Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Play movies and music backed by 1000 watts of power with this Samsung home theater system. Sights and sounds are both well covered: spin either DVDs or CDs on this 5.1-channel surround-sound system. You'll get the most out of your DVD library, too, thanks to automatic DVD video upconversion to 1080p for the highest possible resolution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(120 Reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Recommendation79%95 out of 120reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
93 Questions | 142 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
62
4 stars
32
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
12
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

marginal performance

07/23/2012
By ,
Nortwest MT/N. Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Remote control is overly cluttered and complicated. The wattage rating of this player was more than three times greater than my years older Panasonic, DVD only, ( ie., no Blue Ray ), player, but sounds anemic and much less "rich", in sound comparison. The unit is also much slower to respond to input commands than the older, DVD only unit. It is minimally acceptable, but I would not recommend it, knowing what I know now.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
Samsung ht-e550
Posted 12/02/2012
I get the feeling you are reviewing the wrong product beings you keep stating your old panasonic was dvd only, this system is also dvd only no bluray, I believe you reviewed the wrong model. All reviews from other sites seem good for this system especially at this price
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Over all good for the price

07/22/2014
By ,
Hobbsville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had it about a week now and I have it hooked to my computer and TV. I use it to play music from my computer most of the time so that I can really put the power to it. I pushed the speakers to the max and than more with my computer to see if it would hold up like my last one and I must say I was shocked that it did what I hoped it would.
The only issues that I had was when you first get it, you will have to set it up so that you get the best sound out of it and it might be a little hard to understand but with a little help from a You Tube video it was set up in about 20 mins the way that I wanted and no issues after that.
And the speaker wires are a smaller gage then what I would have like to have seen. It still does the job and very well might I add.
I love the fact that I can record music to play in my car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great Sound System for the Price

01/15/2014
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great sound system for the price. I received a cheap sound bar for Christmas that sounded horrible so I decided to exchange that for this system. It's a substantial upgrade from the TV-only speakers that we were using before. Pretty nice sound quality as well - I find the bass to be more-than-sufficient. Also, we have a Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player already and this system syncs wonderfully with those devices.
One complaint: the speaker wires are built into all of the speakers. They did this to make the set-up easier (the plug-in's to the DVD/receiver are color-coded) and it did make it easy, but I find that it takes away from any sort of customizing you may want to do (i.e. easily lengthen the wires, use different speaker wires, connect speakers to a true receiver if I wanted to upgrade in the future).
Overall, I would recommend this product, especially if you have a Samsung TV already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

I like it

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth the money, honey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

better than expected

12/10/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have this system hooked up to a westinghouse 60" vr6090z LCD tv. It's connected via hdmi cable to watch standard dvds. I also have the aux 2 cable hooked up to the aux output of the tv. I also have a u verse box, a ps2,a ps3, and a sony bluray player connected to the tv and all I have to do to have great sound out of these is to set the samsung to aux 2.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Easy to install, Need additional cable

12/09/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For our application, we did not need to extend the wires which is good because all speakers are directly wired into the speaker. We were unable at first to get surround sound from the cable set top box to work and discovered that we needed an optical cable which was not included. That being said, the sound is perfect for the area we have and took very little time to install.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

samsung

09/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound great for the price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Its ok

12/01/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not bad for the $
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

AWFUL!!!!!!!

11/26/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I couldn't wait to get this item. When it arrived at my home and we hooked it up the big front speaker fuse didn't work. The sound was AWFUL!!!! We took it back to our Wal-Mart and got our money back and bought a LG dvd surround system. Love it!!! It's better to spend more money on something that works right.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great sound for the price!

09/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This great 1000w system is night and day better than my previous Sony 300w system. I love it, I don't have a single complaint about it. Modify your sound settings and you are golden, crisp, clear and loud sound without distortions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

This is a GREAT SOUND SYSTEM !!!!!!

01/05/2014
By ,
Brewerton,N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I has purchased another brand before this one and Immediately TOOK IT back but,then I found this one and FELL IN LOVE WITH IT !!! Great sound such ease hooking it up GREAT PRICE TOO !!!! I would recommend this to any one 100 %
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

love it

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great system for the price. I had problems with other systems low volume even on high. This one is super powerful. Love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Defective

04/01/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finally had someone hook the system up and not all of my speakers were working. He came back to figure out why and three of the jacks in the back of the reciever arent working. Also when trying to watch a movie only 1 speaker is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

New toy

11/25/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Instantly fell in love with this
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

the boom

11/25/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound and easy to setup
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Very good overall

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to hook up although I've not attached it to my TV as yet. Given the ease of installation and quality of the system, I expect no issues there as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Rock the house!

11/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This Samsung HTS is loud! 1000 watts gives true power. Very easy setup with color coded speaker wiring. And enough attached wires for the rear speakers to be placed correctly in your room.. The only con is that the remote is somewhat confusing. Overall a good product at a great price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

So far so good

09/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had little problem with speakers working both same time.
But I finally made it
I just have it for 2 days I can say they working perfectly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

A very reasonably priced Home Theater System

04/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because I needed a new system and had to stay in a certain price range. The Samsung Home Theater is definitely a good value. The speakers are average but I did not expect top quality for the price that I paid. The initial setup was easy. I have not encountered any problems with the system so far. I have always had good experiences with other Samsung products that I purchased in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

good system for br

11/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice and compact, with really pretty good sound.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next