Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Smooth N Shine Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Smooth N Shine Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

This Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power will give you lasting versatility after one use without relaxing. Giving you an easy to style to straight look, this regular semi-permanent hair tamer smoothes out kinks in your hair. This keratin permanent power can give you wash and go manageable curls. Breakthrough chemistry with cumulative effects allows your hair to stay smoother for a longer period of time. The more you use Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer, the stronger the results can be. This keratin permanent power gives you a gentler, more manageable approach to taming your curls and frizz than relaxing. Keratin four plus aloe breakthrough chemistry offers lasting versatility, giving you the keratin power to choose whether you want to wear your hair straight or with wash and go manageable curls after just one use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.714 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation71%20 out of 28reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
15
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer
07/28/2012
By ,
Conyers, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is simply amazing. I received this before it was on the market to give feedback because I used the more expensive keratin. I am a 3 yr keratin user and I was spending $200 every 3-5 months for the treatments, which are a great alternative to harsh perms. I would recommend to anyone to use. the treatments I use to use had to be left in for 48-72 hours and you couldn't bend, bind, use any headbands, get the hair wet or rubber-bands during the 72 hours, simple sets, but very time consuming. I was amazed with the results considering I was not sure of the results because of the extremely low price. I haven't used a perm in over 3 years and my grew 4 inches the 1st year of the treatments and sulfate free shampoo. If anyone has any questions, please feel free to send them. I use this on my 13 year old daughter's hair and people say her sew-in is beautiful:), but it is all her hair. it works miracles on all hair types. My niece is bi-racial and wanted a straight hair-do for school and I used this and the results were amazing. I wish I could post the pics of the styles.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per year
+43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

No More Relaxers!

02/24/2013
By ,
ATL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I saw this on Walmart's website, but they didn't have any in the stores in my area. I decided to look at another drugstore and was able to buy the very last one they had. After relaxing all my life, for the past 4 months I've been trying to go natural. That's extremely hard to do in Atl because the least little bit of humidity makes my hair revert.
I applied this just like a relaxer, saturated the ends with what was left over and placed a plastic cap on my head for 30 minutes after using the neutralizer for 20 minutes, I then blow dried. With 4 inches of 4a/4b new growth, my hair looked like I had relaxed it. Soft and smooth, a miracle. I then went on to flat iron.
My hair lasted all week with me only wrapping it, no touch ups and bone straight everyday (and it rained most of the week); and this past weekend I walked in the misting rain 3 times in 24hr period with no umbrella and had absolutely NO revision. . . .unbelivable. I've already referred my sisters.
The only downside is the smell. Opt for a well ventilated area if possible, other than that you're going to love it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

It works great!!

11/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is kind of like a texturizer, it does soften the texture of your hair as much as relaxer does while you can keep maintaining a natural look, it is a lot safer for the hair than a relaxer, it is easy to apply although it has a funky smell, but it works!!....One thing I recommend to people who use this product is for those with thick hair or kinkier texture make sure you get the "Super" version because the Regular might not be strong enough, and also one thing I always do is after I'm done with the texturizer and neutralizer, I make sure to apply a good conditioner, which the instruction don't mention, but believe me your hair will turn out better if you apply conditioner, and I also dry my hair under the dryer with rollers or blow dry it that first day and then wait about 3-5 days to re wash it. But this product is worth you money believe me!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Good for managing frizzy or thick hair.

08/21/2012
By ,
Philadelphia,Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I gave this four star's only because it stripped my color a little and it was time consuming,everybody may have different expeirences.,it smelled of sulphur raw egg's at first but after rinsing the product from my hair my hubby said it smelled funny,I think it had a light very pleasent smell,my hair is of a medium length,my hair looked better than it ever has it would'nt hold a curl that well but im very pleased with the result's,one thing you must know about this product you ca'nt use just any shampoo it must be sodium chloride free,and you ca'nt wash the hair for 72 hour's,just to let you know so if your used to washing everyday this is information that comes with the treatment,use this product in a well ventilated area,it did leave our home smelling of chemicals :/ .
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Loved the way it smoothed my hair!

