Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Mainstays Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Featuring beautiful modern styling and a rich black finish, the Mainstays Black Faux Leather Sofa Sleeper makes a fantastic addition to the den, family room or home office. It's perfect for hosting overnight guests, and provides a comfortable spot to relax during the day. It'll look great in front of your HDTV or entertainment center, and can also complement your bedroom decor. This comfortable black leather sofa sleeper features a thickly padded seat cushion and loose back cushion. Both cushions can easily be removed to access the single-sized contemporary sofa sleeper. Plus, it's durably made with stain-resistant faux leather upholstery, which makes it ideal for those with pets and children. Best of all, the black faux leather looks and feels just like the real thing.
Average Customer Rating:
4.143 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation91%32 out of 35reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 36 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Great looking sofa, but needs better mattress!

06/08/2012
By ,
Mississippi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We love camping, & have been looking for an affordable small scale sleeper loveseat for our camper for extra seating & sleeping. I finally found this one online & was able to locate it at a store for pick up (which saved the $80 shipping charge). It comes disassembled in a box, but very easy to put together (6 bolts/washers, plus another 4 to put the legs on). The back & seat cushions are both removable. The very top of the back of the sofa folds down level with the side arms also, making it small & easy to fit through tight spaces. Our camper door is 24" wide, & it fits through the door if we flip it over on it's side #no need to disassemble it, just remove cushions & flip the back down#. Faux leather looks really good, not cheap. Seat cushion is firm, so it should hold up well. Seats 2 adults easily. Only negative is the mattress. It's HORRIBLE! You can feel the springs pressing through the top of the mattress. Nothing a topper can't fix, just adds to the overall cost though. Dimensions are pretty accurate, within an inch.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+76points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Good for the price.

10/08/2012
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good little sofa sleeper for the price. All of the other similar items were well over $600 no matter where I looked. The look is great and sits very well. The mechanism for the sofa sleeper works very well too. The only negative thing I can say is the comfort of the mattress. Just running my hand over the top of the mattress and not applying any pressure, I can feel springs poking me in the hand. I tried to soften it up a bit with a thick comforter under the sheets and this did work some. I may purchase a memory foam mattress in the future. Also, beware if you get this item delivered to your home. The freight delivery driver was going to leave it in my driveway as this is what the instructions on the order stated. This couch would have had to sit in my driveway for 2 days until my husband got home. Luckily, the driver was nice enough to bring it into my house but they all may not be that nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Excellent value for occassional use.

08/19/2012
By ,
Hardin Mt
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great size for a small room. We put it in our guest bedroom. It is surprisingly comfortable for us. We are small people, 5'7" and 5'2". For larger people and heavy people it may not fit your needs. It's light and very easy to move around. assembly is a snap, everything fits correctly. In this price range it is hard to find anything work a plug nickel but this seems to be fine. It's not made to be a trampoline however but should give good service with normal reaqsonable care. As I assembled this it became evident that it would be very easy to reupholster this unit if the need arises. The bed is adequate. One thing for sure, this unit is a far cry better than those awful uncomfortable futons in the same price bracket.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
yosemite
Seating area?
Posted 08/20/2012
Hi,
Could you tell me how wide the seating area is? Also, how wide the mattress is?
Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Love this for occasional guests

09/12/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This sofa sleeper is the perfect size for my small office/sitting room. It allows the space to be used as an additional bedroom for occasional guests - namely grandkids.
The mattress itself is a little flimsy, but to be expected based on the cost of the sofa. For children, it will suffice. My plan is to upgrade the mattress at some point.
Overall, extremely pleased with this purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Perfect for spare room

03/21/2013
By ,
Buffalo, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For what we paid, the love seat is very comortable, and it looks like real leather, not the pleather stuff I've seen. It took my husband about an hour to assemble, we were using it for a spare room that I wanted to make a den/ have room for someone to sleep without having a uncomfy futon. This was perfect. Easily seats 2 people, and looks way more expensive than it was.
The mattress, honestly, is terrible haha, like a trampoline, but I bought a 1 1/2 in memory foam mattress pad from Walmart for $25, and it is SUPER comfy now! and folds right into the couch still!!
LOVE!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Good product for the small spaces.

