Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.238 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(80 Reviews) 80
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation86%69 out of 80reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 32 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
23
3 stars
6
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great Value

05/21/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I cleaned houses and business , so this gave us the opportunity to try many vacuums. Our testing consisted of Kirby, Dyson, Rainbow, Electrolux; etc. Our favorite hands down was the Panasonic which is the same as the Kenmore that we used.
It defiantly was designed for easy and quick cleaning. The pickup out performed the others. Considering the price of each of the vacuum, I am happy I never chose one of the expensive ones. I was able to try the overpriced ones at the owner's expense. I would have regretted paying more for a vacuum that - in my opinion - did not perform as well. This is a great value. Just an added note about the hand held power unit, the motorized unit in some situations was better than the air flow driven one.
Love this vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Worth the money

05/17/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really love it. I work with house cleaning and this vacuum is much better than many other more expansive than it. I really recomend it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

great value and performance

05/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is smooth and works great on all surfaces.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great

05/15/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily.
So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.
Recommends this product? No
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available.
This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Love this vacuum!

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using an upright for years I wanted to switch to a canister vacuum for my new hardwood floors. The carpet and hardwood attachments are so easy to switch and the carpet and floor options are right on the handle. I love the retractable cord and the fact that all the attachments have a place because I would probably lose them. Sometimes the little front wheel gets stuck on the cord and you have to give it an extra yank to get it over the cord but it's not too big of a deal to me. I love that it has a bag, my last vacuum was bag less and made such a mess when dumping it out. I really recommend this vacuum, I did a lot of research before purchasing and know it is very comparable to the kenmore and miel options.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Bag fills up too quickly

10/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a nice vacuum, but the bag fills up too quickly. There is a lot of bag that is squished to one side when you install it and isn't filled when sweeping. That is poorly designed. It doesn't hold too much when you are picking up after 2 long haired dogs. For just general vacuuming, it is fine.
I was upset with the retractable power chord. After 2 uses, it stopped retracting
The price is good for what you get though. I liked all the attachments hidden inside.
I must say this is no Electrolux. I had one for 35 yrs. and wished I still had it, but when I looked at the new Electrolux machines, I was disappointed at how the quality just wasn't the same as the old machines. That is why I thought I'd try this machine.
All in all its a good machine for the price except for the broken cord and the inadequate space in the oversized bag. I found a good price for the replacement bags at Home Depot.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions

02/03/2014
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability.
It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature.
Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Kenmore no more.

03/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been thrilled with this vacuum cleaner. It is less expensive but has all the benefits that my Kenmore had. It is lighter, more user friendly and I am extremely satisfied. I was pleasantly surprised. Thank you Panasonic for making a quality product without gouging the consumer.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Almost Perfect

03/20/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had the older model of this vacuum (mc-cg902). The newer model has some nice improvements like a telescoping wand and the air turbine. It has great pick up and is fairly quiet. The only thing I don't like is the redesigned handle which doesn't feel as comfortable as the older model. If the handle was the same it would be 5 stars but still a great vacuum.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just plain does not work

