Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.149 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation84%56 out of 67reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 27 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
21
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily.
So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Bag fills up too quickly

10/05/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Its a nice vacuum, but the bag fills up too quickly. There is a lot of bag that is squished to one side when you install it and isn't filled when sweeping. That is poorly designed. It doesn't hold too much when you are picking up after 2 long haired dogs. For just general vacuuming, it is fine.
I was upset with the retractable power chord. After 2 uses, it stopped retracting
The price is good for what you get though. I liked all the attachments hidden inside.
I must say this is no Electrolux. I had one for 35 yrs. and wished I still had it, but when I looked at the new Electrolux machines, I was disappointed at how the quality just wasn't the same as the old machines. That is why I thought I'd try this machine.
All in all its a good machine for the price except for the broken cord and the inadequate space in the oversized bag. I found a good price for the replacement bags at Home Depot.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Good for price, but a little klunky

11/21/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
$205 for this vacuum is a fair price. However, the vacuum is more difficult to maneuver than I expected. The vacuum head which sweeps the floor is bigger than I like. I also feel like the suction is not as good as my old vacuum (which was a dyson). But, like I said, for the price I paid, it's a good value.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Best Vacuum I have owned

11/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lightweight, easy to navigate and the 14" head works wonders. Easy for under the bed vacuuming. Great for pet hair.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Love this vacuum!

09/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After using an upright for years I wanted to switch to a canister vacuum for my new hardwood floors. The carpet and hardwood attachments are so easy to switch and the carpet and floor options are right on the handle. I love the retractable cord and the fact that all the attachments have a place because I would probably lose them. Sometimes the little front wheel gets stuck on the cord and you have to give it an extra yank to get it over the cord but it's not too big of a deal to me. I love that it has a bag, my last vacuum was bag less and made such a mess when dumping it out. I really recommend this vacuum, I did a lot of research before purchasing and know it is very comparable to the kenmore and miel options.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Love it!!!!

11/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had spent $1,000 on my Miele vacuum and it only lasted several years before the cord went out. I bought this one and I LOVE IT! It seems to have more pick up power than the Miele and it is easier to maneuver. The carpet attachment is lower and goes under more furniture and the pet accessory is wonderful. The bag is also much larger. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Value Vac

11/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arrived promptly It performed as described A good value for the money
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

I would recommend

05/22/2013
By ,
NYS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many vacs over the years. Later years I have had Kenmore canisters. This is very similar at half the cost. 12 amp motor makes it pretty powerful. My carpets are getting old and it perked the pile right up. I have a dog that sheds like no other and this power head doesn't seem to collect the hair around the beater-bar like my Kenmore did. The "side-kick" isn't as strong as my Sears, but they never lasted, anyways. My last 2 Sears had a fault with the electric connection to the power head. So, time will tell about this one. But, all in all, at the cost and performance, I am super pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYS
Over a year later...
Posted 07/05/2014
I am still pleased. NO problem with the electric connection! Still performing like a charm. I would strongly recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

easy to use

09/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
we've only used it a few times but it is much easier to manuever than the upright we had.
It floats over carpets with little coaxing and has that turning flexibility that gets into tight spaces.
It is much quieter than any we have had so far.
One thing I am not happy about is the hose connection between the wand and the main body. It is very sensitive and when I pull on it it will cut out.
I will not bring it back because I think it is a design problem not specific to my vacuum and so getting a replacement may not eliminate this flaw.
The solution is to pull gently or to pick the body up and move it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

All in all a good vacuum.

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It had very good suction. I put parsley flakes near the baseboard and it sucked them all up with the regular floor tool, not the crevice tool. I was uncomfortable with the part of the canister you raised to get to the attachments. It was 'soft'. I felt like it might break eventually even though they specified it was okay for that lid to come off if pulled up too hard. You can just put the lid back on. It was a bit heavier than I liked. All in all not a bad vacuum. However, I found a Dyson on sale for only $20 more and since that never needs new bags or filters (and it had awesome suction) I decided to go with that one and returned the Panasonic. Walmart.com took the return without any problems. Just be sure you save every bit of packaging and paperwork.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great for everyday use.

09/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Kemore canister vac (made by Panasonic) and only the fact that I could not order a new hose, forced me to buy a new one. The Kenmore was probably 25 years old! Anyway, the quality of the new one is slightly below the old Kenmore, but it is a very handy and capable vac. You won't go wrong with the Panasonic MC-CG917!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions

02/03/2014
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability.
It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature.
Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available.
This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just plain does not work

12/09/2013
By ,
Newnan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this vacuum about two (2) weeks ago. I was so excited! The cool color combination and the new vacuum smell: EUTOPIA! I could not wait to try the special stairs attachment. I put my vacuum together and went straight to my stairs.....I have an Australian Shepherd and a German Shepherd so this time of year there is a significant amount of hair. I am also an allergy sufferer so I am looking forward to the hepa filter and the additional dust catching capabilities of the bag. Not positive what the optiflow meant but I will get to that in a moment. I vacuumed the first stair with a small amount of lag, I chocked it up to the fact it was new and needed to break in so to speak. Well....it completely bogged down and I ended up hand plucking the hair from the cute little attachment. I vacuumed the stairs the regular way from that step on up. Then there is the rug beater attachment. It is well lighted and surprisingly quiet. It worked fairly well. I am fastidious about the hair on my carpet so I scrutinized perhaps a little more than normal. Then I went through my entire downstairs where there is carpet, then tile, then the wood. I tried out the length of the 360 degree hose, (awesome by the way) and it dusted beautifully. I used the vacuum every single day just as I always do this time of year. I used it 4 days and had to change the bag. I do not know the proper definition of optiflow as I said earlier but it does bog down and let you know something is not quite right. I thought there must be a clog in the hose because these hepa vacuum bags are huge. I checked everything..the hose...the beater...then it dawned on me that I am use to a bagless. Sure enough, the bag needed to be changed. I changed the bag. Keep in mind now, I have been bagless for years so imagine my surprise when the bag practically had to roll up in this contorted way to fit into the little carry basket inside the unit, (basket awesome by the way). No wonder the bags fill up so quickly. Well, now it is the Christmas season and real trees are the way for me. But that means needles. Well, my tree was only up for one day and there were not many needles. I had to change the bag again in less than two (2) weeks. So, the color was awesome, the 360 degree hose movement was awesome and the little bag basket was awesome but none of these were enough to save the vacuum....I took it back to the store today.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next