Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.245 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation85%45 out of 53reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
29
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Does the cleaning of carpets.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
some of the lever operated settings on the cleaning head are in need of some better enginering. there use llife maybe limited.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

did excellent job while lightweight and easy to us

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
only had for a short time but like it very well as long as it holds up
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum for a great price

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction. Love the on board attachments. Would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum

07/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Boy quality sure has changed!
As the price of stuff goes up the quality goes down. Its practically all plastic and for what I paid now compared to maybe 10 years ago, I sense that it may not last as long as the last one. My last one was beefier, more hardware than today's plastic vacuum. So going forward no longer do I feel assured that when I spend over $200.00 for an appliance that its going to be rock solid when it comes to durability.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Very strong suction and I like the HEPA bag.

07/21/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum has been used only a little so far and seems to perform very well with respect to overall suction and the electrically powered carpet attachment. However, the small upholstery attachment powered by an air turbine is under-powered and has stopped running altogether a couple of times. I have cleaned it carefully and it is running again, but I do not believe it is up to the task of removing dog hair from furniture, auto carpet, etc.
The HEPA bags are nice but expensive and seem to be too large for the space provided.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

An excellent machine

08/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are hooked on canister type vacuums and this one is absolutely great. It does exactly what we need to accomplish.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

better than good, but can not rate excellent

07/22/2014
By ,
TOMS RIVER,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am very pleased with the vacuum. Pick up is great, love the attachments, even though they don't stay on throughout cleaning. The vacuum bag is really impressive. I have an old electrolux 9000, the suction is better but, this vacuum is not as heavy and handles easily. We have purchased other vacuums and have had some sorrowful results....THIS VACUUM IS NOT A BAD DEAL AT ALL!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great Canister vacuum!

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many years ago I had a canister vacuum and loved it but more recently, I have had uprights.
This vacuum has a good strong motor and is easy to manipulate with all the accessories. With the upright you cannot get underneath furniture but this Panasonic makes it easy. So far (I have only had it 3 weeks), it works very well and stores easily in a closet.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

I would recommend

05/22/2013
By ,
NYS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many vacs over the years. Later years I have had Kenmore canisters. This is very similar at half the cost. 12 amp motor makes it pretty powerful. My carpets are getting old and it perked the pile right up. I have a dog that sheds like no other and this power head doesn't seem to collect the hair around the beater-bar like my Kenmore did. The "side-kick" isn't as strong as my Sears, but they never lasted, anyways. My last 2 Sears had a fault with the electric connection to the power head. So, time will tell about this one. But, all in all, at the cost and performance, I am super pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYS
Over a year later...
Posted 07/05/2014
I am still pleased. NO problem with the electric connection! Still performing like a charm. I would strongly recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Vacuum is excellent household cleaner.

07/14/2014
By ,
Erie PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vacuum has many nice features from turbo furniture and stairway brush to 360 degree swivel hose. The power head reaches many hard to get to places and has excellent suction. Easy to switch to hard floor from carpeted areas. The vacuum bag is large and holds a lot of dirt. I would recommend this vacuum for any household.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My mom has had a Panasonic vacuum for about 8 years so I decided it was time for me to splurge and get a nice vacuum as well. I've only had it for one week but have been extremely happy with it. We have a golden retriever who sheds a lot and it's been great on area rugs and hardwood floors.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Easy to handle with great suction.

07/09/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The adjustable length handle is not only light weight but sturdy and easy on the back.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions

02/03/2014
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability.
It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature.
Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just plain does not work

12/09/2013
By ,
Newnan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about two (2) weeks ago. I was so excited! The cool color combination and the new vacuum smell: EUTOPIA! I could not wait to try the special stairs attachment. I put my vacuum together and went straight to my stairs.....I have an Australian Shepherd and a German Shepherd so this time of year there is a significant amount of hair. I am also an allergy sufferer so I am looking forward to the hepa filter and the additional dust catching capabilities of the bag. Not positive what the optiflow meant but I will get to that in a moment. I vacuumed the first stair with a small amount of lag, I chocked it up to the fact it was new and needed to break in so to speak. Well....it completely bogged down and I ended up hand plucking the hair from the cute little attachment. I vacuumed the stairs the regular way from that step on up. Then there is the rug beater attachment. It is well lighted and surprisingly quiet. It worked fairly well. I am fastidious about the hair on my carpet so I scrutinized perhaps a little more than normal. Then I went through my entire downstairs where there is carpet, then tile, then the wood. I tried out the length of the 360 degree hose, (awesome by the way) and it dusted beautifully. I used the vacuum every single day just as I always do this time of year. I used it 4 days and had to change the bag. I do not know the proper definition of optiflow as I said earlier but it does bog down and let you know something is not quite right. I thought there must be a clog in the hose because these hepa vacuum bags are huge. I checked everything..the hose...the beater...then it dawned on me that I am use to a bagless. Sure enough, the bag needed to be changed. I changed the bag. Keep in mind now, I have been bagless for years so imagine my surprise when the bag practically had to roll up in this contorted way to fit into the little carry basket inside the unit, (basket awesome by the way). No wonder the bags fill up so quickly. Well, now it is the Christmas season and real trees are the way for me. But that means needles. Well, my tree was only up for one day and there were not many needles. I had to change the bag again in less than two (2) weeks. So, the color was awesome, the 360 degree hose movement was awesome and the little bag basket was awesome but none of these were enough to save the vacuum....I took it back to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 53 total reviews
1 2 3 Next