Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Samsung Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Play movies and music backed by 1000 watts of power with this Samsung home theater system. Sights and sounds are both well covered: spin either DVDs or CDs on this 5.1-channel surround-sound system. You'll get the most out of your DVD library, too, thanks to automatic DVD video upconversion to 1080p for the highest possible resolution.
Average Customer Rating:
4.083 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(96 Reviews) 95
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation81%78 out of 96reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 104 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

marginal performance

07/23/2012
By ,
Nortwest MT/N. Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Remote control is overly cluttered and complicated. The wattage rating of this player was more than three times greater than my years older Panasonic, DVD only, ( ie., no Blue Ray ), player, but sounds anemic and much less "rich", in sound comparison. The unit is also much slower to respond to input commands than the older, DVD only unit. It is minimally acceptable, but I would not recommend it, knowing what I know now.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KY
Samsung ht-e550
Posted 12/02/2012
I get the feeling you are reviewing the wrong product beings you keep stating your old panasonic was dvd only, this system is also dvd only no bluray, I believe you reviewed the wrong model. All reviews from other sites seem good for this system especially at this price
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Over all good for the price

07/22/2014
By ,
Hobbsville, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had it about a week now and I have it hooked to my computer and TV. I use it to play music from my computer most of the time so that I can really put the power to it. I pushed the speakers to the max and than more with my computer to see if it would hold up like my last one and I must say I was shocked that it did what I hoped it would.
The only issues that I had was when you first get it, you will have to set it up so that you get the best sound out of it and it might be a little hard to understand but with a little help from a You Tube video it was set up in about 20 mins the way that I wanted and no issues after that.
And the speaker wires are a smaller gage then what I would have like to have seen. It still does the job and very well might I add.
I love the fact that I can record music to play in my car.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great Sound System for the Price

01/15/2014
By ,
Bloomington, IN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great sound system for the price. I received a cheap sound bar for Christmas that sounded horrible so I decided to exchange that for this system. It's a substantial upgrade from the TV-only speakers that we were using before. Pretty nice sound quality as well - I find the bass to be more-than-sufficient. Also, we have a Samsung TV and Blu-Ray player already and this system syncs wonderfully with those devices.
One complaint: the speaker wires are built into all of the speakers. They did this to make the set-up easier (the plug-in's to the DVD/receiver are color-coded) and it did make it easy, but I find that it takes away from any sort of customizing you may want to do (i.e. easily lengthen the wires, use different speaker wires, connect speakers to a true receiver if I wanted to upgrade in the future).
Overall, I would recommend this product, especially if you have a Samsung TV already.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Very good overall

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to hook up although I've not attached it to my TV as yet. Given the ease of installation and quality of the system, I expect no issues there as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

I like it

08/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's worth the money, honey.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

love it

07/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great system for the price. I had problems with other systems low volume even on high. This one is super powerful. Love it so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Defective

04/01/2014
By ,
Columbus, Ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I finally had someone hook the system up and not all of my speakers were working. He came back to figure out why and three of the jacks in the back of the reciever arent working. Also when trying to watch a movie only 1 speaker is working.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Amazing sound quality for the price

03/12/2014
By ,
Alpena, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had a RCA 100 watt surround sound system before I bought this one and I thought it was okay. When I got this one hooked up it was like going from night to day with sound. The Samsung has great sound quality and makes me feel like I am in a movie theater. So I would suggest this to anyone that asks which one to get.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

This is a GREAT SOUND SYSTEM !!!!!!

01/05/2014
By ,
Brewerton,N.Y
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I has purchased another brand before this one and Immediately TOOK IT back but,then I found this one and FELL IN LOVE WITH IT !!! Great sound such ease hooking it up GREAT PRICE TOO !!!! I would recommend this to any one 100 %
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

great sound system

01/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did not expect much for the price but it is great easy set up great sound
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

A very reasonably priced Home Theater System

04/03/2014
By ,
Phoenix, Arizona
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this because I needed a new system and had to stay in a certain price range. The Samsung Home Theater is definitely a good value. The speakers are average but I did not expect top quality for the price that I paid. The initial setup was easy. I have not encountered any problems with the system so far. I have always had good experiences with other Samsung products that I purchased in the past.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

SAMSUNG 5.1 1000 wat surround sound

12/31/2013
By ,
Hamilton Nj
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to go with a samsung smart tv.Samsung is one of the best. Great sound An a great picture.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Wonderful!!

01/21/2014
By ,
Orchard Park, New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sound quality, ease of set up, wonderful addition to our home. The set up was straight forward, easy, no glitches. Fun to play with the preset eq settings. Works well with MP3 player as well as I Phone. Good for small to medium sized rooms. The speaker cords could have been longer, but we made our own adjustments. We're thinking about getting another unit for our 'man cave'.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

very bad unit

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dvd player does not work I will take it back . also very bad quality
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

bad bY

08/05/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No sound from rear speakers
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

IT IS A NICE KIND HT SYSTEM I RECOMAND IT TO OTHER

01/03/2014
By ,
MILWAUKEE, WISCONSIN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I USING FOR A WEEK.AND I LIKE IT. CONNECTIONS ARE COLOR CODED . SO EASY TO SET UP. 2 BACK SPEAKER WIRE ARE LITTLE BIT SHORT. OVER ALL IT IS A GOOD DEAL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Good system, speaker wires are too short.

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Work well with existing Samsung units. Speaker wire are way too short, I had to buy extra. Note, if you already have Blue-ray player, take that one put it in the back room and buy the Blue-ray system. It would have been perfect. It is for a small room, my living room 200 sq ft...work fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

home theater DVD stereo

02/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't work the speakers were color coded but would not work matching the coded color speakers not happyat all with this.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

adequate for a surround sound system tiny speakers

02/25/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The speakers are way smaller then expected,the sound quality is poor.I bought this system for my office 60" Sony TV.Hooked it up and it has poor sound at best. I have a Yamaha surround sound system at home which is 6 years old and has less watts about 300 total and sounds 10 times better and it came with a full size Reciever amp set up 5.1.
Would not recommend this system unless your putting it a bedroom or room of that size.
Price was low so I guess you definitely get what ya pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Samsung HT-E550 DVD Home Theater

Great bedroom system

06/02/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I watch TV in my bedroom most of the time so I didn't need a big system, although this one is probably bigger than I need. I tried two other systems...the first one was the Phillips system and the second one was the Sony. I liked the Phillips but for the money didn't preform to the level I thought it should. This Samsung is going to work out just fine. Good sound and much lower in price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 87 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next