Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation84%38 out of 45reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Very strong suction and I like the HEPA bag.

07/21/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum has been used only a little so far and seems to perform very well with respect to overall suction and the electrically powered carpet attachment. However, the small upholstery attachment powered by an air turbine is under-powered and has stopped running altogether a couple of times. I have cleaned it carefully and it is running again, but I do not believe it is up to the task of removing dog hair from furniture, auto carpet, etc.
The HEPA bags are nice but expensive and seem to be too large for the space provided.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Vacuum is excellent household cleaner.

07/14/2014
By ,
Erie PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vacuum has many nice features from turbo furniture and stairway brush to 360 degree swivel hose. The power head reaches many hard to get to places and has excellent suction. Easy to switch to hard floor from carpeted areas. The vacuum bag is large and holds a lot of dirt. I would recommend this vacuum for any household.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom has had a Panasonic vacuum for about 8 years so I decided it was time for me to splurge and get a nice vacuum as well. I've only had it for one week but have been extremely happy with it. We have a golden retriever who sheds a lot and it's been great on area rugs and hardwood floors.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Easy to handle with great suction.

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The adjustable length handle is not only light weight but sturdy and easy on the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

I would recommend

05/22/2013
By ,
NYS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many vacs over the years. Later years I have had Kenmore canisters. This is very similar at half the cost. 12 amp motor makes it pretty powerful. My carpets are getting old and it perked the pile right up. I have a dog that sheds like no other and this power head doesn't seem to collect the hair around the beater-bar like my Kenmore did. The "side-kick" isn't as strong as my Sears, but they never lasted, anyways. My last 2 Sears had a fault with the electric connection to the power head. So, time will tell about this one. But, all in all, at the cost and performance, I am super pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYS
Over a year later...
Posted 07/05/2014
I am still pleased. NO problem with the electric connection! Still performing like a charm. I would strongly recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions

02/03/2014
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability.
It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature.
Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Don't understand why it is the ten best

02/22/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this due to I needed a vacuum for the new hi pile soft carpet we just had installed and our old vacuum would not work with the hi pile. When I opened the box and started to assemble found on piece of the plastic holder for the wind turbine broken and the plastic in general seems cheap. Thought okay I will see if it works okay and just get the one part replaced by Panasonic since it was a small item and not critical to the operation of the unit. Used the vacuum one time and noticed it does a good job as far as cleaning but the hose from the canister needs to be longer kept hitting the canister with the back of my feet. As advised in other reviews the hose and brush fall over easy when you park the vacuum. called Panasonic to try to get the one piece replaced and was told point blank to take it back to Walmart even though I only needed the one part. So I did take it back to Walmart and sent the whole vacuum back as defective and since the customer service was not that great as other people have mentioned and the issue with the hose being short and the unit looks and feels cheaply made did not by another one. Spent the money and bought a Riccar seemed like a lot of money but is like have a Mercedes instead of a Focus. I usually do not voice my opinion this way because everyone has their own point of view but thought due to reviews I had read and dis regarded which turned out to be true I had to give my point of view. I vacuum every week so needed something that felt and work good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just plain does not work

