Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Kent International 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Kent International 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Riding the Avalon is such a breeze. The comfortable saddle and dual-suspension make your ride through town or along a trail smooth sailing Don't forget your safety equipment and bike accessories!
Average Customer Rating:
4.008 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(126 Reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation89%112 out of 126reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
54
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Best all-purpose bike for the money on the market

05/25/2008
By ,
Madera, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this bike for a year and half. Before I got this one, I had the exact same bike, only it was blue. It got stole. I wanted to buy something more fancy, high dollar, etc., but after hours of research and having known this bike, I simply HAD to order ANOTHER Avalon. For the money, there is no comparison. 7-speeds is generally all anyone needs. This has a single front crank of 38T, which allows a top out pedaled speed of about 19-20mph (according to my Schwinn cyclometer)...plenty fast. You can easily cruise at 9-13mph. Dual suspension allows for a nice ride both on hard surface and light off road. The brakes will stop on a dime if properly adjusted. I would recommend getting a fender or a back deck to cover the back tires so you won't have anything thrown up..especially if you ride in wet places. This bike is sturdy, solid, and reliable. The chainguard is a huge plus as it keeps grease and other road grime from being tossed on your legs. I would recommend changing out the tubes for Slime filled (they WORK) as I did. The larger tires actually allow you to carry rather heavy loads without fear of busting your tubes due to overloads. I added some lighting. Blaze .5watt headlight and Blinky rear light for better day or night visibility. The only thing I don't like is that the single front crank limits your high end speed, but on the good side, with a single front cog and no front derailleur, you have less things to adjust and less things to go wrong. For the price, this is the best bike on the market, bar none. Highly recommended!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Low Level Bike

06/13/2008
By ,
Jupiter, FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Seems fairly flimsy. The bike came mostly assembled. Not hard to assemble except for the front brakes since the instructions did not reflect the brakes that actually came with the bike. That was adjusted the following day after giving it some thought. Not a real problem, just annoying.
The real problem are the pedals. Very cheaply made. They are a metal, threaded rod with a plastic outer shell in the shape of a standard pedal. After less than two weeks of occasional riding, the right pedal broke. The metal rod tore out of the plastic shell.
We'll see what else falls apart.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 3 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Excellent Find

04/27/2008
By ,
La Quinta,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great bike for the price. Wish it had one lower gear as I am 62 and just starting to exercise.Everything works as expected,comfortable seat.great adjustable handlebars,rides smooth and easy,easy to steer. Brakes are the best I've seen ! Ride for 30min 2-3 times per week.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Review 4 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

You Get What You Pay For

09/04/2008
By ,
Altoona, Pa.
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought the price was unbelievably low, and it appeared to be a quality bicycle, but it is not.
The sprocket cluster has excessive play in it, which makes a very audible clicking noise while pedaling in the higher gears. A bike repairman said the gearset cannot be tightened any further, and that it may remedy the problem if I changed gearsets. I decided to try this, instead of wasting the time of sending the entire bike back. The gearset was not that expensive, and it had much less play in it, and the noise was remedied.
The shifting mechanism leaves a little to be desired too, whereas the click-stops do not position the chain on center of the gears, and they chatter, sometimes change unexpectedly. I think that it's possible to work with the cable tension through time and get the shifting perfected a little.
The bike is fair for the price, but my previous bike was better, which was about 50 dollars more when I bought it about 10-15 years ago. It was an 18-speed, and the gears worked excellent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike
08/10/2008
By ,
CT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great bike. Handles well. The bike is very sturdy, I was a little concerned since the price is low and I weigh over 300lbs. But I after reading the reviews I decided to give the bike a try. Glad I did. It's really fun to ride and it handles my size with no probems.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Review 6 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Great price, but you get what you pay for!

