Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.253 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%75 out of 87reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 33 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
25
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great canister vac

06/24/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I prefer canister vacuums. This one replaced a Kenmore that I had had for over 20years. It did not disappoint. It is powerful and yet it is quite. My only somewhat minor complaint is that I don't particularly care for the carpet attachment - which is rather bulky and unwieldy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great Value

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I cleaned houses and business , so this gave us the opportunity to try many vacuums. Our testing consisted of Kirby, Dyson, Rainbow, Electrolux; etc. Our favorite hands down was the Panasonic which is the same as the Kenmore that we used.
It defiantly was designed for easy and quick cleaning. The pickup out performed the others. Considering the price of each of the vacuum, I am happy I never chose one of the expensive ones. I was able to try the overpriced ones at the owner's expense. I would have regretted paying more for a vacuum that - in my opinion - did not perform as well. This is a great value. Just an added note about the hand held power unit, the motorized unit in some situations was better than the air flow driven one.
Love this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

It is ok

06/16/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum works ok. But the shipping is much delayed than Walmart advised.
You can buy the product with same price at other online stores but with possible earlier arrival.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available.
This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack
Recommends this product? No
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Vacuum purchase

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My previous Raindow vacuum finally died on me after 27+ years. I was completely confused as to even where to start other than I knew I did not want to purchase a bagless vacuum. The Panasonic has been great on carpet and floors. I have an inside dog and a cat that goes in and out so needless to say, there was plenty of pet hair by the time I received the vacuum. I have been very pleased and would definitely recommend to others.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily.
So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Love this vacuum!

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using an upright for years I wanted to switch to a canister vacuum for my new hardwood floors. The carpet and hardwood attachments are so easy to switch and the carpet and floor options are right on the handle. I love the retractable cord and the fact that all the attachments have a place because I would probably lose them. Sometimes the little front wheel gets stuck on the cord and you have to give it an extra yank to get it over the cord but it's not too big of a deal to me. I love that it has a bag, my last vacuum was bag less and made such a mess when dumping it out. I really recommend this vacuum, I did a lot of research before purchasing and know it is very comparable to the kenmore and miel options.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Similar to an old Kenmore vacuum that I own

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my old Kenmore...found online bags on Amazon that are very inexpensive. I tried an upright cannister, but donated it because it couldn't get under furniture, and was a major pain to clean...yuk.
This Panasonic works like a champ, and no cleaning. Just change the bags and occasionally change out the small filter...also cheap on Amazon, and only takes about a minute. This is a time-tested design.....it's not broke, so they haven't fixed it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Vacuum cleaner review

06/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very happy with this vacuum cleaner; especially for the price. I would have given it a 4.5 but the option was either 4 or 5. Family members have spent thousands on vacuum cleaners (rainbow) and although this one doesn't get as much as the Rainbow, I would guess it's pretty close and less than 10% of the cost)
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

great vacuum

06/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fairly lightweight, multiple heights for carpet. Great for bare floors. I would highly recommend this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great Vacuum

05/29/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This vacuum is absolutely great! It has all of the features I needed and wanted, it's very powerful and easy to use. The wand is adjustable and is a great feature. I would absolutely recommend this vacuum to everyone who prefers a canister over an upright.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Bag fills up too quickly

10/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a nice vacuum, but the bag fills up too quickly. There is a lot of bag that is squished to one side when you install it and isn't filled when sweeping. That is poorly designed. It doesn't hold too much when you are picking up after 2 long haired dogs. For just general vacuuming, it is fine.
I was upset with the retractable power chord. After 2 uses, it stopped retracting
The price is good for what you get though. I liked all the attachments hidden inside.
I must say this is no Electrolux. I had one for 35 yrs. and wished I still had it, but when I looked at the new Electrolux machines, I was disappointed at how the quality just wasn't the same as the old machines. That is why I thought I'd try this machine.
All in all its a good machine for the price except for the broken cord and the inadequate space in the oversized bag. I found a good price for the replacement bags at Home Depot.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Worth the money

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love it. I work with house cleaning and this vacuum is much better than many other more expansive than it. I really recomend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

great value and performance

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is smooth and works great on all surfaces.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next