Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Play movies and music backed by 1000 watts of power with this Samsung home theater system. Sights and sounds are both well covered: spin either DVDs or CDs on this 5.1-channel surround-sound system. You'll get the most out of your DVD library, too, thanks to automatic DVD video upconversion to 1080p for the highest possible resolution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.03 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation80%53 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
52 Questions | 62 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
33
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

marginal performance

07/23/2012
By ,
Nortwest MT/N. Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Remote control is overly cluttered and complicated. The wattage rating of this player was more than three times greater than my years older Panasonic, DVD only, ( ie., no Blue Ray ), player, but sounds anemic and much less "rich", in sound comparison. The unit is also much slower to respond to input commands than the older, DVD only unit. It is minimally acceptable, but I would not recommend it, knowing what I know now.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
Samsung ht-e550
Posted 12/02/2012
I get the feeling you are reviewing the wrong product beings you keep stating your old panasonic was dvd only, this system is also dvd only no bluray, I believe you reviewed the wrong model. All reviews from other sites seem good for this system especially at this price
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great Sound System for the Price

01/15/2014
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great sound system for the price. I received a cheap sound bar for Christmas that sounded horrible so I decided to exchange that for this system. It's a substantial upgrade from the TV-only speakers that we were using before. Pretty nice sound quality as well - I find the bass to be more-than-sufficient. Also, we have a Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player already and this system syncs wonderfully with those devices.
One complaint: the speaker wires are built into all of the speakers. They did this to make the set-up easier (the plug-in's to the DVD/receiver are color-coded) and it did make it easy, but I find that it takes away from any sort of customizing you may want to do (i.e. easily lengthen the wires, use different speaker wires, connect speakers to a true receiver if I wanted to upgrade in the future).
Overall, I would recommend this product, especially if you have a Samsung TV already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Amazing sound quality for the price

03/12/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a RCA 100 watt surround sound system before I bought this one and I thought it was okay. When I got this one hooked up it was like going from night to day with sound. The Samsung has great sound quality and makes me feel like I am in a movie theater. So I would suggest this to anyone that asks which one to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

A very reasonably priced Home Theater System

04/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because I needed a new system and had to stay in a certain price range. The Samsung Home Theater is definitely a good value. The speakers are average but I did not expect top quality for the price that I paid. The initial setup was easy. I have not encountered any problems with the system so far. I have always had good experiences with other Samsung products that I purchased in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Wonderful!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Orchard Park, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound quality, ease of set up, wonderful addition to our home. The set up was straight forward, easy, no glitches. Fun to play with the preset eq settings. Works well with MP3 player as well as I Phone. Good for small to medium sized rooms. The speaker cords could have been longer, but we made our own adjustments. We're thinking about getting another unit for our 'man cave'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

SAMSUNG 5.1 1000 wat surround sound

12/31/2013
By ,
Hamilton Nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to go with a samsung smart tv.Samsung is one of the best. Great sound An a great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

great sound system

01/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not expect much for the price but it is great easy set up great sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

This is a GREAT SOUND SYSTEM !!!!!!

01/05/2014
By ,
Brewerton,N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I has purchased another brand before this one and Immediately TOOK IT back but,then I found this one and FELL IN LOVE WITH IT !!! Great sound such ease hooking it up GREAT PRICE TOO !!!! I would recommend this to any one 100 %
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

IT IS A NICE KIND HT SYSTEM I RECOMAND IT TO OTHER

01/03/2014
By ,
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USING FOR A WEEK.AND I LIKE IT. CONNECTIONS ARE COLOR CODED . SO EASY TO SET UP. 2 BACK SPEAKER WIRE ARE LITTLE BIT SHORT. OVER ALL IT IS A GOOD DEAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung home theater

04/15/2014
By ,
Allentown, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I tried to save money but it was a mistake after buying a Vizio 5.1 system. Vizio quality is over the top compare to the Samsun system. I guess I'm used to the sound and quality that Vizio offers. Samsung sound was good but the subwoofer wasn't that powerful.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Good system, speaker wires are too short.

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work well with existing Samsung units. Speaker wire are way too short, I had to buy extra. Note, if you already have Blue-ray player, take that one put it in the back room and buy the Blue-ray system. It would have been perfect. It is for a small room, my living room 200 sq ft...work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung is THE BEST.

04/11/2014
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great price, great sound, especially with your PS4 (call of duty)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Totally recommend

04/10/2014
By ,
Lancaster, Ca.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Relatively easy to hook up, and sounds great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Cheap and overpriced for what it is

04/09/2014
By ,
St. Louis
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It is a cheap product that is basic in it's functionality. I won't buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

ok

03/25/2014
By ,
plant city, fl
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rear speaker wires very short. I would have to sit 3 feet from tv in order to make rear speakers reach behind couch. I had to splice old speaker wires into connectors. owners manual hard to understand, does not explain in easy terms how to setup system. you get what you pay for.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Defective

04/01/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finally had someone hook the system up and not all of my speakers were working. He came back to figure out why and three of the jacks in the back of the reciever arent working. Also when trying to watch a movie only 1 speaker is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Very nice

01/01/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My parents loved it and were able to set up with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great entertainment for a little money!

03/28/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This home theater system met my expectations. The sound quality is great and the features are unbeatable. It was easy to set up and operate. The 1000 watts was an added benefit to a great sound!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

good value for the money

12/25/2013
By ,
Mi.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for a Christmas gift. They are happy with the gift. I do think that when the item is shipped it should be put in a plain box not just the box it is boxed in that has all over the side what it is. I had it shipped to my family not only did they know what it was immediately so did the neighbors. we were lucky they were home so it didn't sit on the porch long
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

It's a good product

03/18/2014
By ,
Laredo, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The product was good except for the fact that it does not play blu-ray DVDs and you cannot connect a blu-ray DVD player. The product details mentioned that it was compatible with other electronic devices but it does not have the HDMI outputs to connect them. So in overall I was not satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next