Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Toshiba Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

The Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi lets you watch Blu-ray movies in Full HD quality on your 1080p HDTV. It also upconverts standard DVDs to near-HD quality. Built-in WiFi lets you connect wireless to your home's Internet network to stream video, apps, music and more. Easily connect to content providers like Netflix, Hulu Plus, Cinema Now and more. MediaShare technology lets you grab and share content from your smartphone, tablet, PC or other DLNA Media Server devices. A USB port lets you enjoy your own multimedia files from a USB flash drive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.029 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation24%8 out of 34reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Simply did not work out of the box.

06/04/2012
By ,
Aurora, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this blu-ray player in store at Walmart for 78.00. It was the cheapest I've seen anywhere with Wi-Fi built in and with all the typical internet apps installed. I got home, connected it to my new tv and turned it on. It showed the "Toshiba" logo screen for about 4 seconds and the screen just went black. I could hear the disc spinning up, but nothing ever came on screen. After pressing multiple buttons on the remote, I couldn't get ANYTHING to show up on the screen (no menu, display settings... just nothing). Tried powering off and back on (with the remote) and that worked as it shutdown and then restarted. But the on-screen result was the same. Toshiba logo for a couple seconds, disc spun up, then black / blank screen. Bought last night, returning this morning. Judging from other reviews, I won't be exchanging for another one. Will try a different brand. I found an LG with Wi-Fi and internet apps for $89 at Micro Center.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 2 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Disappointed customer

04/30/2012
By ,
Grunthal, Manitoba
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought a Toshiba DVD blue ray player because we thought it would be a good quality product,
But we found that although the picture and sound were great, halfway through a movie it started to
Have problems....static, double speak, etc. When we checked it, it was very hot!!!!
We elevated it so more air could get around it and tried it again with the same result. We even tried
A different hdmi cord but the same result so we are returning it. We are very disappointed as it started off so well but if it can't get through a movie not much use. We are winter Texans and bought this while in Texas and hooked it up when we returned to Canada.
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+16points
Review 3 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Do Not Buy

09/23/2012
By ,
Waterville, ME
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
On paper this looks like a great Blue-Ray player, and it worked flawlessly for the first 24 hours. Now it hangs all the time. The remote control and front panel buttons will often not work requiring one to power cycle the device to recover control.
The first evening I watched Netflix over WiFi and I was some impressed, the second even the disappointment began. The problem seems to be a bad WiFi system. It will associate with our AP and get an IP address but can't seem to do the network thing once it gets that far. We have several devices running on our wireless network with no issue.
Toshiba customer service is a big disappointment -- no help -- either you find the answer online on their web site or you return the item for a replacement. These are the only forms of "support" available.
There seems to be a software/firmware update available, but it is missing the correct ID file so it will attempt to download but will fail. This is an issue for 1.15 and 1.18 versions.
This is going back to Walmart for a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

What happened????

05/13/2012
By ,
Phoenix
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this a week ago and when I got home no problem. Hooked up easily, connected wirelessly with no problem. I would say this was fantastic. However a week goes by and the wireless stops working. When I check the Internet I see others having the same problem. Customer support is non existent. Great value but poor product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
+11points
Review 5 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Do not buy this Blu-ray Player...

06/17/2012
By ,
Meridian, MS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought one of these players and it had difficulty reading DVDs right out of the box. It eventually came on about 6 minutes into the movie. We tried to use it again and it took longer for it to start and play. The third time we used it, it took even longer for it to start. We decided to return it and just get another one like it.
The second one would not play anything and we got a refund.
Do not waste your money or time on this player.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Macon
Toshiba should be a good name!
Posted 08/08/2012
Didn't work! Couldn't get customer service!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Do Not Purchase

05/09/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought this blu-ray player a little over a week ago, used it to view 3 movies & it stopped working, it was getting very hot & vibrating.
I am returning it as soon as possible
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+10points
Review 7 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Do not buy - Looks great, Internet problems

06/07/2012
By ,
Leesburg, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Initially connected to wifi, and device said it wanted to download a firmware update. It did, but now it doesn't work anymore. All other devices in house work through wifi, so I know it's not my router. I bought it because of the name and because it was low-cost, but was sorely disappointed. Other reviews on the Internet show many others have the same problem. Avoid this product!
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 8 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Simply does not work

06/10/2012
By ,
Greenville, Oh
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I am having the same problems as the others here. WIFI connection is horrible. Locks up within 3 minutes of turnng the thing on......will return on the same day I bought it. Very disappointed!!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Review 9 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33
06/29/2012
By ,
ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i read all the bad things on the product. i was affraid of buying it. i bought the blue ray player for my inlaws and the tashiba is the best name out there. the interent works great and the movies play picture perfect. i had a blue ray player that did not play all movies this ones does. the blue ray player never got to hot. netflix players great. i learn not to worry about ratings just try it yourself and see what you think. this blue ray player is so worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

DO NOT BUY THIS!! PERIOD!