09/12/2008
By ,
Fort Lauderdale, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Three quick points.
1 - The reviews are correct: the pedals will break after a week. Drop the fifteen bucks and get a decent pair somewhere that they sell pedals. These ones are a cheap plastic and they snapped on me.
2 - Make sure you know how to use basic tools! This is a semi-difficult bike to put together. My front brakes still aren't calibrated correctly even after I worked on them for a couple hours the first night. The back ones were pre-installed for me, and thus they worked great.
3 - The chain sometimes slips if I'm in a higher gear and pedaling hard. It doesn't cause any problems other than a real quick slip into a lower gear. It automatically slips right back up though.
Overall, the price tag is good. The looks are GREAT! I think it's a beautiful bike, and it will serve my needs fine. I just ride around Fort Lauderdale on the weekends, about an hour worth of casual riding a week.
The tires, handlebar grips, and seat are all fine. The kickstand is awesome!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 7 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Bargain Price & Excellent Quality

04/05/2008
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Where else can you get an aluminum frame bicycle that's in-between a comfort bicycle, cruiser, and a light offroad mountain bike for under a hundred dollars? Well here it is. And to top it off, it looks good, too. The components are very good. The derailleur is made by Shimano, and it shifts easily and positively at all gears. The brakes are very well constructed and stop the bike very quickly. Handlebar and stem can be adjusted for an even more upright riding posture. The saddle is made of soft neoprene and is very comfortable. The rims are high-quality and so are the tires. Every part on this bike is well made. There is nothing to replace for a better part, except for the hex nuts that keep the wheels in place...with quick-release levers. This is a real bargain in this day and age, and at last, something that also looks good compared to all of the exotic but ugly new designs out there.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Review 8 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

not a bad buy

07/17/2008
By ,
Houston, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For the price this is not a bad bike. The ride is smooth. The gears shift pretty smooth for a bike of this price. Assembly took about 20 minutes. The only complaints I have were...The front handle bars have an angle adjustment. and where the two pieces are bolted together it squeaks when you push down on the bars. Slight annoyance , but I have tried tightening it to no avail. The squeak continues. The other is the grips on the handlebars. They are studded, rough and hurt on long trips. I will be switching mine out soon.
Overall for the price it chugs along and I enjoy it. The seat is more comfy than most inexpensive bikes but I would suggest buying a aftermarket seat and hand grips for about $30 bucks to vastly improve the comfort of the ride.
It is sturdy as I am 6 foot 4 inches and about 265lbs. so if it is comfy and lasts for me it should last for anyone. It won't train you for the Tour De France but is good for a 10 mile ride a few times a week for sure
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 9 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Ok Bike

06/13/2008
By ,
Port Orange, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this bike about 2 weeks ago. It is a fairly comfortable ride that moves along at a good speed. The down side is the pedals are cheap plastic which cracked within the first week of riding. I since purchased aluminum pedals from a bike shop for an additional $21.30. Also the gears do sometimes skip when making a steep climb over a bridge. But even with having to buy new pedals not a bad bike for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 10 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Not Bad, Not Great

06/01/2009
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This is a very pretty bike, and beautifully designed. However, even though I set the shifter at a 4 it always felt (and sounded) like it was on the verge of changing gears unexpectedly; although that never actually happened. The tires could not seem to hold air, and the handle bars were too low for me (I dislike leaning forward to ride). I since realized that they could be adjusted (with tools), but what really threw me (literally) was getting used to brakes on the handlebars - the first sudden stop I made, the bike did a cartwheel, throwing me to the road (painfully). The rear brake squealled horribly ever there after...
BTW, I have since purchased the NEXT LaJolla beach cruiser, which I love, and my wife has the women's version of the NEXT Avalon comfort bike, and she has no problem with it. Maybe it was just me...
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Review 11 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Three rides, three walks home

06/08/2008
By ,
Austin, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I will be returning this product a day after buying it. My first ride had me walk home because one of the pedals broke. I replaced the pedals the next day and took it for another ride. This time I had to turn around because during my ride the handlebar became too loose to steer. I fix that quickly and then take it out again only to have the chain break.
Poor quality and poor assembly = poor product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Review 12 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

The Buick of Bicycles

07/26/2007
By ,
Oakland, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This appealing bike has decent quality componentry for a low-price bike. There are alloy parts in places that are important, such as the rims, stem, fork, and handlebars. This makes the bike relative light-weight.
The ride is stable, plush, and comfortable. The position is pretty upright, and the ride slow and relaxed. The dual shocks do affect pedaling efficiency. This bike is not meant for major hills. The shifting is solid, although slow.
The only negative so far is the kickstand. The kickstand is in a nice location away from the cranks, but they cannot be operated with my foot alone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Review 13 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Nice Bike