12/09/2012
By ,
Whitefish, MT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have looked for a smaller, not too heavy or wide sofa bed for a long time and finally decided to try this one. I don't "love it" (would have liked real leather) but for the price I think it is a great deal and would recommend it. It looks exactly as it does in the picture, the seat is a bit firm but not uncomfortable and there is plenty of room for 2 adults to sit on it. The bed pulls out easily and I really like the set up it is like a trampolin with a mat in the middle and springs around the edge so you don't have a bar hitting you in the middle of your back. The mattress is a interspring so you can feel springs when laying on it but is not bad. If we were using it a lot I would purchase a foam mattress or pad but for a few nights a year I think it will be fine as is. It is wide enough and long enough for a average size adult to sleep on when you need to. It comes with the arms removed and they clip on, then screw in very simply with 3 screws, it took a little bit of playing around to get them lined up but when they are, they are prethreaded and go in very easy, then screw the 4 feet on (also prethreaded) and your done. It took about 15-20 minutes to put together. We purchased to put in a loft with tight spiral stairs that limits access, it comes with the arms removed and the back folds down to make more compacted, so we removed the cushion from the back and seat to make it lighter and were able to get it in with no problems. The box says it weighed 156lbs so if you have a long way to carry it or stairs to go up I would open the box and carry the arms, cushions and mattress separately to make it lighter then put together in the desired location. I ordered online and had it delivered to my home, I think the delivery charge was extremely cheap for a larger item, it came earilier then I expected, the box and contents were in perfect condition. If your expecting it to look like a high end piece of leather furniture, it does not but for the price I think this is a great for a small space (office, den, dorm room, loft) or a hard to access space that needs seating and a sleeper for occasional guest.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

this sofa is very combinient

02/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
if you live in small apartment or studio and you want to save lots of room this is your perfect sofa
small can be install just in minutes and bed will also help you to relax i will give 5 ***** perfect
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Nice Sofa

09/30/2012
By ,
Pennsylvania
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a smaller size sofa for a small room. Perfect fit. Comfortable but have not slept on the bed yet. Good quality and easy to assemble and move around.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

love it

03/01/2013
By ,
Kansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter wanted to have more sleepovers with her friends but we just had no where for them to sleep. We got a tall loft bed and put this little leather couch under it with a side table and it looks so cute, takes up no more room then her old twin bed and is very functional. I was expecting the fake leather to look cheap but it actually looks very nice the pull out bed is also made well. The mattress is a little thin but seeing how it will only be used by little kids once in a while that is no big deal for us. it does sit a bit low to the ground if you are a tall grown up (my husband is 6 foot 3 and he says it is too low for him), but we like it enough my 16 year old wants one for her bedroom too!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
12/13/2012
By ,
Lenoir City TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am amazed at how expensive the twin sofa looks and feels. For the price you cannot find one on the market any better. We assembled and sat on it. We have tried sleeping on it. It will need another mattress but that is no problem. It definitely meets our requirement of an extra bed when needed. My husband and I assembled it (mostly me). Basically need to read instructions and use a screwdriver.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
12/30/2012
By ,
Owensboro, Ky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this sleeper sofa for our son since he no longer wanted a bed in his room and he loves it. It is very comfortable and sturdy to sit on and according to him, it's comfortable to sleep on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Great for the Space

12/17/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sofa is small enough to fit in the office without overcrowding the space. The mattress is very thin so you will need a replacement mattress or at the very least a thick topper. The sofa however is very comfortable and looks great. I am very satisfied with my sofa. The price is very reasonable for the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
11/15/2012
By ,
New Mexico
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Manufacturing jigs are way off. I had to redrill all the holes for the bolts holding on the ends. All holes were at least 1 inch off from each other.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
11/30/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fits well in home office. A little difficult to put together as the holes didn't match and needed to be larger. Mattress will definitely have to be replaced since every spring is felt. A good place to put guest who you don't want to spend another night. Over all, it was a good purchase for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Great Sofa

03/01/2013
By ,
Pritchett, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great sofa. It's about the size of a love seat. Looks great. Great hide a bed, about like any other bed. Fits nicely in our small house. Easy to put together and pull out the bed and put back. Purchased with the "pickup instore" option. Great service. Ready within the hour. Paid for online so didn't have to stand in checkout, just went to back of store (to the pickup instore section), showed id and they brought the couch out on a dolly. So easy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
03/02/2013
By ,
Sapulpa, OK.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like this product, but it was not as big as I expected. Still, it fits my needs perfectly. I would recommend for a guest room or dorm just to have for the extra bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather
12/12/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
the mattress to soft. you can feel the the bottom wirers
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Be prepared to make your own adjustments.

03/24/2013
By ,
MI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bought this based on the rave reviews posted on this site. This sofa is overrated. Had to remove the slides on the arms and adjust to make the unit assemble correctly. Also had to drill 2 extra holes. Was tempted to return it back to the store. Compact, stylish sofa. Not the most comfortable, fairly firm cushions. Mattress has no padding; it is all springs. If you can not find the assembly instructions, look under the flap in the bottom of the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Small Love seat Not a full size safa

05/01/2013
By ,
South Dakota
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is NOT a full size sofa it is the size of a Loveseat.
It looks great but had to use a hammer on the arms to help line up the holes for the bolts.
The Mattress is of a spring type so it would not be soft to sleep on by itself.
Fot the price it is an OK unit, and I'm looking to see if they have a recliner to match it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Sofa Sleeper, Black Faux Leather

Love this!

03/07/2013
By ,
Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product for the money. We bought this to put beside our bed so our daughter could sleep beside us. She loves it. The only complaint she had was she could feel the springs in her back. So we went out and bought an eggshell cover and after that she hasn't complained one time. So I would advise that if you buy this, to get an eggshell cover or something similar. Overall, it is definitely worth the money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 30 total reviews
1 2 Next