12/04/2012
By ,
West New York, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this on a whim and I am glad I did. My hair is naturally, kinky curly but will straighten when blow dried and flat ironed. I've been very skeptical to try Keratin kits before because of the multiple steps and the fear of formaldehyde damaging my hair but this was very easy to use and seemed chemical free! The application and smoothing process was very similar to the relaxer application and I could actually see my hair straightening as I smoothed it out. I left it in for 15 minutes (I also have hair color so didn't want to leave it in too long), rinsed and then applied the protein milk, saturating my hair. I left the protein milk in for 20 minutes and then rinsed. My hair was soft, smooth and shiny although it wasn't curly merely wavy. However, as I don't wear my hair curly that much in the winter time, it didn't bother me. Blow drying was the easiest it's been since I went natural and flat ironing it took much less time because I didn't have to reapply heat as often. Also, I haven't had to curl my hair daily because it's not responding to humidty/moisture like it did when completely natural.
I liked it and recommend it highly for those natural hair consumers who want the look and feel of relaxed hair without the chemical damage!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Great new product for managing hair

04/07/2012
By ,
North Jersey, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this while I was shopping in Walmart and was intrigued. I had been looking for a way to make my hair shinier and more manageable without using relaxer systems. I was feeling brave and decided to try this product. There are 3 steps:
1. Wash the hair twice with any shampoo
2. Apply the protein smoothing treatment to subsections of the hair, let sit for 20 minutes, rinse out. The protein has an "interesting" smell that lingered in the house for a while. The most difficult thing for me during this step was to remember to apply this product from the root to the end. I was conditioned to only apply products like this to new growth. After I rinsed out the protein smoothing treatment, I noticed that my fine hair felt coarser than usual.
3. Apply the neutralizing milk and rinse - you are encouraged to use the entire bottle at both step 2 and 3 and I found it difficult to do so. I found that I had a good amount left over and I had to force myself to find a way to use the remaining product.
As I was washing out the milk, I immediately noticed that my hair felt softer and that my new growth was less noticeable... But not in the same way as a relaxer (not as pronounced). I then blow-dryed my hair and noticed that it was so soft! The instructions recommend flat ironing the hair if you want a straighter look. This was when I realized that I did not have to rely as much on the flat iron to straighten my new growth. I probably could have skipped the flat iron altogether as after blow drying my hair was light and fairly straight. In general, my hair is softer, shinier, and lighter than it was before I used this product. I am happy! I now do not have to rely on the flat iron and on relaxers to achieve straight hair.
I would encourage others to try this product out. I think you will be amazed at how your hair turns out and happy to be able to steer clear of relaxers.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color Appeal
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Fort Worth, TX
Blue Sapphire looking for Relief
Posted 07/12/2012
Smooth "N" Shine has gotten my attention!! I'm from the "Old School" when all we had was the HOT COMB/Press'n Curl for the last seven years I've been wearing braids they're OK:) Now, this North NJ person's comment about this product seems like something I need to try and if does or doesn't make me happy this Blue Sapphire will let you know.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

great product for the price

02/02/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I heard alot about keratin treatments and I also know they are very expensive. I found this at a local beauty supply store and decided to give it a try. I weary my hair in a kinky curly style but I wanted something to help smooth out my curls and detangle a bit. The first time I used it I left it on for the full 25 min as instructed but it left my hair too straight so I let it wash out for a couple weeks. The next time I used it I left it on for 15 min and it did the trick. Exactly what I wanted smooth curls and easy to comb. The results lasted about 4-5wks for me. Definitely will be using this as a regular hair regimen.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Love It. Love It. Love It!