12/09/2013
By ,
Newnan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about two (2) weeks ago. I was so excited! The cool color combination and the new vacuum smell: EUTOPIA! I could not wait to try the special stairs attachment. I put my vacuum together and went straight to my stairs.....I have an Australian Shepherd and a German Shepherd so this time of year there is a significant amount of hair. I am also an allergy sufferer so I am looking forward to the hepa filter and the additional dust catching capabilities of the bag. Not positive what the optiflow meant but I will get to that in a moment. I vacuumed the first stair with a small amount of lag, I chocked it up to the fact it was new and needed to break in so to speak. Well....it completely bogged down and I ended up hand plucking the hair from the cute little attachment. I vacuumed the stairs the regular way from that step on up. Then there is the rug beater attachment. It is well lighted and surprisingly quiet. It worked fairly well. I am fastidious about the hair on my carpet so I scrutinized perhaps a little more than normal. Then I went through my entire downstairs where there is carpet, then tile, then the wood. I tried out the length of the 360 degree hose, (awesome by the way) and it dusted beautifully. I used the vacuum every single day just as I always do this time of year. I used it 4 days and had to change the bag. I do not know the proper definition of optiflow as I said earlier but it does bog down and let you know something is not quite right. I thought there must be a clog in the hose because these hepa vacuum bags are huge. I checked everything..the hose...the beater...then it dawned on me that I am use to a bagless. Sure enough, the bag needed to be changed. I changed the bag. Keep in mind now, I have been bagless for years so imagine my surprise when the bag practically had to roll up in this contorted way to fit into the little carry basket inside the unit, (basket awesome by the way). No wonder the bags fill up so quickly. Well, now it is the Christmas season and real trees are the way for me. But that means needles. Well, my tree was only up for one day and there were not many needles. I had to change the bag again in less than two (2) weeks. So, the color was awesome, the 360 degree hose movement was awesome and the little bag basket was awesome but none of these were enough to save the vacuum....I took it back to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Don't understand why it is the ten best

02/22/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this due to I needed a vacuum for the new hi pile soft carpet we just had installed and our old vacuum would not work with the hi pile. When I opened the box and started to assemble found on piece of the plastic holder for the wind turbine broken and the plastic in general seems cheap. Thought okay I will see if it works okay and just get the one part replaced by Panasonic since it was a small item and not critical to the operation of the unit. Used the vacuum one time and noticed it does a good job as far as cleaning but the hose from the canister needs to be longer kept hitting the canister with the back of my feet. As advised in other reviews the hose and brush fall over easy when you park the vacuum. called Panasonic to try to get the one piece replaced and was told point blank to take it back to Walmart even though I only needed the one part. So I did take it back to Walmart and sent the whole vacuum back as defective and since the customer service was not that great as other people have mentioned and the issue with the hose being short and the unit looks and feels cheaply made did not by another one. Spent the money and bought a Riccar seemed like a lot of money but is like have a Mercedes instead of a Focus. I usually do not voice my opinion this way because everyone has their own point of view but thought due to reviews I had read and dis regarded which turned out to be true I had to give my point of view. I vacuum every week so needed something that felt and work good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Hard working vac with perks

11/07/2013
By ,
Fountainville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent machine that brings its tools along for all around, one-stop cleaning. Excellent suction is adjustable and there is a stop-motor if it grabs something to prevent damage to either what it grabs or the motor. Brushes do good job of edging, so no more dark edges on the carpet. VERY mobile; moves out of the way with light touch (have a bum knee, so its very light indeed); thick bumper guards keep it from damaging furniture when you don't watch where its going. Love having all the tools on board...they were always in another room and usually downstairs when I needed them on my other machine. Very easy to make adjustments by foot; don't have to bend to remove a brush or adjust the height of the carpet/bare floor brush. The bare floor brush is better for use on wood or tile and connects to the wand with a button so it stays on the wand. This is a little tight to depress to remove the brush right out of the box, but worth having to keep the brush on the wand instead of losing it under furniture. Canister is a little heavy to lift. The wand extends; have pinched my fingers a couple of times doing this but nothing serious. Have 2 white & black cats; the pet/stair brush did a good job cleaning the carpet on the stairs. It stores by snapping on to a removable holder on the wand; not sure if this will be in the way but right now its fine. Don't care for bags (I'm used to a bag-less machine), and Walmart.com has not been helpful in finding them. The machine came with 1 bag already in place and 2 more as extras, and these are quite substantial. No dust will get out of this! But can't comment on where to find replacements just yet and/or the cost. All around, a workhorse machine. Not sexy, looks like the Kenmore machines, you can't see the amount of dirt it picked up vs the old one, but gets the cleaning done the first time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 80 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next