Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Evenflo Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

The Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate helps parents keep children safe from household dangers in their home. This wide baby safety gate installs quickly without any hardware or damage to your home.    
Average Customer Rating:
4.566 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(106 Reviews) 94
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation96%102 out of 106reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 46 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
78
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Ideal for small dogs

12/16/2012
By ,
Pasadena, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these gates to use for my Shorkie ( Shitzu / Yorkie ). It's ideal because it extends easily to whatever size of doorway I need it to and locks securely keeping the little tyke where I want her while I get on with whatever I need to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Fantastic Gate

01/15/2013
By ,
Davenport, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly recommend this product. It's soft yet durable and works great. Only downfall is having to step over it but well worth not having to put lots of screws in my woodwork.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Evenflo Crosstown

06/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This works extremely well and all it takes is a bit of patience to put it up. I have had mine for almost 10 years and it still looks like new, now it is time to pass it on to someone with babies since my grandchildren are getting older. One person said it did not work for her dog. NO it says right on some instructions it is not for dogs. Other people rated it low since it was hard to put up. Again read the instructions, pay attention to what you are doing and take your time and you will have no problems putting it up and taking it down.. People complained about it not being easy to climb over. If it were your babies could climb it, and you sure do not want that, now do you? As far as damaged packaging and missing parts, blame the shipper, not the product.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Using this baby gate for a tea cup puppy.

03/07/2014
By ,
Gibsonia, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this gate because it was extra wide for the opening we needed larger than a regular opening of a door. This one expands which is what we needed to keep our little tea-cup Chihuahua confined when we were busy or out and to help with paper training. She weighs 2 pounds and is 12 weeks old, so she is very tiny so the mesh is what we needed to keep her in one area. I know these are for babies, but this little one is our baby and we don't want her hurt. It works great and was much more reasonable than what you would find at a pet store or the wooden slats that are too wide, and she would walk right through the slats. Good quality and very sturdy. Very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great purchased

06/08/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Excellent product.

10/18/2012
By ,
Santa Maria, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep our 2 puppies off the rug in our formal living room until they are house broken. It's working great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great product, great price!

02/28/2013
By ,
Fort Wayne,In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased two of these gates for two large doorways in our home. I am very satisfied with these gates! I originally bought two different gates from another store and did not like them. That's when I found these.. I got two for the price of just one from the other store! Anyways, I've used these everyday for the last four months or so, and they've held up great so far. I even have a cat who jumps it constantly and has yet to rip the fabric, which I was concerned about that with buying the fabric. These gates were super easy to assemble and install and that is a plus! Also, you'll get a good laugh when your little one presses their face against the mesh!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Keeps my pets safe

05/30/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this on my deck to keep my 2 little doxies safe when they want to be outside and I can't. It fits perfectly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Very good purchase

05/31/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Best baby gate EVER!

08/10/2014
By ,
Port Hueneme, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2 year old and a 9 month old baby. I bought this gate for the bottom of the stairs. There is wood molding at the bottom, so regular tension gates did not work properly. The bottom is closer together than the top. The Evenflo soft and wide gate is a tension gate as well, but the top and bottom are independent of each other. My husband put the gate together, and he was able to fit the top and bottom snugly to the wall (top) and the wood molding (bottom). My 2 year old has already hung off of it, but it held firm. My 9 month old can't sneak up the stairs anymore. I have never been more excited for a baby gate in my life!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great product!

05/05/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this gate!!! First of all it was tough finding one that was big enough for the opening that I needed. The standard ones only go so large and as you get into the longer ones you have to screw them into the wall. This is for my child so he doesn't go into the dining room and kitchen. It is perfect and it hasn't ruined my walls. It's sturdy enough for him to stand on and nothing bad happens. If I ever needed another gate I would get this one. Easy to put together and even simple to put up and take down everyday!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great gate for puppy

01/21/2014
By ,
Marshall MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is perfect for our puppy. The mesh is the right size and it can be washed. It also goes up and down easy with a twist of the knob.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great Soft Gate

05/07/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to set-up and take apart for cleaning. Pattern and color of fabric is modern and subtle. Price is great because the gate components and fabric are of great quality too. Super happy about my purchase for sure.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Life saver

11/25/2013
By ,
Bronx, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this gate for my kitchen. My son who is 13 months old was opening my cabinets and started reaching for the stove knobs. As I rent and can't put holes on walls, this was perfect since it was pressure knobs. It fit perfectly.
Easy to install and safe. My son can't climb on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

sturdy gait

04/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gait was purchased for a dog gait. It is very sturdy, will not fall over if I step over the gait and touch it with my foot. As a baby gait it would be sturdy enough to stay in place even if a toddler tried to pull on it. It looks good too. I am very pleased with the gait and the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Watch video to see it in action

04/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I made a video so you can see how the gate stands up to my 8.5 month old. We couldn't find many gates that had this extra wide width for a reasonable price. Just be careful when stepping over it, hold onto something to balance yourself.
Here is the video I made showing my child and the gate:
https://youtu.be/EAkYUlA_Ryw
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Great babygate for wide openings

12/15/2013
By ,
Washington
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed a sturdy baby gate that didn't screw in. Was nervous about purchase because only goes up to 60" and my doorway was 59 3/4. Its working great! Sturdy. 15 month will push on it and it doesn't budge. Easy assemble. Only trouble was snaking one of the poles through and kept getting stuck. Walmart ships in box 5x the size of product. So wasteful. :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

TERRIBLE

12/02/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I brought this gate to keep my 3 great grandkids ages 1 to 4 out of my dinning room. To begin with it had a small hole in the mess. If that was the only issue I would have rated it great. But when I tried to slip the top rail thru it would not go all the way. I tried from the other end, tried the bottom rail, nothing worked. If it had not have been that the kids were due the next day I would have stopped there and returned it. I finally found a quarter inch round of PVC tubing that I was able to get thru and then tape the top rail to it and pull it back thru. What seemed to have happened was that the padded area had a tear in it allowing the rails to go 3/4 of the way thru. The problems didn't stop there. My opening was 5 inches short of the 6 foot advertised width. It wouldn't reach. When adjusted to it's max width the whole gate twisted by 45 degrees and would only flatten out if I stepped on both ends. I had to add a pillow to the bottom rail to make it fit and not fall apart. It took 3 people to hold and get this peace of trash installed. My great grandson was able to easily push it down with little effort. As soon as they leave I am returning this garbage. Please do not order this and save you some headaches.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

Works Great

08/09/2012
By ,
Bennington, VT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
From the picture I couldn't quite tell how this was made but once I received it I was pleased, it works very well and is very much like the side of a pack and play, mesh.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo Soft and Wide Gate

floppy

02/15/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
doesn't hold straight - always falls over
big disappointment
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 94 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next