04/20/2014
By ,
Cleveland, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Okay. I was reluctant to try this because of "bad reviews" on Keratin Hair tamers in general. Caught this on sale for under $4.00, and I said "Okay...". Put it in on March 14, 2014. I woke up with a mission to go to the store and get more. My hair is about 3-4 inches below my shoulders and it is that thick but coarse-wavy Black and Indian hair type. I do not have perm hair---at all. This worked our great for me. I used the regular strength and I FOLLOWED DIRECTIONS. 2-steps, very easy. no fumes! Just make sure to rinse thoroughly like you would a perm. Satin bonnet and satin pillowcases are a must. I twist braid loosely to air dry, and I use the Andis Electric straightening comb as my hair is too thick for flat irons. I hope they never stop making this brand. I'm buying it up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Best thing for natural hair

07/14/2012
By ,
GAINESVILLE, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've been natural since September 2011 and this is an awesome product to use when you miss having straight hair . It's as simple as 1,2,3. There is only ONE problem with this product...when I tried to "wash and go", my hair wasn't "nappy" just somewhat straight and I can't coil my hair :(. Other than that IT'S SO WORTH THE MONEY!!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

DANGER PRODUCT.

11/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this product and it melted my hair and done a lot of damage
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Scent
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Yay!!!!!

10/26/2013
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I started using this product in June 2012 and am beyond excited about the results ... still! If traditional relaxers are too harsh for your hair/scalp, this is the perfect replacement. I must stress that you HAVE TO stick with the instructions. If you leave Smooth n Shine Semi Permanent Hair Tamer (for me, regular) on longer than the directions state, your hair color will lighten a lot; head's up!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Worked well in daughter's hair

12/08/2013
By ,
VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this product initially for myself and after worked well in my hair, I tried it in hers. She has a fine texture hair that will go straight with relaxers and or texturizers. Her hair does get awfully thick and she hates for you to comb it. We put it in and tried the plastic cap on to keep it moist while waiting the recommended time. I will say, it does lighten up your hair if you leave it in too long. Watch the time! Her hair stayed easy to comb even after the 6 weeks, I am getting ready to apply to her hair after 9 weeks out. I was worried about her hair drying out so I put her under the dryer for 15 mins with a deep conditioner and carrot/olive/shea butter oil mix. Might not have been needed but it eased my mind. Hair was soft and more importantly, manageable. I had the same experience and was able to do this on my new growth after a protective style while giving my hair a break.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Scent
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Summerville, Sc
perm/relaxers
Posted 12/11/2013
I have a perm that I put in 2 weeks ago, can I still use when its time again to relax my hair or do I have to wait atleast 3 months?
Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

easy application

11/30/2012
By ,
Norfolk, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says. my hair is still straight from it and ive even sweated a little hasn't curled back up. Will buy again.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Better than a relaxer or texturizer

11/15/2013
By ,
Birmingham, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was fascinated when I heard of this product and couldn't wait to try but when I applied the product I noticed a horrible stinch immediately and I had to put up with for 25 minutes during that time I didn't notice a burn or itch I followed the instructions and blow dried only I dont use flat irons when I use the remaining portion next time I will buy another root straightener but it's been since Monday and my hair is still super soft and it still look natural if you are thinking about a relaxer or texturizer try this first.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Ruined My Hair!

04/15/2013
By ,
FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product made my hair drier and caused lots of breakage. Never again will I use it!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Good Product

09/10/2012
By ,
Hattiesburg, MS
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would have to say that this product worked and was well worth the price. It does have a strong smell but its great without all the chemical like perms/relaxers have. The only downfall I have is that the shipping of the product was bad because I receive it pretty much damage from the company it could have been the soft packaging of it instead of it being boxed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Nice Kit

08/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Keep this product available and in stock.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Great Product

08/04/2014
By ,
Shreveport, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great on my hair. My hair feels healthy and beautiful. I really like it. I will definitely use it again. The application took a little longer than I expected but the results are wonderful. The price was a great value as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Scent
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

It's actually a low grade sodium relaxer!!

05/21/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I should have researched this product more before putting it in my hair. It's actually a low grade sodium relaxer. Nothing more than a texturizer. Sodium relaxers dry out my hair and I NEVER use them. Now this. So disappointed.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Smooth 'N Shine Keratin Power Regular Semi-Permanent Hair Tamer

Quality Product

08/25/2012
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the touch and the appearance of my hair in comparision to other keratin treatment products.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next