Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey

When Anastasia Steele, a young literature student, interviews wealthy young entrepreneur Christian Grey for her campus magazine, their initial meeting introduces Anastasia to an exciting new world that will change them both forever.
Average Customer Rating:
4.762 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(206 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
170
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation98%199 out of 204reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
170
4 stars
29
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Starts off great but could have been better

03/16/2013
By ,
Leesville, Louisiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The story as a whole is alright but as you go through the rest of the book (and into the second one) it's a 3 page sexual experience every 3 pages. Ana is rediculously naive and her "beginning" into BDSM is very far fetched. I love erotica and this one has decent erotica and an "ok" story but I think the writter hinged the whole book too hard on doing every single sexual act between Christian and Ana (like she used it to fill the book because she couldn't or didn't want to add other events/story to it). I've read erotica that can do both and I guess I'm holding this author to too high of a bar. I'm at the end of the 2nd and had bought the 3rd at the same time as the 2nd but will most likely return it as the 2nd hasn't been as good as I thought it would be and don't see the 3rd being worth the read. If you are looking for pure sexual interaction between two main characters this is for you. If you want erotica and story I'd suggest The Black Dagger Brotherhood etc.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fifty Shades of Grey

A love and lust for sure.

04/20/2012
By ,
Trenton, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this book. It is definetly for the mature reader, a lot of intimate moments!! Some, hard to handle! I found the love story heartbreaking and can't wait to read fifty shades darker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+67points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Was suppose to be my summer read...

05/11/2012
By ,
Gurdon, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These books were suppose to be my summer read but I am so captured by them, I will be finished with them way before the summer gets started good! I am a busy wife, mother and full-time college student and this book was such a great escape for me. I just ordered the other two and I can't wait to receive them in the mail. I will probably read them again before the end of my summer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Great Book

04/23/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
All three books are amazing! I couldn't put them down. It is def. an intense read and for a more mature person. The "love making" scenes are very vivid and the language is not the best, but the actual love story is so intense and awesome! Hands down, I would recommend this to a friend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
USA
fifty shades of gray
Posted 04/30/2012
are all 3 books about the same characters?If so which one is the first one?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Fifty Shades of Grey
04/18/2012
By ,
Va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book couldn't put it down
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Blushing?

08/23/2014
By ,
Hyattsville Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit that I unintentionally stumbled across Fifty Shades of Grey by E L James during a work break. I was only trying to find a place to briefly relax, yet still close enough to my work station when I saw this book. I had also seen a movie trailer for an upcoming movie around this book when I went with my husband to see Guardians of the Galaxy. Anyhow, Fifty Shades of Grey centers around a young woman named Anastasia Steele (in her 20’s) who unexpectedly falls in love with Christian Grey. Their relationship is complicated and is conducted very discreetly. Their passion for each other is mutual. However, Anastasia Steele ends up having a lot of questions that stir in her mind because of the many secrets that her lover keeps. For instance, Christian Grey admits to her that an older woman actually taught him a lot of what he knows in the area of romantic affairs. However, this unconventional indoctrination happened to him when she was already a mature woman and he just a teenager. Apparently, they are still close friends and this becomes a source of both curiosity and concern in Anastasia’s mind. This is only one of the multiple details that paint a profile of Christian Grey’s mysterious persona.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Good book, not what I expected.

09/27/2014
By ,
Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's not all about S E X like most people assume. It actually has a very good story to go along with it. Easy to read and follow, hard to put down. I'm already on the second book, finished this one in less than a week.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Fast Shipment

09/23/2014
By ,
Baltimore, Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased the book for spare time reading. Interesting read. The book pulled me into a fantasy world of pleasure and entertainment. I did site to store and my book arrived a week early. Awesome on Wal-Mart's part.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Fifty Shades of Grey

love love love this trilogy!!!

09/15/2014
By ,
North Highlands, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wasn't going to read these books. I just didn't want anything to do with it. But then I watched the movie trailer and I wanted to read before I saw the movie. I AM SO HAPPY THAT I DID!!!! I love all 3 of the books. I love the story. I can't wait for the movies but until then I will read these books! The 50 shades trilogy has become my favorite books ever!!!! :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Fifty Shades of Grey

The mysterious Grey

05/05/2012
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a real page turner. Definately for adult eyes only. But I wouldn’t say it’s too over the top, the love story is fabulous.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Excellent Read

06/24/2014
By ,
Fordsville Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great story line. Not at all what I was expecting given the hype that was out surrounding this book.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Wow! Super Hot Read

04/30/2012
By ,
San Diego
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Read it - all my friends and I loved it. A word to the wise, be sure to purchase the 2 sequels with it. Trust me, you'll want to see how the story continues.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Fifty Shades of Grey

BEST BOOK EVER!

08/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've read many books and this trilogy is amazing!! I recommend it but only to adults because it is graphic. You get addicted to this book and you want to keep and keep on reading.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Just as good as what every one is saying!

08/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only 140 pages in to the book so far and OMG...it's good!! I chose the site to store shipping option and it took about 5 days longer than it should have to get to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Love this book

02/09/2014
By ,
McKeesport pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's a grown up book kids should not read but it is a very very good book
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Fifty Shades of Grey

love this book

08/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great book very interesting :}
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Fifty Shades of Grey

hott!!!!

01/28/2014
By ,
johnson city, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read it twice already
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Don't listen to the hype!!!

06/09/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This book is does NOT live up to the hype. The author uses the same words and phrases over and over. It seriously lacks editing. The story is not believable. It was as if she took a cheap harlequin romance and added random big words to make it seem intelligent.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Fifty Shades of Grey

OMG!!!!

04/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ended up reading this book in 2 days. I could not stop! This will make you sweat. I can't wait to read the next one.
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades

08/20/2012
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love this book. I don't care what others say about it being repetitive or poorly written, I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it to any woman out there :) it keeps you wanting more every time you put the book down!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next