12/09/2013
By ,
Newnan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about two (2) weeks ago. I was so excited! The cool color combination and the new vacuum smell: EUTOPIA! I could not wait to try the special stairs attachment. I put my vacuum together and went straight to my stairs.....I have an Australian Shepherd and a German Shepherd so this time of year there is a significant amount of hair. I am also an allergy sufferer so I am looking forward to the hepa filter and the additional dust catching capabilities of the bag. Not positive what the optiflow meant but I will get to that in a moment. I vacuumed the first stair with a small amount of lag, I chocked it up to the fact it was new and needed to break in so to speak. Well....it completely bogged down and I ended up hand plucking the hair from the cute little attachment. I vacuumed the stairs the regular way from that step on up. Then there is the rug beater attachment. It is well lighted and surprisingly quiet. It worked fairly well. I am fastidious about the hair on my carpet so I scrutinized perhaps a little more than normal. Then I went through my entire downstairs where there is carpet, then tile, then the wood. I tried out the length of the 360 degree hose, (awesome by the way) and it dusted beautifully. I used the vacuum every single day just as I always do this time of year. I used it 4 days and had to change the bag. I do not know the proper definition of optiflow as I said earlier but it does bog down and let you know something is not quite right. I thought there must be a clog in the hose because these hepa vacuum bags are huge. I checked everything..the hose...the beater...then it dawned on me that I am use to a bagless. Sure enough, the bag needed to be changed. I changed the bag. Keep in mind now, I have been bagless for years so imagine my surprise when the bag practically had to roll up in this contorted way to fit into the little carry basket inside the unit, (basket awesome by the way). No wonder the bags fill up so quickly. Well, now it is the Christmas season and real trees are the way for me. But that means needles. Well, my tree was only up for one day and there were not many needles. I had to change the bag again in less than two (2) weeks. So, the color was awesome, the 360 degree hose movement was awesome and the little bag basket was awesome but none of these were enough to save the vacuum....I took it back to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

great vacuum

03/08/2014
By ,
london ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
have used vacuum several times so far i really like it. it picks up dirt very well from hardwood floors to carpet. has really good suction
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Vacuuming is no longer a chore with this Panasonic

04/07/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy to be back with a canister vacuum after years of an upright and also back to the Panasonic brand. This vacuum is so easy to use and cleans great. The power head is easy to maneuver and gets under small spaces and the attachments are a snap to change out. I live in a townhouse with both carpets and hard floors and lots of steps, so I'm changing attachments numerous times as a clean the house.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

good suction...but..

02/26/2014
By ,
Michigan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered this vac to replace my very similar Kenmore. The product arrived quickly from Wal Mart, and had much more power than my 10 year old, still working, Kenmore. However, the vacuum head had a wheel with a terrible squeak. After trying to get through to Panasonic customer service, and never actually reaching a human, I packed up the vac and returned it to Wal Mart. I'll be reordering, and trying again.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Recommended, So Happy

12/15/2012
By ,
Aliso Viejo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the Panasonic OptiFlow by reviewing recommendations online. After purchase, I could not agree, or be more happy about my choice.
I moved to the OptiFlow from a Bissell Healthy-Home upright. Never a big fan of uprights. Prior to the Bissell, I owned a Kenmore (Panasonic) 20812008 canaster vacuum. To my good fortune, the same tools (including the Power-Mate Jr. ) work with the Panasonic OptiFlow. Anyone who has used the Power-Mate Jr will tell you having that smaller powered beater bar and suction will make any cleaning chore a dream. The OptiFlow is lighter than the Kenmore. Increased suction, plus the HEPA bag filtration... Sublime cleaning...
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

doesn't suck

03/08/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's a nice vacuum in many ways but not the way that is most important to me. It doesn't suck enough. I have a dog and cat and want to get rid of animal hair. So for the price it's probably a good buy, but not a good fit for me.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!!!

06/02/2013
By ,
Atlanta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I didn't think I was going to like this vacuum cleaner, but once I vacuumed my living room I couldn't believe how much it picked up!! I love how I don't have to lean over to vacuum. My back doesn't hurt. Great to have the attachments in the vacuum. I have had many vacuum cleaners over the years. I even have a rainbow vc, and I like using this more. This is an excellent vacuum for the price and I would buy one again!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Nice vacuum cleaner

04/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have had it about a month. It is everything we want in a vacuum cleaner. Our old Kenmore died after 15 years and the new ones are rated terribly on customer reviews of the Kenmore vacuums. The Panasonics are apparently much loved. So far we agree.
Consumer Reports says the Kenmores are OK but the problem is they apparently break easily and Consumer Reports does not keep them around a long time to test them.
This one is very reliable and functionally just as good.
We shall see in 6 months if we concur.
So far so good!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 45 total reviews
1 2 3 Next