06/23/2012
By ,
okmulgee
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was on my phone looking at reviews or at least tempting to look at reviews but got interrupted. Anyways so I bought it hooked it up fired her up. It looked all good, just playing with it it than proceeded to do downloads. It finished, than another one same download, than again. Than it seamed to work fine pressed the open button nothing. Tried it again, again, turned it off than than it wouldn't even turn on. Unplugged it than let it set nothing, This thing was terribly hot. After letting it sit for about 15 minutes or so, turned it on pressed the open button and wala it opened. Not trusting it closed it waited pressed open nothing turned off wouldn't even turn back on.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 11 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Works just fine

07/07/2012
By ,
Grand Rapids,Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this at my local Walmart on 7-06-12.I initially went to purchase a Roku streaming player,but seen this for the same price.What the heck I figured,I get streaming media,media share,plus a blu ray/dvd player for the same price,so I bought the Toshiba.I read the manual thoroughly and hooked it up to WiFi first.Perfect,no problem.Netflix,Youtube,Vudu,Pandora,CinemaNow,Media Share,etc. and the usb port for my own media all worked great.
I've watched a half a dozen DVDs so far,its works flawlessly.Hooked up to a 2007 Samsung 50" DLP TV,and a Technics A/V Reciever through the coaxial port(the only audio connection it has).Outstanding video and audio so far.I haven't tried Blu Ray yet though.I hope mine lasts longer than the other reviews I've seen here.But I probably wouldn't have bought this if I'd read all these poor reviews beforehand.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Grand Rapids,Michigan
Quit working after 1 week
Posted 07/15/2012
Well,I should've bought the Roku player.This Toshiba started to freeze up,no functions would work on the remote..The remote wouldn't shut it down,I had to unplug it to shut it off.Now the wireless connection will not connect,even after repeated attempts.I'll be taking this STINKER back to Walmart today,will not buy anymore Toshiba products,this was my first one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Mine works great

06/19/2012
By ,
Jersey City NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my Toshiba BDK33 DVD Blu-ray player at a Walmart store. After setting up the WiFi the player requested two upgrades, first one, then upon rebooting, a second. Once the upgrades were installed, I proceeded to watch various movies and YouTube. To date, this unit has met and exceeded my expectations. Admittedly I was a bit hesitant after reading the posted reviews, but Toshiba has a great reputation, and for me this has proved to be true.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 13 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Great product

06/29/2012
By ,
Kansas City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This player is great. I opened the box and 10 minutes later was watching a movie. Easy to set up and easy to use. It found my wireless internet instantly. It has been working great for weeks now - with DVDs and instant streaming. Great quality player.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

no problems at all

07/23/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
was very easy to set up and worked perfectly right out of the box
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 15 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Great Blu-ray Player

05/14/2012
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great picture and the WiFi feature is great for Netflix and other streaming programs
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 16 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Great start - no finish

05/15/2012
By ,
VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Agreeing with another review with the same issues: Player was easy to set up. Watched a couple Blu-ray movies, then looking forward to the wireless features, it connected to our house wi-fi network and all connections were great. Set up Pandora for music, created some stations, listened through stereo speakers.....everything was working fine
After two days, the unit began to lock up - had to unplug from wall to reset. Again, then again, and again.
Bottom line - It's gotten so bad, the unit won't continue to operate for more than 1-2 minutes before locking up. Remote won't work. Manual push of buttons on unit don't work. Unplug yet again.
It's junk - taking it back. Lesson learned - you get what you pay for and if it sounds to good to be true, it is.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

BDK33 is chronically defective product.

07/07/2012
By ,
Oklahoma City
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
As a long-time electronics guy, I"ve learned to live with a few hiccups and glitches among different kinds of products. When I went to purchase an inexpensive Blu-Ray player, the Toshiba BDK33 seemed a great fit; but moments after setup, I realized this unit wasn't merely finicky, it was fundamentally flawed.
This unit froze while initializing new copies of "Julie and Julia" and "The Vow," rendering the front panel buttons and the remote inoperative. The unit has no reset capability other than unplugging from wall power, and after at least five "freezes" in the first ten minutes while trying to access basic configuration options, I stopped counting. This will be going back to WalMart today.
I've dealt with many kinds of electronics over the years, but none so inherently flawed as this one. I would strongly encourage other customers to look elsewhere. It is my opinion that this unit should not be offered for sale at retail at *any* price, and I suspect the same basic unit is sold under different model numbers with varying features enabled, so buyers should beware of *any* Toshiba DVD players in the BD series.
For $80, I don't expect a Cadillac, but I do expect a functional product. This unit fails even that basic expectation.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Do Not Purchase

07/13/2012
By ,
London Ky
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We purchased this player about 1 month ago from our local Wal-Mart. Since then we have experienced problems with the player "freezing" during operation. The only way to fix this issue is to unplug to unit and start over. This happens during DVD play, and during WIFI play. Also, when we first started using the player, it prompted us to "update" the software when WIFI was connected. After the update, the player would not connect to the WIFI anymore, so we had to reset it to the original settings. Customer support from Toshiba is non-existent. I am however glad that Wal-Mart accepts returns, because this was a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 19 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Very poor product right out of the box

07/31/2012
By ,
Hanover, NH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the poorest performing electronic that I have ever owned, and I still have an original Nintendo. The software is very sluggish and unresponsive. I had to unplug it to turn it off a few times. The english in the menu wasn't always comprehensible either. Wi-Fi regularly dropped regularly (when I tested the network connection it said "Network status is FAILED"). All of my other wireless electronics in the same room have no trouble connecting. Both the remote and the buttons on the unit itself became unresponsive for minutes at a time. I returned this product today. Not worth your time!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Review 20 for Toshiba Blu-ray Player with WiFi, BDK33

Great options / poor quality

06/19/2012
By ,
Northwest, GA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this because of the built in wifi, plus the built in apps that it had. Comparable models were much more expensive, so I thought it might be worth the trade off... Well not so. The first movie I played half way through it started vibrating & making a loud buzzing noise. The first time I connected to the Youtube app it froze on the page & I could not get off of it & had to unplug the player. I definitely will be looking to return this & look at other models.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1 2 Next