10/08/2008
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this bike after reading some reviews of it on some biking enthusiast websites- consensus seemed to be that it was a pretty good deal, had features comparable with higher-priced bikes. Have to say I'd agree with those assessments. I bought the bike online and assembled it myself- assembly was easy for the most part- the only hassle was getting the brakes adjusted, which is common to pretty much any bike you put together yourself. My only complaint with the bike is that the chain was not connected to the gearbox when I first received it- I had to reconnect manually. Then, after riding it a few times, the chain completely broke. I took the bike to my local Wal-Mart and they were super nice about replacing the chain- since then I've had no problems and the bike rides like a charm. It's a very lightweight bike, smooth riding, shifting is smooth as well. Only has 7 gears but in my experience that's plenty for most casual riders such as me. For the price I paid (about $120 with tax) I think this bike stacks up very well against anything comparable.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 14 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

nice bike, good value

06/25/2008
By ,
Tampa Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this bike at my local Walmart for $108. I spent several hours of research on the internet to find the best bike for the dollar, and again, Walmart won! They had several on the floor. It was professionaly assembled. It is light and comfortable. It has good street tires, shimano derailer, aluminum frame (no rust), and triple shock suspension, 2 on the frame (front double fork) and 1 rear (big center frame), and 1 on the seat, all springs. The seat has nice memory foam. My only complaints are: the fastest gear is too slow because the drive gear is too small, the shifts are not smooth and they are noisey (sounds like the gear is going to break), the grip shifter is weak (which is OK for me because I always stay in the highest gear), the grips are uncomfortable, and the handlebars need to be higher (they may be adjustable). Buy this bike at your local Walmart. :) Keep it oiled and adjusted, and ride safely :)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 15 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

I like it Lots!!

06/23/2008
By ,
Niagara Falls, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't help but give this bike a 5 star rating cause it beats out any other bike I have searched for. I had to get it online and store to store but lucky to have one, I think. They sold out fast at my Walmart. I seen it and went back 2 days later and they were gone. Yes I had to put it together myself but am not to good at it lol. I took it to my local bike shop (Beetons Cyclery) and had a $28 tune up. They trued rims and got gears working right and adjusted many other things for me. Great Job! I only had to make one adjustment to the seat height and that was easy thanks to the quick release feature. I love riding it and I can afford to customize it any way I choose because of the low initial cost $112 It's light weight 41 Lbs. and shocks front and rear, make it a nice ride. I am a happy bike owner and highly recomend the tune-up. Quality plus low cost and light wieght. Can't beat that!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

A Very Satisfying Bicycle

03/24/2008
By ,
Bedford, In
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy and satisfied with this product. I bought the bicycle online and had it shipped to the store. It came about 90% assembled. I had to attach the headset with handlebars, pedals, and front wheel. I had trouble adjusting the front brakes. Noticed the front wheel was out of tru. The rear brake pad was rubbing the wheel. Took bicycle to a bicycle repair shop and had them perform a standard tune up on it. They trued both wheels, adjusted brakes, oiled chain, adjusted rear derailer, aired tires, and checked to make sure everything was tight. The cost for that was $36.50. I'd highly recommend a tune up with any new bicycle purchase. This insures you get the best performance out of the bike possible.
:
The bicycle is a beautiful emerald green and silver. It's a very stylish looking bicycle.
:
The components on the bicycle are decent. The shifter however feels a bit flimsy and I expect it'll be the first component to break. Thankfully the bike is only a 7 speed, so there's no additional front derailer to deal with. The brakes provide good stopping power once adjusted by a professional. The frame feels sturdy but light. The seat is gelish and is comfortable enough for short rides. The wheels are made of aluminum so there's no chance for rush. The rubber tires have a nice tread pattern perfect for riding on a variety of terrains. The front and rear suspension provides good shock absorption, a big improvement over my old bike that had none. The chain guard is absolutely wonderful and I love it. Having it allows me to ride my bike in regular pants, without worry of my pant leg getting caught in the sproket or oil getting on the leg from the chain.
:
I am 6'1" tall. I was afraid the frame might be to small for my long legs. I've found the bike to be adequate sized for me. The seat post provides enough length to adjust the height for my leg length. My knees are not into the handle bars like they are on smaller framed bicycles. The handbars height can be adjusted several ways to decrease how much back bend is needed.
:
This is not a long distance or road bike. This bike shines in a urban or rural environment. It's a perfect bike for short commutes to the neighbor grocery, restaurant, or ride around the neighborhood with the kids. The upright position aides in visiblity to motorists. The bike is fast, fun, affordable, and easy to ride. I found the seven gears were adequate for the occasional hill. The low gear was low enough to make climbing a relatively less cumbersome. The 7th gear was large enough to add additional peddling down a hill and I reach about 25 mph.
:
I've added a rearview mirror to the left handle to help me see cars approaching from behind without me having to turn. I plan to transfer my rear carrier and front and rear fenders from my old bike to this one. I recommend if you plan to use your bicycle as an alternative mode of transportation to add these accessories. The mirror will help keep you safer. The fenders will keep road grim, sand, rocks, and water from spashing up in your face. Plus having fenders will allow you to ride when The rear carrier is my favorite accessory. I like to ride to the library or the grocery and it's easy to just throw the stuff in a crate attached to the carrier.
:
This bike for is well worth the $99.98 price tag. I paid a total of $141.50 for the bicycle, tune up, and taxes. I believe this bicycle will last me a long time. I'm very happy with it and if you're looking for a bicycle, this is the bicycle to buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 17 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

