Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Play movies and music backed by 1000 watts of power with this Samsung home theater system. Sights and sounds are both well covered: spin either DVDs or CDs on this 5.1-channel surround-sound system. You'll get the most out of your DVD library, too, thanks to automatic DVD video upconversion to 1080p for the highest possible resolution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.079 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(114 Reviews) 112
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation80%91 out of 114reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
92 Questions | 139 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
61
4 stars
29
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

marginal performance

07/23/2012
By ,
Nortwest MT/N. Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Remote control is overly cluttered and complicated. The wattage rating of this player was more than three times greater than my years older Panasonic, DVD only, ( ie., no Blue Ray ), player, but sounds anemic and much less "rich", in sound comparison. The unit is also much slower to respond to input commands than the older, DVD only unit. It is minimally acceptable, but I would not recommend it, knowing what I know now.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
Samsung ht-e550
Posted 12/02/2012
I get the feeling you are reviewing the wrong product beings you keep stating your old panasonic was dvd only, this system is also dvd only no bluray, I believe you reviewed the wrong model. All reviews from other sites seem good for this system especially at this price
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Over all good for the price

07/22/2014
By ,
Hobbsville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had it about a week now and I have it hooked to my computer and TV. I use it to play music from my computer most of the time so that I can really put the power to it. I pushed the speakers to the max and than more with my computer to see if it would hold up like my last one and I must say I was shocked that it did what I hoped it would.
The only issues that I had was when you first get it, you will have to set it up so that you get the best sound out of it and it might be a little hard to understand but with a little help from a You Tube video it was set up in about 20 mins the way that I wanted and no issues after that.
And the speaker wires are a smaller gage then what I would have like to have seen. It still does the job and very well might I add.
I love the fact that I can record music to play in my car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great Sound System for the Price

01/15/2014
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great sound system for the price. I received a cheap sound bar for Christmas that sounded horrible so I decided to exchange that for this system. It's a substantial upgrade from the TV-only speakers that we were using before. Pretty nice sound quality as well - I find the bass to be more-than-sufficient. Also, we have a Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player already and this system syncs wonderfully with those devices.
One complaint: the speaker wires are built into all of the speakers. They did this to make the set-up easier (the plug-in's to the DVD/receiver are color-coded) and it did make it easy, but I find that it takes away from any sort of customizing you may want to do (i.e. easily lengthen the wires, use different speaker wires, connect speakers to a true receiver if I wanted to upgrade in the future).
Overall, I would recommend this product, especially if you have a Samsung TV already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

samsung

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound great for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

I like it

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth the money, honey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Rock the house!

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Samsung HTS is loud! 1000 watts gives true power. Very easy setup with color coded speaker wiring. And enough attached wires for the rear speakers to be placed correctly in your room.. The only con is that the remote is somewhat confusing. Overall a good product at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great sound for the price!

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This great 1000w system is night and day better than my previous Sony 300w system. I love it, I don't have a single complaint about it. Modify your sound settings and you are golden, crisp, clear and loud sound without distortions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

good system for br

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice and compact, with really pretty good sound.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

love it

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great system for the price. I had problems with other systems low volume even on high. This one is super powerful. Love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Very good overall

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to hook up although I've not attached it to my TV as yet. Given the ease of installation and quality of the system, I expect no issues there as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

So far so good

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had little problem with speakers working both same time.
But I finally made it
I just have it for 2 days I can say they working perfectly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Poor directions on set up

10/24/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Speakers are self explanatory for plugging in and setting up. Cords on the speakers are hard wired in and speaker wire is not long enough to stretch across a small room. Had to splice in more wire. Instructions on how to set up to TV was not clear. Does not tell you that AV cables are needed to get sound from your TV to speakers. Also AV cables need to be plugged into your cable box not your TV. After dealing with speakers and finally figuring out how to get the TV hooked up, we are fairly pleased with the product for the price. Besides set up the rest is pretty user friendly.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

This is a GREAT SOUND SYSTEM !!!!!!

01/05/2014
By ,
Brewerton,N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I has purchased another brand before this one and Immediately TOOK IT back but,then I found this one and FELL IN LOVE WITH IT !!! Great sound such ease hooking it up GREAT PRICE TOO !!!! I would recommend this to any one 100 %
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Best The Market Has To Offer

10/16/2014
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The music is studio quality and is dispersed across all speakers and the sub woofer. The audio cables can be challenging as regards RCA desktop inputs and outputs but Radio Shack has the proper audio y-adapters and audio y-cables. Samsung is a name to be reckoned with as it continues to manufacture high quality products. This Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater system is the best on the market because the speakers and sub woofer all connect to the included receiver instead of having to utilize the sound card to input the speakers individually. In this manner, the consumer always obtains 5.1, 6.1, or 7.1 even if the desktop has RCA inputs and outputs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

not so great

10/31/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
had to buy hdmi cord then had to pay a extra 17.00 for a optical audio cable so the cheap price wasn't a saving confusing to use remote must change from dvd to tv back to dvd for surround sound but it was the fifth set in 6 days so I just kept it
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

overall good sound for the price

10/29/2014
By ,
troy,mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
liked the product....wish the speaker wire for the surround sound speakers were longer....very fine wire, afraid to cut and lengthen with regular speaker wire....also wish the receiver had an extra audio output
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Nice sound

10/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Speakers are hard wired so they're hard to conceal.
Great sound for the money.
If you don't care about Blue Ray etc., and you're on a budget, this unit my be for you
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Defective

04/01/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finally had someone hook the system up and not all of my speakers were working. He came back to figure out why and three of the jacks in the back of the reciever arent working. Also when trying to watch a movie only 1 speaker is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Good, Standard Samsung Product

09/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well designed and engineered for small living room (about 20x20). Capacity is plenty, my normal volume is around 13, considered it can go up to 100, this thing can pack some real power
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

bad product and even worse customer support

10/09/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tried hooking this up but never got any sound out of the rear speakers. I know some other reviews said the same thing but i figured i would have better luck. NOPE. I tried to call samsung customer support. two days of trying to call with the same ending, "we cannot complete your call at this time, try later" . Finally got someone who told me he did not have the model # i gave him. and told me to look on back of unit, After taking down everything to get to rear of system and finding out it was the correct model # , i figured since i had the unit out might as well take it back which i did. do not buy !!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next