Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sunpak Tripods Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Sunpak Tripods Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

The Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash is the perfect accessory for today's digital SLR cameras, compatible with the latest Nikon DSLR cameras. The DF3000 has many advanced features, such as manual zoom head with professional bounce and swivel capabilities. For low light, the AF assist provides makes sure you don't miss the shot when light levels get low. With a high guide number of 92' (ISO 100 @ 35mm), the DF3000 provides outstanding illumination in any situation especially with long lenses. With high power, complete TTL dedication and power saving circuit you won't miss a flash shot again!
Average Customer Rating:
3.727 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation82%9 out of 11reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 9 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Cheap Plastic

11/20/2012
By ,
Great Bend, Ks
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this flash to attach to my canon rebel t2i. Within a month the on/off switch broke off. It was stored in a traveling bag when not in use. It was never dropped. The test button never worked properly. I would suggest a Yongnuo YN-560 Speedlight Flash for Canon and Nikon over this product. It is priced less and of better quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
NIKON Flash
Posted 03/27/2013
Do you not realize that this flash is made for NIKON cameras?
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Great beginner flash if you've never owned one

06/21/2012
By ,
Baltimore
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have a Nikon D90 and I'm very new to photography. A friend wanted me to take pictures for his wedding and I didn't have a flash but I knew I needed one. I search around for something cheap and I didn't have high expectations but this flash performed amazingly. I bought 4 Lithium Ion AA batteries to go with it and I took over 500 shots and it's still going!!
The spread of the flash wasn't all that great but it can be compensated by adjusting the angle. Also, it's not the fastest flash ever so don't expect to take speed shots with it. The Nikon D90 is decent with speed and this flash was about half the speed of the D90 so it flashed on every other shot, which is not bad. I would have expected to pay a lot more for something that performs so well.
This flash saved me hundreds of dollars and I would recommend it to any occasional photographer. Even though it doesn't come with all of the features of a $400 flash, it's great for what it cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Not a bad flash, for the price.

07/20/2012
By ,
Williamsport, PA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this about a week ago for my Nikon D200, and here's my take on the Sunpak D3000N:
It's actually not cheaply-made. The zoom head could be a little more solid, but it works decently enough. Settings for 18mm, 35mm, 55mm and 70mm. If you have a cropped sensor (4/3, APS-C, etc) remember that you will need to do a simple conversion to set the zoom head. When shooting with my 50mm f/1.8, I set the head to 70mm. The range of the swivel is more than you will need, trust me. The weight is very comfortable on my brick of a camera, and so far the battery power seems to last quite a while.
This flash is very strong, and gives excellent results when bounced off white walls or ceilings, with much warmer tones than all built-in flashes I've seen.
My real gripe about this flash (and the reason it only got three stars) is the lack of manual control. Sunpak claims it automatically adjusts power TTL or through the lens. There is no manual control for stepping down the power, unfrotunately, and there's nothing on the package that warns against this. For $60 USD, it is a good quality flash that can produce some great portraits. This flash excels in cases where a fully automatic flash is required- just set it on your camera's hot shoe, turn it on and click away. The recycle rate isn't anything amazing, but if you're intending on clicking shot after shot with flash, you probably aren't looking at a model in this price range anyway. I would recommend this unit to anyone who wouldn't want to deal with the hassle of manual controls. However, I myself will be buying a different model next time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Bought it in a clinch but better than expected!

08/26/2012
By ,
23602
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just picked this up tonight and it works very well with my D5100. Warms up in a sec, and fires off flashes one right behind the other even in sports mode. No lags or hangups. Wish it had a diffuser to dull it out but I can make one myself to add on to it. Simple as tape and some construction paper.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Essentially the same as the Bower SFD728

03/31/2012
By ,
Glendora, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is essentially the same as the Bower SFD728 flash with the only difference is the widest focal angle is 18 instead of 28 found in the Bower. Even the manuals are similar in layout and copy (wordings). That said it is a solid well built beginners' TTL (not manual) camera flash. Given its price I would expect the build quality to be excellent but good enough. The only downside is that the zoom is manual. But you must spend more for a model that has auto zoom. Overall it has a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash
03/31/2013
By ,
Tipton California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great flash for the money. It does just what I needed it to do and I didn't have to pay $900.00 dollars for it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Good value if you just need more light.

02/03/2013
By ,
Iuka ms
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to get the ability to bounce flash indoors. It has wotked very well. I also use it outside for longer distance flash needs than can be met by tbe built in.
It has also been handy for painting objects during long exposures.
It works well on my D5100.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash
11/30/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well with my Nikon D5100 digital camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Great flash!

04/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this flash. It works perfectly on my camera and my photos come out great. I love the bounce and swivel features, so I can bounce the light off a ceiling or off a wall. I primarily do wedding and some sports photography and I would recommend this flash to anyone. It's advanced enough for professional, but easy enough for beginners too. What a great flash!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash

Not worth the money

02/03/2013
By ,
Cheyenne, Wy
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I can't recommend another flash, but I can certainly say not this one. Used this flash for one whole day and half way through my shoot it stopped working properly. At first I thought it was the batteries, so switched those out, and still nothing. I couldn't use the bounce ability at all without the flash turning itself off. I understand things break, but not from typical use on the first day.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Sunpak Nikon DF3000 Flash
Based on 1 ratings-only review
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5