excellent value

09/17/2008
By ,
Bangor Me
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this bike for about a month now and it has performed flawlessly. I first started looking at it and noticed the frame is of high quality construction 6061 alluminum. Most of the components are very good. I immediately replaced the seat for a nice comfortable Bell seat for $21 and fine tuned all the adjustments to my liking. The kick stand on mine works great by simply kicking it down to a locked position, and the rearward location is much better than the traditional center mount. The fit and finish is good except the decals are very cheap and won't last very long after getting wet. I haven't had any pedal issues like some of the other reviews showed. The 7 speeds are adequate and more speeds are usually only duplicates of other ratios found using multiple front sprockets. The chain guard is just plain cool and functional. The suspension gets a little squeeky after a while, but I simply put a few drops of marvel oil on the rear suspension shock and spring and that went away. The tires and rims are excellent and the bike gives a nice smooth and quiet ride. Can't beat that for $112.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

An inexpensive, but quality bicycle.

04/21/2008
By ,
Paulding, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, my wife and I bought a pair of these bicycles. They were marked down to $59.00 which made the few problems with the bikes seem a much smaller deal.
We called ahead to local wal-marts trying to find one with the bikes in stock, when we found one, they offered to assemble them for us, free, while we drove up.
First things first, if you're buying this bike for exercise, and you're substantially overweight, be advised that the shocks (front, rear, and seat) are probably going to max out eliminating any shock absorption and make the seat even more uncomfortable than normal.
Secondly, the seat, while it is gel padded, is still only marginally more comfortable than sitting on the seat post.
Finally, from the store, the brakes worked fine, however, the tires weren't inflated sufficiently. (25psi instead of the rated 45-65psi) Upon proper inflation, the brakes on both tires had to be adjusted. Unfortunately, this requires a 6mm metric alan wrench, which is NOT included.
Overall, the bikes are nice, and well worth the money, I wholeheartedly agree with the above reviewer that you should get the bike professionally tuned before serious riding.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

Amazing bike for it's price.

10/14/2007
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this bike for $58.99 on a clearance. For $60 it's a VERY good bike. The protector on the side of the main gear thing is really helpful. now I don't have to worry about my pants getting stuck on the gear. The seat is very comfortable and has soft springs to give a comfy ride. 7th gear is actually very hard to start off on. I find that to be right. The gear switching is a little slow but I'm used to that already from my previous bike.
This is a great bike, even for $100. I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 20 for 26" Mens' NEXT Avalon Comfort Bike

so nice we bought it twice

05/06/2009
By ,
Bloomington, Il
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great bike for riding on paved trails. I weigh over 300 lbs. and yet the bike still has plenty of suspension left. I let my wife try it and she immediatly took her mountain bike back to order this one. We had no problems with the site-to-store shipping and they assembled it overnight for free. For the impulsive buyers out there this bike is well worth the wait (approx. 2 Weeks)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next