carpet height adjustment feature. There are no vacuum lines in the carpet after I have finished vacuuming. It's weird. I have a medium (3/4 inch) pile carpet and have never experienced this before. I keep going over the same areas because I feel like the vacuum doesn't have enough suction. When I roll the vacuum over my wooden floor, it sounds like a loud buzz saw. Also, this wider path vacuum (almost 14.5 inches) does not fit in between my furniture like my old Hoover vacuum, which was 12.5 inches wide. Lastly, the hose is really short and clumsy. When I try to use it with the attachments, it pulls on the vacuum and makes it difficult to use. So, the search continues to find another bagged, upright vacuum with attachments that is not a wide path model.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

Very unsatisfactory. Returned to store.

04/19/2013
By ,
Tampa Bay, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought because there had been 18 reviews, none less than three stars. My experience with the automatic height adjustment feature was completely different. On low pile Berber carpet that was packed down from traffic the vacuum pushed fairly easily but did not clean very well, on low pile Berber carpet that was not packed down from traffic it took all the strength of a 200 pound man to push it.
It did not pick up dog hair well. The brushroll brushes (Panasonic manual calls it the "agitator") did not extend below the automatic height adjustment plate. Returned it to the store after trying to use it one day because very disappointed in it.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223
06/26/2013
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recommend this to anyone who has pets, my 3 doggy's always have something on the floor & carpet for me to clean. This is the best Vacuum I've found that does a great job, & it didn't cost an arm & a leg to get the job done. I defiantly recommend it for the pet owners. I love it & I'm glad I purchased it, & it was less than a $100.00
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

I am so happy I purchased this vacuum!

05/10/2013
By ,
Glenview, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After my Hoover vacuum that I had for three years broke, I of course needed a new vacuum. So I ordered one online through Best Buy since there weren't any available in store anywhere near my area. This was a mistake - it took forever to find out that they either don't make this vacuum any more or it's on back order. I waited for three weeks; in the meantime my apartment was getting dirtier and dirtier - with a teenager and a cat, it needed cleaning fast! So I looked on the internet and found this on Walmart.com and ordered it. It shipped super fast to my nearest store; it was not hard to assemble at all and above all, it works GREAT! I love there is a headlight; there wasn't one on the Hoover I had before. It does the job with no problems - it's also much quieter than the Hoover. So far, so great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223
01/27/2013
By ,
Ridgecrest, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been looking for a reliable upright vacuum with a bag. It seems to be difficult to find one any more. When I first spotted this one there was only one review but it was a good one. I decided to take the chance. So far I'm glad I did! It works well, I haven't had any trouble.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223

OK

05/06/2013
By ,
OK
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The suction on this is very good and the tool length is good also but I wish it could have had a tool included that was good on hard floors. The vacuum without a tool does do pretty well on hard flat floors. I was not real crazy about the auto adjust for the height of carpet pile - the brush doesn't go into the pile as far as I would prefer and leave that just vacuumed look. I haven't owned it that long, so don't know how it will hold up. I bought it mainly because it had mostly good reviews and was a bagged vaccum - I was tired of cleaning all the parts and filters on a bag-less.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Upright Bag Vacuum, MC-UG223
01/18/2013
By ,
Orlando, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next