Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

The Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology brings you a revolutionary concept in vacuum airflow technology. OptiFlow technology helps maintain a consistent volume of airflow through the dust bag, even as it becomes full. Quickly remove stubborn pet hair from stairs and upholstery with the handy on-board air turbine brush. A convenient switch on the nozzle shuts off the agitator for safe, bare-floor cleaning. The hose connection features a nimble swivel device that lets you clean in any direction without the hose getting twisted, and a single touch activates the cord rewind mechanism, making storage easy and convenient.
Average Customer Rating:
4.153 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation83%49 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum.

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this vacuum because the one I had was a cumbersome upright. Although I've only used it twice since purchase, I am very pleased with its overall ease of use and performance. From the on/off switch on the handle to the self contained storage caddy for extra tools, this vacuum is efficient and convenient. I like the functionality of the 360* hose and the power cord is long enough for me to cover a very large room and part of another. While I have mostly hard floors to clean, I also have a fair share of low pile carpet. I found the power tool for carpet to be strong enough to clean the surface dust and debris on my carpeted areas. I do not have animals or other contributers for deep dirt on carpets to occur. Overall, this neat little machine which is not too heavy, not too expensive, and is highly mobile and functional gets five stars from me. Finding a nickname to write this post was more difficult than writing it!
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Unit mostly good but air turbine brush is no good

09/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Purchased the vacuum 4 months ago and soon learned that the small air-powered brush for cleaning small areas wasn't working well. Now it has stopped completely. The impellor spins great but is loose on its shaft so no power is transmitted to the brush. The brush is clean and spins readily.
So I have now spent 3 days trying to get service or a warranty replacement for this "air turbine" brush. The Panasonic phone numbers are not helpful. Frequently the web site can't find my model number, or I get a recording with no information, or I'm sent to a phone number for a shop 800 miles away that only repairs TVs, etc. Extremely frustrating!! At this point I really don't know what to do because I need this brush to clean up pet hair. I certainly do not recommend the product to others, in spite of the fact that for the other tasks it seems to work very well.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Some great features, details not so good.

10/19/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Very good delivery from Walmart. The CG-917 has some nice features like the telescoping handle hose and strong coil rewind. The unit handles well but feels heavy to lift. The vac bag assembly is very unique and works well. Panasonic pushes the single head as the solution for both floors and carpet. It's not. For carpets, it works fine but on hardwood floors the vacuum power is just a trickle and you must resort to the "floor" attachment. First it's to short in length, the bristles are much to stiff and will scratch the wood, and worst of all, the bristles are no where near the edges so vacuuming on corners and seams doesn't work at all. You have to switch to the long, all-plastic attachment, another pain in the ... The telescoping handle hard hose is great, especially for us tall users. I tried to emailed their support team a request for any additional attachments but got a simple boiler plate response. I'm trying to decide on returning it next week.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Just What I Wanted

03/13/2014
By ,
Fishkill, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I finally had to get rid of my beloved old Kenmore canister (it was 25 years old, had duct tape all around the hose, and had one wheel left which I dragged the vacuum around on), and I was looking for a similar model. My husband was insisting on getting a Dyson, but I find them overrated and overpriced. Plus, I am probably one of the few people left who actually want a bagged vacuum. I find the bagless to be messy and gross. I convinced DH to buy the Panasonic, and it exactly what I was looking for. The suction is fantastic, and the carpet attachment easily fits under furniture. It has some great attachments, and a long cord. Yes, it's a little heavy to carry up the stairs, but I don't care. It's very quiet, as well. I would definitely recommend it!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

All in all a good vacuum.

08/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It had very good suction. I put parsley flakes near the baseboard and it sucked them all up with the regular floor tool, not the crevice tool. I was uncomfortable with the part of the canister you raised to get to the attachments. It was 'soft'. I felt like it might break eventually even though they specified it was okay for that lid to come off if pulled up too hard. You can just put the lid back on. It was a bit heavier than I liked. All in all not a bad vacuum. However, I found a Dyson on sale for only $20 more and since that never needs new bags or filters (and it had awesome suction) I decided to go with that one and returned the Panasonic. Walmart.com took the return without any problems. Just be sure you save every bit of packaging and paperwork.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology.

09/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Vacuum was made mainly of plastic and seemed if you opened the top to get the tools the top would break off after a few uses. I was very disappointed because I have had a panasonic cannister vacuum the worked for 30 years and then the part necessary to fix it was not available.
This is the second panisonic cannister vacuum that I had to return. The first one I ordered as we attemped to attach the cord to the wand, a small piece of plastic broke off. The old vacuum had a metal place to plug in the cord. Plastic is not the thing for something such as attaching the cord. To say I was unhappy is an understatement. Dishpack
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum!

06/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a long search and review of canister vacuum cleaners, this is the one I chose and am very, very happy that I did. It has lots of power and all tools are kept handy inside the cleaner. I needed a vacuum for my hardwood and tile floors and it does a remarkable job. I have 4 indoor cats and a German Shepherd and it does a great job with the hair on the floor and the furniture brush takes care the rest. I highly recommend this vacuum cleaner.
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great for floors and carpets

09/15/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I tried my new Panasonic Vacuum yesterday and I was very happy with it. I have mostly laminate flooring and throw rugs. It did a great job on both. It rolled easily. I was very happy that it was so simple to detach the floor tool to add the different attachments. I would definitely recommend this both for floors and carpets.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacum

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After returning 2 vacums, I finally found just what I was looking for. I had to take time to read the instructions to understand all that she offers, and I love it. I have a dog and two cats some carpet, mostly hard wood and cat hair on everything . I vacum every other day. This vacum does it all .
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

So Far Great, 2 times per week user.

01/14/2014
By ,
NWA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
They are all plastic now, get over it! but this unit seems to be built solid. After returning our Samsung vacuum (after only 6 months) to BB, as Samsung could not fix it, wirers in handle came apart, and after reviewing many at CR,BB,HD,L, Face, and Walmart, we went for this unit. We wanted a bagless, but could not find a very good model review. We have a long hair dog, so that also was a major factor. This unit does pickup the dog hair and everything else great. I check the bag after every use. The small air brush unit is useless on couches. The suction and air filters work well. A few reviews say it like the Sears Top of the line model. The unit is bigger than normal, the cord is longer than most, 24' not 18,or 20 like 95% have. one note, the unit came with three bags see how long they last, but new ones are expensive. $9.00 for 3.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

First time with a cannister

08/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
but it seems to be fine. I just have to get used to a new approach to cleaning as I can complete virtually all steps in one room before moving on and with my old upright I used two different machines in each room.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Very strong suction and I like the HEPA bag.

07/21/2014
By ,
North Carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The vacuum has been used only a little so far and seems to perform very well with respect to overall suction and the electrically powered carpet attachment. However, the small upholstery attachment powered by an air turbine is under-powered and has stopped running altogether a couple of times. I have cleaned it carefully and it is running again, but I do not believe it is up to the task of removing dog hair from furniture, auto carpet, etc.
The HEPA bags are nice but expensive and seem to be too large for the space provided.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

I would recommend

05/22/2013
By ,
NYS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had many vacs over the years. Later years I have had Kenmore canisters. This is very similar at half the cost. 12 amp motor makes it pretty powerful. My carpets are getting old and it perked the pile right up. I have a dog that sheds like no other and this power head doesn't seem to collect the hair around the beater-bar like my Kenmore did. The "side-kick" isn't as strong as my Sears, but they never lasted, anyways. My last 2 Sears had a fault with the electric connection to the power head. So, time will tell about this one. But, all in all, at the cost and performance, I am super pleased.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
NYS
Over a year later...
Posted 07/05/2014
I am still pleased. NO problem with the electric connection! Still performing like a charm. I would strongly recommend!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Awesome for the clean freak!

05/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction, fabulous tool package on board! Nice thick brush attachment! Easy on/off switch on the handle. Never trusted carpet to hard wood, but this does what it says with great ease and powerful suction! Love my new vacuum! I was once told I was the queen of vacuuming as I vacuum at least 3 times a week! Most of my house is carpet, I prefer it for the long cold winters in New England.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Does the cleaning of carpets.

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
some of the lever operated settings on the cleaning head are in need of some better enginering. there use llife maybe limited.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

did excellent job while lightweight and easy to us

08/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
only had for a short time but like it very well as long as it holds up
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Great vacuum for a great price

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great suction. Love the on board attachments. Would highly recommend.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Too Early for Good Reliable Conclusions

02/03/2014
By ,
Livonia, Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We have used this product only a few times and certainly not enough to give a good judgment on it's reliability, performance, and durability.
It is a nice looking unit and so far has performed as expected. It seems to have all that was advertised and all the features that were named in the company specification literature.
Thus far, there is only one item that we find a little troublesome and that is the door of the compartment that contains the small hand tools. The plastic door is supported by lever type hinges that move rough and faulty when opening and closing. We found the exactly same thing with the Kenmore Canister Vacuums we looked at, which, I understand are also made by Panasonic. I put a lubricant on the plastic arms that serve as hinges and it is some better but still not a quality design and definitely not up to good manufacturing standards. They could not have been inspected during the manufacturing operation or it would have stood out as a quality problem. Having said that, the unit seems to run and work very well. I hope it lasts us a long time.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Panasonic Vacuum

07/28/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Boy quality sure has changed!
As the price of stuff goes up the quality goes down. Its practically all plastic and for what I paid now compared to maybe 10 years ago, I sense that it may not last as long as the last one. My last one was beefier, more hardware than today's plastic vacuum. So going forward no longer do I feel assured that when I spend over $200.00 for an appliance that its going to be rock solid when it comes to durability.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Panasonic Vacuum with OptiFlow Technology, MC-CG917

Don't understand why it is the ten best

02/22/2014
By ,
Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this due to I needed a vacuum for the new hi pile soft carpet we just had installed and our old vacuum would not work with the hi pile. When I opened the box and started to assemble found on piece of the plastic holder for the wind turbine broken and the plastic in general seems cheap. Thought okay I will see if it works okay and just get the one part replaced by Panasonic since it was a small item and not critical to the operation of the unit. Used the vacuum one time and noticed it does a good job as far as cleaning but the hose from the canister needs to be longer kept hitting the canister with the back of my feet. As advised in other reviews the hose and brush fall over easy when you park the vacuum. called Panasonic to try to get the one piece replaced and was told point blank to take it back to Walmart even though I only needed the one part. So I did take it back to Walmart and sent the whole vacuum back as defective and since the customer service was not that great as other people have mentioned and the issue with the hose being short and the unit looks and feels cheaply made did not by another one. Spent the money and bought a Riccar seemed like a lot of money but is like have a Mercedes instead of a Focus. I usually do not voice my opinion this way because everyone has their own point of view but thought due to reviews I had read and dis regarded which turned out to be true I had to give my point of view. I vacuum every week so needed something that felt and work good.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next